Back to DSP-Quattro page
DSP-Quattro free download for Mac

DSP-Quattro Reviews5.2.0

06 November 2019

Audio file editing, plug-in hosting and audio-CD mastering.

How would you rate DSP-Quattro?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
reynoldsmastering
reynoldsmastering
Dec 1 2020
5.2.0
1.0
Dec 1 2020
1.0
Version: 5.2.0
Quattro 5.5 is awful. I have used and loved Quattro since V2. I have gone back to using Quattro 4. Don't buy it!
josenriquenietosancho
josenriquenietosancho
Mar 19 2020
5.2.0
0.0
Mar 19 2020
0.0
Version: 5.2.0
I am very interested, I would like to prove the demo before to buy, if it's posible. saludos.
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Jul 21 2019
5.0.11
5.0
Jul 21 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.11
Current version is 5.1 (build 190629) as of June 29, 2019.
Moogan
Moogan
Jan 19 2019
5.0.9
3.5
Jan 19 2019
3.5
Version: 5.0.9
Currently at Version 5.0.11: released 18.12.18: ⁃ New: waveform colours are now user configurable on Preferences ⁃ New: Audio settings are duplicate also on Preferences ⁃ improved shift + mouse click to extend the waveform selection from both start and end sides ⁃ fixed a potential bug saving the preferences ⁃ code optimization and bug fixing Version 5.0.10: 21.11.18: ⁃ New: new methods to draw the waveform at high zoom-in levels along the time x-axis: by dots, by connected lines, by vertical lines. ⁃ New: now the application does not need to scan the AU plug-ins at each startup. ⁃ New: the full user manual is now available for the download and as reference from the application Help menu. ⁃ new settings on application preferences. ⁃ code optimization and bug fixing
Hermie
Hermie
Jun 18 2018
4.4
0.0
Jun 18 2018
0.0
Version: 4.4
OK, I'm on version 5.0.6 at the moment. Looks like MU missed the new version.
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Oct 3 2017
4.4
5.0
Oct 3 2017
5.0
Version: 4.4
High Sierra has borked this fine app. The launch error can be fixed by rebuilding the VST database from the "Plug-ins" section of DSP-Quattro's preferences. However, trying to save an edited audio file [e.g., .wav] fails... eventually leading up to a crash. Have already emailed the developer, and am awaiting a response (or preferably an update here). -HI-
federiconicolao
federiconicolao
Jul 20 2016
4.4
5.0
Jul 20 2016
5.0
Version: 4.4
Great software! Nothing close to this on a Mac Platform. It is like a CD Architect on Steroids. Last version is super stable . The only thing i could wish is that keyboard shortcuts and behaiveour was more PT like.
Annadyne
Annadyne
Dec 10 2014
4.2.4
4.0
Dec 10 2014
4.0
Version: 4.2.4
Greets, Beautiful software! Does Quattro have Sample-Level editing where you can easily zoom in, view and adjust the dB level of each bit, a la Soundtrack Pro? In STP there are handles for each bit which makes it easy to arrest the tiniest of digital blips, one at a time. This is a crucial feature, for me. Thanks!
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Aug 16 2014
4.2.4
5.0
Aug 16 2014
5.0
Version: 4.2.4
Retina support please :0)
dichris
dichris
May 6 2014
4.2.4
3.5
May 6 2014
3.5
Version: 4.2.4
Does DSP Quattro have a noise removal tool where you can select a silent section of a track which it learns from and then you can apply settings globally?
