Back to PMX page
PMX free download for Mac

PMX Reviews

2.28B20051231
27 July 2006

Project management solution.

Anonymous
25 May 2003

Most helpful

This is a really nice try ... but on my 2001 iBook it shows really strange render problems. Perhaps one day ...
Like
Version 1.7.3

Read 9 PMX User Reviews

Rate this app:

D9
22 May 2006
All in all, I like PMX but my biggest problem is that it does not handle and cross-reference multiple projects; every project must be its own file. Of course, PMX does not profess to be a feature-rich solution, but easy multi-tracking is the only thing keeping me from using PMX permanently. It's a great program otherwise.
Like
Version 2.28B20051231
Anonymous
16 May 2005
I agree with the previous comments regarding what you actually need to project manage, GANTT, resourcing, levelling, clashes, etc. - PMX has all of this. The features MS Project has that PMX does not, I never miss. Regarding extra features, back in the 1.x era, I asked the developer to include the option to select working and non-working days on a per project basis - he immediately slated for the next revision and it was there in 2 weeks. He is constantly refining the application. He has outlined a clear roadmap for the feature set, and still includes extras if you ask. Can you ask more for $59?
Like
Version 2.28
Anonymous
09 September 2003
This project management tool is in the tradition of iCal, iTunes and iPhoto-- it does its job simply, beautifully, clearly and well, without a whole pile of MS-Word-style inscrutable baggage. For simple project management it is a pleasure to use, and it is a welcome addition to the OS X world. Note that this is NOT MS Project, with automatic resource levelling, plan vs. actual comparison and all the rest. But it does have some fairly powerful features for a simple early-version iCal-like product. The main problems I had (mostly missing features with version 1.6 are fixed in version 2. It is well worth $59.95. Version 2.0 in it first release had some pretty serious bugs that made it almost unusable, but that highlights one of PMX's best features-- an email to the developer resulted in very rapid investigation and fixing of the problems for version 2.0.1. he even included some of my suggestions at the same time. This level of responsiveness is the best I have ever come across in any product-- freeware or commercial. And the developer says there is even more to come in the next major release. I won't go into the details of using PMX. It just works. All in all, I'd recommend it.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 September 2003
At $35, this was well priced...it is a simple project management application and was priced accordingly. Version 2.0 added nothing significant and suddenly costs $25 more?!?! I was on the fence in terms of purchasing PMX, but the new price knocked me right off. It is half the price of xTime, but xTime is more than twice the product. Mac developers seem to be getting more and more greedy
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 June 2004
that depends, I just downloaded two great apps that have been around for a few years, are the results of hundreds of hours of work and are still FREE. Generalizing makes a statement general and thus worthless.
Like
Version 2.25
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 May 2005
xTime basic is $129, it is not double PMX by any means of the imagination. XTime Pro, which is an interesting application, in terms of feature set is over $200. So, in conclusion, I think I got a lots for my $59.
Like
Version 2.28
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 September 2005
Mac developers (like all others) are perfectly entitled to be fairly compensated for their work! There are often thousands of hours of work involved in the making of a program and unless that program is sold thousands of times, in most cases you'll find that the developer is making little, if anything out of it!
Like
Version 2.28 Build 20050928
Skyhorse
27 July 2003
Version 1.8 is really nice! Having used MS Project for years (multiple versions) and Scitor and APlan (English version of German app) before that, PMX is such a joy to use! I'd really like to see an ability to add comments to items, HTML export, and improved .mpx export, but this is what I've come to expect since I've switched to Mac--software that simply works better on machines that are more reliable. I have yet to use this for one of my big project plans (300-800 rows), so am not sure it'll handle the load, but I'm going to give it a shot.
Like
Version 1.8
Wranglertx
21 July 2003
At first, this application, while promising, had some key items missing. I shot off a letter to the developer and *POW* the features were added. Nothing complex; we don't want MS Project. We just want an easy-to-use Gantt chart program that works. Version 1.8 is a great improvement. We use it know to schedule all our projects, and the export features are quite nifty (would like to see an HTML export, though).
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
17 June 2003
Unfortunately the link for version 1.75 points to a dmg that contains "v1.72 (v1.73)" This version has no toolbar icons. Also, the author really should consider using kagi, as paypal is not very friendly to those who don't live in the US... It looks good in the screenshots tho :) Oh... how about adding a download link to the projects homepage ?
Like
Version 1.7.5
Joseph Jones
26 May 2003
If you are having any issues with the software, plase make sure you notify me as well as/instead of writing up a review. I definately can't do anything for you if I don't know what the problems are and reviews like the one fbahr posted do not give me enough (in fact any) information to help you. Thanx, joe
Like
Version 1.7.3
Anonymous
25 May 2003
This is a really nice try ... but on my 2001 iBook it shows really strange render problems. Perhaps one day ...
Like
Version 1.7.3