Back to DivX page
DivX free download for Mac

DivX Reviews

10.8.7
10 March 2019

Playback DivX media.

Masterminter
06 May 2012

Most helpful

DivX and avi fileformat was 'the' codec to use years back for movies. Compared to h264 in a Matroska fileformat it is old and has poor quality. Not to speak about the dreadful licenses.Avoid when possible.
Like (12)
Version 8.2.2

Read 127 DivX User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lesoth0
21 May 2019
Had its day in the Snow Leopard era. In the modern era there is so much more choice than this bug-ridden trash.
Like
Version 10.8.7
Lynnw3
08 February 2018
I was greatly disappointed when the installer asked to install MacKeeper as well as DivX. I will delete this app from my Mac.
Like (2)
Version 10.8.6
Derekcurrie
18 June 2017
Don't install this. It's buggy, locks up your system with Sit & Spin mode, preventing you from Force Quitting it. It's garbage (IMHO of course). If you have it installed, throw it in the trash and use VLC instead.
Like (2)
Version 10.7.2
1 answer(s)
d-junk
d-junk
23 March 2019
Well, at least it ASKS.
The bad programs won't even ask.
Like
Yusepe40
05 January 2015
DivX v10.2.4 is for OSX.6 Snow Leopard+, (Intel). Not for Leopard (Universal Binary).
Like
Version 10.2.4
Spike Jones
14 September 2014
DivX ones your main video codec inside an AVI format. Now defunct, slow and never gets anywhere near H264. Even Windows users are leaving this codec in favour of H264.
Like (1)
Version 10.2.3
Derekcurrie
21 August 2014
For anyone who got messed over by the shameful CONDUIT adware infestation, part of the DivX 10.1 installer, here are some instructions for removing it, provided by my colleague Thomas Reed: http://www.thesafemac.com/arg-conduit/ Thomas also offers an Adware Removal Guide and Removal Tool: http://www.thesafemac.com/arg/ Thankfully, adware installation was removed from the DivX 10.2 installer.
Like (7)
Version 10.2.0
3 answer(s)
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
11 December 2014
Thank You Derekcurrie! I always look for your reviews on MacUpdate because they're honest Insightful and very accurate 99.999% of the time. I can't believe MacUpdate still offers this VirusWare as a download!!
What's Going on MacUpdate???
Like (2)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
20 August 2015
Technically, this isn't VirusWare. It's a simple Installer than has an upsell offer in it. "Pay Per Install" is becoming the norm in the software industry right now. In fact, the biggest sites like Download.com wrap all app listings on their site with Installers that offer the option to install another Mac app. It is certainly not Malware or Virusware or anything remotely similar.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
21 August 2015
I disagree Joel. And apparently the DivX people disagree as well. They were shamed into removing this adware garbage in all further versions of DivX. Since this mess, there have been several adware installation attacks on the Mac platform, necessitating the extremely successful program Adware Medic from my colleague Thomas Reed. It has since been folded into Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and Thomas now heads Mac software at Malwarebytes. Also note how Malwarebytes managed to call anti-malware programs what they really are: Anti-Malware. Seeing as there are NO actual viruses for Mac, only other forms of malware, it is entirely wrong to say 'VirusWare'. A virus is only one kind of malware. Adware is another kind of malware, whether marketing morons who nefariously infest the stuff onto Macs like that term or not.

http://Mac-Security.blogspot.com
- - Where I write about Mac malware and other Mac security matters.
Like (3)
Dominique
02 May 2014
Attention aux utilisateurs de EYETV : cette nouvelle version supprime le module "Divx Avi" qui permettait l'export d'un enregistrement EyeTv vers ce format. Heureusement, j'ai pu retrouver un lien pour revenir à la version précédente. Maintenant, je ne bouge plus !
Like (1)
Version 10.2.0
Libertyforall1776
17 March 2014
One of the VERY FEW players on Mac that will play H.265 videos aka HEVC!
Like
Version 10.1.1
martinb2
15 November 2013
May be I am missing something, but DivX is readable / playable perfectly by Perian, my favorite QuickTime extension. So in my opinion any DivX extension is useless - especially if it is displaying a logo in the lower right corner to sell its application. But I would disagree to people forcing 64 bit: QuickTime is only available with 32 bit, and as long as there is no alternative, and (with Apple supporting only AV Foundation now which is 64 bit and useless) there is no alternative in my opinion... who cares about 64 bit if it forcing me to convert videos before enjoining them?
Like (3)
Version 10.0.1
3 answer(s)
Xenedar
Xenedar
20 January 2014
Perian is dead.
