Back to Unreal Tournament page
Unreal Tournament free download for Mac

Unreal Tournament Reviews

2003
08 May 2003

Bleeding edge 3D first person shoot-em-up game.

Andrew Pizzello
07 May 2003

Most helpful

Unreal Tournament 2003 has taken the lead as the ultimate first-person shooter. Like Unreal Tournament, UT2K3 allows several modes of game play such as Capture the Flag (CTF), DeathMatch, and Assault. I have never had such an incredible experience with a computer game. The sound and graphics are out of this world. A must download for all Quake and UT enthusiasts.
Like
Version 2003

Read 59 Unreal Tournament User Reviews

Rate this app:

@timi
23 December 2007
I'm looking to buy this, but no stores have it, does anybody have a copy to sell?
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
19 July 2005
This game is awesome!It actually runs good on my 500MHz g3 with a radeon 9200.
Like
Version 2003
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 October 2005
Well some levels do at least.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
25 December 2004
can you fix the download link please?
Like
Version 2003
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
25 December 2004
Yes... should be fixed now.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
30 September 2004
screenshot pleez? from what i hear its a good game
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
26 September 2004
Says It cant run, cant open the donload page link! Help any1?
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
28 June 2004
don't even try this on a 16mb vid card, it won't run nice, i had atleast 2-5fps with everything toned down, it's a good game but damn you need a fast ass comp
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
19 June 2004
nice game good action needs some tuning for graphics and other small pieces
Like
Version 2003
T DOG
22 April 2004
this game rocks thank u so much
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
29 February 2004
i've got 10.1.5 too... i wanna get 10.3 soon as possible. But i got no money! Ah well.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
08 February 2004
uhhh...dude...10.1 makes up a VERY VERY small percentage of Mac OS X users, the majority are running 10.2, and a lot are upgrading to 10.3 on a daily basis... 10.1 just doesn't contain core technologies to do anything useful... Sorry bub but I think you are outta luck...
Like
Version 2003
Firebeaver
30 October 2003
the problem with the game it dosnt support 10.1 wich is what i have the game should be able to got there because almost half havnt made it to 10.2 and more are not going to touch 10.3 for an age
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
06 October 2003
sorry all you ut fans, but i didnt like it. just too unrealistic. pure megawowpulsephoton rubbish. no realism whatsoever. but if u like that sort of thing then go for it. is stable
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
07 September 2003
The G5 does not like this demo..
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
12 August 2003
The frames/second count seems to bottleneck at 30fps on most single processor g4s, whether they use 32, 64 or 128MB video cards. I have a 733Mhz g4 512MB that runs the game, but at lowest and highest settings, gives the same fps (running a Ti4600). This, I noticed in WC3 and UT when running in OSX. The OpenGL drivers aren't working on the lowerend G4s. Though WC3 and UT run super smooth in os9. I wouldn't mind changing startup disk each time to play the game, if it meant increasing the fps by 50%. The 2k3 game engine is similar to the unreal engine. Why can't there be a rave driver supported version? Q3 made a very nice osx version (10.2 g4). There's no reason why OpenGL should run so slow in UT(osX), ut2k3 and wc3. (Differences in performance in UT, running the OpenGL version in osX and rave in os9, showed 11fps and 80fps averages, respectively, on the opening "intro.unr" map.) Could it be that hard to make an os9 version?
Like
Version 2003
1 answer(s)
Wee Jin Goh
Wee Jin Goh
07 November 2003
You need to realise that UT2k3 is very different from Quake 3. The main bottleneck with UT2k3 is the video card, and the speed of the video card is definitely more important than the amount of video ram installed. Because UT2K3 makes use of shaders, a Radeon 9000 and above (for ATI) or an nVidia Geforce 4 non MX and above will give you the best performance. CPU speed is another important factor in this game, but not so much as the graphics card. There's a lot of physics going on in this game. An example would be the rag doll physics that you see when you kill someone. Notice that the limbs flail about realistically, and the death sequences are dynamically created. So yeah, 30 fps in UT2k3 is pretty good.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
11 August 2003
i love it when u die in this game it is so cool and it rocks but the one time i shot this guy in the head he died and fell a a ledge it was great and how they fly and all
Like
Version 2003
wesley
29 July 2003
this sucks(not the game) but its not for mac os 9 :'( and that is too bad. i got unreal tournament but i don't have the 2003 and that is the one i want. btw: my update for unreal doesn't work. it gives 3 mistakes!!!
Like
Version 2003
Chorch
26 July 2003
