Back to iPhoto Buddy page
iPhoto Buddy free download for Mac

iPhoto Buddy Reviews

1.3.8
05 November 2013

Use multiple photo libraries with iPhoto.

Emet1
20 January 2010

Most helpful

Just when you think they've run out of ways to make this app even more awesome... Like many people, I've been using this for years and it is still one of my go-to apps. I've recommended it to other iPhoto users and my mom couldn't keep track of her photos without it. You are going to love the imspired addition of iPB menu. This is more than an addition really, it will change how you use both iPhoto & iPhotoBuddy entirely. I just installed the iPB update and it works flawlessly. (I'm running 10.5.8) Just launch the app, go to the prefs, click on the iPB Menu button and Enable the Menu and Enable at Login, click OK. There it is, whenever I need to get to a library. It streamlines your workflow because you don't have to launch iPB first, then iPhoto. Seems like the only time you need to actually launch iPB is when you need to add a new library. It uses very little system resources and doesn't seem to slow down my startup. Rick Neil is one of my heroes. He gave us a great app, supports it, improves it and only asks for donations. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Send this guy some money.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.3

Read 58 iPhoto Buddy User Reviews

Rate this app:

mike-219
29 March 2017
iPhoto Buddy is an essential part of my publishing business. Each issue of Practical Farm Ideas www.farmideas.co.uk has its own photo library. The magazine has been going for 25 years, 4 issues a year, so I have 100 libraries each named with vol and issue i.e. 25-4 (my latest issue). All the pics I take are in the right issue library and each is divided into events and pics rated, and the whole lot backed up on an external drive. My problem comes with forced upgrades of the OS. iPhoto worked fine and fast on Snow Leopard 10.6.8 but it is very slow since the computer repair people upgraded the OS to 10.9.4. Loading each library now takes an age and reports of Photo have been very mixed. I'd like to thank iPhoto Buddy for creating such a simple to use and effective program which has all I need. Can't be improved.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.8
Fultonkbd
05 December 2014
Great tool I wouldn't want to live without. I just downloaded the latest version for Mac OS Yosemite. I have donated a couple times over the years I have used this. If you use this tool definitely donate. The developer has keep it "Free" for years and regularly updates it.
Like
Version 1.3.8
3 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
12 June 2016
How do you even still have iPhoto? I upgraded from Snow Leopard through Yosemite and I haven't seen iPhoto in a long time. I have the atrocious Photos, I can only wish I still had iPhoto.
Like
Fultonkbd
Fultonkbd
13 June 2016
I still use iPhoto with El Capitan and iPhoto buddy continues to work with it. I use other apps (including Photos) but iPhoto still the one I use the most.
Like
Hermie
Hermie
15 August 2016
Yes, press the Dev's link Rick Neil at the top right and you'll find out the current version is actually 1.3.9, meaning it's still alive!
Like
f1-manchester
13 June 2012
I just found out about this program few days ago. I don't know how I have been living with out it. It's brilliant. Will be donating soon. Please keep up the good work.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
1 answer(s)
Artytom
Artytom
17 June 2012
I've been using it for years and had forgotten to donate. So thanks for the reminder. I just downloaded it again and made my donation via paypal.
Like
docwong
18 May 2012
I'd definitely rate this a 5/5!!! It does just what I want it to, organizing all of my photos and video clips! Man, what do you do with a TB of photos??? What a mess it was before! Now it's all good. And now with the updates, even better. Thanks Rick for sharing. I finally did my donation and you should too!!!
Like
Version 1.3.6
Studiodave56
16 February 2012
With the menu bar icon and the ability to switch on the fly while iPhoto is running I will find myself using this for a lot of things I want to keep separate. I only have 7,000 photos but deciding them up will make it nice. That is just the iPhoto part I haven't even started looking into the iMovie or iDVD part. Having it also work with iTunes would be very nice, hint, hint.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
Neploleppard
03 August 2011
Honestly, I still have no idea why anyone is still commenting on how wonderful this app is. Either you don't know how to use your software, or you're a friend (obviously) of the developer. Way to go MacUpdate for not having filters! I've said it before, and I'll say it again... IPHOTO ALREADY HAS THIS BUILT IN!!! Don't clutter your hard drive with nonsense that does what your computer is made to do already. What's next? An app that lets me open a new window to chat in iChat?
Like
Version 1.3.6
1 answer(s)
Yohannon
Yohannon
30 December 2013
Here's an update as to why people are raving about this utility: Sure, after an inexplicable period of time, Apple finally added the ability to create and switch libraries. But, here's a conundrum; how do you move photos and videos from one library to another? Well, the iPhoto 9.5.1 help says: 1 - Export the photos from one library. This doesn’t delete the photos from the library. 2- Switch to the library you want to add them to. (See task above.) 3 - Import the photos into the new library. Now, this might be okay for a few photos, but when first dealing with splitting your library up it's crude, inelegant, and surprisingly un-Apple. This utility allows me to move whole albums and events straight from one library to another. And it's FREE. So yeah, five stars for solving a problem that Apple should have.
