Back to WireTap Anywhere page
WireTap Anywhere free download for Mac

WireTap Anywhere Reviews

2.0.0
22 November 2010

Professional virtual audio patchbay.

Smorgie84
20 April 2010

Most helpful

I am a podcaster and I recently purchased 3 USB microphones for my studio. I use Garageband for my podcast and it was an absolute nightmare to get all microphones (as well as additional system inputs) to work simultaneously. I spent countless hours trying to configure this set up using the Mac Audio/MIDI audio set-up and it would start out working fine, but after several minutes of recording it would revert back to a disturbing clicking/static sound which would destroy my recordings. It all had to do with syncronizing with the word clock, but I eventually had enough. I wrote to Blue Microphones Support to see if they had any suggestion for getting around this and they recommended Wiretap software. At first I tried Wiretap Studio, but I could not figure out a way to combine more than two audio inputs. Then I discovered Wiretap Anywhere and I was able to combine my 3 USB mics, Skype, and an auxiliary input from my audio mixer. It has been absolutely amazing! It works as advertised and I cannot wait to do my next show using all my microphones. The price tag is a bit steep, but considering I have wasted days fumbling around with this I think it is worth it. Thanks, Ambrosia!
Like (4)
Version 1.0.7

Read 45 WireTap Anywhere User Reviews

Rate this app:

