Back to BitTorrent page
BitTorrent free download for Mac

BitTorrent Reviews

7.4.3
16 July 2019

Official client of the BitTorrent file distribution network.

Libertyforall1776
25 September 2010

Most helpful

What a joke, the app links to forums that are closed, and release notes cannot be found. Still not 64-bit either. Transmission still for me.
Like (8)
Version 7.0.0

Read 214 BitTorrent User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
16 July 2019
NO, this is not the torrent client app you're looking for! This is rebranded µTorrent which you do NOT want. Please look elsewhere.

I personally use the latest version of Transmission along with an up-to-date blocking list. If you like bells and whistles, aka Geek Meter in the RED, you want BiglyBT. Again, a blocking list is suggested. Both of these apps are Open Source.

HISTORY TIME for NEWBIES:

"BitTorrent" (BT) is the name of a file sharing protocol. It is also the name of the original, very first BT client, created by Bram Cohen in 2001. The BitTorrent company was formed in 2004. Versions 1 - 4 of their software were Open Source via various licenses. Azureus and its descendents are based on this code. As of version 5 in 2006, BitTorrent came under the scrutiny of the MPAA (Motion Picture Association of America) and the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) due to copyright infringement by BitTorrent users. As a result, BitTorrent was forced to 'play nice' with the media industry or face lawsuits. As of version 6, BitTorrent became proprietary software. The cryptocurrency TRON Foundation bought the BitTorrent company in 2018, at which point creator Bram Cohen left the company. BitTorrent is currently considered ADWARE and should be avoided. <-

Meanwhile, in 2004 the Open Source Azureus project was started and continued on via Vuze. In 2010, Vuze was purchased by Spigot, became proprietary, was parallel named µTorrent, is now considered ADWARE and should be avoided. <-

In 2005 the Transmission Open Source project was started and continues on as such today. It is considered the most simple to setup and use reliably.

The BiglyBT Open Source project began in 2017 in response to the Vuze situation. It is considered the descendent and revival of the Azureus/Vuze project. As such, it provides considerably more options than Transmission.

The BitTorrent protocol has a steep initial learning curve, but is well worth the effort. Keep in mind that BT sharing remains under scrutiny by the media industry. Also note that BitTorrented WAREZ software is now infamous for being infected with malware. As such, never use WAREZ, or at least first scan such software with a high quality and up-to-date anti-malware app before using it. Please take this warning seriously.

Thus ends today's lesson. Head over to Wikipedia for excellent introductions to all these topics and applications, with the exception of BiglyBT, which apparently hasn't yet hit Wikipedia's radar. You can read about BIglyBT here at MU as well as at the URL provided below by Barry5p. Be extra careful out there! And again, an up-to-date blocking list is recommended. Please DIY finding and using a suitable blocking list for your chosen BT protocol application.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
16 July 2019
ERROR: BitTorrent, the app, is NOT rebranded µTorrent. I am sadly unable to delete my error from above. Instead, µTorrent is rebranded Vuze, as is correctly noted in my history lesson.
Like (1)
Seedy
16 October 2016
MacUpdate, if it has any conscience left, should remove links to download this and uTorrent immediately.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
Seedy
16 October 2016
Worthless crap. If you run Little Snitch while it tries to start it asks for an endless amount of connections. Also tries to install Yahoo adware, this is how much further Yahoo has fallen. uTorrent is the same thing. Transmission FTW but for how long yet?
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
Barry5p
Barry5p
05 August 2017
Check out the Vuze rebirth BiglyBT:
https://www.biglybt.com
Like (1)
tom-nnsw
13 November 2015
This software installs spyware and adware. Thank god I had ClamXav running as it quit my browser during the install, and added extensions to my browser (Firefox). They have TWO terms of agreements you are forced to agree to in order to use the app. They are in legalese and pages and pages long.. Thankfully, ClamXav shunted them to the quarantine zone. This app is going in the rubbish. Stick with Transmission. It's free and relies on donations, not cheating and a devious, misleading TOS. It completely circumvents that whole concept of free software. I don't mind banner ads in the app itself, but don't install third-party software to line your greedy pockets. FYI, there were FIVE files that were adware malware. Here is the list: {874EDE88-1F7D-422a-8A46-8A07C013B90C}.xpi ApplicationManager saebay@mybrowserbar.com.xpi searchme@mybrowserbar.com 10.01.28.xpi searchme@mybrowserbar.com.xpi Depending on your default browser (mine is Firefox), it adds extensions and even an adware application manager! This app should be removed from MacUpdate's listings because people without a good antivirus program will have a difficult time getting rid of all this junk! It's also, from what I can tell, a Java-based application so it's sloggy and has a horrible windows-like interface. The preferences are riddled with confusing choices that a novice will get overwhelmed with. Just download Transmission (and no, I don't have any connection to it) and you're on your way to sending and receiving files.
Like (3)
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
beautyangels
beautyangels
15 August 2016
Hi Tom, You recently replied to my post requesting help with Trash It not working for me on my mac OSX 10.6.8 and asked that I contact via your contact form on your website. Maybe I'm being a numpty but I can't see that address or contact form anywhere?! Please advise, I would really like some help. 6 painful hours with a Mac Genius, a clean install (that wiped out my entire Itunes library despite a backup that won't load now...) and the trash still won't empty. It looked like it did but filled right back up again when I switched the mac on the next day. AAAGGGHHH!
Like
Slurp
13 June 2015

