Back to iRip page
iRip free download for Mac

iRip Reviews2.1.8

21 August 2015

Transfer songs, videos, contacts, and more from your iOS device to your Mac.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Sid_Sid
Sid_Sid
May 17 2021
2.1.8
4.0
May 17 2021
4.0
Version: 2.1.8
Firstly, L would like to try this app and then buy. I don't know how it is working,.
Kennett
Kennett
Aug 3 2015
2.1.7
0.0
Aug 3 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.7
Version 2.1.8 is available from the developer's web site.
THEE:LEE
THEE:LEE
Oct 5 2012
2.1.6
3.0
Oct 5 2012
3.0
Version: 2.1.6
Has been working fine on my other iDevices, but doesn't seem to work on my iPhone 5 - could be an iOS6 problem?
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Oct 4 2012
2.1.6
5.0
Oct 4 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.6
Very nice tool to backup my iPod But as some other asked, does this work with iOS6 ???
DelportF
DelportF
May 13 2012
2.1.4
0.0
May 13 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.4
Long time this has been updated. Does not work with iOS5
AntoniusBiz
AntoniusBiz
Nov 17 2011
2.1.3
0.5
Nov 17 2011
0.5
Version: 2.1.3
Doesnt work!
Davidson69
Davidson69
Oct 15 2011
2.1.3
3.0
Oct 15 2011
3.0
Version: 2.1.3
Doesn't work with iOS 5 !! This needs to be fixed now. Oh - and it is way too expensive !
Zerohectic
Zerohectic
Oct 14 2011
2.1.2
4.0
Oct 14 2011
4.0
Version: 2.1.2
Doesn't seem to detect iOS 5 devices.
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
Jun 20 2011
2.1.1
3.5
Jun 20 2011
3.5
Version: 2.1.1
Works as advertised but it is way to expensive! There are other similar tools doing the same for free or less money.
EndoLab
EndoLab
Jun 1 2011
2.1.1
0.0
Jun 1 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
I won't pay for a UI upgrade. Shame on you !
Klarebear12
Klarebear12
Mar 26 2011
2.0.5
2.5
Mar 26 2011
2.5
Version: 2.0.5
I downloaded ipodrip on Sep. 11, 2009 and used it once. Now I would like to use my $20 program again and I find out it is too old and the update is $10?? Are you kidding me??? Since when are people CHARGED for updates for software they already purchased? This is ridiculous. I like your program but it is misleading to sell software without telling people that updates will cost extra... considering software needs to be updated all the time. I am disappointed.
Thomas1977
Thomas1977
Mar 8 2011
2.0.5
2.5
Mar 8 2011
2.5
Version: 2.0.5
Paying for a UI upgrade is beyond me. iRip-off
Robk
Robk
Dec 20 2010
2.0.2
0.0
Dec 20 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
Is this a free upgrade or a PAID upgrade from v1 to v2? Website does not say.
cory-johnson011
cory-johnson011
Apr 19 2010
1.5
0.0
Apr 19 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5
Nice program! Works very well, except for one small bug... any tracks with a 4-star rating import into iTunes as 3-stars
Tom-E-Gun
Tom-E-Gun
Apr 13 2010
1.5
0.0
Apr 13 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5
You should always link it to the libcrypto library alias when compiling, not to the version library itself ... You get an error if i dont have the same version: "dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/lib/libcrypto.0.9.8.dylib" ;) Intel, 10.5.8
Thomas1977
Thomas1977
Feb 13 2010
1.4.2
2.5
Feb 13 2010
2.5
Version: 1.4.2
I want to register but the online registration does not work. I just get a blank screen. Anyone?
anonymous-lemming-5024
anonymous-lemming-5024
Feb 12 2010
1.4.2
0.0
Feb 12 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
iRip 1.4.2 on Mac OS X 10.6.2 works ... :)
Drewcam86
Drewcam86
Jan 4 2010
1.4.1
0.0
Jan 4 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
I recently owned this program, but got a new hard-drive installed because mine wasn't functioning properly. Apple said it wasn't my fault, and that they have had this issue quite a few times with my particular model. But, now I don't have this program, and I use it quite often, as I have 2 different ipods that I transfer songs between. I currently have a new bank account, and do not know the numbers of the previous one used, but is it possible to re-download it? or do I have to buy it all over again..