Hello, this game is the best I have ever seen in my life! It's great! Well, I have an inconvenient, could somebody tell me where can aI find patches with more levels and sikins for Unreal Tournament (v.436) Ok... for the last time: THIS IS THE BEST GAME!
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
06 July 2003
Will somebody tell me how to download extras for the game. The game is great but I want a few more levals to play.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
30 June 2003
This is an absolutely incredible game. Thats all I have to say on the matter. Thank you , and goodnight.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
12 June 2003
This game is A MUST! I have it also on my PC and it's just great! The OSX version must be even better then. ;) Mac rOoLz!
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
11 June 2003
Good and fun
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
09 June 2003
WOW! That heated up my 17inch Imac. I have an 800mhz G4 with 768mb of ram and a 32mb Nvidia mx440 running 10.2.6. First off, I own UT2003 for my pc which has an Nvidia Ti4600 so I knew that I had throtle down the the detail. Not a big deal though because the game still looks great, it never crashed and ran great. MacSoft did a good job this time. I think it has a lot to do with OS X, and the way it deals with task and ram. I did have a little feedback in the audio, I'm using harman/kardon speakers via usb. I did not try my apple pro speakers in the audio port because I didn't want to dig them out, and I shouldn't have to, hopefully it's a demo problem and gets fixed before the full version hits the stores. Did I tell you it heated up my Imac, WOW! I can actually hear my cpu fan. Thanks, MacSoft
Like
Version 2003
Km2k3
31 May 2003
2 bad not many can play the game. Hell. >=P I've tried and it failed on me first thing. lol
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
28 May 2003
Impossible to play on my mac I have a g3 700mhz 512mb to bad I know is a Bad@ss game:(
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
19 May 2003
i don't know why you can only have 1 weapon in the demo but it is a great game
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
18 May 2003
Hey,I am downloading the demo right now and hope to hell that it runs ok on my G4 400, 16Meg Ati Pro, 768Meg RAM. If it doesnt, I'll just have to buy a newer video card. UT1 runs pretty smoothly on full detail and 1024*768 res. I'll get back to you...
Like
Version 2003
1•18•20
17 May 2003
Well here is an opinion on the game... I would have liked to have more than 1 map to choose from in the Bombing Run mode. That game, by the way, is becoming my favorite other than Team DM. Capture the flag always bores me, but Bombing Run kicks arse! I think it'll be best playing with multiple real players... Bots just aren't that fun as team members. Something that an indie group made for UT was a King of The Hill mod... I'd love to see something equiv on UT2003.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
16 May 2003
When you say that the developers are slack I hope you don't mean the people that port the games over... more the PC game publishers. And I wouldn't say slack, they are not required to support every platform. I think the main reason the Mac has so few games etc is becuase it has a smaller user base... Which is less profit for the company. And to say that the PC community isn't creative etc is also incorrect. What about DDR? how long did it take to get added to the G4's. Most people who buy a Mac don't do so just to play games... If you want a cheap box that will play games buy a cheap ass PC and if your so worried about supporting Microsoft get a pirate copy of windows and keep your Mac box for all your other stuff... Stop your bitching about Mac vs PC and just review the pre-release game that will have bugs and will be more optimised for some systems than others. And OH NO you cant Play the game in the highest details!!! Well turn them down and live with the fact that your computer cant handle it. Games aren't all about graphics... Thats like a movie full of FX and no story....
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
14 May 2003
Good Demo, but there many bugs in there. A little bit to buggy. But i hope there will come the NON-BETA-DEMO!!! :)
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
14 May 2003
LOL!!! Answer, PowerPC 970 & 980! It will make Unreal Tournament 2003 play like a well behaved school boy.
Like
Version 2003
1•18•20
14 May 2003
I agree totally. I think the developers are incredibly slack for the most part, but I question if Apple is too. And yes, Apple is an innovations company that gets ripped off constatnly. Microsoft wouldn't be anywhere if it hadn;t realized that Apple had it right all along with the 'native GUI', rather than command line as default. All I ask for, is more games, quicker chip advancement, and a 3 button mouse.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
12 May 2003
You are absolutely right there is a MHZ gap, but giving up is not the answer. When you think of Apple what's the first thing that comes to mind? Innovation!!! That word has no place in the WINTEL World. You think because PC's have faster chips makes them better? Name me one innovation that has come out of the Wintel world? SORRY NONE SIGNIFICANT!!! For the past 13 years PC manufactures and not to Mentioned MICROSOFT been ripping off Apple TREND SETTING INNOVATIONS like a bad TAROT READING SCAM! Technically I don't think is incredibly hard for the developers to optimize these high games for a G4 processors running past the 1 GHZ mark specially on dual processors that can kick the crap out of any PC out there! So one the G5 comes around what's going to be the excuse? HUMMM!!!