AVOID THESE CHEATERS!!!!
BITTORRENT IS RUBBISH. IT INSTALLS SECRETLY ADWARE (SPIGOT, YAHOO SEARCH, AND MESSES AROUND IN ALL YOUR INTERNETBROWSERS. Besides moving Yahoo etc, the best way to remove Spigot: AdwareMedic
AVOID THIS BITTORRENT!!!!!!!
Like (3)
Version 7.4.3
GeogProf
13 June 2015
What a useless app description — it describes the BitTorrent protocol, but says nothing about this application! What are its features? How does it differ from other BitTorrent clients? Why should I choose this over Transmission?

Transmission is vastly superior to this steaming pile — it’s completely free (not adware like BitTorrent), it doesn’t surreptitiously change your browser’s homepage, and it has NO ADVERTISEMENTS — so what is the value of this crapware? Even uTorrent is better, and that’s not saying much.

Lame.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
Wikno
Wikno
27 June 2015
GP, why'd you make me read another one of your reviews! You could have just put "Lame." at the top!
Like
Viking-the
14 February 2015
Can a second or third user confirm the presence of the Spigot Adware malware?
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
2 answer(s)
Bidule
Bidule
14 February 2015
Yes, but using LittleSnitch or HandsOff, you can avoid it.
Like (2)
TCalhau
TCalhau
11 June 2015
Unfortunately YES! :/
Like (2)
RkBob
20 January 2015
It's an adware. It changes the default page on your browsers, and God know what else!
Like (3)
Version 7.4.2 build 35248
Philip-Petev
06 November 2014
That was my favorite BT client. WAS, because it's not free anymore (I don't consider the ad version free). Switching to my second choise - Transmission.
Like (4)
Version 7.4.2 build 35248
Aadams77
05 November 2014
NOW at v7.4.2, like uTorrent...BitTorrent has now gone to a built-in adware model. PROBABLY high time that they should update their FAQ: DOES BITTORRENT CONTAIN SPYWARE, ADWARE OR MALWARE? No, it does not. Spyware is software that is installed silently and without consent on a user’s computer, and which collects personal information about the user or usage of the computer. Adware is software that is designed to intrude upon the user experience on a computer with advertisements and promotions that cannot be easily avoided or disabled. Malware (malicious software) is software that is specifically designed to attack and harm a computer’s data, applications or operating system. BitTorrent software downloads contain no spyware, adware, or malware of any kind. Not today and not ever. Source: http://www.bittorrent.com/help/faq/client [Please note: I am NOT suggesting that their software contains Spyware OR Malware, however, clearly they have NOT kept their word regarding the use of now BUILT-IN Adware.]
Like (4)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
applelive4
applelive4
13 February 2015
Version 7.4.3 also has the Spigot Adware
Like (1)
Nuttawut
24 December 2013
Tried this some time ago and was pleased with the results. Went back to Transmission just because I liked that programme. But i'm now using this all the time. Don't know why but the speeds are 3 times that of transmission. Why I cannot say, but i'm extremely happy with this now.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Apveenstra
07 February 2013
BitTorrent and µTorrent sure look alike. The screenshot of BitTorrent even says µTorrent in the window title ;)
Like (5)
Version 7.3.5
1 answer(s)
Aadams77
Aadams77
05 November 2014
That is because they ARE very much alike...and BOTH applications are developed by BitTorrent, Inc.