Like (3)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
20 January 2014
martinb2, there are a couple problems with your otherwise appreciated post. The first problem is that Perian, although it still works fine for now, has ended development. It's abandonware. The second problem is that QuickTime 10.1 is now 100% 64-bit, including the provided components. I should know. I've been ranting at Apple for years to make it so. I think you're referring to QuickTime Player and QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, which inexplicably Apple will never be making 64-bit. We are fortunate that OS X easily supports both 32-bit and 64-bit code, unlike Windows. So I can see your point. However, we ARE talking about video production, which is one of the most RAM and CPU process demanding uses for computers. Why WOULDN'T DivX software ALL be 64-bit? There is no sane excuse for 32-bit DivX apart from the fact that the Windows platform continues to …DRAG… its feet going 64-bit. Therefore, there remains just about zero incentive to bother coding 64-bit Windows applications. Apparently that translates into the DivX folks not bothering to do anything 32-bit with the Mac versions. And of course that points out, once again, how little they actually care about the Mac platform. My response, once again, is: So why should we care about you, DivX?
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
20 January 2014
*SNAP* Xenedar! You were writing your comment EXACTLY when I was writing mine. You must be my clone. ;-)
Like
Derekcurrie
09 November 2013
So what's DivX up to this time? Here's a quick evaluation: 1) 32-bit. Still. Unforgivable. Both DivX Converter and DivX Player. What is wrong with these people? - NO THANK YOU! Macs went 64-bit in 2006, bitches! 2) When you run DivX Player, it phones home to: dart.I.doubleclick.net on TCP port 80 via http. - NO THANK YOU! I don't wish to be surveilled by DoubleClick, bitches! 3) When you run the installer: "Set my default search and home page for Safari, Firefox and Chrome to Conduit Search powered by Bing." - NO THANK YOU! I run a Mac, bitches! 4) The QuickTime components are updated to: - A) DivX Decoder v6.8.4.3 - B) DivX Encoder v6.8.3.5 5) The DivX Web Player.plugin is updated to v3.0.1.5. 6) The installer offers the DivX HEVC Plug-in: "• New DivX HEVC profiles supported in DivX Converter, Player and Web Player • Create DivX HEVC videos at file sizes smaller than H.264 • Watch DivX HEVC videos on any computer and your favorite browser √ Get the free DivX HEVC Plug-in to experience the latest video standard for quality and compression" A couple hevc.plist files are installed. But where's the 'plugin'? I never found it. 7) A pile of stuff is put here: /Library/Application Support/DivX/ 8) Here is the ReadMe you can only read from inside the Installer, gee thanks, bitches: ~~~~~~~ DivX 10.0.1 An all-in-one solution to play, create and stream high quality DivX HEVC video up to 1080p HD, DivX 10 delivers the latest video technology to users for free. For the best DivX video experience, please install all components. See what else is new in this version. • New DivX HEVC profiles for HEVC video creation • Optimized playback of DivX (MPEG4), DivX Plus (H.264), DivX HEVC (H.265)* video • Efficient HEVC streaming in your browser • Stream MKVs to DLNA devices, including PS3 and XBOX *DivX HEVC Plug-in required DivX Converter 10.0.1 First easy-to-use software for creating high quality DivX HEVC* video • Create DivX videos to watch on any computer and more than 1 billion DivX devices • Rotate, combine your videos, add multiple subtitles and audio • Add custom presets and perform batch encoding *DivX HEVC Plug-in required DivX Player 10.0.2 High quality playback of DivX, DivX Plus and new DivX HEVC* video • Optimized to play the web’s most popular formats—AVI, DIVX, MKV, MP4 • Built-in DivX Media Server streams video to devices, including PS3 and Xbox • Smooth FF/RW, chapter points, multiple subtitles and audio tracks supported *DivX HEVC plug-in required DivX Web Player 3.0.1 Efficient, high quality MKV streaming in your browser with DivX HEVC video • Smooth video playback with DivX Plus Streaming™ and DivX HEVC • Adaptive and progressive streaming of the web’s most popular formats—AVI, DIVX, MKV, MP4, MOV • Features include smooth FF/RW, chapter points, multiple subtitles and audio tracks • Use less CPU and battery with H.264 DXVA hardware acceleration *DivX HEVC plug-in required DivX Codec Pack DivX Codec Pack lets you play and create DivX® video using your favorite applications. • Play DivX and DivX Plus videos in any media player (e.g. Windows Media Player, QuickTime, Media Player Classic) • Output AVI videos using your favorite editing software (e.g. Sony Vegas, Virtual Dub) • Convert to DivX and MKV— forever, for free—using DivX Converter and third-party tool
Like (5)
Version 10.0.1
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 November 2013
Oh, and I forgot: 9) Two Launch Agents are installed in /Library/Launch Agents/ - com.divx.dms.agent.plis - com.divx.update.agent.plist AND: I disabled the whole mess. If by chance I ever run into anything DivX on the planet, I have the stuff ready to re-enable just in case. I'm not holding my breath.
