Back to Fetch Art for iTunes page
Fetch Art for iTunes free download for Mac

Fetch Art for iTunes Reviews

2.6.0
23 March 2011

Grab iTunes album cover of current song.

Planet-X
23 March 2011

Most helpful

The download link still is for version 2.5.4.2? Where is version 2.6.0?
Like (4)
Version 2.6.0

Read 195 Fetch Art for iTunes User Reviews

Rate this app:

dave-ventura
28 February 2018
doesn't work with Sierra. Whenever I start it I am prompted to install Java, which I know is already installed. Then it freezes and I have to force quit. Disappointed as can't find cheap artwork app anywhere.
Like
Version 2.6.0
sir79ius
17 March 2015
Maybe i did something wrong.. starts, looks good, but doesn't actually find any artwork. Maybe the XML Interface at Amazon changed?
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
Aksingh11
10 August 2011
Doesn't Work Any More ,guess the Itunes Updates Broke the code . the app developers blog also is not active ... Long live Fetch Art
Like
Version 2.6.0
Shock-J
24 March 2011
Why does this installer install the script into the root Scripts folder (/Library/iTunes/Scripts) instead of the user's Scripts folder (/Users/(name)/Library/iTunes/Scripts)? Not good practice. iTunes wouldn't even recognize the script in this location. I had to manually move it into the iTunes Scripts folder at the user level in order for it to show up in the scripts menu. This installer looks like it still needs some tweaking.
Like
Version 2.6.0
jocatra
23 March 2011
Thank you, Aric. Congrats for the nice work that is working fine here. :-)
Like
Version 2.6.0
Planet-X
23 March 2011
Thank you Aric. Now it works fantastic. Easy to use and does what it has to do.
Like
Version 2.6.0
Ollejah
23 March 2011
Indeed, where is the promised version 2.6.0?
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
Aric's Works
Aric's Works
23 March 2011
I'm contacting MacUpdate to see why the download link hasn't been updated. Bear with me here, I expect it to be fixed in 24 hours.
Like (1)
Planet-X
23 March 2011
The download link still is for version 2.5.4.2? Where is version 2.6.0?
Like (4)
Version 2.6.0
3 answer(s)
RJC.NJNYC
RJC.NJNYC
23 March 2011
Its really v2.5.4. Sloppy.
Like
Aric's Works
Aric's Works
23 March 2011
I'm contacting MacUpdate to see why the URL hasn't been updated.
Like
Aric's Works
Aric's Works
23 March 2011
Ok it's been fixed. It was a problem on how I was hosting the file.
Like
bbbc
25 February 2010
10.6.2 | iTunes 9.0.3 | Fetch Art 2.5.4 - Fetch Art now only applies album art to the first selected song, of many selected songs. Fetch Art worked fine under the previous version of iTunes, 9.0.2.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Br@m
25 November 2009
Finally! The only tool (and I tried a dozen) that lets me batch download the album art for my complete library AND embed it into the songs (so the album art isn't only visible in iTunes). And it works almost flawlessly too! Worth your donations (instead of paying for an inferior tool..) Some possible improvements: manually selecting an alternative image + grouping by album so you don't have to select all tracks individually.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
Tachy0n
18 September 2009
Using this recently, I found a few things: Firstly, it's really slow. Yes I am trying it out on an older mac, but it runs even more slowly than other applications. Secondly, during the "Copying Art to iTunes" phase. I am getting a lot of errors that read: "Error reading file MacHD:Users:myusername:Library:Application Support:FetchArt:AlbumName.jpg.pict." Thirdly, it's kind of clunky. I mean, why do I want to build a list, then have to select all and tell it to copy into the song? Don't I just want to select the song/s and choose "FetchArt" from the scripts menu and have it find the album art and embed it into the song? GimmeSomeTune works this way, but without all the errors.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Legal-Eagle
18 September 2009
I have just downloaded this latest version of Fetch Art and installed it. At least I got the message "Software Successfully Installed" at the end of the process. But when I looked for the application in my "Applications" folder, it was nowhere to be seen at all. Remembering the bizarre problem that I had had in the past with Fetch Art, I then looked for my "Tune-Instructor" application icon in the Applications Folder. On double-clicking it - to my utter amazement - Fetch Art launched, and NOT "Tune-Instructor". Mr Developer, it is now quite plain - as I asserted some months ago - that your application interacts/conflicts significantly and adversely with the application "Tune-Instructor". Please do look into this absurd situation promptly please. For now I have had no choice but to trash both the Fetch Art and the Tune--Instructor applications. Goodness only knows what is the matter with the Fetch Art installer and why it interferes with the other application. (Version 2.5.3)
Like
Version 2.5.4
Sashmo
17 September 2009
Hi, the installer doesnt copy the fetch art app to my application folder! Tried it severel times. (10.5, iTunes 9) Would be great to get it working... thank you
Like
