Back to DiscBlaze page
DiscBlaze free download for Mac

DiscBlaze Reviews

6.5
15 March 2011

Burn media easily.

Espiridion
07 March 2009

Most helpful

BUYER BEWARE! This is probably the worst developer I've ever encountered. I purchased licenses for 10 of their applications (DiscBlaze, Footlights, Illumination, DeskDoodle, DoThisNow, RadicalPhoto, Macabinet, RadicalSqueeze, RadicalSafe and Zephyr). As can be seen on their Web site, they now only have 2 applications. There were many promises regarding updates but those promises were never fulfilled. Their forum was filled with user complaints, and instead of addressing the valid criticisms they removed the forum. I'm surprised to see an update to DiscBlaze, since 6.1.6 is from 2006 and Bryan Lund supposedly abandoned the Mac platform. For those recent switchers and people unfamiliar with Radical Breeze, AVOID THEM. At the very least, read the comments about Radical Breeze and Bryan Lund at various Mac-related sites (e.g., VersionTracker) Probably their best application was Formation. It was not developed by Radical Breeze. They acquired it and announced that they would add many enhancements and promised a free upgrade to version 2. This was over 3 years ago. http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2130&p=12343 They took people's money and did not deliver on their promises. The software itself is nothing special by today's standards. The free Burn may be a better option.
Like (8)
Version 6.1.7

Read 75 DiscBlaze User Reviews

Rate this app:

Regular-Warren
29 June 2012
This is a strange one. I can't get it to launch at all; it immediately quits "unexpectedly" each time.
Like
Version 6.1.7
Espiridion
29 June 2012
One of the worst Mac developers I've ever encountered, prone to over-promising and under-delivering. The software is merely OK, but there are better alternatives, including free ones. I have a license but have not used it in years and don't intend to download this update.
Like
Version 6.1.7
Penguirl
29 November 2011
Read the reviews before coughing up your money. Also I noticed that the dev rated his/her app 5 stars on the Crap Store. Tried to report it, got an error message. Big surprise. This is why I prefer MacUpdate to the Crap Store. Thanks to everyone at MacUpdate for making it such a great resource!
Like (2)
Version 6.5
Hauslendale
23 July 2011
Where is the fix at for the iso issue. Why do you have no support for this app? Mac App Store is where you have supplied a link for support. That link just takes users & or buyers to the main RadBreez page. It must be true what others are saying about you!!
Like
Version 6.5
Espiridion
07 March 2009
BUYER BEWARE! This is probably the worst developer I've ever encountered. I purchased licenses for 10 of their applications (DiscBlaze, Footlights, Illumination, DeskDoodle, DoThisNow, RadicalPhoto, Macabinet, RadicalSqueeze, RadicalSafe and Zephyr). As can be seen on their Web site, they now only have 2 applications. There were many promises regarding updates but those promises were never fulfilled. Their forum was filled with user complaints, and instead of addressing the valid criticisms they removed the forum. I'm surprised to see an update to DiscBlaze, since 6.1.6 is from 2006 and Bryan Lund supposedly abandoned the Mac platform. For those recent switchers and people unfamiliar with Radical Breeze, AVOID THEM. At the very least, read the comments about Radical Breeze and Bryan Lund at various Mac-related sites (e.g., VersionTracker) Probably their best application was Formation. It was not developed by Radical Breeze. They acquired it and announced that they would add many enhancements and promised a free upgrade to version 2. This was over 3 years ago. http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2130&p=12343 They took people's money and did not deliver on their promises. The software itself is nothing special by today's standards. The free Burn may be a better option.