Like
SkilletAudio
SkilletAudio
14 July 2015
Thank you for your post, I was installing this when the update popped up and then remembering how annoying this software was and the things I ended up turning off because other players handled things better. It also seemed like it installed a bunch of extra unneeded stuff and just felt a bit creepy like the default search engine thing. Generally when there is not drag and drop installs or when they take a while to launch the first time run I get suspicious on a Mac.

I stopped the install and will remove anything DivX.
Like
northernmunky1981
07 September 2013
Despite the hostility here... heres my view: Pros: 1. The fact that Divx is openly supporting H.265 (HEVC) is a very good thing and an important milestone. I'm going to be extensively testing out film compression using this! 2. Well done Divx for pulling their finger out on this one. Cons: 1. Cut the crap out of the installation (Bing!!??) this is a Mac not a PC, don't impose changing my MacOS settings or installing stupid f***ing toolbars and s**t!) 2. Player is still crap 3. Why is this software 32bit? What century do you think this is!? You can't even buy 32bit only machines anymore so don't give me that excuse (or try to tell me its because it doesn't require more than 4Gb of RAM)! We're talking film compression/ decompression, every recourse counts. Stop dawdling and compile this in 64bit.
Like (4)
Version 10.0.0
Derekcurrie
06 September 2013
UNINSTALLED! If you too uninstall this crapware (via the kindly provided Uninstaller), be sure to do a Spotlight search in BOTH your /Library/ folder AND your ~/Library/ folder for leftovers. I found a SLEW of DivX .plist files polluting my library folders, including one nasty file still residing in one of the Launch folders, which is an evil thing to do. Dump Them All! Oh and talking about evil: While the uninstaller is running, it attempts to phone home to the DivX site to look for updates. Can you imagine? It wants to UPDATE your installation as you are uninstalling it. WHY did I uninstall the DivX crapware? Because this recent 'Conduit' infliction garbage during installation is The Last Straw. I've had enough. I don't ever run into DivX video on the Internet any more. I don't care about DivX video any more. May DivX rot and die. I think we already have more than enough effective video formats without having to bother with this unimportant format family. However, I am keeping a copy of the current installer around for just-in-case. But I highly suspect I'll never need it and will have forgotten why I ever bothered to keep it.
Like (6)
Version 10.0.0
1 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
11 October 2014
Ok, I understand. But, can you tell us how you REALLY feel?
:-)
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
06 September 2013
After reading the review/commentary/warning below, I am hesitant to install this software. Can anyone provide some information about this new version 10?
Like
Version 10.0.0
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
06 September 2013
Unless you can think of a compelling reason to install DivX, DON'T. Read my uninstallation notes above to make sure you've actually gotten rid of ALL of it.
Like (5)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
06 September 2013
Thanks for the warning, I won't install this.
Like (1)
Michael382429
13 August 2013
Do NOT install DIVX for Mac. The new updates install malware on your computer which set ALL of your browsers - Chrome, Firefox, Safari - to use a search service called 'conduit' which redirects, of course, to Bing. It does NOT simply allow you to re-set up your home pages and search engines. It has a background process which again TAKES OVER YOUR BROWSER SETTINGS even after you have restored them! Instead of installing this software (which is trying to stop you from using Google), you should remove Bing from your search engines and stop using all Microsoft products. Obviously, no one redirects people to Bing without getting paid for it. You'll spent quite a while removing this nasty browser hijacker and you'll regret this download!
Like (10)
Version 9.1.3
3 answer(s)
Michael382429
Michael382429
13 August 2013
Edit: It appears that after your remove the 'Conduit' home page and engine, the 2nd stage software responsible for re-setting the search and default pages to 'Conduit' is a Chrome extension. So, for Safari and Firefox, a single removal of the offending search pages and 'Conduit' search engine is enough. For Chrome, you have to additionally remove the conduit extension. BE WARNED: The conduit extension has access to all of your cookies and data on every site, and could easily send all of that data to a 3rd party. It's better to just not download this. Obviously, I've also uninstalled all DIVX plugins because they can no longer be trusted.
Like (3)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
06 September 2013
These DivX people are shameless. Anything for a buck. And who gives a rat's about DivX video these days? Just avoid this crap unless you ABSOLUTELY require it. Maybe download the Installer and have it at the ready. But BEWARE the extra CRAPWARE these nasty installers inflict on your system. They're out to surveil you on the net. Not a good thing.
Like (2)
umaromc
umaromc
08 November 2013
Sorry you guys had to go through this. I hate having encounters with software like this. More important, THANK YOU for sharing and warning the rest of us.
Like
Sleek
10 June 2013
I use Divx Player Plus for a while and I find it good so far. DIvx has ability to Stream videos wirelessly to My Samsung Blu Ray Player effortlessly and for that one feature I think it beats most Video Players. There are few issues though like (1) once you pause Video for more then few Minutes, you have to replay whole video again from start (2) it does not recognize forward back remote buttons. I recommend this player to everyone who has small Video Clips and have smart TV or Bly Ray Player with WI Fi Ability to watch Videos from your Computer.