Version 2.5.4
Melman-Flink
17 September 2009
Quits because it says it requires perl 5.6, instead of Snow Leopards version 5.8.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Ripper-pc
04 September 2009
I am having a similar problem , it doesnot save my preferences when i want it to overwrite my artwork
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
17 September 2009
Ok, I've posted a new version that fixes the problem that it would ignore and not save the preferences.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Clamp-mcdraw
25 August 2009
Fetch Art will not save my preference changes. No matter how many times I select "replace album art" it still will not save album art to tracks that already have an image. I've tried changing the preference and then quitting the program, but that doesn't seem to help.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Still-sparkling
18 August 2009
This app is wonderful; a real timesaver. Even though it only grabs images from Amazon, it's fast, stable, and free. I just tested this new version on an 82 song playlist with missing artwork and of those 82, it only grabbed one mistaken cover, and that was for an older soundtrack. Not too shabby. It also gives you two options that I really appreciate: 1. The option to preview the artwork and selectively not import covers that are a poor match. 2. The option to overwrite coverart for songs that are already tagged. This is turned off by default, unlike some other apps, so you won't accidentally ruin your song library if you aren't paying attention. It would be nice to be able to see super high resolution covers from other sources like albumartexchange, allcdcovers, and google images though. Hopefully that will be added in a future update.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Legal-Eagle
18 August 2009
I just downloaded and installed this new version from the MacUpdate link. Or I certainly thought that II did !! It downloaded without any problems and the installation process appeared to go OK, as I got the "Software Successfully Installed" message at the end. But on checking my Applications Folder it was nowhere to be seen and plainly was not installed. I then went to the Developer's site and tried again to download it from there. Exactly the same thing occurred. Pretty strange. Any explanations ?
Like
Version 2.5
8 answer(s)
Still-sparkling
Still-sparkling
18 August 2009
I downloaded this yesterday from MacUpdate and installed today. No problems whatsoever.
Like
Version 2.5
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
18 August 2009
I'm getting some reports of this problem from other users as well. It appears to be the installer not putting the application in the Application folder, however, I cannot recreate the problem. :(
Like
Version 2.5
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
18 August 2009
Ok I found one minor incorrect setting in the installer package. I've changed it, and reuploaded. Please download and report back if the problem is solved. Again, it didn't affect most users, but I've gotten three similar reports of issues.
Like
Version 2.5
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
18 August 2009
I have now discovered what the problem was. The silly installer installs the "Fetch Art" application in the Applications Folder correctly, but for some totally bizarre and inexplicable reason installs it under the new name"Tune.Instructor" rather than "Fetch Art" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have not come across something quite so silly and unexpected in a long, long time. Mr Developer - please make up your mind just what your application is in fact to be called and STICK TO IT CONSISTENTLY IN ALL RESPECTS. This was most annoying indeed.
Like
Version 2.5
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
18 August 2009
I assure you I never call it Tune.Instructor and you are experiencing some odd error due to the installer and your system configuration. I've gotten a lot of positive feedback already so this is an isolated case. I'm considering rebuilding the installer from scratch because this is really inexplicable.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
18 August 2009
Mr Developer. I eventually found the relevant icon in my Applications folder. The icon was identical with the former version of Fetch Art which I had had in that folder previously. But this time it was, most definitely, called "Tune.Instructor". When I realized that it was, in fact, "Fetch Art 2.5" I changed its name and used it. I turned out to be Fetch Art 2.5 and worked correctly. Now, despite what you insist, the name "Tune.Instructor" MUST have come from your installer. It was NEVER there in my Applications folder (or anywhere else) before and was there immediately after I used your purported "Fetch Art 2.5 Installer. How else could it have possibly got there other than via your installer ? And why would I make up such a bizarre story ? What conceivable reason would I have to do so ? No. Your installer is plainly playing up. This is not intended in any way as a criticism. Just as a statement of fact. Accept it. I in fact like your application very much !
