Back to Banktivity page
Banktivity free download for Mac

Banktivity Reviews

7.3.1
28 August 2019

Intuitive personal finance manager; widget available (was iBank).

Maruko-Drinking-Team
30 January 2010

Most helpful

Man, this thing is garbage. I bought this recently (I've purchased a few similar apps, too, which all also are terrible). With iBank, it was 2010 new year's resolution to track my cash spending too--even though that's a pain. The very second time I used this app, it says "The document 2010.ibank could not be saved. transactions is not valid." when I try to save. Poof! 90 minutes of entering receipts gone! Well, maybe I saved once or twice during that time, but still I won't trust this app with my important data. Without this problem I might have given it maybe 2 stars. It's horrible torture to use. I think I will go back to Java-bleck MoneyDance, with which you also have to grit your teeth to bear the horrid usability, but at least was rock solid reliable (I used it for 2009). Somebody please make a good finance program! Arrrgh... P.S. Luckily, I was able to take some screen shots of all the transactions I entered. That should be easier than digging the receipts out of the trash to re-enter in some other program, but I'm still not looking forward to it...
Like (8)
Version 3.5.4

Read 205 Banktivity User Reviews

Rate this app:

Stephen-Hamilton
13 September 2019
I've used this for years because I liked the UI and loved the direct access allowing auto download of transactions from all my Bank Account (UK ones). I fired it up yesterday to check my finances and direct access has now stopped working for all my Bank Accounts!!! There is a message saying this is a result of the new Open Banking regulations, they are looking into it, but can't guarantee they will be able to resolve it! What a farce - these new regulations haven't been introduced overnight - how have they not prepared for this. And no mention of refunds for people that have paid a yearly fee for this service. Utterly disgraceful. I took a quick look at Quicken 2019 last night - seems cheaper than Banktivity and has free direct access to download bank transactions. Anyone got any opinions on how well this works in Quicken?
Like
Version 7.3.1
Altech
17 August 2019
Banktivity 7 is a miss for me. Here is why. I am using Version 5.6.12 and was looking forward to using version 7. I purchased 7 and discovered that my Credit Union, where I have 5 account within the CR, can only update one or two of them. I can't remember how many right now. I worked with IGG Support , which has always been great, and to make a long story short, they said that it cannot download all the Credit Union accounts because they all have the same basic number. They use a main number and a suffix after this number to designate the different accounts. This was a Deal Breaker for me. All other bank accounts were downloaded properly. The confusing thing is that in Version 5.6.12 it works perfectly on all accounts including the CR. I asked why they couldn't do the same thing in Version 7 as they did in Version 5.6.12? They said it wasn't't that easy. So they did give me a refund. I have to say I liked everything about Banktivity 7 . Especially the dark mode. It just doesn't perform as well in recognizing accounts as version 5.6.12. I really hope they fix this situation and I would buy again in a minute.
Like (1)
Version 7.3
1 answer(s)
Altech
Altech
10 September 2019
I think I found out what was wrong now. My Credit Union said they do not allow more than one financial program at a time to access and download account data. Which means I would have to deactivate the accounts in Banktivity 5.6.12 before I could download in Banktivity 7. This is for my Credit Union ONLY. All other Bank accounts downloaded fine in Banktivity 7 even with Version 5 active. It is a little scary to deactivate a program that is working perfectly just to try another.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.1
Cgcorley
14 August 2019
Works for me
Like (1)
Version 7.3
Odysseus
14 August 2019
Do yourselves a favor and get SEE Finance 2. It's very well-supported, works well, and upgrade fees are quite rare (only when they went from version 1 to version 2, which is a complete rewrite). I'm curious to see how US-centric non-US customers find it. It's definitely extremely customizable.
Like
Version 7.3
1 answer(s)
Don-Kindopp
Don-Kindopp
03 October 2019
SEE Finance doesn't have the capability to print cheques if you need that feature.
Like
Version 7.3.1
abelragen
09 July 2019
I find Banktivity and excellent and well-supported program. I started using it as a Quicken-orphan, during the period when that program wasn't being supported for Macintosh. I considered going back when Quicken resumed support for its program, but found that Banktivity actually does everything I want it to do at least as well as the better-known but worse-supported program does. I would recommend Banktivity to anyone.
Like
Version 7.2.2
anesbitt
27 June 2019
Iggsoft aren't interested in non-US customers. The Banktivity Budgeting module has a bug which makes it useless for anybody living outside America or Canada. In countries that start the week on Monday (the international standard outside US, Canada and Japan). the budget package ignores any transactions on Sunday giving bad totals and making the budgeting useless. This is a very simple bug to fix and Iggsoft repeatedly promised to fix it, but the latest release does not.. It seems iggSoft isn't bothered about users outside America.. Just a warning – think before you buy if you live outside the US – this is an expensive piece of software
Like (1)
Version 7.2.2
Hal-Itosis
10 March 2019
Finally upgraded (from 6.3.3) to version 7.2 —and feel quite happy about it. All works well, downloading financial data from both Merrill and BoA. Banktivity is still the Quicken-killer for me.