Go to utorrent.com and look at the bottom of the page, and you'll find:
© 2014 BitTorrent, Inc. µTorrent is a trademark of BitTorrent, Inc.
Like
Sleek
06 February 2013
Current Bittorrent Version on Developers Website V7.3.5
Like
Version 7.3.4
Macpenguin
14 December 2012
Hi, Same as the previous comment. Despite what other say, I use BitTorrent on a regular basis. There has even been a time where it was running 24/7 for about 2 months. Never experienced a crash or anything else. And when I added new files, they came at the max. speed. The only thing that isn't stellar is the bandwidth allocation. Sometimes, even if I limit upload to a specified value, it goes far beyond that. But that happens only once in a while and for a limited time. So : 5 stars anyways :-)
Like (2)
Version 7.3.4
EudoraBryant
04 July 2012
I have downloaded it but haven't use yet. Whether this app requires registration or not?
Like
Version 7.3.4
Bob115
30 May 2012
Well, just downloaded this and it seems to be working a dream.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.4
Peteeckel
30 May 2012
Though other comments on MU suggest otherwise, my impression is a rather positive one. BitTorrent works fine for my purposes, which can be summarised in 'download Linux distribution DVD images every once in a while'. I'm definitely not a BT power user, I'll grant that. But as opposed to the highly-famed Transmission, BitTorrent worked immediately after installation for me. I like the clean UI as well. Other clients may have more features (I did not check that out), but the bare-bones functionality of this tool is really all I need.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.4
Pedro-Fardilha
29 May 2012
I thought that the official client was Transmission. ;)
Like (5)
Version 7.3.4
Mruben
18 October 2011
One word: Transmission.
Like (5)
Version 7.2.2
1 answer(s)
ultratiem
ultratiem
30 May 2012
And you gave it a half-star because you like using something else? Ugh. Your douchebaggery really is something that it shines through the net so strong. Way to be dude... way to be. The review system isn't a "like" button...
Like (8)
R0n1n
03 October 2010
Wow, all BitTorrent Inc. did was take utorrent 1.0.0.1 and put the BitTorrent logo/icon on it and called it BitTorrent 7.0.0. They should at least add some new features, since the mac version of utorrent is nothing compared to the windows version. The mac versions of BitTorrent/utorrent is a joke, compared to other mac BT clients like Transmission, or even Vuze...
Like (6)
Version 7.0.0
Macs-Pain
25 September 2010
Very funny. This application has a date from October 22nd 2008...
Like
Version 7.0.0
Libertyforall1776
25 September 2010
What a joke, the app links to forums that are closed, and release notes cannot be found. Still not 64-bit either. Transmission still for me.
Like (8)
Version 7.0.0
Kps
30 June 2007
Simply doesn't work. Assuming a download starts at all (fewer than 1 in 5 do) it just dies off and goes to zero. Have tried it on several different networks in different parts of the country and it has NEVER worked long enough to complete a single download. Even torrents that have hundreds of seeds either fail to start at all or crawl along at a useless 2K/sec for a few minutes before coming to a complete stop. Nice idea, but a complete waste of time in implementation. Yeah, I know some people get it to work, but I've tried 3 different versions on several completely different networks and it has NEVER once lived up to its promise. Obviously it could be some sort of configuration issue, but the app gives no useful diagnostics, no real way to change settings that actually help and no way to test what is happening. I've tried it on several different computers as well and it's always the same -- all hype, no function.
Like (1)
Version 4.27.2
1 answer(s)
Springheelmac
Springheelmac
04 March 2008
I had the same problem, until I went into the prefs and adjusted the upload/download speeds. It helps to lower the upload speeds, at least until you get a complete file. Then when I'm done, I increase it while my computer is idle so others can get it quickly. It could also be the particular torrent. The one I tried was obscure and didn't have that many seeds, but I got it! Overall, I find BitTorrent to be my favorite; it does exactly what its supposed to do (upload and download torrents) and none of the other CPU-hoggin' crap!
Like (1)
Version 4.27.2
Ljh
06 June 2007
This latest version of BitTorrent is -in my opinion- complete rubbish. It's now been given lots of pretty buttons and stuff, which is unnecessary really as you want your Bit Torrent app to just be in the background downloading. The biggest problem for me is that it doesn't appear to work properly; ALL downloads just die out after about 5 minutes. They might start off connected to loads of seeds/peers, but that soon dies off to 0. THE GOOD NEWS: if you go to the website you can still download the OLDER version, which has a nice simple brushed metal interface and actually downloads! CONCLUSION: don't download this version, it doesn't work properly and it looks bad anyway. Just download the older version which still works 100% :-)