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Clamp-mcdraw
Clamp-mcdraw
25 August 2009
Same problem as Notafool. I DID have a utility called TuneInstructor installed. Fetch Art installed right over it for some reason. Now that I've figured that out, it's a great little app. Thanks for writing it.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
17 September 2009
I have just downloaded the latest version of Fetch Art and installed it. At least I got the message "Software Successfully Installed" at the end of the process. But when I looked for the application in my "Applications" folder, it was nowhere to be seen at all. Remembering the bizarre problem I had had in the past with Fetch Art, I then looked for my "Tune-Instructor" application icon in the Applications Folder. On double-clicking it - to my utter amazement - Fetch Art launched, and NOT "Tune-Instructor". Mr Developer, it is now quite plain - as I asserted some months ago - that your application interacts/conflicts significantly with the application "Tune-Instructor" - in a very unsatisfactory manner. Please do look into this absurd situation promptly please. For now I have had no choice but to trash both Fetch Art and Tune-Instructor. Goodness only knows what is the matter with the Fetch Art installer
Like
Version 2.5.3
Aric-Friesen
11 August 2009
On August 15 Amazon will change how their web servers search for album art. They are requiring encrypting/signing of requests. I am working on a new version 2.5 of Fetch Art to support these new calls. After August 15 all previous versions of Fetch Art will stop working. Check back here for an update on August 15. It will be compatible with iTunes 7 and 8 and Mac OS X 10.4 and 10.5 and Intel and PowerPC Macs.
Like
Version 2.1
chriscosta
26 February 2009
Works great, simple to use. Well developed software for free! I love it, hasn't failed me yet.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Bobzozus
19 February 2008
Thanks to the developer- a neat little app! I am glad that you are continuing to develop it- and that you keep it relevant for us Tiger and PPC users. You certainly have filled a need. Although ITunes does attempt to find the album artwork for imported CD's- it does a less than stellar jobs with compilations. And, besides, it's not as fun if you have just the artwork for the compilation album itself. When ITunes Volume shows my album CD work, I truly like it when I can see the relevant Artwork for each artist in the compilation- not just the artwork for the Compilation CD itself. Just a little peccadillo of mine :) That's where Fetch Art comes in on my system. It provides CD artwork choices. And, painlessly. I just select the songs in ITunes for which I would like artwork. I then start Fetch Art. It automatically Fetches the songs selected in ITunes. Then, it goes about its business in Amazon- searching for the missing artwork that ITunes forgot- or worse, mangled. I check Fetch Art in 5 to 10 minutes. Viola. And, for about 25 to 50% of the CD art that ITunes couldn't find- Fetch Art finds viable, useful alternatives. Sweet! I also like the ability to chose which (if any) of the artwork that Fetch Art finds that I will be inserting into ITunes. Very simple interface in which I can't even mess things up. I should note that it may seem to the casual observer that 25% of useful Artwork may be a bit low. I boisterously disagree. Remember- this is for CD artwork that ITunes could not find. And, for these 25 to 50% of the CD's- it saves one having to manually search Amazon, copy the artwork, and then paste. A significant time saver. Thanks to the developer for putting so much thought into such a useful little app! Fetch Art Rocks- simple as that!!
Like
Version 1.4
Razz
02 January 2008
This is a slick little program but it fails on file names that contain question marks and radio stations! Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.4
Munchkin
13 December 2007
Fetch Art 1.3.11 doesn't work under Leopard. But while waiting for an update, there is a work-around: 1) Select a song or songs from the *same* album. 2) Launch Fetch Art to go fetch the album art. 3) Assuming Fetch Art finds the right artwork, click on the first song in the Fetch Art dialogue and click on the "Copy to iTunes" button. This will produce an error message. 4) Click the "OK" button on the error message, then, 5) Quit Fetch Art from the "File" menu. This sends the artwork to the trash. 6) Go to the trash and drag & drop the artwork on to the album art window in iTunes. Done! 7) Empty the trash.