Like
Version 9.1.2
Itty
06 May 2013
Ah, an update for the Digital Equivalent to the Wax Cylinder. Yay.
Like (4)
Version 9.1.1
Derekcurrie
06 May 2013
Hurray.No more, forced install unless you stop it, Google Chrome with the installation. That's an improvement. (Use Chromium folks. No default user surveillance by Google is required). I dug around inside the installer package for v9.1.1 and found the ReadMe. Inexplicably, it directs the reader to a worthless URL for "the full version history." At that URL you find they haven't bothered to provide any data beyond version 8. What is it with these strange DivX people?! Here is what little the ReadMe provides about what's 'new' in version 9.1.1. It sounds more like a marketing script to me: ~~~~~~~~~~~~ DivX Plus Converter DivX Plus® Converter easily converts popular formats to high-quality DIVX, MKV and MP4 video for smooth and reliable playback across a range of consumer electronics devices • Convert a range of formats to DivX and DivX Plus for playback on DivX Certified devices • Two new MP4 profiles let you easily create video for iPhone®, iPad® • Create advanced features like smooth FF/RW and combine multiple files into one video • Batch convert videos—even from different formats—in a single session • Get 15-day trial of MPEG-2/DVD Plug-in to back up your DVDs DivX Plus Player DivX Plus® Player is optimized for a stunning HD video playback experience. • Watch high-quality DivX (.avi and .divx), DivX Plus (.mkv) and other popular video formats on your PC • Easily transfer videos with DivX To Go® to any DivX Certified® device or stream to DLNA-compatible devices in your home • Experience advanced features like smooth FF/RW, multiple subtitles and multiple audio tracks ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Indeed, version 9.1.1 of both DivX Converter and DivX Player are installed, if you care. Both work as expected. The provided versions of the two DivX QuickTime components are the same as those in version 9.1.0, those being v6.8.4.3 of the decoder and v6.8.3.5 of the encoder. As usual, the only thing potentially useful is the DivX decoder QuickTime component. As such, there's nothing in v9.1.1 worth caring about if you already have v9.1.0. Go use better video encoding software please and skip this irrelevant stuff.
Like (5)
Version 9.1.1
iMacintosh
18 April 2013
Why? Why are you updating this? Nobody needs it.we have VLC,Movist,Mplayer... Why would anybody want to use this? Get a job Divx,Inc.
Like (12)
Version 9.1.0
3 answer(s)
iMacintosh
iMacintosh
18 April 2013
Divx Inc says ' create HQ video with pro version" AWWWW LOL.What kind of idiot would use this silly application for converting to DIVx or AVI.Nobody uses these file types anymore;otherwise,they would use Handbrake or iFFmpeg. Just funny stuff,LOL
Like (5)
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
06 May 2013
Thank you for your amazing insight into this software.
Like (2)
iMacintosh
iMacintosh
06 May 2013
Hey Canadianpj,you've got something deeper for this silly application,I'm all yours,say something nice about it.
Like (3)
Derekcurrie
17 April 2013
SUMMARY: What's useful in this update is the new QuickTime component, version 2.3. That's about it. There are so many free, useful and quality alternatives to DivX that I personally don't care that it even exists. But I install the QT component in case I run into DivX stuff on the net, which is rare. If you can figure out what else DivX is good for, then good on ya. Here's what's included in this version as well as the 'What's New' list for v9.1: http://rovicorp.force.com/apex/Show_DivxB2C_Article?id=kA5400000004Cl1&language=en_US&url=DivX-Plus-Software-Version-History Components: • Converter 9.1 • Player 9.1 • Web Player 2.3 (aka QT component) • Media Server 1.1 • Codec Pack • DivX To Go 9.1 • DivX Installer System 2.1 • Control Panel 1.1.2 What's New: All Components: • Updated to QT 4.8 for UI • DivX 9.1 no longer works on Mac OS X 10.5 Converter: • "Rotation" support for +/-90°, 180° for portrait videos from mobile phones • "My Presets" feature for saving custom profiles • "Pass-Through Video" option • Easily change order of videos by drag-and-drop. • Drag-and-drop adding of subtitles • Encode progress tracked in task bar for Windows 7 • Support for SSA and ASS subtitles • Audio settings grouped together in Audio tab Player: • Improved playback core for faster startup and stability • Removed support for DivX Ultra profile. Web Player • DivX Plus adaptive streaming support • New Black Skin DivX Media Server: • MKV support for XboX, PS3, and Android devices • Ability to view a list of devices clients connected • Ability to view shared filenames with corresponding icon Fixed: • Issue for WBShop bundle download • Improved TS file conversion capabilities • Improved Converter response to cancel button • DivX Media Server playback for particular MPEG/MP4 file • DivX Media Server improved first time detection robustness • DivX Media Server improved ability to add new folders • DivX Media Server scanning of .dll files are now skipped • DivX Media Server crash on Mountain Lion 10.8.2 • Auto-update for Mac (now same as Windows)
Like (6)
Version 9.1.0
2 answer(s)
Oysterhaven
Oysterhaven
17 April 2013
Can you just install the QT component without any of the other junk? Thanks.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 April 2013
Yes, you can install the QT component without any other junk. Here's the process: 1) Open the DMG on your desktop 2) Right click on the 'DivX Plus.pkg' file inside. 3) Choose "Show Package Contents" 4) Dig around inside 'Contents' until you find the file 'Archive.pax.gz'. 5) Drag this file out to your desktop. 6) Double-click the file. It will unarchive twice, once for .gz decompression and a second time for .pax decompression. 7) You'll now have a folder on your desktop called 'Archive'. 8) Inside this folder dig down to: /Archive/Library/QuickTime/ 9) Inside you'll find the two DivX component files. Don't bother with the 'Encoder' unless you're going to encode into DivX. Please don't. 10) Take the DivX Decoder.component file and drag it to here on your boot volume: /Library/QuickTime/ 11) Hurray, you're done.