Ongl
Ongl
Jan 2 2010
1.4.1
0.0
Jan 2 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
I heard good story about this application and the one that I knew before - iPod Access. Does anyone knows what are the different between this two if any? I just want to use one instead of both... I do get some 'Honesty' dialog box after entering legitimate license that I have. The Dev tried to solve it but to no avail. No big issues though, just slight annoyed.
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Nov 25 2009
1.4
0.0
Nov 25 2009
0.0
Version: 1.4
Just goes to show what hypocritical thugs Apple and Steve Jobs are that they forced a small developer to relinquish a name they had for over 6 years without problems. This is the same organisation that twice stole the Apple brand from the Beatles.
redfoxwebdesign
redfoxwebdesign
Nov 20 2009
1.4
0.0
Nov 20 2009
0.0
Version: 1.4
New version (1.4) doesn't start up on my MBP (10.4.6)! The icon is dockjumping for a few seconds and then the app crashes.
Johnrdevor
Johnrdevor
Nov 3 2009
1.3.4
0.0
Nov 3 2009
0.0
Version: 1.3.4
Hi, all iPhone 3GS and iPod Touches are fully supported. We also have a new version coming out shortly with a new backend, which will mean a more stable and fast product.
gary-jamerson
gary-jamerson
Oct 12 2009
1.3.2
4.0
Oct 12 2009
4.0
Version: 1.3.2
Although it did not work with my iPhone it works great with my iPod Classic and iPod Mini. Clean and simple user-interface and does the job nicely. Four stars (not five because it does not work with Iphone 3GS)
Mredrup
Mredrup
Oct 4 2009
1.3.1
0.0
Oct 4 2009
0.0
Version: 1.3.1
Thank you 1.3.2 once again runs perfectly on PPC and updates normally. 2 thumbs up for the quick response.
accounts-macupdate
accounts-macupdate
Sep 17 2009
1.2.7
0.0
Sep 17 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.7
Looks promising, but seems to crash almost immediately following launch. Looks like a possible compatibility issue with Snow Leopard?
Guest
Guest
Jul 13 2009
1.2.6
5.0
Jul 13 2009
5.0
Version: 1.2.6
Great program. I've used it with my older iPod Touch, my new jailbroken iPhone 3GS, iPod video, my friend's iPod video, other friend's iPod nano, my roommates iPod shuffle... and, well, you get the idea. It worked flawlessly with all of them. Highly recommend this program to anyone who needs to recover their music!
Coveryourheart
Coveryourheart
Jul 3 2009
1.2.6
5.0
Jul 3 2009
5.0
Version: 1.2.6
If you've not yet decided whether to buy iPodRip or if you're having trouble deciding between different iPod-to-Mac software, let me assure you iPodRip is a very well made product. It's easy and intuitive to use, and its shortcomings are few. I would love to see this software support photo recovery and some version of the 'diff' function to just import the songs I'm missing. While this application is not feature rich, I believe it is better for it. It gets the job done, and it does it well. To the developer: Why was the Family Pack box checked by default when I went to check out? It shouldn't be.
mathew-peterson
mathew-peterson
Jun 30 2009
1.2.6
5.0
Jun 30 2009
5.0
Version: 1.2.6
The review below confuses me. iPodRip has worked perfectly on every computer I've ever used it on.
Awulf
Awulf
Mar 2 2009
1.2.1
0.0
Mar 2 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
Looks like a promising piece of software but I have the following problems with it: • It hangs while it scans my iPod, it should probably give feedback on progress. • Occasionally crashes during import. • Songs rated at 3 Stars, turn into 2 stars when imported.
Johnrdevor
Johnrdevor
Nov 3 2008
1.1
0.0
Nov 3 2008
0.0
Version: 1.1
iPodRip now supports the iPhone and iPod Touch! We've also fixed the crash (on 10.4) that the reviewer below mentioned. All in all, iPodRip version 1.1 is faster and entirely more stable. We're working hard to make it the best ripper app out there!
mathew-peterson
mathew-peterson
Sep 26 2008
1.0.3
5.0
Sep 26 2008
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
iPod Rip is great! My iTunes library exploded on me and I was worried that I had lost all my music but it pulled it all off automatically without any hassle. I didn't even have to read the instructions!
Johnrdevor
Johnrdevor
Jul 13 2008
1.0
0.0
Jul 13 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0
To clarify, iPodRip is now under new management. The Little App Factory has been very gracious in helping transition the application over to Happy Hour Code, LLC. If you have any problems with the new version, please don't hesitate to write us an email!
Cortig
Cortig
Jul 13 2008
1.0
0.0
Jul 13 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0
What's the relationship between this app and the one under the same name and doing the same thing created by The Litle Appfactory??