Like (1)
Version 4.27.2
1 answer(s)
Jbreazeale
Jbreazeale
20 July 2007
I too see pauses and downloads that have to be restarted. If the pause is at the start of a download I find forcing the download to start to be helpful. Which version is more stable (should I decide to punt)?
Like
Version 4.27.2
K-c-
01 May 2007
I'm using 4.27.2 and it works great for me. No crashes and it does what it's supposed to.
Like
Version 4.27.2
Axiomus
24 April 2007
i tend not to believe the reviews or comments presented here, as most are unintelligible and full of hot air, but i must admit, the official BT client, at least 4.27.2 IS complete rubbish, as another here stated. i suppose the BT developers do not actually use the macintosh BT client they upload for others to use, otherwise this programme would be perfect. free or not free, quit wasting our time by uploading applications that do not function as advertised. and you have the audacity to ask for donations! no way. as a programmer myself, i can 'fix' issues with open sourced products, thereby tayloring the application to suit my needs, however not everyone has this luxury ... BT client 4.4.1 seems to be the most stable i have used, so i keep using it; notwithstanding, i had to do some tweaking.
Like
Version 4.27.2
Po60t
26 February 2007
Is this based on uTorrent now?
Like
Version 4.27.2
Lesoth0
16 December 2006
Complete rubbish. Crashes on opening in OSX10.48 Lots of work for them to do to bring it to Tiger on the Mac.
Like (1)
Version 4.27.2
one-1
08 December 2006
Sudden quit on start and download. Bug?
Like
Version 4.27.2
Alexiusca
03 December 2006
In terms of GUI this is a significant step back from the previous version. I get the sense that under-the-hood there are some deep protocol-related improvements, but in terms of Mac GUI and integration, this is a total step back.
Like
Version 4.27.2
MacUpdateSucks
02 December 2006
I agree with below that interface needs some working on. Icons and options are not intuitive, and the icon scheme does not match the brushed metal (which, by the way is on it's way out anyway!!). I see a lot of options in the change log, but am unable to find most of the changes through the interface. Where or how does the encryption support work (you can toy with the options a little in Azereus)? Where is it? Where are some of the other new features you mark as having added? The windows app for this is fairly nice, but that doesn't always translate well to other OS'. I really think the design and implementation needs to be thought out a little bit more, with some extra consideration going towards the differences inherent in the operationg system and those individuals that make up it's user base.
Like
Version 4.27.2
Albabe
01 December 2006
This is very disappointing. Another example where Macs are ignored by major applications. Why release something with so many bugs, and less features than the previous version? In all fairness, BitTorrent does call this a "beta" version on their d/l page... but this app seems as badly designed and as impotent as Yahoo's new IM app. In regards to Transmission: I've had nothing but trouble with it. I've had files that Transmission said were complete, and then Toast said they weren't audio files. Then I noticed they had no size at all. And Transmission's forum pages were no help. No real "experts" offered any real advise... however I did get a lot of bad advise and tech-knowledge-posturing from a few know-it-alls who were obviously vacant of any real tech knowledge.
Like (2)
Version 4.27.2
hced
01 December 2006
The previous version of this new BitTorrent app crashed. Downloaded the current version (4.27.2) and it still crashes upon launch. :(
Like
Version 4.27.2
Audiowizard
18 November 2006
The new icon is very nice, but the application's design is somewhat childish. As well, 4.27.1 would not auto-resume torrents that were in progress from 4.4.1. The only option presented was to delete them and start over...not good. This combined with a surge of other bad reviews compelled me to go back to 4.4.1. Plus, 4.27.1 > 4.4.1 just doesn't make sense, unless the meaning is that they've gone back from 4.4.1 and taken a different programming turn from an earlier release. Bram Cohen is the man, I hope he's making good money!
Like
Version 4.27.1
1 answer(s)
Buhbye
Buhbye
30 November 2006
4.27.1 > 4.4.1 makes perfect sense. 27 is a higher number than 4. You appear to assume that once one hits a .9 increment, the next higher digit *must* be increased. This is actually not the practice in most software version management (though Apple has tried to establish it as a precedent). Going from 4.4.1 to 4.27.1 could happen like this: 4.4.1, 4.5, 4.6, 4.7, 4.8, 4.9, 4.10, 4.11, 4.12, 4.13, 4.14, 4.15, 4.16, 4.17, 4.18, 4.19, 4.20, 4.21, 4.22, 4.23, 4.24, 4.25, 4.26, 4.27, 4.27.1