Like (8)
Version 6.1.7
Tim27
27 July 2006
well, don't bother buying this software. or any other radical breeze software. the author has decided to abandon the mac platform and switch to linux. unfortunate, as they made decent software. but don't waste your money, since they probably won't update anymore.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.6
Splig
27 February 2006
I have had this app since 2003 and have been asked for upgrade fees twice. The first time the upgrade was bug fixes with only minor added features. The last time, it was an improved look, but not much else. IMHO it is not good to keep charging upgrade fees on shareware, especially if it is not insanely great. I don't like Roxio, but might as well instead pay them for a lot more features and the same modus operandi.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.4
Anonymous
18 November 2005
"The application DiscBlaze has unexpectedly quit" Mac OS X and other applications are ot affected. etc, etc. I tried 4 times to open this app. I don't think it's anything to do with my system 'cause BurnX Free and SimplyBurnz all work fine. Which is strange considering DiscBlaze is shareware and the others are free. Glad I did'nt spend money on this pile of rubbish otherwise I'd be pretty upset by now. Deleted it from my system.
Like
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
Delphian
Delphian
30 November 2005
Obviously DiscBlaze works quite well for most people, so I would be curious as to why it doesn't for you. What OS version are you running? (DiscBlaze 6 and newer require OS 10.4.) Do you have a supported CD/DVD burner attached and, if necessary, turned on?
Like
Version 6.0.3
Anonymous
21 October 2005
Decent... but nothing revolutionary... basically a cosmetic overhaul from version 5, with no new features. I'd still say spend the extra $30 and get Toast 7, which is $59 after rebate at Buy.com... anybody who owns Tiger or iLife qualifies for the rebate. Toast does... 1) data spanning... crucial for any serious burning software 2) one-button copy of CD and DVD, plus DVD compression 3) VCD and SVCD craetion 4) DVD 9:5 compression like Popcorn and DVD2One 5) audio DVDs and alot more
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 October 2005
Not really a cosmetic overhaul, it was coded from scratch at 6! (from carbon to cocoa)
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
Anonymous
17 October 2005
The new user interface looks good, but there is no support for contextual menus and I can't delete stuff by using the "del" key. This shouldn't be the case in modern Mac OS X applications in my humble opinion.
Like
Version 6.0
Anonymous
17 October 2005
lol looks like the RB-> obj-C transition is not complete. In fact, it crashes at launch
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 October 2005
Could you give us some additional information? Obviously we didn't find any crashing problems during our testing, but if you're experiencing it we'd love to find out why. What OS version are you running? Do you have a supported burner (do you have several)?
Like
Version 6.0
Anonymous
14 September 2005
Hey developer! What's your strategy here? When you were on version 4, you promised version 5 with VCD support. Nothing. But still you came out with version 5 with really no new features. Now you're promising version 6 with a new UI (whoopie)... where the features in version 6?
Like
Version 5.1.7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 September 2005
Between version 4.0 and 5.0 we added the following: - Enhanced custom icon support. - Disc image burning as a disc type. - The ability to check or uncheck wether a file or folder is burned in any disc layout easily. - Audio file previews. - Enhanced burn progress display (along with quite a few other UI improvements). - Burning in simulation mode. - UDF burning. - Bit-for-bit ISO creation. - There's many more as well, these are just a few of the changes. Typically we have added a handful of new features every point (1.1, 1.2, etc) release and then saved the bigger releases (1.0, 2.0, etc) for times when a lot of new things are being introduced, a major platform shift is occuring (Tiger, etc) or the code for DiscBlaze has changed dramatically. 6.0 is a really solid release so far. Honestly, the UI improvement alone warrants a 6.0 in my mind. But there are also a number of usability improvements that will make people very, very happy. As for VideoCD support, we initially planned support for this well over a year ago. In fact we even got it mostly functional and was previewed by a small selection of users. The end result? Nobody seemed to care. We asked and asked and asked our users what they wanted in terms of VideoCD functionality... and only one single user we talked to wanted to use it and could tell us what he wanted it to do. Everyone else said "yeah, neat" but that they wouldn't ever actually use it. (That or they never would respond to our questions of what they wanted.) Users were far more interested in things like UDF burning. So we put the VideoCD project off to the side so that we could focus on things users actually wanted. If nobody was going to be interested in a feature, why would we clutter up DiscBlaze and spend a pretty large amount of time and money developing it? We actively sought feedback on this for over half a year. You see, we take a great deal of pride in listening very closely to our users. Most of the changes that have been made in DiscBlaze are direct results of conversations we've had with individuals or groups of users. So, if it turns out that users really do want VideoCD support, talk to us about it. If we know people want something, and we know how they would use it (ie, what specific task they would use it for), then we can seriously look at making that happen if it doesn't hurt the rest of the app.