Like (1)
ben-marko
02 August 2011
Very nice, very stable. Much easier to use than iPhoto Library Manager, but that does have more features. I was looking for something very simple and scaled down, this fits the bill nicely.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
Maclover1-1
27 November 2010
Been using it for quite some time, still great :-)
Like (3)
Version 1.3.5
Px9-855
24 October 2010
Can someone confirm if this works for iPhoto from iLife '11? Thanks!
Like (4)
Version 1.3.4
2 answer(s)
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
05 November 2010
Hi there. I can confirm that it doesn't.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Raneil
Raneil
25 November 2010
Yes, the current version of iPhoto Buddy (1.3.4) mostly works fine with iLife '11. That is to say Buddy's primary functionality (creating and switching between multiple iPhoto Libraries) works fine. However, Apple has once again modified iPhoto's Library format, and I will need to release an update to iPhoto Buddy to properly display Library details in Buddy's Info Panel. I hope to have such an update available on the iPhoto Buddy website later today. Rick
Like (5)
Version 1.3.4
Morpher
19 September 2010
Great little utility -- I wouldn't be without it. I've used it for years with utter reliability. It gives me the ability to create and user individual iPhoto libraries for different categories of pictures -- I have about 30 covering professional and personal use. It is quick and easy to use. This is much safer than albums within a single database which is how iPhoto works. For me, one big database is risky. Damage or lose it and you've lost the lot. With multiple databases, any loss will be small.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.4
Emet1
20 January 2010
Just when you think they've run out of ways to make this app even more awesome... Like many people, I've been using this for years and it is still one of my go-to apps. I've recommended it to other iPhoto users and my mom couldn't keep track of her photos without it. You are going to love the imspired addition of iPB menu. This is more than an addition really, it will change how you use both iPhoto & iPhotoBuddy entirely. I just installed the iPB update and it works flawlessly. (I'm running 10.5.8) Just launch the app, go to the prefs, click on the iPB Menu button and Enable the Menu and Enable at Login, click OK. There it is, whenever I need to get to a library. It streamlines your workflow because you don't have to launch iPB first, then iPhoto. Seems like the only time you need to actually launch iPB is when you need to add a new library. It uses very little system resources and doesn't seem to slow down my startup. Rick Neil is one of my heroes. He gave us a great app, supports it, improves it and only asks for donations. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Send this guy some money.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.3
Yosemitesam
24 October 2009
I've been using iPhoto Buddy since about Version 1.1 (at least 5 years). As an educator, web-rookie; designer; animator; (among the many hats I wear using digital photos), I use (or support others using) several versions of Mac OS X and of iPhoto/iLife. I encourage all my clients and students to use iPhoto Buddy. I am still in awe, with every iP update that Apple hasn't taken up this idea. Those of you who prefer to quit iPhoto, reopen holding the option key, and then browse for your other libraries each time you want to change -- more power to you, but I much prefer to have my list of libraries in one place from which I can relaunch the iPhoto library I need in one step. I have several different categories of photos -- Family shots; Professional photography; school yearbook client website photos; stop-motion animation libraries; to name a few. Moreover, without having to open each library, I iPhoto Buddy shows me exactly which albums, books, slideshows; how many "items" (pix & movies); which iPhoto version; etc., etc. Don't know how I'd function without iPhoto Buddy! Thank you for keeping it freeware. I encourage all to donate.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.3
Vajra7
17 May 2009
This free application worked so well for dividing up an overcrowded iPhoto Library that I donated. It's much easier than switching libraries via the built-in Mac way. The interface is well thought out and attractive, and the users manual is extensive. It's great!
Like (4)
Version 1.3.2
k8jb
14 May 2009
I've been using iPhoto Buddy for several years now and I wouldn't want to try and manage all my photos without it! Some people may think this app is useless, and they're entitled to their opinion, but I think that this app rocks.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.2
Roro01
13 May 2009
USELESS APPLICATION Just press the option key when opening iPhoto and create or choose different libraries.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
zx
13 May 2009
The new Menu-Bar option is great...How about adding a thumbnail to visually identify you library from the Menu-Bar:) Thanks, zx
Like (4)
Version 1.3.2
5 answer(s)
Raneil
Raneil
13 May 2009