Like (3)
Cortig
06 March 2013
DivX used to provide great encoders with a number of advanced options. The company eveolved towards AAC/AAV in mkv packages and their solution for Mac users were more than limited. The new version can now export to mp4 for iPods and iPads (and AppleTV, but up to 720p only), but the input still doesn't support VIDEO_TS folders! In addition, all applications are still 32bit (!! — including the QuickTime codecs), the performances are horrible and the Preference application can only be quit through the Dock icon (no menu, no response to command-Q). Really, it looks like a quickly put together application that definitively lacks the maturity it once had.
Like (2)
Version 9.0.2
Derekcurrie
23 February 2013
WARNING: The installer still attempts to infest your computer with Google Chrome excrement. Here's what to do if you just HAVE to install this crapware: 1) As you click your way through the Installer, you'll see a colorful sub-window that says "DivX recommends Google Chrome, a fast new web browser blahblahblah". Near the bottom of the sub-window is a check box that is ON by default. It says "Include Google Chrome, along with DivX". UNCHECK THIS BOX ! ! ! 2) If OOPS, you let the installer infest your computer with Google Chrome junk, here's what to do: - a) After the installation, when Google Chrome automatically runs and shoves a box in your face that reads "Google Chrome is ready to complete your installation", immediately FORCE QUIT Google Chrome. Don't click the 'Start Google Chrome' button. Don't bother trying to Quit Chrome. It won't let you! - b) Go into your Applications folder and trash the Google Chrome garbage you'll find there. - c) Go to your ~/Library folder and TRASH the 'Google' folder you find there. - d) Search inside your ~/Library folder for 'keystone', verify that they are Google 'keystone' files, and trash them ALL. - e) Empty the Trash. You're done. If you really really want to use 'Chrome', I recommend using 'Chromium' the open source version compiled by FreeSMUG. (I do NOT recommend the 'Iron' version of Chrome from SRWare as it has its own problems). You still need to use all the strategies to stop being tracked by Google and every other abusive marketing moron. But thankfully none of the Google Keystone crap is installed and compromising your computer. Hope that helps! :-Derek
Like (6)
Version 9.0.2
2 answer(s)
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
23 February 2013
Bit of over-reacting perhaps. Still it is to bad they insist on putting extra software. There is nothing wrong with Chrome, in my opinion and if you do want it I would recommend getting it directly from Google and not via 3rd party software.
Like (3)
flintstone200
flintstone200
23 February 2013
I agree. The paid version used to be a decent product. It installs several things without permission. It is painful to delete the aftermath. This is a virus that should be avoided at all cost.
Like (1)
Cgc
22 February 2013
Why won't this program just go away? Yuck, stick with MPlayer or VLC.
Like (7)
Version 9.0.2
2 answer(s)
Flavum
Flavum
23 February 2013
Where's the review that elicited this 1/2 star rating?
Like (2)
Cgc
Cgc
27 February 2013
Review: DivX Player sucks, don't waste your time. Instead, get VLX or MPlayer.
Like (2)
Thorsten-Heit
19 November 2012
Hands off that piece of "well-written" software when you're using case-sensitive volumes - this new version simply doesn't work on them! The DivX Converter won't even start because of improperly referenced libraries: Installed on my disc: /Library/Application Support/DivX/DivXEngineBundle.bundle/Contents/PlugIns But needed according to the crash log: /Library/Application Support/DivX/DivXEngineBundle.bundle/Contents/Plugins (lowercase-i at the end!) After I added a symbolic link, at least the main window appeared, but showed me another error message. When I clicked OK, the program crashed :-( Conclusions: According to Wikipedia, OS X supports case sensitive HFS+ volumes since OS X 10.3, i.e. more than nine (!) years, and I'm totally surprised (in a negative sense) that even nowadays there are companies unable to write corresponding programs. And I thought Adobe was the last (big) one that isn't capable of doing that... Well, at least the uninstalled did its job. Totally useless piece of software. Oh, I forgot: The DivX Player still sucks as usually because it uses its own look&feel and totally ignores all MacOS X UI guidelines :-(
Like (4)
Version 9.0.0
3 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
22 February 2013
Just curious, why are you using case-sensitive volumes?