Like
Version 5.1.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2005
I downloaded 5.1.7 (free trial) & tried to format a R/W CD as a UDF disc. At first I couldn't see it on the desktop, & when I added a file to it, I couldn't add more files or delete files. What's the trick?
Like
Version 5.1.7
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Save yourself the agony and frustration. Get Toast for $49 at buy.com. http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=201934669&loc=105&sp=1
Like
Version 5.1.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 September 2005
I second that! Toast gives you soooooooo much more. I mean sooooooooooooooo much more.
Like
Version 5.1.7
Anonymous
01 September 2005
Is this company still in business? Support forums are down on the web site.
Like
Version 5.1.6
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Wolf - "compared to Toast"... you can't compare... Toast does about 20x the things this does... this is just a GUI on top of the burning APIs Apple builds into the OS for free. Pay for it and you may as well be buying Tiger twice.
Like
Version 5.1.6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
DiscBlaze has a number of features not found in Tiger: Burning speed is faster (doesn't need to create a disc image before burn), the disc list system, true custom hybrid discs with options for which files are visible on which platform, audio cd burning with pre-gaps definable on a per-track basis... and many more. To suggest it provides no new features to Tiger (or that it provides 1/20th the features of Toast) is just plain silly. Several of DiscBlaze's features are not found in Toast at all. I highly encourage people to try various applications to find the tools that fit their neds best. Some will find one tool completely useless for their needs, while another tool (which may have only small differences) may be found highly favorable. But to suggest that any app is useless is, generally, a silly thing to suggest.
Like
Version 5.1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 August 2005
Tiger now burns without pre-images... it's called a burn folder... a pretty stupid implementation IMO... but a workaround to a fundamental flaw in the way the OS burns.
Like
Version 5.1.6
Anonymous
14 August 2005
New version 5.1.6 crashes on launch except in administrator account. NO support info on developer site.
Like
Version 5.1.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Drop us a line at support [at] radicalbreeze.com with your info (OS Version, etc) and we'll see about figuring this out. Obviously we did not find these problems here, but if you are having them we'd love to find out why and, if possible, fix them.
Like
Version 5.1.6
Anonymous
14 August 2005
DiscBlaze has usually worked well for me, though some updates have clearly been released without enough testing. Compared with Toast, it is good value. Compared with free burning under 10.42, its use is debatable. The one really annoying thing is having to find my registration info every time I update. Why can't it just read that from my preferences?
Like
Version 5.1.6
Fardilha
26 July 2005
"overwhelming feedback" ... lol, lol, lol!!!
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
15 July 2005
look, i dont have a problem with the developer asking for money for his product but i DO have a problem with them saying that "due to overwhelming feedback from our users" we are basically going to start charging now. im sure all the users were just beggin them to have it quit being free and to PLEASE PLEASE start charging us... we're not morons out here, just tell the truth, keep developing your product and charge for it if you must.
Like
Version 5.1.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 July 2005
We're being completely honest. I've heard from a number of people who think our language there is a little odd (usually far more extreme words have been used). But we seriously have been discussing this very issue with our users for over a month now and the vast majority of our users who have opted to take part in the discussion have recommended (some slightly... some said this was definitely the best way) that we change to this new model. So that's what we did. We presented a series of options to our users. Asked for feedback. Modified our plans to meet many of their suggestions. Tried a modified free/pro model that some users suggested. That didn't work out. Then our users chimmed in in almost unison that we should switch to a trial system (like what we have just instituted). We try to be as open as possible to all of our users. And I think any of our active users who have been around for a while know the benefits of that.
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
13 July 2005
How many bugs do you see on this picture ? http://makeashorterlink.com/?H2EF32B6B :-D I can see 3 bugs. I am running 10.42, DB 5.15. DB require too much CPU time and RAM to run properly on my good old G3. Sorry, this isn't a good product...