An interesting idea. I will definitely look into that as an option for a future release. Thanks for the feedback -- keep it coming!
Like (4)
Version 1.3.2
zx
zx
13 May 2009
Great:) Also, is it possible to create Libraries Shortcuts ( Alias )?
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
Raneil
Raneil
13 May 2009
Hmm... another interesting idea. I'm assuming you mean an alias-like file associated with a specific Library that, when double-clicked in the Finder, would launch iPhoto with that particular Library.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
zx
zx
13 May 2009
Exactly. 'iPhoto Library Manager' got this option and it's very useful.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
Raneil
Raneil
17 September 2010
Thumbnails in iPB Menu: DONE! Aliases/shortcuts: DONE! I call them Library Launchers. These were by far the two most frequently requested new features. Now, they're finally available. Thanks for the feedback!
Like (2)
Version 1.3.4
Brianrhyolite
18 March 2009
I am running Mac OS X 10.3.9, and I had a few thousand photos in a single iPhoto library. It was very slow. I found iPhoto Buddy a few months ago, and my iPhoto experience has been great since.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
Doglover2113
18 February 2009
I have almost 2TB's of pictures that I have organized by year. iPhoto is not able to handle that magnitude of images. But iPhoto Buddy does great with it. I have my pictures organized by year. I don't know what I would do without this program. I recommend this to anyone that sees iPhoto getting slow due to large quantities of pictures. To top it all off the program is free and new updates keep coming out. how much better can it be? Writing this to thank the developers for keeping this program up to date and providing it for everyone to use.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.1
Kevin-Leigh
10 February 2009
The beauty of this programme is that is does what is says on the label. It's easy to use and allows me to access at a click various iPhoto albums on different drives. The programme is rock solid and prevents confusion as to which album is being opened at any time.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.1
Tabarnhart
08 February 2009
the more i use my digital camera, the i need iPhoto Buddy. since i can take dozens, even hundreds of photos at a time, and since they are all not of the same topic - some are scenic, some at political events, others are family - to have them all live in the same library just adds a layer of complexity within iPhoto that i don't need. instead, i open Buddy & there are my different libraries. depending on what images i need, i open the appropriate library and save myself a ton of hassle. i am lousy at organizing massive numbers of files, and Buddy helps me so much. and it works so well. and now with iMovie! it just gets better. (now if we can get "sub-libraries...")
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
k8jb
07 February 2009
I've used iPhoto Buddy for several years now and love it! The ability to have multiple photo libraries for different subjects really helps when organizing large groups of photos. I can have one for family, friends, vacations, pets, work related items, art, and on and on. I'm able to launch iPhoto Buddy with a click, select the library I want, and open it quickly and easily. When I'm done with that library, iPhoto Buddy is waiting for me to select the next one. I really like the ability to lock certain libraries. This feature keeps my artwork-in-progress from prying eyes and no one will see it before I'm ready. I would recommend this program to anyone who is looking for a comprehensive library manager with some extra features. It's free and works beautifully. I've never had a problem with it crashing or failing to launch. It's a rock-solid app!
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
rfnikon
19 April 2008
When I originally discovered iPhoto Buddy, I was struggling with iPhoto on my G4 iMac. After iPhoto Buddy I was moving along. Now I use it with my new iMac and continue to find it the most useful Apple Mac application. I now have more than 10 libraries most of them on my external hard drives.I recommend it to all my Mac buddies. And it's FREE. With each version increase I donate using Paypal. Thanks
Like (3)
Version 1.3
Morpher
26 January 2008
I have used iPhoto Buddy for several years now (currently running on X.4.11 with iPhoto 6.0.6) as a professional tool. It provides a facility which I am astonished iPhoto does not provide -- it allows you to have multiple photo libraries. I have just counted -- I have 49 covering different places, different activities and different interests. Plus the family one, of course, which makes a round 50! iPhoto Buddy allows me to set up a library quickly and easily, then to access it in moments. I wouldn't be without it. And since I need it, I have shown its creator my appreciation by donating. I urge you to try this neat program and support it too.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Riderz
13 December 2007
I have just upgraded to Leopard. During the upgrade, I decided to change from my last simple iPhoto library to iPhoto Buddy. Never got it to work. Always got this message when I try to launch it. "An exception of class NilObjectException was not handled. The application must shut down." Am running a 1.33Ghz Powerbook G4, Leopard, iLife 08. installed the developer tools as well. Anyone seeing the same problem?
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Lissainknoxville