Like (2)
Thorsten-Heit
Thorsten-Heit
24 February 2013
Several reasons: 1) I'm working with Unix and Unix-like systems for ~20 years, so I'm used to work with case-sensitive volumes. 2) I'm a software developer, and having a case-sensitive volume is often a need / must to avoid problems in your code.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
24 February 2013
OK, I figured it was something like that. For a strictly OS X environment is causes problems, as you have discovered. So unless you are running software that requires it, I would avoid it. I also started working with Unix like OSs (IRIX, Solaris, AIX, etc.) back in the mid 90s, so I'm familiar with that. I keep my OS X setup stock.
Like
MrPeeps
18 November 2012
The absolute worst at handling any file type. With all the garbage it leaves all over the system and the endless prompts to update even when I have update checked as off, it's back to MPlayerX for me. Annoying!
Like (4)
Version 9.0.0
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
19 November 2012
Total agreement. Be sure to hang onto the 'Uninstall DivX for Mac' app. When you leave it set to check for updates, it is a horrible nag over the net connection, checking what appeared to be a number of times per HOUR. I got sick of it and used Little Snitch to lock it out of accessing the net. The best I can say is that at least they now don't FORCE you to install Chrome, which I refuse to use. Annoying.
Like (1)
Paulimpola
18 November 2012
Utterly useless. If you should happen to come across a divx file, VLC will do a much better job of handling it than this antiquated abomination.
Like (8)
Version 9.0.0
Cortig
17 November 2012
They forgot to sign the installer… Most users therefore probably won't install under 10.7.5+ or 10.8 :-> The encoding tools are apparently not updated anymore so it doesn't look like we'll ever get the .mkv encoding engine. There are many players out there (MPlayer, Movist or VLC) that do a better job at playing various formats. Not sure I'll ever really need this app again…
Like (7)
Version 9.0.0
3 answer(s)
Cortig
Cortig
17 November 2012
…and the whole thing is still 32 bit, and the prefpane doesn't allow you to register the old encoder for DivX anymore. This is is going off my Mac right now.
Like (4)
Lowell-Boran
Lowell-Boran
18 November 2012
Agreed, this software is just useless bloatware... It its been that way for years haha.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
19 November 2012
Not 64-bit?! Verified! Here we have the perfect opportunity for the developers to use a whole number version update to make the thing 64-bit and they FAIL. So WE are supposed to take DivX seriously? I don't think so.
Like
Cortig
23 August 2012
There are still a few useful things in the package (I use the encoder for instance), but a LOT of it is outdated and longstanding bugs have never been fixed. Mostly everything is still 32 bit (which is annoying nowadays) including the prefpane. The “links” to the support pages and forum are actually PPC apps and will not work in Lion (ridiculous). Support is… well… nonexistent.
Like
Version 8.2.4
Egami
21 August 2012
lol I had forgotten that this thing even existed. Been ages since I last came acros a divx file.
Like (4)
Version 8.2.4
Dougster
20 August 2012
This was originally available to download on July 30th 2012! Anyway, I need DivX for MPEG Streamclip to work properly. Without DivX,MPEG Streamclip will not convert files to MP3 format.
Like (1)
Version 8.2.4
2y2d
14 June 2012
doesn't work on OSX 10.7.4 : Freezing @ startup and pref panes ask again for an update :(
Like
Version 8.2.3
Snowlprd
07 May 2012
There is no reason to install this. No matter what reason you might have for thinking you need it, there are much better tools for the job.
Like (5)
Version 8.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
18 November 2012
perian still works though, and despite their announcement on page, the actual svn is still recieving commits, just not the full support it used to. None the less i won't be surprised if updates stil happen, or at very least you can build your own update off the updated sources from svn.
Like (1)
Cgc
06 May 2012
Why won't DiVX just die? It brings nothing to the CODEC party other than yet another fricking container.
Like (8)
Version 8.2.2
Masterminter
06 May 2012
DivX and avi fileformat was 'the' codec to use years back for movies. Compared to h264 in a Matroska fileformat it is old and has poor quality. Not to speak about the dreadful licenses.Avoid when possible.
Like (12)
Version 8.2.2
3 answer(s)
Masterminter
Masterminter
06 May 2012
Use VLC player. It plays every available format (including DivX) perfectly.
Like (4)
Fredash
Fredash
06 May 2012
Or user MPlayerX !
