Back to TeXShop page
TeXShop free download for Mac

TeXShop Reviews4.68

07 October 2021

TeX front-end.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Pink-Panther
Pink-Panther
Sep 22 2019
4.41
5.0
Sep 22 2019
5.0
Version: 4.41
Forgot the ***** in my previous comment... How come the files of the best available Latex front-hand application still lack a TexShop icon of their own?... Blaming Apple's policy is not the answer... It is time to do something about it. Note: My previous complain on this very issue is already two years old. Still patiently waiting... And yes, TexShop is irreplaceable!
sandra-33
sandra-33
Sep 3 2019
4.31
5.0
Sep 3 2019
5.0
Version: 4.31
Great app. I use this all the time.
liqiuweiss
liqiuweiss
Nov 29 2018
4.17
5.0
Nov 29 2018
5.0
Version: 4.17
Nice
darkwing52
darkwing52
Sep 29 2018
4.11
5.0
Sep 29 2018
5.0
Version: 4.11
Simply great. We empower our Physics and Astronomy majors with it. Have used it for years as our introduction to LaTeX for our students. They are mostly Mac users, but even the non-Mac users readily embrace TeXShop. It is customizable, and versatile, and extraordinarily well maintained. Yes, I have tried others, but I keep coming back.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Dec 19 2017
3.94
0.0
Dec 19 2017
0.0
Version: 3.94
The current version is 3.95
Pink-Panther
Pink-Panther
Jul 26 2017
3.82
5.0
Jul 26 2017
5.0
Version: 3.82
TexShop is the best Latex application ever! So, how come the files of the best Latex application ever still lack a nice (or even ugly) icon of their own?...
perkunas88
perkunas88
Feb 14 2017
3.77
4.0
Feb 14 2017
4.0
Version: 3.77
Really nice and free application.
ososX
ososX
Jun 5 2016
3.62
5.0
Jun 5 2016
5.0
Version: 3.62
I use this program for many years and really fond of it. Kudos the developers. In recent version I am having a funny behavior that when I reopen a source file that I already compiled (and it opens together with its pdf preview), the first pdf page is white. If there are more than one page I need to scroll to the next page (in the previewer) and scroll back up to see the first page. If there is only one page then sometimes if I scroll up and down the text appears, but sometimes I must re-compile the source to bring have the preview working. I hope this update will fix this behavior. Nonetheless, this is a $5\times\star$ piece of work.
mazetas
mazetas
May 1 2015
3.51
4.5
May 1 2015
4.5
Version: 3.51
It does everything and it is solid. There is no need to search for an alternative if you just downloaded mactex. I like that it has built in support for mac os spell checker which is important for me.
Machobbes
Machobbes
Jan 23 2015
3.50
5.0
Jan 23 2015
5.0
Version: 3.50
Is it really necessary to push out a new version for such a tiny update? One update per month should be enough.

Besides that, great app as usual.
Pink-Panther
Pink-Panther
Nov 25 2014
3.46
5.0
Nov 25 2014
5.0
Version: 3.46
v. 3.46: Preview icon missing. Again! Would the developer please fix it once and for all.
ososX
ososX
Aug 18 2014
3.39
5.0
Aug 18 2014
5.0
Version: 3.39
As usual a great and stable update to this LaTeX editor. Just want to mention that I love the new circular application icon :) They should update it at MacUpdate site too.
anonymous-rabbit-5199
anonymous-rabbit-5199
May 29 2014
3.36.1
4.5
May 29 2014
4.5
Version: 3.36.1
Easy to use Latex environment, I haven't encountered any crashes/instabilities and the developer is highly responsive to email :)
Machobbes
Machobbes
May 14 2014
3.36
5.0
May 14 2014
5.0
Version: 3.36
I'm using it more or less since its creation, and it really is great and indispensable. One thing I would really like to see one day is the ability to form projects like BBEdit, which can be searched and changed simultaneously. And better icons in the preview window.
ososX
ososX
Apr 19 2014
3.34
5.0
Apr 19 2014
5.0
Version: 3.34
The addition of the LaTeX aware spelling (as a part of the OSX) is great. However, I'm unable to reach the site http://cocoaspell.leuski.net/ How else can I activate this feature ?
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Oct 20 2013
3.25
5.0
Oct 20 2013
5.0
Version: 3.25
Excellent Free App.
DavyB
DavyB
Oct 14 2013
3.24
0.0
Oct 14 2013
0.0
Version: 3.24
The Developers homepage link is no longer valid, it redirects to the uoregon.edu homepage
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Apr 30 2013
3.14
5.0
Apr 30 2013
5.0
Version: 3.14
For me this is the best TeX-Editor on the market. Stable, very comfortable and with nearly everything you need. I use ML 10.8.3 on an iMac 27'' (late 2012) and have no problem at all. I am so happy that still updates are coming because its getting better always. A big thanks to the developers.
ososX
ososX
Apr 8 2013
3.11
5.0
Apr 8 2013
5.0
Version: 3.11
Great TeX/LaTeX editor. I use it for many years now and its just getting better. Tnx !