Like
Version 1.3.11
Larry-R
16 July 2007
Running PPC G5 10.4.10. Installed application and as it was gathering information about music in the iTunes library (getting song details). When it was about 50% done it stopped and started giving me applescript errors: Can't make of id 77817 of id 64481 of id 42 of application "iTunes" into type string. (-1700) NSContainerSpecifierError (2) Application definitely does not work. Needed to force quit. Not sure what is wrong. One observation is that the script error occurred, each time I tired it, on the same song.
Like
Version 1.3.11
1 answer(s)
Hct
Hct
17 July 2007
As the developer writes in his blog: There is a known bug right now dealing with accents and unicode characters in song files. If the artist or album contains a UNICODE character you will see the following AppleScript error: Can't make alias "..." into type string. (-1700) and NSContainerSpecifierError (2) I've had a hard time getting this bug fixed. The work around, is to only select songs for download that don't contain these errors. So if you see an AppleScript error, check the song it was on and see if it contains any extended characters.
Like
Version 1.3.11
Fgs
16 July 2007
Ok, Version 1.3.11 Works again with PPC's. Thanks to the Dev ;-)
Like
Version 1.3.11
Appledogx
15 July 2007
I get this error with 1.3.1 on a MacBook Pro and MacOS 10.4.10 and the most recent iTunes on launching Fetch Art and no music in the list: Can't make «class pLoc» of «class cURT» id 6035 of «class cRTP» id 5926 of «class cSrc» id 5925 of application "iTunes" into type string. (-1700) Applescript errors are such a pain!
Like
Version 1.3.1
Fgs
15 July 2007
Doesn't work with PowerBook G4 15". After installation, the Program cannot be launched (as if it not compiled for PowerPC's...)
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
15 July 2007
I downloaded it and examined the package contents, you are correct, the application is not compiled for PPC. A GetInfo command issued against the application reveals that it is Intel only at this time.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Erikakay
02 January 2007
This program rocks, although it's a little slow. It's the only album art application I've seen that seems to do bulk gets really well (most of the others are designed to get art for only one song at a time, or require a lot of user interaction between each song.) This program lets you select the songs you want art for, tell it to get it, and walk away. If you select more than a few hundred songs at a time, plan to let it run over night because it is a bit slow. The author offers good support at his blog and via email. I've tried both, and got responses in just a few days. Some previous versions did break with Apple's system updates, but the newest version works fine on my system. This app is FREE. No nag screens or anything. Unlike most other art apps. There isn't an Intel (or Universal Binary) version out yet, but the author is taking donations towards an Intel Mac so they can develop one. Donations are optional, again with no nag screens or reminder pop ups. Also, although iTunes recently added a get art features, this has found a lot of album art for me that iTunes couldn't find. And although I'm in the states, I've been told if you don't have a US iTunes account with US credit card, you can't even use the album art feature, so these are both good reasons to use this app. Not sure why some people are giving it bad reviews while others are giving it 4 and 5 stars. I highly recommend this app.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Bolobar
20 September 2006
I suggest that this app be avoided like the plague. Crashed iTunes 7 on OS 10.4.7 and I had to reload music library from backup. NOT GOOD
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
23 October 2006
Hi I'm the developer. The actual modification Fetch Art makes to the songs is a simple call to add the art through the iTunes AppleScript API. It does not manipulate the actual music library in any way. I'm sorry you had a problem with your music library but the way Fetch Art was written, it simply couldn't have caused the issue you describe. Most likely you had an unrelated issue at the same time you last ran Fetch Art. No one else has reported any issues like this.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Joshp
02 August 2006
developer site is MIA and the product doesn't work. switching to Art Collector
Like
Version 1.2.0
2 answer(s)
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
23 October 2006
MIA? I've been supporting Fetch Art for a while now. I will admit that I respond to support issues on my blog quicker than here, but it's difficult to offer support at multiple locations. Anyway, check out www.aric.org for support BTW there's been at least one new release version as well as several beta versions since the version you tried.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Patddfan88
Patddfan88
11 January 2007
This Program is awesome! when iTunes doesn't have the album art available, Fetch Art can find it (if amazon has the CD!) There are still a few bugs in version 1.2, but I love it because it is FREE and it gets the job done for me! best program out there!
