Back to Platypus page
Platypus free download for Mac

Platypus Reviews

5.3
25 November 2018

Create application wrappers for scripts.

StevenJayCohen
23 May 2007

Most helpful

Thank you! I depend on this app so often! A must have!
Like (2)
Version 3.4

Read 30 Platypus User Reviews

Rate this app:

MichaelHaeusler
03 March 2019
Great update. For some scenarios you still need an app exported from Automator, but I use Platypus whenever it works.. And that's most of the time. Five stars aren't enough.
Like
Version 5.3
Bunam
25 November 2018
horrible icon (i didn't think it's i'm the only one) so sorry for that
Like (1)
Version 5.3
MichaelHaeusler
25 October 2018
Fantastic—FANTASTIC—utility!
Like (1)
Version 5.2
Nontroppo
02 December 2015
For anyone who needs to build a GUI around a scripted tool, Platypus is just utterly brilliant. The latest version has added a ton of new functionality to really help refine the abilities of whatever kind of tool you wish to make. The developer well deserves a donation if you are going to use this!
Like (1)
Version 5.0
Leon-Belmont
24 September 2014
One of the must have apps if you know any scripting languages. I used this app wrapped a lot of scripts, really convenient.
Like
Version 4.8
WordWeaver
25 October 2013
Very cool app for those of us who like it quick and simple. Thank you developer for making this app freely available to the Macintosh community, and for your years of dedication to its continual development.
Like
Version 4.8
1 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
25 October 2013
I just sent this man a donation via PayPal. A worthy investment. :)
Like
Badgerone
15 July 2013
By far, Platypus is the easiest and all-round best script wrapper.
Like
Version 4.8
Sev7en
31 May 2013
I do agree: this application rocks and it's a wonderful free project! So which one are for your the most useful scripts?
Like
Version 4.7
Simbasounds
28 July 2012
Make your own utility apps in an instant - indispensable
Like
Version 4.7
Olavimmanuel
19 July 2011
Wonderfully useful software. Extremely time saving! A few bugs, notably using menu item as output, but I see that this may be fixed in the next v.
Like
Version 4.4
Carbonide
26 September 2009
Version 4.2 doesn't set the arguments to dropped files correctly. My scripts that worked perfectly well under version 4 now only get the path to the application in $1, but $2 is always empty.
Like (1)
Version 4.2
Mrelcee
22 June 2008
Platypus rocks - So very useful for putting together tools for both myself and clients of mine. I am astonished he doesn't charge for it..
Like (1)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Haleakalari
Haleakalari
19 May 2009
don't jinx it!
Like (3)
Version 4.2
Brandon-Williams
22 June 2008
Awesome. I can't believe it! A huge update! So very appreciated. Platypus has always been one of those apps that makes me happy to be an OS X user. Thanks so much for the update - you rock!
Like (1)
Version 4.0
StevenJayCohen
23 May 2007
Thank you! I depend on this app so often! A must have!
Like (2)
Version 3.4
Anonymous
22 May 2005
Version 3.1's command line utility contains a bug where it doesn't create the file "MyApp.app/Contents/Resources/.script", which is required for the app to run. If you use the CLI utility, it will suffice to simply create a blank file with touch or whatever, until an update fixing this bug is released.
Like
Version 3.1
Akadis2
05 March 2005
I don't know for sure but from the comments made about an app made with Platypus, the developer might want to consider changing the icon. as it is the same as the one for the sydney olympics. NOTE: I'm not trying to start an argument here, just trying to warn the developer that they could get in trouble.
Like
Version 3.0
Amake
28 January 2005
Holy crap this is an amazing update! Now with the command line tool I'm able to automate my entire build process! With just one command in the Terminal I can build, modify, package, and publish my apps within seconds. Thank you thank you thank you!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
14 January 2005
No 10.2 version at all any more? Chizz! Deak! Shenanigans!
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 January 2005
You can download older versions of Platypus (which run in Mac OS X 10.2) at http://sveinbjorn.vefsyn.is/files/software/platypus/
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
13 January 2005
Congratulations and thank you for this amazing, rich (supporting so many languages) and so easy to use (3 clics and my app is done...) script wrapper under Mac OS X.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
05 November 2004
Really nice!! Thanks for this great tool.
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
12 October 2004
For a Unix shell scripting resource go to www.shelldorado.com!
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
11 October 2004
I have always just loved this little development. It is very Grand. As for v2.6 no matter what I use to open the downloaded .tgz file I always get errors. This should be checked into please. System 10.3.5 here. With the new features added v2.6 should be even better.. At this time I can not check..
Like
Version 2.6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 October 2004
Oh come off it - if you're using Platypus, you *must* know how to untar? tar xzvf .tgz No? Not familiar? Then what exactly are you using Platypus *for*!?
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 October 2004
He probably just wasn't able to download a complete version of the archive from the server, that's all. The server was bogged down enough last night that I couldn't even -start- downloading it. Today, the server traffic didn't seem as bad.
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
11 August 2004
Platypus has been great for deploying things with netOctopus. The only feature I wanted was the ability to run without showing in the Dock and that is now here. Thanks for a great program.
Like
Version 2.3
Pat
27 July 2004
It basically does what it says it does. However there are some oddities. You can't associate the Apps created with all files of a certain type (which would be really useful). And created apps behave oddly with the dock. You can't directly dock them, you have to add them to the documents side (right side) and then the move to the left side in a crazy way and then you can place them. Just try it ;) I hope the author continues work on this as it will be a great tool.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 March 2005
The issues you mentioned have all been ironed out as of version 2.8.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
04 May 2004
Cool idea, but how is it diferent from using AppleScripts "Do Shell Script" or whatever it is? I'm not much of a cmd line junkie but AppleScript seems to always do the job for me.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 August 2004
Just try it and you'll understand. It has lots of really nice features which make "do shell script" blush with shame
Like
Version 2.3
Rob Morton
12 March 2004
This is a great app. It really makes doing scripts easier. I have noticed that the $1 does not seem to work for getting the path to the created application. Even the sample script doesn't seem to work. The only feature I would like to see added is the ability to run without showing up in the Dock. That would be very nice.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
23 February 2004
Great job, but it's not possible to select "Show advanced options" in Jaguar. No problem in Panther.
Like
Version 2.0
cj69collins
30 July 2003
Hey, now I can run a shell script at startup without an annoying terminal windown opening. This plat is raging
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
09 July 2003
if you want to distribute scripts that run as root or any for that matter, what I would do is write your script and give an extension of .command then when they double click it, the script will run. I personally give my scripts a .cmd extension then have os x use the terminal to run that extension, which can be configured in get info>open with>then select terminal>then click change all presto cmd extensions now use the terminal.
Like
Version 1.4
Mano
11 June 2003
I like this alot. It will come in handy for me. (I make some simple general manitenance scripts for my firends that allow me to help them trouble shoot remotely) I would liek to see the ability to get the program to run as root or to run sudo commands and pass a password to the script. Or even better would be the ability to add Apple scripts :) Thanks for the soap box. Again a great idea, very well executed. Oh, how about a drag and drop for custom icons. (Not that I dont like Huxly - he rocks)
Like
Version 1.1