Emile100
Emile100
Oct 6 2012
3.11
5.0
Oct 6 2012
5.0
Version: 3.11
Very nice, been using it since beta versions way back. Cannot thank the devs enough. One thing I would really like is a full-screen optin with a single window and source/preview/log subwindows. Devs ?!
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
Jul 6 2011
2.43
4.5
Jul 6 2011
4.5
Version: 2.43
I've been using TexShop for more years than I care to remember, and I have trouble imagining how I could live without it :-)
Tessi
Tessi
Jun 29 2011
2.42
4.5
Jun 29 2011
4.5
Version: 2.42
  Absolutely great job. From the viewpoint of a scientist, TeXShop has the perfect balance between features and ease of use. It works perfectly and is constantly improving. Wonderful job. Another excellent choice is TexMaker.
Emile100
Emile100
Apr 12 2011
2.39
5.0
Apr 12 2011
5.0
Version: 2.39
My everyday typewriter for a good 10 years... The right balance of speed and features. Infinite thanks to Richard, Dirk and all contributors.
talazem-1
talazem-1
Mar 3 2010
2.33
5.0
Mar 3 2010
5.0
Version: 2.33
Stable, fast, maintained, and free. Now allows for Right-to-Left languages to show their direction correctly on a paragraph-level. Just the right amount of useful macros, easy customization, but neither is it too complex for a beginner. Highly recommended.
Wighta
Wighta
Feb 18 2010
2.31
0.0
Feb 18 2010
0.0
Version: 2.31
The changes in 2.31 are described at http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~koch/texshop/changes_2.31.html
Wighta
Wighta
Feb 18 2010
2.31
0.0
Feb 18 2010
0.0
Version: 2.31
The changes in 2.31 are described at http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~koch/texshop/changes_2.31.html
Mark-Everitt
Mark-Everitt
Feb 3 2010
2.3
5.0
Feb 3 2010
5.0
Version: 2.3
No recent reviews so I thought I'd pitch in. TeXShop gives you a clean interface which is very different from the usual assault of menus and icons you get with TeX shells. This means that you can keep your source and the compiled document on screen at the same time, and the syncing allows you to jump back and forth easily. It integrates with TeX without any fiddling and allows both the direct pdflatex and latex -> dvi -> eps -> pdf routes. I wrote my entire thesis in this and I can't imagine a better shell for the job. Five thumbs up! :D
M-u-Moore
M-u-Moore
Jun 4 2007
2.10b10
3.0
Jun 4 2007
3.0
Version: 2.10b10
Good GUI for writing LaTeX and PdfTex stuff, though not as good as the Alpha/OzTeX combo back in the old days.. Well, after all this one is free! Keep on the good work.
darkwing52
darkwing52
Feb 11 2007
2.10b7
5.0
Feb 11 2007
5.0
Version: 2.10b7
We have used TeXShop extensively in our department (Physics & Astronomy) for a couple of years now. Students and faculty love it. We use the current betas, (up to 2.1b7 now) and all is well. We formerly used iTeXMac, but switch to TeXShop because it was better. Not sure if that is still the case, but we are not motivated to switch back for now.
Amartsin
Amartsin
Feb 13 2006
2.0.9a
3.8
Feb 13 2006
3.8
Version: 2.0.9a
Very slow on large TeX files (ca. 1 MB): global substitutions take forever. Poor synchronization: at times would not syncronize at all, at other times, would produce a completely irrelevant selection. Ogre Kit is disfunctional: live update repeats the first updated line in each line thereafter; the window reappears by itself (even when it has been closed) after computer wakes up and is impossible to close after that (you can close it only by quitting TexShop). I am working on a large translation project and have to use Ogre Kit, but this is a torture. Used to be much better ...
nowheredense
nowheredense
Feb 6 2006
2.0.9a
0.0
Feb 6 2006
0.0
Version: 2.0.9a
Indeed, Textures is dead despite BlueSky having come out of a not-even-alpha release for OS X. We need to get our typset done NOW, and TeXShop is what all Textures users would turn to. Good GUI and true OS X interface. TeXShop is here to stay and serve us well.
Guest
Guest
May 25 2005
2.0.3
4.3
May 25 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0.3
Elgin Johnston and I wrote a calculus book using Textures. We tried to remain faithful to Textures, which served us well, but I gave up on Textures and have switched to TeXShop. It is a very good program.
Guest
Guest
May 23 2005
2.0.3
4.3
May 23 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0.3
TeXShop is an excellent application -- thank you very much. I haven't used LaTeX previously, and am sure this application has eased my baptism of fire. Unfortunately, I cannot get the latest update to work - the icon bounces in the dock, but nothing else happens. So I've reverted to the previous version, which still works just fine. I'm running Panther X.3.9.
Guest
Guest
May 11 2005
2.0.2
4.3
May 11 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0.2
I forgot to speak anout the synchronisation feature : it works and that's a real improvement. Enjoy Texing.