Like
Version 1.2.7
Jon55
12 June 2006
Yeah Im having the "null" issue too. I love this App to death!! Thank you so much for bring it back to life, but please fix!! The Script menu wouldn't show up in iTunes so I just opened FetchArt, everything went fine until it tried to download artwork, which is where the errors started popin up.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Aric-Friesen
Aric-Friesen
23 October 2006
The issues described have been fixed in the latest version (1.2.7).
Like
Version 1.2.7
Peter-Booth
23 March 2006
I've run this little program three times and every time I get the following message: iTunes got an error: Can't get track 1 of item 1 of every library playist of item 1 of every source whose database ID of it = 16650. (-1728) I got this when when I tried to do my entire library (2000+ songs) so I tried doing only one album. Same thing. I tried another album. Same thing. Anyone know anything about this?
Like
Version 1.2.0
2 answer(s)
Kjbarth
Kjbarth
15 April 2006
I have encountered exactly the same error condition, please let me know (kjbarth@yahoo.com) if anybody finds a work around for this.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Kjbarth
Kjbarth
15 April 2006
I found out that the error was happening when the iPod was selected in the iTunes Source list. Selecting the Library target in the Source list and then using the Fetch Art script worked fine. Very nice -- did multiple albums, cool; just what I was looking for...
Like
Version 1.2.0
Gage
16 February 2006
i downloaded the thing, but its in a winrar format, and i cant get the thing to unzip, or nething, could someone walk me thru this? please?
Like
Version 1.2.0
Patddfan88
11 January 2006
I like this program because it shows you the album cover.... except it is only accurate if you have the right information for each MP3 you're looking for! otherwise, you probably will get the wrong CD cover! also, sometimes I get AppleScript Errors, and when that happens, the Application doesn't automatically quit! I usually end up using a force quit to close it! hope this gets updated and the bugs get worked out soon!!! otherwise I love it!
Like
Version 1.2.0
versanick
12 December 2005
Amazing little AppleScript. Upon installation of the .pkg, you can open your itunes library, 'select all' (apple + A), then hit the little applescript script in the menu, and 'fetch art'. Then select the first song on the list, scroll to the bottom, hold shift and click on the last song on the list (to select them all), then Fetch the artwork. Press OK as needed (for things that can't be fetched), and watch the artwork appear in all of your iTunes library as it wasn't before. This is an impressive little piece of work. I always wondered where people got their artwork. I use Eyephedrine (which I reccomend) for visuals, DJ and use a projector on the wall with it, and some of the textures use the 'cover art' of the song. This little program will load the cover art into the .mp3 or AAC. You'll love it for what it does, and for the price it is. This is seriously a great little program/Applescript. No problems on OS X 10.4.3, itunes 6.0.1(3). Once in a while, it'll seem to hang on an artist it can't find, but minimize it, and go to something else. iTunes can keep playing, or whatever. Then open it back up after a little while, and it'll unhang. The price is right.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
24 November 2005
Doesn't sem to run under iTunes 6.0.1 MacOS 10.3.9. On launch it just hangs and iTunes has to be forced to quit in order to become usable again.
Like
Version 1.2.0
DoubleD
20 November 2005
YOUR SOFTWARE IS AWSOME!!!! Little problem with a menu "AppleScript Error" NSReceiverEvaluationScriptError; 4 (1)
Like
Version 1.2.0
20 November 2005
I am using Mac OS X ver 10.3.9 and I followed the instructions about removing the previous Fetch Art ver 1,1 from my Library/iTunes/Script/ folder and then tried to install the new version 1.2.0. Well, it tells me that I can't install this software on this volume (null) 2nd. I put version 1.1 back in my library and tried to update it to ver 1.2 and (Tilt) still not able to install. Why?