hwgray
07 January 2014
Is this thing on?! It hasn't been updated since 2010!
Like
Version 2.0.0
C-keurk
26 May 2013
Does not work at all on OS 10.8.3
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
Please add AirPlay support please, so I can make better use of my iOS AppleTV! Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
Smorgie84
20 April 2010
I am a podcaster and I recently purchased 3 USB microphones for my studio. I use Garageband for my podcast and it was an absolute nightmare to get all microphones (as well as additional system inputs) to work simultaneously. I spent countless hours trying to configure this set up using the Mac Audio/MIDI audio set-up and it would start out working fine, but after several minutes of recording it would revert back to a disturbing clicking/static sound which would destroy my recordings. It all had to do with syncronizing with the word clock, but I eventually had enough. I wrote to Blue Microphones Support to see if they had any suggestion for getting around this and they recommended Wiretap software. At first I tried Wiretap Studio, but I could not figure out a way to combine more than two audio inputs. Then I discovered Wiretap Anywhere and I was able to combine my 3 USB mics, Skype, and an auxiliary input from my audio mixer. It has been absolutely amazing! It works as advertised and I cannot wait to do my next show using all my microphones. The price tag is a bit steep, but considering I have wasted days fumbling around with this I think it is worth it. Thanks, Ambrosia!
Like (4)
Version 1.0.7
Plasterpyrus
09 April 2009
ROD76 I guess the developer heard you, it just took about a year! Given that this application was featured in a very recent bundle of applications sold to the public, now let's see if there is any continuity in different version, with different names, for upgrading. Is it free upgrade or a pay for upgrading?
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Ambrosiasw
Ambrosiasw
13 May 2009
WireTap Anywhere is not a replacement or upgrade from WireTap Studio. What you are looking at is a new product added to the WireTap Family. WireTap Studio is it's own self contained application for capturing the best quality audio, offer filters, editing, saving and transferring. While there are a great many similarities between the software, WireTap Anywhere is to be thought of as not a recording application but an audio bridge between the software that the users are currently familiar with and their equipment and other applications on the Mac itself. I hope this clears up any confusion, and as always you can check the Ambrosia website for more answers to your frequently asked questions.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Tool Force Software
21 September 2008
Great piece of software, love it. (But it seems to damage ScreenFlow. :-/)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Rod76
15 August 2008
This is bothersome to me, I assume this product is a niche tool for audio professionals (the price sort of dictates that premise). However, I believe there is some unnecessary ambiguity involving the naming or versioning of this product. My best guess would be a simple: WireTap WireTap Pro WireTap Studio WireTap Anywhere Using the forenamed assumption would require some sort of upgrade path, which there doesn't seem to be. I'm hoping the developer will read this, comment, and hopefully clarify this product.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Ambrosiasw
Ambrosiasw
22 December 2008
We are sorry for the confusion that might have happened from our naming scheme. WireTap was replaced with WireTap Pro, that was indeed it's successor, likewise WireTap Studio then replaced "Pro". Because not only was it an improvement over the original incarnations, but many of the new added features to this family of products became the foundation for what we would like to have in all our audio product. With that the WireTap Family was truly born. WireTap Studio, and WireTap Anywhere. Both of these products are now under the "WireTap Family" name, neither is a replacement or upgrade for the other. If you have any further questions please feel free to check out the Ambrosia Web boards.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
Easer
14 August 2008
Ow! Audio Hijack Pro is like 25% the cost of this program. What makes WireTap worth the extra $$?
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Ambrosiasw
Ambrosiasw
22 December 2008
WireTap Anywhere isn't a product that can be compared to Audio Hijack Pro. Ambrosia's WireTap Studio is a similar product that out performs the competition, and is significantly cheaper than WireTap Anywhere. Both of our products offer a free trial, so, please take a moment to download it and test it out for yourself.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
07 July 2005
i got it to work, but i had to install wiretap pro after installing wiretap. the reason it wasn't working is because it uses a kernel extension that is incompatible with tiger. wiretap pro has an updated version. the one thing that pro (and audio hijack) have that i want (in a free product) is the ability to record both the mic and mac audio at the same time. oh well, i suppose i can record with sound studio at the same time. :)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 December 2004
Is this removed now as Ambrosia Software offers WireTap Pro? I can't find WireTap on their freebies page (http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/freebies/).
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 December 2004
I'm answering myself here... It seems all the free stuff is in WireTap Pro, this is what Ambrosia writes in a VT comment: "Everything that was free in the older, free WireTap continues to be free in WireTap Pro. You can use it to your heart's content to record AIFF recordings, and never pay for it."
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
24 December 2004
Brilliant !! SO simple to use !
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 December 2004
purely brilliant.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
07 October 2004
This amazing sound ripper works flawlessly with the last version of Panter.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
03 October 2004
Thank you for this wonderful tool ... easy to install, easy to use, not victim to feature bloat, and not a glitch in the works. Much easier than my old "loop an audio cable from jack to input" method of recording, and with much better sound quality, of course. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 September 2004
Beautifully easy to use, worked first time.... and it's free! :))) You can convert saved files into MP3 files via iTunes, if need be..... (10.3.5)
Like
Version 1.0
Annjack
16 September 2004
nice tool for recording music and talkshow on the air. the recording quality is quite good and clear. especially it's a freeware. good tool for mac users.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
12 August 2004
a very good program, great interface, great performance. Very good if you want to convert flash movies and need to grab the audio
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 July 2004
I was having the same problem others mention below: clicking record emits a beep and then returns to idle. I re-downloaded the WireTap installer, re-installed, and now it works fine. The installer intalls the app as well as a file called 'AmbrosiaAudioSupport'. i suspect that this file had gone missing on my system and needed to be replaced.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 June 2004
Excellent program, does exactly what I need. Thanks for making it free :)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
10 June 2004
I use it for a very long time. Has always worked in Jaguar .. and now in Panther 10.3.4 is still works great. Very useful to record streaming music .. make samples .. or mixes. Great OSX soft ..and 5 stars