Guest
Guest
May 11 2005
2.0.2
0.0
May 11 2005
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
The best TeX front end for mac osX. It's easy to use with a lot of features to have a personalised workspace. I used to work with Texture in mac os 9 but even if Textures would be released in os X I don't think I could come back. If you want to use *all* the mac fonts TexShop is fully compatible with Xetex : you get the best text editing.
Guest
Guest
May 4 2005
2.0.1
4.3
May 4 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0.1
TexShop is a great application. Thanks for version 2.01, it corrected the bugs in 2.00, except that some of the French translation was lost (in particular the Typeset button).
Guest
Guest
May 2 2005
2.0
4.3
May 2 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0
This is about v1.37: 1) it works fine with X.3.9. 2) it doesn't seem to work with X.2.8 (launches briefly, then quits unexpectedly -- typical behavior of Panther apps). Jaguar users should backup the previous release (TeXShop 1.35e) before trying this one...
Guest
Guest
May 1 2005
2.0
4.3
May 1 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0
Well, I have to say that 2.0 is really slow under Tiger. It is also seems to be quite buggy. I often get the beachball or it does not respond at all. I have to force quit it. Also the GUI has not changed, and now looks quite outdated. I do not give any rating because I assume that this ist simply a beta and fixes will follow shortly.
Guest
Guest
Apr 29 2005
2.0
4.3
Apr 29 2005
4.3
Version: 2.0
Please note version 2.0 requires Tiger 10.4.0. For people on 10.3.x there is another update to 1.37. From the deloper's page:Version 1.37 contains all changes in 2.00 except those which depend on PDFKit.
Guest
Guest
Mar 9 2005
1.3.5e
4.3
Mar 9 2005
4.3
Version: 1.3.5e
I started using LaTeX on the Mac five years ago (with something named OzTeX or similar) on Mac OS 8, and after a long break got back to using LaTeX. After searching for information on current distributions and front-ends, I found two recommendations: TeXShop and iTeXMac. I installed both, with some problems with the i-Installer first (by default had a bad URL or something), but after fixing that, everything ran smoothly. iTeXMac was said to have more features, but those could be overwhelming as well. For the beginner, I would recommend TeXShop, and the chances are good you'll stay with it. Only small downside: it's version field isn't compatible with MacUpdate Desktop (which shows only 'TeXShop' as the installed version).
Guest
Guest
Feb 8 2005
1.3.5e
4.3
Feb 8 2005
4.3
Version: 1.3.5e
Never mind the equations, I just don't like word processors. This app allowed me to get started in TeX/LaTeX, and I love it. Thank you for your efforts!
Guest
Guest
Oct 31 2004
1.3.5e
4.3
Oct 31 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.5e
This release of TeXShop fixed one of the main things that made me curse when writing up a document: having to click twice to get location context after viewing the formatted document. Thanks! Life is now VERY good!
Guest
Guest
Oct 18 2004
1.3.5e
4.3
Oct 18 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.5e
TeXShop is the coolest _front end_. But: - Works not to good with external editors (i use AlphaX, which is the best). The built-in editor is quite fine but I'd prefer to have tyhe choise. - The iInstaller for the underlying teTeX is complete rubbish, hard to maintain, difficult to install new packages (compare it with MikteX, which comes for windows, but is quite more Mac like). Anyway, it's still the best, and i hope it improves further.
Guest
Guest
Sep 8 2004
1.3.5e
4.3
Sep 8 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.5e
By far the BEST Tex editor+previewer I ever worked with. Let me further confess that Texshop will be my preferred professional choice even if I have to pay for it!
Guest
Guest
Sep 8 2004
1.3.5e
0.0
Sep 8 2004
0.0
Version: 1.3.5e
What is with the slew of 'letter' updates: 1.35a-13.5e?
Guest
Guest
Sep 7 2004
1.3.5d
4.3
Sep 7 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.5d
Absolutely excellent. From the viewpoint of a mathematician, TeXShop has the perfect balance between features and ease of use (whereas many other LaTeX editors have more buttons and panels than a nuclear plant). It works perfectly and is constantly improving. Wonderful job.
Guest
Guest
Aug 30 2004
1.3.5
4.3
Aug 30 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.5
Great update (1.3.5). Works like a charm and now I can use all my fonts on my mac (using XeTeX). Author is very responsive. High kudos to all that made TeXShop what it is today.
Guest
Guest
Aug 8 2004
1.3.4
0.0
Aug 8 2004
0.0
Version: 1.3.4
When my friend on his computer with Windows clicks on a part of the compiled tex output, his cursor goes to the right place in the .tex document to edit. Why cannot we do that on Mac?
Guest
Guest
Jun 1 2004
1.3.4
4.3
Jun 1 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.4
There is very far from TeXShop to a 5 stars latex editor. Don't let people believe that they will know LaTeX just because they download TeXShop. Moreover, TeXShop does not increase significantly the LaTeX learning curve, in fact, the most difficult/interesting part of the job starts after. LaTeX is more difficult to learn than any standard word processors, but the results are so nice.
Guest
Guest
Apr 28 2004
1.3.4
4.3
Apr 28 2004
4.3
Version: 1.3.4
Simply the best .... Have nothing to add.