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
20 November 2005
I am using Mac OS X ver 10.3.9 and I followed the instructions about removing the previous Fetch Art from my Library/iTunes/Script/ folder and then tried to install the new version 1.2.0. Well, it tells me that I can't install this software on this volume
Like
Version 1.2.0
Reverb
30 October 2005
Make sure you read the "How to Use It" section of the Read Me file. I mistakenly launched the .app program instead of invoking it from the Script menu. It tried to scan my entire iTunes library, which I didn't want. Then it choked on a bunch of AppleScript errors, and had to be force-quit. When used as directed in the Read Me file, the program worked fine. It isn't the prettiest but it gets the job done.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
22 October 2005
I am getting some errors: AppleScript Error NSContainerSpecifierError (2) and AppleScript Error Can't make of id 6068 of id 3147 of id 39 of application "iTunes" into type string. (-1700) I get quite a few of them when trying to download all information into iTunes. One of which came up from the group called Sigur Rios, an icelandic group and have some strange characters in the title and names of their songs. I'm running OS 10.4.2 iTunes 6.0.1
Like
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Sham1
Sham1
30 November 2005
Did you managed to get a resolution to the script error? Thanks
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
16 October 2005
I forgot to mention something in my previous post: Please bring back 10.2.8 functionality! I can't install the new version on my other computer.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
16 October 2005
The best album artwork finder for iTunes ever! It shows up in a scripts menu in iTunes so it is built right in. It works great in iTunes 6.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
10 October 2005
Can't fault it. Works perfectly with my iTunes 5.01 + Tiger. Nice app
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
09 October 2005
Dissapointing. I keep getting "error reading file" comming up when i trying to copy the images to itunes, and it often cant find the artwork, even for pretty well known albums.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
29 August 2005
One Word: AWESOME!!! Keep it up! -mike
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
23 July 2005
When I try to run Fetch Art it displays an error: " Sorry, Fetch Art requires AppleScript Studio 1.1 or later." / OSX 10.4.2
Like
Version 1.2.0
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 July 2005
I am faced with the same problem-wonder if that´s got to do with Tiger as 1.1 kept on running with 10.3.x with no major probs
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Having the same problem: 10.4.2 and iTunes 4.9 does not run.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 August 2005
Just installed Tiger and also lost my much-used, much-loved Fetch Art. Keeps saying I need AppleScript Studio 1.1?
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 October 2005
Same problem here, Apple script version problem. Too bad because it used to run perfectly :(
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
18 July 2005
Could someone help me? When I run the installer, it tell me I can't install it on my hard drive saying "You can not install this software on this volume (null)" What is this supposed to mean?
Like
Version 1.2.0
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 July 2005
I'm having the same problemo -- any idaeas. ? running os x 10.3.9 and had the fetchart 1.1. working OK.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 August 2005
I'm getting the same installer error. Also 10.3.9 with latest iTunes.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 August 2005
Don't run the installer package from the disk image volume but copy the package on your hard drive, then lauch it.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
I have the same problem (hard drive is null) and I tried copying to the hard drive then running it and I still get the same problem. Anyone have another solution?
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 September 2005
Had the same problem, copying the pkg to the Desktop, etc did not help. However, it's possible to install by hand, via terminal, cd into the pkg, and find the archive.pax.gz file, cp it somewhere, (cp archive.pax.gz /tmp/ ). then cd there ( cd /tmp ). At this point, you could just get to root , then cd / , then zcat /tmp/Archive.pax.gz | cpio -imud (the pax file is in cpio format ), I wasn't feeling brave so, I made a folder, issued the the the above command as my self ( it unarchives it where you are ), then moved the files via finder, by hand. In terminal you can open the current directory in finder by doing "open ." , anyway after it all that it does work... of course it does take terminal, and shell :-[
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
16 July 2005
Dude would you shut up. I dont know sh#* I complain about free software, I got a TB of music blah blah blah.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Robert Mitton
16 July 2005