Lissainknoxville
13 August 2008
I also had the "exception of class NilObjectException" issue after I installed iPhoto Buddy 1.3 on a MacPro running OS 10.5.4. I emailed the iPhoto Buddy developer and here is the fix he told me: "This is usually resolved by deleting iPhoto Buddy's Preferences file (be sure to quit Buddy first). Buddy will the create a new one the next time it's launched. The file is located here: /Users/YOUR_USER_NAME/Library/Preferences/iPhoto Buddy/IB Prefs. Rick" That fixed it...wonder why I didn't think of it??
Like
Version 1.3
Umijin
01 December 2007
Like this app? Consider making a donation to the author, as all proceeds (until the end of 2007) will go to two cancer charities, in memory of the author's brother-in-law.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Peterjohndean
28 November 2007
I've used this product ever since it came onto the market. It's great for organising iPhoto, even though the Apple software is now faster. And making backups takes less time when you are only working on a small part of the library.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Smksensei
26 November 2007
Great app, does what it promises.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
03 October 2007
Fails to show the contents of iPhoto libraries with version number 7.1. When selected, it just says "Loading" in the bottom right panel, but doesn't get past that stage. I still have a couple of version 7.0.1 libraries which work fine with iPhoto Buddy, but get upgraded to 7.1 as soon as I open them with the current version of iPhoto. So eventually, iPhoto Buddy won't be able to tell me the contents of any of my libraries.
Like
Version 1.2.8
2 answer(s)
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
03 October 2007
Done.
Like
Version 1.2.8
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
16 October 2007
Alas, no response from the developer...
Like
Version 1.2.8
Caps
29 September 2007
This is what makes iPhoto work for me! Albums are not enough when you have several large sets of different subject matter, each of which require different handling. It's intuitive, easy, and simple.
Like
Version 1.2.8
Fnerph
12 September 2007
Wonderful little app. Absolutely essential if you use iphoto as your directory system of choice but NEED multiple libraries. I've been using it for 18months now without a hitch with multiple system updates and computer upgrades. Excellent.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Simonesdad
17 August 2007
This program is outstanding. It should have been built in to iPhoto. I sure hope it is goign to work with iPhoto 7!
Like
Version 1.2.6
1 answer(s)
Forgeron
Forgeron
20 August 2007
I used iphoto 6 libraries on my LaCie rugged external firewire disk. OK with Iphoto 6, but iphoto buddy cannot add them to the library list after they were converted to an iphoto 7 library!
Like
Version 1.2.6
Steve39
03 April 2007
iPhoto Buddy does exactly what it claims to do, a very useful program for organising large collections of images.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Drs75
11 April 2006
I am a digital scrapbooker and this program has made my scrapbooking so much more efficient. I have a whole library where I keep my papers, embellishments, etc. . . Now I don't have to search through folders to try and find what I'm looking for. I have different libraries for different projects. I have had no problems with using this program. I also like the fact that I can set up libraries on my external hard drive, or anywhere else I want to, and if I want to move the library, it keeps track of where I put it.
Like
Version 1.2.6
2 answer(s)
Felipe-Schultz
Felipe-Schultz
24 July 2006
it runs in Universal Binari for MacIntel??
Like
Version 1.2.6
Drs75
Drs75
25 July 2006
I do not have the new MacIntel, so I don't know the answer to your question. The program is free, so my suggestion would be to download it and see if it works.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Tennisman1939
26 December 2005
I highly recommend Iphoto Buddy for anyone that has more than one Iphoto Library. I have a dozen or so Libraries and I use IPhoto Buddy to switch back and forth between them. I have no idea why Rick does not charge for this great product. He should! Plus anyone that downloads it should send him some money to keep the program going. I too have donated more than once for this great product!
Like
Version 1.2.3
birdalmy
23 October 2005
iphoto Buddy ROCKS!!!!! I love it and it saves me constantly. I like it so much that I am making a second donation. THANKS!!!!! BHA :-)
Like
Version 1.2.3
Fgail
25 July 2005
If you have more than 5,000 Photo, then you can't live without iPhoto Buddy. It is a great! Thanks Nick.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
22 July 2005
I used it for a year. It's excellent. I donated. It is donation ware. I don't really like the lock album/password feature. I think it gives a false sense of security. If you really want a secure album, place it in an encrypted volume that you can make with the apple disk utility.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Hal Scoggins
01 July 2005
This program overcomes a glaring deficiency in iPhoto: the tedious process required to have and work with more than one Photo Library. Since the performance of iPhoto suffers dramatically as you add more photos, this is a major problem. iPhotoBuddy makes the process simple. Highly recommended. And make sure and send a donation to the author. Software that fills a need this obvious, and does it so well, deserves a reward.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