Like
Version 2003
1•18•20
12 May 2003
It is a shame. Mac Gamers do get the short end of the stick all the time. I think a lot of it has to do with the current state of the G4 chip. From all accounts, the g4's handle graphics and video and sound creation incredibly, but games are mHz crunchers. PC's are up to 3gHz or more in clock speed, and we're still using single chips at 1.42gHz, although available in dual processor configs. For the price we all pay, the top end should be dual 3gHz! I think if Apple hardware moved as quickly as Wintel, we'd be better off in that respect from the eyes of the developers. As far as UT2003 goes, I expect the final release to be a ot more intensive than this demo on my dual 450. All the games that come out, it makes me tempted to build a PC from scratch and sit it next to the TV. For $1600 Australian dollars ($1,038.44 US) I could get something absolutely kickass, and not wait for games to finally arrive to Mac. But then, giving up doesn't help the platform does it?
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
11 May 2003
I never claim it ran smooth on iBooks. I did some of my test on a Dual 450 G4 I owned and a Dual 867 G4 from a friend. Yes, I do I admit that is a CPU and resource hungry game. I said the game play reasonably on the Dual 450 G4 better than what I hoped. Even at high settings the game responded fairly well, mind you that the minimun requirements is a 700 MHZ MAC. Of course, it will never come close to the frame rates of the Dual 867 G4 which has 4x AGP, higher MHZ and better graphics controller. I also read that it will be dual processor once it goes GOLD. Thou I'm not sure if they made it dual processor aware for this demo? In short I think is a very advance game (graphics wise), but I also believe there's a conspiracy in porting this games to the MAC. I think the mac community is getting the short end of the stick when it comes to games. DEVELOPER JUST DON'T CARE. I made my test and I don't really care if people believe or not. Remember this is just a demo not the final product. I hope prior to installation people have OS X 10.2.6 as well as latest drivers for their graphics cards. I reliazed a lot of MAC GAMERS out there are complaining because they can't play the game! Please make sure you have the proper requirements not the ones from the developers. Also, don't play this game on a G3 is simply not worth the agony. Don't think for a moment that I'm not upset like some of you out there. I do think this a goog port but we just got to make our voices heard because the majority of the PC gamers and developers think that mac gamers are not serious about gaming. WRONG!!!
Like
Version 2003
1•18•20
11 May 2003
G-4CE... You're an utter and complete... whats the word? Well without getting into it too hard, take your hand off of it mate, cuz I downloaded it, ran it, and it's SMOOTH AS HELL! I reccommend increasing mouse sensitivity, but other than that... S M O O T H: SMOOTH! I agree however that it wouldn't do too well on the iBooks, but man you sound like you've got a superiority complex or something, and just HAD to let off about your 'monster' mac. So, good for you. You're not raining on my parade, because as has been claimed... SMOOOOOOOOOTH LIKE A BABY'S ARSE!
Like
Version 2003
L66
10 May 2003
This game is not a good sequel to UT, graphics are OK but not that special, Quake 3 offers almost the same but nicer levels, the weapons are about the same but most are worse, except for the sniper, it's a great thing that it shoots a beam because then everyone can trace the camper who fired it ;-). The sounds and music are worse as in UT1, especially the voices are pretty irritating and on top of it the whole game runs slow, even on my G4 800 with ATI Radeon 32 MB. Unbeleavable if you see that Quake 3 already runs smooth (smooth i call a constant 35+ framerate) on highest settings and 640x480x32 on an iMac with an 8MB video card (800x600 also does, but then you have a strange delay when pressing keys, probably the probably the processor was too slow). Anyway, i trashed this one and i'm playing Unreal Tournament 1 and Quake3 again, those are much more fun to play.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
10 May 2003
I think the Unreal 2003 demo is great, but needs refinement. I agree that the Bots appear small & are hard to spot in fast passed action. The game is also a little slow on the mac platform. I think that the code has to be refined & probably will! But all together great game! I'll have my credit card waiting. Dennis SA.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
10 May 2003