Lechampion
Lechampion
Mar 17 2008
3.9.1
0.0
Mar 17 2008
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
After using Senuti for over two years, I decided to try iPodRip and got the "No Songs Found to Display" error upon startup. Has anyone found a solution? My mp3s and iTunes library are stored on an external drive. I don't see how but could this be an issue? I don't really have any way of moving my library onto my computer's native drive.
Richard110
Richard110
Nov 4 2007
3.9.1
0.0
Nov 4 2007
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
I've used iPod rip a lot in the last year or so, as well as recommended it to lots of people. Unfortunately, their tech/customer support seems to have really gone off a cliff. For the past two weeks, I have tried repeatedly to get a new serial number to unlock my version iPodrip. Not only have I not received a serial number (I bought a copy last year), I haven't received a reply to numerous messages and emails. Too bad, used to be a great product.
Starman535
Starman535
Jul 17 2007
3.9.1
0.0
Jul 17 2007
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
I purchased iPodRip 3.7 a while ago. I never updated it because the update notification did not work, and I didn't need to anyway. When iTunes 7x came out, this version stopped working. I downloaded the 3.9x version several times, and each time, v3.9x fails to launch with the message "AFRegistration error AFRegistration failed with message: (012) One or more of the registration files are missing." I have e-mailed the developers several times about this, & gotten no response. So much for this code being "Free for purchasers of earlier versions" I am very disappointed with these people, and I won't be suckered into buying any other programs they wrote.
Geoffp
Geoffp
Jul 9 2007
3.9.1
0.0
Jul 9 2007
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
Unfortunately, I have also run into the same issues as other users on MacUpdate . . . "No Songs Found to Display". And, unfortunately, the developer has dropped off the planet. I submit support requests weekly, but have never heard anything back (you'd think I'd learn and stop submitting them - but now it's personal!).
Axiomus
Axiomus
May 30 2007
3.9.1
0.0
May 30 2007
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
ipodrip no longer sees the content of my ipod, which is strange because i have been using it for a number of years now with no issues. i believed at first this was due to itunes 7, a rather unsavoury product ( but a necessary evil ), but now i feel it is a combination of both itunes and ipodrip; since senuti, el ipodo, ollie's ipod extractor, and three other ipod utilities see the contents of my ipod. but none of those products can recover my ipod properly or possess the feature set of ipodrip i have grown accustomed to. i hope the developer can rectify the situation soon or at least reply to support emails.
Klr
Klr
Apr 28 2007
3.9.1
0.0
Apr 28 2007
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
April 28 2007. I have had exactly the same problems as others have reported. iPodRip (that I paid for) comes up with "No songs found to display" upon launching, which is all the more annoying in that iTunes sees them just fine. I too emailed support but haven't heard from them yet. I just upgraded to the newest version of iTunes and applied the 1.1.2 upgrade to my second gen. Nano iPod: could this be the cause of the problems ... ? Hard to know when their support persons seems to have taken permanent leave ! In sum: think twice before paying for this software.
Pa1n
Pa1n
Mar 27 2007
3.9.1
0.0
Mar 27 2007
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
I purchased Ipodrip last Feb 2006. I loved its features and ease of use. I also liked the feature that would allow you to see what songs were already in your Itunes compared to those that were not. However in the last week I have had some trouble using Ipodrip, I updated. Same problem. It seems that the application is having a hard time reading the contents of the Ipod. I sent them an email on their site but nobody has responded and its been almost a week. I fear that I may be in the market for a new Ipod ripping software.
Steve4656
Steve4656
Mar 10 2007
3.9.1
5.0
Mar 10 2007
5.0
Version: 3.9.1
I have tried a number of programmes to move iPod song to a mac and have been frustrated by complicated or vague instructions or, things just not working as promised. I tried this programme and it is perfect for me, simple to use, efficient and effective. Best of all, the contents of both the iPod and iTunes appear within the same overall window, and individual songs and/or playlists can be simply dragged from the iPod to the iTunes section of the window.
Mmurcielago
Mmurcielago
Nov 22 2006
3.9
0.0
Nov 22 2006
0.0
Version: 3.9
Does what it advertises. Latest version however won't accept my serial number anymore even though I payed for one. I contacted support a while back and I'm still waiting for a response! This does not make me a happy customer.
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
Aug 4 2006
3.9
4.3
Aug 4 2006
4.3
Version: 3.9
_ Very slick, easy to use little app. Has saved me a lot of trouble on a few occasions.