17 June 2005
Great and free. Crashed while asked to open default library the first time. Second time it launched fine. The true gem in this utility is the password protection, even though its not that hard to bypass. A little trick: iPhoto can manage several Libraries by itself, simply hold down ALT when launching iPhoto, and you will be asked to either create a new library or show iPhoto where the current library is, that way you can create as many new libraries as you want, and choose which one to open when launching iPhoto.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
15 June 2005
One of the best OS X freebies out there...Works smoothly and just keeps getting better. And the writer is cool enough to make it free as well! Thumbs WAY up.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
12 June 2005
Absolutely perfect. The only thing you need to managed iPhoto. I've never had a problem, and I was able to use if from the first second. It's free, but I sent a donation -- it's that good!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Timplaster
09 June 2005
Beautiful. Thanks for making this/keeping this free!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
01 May 2005
iPhoto Buddy does not work wih Tiger. However, I have contacted the developer and the new version will be out soon. Many thanks to his fast reply.
Like
Version 1.2b
Anonymous
30 April 2005
Does not work correctly in Tiger. My photos are not imported.
Like
Version 1.2b
Anonymous
03 April 2005
In response to the previous question, allow me to give a personal example. My wife is a professional photographer. She specializes in weddings and portraits. This program allows us to have multiple libraries, each appropriate to its content: weddings, portraits, and personal. Rather than have tens of thousands of photos of all sorts all jumbled together, she can keep each work space distinct. It's a very nice solution, and it's great that iPhoto is developed in such a way as to allow for this 3rd-party solution.
Like
Version 1.2b
Doug-Brandt
31 March 2005
Forgive the possible dumb question... but, with the ability to have multiple photo albums with iPhoto 5, why use iPhoto Buddy? Or... am I missing other 'Buddy' features that iPhoto 5 does not have?
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 April 2005
iPhoto Buddy allows you to have completely separate and independent iPhoto folders for different photo collections. In other words, using iPhoto, you cannot access photos in collection A while iPhoto is viewing collection B. The big advantage is it limits your photo collections to a manageable size which helps organise things and means iPhoto is faster. If you want to look at collection A while in iPhoto (to continue my example above), you must run iPhoto Buddy which will switch iPhoto to access collection A. Moving photos between collections becomes a little bit more tricky as a result because you cannot have collection A and collection B open at the same time in iPhoto. You will need to export and import phtos to achieve this. You cannot drag and drop (without a third party piece of software).
Like
Version 1.2b
Anonymous
30 March 2005
Great tool. Thanks. But there is a problem with "central european" encoding when clicking "show additional library information". If any of the iPhoto albums has "ce" encoding, iPhoto Buddy 1.2 shows ie. "#${" instead of correct,specific letter. Would be great if this can be fixed.
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
Rick Neil
Rick Neil
31 March 2005
I just wanted to let you know that this bug has been identified, and a fix has been developed and seems to work fine on all of my test Macs. It is currently being further tested by several Beta Testers. I hope to have a bug-fix update posted very soon. If you would like to be a Beta tester, feel free to let me know.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 April 2005
This has been fixed in version 1.2b.
Like
Version 1.2b
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 April 2005
Thank you for your quick response. I sent you an email. Regards.
Like
Version 1.2b
Anonymous
30 March 2005
I had switched to QuickPhoto to manage my iphoto library, but with this iphoto 5 compatible release, I'm jumping back to iPhoto Buddy. Slick software and no bugs yet that I have found. Love the new library thumbnail view as well! Thumbs up big time for release 1.2!
Like
Version 1.2
Chaosclownz
21 March 2005
Great program, similar to iPhoto Library Manager. I like the interface and how it shows your library's, but it isn't fully compatable with iPhoto 5. It does not support the new album structure, and it gets buggy and the GUI starts to disappear on me (buttons and what not get covered by the brushed aluminum looking GUI).
Like
Version 1.1.8
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 March 2005
Just wanted to pass along a note that the issues raised in this post have been corrected with iPhoto Buddy version 1.2. Thank you for your feedback!
Like
Version 1.2
Rick Neil
Rick Neil
29 March 2005
Just wanted to pass along a note that the issues raised in this post have been corrected with iPhoto Buddy version 1.2. Thank you for your feedback!
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
04 December 2004
A brilliant application - well conceived by an iPhoto user and beautifully put together. Even the documentation is thorough and easy to understand. Top marks!
Like
Version 1.1.8