Like
Version 5.1.5
8 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 July 2005
From the looks of things DiscBlaze is not recognizing any burner on your system? Do you have a burner that is compatible with MacOS X and DiscBlaze? If not... well... DiscBlaze may behave quite strangely as it was not intended for use without one.
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 July 2005
c'mon, of course I have one. http://makeashorterlink.com/?N28622C6B :-) >DiscBlaze may behave quite strangely as it was not intended for use without one Why not?? Do I need a recording device to create an image file with DB ?
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Could you give some steps you took to have DiscBlaze not show your burner in the list? Did you, by chance, have your burner connectec after starting DiscBlaze? If so hitting the refresh button should automatically select it. If not, then that's definitely a bug we should fix. (It works properly here.)
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 July 2005
i agree... this product is a train wreck... developer claims to be responsive to people's feature requests coming out with frequent updates... but look back at the release notes... he's either fixing bugs or taking features that were free and making them no longer free
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Most of the 5.1.x releases have been focused on fixing bugs and getting the licensing right. But note that the last major update (with new features) was 5.1... which was only a month ago. And if you look at our release schedule you'll notice that we release new features pretty much constantly (about every month). If you have a list of issues that cause you to believe that DiscBlaze is, as you say, a "Train Wreck" please let us know with as much detail as possible (a post on our forum or a mail to support at radicalbreeze.com would be great).
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
on screenshot #1: my device was not plugged in. on screenshot #2: the device is plugged in, I clicked the refresh button and DB automatically selected it. This works perfectly. The bugs are: 1) my CD is > 100% full (is it going to overburn the CD ? ;-D) 2) there is 0MB left 3) the checkbox is "under" the list. .
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 July 2005
Thanks for the info. Bugs 1 and 2 are fixed for the next release. Bug 3 we're having a hard time reproducing in order to fix it. But we'll keep an eye out for what the culprit might be (the checkbox is in the right spot on all the machines we've got here for testing).
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 July 2005
me again :) I know how RB works. The problem with the checkbox is that it doesn't move when resizing the window. Just check "Lock right" in the property panel :)
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
12 July 2005
wacky wacky wacky wacky.... there ain't no such thing as a free lunch anymore.
Like
Version 5.1.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 July 2005
Perhaps you aren't eating the right foods…
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 July 2005
Hey hey, the developer needs to make a living. Lay off.
Like
Version 5.1.5
Anonymous
11 July 2005
The issue I find with all this company's applications is that they have little anomalies such as conflicting versions listed within the application; feature issues that either get fixed or reappear; trying to compete with other applications, in the same category that do more.
Like
Version 5.1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 July 2005
If you are having problems with the current version of DiscBlaze please let us know. We strive to fix any known bugs as quickly as possible. Currently there are some known issues... but it is a -very- short list and all of them are being actively worked on.
Like
Version 5.1.4
Anonymous
11 July 2005
why is it eating 40-60% of my CPU when it is absolutely not working ? G3 400Mhz Tiger.
Like
Version 5.1.4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 July 2005
and btw, why does it say that my disc is 22100% full ? There is only a 34MB folder in the list.
Like
Version 5.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 July 2005
DiscBlaze certainly shouldn't be doing either of those things. What version of DiscBlaze are you running? What OS version? What steps did you take that caused this problem? If you could email that info to support at radicalbreeze.com we can look at figuring it out.
Like
Version 5.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 July 2005
hello :) Ok, here are the steps to reproduce: - Open DiscBlaze - that's it :) Here is the result of the "top" command: PID COMMAND %CPU TIME #TH #PRTS #MREGS RPRVT RSHRD RSIZE VSIZE 1431 DiscBlaze 67.6% 0:11.55 4 113 266 16.6M 11.3M 23.8M 117M Wow 67.6% CPU, not bad for an idle application... And by the way, why 24MB of RAM???? I have acquisition.app running and it only require 19MB... There is no CD in the list (you call 'em listbox in RB right ? ;-) I'm running MacOS 10.41 and the latest version of discblaze I have not been able to reproduce the 22100% bug. Let's say it was the interface that didn't refreshed properly... (But I tried to resize the window to force it to refresh the interface)
Like
Version 5.1.4
Anonymous
26 June 2005
Hmmm... from 5.1.3 release notes... "The Allow Additional Burns option is now a Pro only feature." Why would someone want to upgrade and have less functionality?