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 April 2004
It works great on 10.3 and 10.2.8 very simple an d useful for all recordnig.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 April 2004
workes perfectly on my OSX 10.3.3
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
10 April 2004
I use this with 10.3 and it works fine so the people below must have something wrong with their systems.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
31 March 2004
i am having the same problem with 10.3; a pop then idle. it just plain doesn't work anymore. and to that, i say boo-urns.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
30 March 2004
it doesn't work with 10.3 or else I'm doing something wrong, though I can't see what. It looks just great on the desktop but when I press record I hear a 'plop' and it returns to idle. It would be just terrific if it did what it claims to be able to do.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 March 2004
Simple. Efficient. Does the job. Easy to use. I love it. I have not been this excited about such a simple/useful program since Stickies.
Like
Version 1.0
Ltottoman
18 March 2004
Is there any thing like this for OS9?! If so i REALLY need it. SO if you know if there is for OS9 please E-mali me at Ltottoman@yahoo.com
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 April 2004
Run a cable from your audio out to your audio in and then use Simple Sound or an other app to record your mac's audio. You can get 1/8 inch stereo male-to-male cable for like $5 from Radio Shack or some other electronics store.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 April 2004
The trick of wiring the output back into the input works, but be sure to switch off play-through in the sound control panel. AFAIK the only software that allows you to record directly from the Sound Manager (OS 9) is the Mark of the Unicorn Audio System, but it only works with MOTU's products (Audio Desk & Digital Performer). Its a low-level hack which is beyond the scope of most shareware developers (that's a challenge, folks).
Like
Version 1.0
tom
28 February 2004
Used WireTap first time with no problems. Next time I Launched app, It won't record anymore. It just beeps every time I hit the record button. Help file does not help of state why this is happening.....What am I doing wrong?!?
Like
Version 1.0
Corey
13 February 2004
Downloaded, unstuffed, installed and used. NO PROBLEMS!!! Worked perfectly the first time. Thank you for this fine contribution!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 January 2004
Great App! thanks to the terminal comand posted below i am now able to enjoy it. Ambrosia Software made the basic ppc program of os9 for osx! Free.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Man is this great utility or what!? Thank you!
Like
Version 1.0
18 November 2003
My previous comment was wrong, the problem is not with the WireTap application installer but with Stuffit Expander. In a terminal window do a chmod -R 755 WireTap.mpkg. Works great.
Like
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 December 2003
Sorry for being terminal unsavy, but I'm not exactly sure about how to implement your command from the terminal window, since it keeps telling me no such file exists. Would appreciate your help! Thanks, BVL
Like
Version 1.0
tasha
tasha
07 January 2004
I've also had this problem with Stuffit Expander. I'm not familiar with Terminal but I've tried opening Terminal and typing "chmod -R 755 WireTap.mpkg" but I must be missing a step. Is there any way I could get a little more direction with this? Thank you so much.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 March 2004
Yup, I've got this problem too. I tried typing "chmod -R 755 /WireTap.mpkg" instead while the WireTap.mpkg was on my HD, but that didn't work. Pleeeeeeease heeeeeeeeelp soooooomeone!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 March 2004
Hang on a second... Try using OS9's Stuffit Expander. It worked for me! Yipee!
Like
Version 1.0
18 November 2003
Downloaded the file and extracted with Stuffit Expander. When I try to install it I get the following message: "The Installer Package "WireTap" cannot be opened. The postinstall script was either not executable or not readable." Must not be compatible with dual processors or Mac OS 10.2.8 or the distribution is corrupt.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 July 2004
Running 10.2.8 got same response from install. Tried downloading program from varied sources. No luck.
Like
Version 1.0
Gordymac
17 November 2003
Truly a lifesaving app. I now don't have to go through QuickTime to extract audio. I can just play it and have WireTap record.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 August 2003
Great app......using this to make available streaming audio teachings to blind/hearing impaired persons. Prior had to use tape out of sound jack, this is MUCH easier! And no one can argue with the price!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 July 2003
Archie - AppleScript your timer. A sample timer AppleScript is included with the download.
Like
Version 1.0
Papercut
21 July 2003
Thanks for a excellent little program. And for free. A timer would be appreciated.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
12 July 2003
this is by far the best tool i have found to record audio played on my Mac to include purchased utilities! hint: very easy way to record and convert "protected" audio files.
Like
Version 1.0
Dan010484
10 July 2003
Absolutely brilliant! Couldn't be easier to use, and the results are completely flawless. One of the best applications I've used for a while. It'd be nice if it did include built-in MP3 and AAC support, but I can't see most Mac users having problems with this. AND IT'S FREE!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
10 July 2003
Simply encode the AIFF file with iTunes, to convert to ACC or MP3.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
09 July 2003
Just a note - the description of WireTap is a little confusing; you can't use it to record just one program, which means that any other sounds will get recorded along with whatever music / DVD / whatever you're trying to save. This is the other big advantage to Audio Hijack / Audio Hijack Pro, which I use frequently. If you want to save just one program, I'd recommend you check them out.
Like
Version 1.0
Moki
09 July 2003
Mark -- glad you like WireTap. You can do timed recording with WireTap using the included AppleScripts. It is true that WireTap doesn't include support for sound-altering plugins, but we didn't think most people wanted such a thing; they merely wanted to capture the audio that was playing. The .mp3 encoding issue was explained in the online help; mp3 encoding is not free, and the minimum possible license is $15,000 a year, which obviously makes little sense for a free product. :) We might enhance WireTap further, adding such things as .mp3/AAC encoding, etc., but we'd have to charge for it.
Like
Version 1.0
Mrandre
09 July 2003
Awesome. Nothing fancy, but it works stupidly easy, and it's free. And it works. I had been looking for a recording of a performance I had heard on NPR some months ago. So tonight, I pulled up the Real stream, hit record, and there it is, in iTunes. DIY joy. Awesome.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
09 July 2003
It's great. Does what it says and it's free! The file size isn't as bad as I thought it'd be either: 55mins at 145MB aiff file.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
08 July 2003
Where Audio Hijack and Audio Hijack Pro include a host of features like MP3 encoding, built-in timed recordings, VST and AudioUnit effects plug-ins and application-specific recording, WireTap does not. WireTap has its price going for it, and applescript support, but not much else. Hats off to Ambrosia anyhow.
Like
Version 1.0