Archibeck
Archibeck
May 5 2014
4.2.4
4.5
May 5 2014
4.5
Version: 4.2.4
I had to take time and contact MacUpdate to brag on DSP-Quatrro. I have a home studio and use Logic as my primary DAW. I had just finished mixing my album and needed to start thinking about mastering. I had used Bias Peak as my mastering and quickie audio editor (for church sermons and other simple audio tasks). I was very upset when Bias went out of business, and had a rough time finding a product that provided the same professional tools. Then I received an email that would allow licensed users of Bias Peak to try DSP-Quattro. I purchased the program and mastered my EP through the program. What a HUGE blessing! DSP-Quattro fit the bill perfectly. Stephan Daino responded quickly and effectively to any email I sent. DSP-Quattro gave me the option of burning the finished product or exporting the files. Most tasks were intuitive and with a little practice I learned the program quickly (adding metadata was easy with the built in template). I have also used DSP-Quattro as my secondary DAW - I'm happy on all accounts. I use an older Core 2 Duo MBP and a newer i5 machine. DSP-Quattro works as stated on both machines. All you Mac home studio geeks out there can rest assured you won't find a better program for a better price. I highly RECOMMEND DSP-Quattro. My web site is not up to sample the finished product, but you can email me at archidude@mac.com with any questions about my experience with DSP-Quattro.
Deedoo
Deedoo
May 5 2014
4.2.4
3.5
May 5 2014
3.5
Version: 4.2.4
Q: I currently have audacity (not crazy about it) and WireTap Pro. Can anyone tell me how this compares to DSP-Quattro. Very interested in what sounds like an easier integrated export option. Anyone?
Stefano-Cecere
Stefano-Cecere
Feb 18 2014
4.2.4
5.0
Feb 18 2014
5.0
Version: 4.2.4
sine soundtrack pro is not more a good editor on Mavericks.. needing a good audio editor (with some advanced features like "export regions"), DSP-Quattro seemed a good choice.. and i confirm it (i just bought it after several weeks of trial) PS: (i tried them all, but not SoundForge or Adobe Audition.. too big and expensive) and, last but not least, it's coded by a very good italian developer with many years of experience in audio technology
teran19
teran19
Nov 29 2013
4.2.4
5.0
Nov 29 2013
5.0
Version: 4.2.4
Powerful, professional, easy to use, nice GUI, great customer support, great price. 5 star no doubt.
KarlosC6265
KarlosC6265
Nov 24 2013
4.2.4
4.5
Nov 24 2013
4.5
Version: 4.2.4
Overall, I'm not sure why people are having such a hard time with the installation/Registration process because it's EXTREMELY easy... It's literally the exact same as most software I've bought in the past... The only difference I can see is Stefano Daino, the owner is the most diligent man I've ever seen with help on anything! He stands by his product 100% and I'll tell you that alone made me a fan and convinced me to change from Wavelab to Quattro. I didn't even have a macupdate account and made one just to let you know how simple it was to get started! Don't listen to the haters and follow the directions! They are seriously clear as day on the email when you purchase the software... Bravo, Stefano! A great professional product at a price that is not outrageous! If you're curious I suggest you try it! I'm glad I did!
Prologos
Prologos
Nov 21 2013
4.2.3
3.0
Nov 21 2013
3.0
Version: 4.2.3
Yeah,- still get a mismatch In/Out put, and can't change the device :-( And opening a Project from Finder, still not open first time. Always have to click again. WHY Mister Quattro ??? Please don't write now, that we can write to You !!!
Elandy
Elandy
Nov 21 2013
4.2.3
0.5
Nov 21 2013
0.5
Version: 4.2.3
imposible to install without a super hassle. I ahve not tried it yet cause I can't install it. Its unbelievably complex and opaque and uses various words like pin and password and acitvation and registration without any logic. I wrote and asked for either help to iunstall it or a refund. I would look elsewhere unless you are up for a huge hassle installing this, IF it even can be done.
Uncoy
Uncoy
Nov 17 2013
4.2.2
0.0
Nov 17 2013
0.0
Version: 4.2.2
I'm not buying exclusively because of the painful registration system. I personally own and use 5 Macs of which I would want DSP-Quattro on three. What a horrible licensing system (single machine and each machine requires custom generated files). Even Adobe (devils in developers clothing) are not so onerous.