Like
Version 5.1.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 June 2005
The specifics of DiscBlaze licensing is a topic we've discussed in depth with our users (both publicly in our forum and privately). In a nutshell it all boils down to providing as much functionality for free with DiscBlaze as possible while still keeping enough (or the right) features on the Pro side to keep sales up enough to allow us to continue development. The current change has been the topic of much internal debate, but we decided it was the best way to move forward... a proper balance between Free and Pro DiscBlaze needs to be met, otherwise DiscBlaze development wouldn't be able to continue at a good rate.
Like
Version 5.1.3
Anonymous
03 June 2005
It would rock if the free version could sabe a disc image too. Please, please? :) Cheers.
Like
Version 5.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 June 2005
SAVE, not "sabe", of course. :)
Like
Version 5.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 June 2005
Not a bad suggestion. We'll think on it. Our goal is to provide as much as possible for free in DiscBlaze while still having enough features be "Pro Only" that we can afford to stay in business and continue development.
Like
Version 5.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 June 2005
Sure... Just thought about it as it would be a DiskUtility-like feature, wich is included in the Mac OS X. Thanks for the reply. I do appreciate it and the job you did in the app. :)
Like
Version 5.1.1
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Does not recognize my burner correctly, resulting in expensive coasters. Burner info window on my HP model is totally incorrect on key specs. Needs more work.
Like
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Is your burner properly supported by MacOs X? ie, can you properly burn CDs from the Finder or iTunes? If so, DiscBlaze should have no troubles with it. You might also try PatchBurn to enable full support for your drive. http://www.patchburn.de/
Like
Version 5.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Yes, my drive is recognized by Tiger with Patchburn and other burning software recognizes it too. When I say recognize, I mean all its features sets, such as buffer overrun.
Like
Version 5.0.3
Anonymous
21 May 2005
developer dude... you are totally high... in the past 2 years Toast has added new features in 6 free updates - including stuff you can't touch - like dual layer. why can't you touch it? because all you've done is put a GUI on top of the same stuff that apple provides for free in the OS, so you can't add it until apple does. very sad that you charge $30 for that. people could make the same arguement that they can get the same stuff in discblaze for a fraction of the cost by just using what comes with the OS - free.
Like
Version 5.0.2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 May 2005
Your statements are incorrect. 1) DiscBlaze can burn dual layer DVDs quite well in MacOS X 10.4. 2) DiscBlaze is no more a GUI sitting on top of things provided by Apple than is any other Mac application. Every application utilizes, to one extent or another, libraries and classes provided by Apple. And, like many other applications (such as Toast), DiscBlaze contains a vast amount of custom code to accomplish many things that could not otherwise be done. 3) When you say people could get the "same stuff" as in DiscBlaze for free from the OS it proves, without a doubt, that you have not actually used DiscBlaze (certainly not for more than a moment or two). Can you burn a true custom hybrid (some discs visible only on Mac, others only on PCs, others on both) with a custom icon? Can you burn files quickly without having to have Finder make duplicate copies of them? Can you burn multi-session HFS CDs with a simple checkbox? Can you specify the exact file system you want to use for any disc? Can you use, and re-use, existing disc layouts as many times as you like without taking up any extra HD space? And then make minor modifications to which files you burn from that layout by simply checking/unchecking the file? All of this is a breeze with DiscBlaze. And some of these are features not available in other popular CD burning application. In that regard DiscBlaze is an absolutely incredible bargain at less than $30 USD.
Like
Version 5.0.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 May 2005
And where is your awesome software? At least he tried.
Like
Version 5.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 May 2005
Before Discblaze I tried other freeware such as Yuburner, dragon burner, missingmedia burner... Discblaze is the one I feel satisfied with although I did not pay for the $$. It just does whatever I want to do.