Like (4)
Sir-Sixty-Nine
Sir-Sixty-Nine
06 May 2012
or just convert them to mp4 w iffmpeg
Like (3)
Derekcurrie
22 January 2012
*This review is for version 8 (not 7.2) of the DivX installation* I no longer recommend installing DivX and its associated files. I won't miss it. I have uninstalled all of DivX due to the aftermath of installing version 8. I found that: 1) Google Chrome had been installed onto my Mac without any listing in the DivX ReadMe, without any warning and without my permission. I was forced to uninstall Google Chrome, which I refuse to use due to its user surveillance. Instead I use one of the Chromium alternatives that have no surveillance. 2) The DivX Preference Pane remains 32-Bit, resulting in the user having to restart System Preferences in 32-Bit mode. At this point in time that is annoying, archaic and demonstrates lazy programming. I never liked the DivX Player in any case, never used it, and won't miss it. I also rarely run into DivX video any longer. I see no advantage in the format and no longer care about it, especially after discovering the aftermath items listed above. It might be useful to hang onto the DivX Decoder QuickTime component if you are concerned that you may run into DivX video files in the future. I have kept it in my /Library/QuickTime/ folder. Don't bother with the DivX Encoder component. Otherwise, good riddance DivX. I don't deal with customer disrespect and abuse.
Like (5)
Version 7.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
22 January 2012
And oh yeah: Version 8 still only offers the version 6 QuickTime components. (o_0)
Like (1)
Cowicide
07 February 2011
Why would someone run this pre pane, etc. when there's Perian? Just wondering.
Like (6)
Version 7.2
Corpsecorps
16 June 2010
This latest version keeps choking on a variety of AVI files which I don't think are even DivX. Every time I try to use Quick Look on some file, or it just comes up in the preview column, I get a dialog saying the Plugin has unexpectedly quit! X-b
Like
Version 7.2
umaromc
17 November 2009
I have a new MacPro but I don't know why they'd drop support for PowerPC- my old MDD FW 800 G4 1GHz/1GB RAM/Radeon 9800Pro could handle HD media okay, I'm sure a newer G5 could handle it quite well!
Like (1)
Version 7.2
umaromc
21 September 2009
I don't know what to say... checked info on installed DivX Player... guess what? 7.0 was installed in place of my 7.0.1 installation rather than the 7.1 I expected- AWESOME! 7.0!
Like (3)
Version 7.1
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
21 September 2009
In case you're wondering... yes, that is malevolent humor in my post. Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 7.1
Livings124
21 September 2009
Still not 64-bit. Means System Preferences has to reboot in 32-bit mode for it.
Like (7)
Version 7.1
Pedro-Fardilha
20 September 2009
"What is your favorite feature of the DivX Player?" Simple: Perian!! Sorry!! couldn't resist :P But actually, since version 7.1 still doesn't bring mkv encode (or faster decode) I think I'll keep using Perian to do the decoding part and VisualHub or one of it's "redux" siblings to those occasional encodings. For my normal day to day encoding needs I', happy with mp4 (like when I want to upload to YouTube) so I have to agree that DivX is getting less and less relevant. Best regards! Pedro Fardilha P.S.: I'll refrain myself to rate this version since I would be rating not the quality of the app by itself, but simply the usefulness that it has on my mac. and for the reasons described above, even if the app is really good, it just doesn't bring any kind of added usefulness to those already having Perian and one of the many free encoders installed on their computers.
Like (10)
Version 7.1
2 answer(s)
Thekidfromtheredbank
Thekidfromtheredbank
21 September 2009
I second that! Throw DivX off your harddrives. This has been annoying us for too long already. Thanks forthe perian-tip. This works great.
Like (4)
Version 7.1
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
21 September 2009
You're quite welcome. Perian is indeed a neat extra to have. With it you no longer need to worry if that .avi is in DivX, Xvid, ms-mpeg or any other of the dozens of formats that it can handle. Best regards Pedro Fardilha
Like (3)
Version 7.1
Macnews
20 September 2009
Agreed. While they may be cutting costs, they don't need to cut PPC. Simply officially support Intel while still implementing universal binaries. It really seems as if they were simply looking for an excuse--and this from a group which derives its very inauspicious beginnings from supporting legacy machines. Lazy is right.
Like (4)
Version 7.1
Ashmadux
21 June 2009
These developers are LAZY. I can still use Perian to read mkv files on a POWERBOOK G4 through quicktime. Same for vlc, cmon this this intel -only mess. all of these formats are backwards (processor) compatible. So why do these cornball companies swear they are having such a hard time creating a universal binary? I remember when devs were proud of the 'universal access' stamp. Oh, sorry i was talking about REAL mac devs.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
Aikousha
21 May 2009
Agreed. and to Misha... as someone whose primary work is with cross-platform/system work, matroska is the very worst container format with so many problems it's a nightmare, even on it's own specific platform/system combo. If you own a modern windows machine and that's all you care about, fine. But you are on a Mac site, and matroska on Macs and Linux/Unix (and others) is awful beyond belief. If they start really developing native on other platforms, I'll applaud them. Until then, I give matroska the same finger their website gives to everybody else. I'm tired of other developers being forced to make .mkv software because there are so many selfish idiots out there.