Junction10
Junction10
Nov 13 2013
4.2.2
0.0
Nov 13 2013
0.0
Version: 4.2.2
Any chance of supporting retina displays please?
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
Nov 13 2013
4.2.2
0.0
Nov 13 2013
0.0
Version: 4.2.2
I just got this in the MU Promo and it may be the best software ever, but this will be the last version I buy thanks to all of the registration hoops I just had to get through. I sure hope it doesn't suck after all of that. Yes, I am in a lousy mood!
gr8putt
gr8putt
Apr 26 2013
4.2.2
4.5
Apr 26 2013
4.5
Version: 4.2.2
Intuitive if familiar with any DAW. Logic's basic Key Commands already work (thank you, Sir). If you can read, purchase to being operational is less than 10 minutes. AU plugs loaded in seconds.
Roberto-Giannotta
Roberto-Giannotta
Oct 17 2012
4.2.1
5.0
Oct 17 2012
5.0
Version: 4.2.1
Dead easy to use, very precise, highly reliable and with a retro-compatibility with ancient gear which can turn out handy in a studio. For $50 is a steal.
Ibigmac
Ibigmac
Oct 17 2012
4.2.1
4.5
Oct 17 2012
4.5
Version: 4.2.1
- Die Zeitschrift "Beat" gab 5,5 Punkte von 6 Punkten. Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis wurde mit "sehr gut" beurteilt. Es wird von einer enormen Vielfalt zu einem wahnsinning günstigen Preis gesprochen und die Features seien auf absolut professionellem Niveau. - The magazine "Beat" was 5.5 points out of 6 points. The value for money was rated as 'very good'. It is spoken from enormous variety to go crazy low price and the features are absolutely on a professional level. --> Just bought and installed. I have tested a little. More later. Excellent so far.
Zzubra
Zzubra
Oct 17 2012
4.2.1
5.0
Oct 17 2012
5.0
Version: 4.2.1
How to register it? It is downloaded ad demo version with no place for serial....
Pellefri
Pellefri
Oct 17 2012
4.2.1
0.0
Oct 17 2012
0.0
Version: 4.2.1
Looks very promising. Bought it, but how do I register and get the full version? It says DEMO when installing.
kadoish
kadoish
Apr 19 2012
4.0
4.0
Apr 19 2012
4.0
Version: 4.0
Simply one of the very best. Don't bother with it if you're an audio dilettante; it's deep. Been using since version 1. Developer's committment is unwavering.
Holypoly
Holypoly
Apr 18 2012
3.5.3
0.0
Apr 18 2012
0.0
Version: 3.5.3
Version 4 is out: - New Customizable KeyCommands - New Peak+RMS Meters - New Drag&Drop features also to copy&paste audio waveforms between audio editors - New CDDA time units - New Effx Slot management - New audio file menu - New multiple Aux output busses - New 32 bits HQ Graphic Level Waveform Display - New Master BPM MIDI clock to synchronize Effect and Instrument plug-ins. I haven't tried all features (by far), and the licensing procedure is mildly quirky (but works), also DSPQ4 crashes when building the vst library at first run (which the developer does make clear) but picks up without a hitch when restarted. And it seems very fast and smooth.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Mar 26 2011
3.5
0.0
Mar 26 2011
0.0
Version: 3.5
FYI as of now (March 2011) this app is 50% off: €75 or US $99, with 50% discounts for upgrades (and crossgrades!) as well.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jan 2 2010
3.1.2
5.0
Jan 2 2010
5.0
Version: 3.1.2
Simply the best as far as I'm concerned !