Like
Version 5.0.3
Anonymous
10 May 2005
Just invest the money in Toast, the de facto burner, and reap the benefits of the best burner out there. You can even get the full version of Toast included with some of the burners on the market.
Like
Version 5.0.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 May 2005
Oh and BTW I ma a registered user of DiscBlaze, but stopped paying the foolish upgrade prices. Toast is simply superior is so many ways and I wish I had bought Toast in the first place and saved my money.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 May 2005
There has only ever been one for pay upgrade for DiscBlaze. And we have no plans to charge for any upgrade in the near future. Plus, DiscBlaze costs a small fraction of what Toast costs. It's also worth noting that DiscBlaze adds new features far more rapidly than Toast. So, it would seem to me to be a far better investment to pay 29 bucks for DiscBlaze than $79 for Toast.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
What's the UDF burning do?
Like
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 May 2005
UDF is the file format used for Video DVDs.
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
06 April 2005
Support forum is back online. (Just an FYI to those users who have missed it.)
Like
Version 4.4.1
Anonymous
31 March 2005
support boards have been down for a while... is this guy still in business?
Like
Version 4.4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 March 2005
a very quick cursory investigation reveals: they're down for maintenance
Like
Version 4.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 April 2005
and have been for 3 weeks.
Like
Version 4.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 April 2005
We moved to a new server recently and are still getting the forum and blog back online. It will happen soon (though not as soon as we'd hoped).
Like
Version 4.4.1
Brildenlanch
17 January 2005
Can someone explain to me why I would purchase this? It's a serious question, does it do anything Disk Utility can't?
Like
Version 4.3.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 January 2005
It implements most of the functions in hdiutil in a GUI interface. While you can do the same things with Disk Utility, you can't do them as easily. Also, I don't know of a way in DU to hide particular files on each platform of a hybrid disk, add a custom icon. I waited a long time for Apple to improve DU or the Finder to burn disks, but finally paid for DiskBlaze because it is easier to use than DU and more capability than Finder's burn.
Like
Version 4.3.5
Imtiaz Habib
Imtiaz Habib
14 April 2005
1) Its much faster that Panther's DU 2) Its lot less buggy (Panther's DU often won't read rw discs that it burned before) 3) It easily allows/does multiple burn sessions on the same cd--DU doesn't or at least I haven't been able to make it do it despite several weeks of trying to do so even though each time I begin by erasing the disc and then doing a fresh burn while remembering to click "leave file/disc appendable" but to no avail--because DU locks the disc. DiscBlaze did multiple burns effortlessly. My only annoyance is, it makes seperate disk icons for each session, so I get one rw cd with several icons for it on the desktop. There may be a way around this, but at the moment its much farther than I've gone with Panther's DU. 4) Its also got a really nice interface--nicer than DU's.
Like
Version 4.4.3
Anonymous
30 December 2004
Can it make working backup of PS2 Dics? I do not want to spend more money in replacing the original disc only to let it get scratched that when I play it. I believe in once a person has already bought a disc of anything he/she has the right to make backup copies for personal use. That is from the Freedom of Fair Use Act. May be the makes of games should lower the prices of all games by about $20 then more people will have an incentive to buy it than the few who buy them at $50.
Like
Version 4.3.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 December 2004
It doesn't do copies of any sort
Like
Version 4.3.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 March 2005
expensive but fast dvd copy is your option..
Like
Version 4.3.7
Anonymous
19 December 2004
Kind of just a pretty face on the stuff that Apple provides for free... I just don't get why you'd pay for that?
Like
Version 4.3.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 December 2004
I suggest you read again what DiscBlaze can do that Apple's burner can not.
Like
Version 4.3.3
Anonymous
17 November 2004
A personal thanks to the Developer for addressing the "no burner" attached issue.
Like
Version 4.2.5
Anonymous
12 November 2004
I have a laptop and connect and disconnect my burner accordingly. I tried this new version without my burner connected and I too could not get out of an endless loop without doing a forced quit. This is a bug that needs to be addressed to make this application more credible. No star ratings as this is bug that can and should be addressed by the developer.