ok, just remember that I'm a mac nut. the people out there who say that this game runs nice and smooth on dual 450's with a radeon 9000 pro or on ibook 900's with a 32meg radeon obviosly have no idea what smooth IS or are just flat out lying. I've been a mac user for a very long time but last year i wanted to play around with building hardware so i built myself a PC(yes, i know the shame). Anyway, it was loaded to the gills(AMD 2700, Radeon 9700pro, ton-o-ram, everything) now that thing ran unreal super smooth. we're talking well over 120fps with all the unreal settings at max. Then you turn on the real settings like anti aliasing and anisotropic filtering and you get around 80fps(which is perfect). So anyway, when i got tired of playing around with PC hardware(about 7 months), i sold that devil box and bought myself a brand new dual 1.25ghz G4. I love this thing and don't deny its power. My problem was that at the time i ordered it, the radeon 9700pro wasnt yet available from apple. so i bit the bullet and ordered the powermac with the cheaper 9000pro in it and would just buy a high end retail radeon when it eventually comes out. So anyway, here i am with a dual 1.25ghz monster with 1.25gigs of Corsair XMS PC3200 DDR ram(left over from my PC), and Radeon 9000pro. now going by some peoples claims on here, i should be playing this thing max settings and all with no probs. There's just one tiny problem...the radeon 9000 isnt a powerhouse card and cant run this game at full settings if its life depended on it(at least not well). For cryin' out loud, the Geforce 3 Ti ranks higher then this card. the radeon 9000 is a budget card, not a high end gaming card. if you really want to see how bad its doing, just start up UT2k3 and when the map is loaded, press the tilde key(`) to open up the console and then type in STAT FPS (doesnt need to be upper case). that will give you an idea of how "smooth" the game is running. Anyway, im not pickin' on mac hardware or anything here. i know that if i had a radeon 9700pro that i'd be smokin' on this game just like on the PC. I just cant stand all these people on here telling other people that an ibook or a radeon 9000 runs this game smooth at max detail because they dont. sorry but i just had to let that go.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
10 May 2003
I agree with previous poster,-- Unreal on a dual 450 G4, 1 gb ram and 8500 radeon plays well. Only complaint I have is that the opposing players (bots) seem to be too small at any distance. And this is not system related, but built into the game, I think.
Like
Version 2003
1•18•20
10 May 2003
Okay, I am about to see if binaryjunkie's comments were correct. About to test this out on my dual 450 g4, 1.25GB RAM, Radeon 9000 Pro (64mb)... I so hope it works. It'll probably be the last game I get to buy, cuz I am sure when Halo finally comes out it'll be incredibly hungry indeed.. THANKS MICROSOFT!
Like
Version 2003
Matraxx
10 May 2003
I'm Back, with another test. I'm here with my G4 466, 64meg ATI 900 that has a whooping 640 megs of ram, I have to say this. UT 2003 mac Demo is power hungry indeed. I can play it however for optimal performance I downed the effects about 25%. It helped quite abit also. On another note, try turning off all the sound options to the game as it is a power sucker and can easly make you lose Frame rates. Good luck and Long live UT
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
08 May 2003
It seems that the servers are REALLY overloaded. The download only pulls in 115 of the 131 mbs. Stuffit freezes up quite nicely as well. Then trying to open the disk image restarts the finder. Id wait a week or so before trying again.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
08 May 2003
Please, do yourself a favor don't play this game with an ATI 128 RAGE PRO!!! This game was not design to play with this card. I read about someone playing it on a G4 350 which had 1 GB of ram and a Radeon 8500 with most of the graphics settings on high and he added that it play reasonably well.
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
08 May 2003
Played it on my G4/350 1GB RAM Rage128Pro and it was painful. Thank god I have a Wintendo.
Like
Version 2003
Matraxx
08 May 2003
I have tried the demo on several machines such as, a emac 128meg, 32ati and I had to set it at the lowest setting, however on the ibook 900mhz with 256meg and 32ati it ran almost perfect in default mode. I would have to say that the machine inyou play it on should have any 32meg video card and at least 384megs of ram running a G3 800 or higher. But all in all the game textures and sounds make this demo well worth the wait. I hope to see the full game soon along with that long awaited map editor.
Like
Version 2003
Greenie
08 May 2003
Only just playable on a G3 400, 640MB RAM, PCI Radeon. and that was with min settings...
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
08 May 2003
it's an OK with a great engine. it's a darn shame the editor isn't available on the mac. my advice to mac users would be as soon as the full game is done go and download www.deathball.net. it's the mod that actualy got me to go and buy ut2003 for the pc in the first place.. ut2003 on it's on is not that much fun except when playing instagib/ctf instagib :)
Like
Version 2003
Sephiroth-4
08 May 2003
well, with the power and ease of os x you yourself can become a "mirror" with the bandwidth you boast.... i think my post was misinterpretted.... SHARE THE WEALTH, hell I'm doin it @ home with 128k up.....
Like
Version 2003
Anonymous
08 May 2003
Finally "THE" Demo is out! ! ! This game rocks!
Like
Version 2003
Sephiroth-4
08 May 2003
in a word...wow in a few other words...it looks and runs great on my Ti @ 1024x768, 32-bit, maxed. wish "Atari" would have made native widescreen support but hey...this screen is a beaut. @ any resolution. The sound options are worthless to laptop users but is better than iTunes 4-) I am sharing for a little while @ http://4.46.231.128/~ed/ut2k3.htm i think ;)
Like
Version 2003