Vusic
Vusic
Oct 9 2006
2.1.2
2.3
Oct 9 2006
2.3
Version: 2.1.2
After a few weeks of trying to use this software, I give up. Buggy and unstable, It promises much and delivers little. I need a fast two track audio editor for daily use and was excited when I tried the demo. It seemed to be just what I was looking for at a good price. Unfortunately, soon after my purchase, the problems began. DSP-Quattro uses a very complicated user verification and registration scheme. Although I was able to purchase by download, I had to wait a day to first use the software because the "automated" registration process on the web site did not work as promised and I needed to receive my password via e-mail from Italy. Due to the international time difference, any inquiry or support request will most be likely be answered the following day. Once installed, DSP-Quattro proved unstable and frustrating. My major need at first was to process a drive full of aiff files which only required some pitch adjustment and minor editing. After successfully changing the pitch of my first file I tried to save it only to receive the message "Error in user parameter list", the following error message suggests trying "save as". Accepting the choice to "save as" results in an unplayable file which must be closed and then re-opened if you wish to play it or do any further edits. Don't bother searching the 157 page PDF user manual for "User parameter" or "Error message", you won't find anything. Frequently DSP-Quattro would freeze up requiring a forced quit. I tried simplifying my set-up, using only the built-in audio at the frequency of the aiff files but still had continual problems. Even with no other programs running on my G5 dual processor machine, sometimes I had to re-boot the machine. Something no other program has ever required since I have had the machine. AS IS SOFTWARE A check of DSP-Quattro's Liscence agreement reads: THE SOFTWARE AND ACCOMPANYING ELECTRONIC AND WRITTEN MATERIALS (INCLUDING INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE) ARE PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND.
Beep-Beep,-Beep-Beep-Yeah!
Beep-Beep,-Beep-Beep-Yeah!
Jan 25 2006
2.1.2
5.0
Jan 25 2006
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
For me DSP-Quattro is THE audio editor for the mac! I've worked with it in my studio for a few months now and I'm very impressed by it's features, wave-display and ease-of-use. Positives..: + Built for fast and efficient workflow + Very clean interface with superb wave-display + Works as a host for AU aLnd VST Sample-Instruments + Extensive fade/crossfade (& insert) options + Many, many more nice features; I couldn't miss them anymore! ... and some minor negatives: - Limited cd-text options (at this time; v2.1.2) - Direct saving as MP3 not possible (you have to install a lame mp3-export-plugin) All in all: This is a VERY good competitor (in many points even better) than it's (much more expensive) rivals!
Aname
Aname
Dec 6 2005
2.1.2
4.5
Dec 6 2005
4.5
Version: 2.1.2
I agree that this is THE best single mono/stereo track editor and mastering solution among every currently available Mac dittos. I purchased it one and a half year ago, and I still think it's totally awesome; rock solid stable, powerful and fast (wicked fast!). BUT (!) There are two (2 little details that I'd like to humbly express my discontent in). Remember, these are my ONLY objections, all other audio programs (I have tested them all) in this genre has tons of things I could complain about, so. Anyway, here are my concerns: 1.) Every time that I want to create a new document, say if I want to save some part of the current file into a new sketch document, I have to first SAVE THE NEW DOCUMENT, before being able to use it... That is honestly quite irritating, since I'm always ending up with LOTS of documents, many of which I never really wanted to save. This is what I can't seem to understand why DSP-Quattro does it. Where DSP-Quattro beats the competition by miles, here's where it really looses ground. All other applications let you create a new document, do whatever you want to do in it, and finally DECIDE, whether you want to save it or not. :( 2.) I think that the copy/paste functions are quite fuzzy. It isn't like, normally, when you just select a part of the sound that you want to copy, then press Command-C for copy and Command-P for paste. Instead you have to use another combination. Maybe it's just me who have a concern about this, but I think that the copy/paste routine has to conform to more standardized and common operation. But all-in-all, if you are to buy a great, classy sound editor and want the real stuff, buy this one. It won't let you down and in comparison to the others, this application still stands its ground as being number one.
Guest
Guest
May 5 2004
1.0.4
5.0
May 5 2004
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
The Best audio editor and VST host in the world, more efficency and fast than Spark and Peak, killer app on 1.5 version with CDBurning features on OSX. Sean