Like
Version 4.2.4
Anonymous
06 November 2004
To the individual having trouble when launching with no burner connected: Remember DiscBlaze is a CD/DVD burning application. Without a CD/DVD burner... DiscBlaze wouldn't be very useful. That said we did some work in the 4.2.2 release to make this situation better, and we will assuredly continue to to improve on this. And the kind words are certainly appreciated. :)
Like
Version 4.2.3
Anonymous
06 November 2004
You MUST have a burner attached to your CPU or this bloody app goes through and endless loop until you "Force Quit" the bloody thing. Man, I do like this Developer, but I wish sometimes that we were not the guinea pigs for his apps. Surely, we'll see version 4.2.4 here shortly to fix this annoying bug?
Like
Version 4.2.3
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 November 2004
Imagine that! A burner software that expects you to have a burner conneccted to your Mac! Horrors! What will they do to us next, these vicious developers?
Like
Version 4.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 November 2004
Funny...Toast doesn't require one and you can configure and setup matters to your liking for when you turn on a separate burner.
Like
Version 4.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 November 2004
Well, then, use Toast.
Like
Version 4.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 November 2004
Stills good to me as Toast is superior in a multitude of ways. Thanks for the suggestion.
Like
Version 4.2.3
Anonymous
04 November 2004
I just tried out v4.2.2 to write some audio CDs. It looked very promising, appearing to do a great job. But when I double-checked the CDs I found that only the first track was where it should be. The rest were in any old order. I just created 5 coasters. Looks like another $100 needs to be found to purchase Toast....
Like
Version 4.2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 February 2005
try Dragon Burn :-)
Like
Version 4.3.6
Anonymous
19 September 2004
Good software, quite expensive ($15 should be a good price).
Like
Version 4.1.2
Bryan
14 August 2004
To Anonymous who has support troubles : If you sent in an email a week ago and got no response, odds are we simply did not, for whatever reason, get the mail. I take a great deal of pride in the level of support we provide. So, if you are still interested in the product, try emailing us again. Or, perhaps, use our online support forum.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Anonymous
12 August 2004
only used sparingly, seems to be just OK; real concern is with support - I sent an email asking a very simple question almost a week ago, and have not been dignified with a response - I wouldn't buy the software for this reason alone.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Anonymous
26 June 2004
Is this beta 4 or version 4? I've made so many coasters with this it must be beta 4. All this does is the same thing as the OS. It's the Finder and Disc Utiltiy all bundled into a Coaster Maker and they want money for it!
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Bryan
Bryan
27 June 2004
Well... DiscBlaze does quite a lot more than simply the Finder or Disc Utility. And, where there is overlap of functionality, DiscBlaze performs those tasks and is used in a quite different way. As for burning coaster... that's definitely not good (or normal). If you could send som info to blaze@radicalbreeze.com (OS ver, DiscBlaze ver, wether or not you can burn CDs/DVDs via other apps, what sort of file system and files you were trying to burn, etc) that would help a great deal.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
23 June 2004
Well I have to admit being scalded by purchasing it "again" as it moves into version 4 is nothing short of ludicrous as all versions preceding 4 have been "works in progress." Save your money and buy Toast...I wish I had--now I am. I've had it with two-bit programmers who nickel and dime and only intend on supporting the big boys from now on. Anything over ten bucks for most of the junk put out by programmers is a waste of money and you're better off super-sizing it at your favorite fast-food establishment.
Like
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Bryan
Bryan
23 June 2004
I would certainly not consider DiscBlaze a "work in progress" Each previous version has been supported and we have, I must say, an incredibly high level of customer satisfaction. We get complimented on our tech support daily. If you have a specific problem have you emailed us with information about the problem you are having? We are always striving to make DiscBlaze better and solve any problems that our users have.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 June 2004
Bye-bye...simply not worth the effort to write you when that effort should have been put into first-rate software apps versus wannabes'.