Hello, I have been making audio files via CDs and first using professional encoding software incorporating the LAME process before converting into 320 bit rate mp3s and now I simply use iTunes make all of the audio files into the m4a audio format, which will replace the AIFF/wav format before too long. It is full fidelity and half the file size. So I have had a need to edit and add to the information that I get from the CDDB. To do this, you need a "tagging" tool. To do it manually with just your Finder and iTunes, you are NOT changing the audio file, merely the information on your Mac, or heaven forbid a PeeCee. When you move, save JUST the audio files away from that Mac, those audio files DO NOT have that extra/edited information. That includes the images! You need to use a tool that will actually enter the audio file and embed the data into the audio file, actually alterring the audio file and increasing the audio file size. If you want the image to FOREVER stay with the audio file, you have to embed that file. So a program that saves an image for the entire album to keep the file size down is not touching the audio files. It might be nice for some purposes to keep the image files away from the audio file it goes to for file size reduction, but not when you are making a forever, one-time digital audio archive. FetchArt is storing the images away from the actual audio files. Now let me tell you about my personal collection that I am working on. First of all, all of the audio files are of the m4a format! This means the average song is 28 to 34 MBs each!!! Figure ONE GIG for each three music albums imported. Folks, I ain't playing around and I have well over 1 TBs of m4a files now, over 60,000 songs! Really! Now do you want to use FetchArt to forever embed all of those audio files? No, especially since FetchArt is not embedding the audio, but rather it is saving the images on your hard drive. Use FetchArt for a few albums. First take note of the file size of each of the songs. Then use FetchArt and go back to look at the file size again. If it is the same, the images cannot be in the audio file! What is why I do not use FetchArt! Plus it seems to crash alot. In fact, I do not use just one product to do all of my tagging, I use two shareware products. Free is nice, but you usually only get what you pay for! The number one tagger for all audio files is Media Rage if you are using a Mac! This gets most all of your tagging needs done, as well as tagging your images. It is relatively fast, but how fast is it when you are still doing some of the manvuering for each album manually? Remember I have 60,000 audio files all needing an image to be forever embedded in it. It is $29.00 and worth every penny. http://www.chaoticsoftware.com/ProductPages/MediaRage.html So if you have thousands and thousands of audio files all needing an image, there is only ONE choice to start with. It is MPFreaker. MPFreaker will take a folder of audio files and will go out to Amazon and get the correct image for most all of the songs in that folder. It does have problems with most all double and more CDs, box sets and such. But it rarely will screw up and get the wrong image and I have given it a folder with 3860 audio files and it got about 85% of those done in about 90 minutes! Try doing that with anything else! It would take many hours any other way. As for the other 15% of the audio files that are left untagged with an image from MPFreaker, I use Media Rage to get those done. MPFreaker is $20.00. http://www.lairware.com/mpfreaker/ So there you are, iffin you're playing around with a few thousand files, use what you want to use. But iffin you looking to make a real audiophile digital archive that's real visual, you gotta use the correct tools to do it! Then once you have all of your audio files tagged with images, you should give some of the 3rd party iTunes visualizers a try, like JewelCase http://www.opticalalchemy.com/products.html and Cover Version http://www.imagomat.de/coverversion/ a try, or for a super treat get the only 3rd party iTunes visualizer worth buying, G-Force. http://www.soundspectrum.com/ Then connect your Mac to your home entertainment system and get blown away!!! I have always had a Mac connected to my big screen and sound system since the first day I ever used one at home! Robert Mitton Denver, CO
Like
Version 1.2.0
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 July 2005
seriously, is this a lesson how to use iTunes in YOUR opinion when we have YOUR needs or a fair review of Fetch Art?
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 July 2005
Have you considered decaf.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 August 2005
your criticism would be valid...if it were correct. The app, just like Media Rage and all the other apps like it, interfaces with iTunes and can send it the artwork. Once the artwork appears in the artwork pane, you can be assured that it has been embedded in the file itself for transport to an iPod, or for transfer (via fibre cable, of course) to the latest in optical drive technology so that you can add a few extra Kb per song to your 1 TB+ collection of music. Seriously, I would have expected you to be more informed about how these things work if you've ripped so much music and are down with LAME and the like. Failing that, your comment appears, well, LAME. (insert forced laughter here.)
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 August 2005
What do you mean when you assert that the m4a format will replace AIFF and WAV? AIFF and WAV are uncompressed, full CD-quality audio. m4a (AAC) is lossy, compressed audio. Only a complete idiot would think lossy audio was going to replace lossless audio. Judging by your self-important logorrhea that's exactly what you are.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Gimp
Gimp
01 February 2006
seriously, you need to check things before you say things like this. this program sends the artwork to itunes, and IT DOES GET EMBED INTO THE MUSIC. Stop posting false reviews on products.
Like
Version 1.2.0