Jbasom
Jbasom
Jul 5 2006
3.9
4.0
Jul 5 2006
4.0
Version: 3.9
Read many reviews online of various programs and decided to try this one out (very reluctantly). The results were so good that I felt compelled to post my first ever user review online. In less than three hours, this program restored my entire ipod contents (1644 songs, 4.8 GB of music) to my Power Book G4 running system 10.4.7 and iTunes 6.0. All playlists and songs appear to be completely intact. This just saved me an unbelievable amount of work to reimport all my CD's and reorganize them. My computer crashed and I had to start over from scratch. I did not have a backup of my iTunes library or playlists. I blame Apple for not having a way to restore from ipod back to Mac because these things can happen. Thank goodness for this program. I was skeptical from some of the reviews I read, but I tried it and it worked great for me! One tip: try dragging one playlist from ipod to itunes first to be sure it works properly, then do the complete ipod restore if that's what you need.
Kevinbrighton
Kevinbrighton
Feb 1 2006
3.8.3
4.5
Feb 1 2006
4.5
Version: 3.8.3
Fantastic! After my iBook's hard drive packed up this app got me out of a hole. It backed up all of my 500+ mp3 files. Tranfer rate wasn't lightning, but was reasonably quick. Used with iBook G4, 4th gen iPod (monochrome screen), iTunes 6.0.2. Transfer via USB cable.
Guest
Guest
Sep 21 2005
3.8.3
5.0
Sep 21 2005
5.0
Version: 3.8.3
I wiped out my entire iTunes library -- 10,154 songs -- from the external hard drive I was storing it on, due to a bonehead mistake. iPodRip managed to transfer all but 91 of those 10,154 songs from my iPod onto my new iMac G5, and kept all the original metadata / song ratings / play counts intact! Genius. It was also completely stable and ran smoothly and (reasonably) quickly -- the whole process took about nine hours but hey, that's a lot of songs. (For what it's worth, the equipment involved: 60GB 4th gen color iPod, iTunes 5, Mac OS X 10.4.2, 2GHz iMac G5 w/ 512MB RAM, Firewire connection.) Totally recommended, and I may cough up the shareware price just to keep it around.
Guest
Guest
Aug 24 2005
3.8.3
5.0
Aug 24 2005
5.0
Version: 3.8.3
WOW! I needed to transfer all of my songs from my iPod to my new mac computer (iPod was windows formatted and I wanted to reformat for Mac without losing all my songs), and iPodRip did it beautifully! all 3100 songs, perfect transferred to iTunes, including all the playlists, play counts, and all the other settings of the iPod! Great product!
Guest
Guest
Aug 7 2005
3.8.2
0.0
Aug 7 2005
0.0
Version: 3.8.2
Satisfied. again. flawless. 10.4.2 itunes 4.9 3g ipod (15gb) yes. it works still. and works great.
Guest
Guest
Aug 6 2005
3.8.2
5.0
Aug 6 2005
5.0
Version: 3.8.2
This program has a lot of potential, and is packed with features compared to the other ipod rippers out there. The interface is fairly well thought out, and is not just a window and a couple of buttons like many other similar applications. The UI is very nice. While I've never been a fan of the brushed steel motif (I think it goes against Apple's original usability guidelines), it is consistent with the OS, and this app does a good job. Everything is well laid-out, and there's a lot of detail here, but it is not cluttered. However, and here is its real downfall, it is not a very stable application. Every time I've used it to transfer songs to my iTunes Library, it crashes. (OS 10.4.2, iTunes 4.9) I don't think it likes to copy more than a few hundred songs at a time, as it seems to be more stable in that instance. Of course, every time it crashes reduces my trial period. One other thing I don't like about the program is that the UI feedback when you copy could be better. Many times it seems like the progress bar isn't moving at all, and you aren't sure if it has frozen or not. It would be useful to provide more granular information about the copying progress. So, although iPodRip is definitely the most feature-packed and usable of the ipod ripping applications out there, frankly I would not spend money to purchase this product until it becomes less crash-prone. If this product were stable, it would be worth the $15 shareware fee the author requests. But right now I want something that doesn't blow up when I ask it to perform its main function.
Guest
Guest
Jul 7 2005
3.8
5.0
Jul 7 2005
5.0
Version: 3.8
Does not work at all with itunes 4.9. When you download the .dmg file the and (get info) the version says 3.7.2. The weblink seems to be wrong. Can't wait to get it going. iMac G3 Tiger