Like
Version 4.0
Bryan
Bryan
23 June 2004
To each their own. We have quite a large user base (of very happy users I might add). So DiscBlaze obviously works quite well for most, but if it doesn't for you... that's fair. But to say that it's a "wannabee" product simply based on that is more than a little missleading.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
23 June 2004
Well I have to admit being scalded by purchasing it "again" as it moves into version 4 is nothing short of ludicrous as all versions preceding 4 have been "works in progress." Save your money and buy Toast...I wish I had--now I am. I've had it with two-bit programmers who nickel and dime and only intend on supporting the big boys from now on. Anything over ten bucks for most of the junk put out by programmers is a waste of many and you're better off super-sizing it at your favorite fast-food establishment.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
22 June 2004
Move to trash. I bought this coaster maker way back when. The first time I used a new version seemed to do ok but that was all I could get out of each version. I kept giving radical breeze the benefit of the doubt and tried each new version which by the way seem to come along as quickly new episodes of CSI. Today I saw version 4 so tried it. Problem is my registration is invalid. The program is invalid.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Bryan
Bryan
22 June 2004
We pride ourselves on being one of the most responsive Mac developers. Sorry to hear of the troubles you have had but we do continue to improve DiscBlaze and, from our testing and customer feedback, DiscBlaze is already one of the most reliable burning software on the market. If you haven't already make sure to send any useful information to us (drive model, os version, error info, etc) so we can work towards resolving whatever problems you are having.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
19 June 2004
This program is a coaster maker. I've tried to burn several Toast and Nero images I have and the disc don't even work. I just get a finder error. This program will never be useful until it can burn to non-Apple drives. The Developer relies to much on Apples API's. He should write his own code and add support for things like UDF and double layer DVD.
Like
Version 4.0b2
2 answer(s)
Delphian
Delphian
19 June 2004
Are you able to burn any data discs at all using DiscBlaze with the drive you have? Do you have a drive that is supported by OS X itself? If so it would be incredibly helpful if you could email your system info (OS version, drive model, etc) to blaze@radicalbreeze.com.
Like
Version 4.0b2
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 June 2004
I burn successfully to an external usb drive. Not DVD... still in the pokey stone age of computerdom.
Like
Version 4.0
Radical Breeze
16 June 2004
peter collie: We have been unable to send email to the address you provided (sent the info many times, but no response). If you can get in contact with us via a different address or method that would help greatly.
Like
Version 4.0b1
3 answer(s)
peter collie
peter collie
18 June 2004
I have once again sent an email with no reply 24 hrs ago to webmaster@radicalbreeze since I and probably you prefer not to resolve this in an open forum but it seems the only way.
Like
Version 4.0b1
Radical Breeze
Radical Breeze
18 June 2004
peter collie: We have sent two emails to the new address you provided. None have bounced back so I assume they made it to your mail server okay. My hunch is that there might be a problem with spam filtering on either your server or in your email client. Perhaps you could create a user acount in our online forums and we could send you your registration info via private message that way (or maybe you have an AIM account)?
Like
Version 4.0b1
peter collie
peter collie
22 June 2004
Try mosquitox@ipipi.com but also cc it to my usual email flyindog@tpg.com.au . it makes no sense that I get all my mail, including a fair amount of unsolicited mail but that you emails dissappear without a trace.
Like
Version 4.0b2
Anonymous
16 June 2004
I used the short trial liked and tried to buy it. My payment was taken creditcard via pay pal and I have a receipt but no license and no replies since a week ago from Radical Breeze and two automated ones from pay pal asking me to resend my complaint. Basicly a good review unless you want to use this more than the demo allows.
Like
Version 3.2
Anonymous
13 May 2004
Slow and buggy. The interface is sluggish and it takes a long time to burn discs. Crashed on me just after finishing burning an audio CD (when verifying was supposed to start.)
Like
Version 3.1.3
2 answer(s)
Bryan
Bryan
13 May 2004
Would you mind emailing your info (system info, what you were doing when you had problems and noticed the sluggishness, etc) to blaze at radicalbreeze.com? We haven't seen much in the way of sluggish behavior, and any crash is definitely something we need to look into.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 May 2004
Will do. Sorry for the harsh review, but I needed some urgent burning that time and put my faith in DiscBlaze. Unfortunately it failed on me. (That time)
Like
Version 3.1.3