Like
Version 4.27.1
Wim-Waman
17 November 2006
New version won't even start up. Should I give one star for bad software or shouldn't i give a rating 'cause it won't start? Anyway, I use Transmission, an app that works and works well. You should too.
Like
Version 4.27.1
Undertow
16 November 2006
I've given it a try again. Waste of time. Transmission is the best way to go.
Like
Version 4.27.1
Hal2007
16 November 2006
Get the new Transmission beta for free, and forget about this one. It simply can't compete with Transmission.
Like
Version 4.27.1
Taskman
16 November 2006
It's a beta, so I won't rate it. In my experience, 4.27.1 contains some nasty bugs. Oh, and it won't even associate with .torrent files!
Like
Version 4.27.1
69number69
16 November 2006
Finally Universal and many new features.It's a very good update and no problem with greek language!
Like
Version 4.27.1
Mikelite
20 August 2006
this client has zero development, it's the red-headed step child in the bittorrent field. no, wait, it's more the old uncle that's been forgotten about in the nursing home. ignored and forgotten about, left for dead while it waits for jell-o and sally jesse raphael reruns.
Like
Version 4.4.1
Mac0852
01 August 2006
I wish they would provide betas for the mac, while they continually develop for linux and windows. It's much more stable than Transmission, but it fills the logfile with messages regarding the python twisted framework and once in a blue moon stops downloading and eats 100% cpu. Another thing, why still have a prominent donation button when the company is now funded by venture capitalists?
Like
Version 4.4.1
Cmedeefr
24 June 2006
Transmission is a great alternative (with Azureus or Bits on Wheel)!!!
Like
Version 4.4.1
23:23
12 April 2006
bits on wheels is a great alternative!
Like
Version 4.4.1
Kt-hates
17 March 2006
Sadly, I've also had to stop using BitTorrent. Something went wrong about two versions back and it's never recovered. First it crashed my computer nonstop, then they put out a new version. The crashes stopped but my ul/dl speeds plummeted and have never come back up to normal and I had massive problems finding and retaining peers. For a while I thought it must be my computer or wireless connection, but then I realized the other people I knew with BitTorrent were having the same issues. The other night I tried Azureus for the first time and every issue went away. My speeds went back up, peers returned to normal levels and everything's great. Sorry BitTorrent, I loved you once, but I think you've lost me!
Like
Version 4.4.1
1 answer(s)
Pepita
Pepita
30 May 2006
Thank you for pointing this out! I thought it was the network. Bits on Wheels is so much better.
Like
Version 4.4.1
Devildog
02 March 2006
I have officially stopped using this software. I was fine under 10.3.x. I finally upgraded to 10.4 this week and my older version of BitTorrent would crash after launch. So, I downloaded 4.4.1 and it might as well not be running. It would barely download anything. Even after restarting the computer or the program or the streams, it refused to download anything. I switched to Transmission today and it was like night and day. There is something seriously wrong with this client.
Like
Version 4.4.1
Calle
09 February 2006
Why does the app always take so long to startup? It's almost Photoshopish slow.. Otherwise, I go for the official client. Works fine.
Like
Version 4.4.1
Paspro
06 February 2006
I finally discovered the source of my problems with the BitTorrent client: The Default Folder X application interfers with its operation. When I close it, the problems go away. Therefore the conclusion is that if you want to use the BitTorrent client you'd better switch off Default Folder X.
Like
Version 4.4
Bit-Bucket
03 February 2006
The last usable version for me is 4.1.7, any version after that one was problematic.
Like
Version 4.4
Semioticmonkey
03 February 2006
Again here we are. repeat with me: Official Bittorrent client: more download speed = more CPU cycles. this applications seems CPU hungry more than Alias Maya and Photoshop combined. 45% of my PBook CPU on one (1) torrent. More than Azureus and Bow and Trasmission and Tomato all togheter downloading. I don't know what is wrong with this application but i know i stop here checking every new version in the hope of improvements. bye bye Official client.
Like
Version 4.4
Paspro
03 February 2006
I have the same exact problem with 4.4.0 and I think that it is related to the PyObjc part of the software and not the BitTorrent engine itself.
Like
Version 4.4
2 answer(s)
Whytoi
Whytoi
03 February 2006
I don't have any of your stated problems with v4.4 here on Tiger 10.4.4, PB 12".
Like
Version 4.4
Paspro
Paspro
03 February 2006
I submitted a detailed bug report
Like
Version 4.4