Back to AimSniff page
AimSniff free download for Mac

AimSniff Reviews

1.2.1
12 November 2003

View the IP address of any AIM chat user.

ster06
05 June 2003

Most helpful

This is soooo cool!!! i can't believe there is finally an AIm IP sniffer for the mac, and it works! thanks to the developers!
Like
Version 1.0

Read 24 AimSniff User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
10 May 2005
shows my ip then comes up with an error
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
02 January 2005
Seems as if it would be a cool program, however the only problem is that it only shows my IP address, and not the person that I am directly connected to. If anybody knows how to fix this then that would be very helpful.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
13 September 2003
Yes, works with any AIM client that can send direct instant messages. With AIM and iChat I beleive you can just control-click a users name in your buddy list and the option to send a direct instant message appears. Make sure you only have 1 connection at a time. Sending Images or files also makes a direct connection.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
13 September 2003
Does this work with iChat? :P
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
13 September 2003
wow, I used the 1.0 version, much improved with this 1.2 final version, much smaller and efficient. nice app.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
03 August 2003
yes, type this into your terminal: traceroute xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx(IP addy) It will give you a good idea of the location. Look at some of the routes it is going through, most of the time the ip addys shown up have the city/state name in them. for instance dlstx.blah.blah is dallas, texas or stx.rr.com is san antionio, texas
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
30 July 2003
hmmmm... i think we have a stalker here... heh heh
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
30 July 2003
once you find the IP is there a way to pull up any info about the IP? Match it to a physical location?
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
30 July 2003
Well it's easy to use, and it actually works. Not much more I can expect from a program. I recomend it if you need it.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
30 July 2003
Well actually I think it's much easier to just press Sniff than to open up terminal, type in netstat -n, and find which one of all those connections is from AIM, this tools is just something to simplify the job.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
26 July 2003
Why not just use netstat -na ??
Like
Version 1.1.3
Anonymous
20 July 2003
This is a nice program but it's nothing revolutionary like some of you think.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Anonymous
18 July 2003
Very cool, this actually helps me a bunch with my job, props to the developer. Damn, and its easier to use than I thought, thanks.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Ugmpt
16 July 2003
It works with iChat, just make a direct IM connection (control-click a buddy). :)
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
16 July 2003
Perhaps you can have this work with iChat too? :)
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
07 July 2003
Hi, Im the developer. Sorry but the direct connection port from aim is 4443. You were looking at the wrong port there buddy :)
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
16 June 2003
I didnt even download this.. once I saw the comment about the netstat -n as a terminal command this program became useless since it shows EVERY Connection in the terminal. Just gotta know what youre connected to on what port and so on to know. The Direct Connect port is 58675. Just look for that.
Like
Version 1.0
JKgames
08 June 2003
Well I tried it, and it wouldn't work at first, but then I understood how to make a direct connection and it worked great! Thanks!! 5 Stars!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 June 2003
Well, I tried it (at work no doubt) and we are behind a firewall. I was talking to my other half and needed to pull a file from my computer. She is not very computer savvy, and did not want to frustrate her in getting the IP. I did however talk to her on AIM. Tried the program, I don't know if it because we are behind a firewall or what, but I could not get my IP. Please tell me I am missing something! (my ISP will not give out static IPs anymore, otherwise, this would have never been an issue.)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 June 2003
netstat -n in Terminal after getting instant message
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 June 2003
Hmm, does this work with iChat? Cuz you know, real men don't AIM. :)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 June 2003
Umm...appears to only "sniff" out MY address when a direct message/direct file transfer is connected. Not very useful and doesn't do what it says. BTW, the "Your IP Field" is blank. Maybe that has something to do with it. For no, I give this two big fat thumbs down. Sorry!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 June 2003
L337!!!! Now I c@n Uber Haxor etc...
Like
Version 1.0
ster06
05 June 2003
This is soooo cool!!! i can't believe there is finally an AIm IP sniffer for the mac, and it works! thanks to the developers!
Like
Version 1.0