Like (2)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 May 2009
What issue do you have with mkv on Mac? Have you read the specs on the container? What it allows for is really impressive. It's not backwards compatible with older systems, sure, but that's what lets it have some of those features. The same way that h.264 can't play on older systems, but is vastly superior. I agree, though, that Apple needs to embrace mkv at the QuickTime level. It's a drag to have to use VLC (which forces someone to download VLC).
Like (2)
Version 7.0
Rubaiyat
08 May 2009
What is the point of DivX Pro 7? By enclosing the h264 content in a Matroska container all they have done is made yet another @#$% format. In this case they are even incompatible with the previous DivX/XviD players. Is there some way of simply moving the h264 out of the DivX files into a .mov file instead?
Like (1)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
08 May 2009
.mkv has already been the preferred contained for x264 media for some time. It's only on the Mac where Apple pushes .mp4 down our throats that it's not. There are many advantages of .mkv over .mp4... DivX 7's purpose remains the same as previous versions: to provide decoding/encoding options for DivX media. The other features (x264 support) are just extras.
Like
Version 7.0
Ashmadux
23 April 2009
heres a review for you: Divx 7 =GARBAGE. if I can play almost any media on my mac using perian/flip4mac through quicktime, on my PPC, why cant noobie developed (mac) divx, which does the same things other programs do, is no longer ppc supported? trash. gets the worst review i can manage here.
Like (8)
Version 7.0
Michael-Kwasnicki
22 April 2009
I don't get it. Is DivX making itself unnecessary? MKV with H.264 and AAC is definitely no effort and available for free. Anyway why using those codecs in MKV since they are part of MPEG-4.
Like (6)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Splig
Splig
24 September 2009
Matroska (MKV) has more capabilities than the standard MP4 wrapper, plus it is open source, so does not involve MPEG group licence fees.
Like (1)
Version 7.1
gryphonent
21 April 2009
How can I upgrade from DixX 6 Pro to the latest version for the Mac? While there is an upgrade option for the Windows version in place I cannot find any option for the Mac platform.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
Diamond
21 April 2009
If you read the DivX infomation on the site, Youll notice they DID NOT include any H264 video or AAC audio or MKV encoder updates with the Mac version of DivX 7. Strange that WE Mac users have been using H264 and AAC in MPEGs MP4 container for years now. Not a big Deal to use Quicktime components to encode them instead in MP4. DivX 7.0 Converter is version 1.3 is still PPC CPU useable. DivX 7.0 Encoder component 6.8 is still PPC CPU useable. (Some nice new options as PPC only had 6.7 before) DivX 7.0 Decoder component is still PPC CPU useable. DivX 7.0 Web plugin is 1.4.1.4 is still PPC CPU useable. Only the App player requires Intell CPU as it has Intell libraries for the DivX player app for MKV only but then you can use Quicktime 7 ( as they give you a Quicktime DivX only component as ^above ^ and Perian plugin to play MKV any way if you must. then save as MOV and not need MKV version again. ) If you Need to make DivX standard files for a stand alone player then this will still work for PPC users. and you can use Quicktime to do just that still, You just can ether wait till (IF) they add PPC libraries or Extract the components from the installer and add them manualy to your PPC system. Installer>Show contents>contents>unpack the zip file>then unpack the new zip file> archive> NEW content....copy the new components... DivX 6 license is all thats needed as the encoder is still version 6 but now 6.8
Like (11)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Slurp
Slurp
06 June 2012
it's not version 8.2.3 BUT IT IS VERSION 7.3!!!
Like
Reddog99
21 April 2009
This link now downloads an Intel-only version... :-(
Like (1)
Version 6.7.2
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 April 2009
Version 7 is intel only.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
Ilgaz
21 April 2009
It is like early alert service. If I had only Intel macs, release of "Intel only" binary of such software (not a game) would give me questions about the development qualities and scalability of their products. It also seems DivX completely gave up their professional plans as you can see, even the most professional use codecs (e.g. sheer video) are still maintained and even enhanced on PPC macs even if they require significant work. Let me suggest... If you want to stay on plain MPEG4-SP or ASP, the best commercially supported software coming with professional option is 3ivx , for less cost, of course xvid (which competes head to head) can be used. Both uses the Quicktime Framework of course. For H264? Apple's H264 is _not_ bad. Especially as it has multiple core support (for PPC too!) and of course, it is free. X264 on the other hand is an excellent option if you want an advanced codec which you can even build with hand, for your CPU only. After this move, DivX is no more relevant for me. In fact, this explains why Roxio (Adaptec) didn't add DivX support to Toast 10 which we all flamed. They didn't want to do a comical thing as releasing their bundle as "Intel only". I pass this one, forever.
Like (4)
Version 7.0