-HI-
Like
Version 7.1.4
gwvt
22 January 2019
BEWARE: this is the worst software I have ever used. Syncing accounts is a complete disaster. They took months to respond to bug reports, and even then could not make it work. Whiny and 'not our fault' attitude from customer service. Other services seem to sync accounts without any issues. I wasted a huge amount of time trying to make Banktivity work, not to mention the money to buy the software. Avoid this terrible product!
Like (1)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Bremen
Bremen
21 April 2019
I would concur that the developers are very slow to respond to quirks but more important to me is that the developers do not appear to listen to their user base in terms of enhancement requests. A very expensive app with a very unresponsive developer.
Like (1)
Tbanger9
17 December 2018
For me, by far the 'worst' thing about this program, is that it is only for Americans. If you want to follow Superannuation (Australia) you have learn about the U.S. 401K account, or whatever the hell they call it. This software is so 'American' it is almost useless to an Australian. Well, you can't use it to pay bills... which is a BIG point to lose... and, you'll find a lot of Oz banks don't work with their Direct Debit... plus, come tax time, you need to know what the Oz equivalent of all their tax codes are.... it's virtually useless... if you have a compatible bank, then the Direct Debit is handy, but.... costly. Another yearly charge, just to 'watch' your money... And.... if you need support? You'd better be prepared to stay up until 2am Australian time. To 'fit in' with the US time. That's the 'only' time you can live 'chat' to someone, and believe me... sending an email, is like sending a wish list to Santa at the North Pole.... "we've been extremely busy.... blah, blah...".... at least with a live chat, you have a chance to sort out issues immediately... and you will have them. Up until last year I was printing checks at home. BUT... I could NOT do that with Banktivity... I had to keep a 'separate' financial program running on my machine, just so I could print cheques. The Banktivity templates were useless and non modifiable... and, you had to print a whole page of them or not at all.... who has a whole page of cheques??... My Direct Debit finishes in March 2019 and that's when I'll be kicking this app to the kerb. I have not bothered to upgrade from 6 to 7, but I can't see them changing the online payment options... which is a BIG missing link, so it's hardly worth it. Another example just came to mind. I only wanted to see my transactions for 1 month... you'd think that would be easy right?? Nope... you can ONLY see your transactions backdated for 1 month FROM... today!!! Can you believe that?.... If you only want to see from August 1st to 31st... you've got to get creative... IF, you have been good and reconciled all your accounts... you may be able to see just the month of August that way, but it's tricky... unbelievable... and don't get me started on their 'reports'.... abysmally difficult... just 'useless'... I hate this program with a passion.... Actually, I'm knocking it back to 1 star!!!!
Like (3)
Version 7.0
Gerlad
26 November 2018
I deeply regret ever migrating from Quicken to iBank and getting locked into their buggy and overpriced system. It was during the period that Quicken wasn't working on the Mac, and now it is, I am going to start the laborious task of moving back, or find some other better choice.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
charlestawn
22 November 2018
Banktivity is a racket. If you think you're supporting an independent-software alternative to Quicken, think again. Prepare to be absolutely gouged. This company will release a new major version at an upgrade price of nearly $40 every year. They only provide a 90 day window for "free updates", so if you buy say version 7 now, and in 6 months they release version 8, prepare to pay and pay again. Their upgrade policy is completely inflexible in this respect. To make matters worse, every version they release has problems, often serious ones. If you take your time to engage with their support staff in an effort to fix those problems, most likely if they are fixed at all, they'll be fixed in the next major version. So again, prepare to pay again for the fix to the problem you helped to solve. Their attitude is arrogant and greedy and inflexible, and their product is no better than several alternatives.
Like (7)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Bremen
Bremen
14 August 2019
I agree. The Banktivity Business Model is ridiculous in terms of costly upgrades, many of which are window dressing and coding corrections that should have been performed in prior versions. However, before I discontinued using Banktivity this year, my few inquiries with the support staff were helpful.
Like (1)
ChevalNoir
18 October 2018
Upgraded to 7
Like
Version 7.0
test0001
05 October 2018
Don't waste your time or money. I have been trying to use Banktivity for the last year and a half and at this point am going to cut. my losses.

I started off looking for an alternative to Moneydance that would let me use my iPad as well as my desktop. Let me say first, that even though they charge $20 for the iPad app, it is *NOT* a full featured app. It is missing several key features of the desktop app such that it can really only be considered a companion app. So now I fork out $60 for the desktop app only to have them 'update' it is 6 weeks later to version 6, but since I bought it on the App Store, there is no discount and I'm expected to pay full price again. On top of that, you have to pay a $6/month or $45/year to use direct access and make it truly useful. So now I'm looking at $125 for the first year to use the software that isn't even up to date after the first month.

If that wasn't enough, I have had repeated problems with online connections breaking and accounts downloading duplicate transactions.. On multiple occasions over the past year I've wasted 1-2 hours going through accounts line by line to find erroneous entries that were throwing my balances off.
Now they come out with version 7 which has a handful of marginal features for the bargain price of $70.

Other issues I've had have been a virtual complete inability of the software to automatically match transactions. I have given up on manually entering transactions because every time I do it causes issues.

To their credit, customer support has been helpful when I've called them, but I shouldn't have to contact customer support 5-6 times a year! They also kindly offered to credit me with a free year of direct access as compensation for the software going out of date immediately after buying it. Except the link they gave me for the credit didn't work.
In short, this software costs anywhere from $80-$115 per year to work some of the time and force you to waste your time troubleshooting on a regular basis. Save your time and money and keep looking.
Like (5)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
charlestawn
charlestawn
22 November 2018
Totally agreed.
Like
Hal-Itosis
26 September 2018
Trial version of Banktivity 7.0 crashed several times [on a late-2013 rMBP running Mojave 10.14 (18A391)], while updating securities. When relaunching the app, it didn't ask to send any crash report (which I allowed when installing Mojave). Think I'll stick with version 6.x for a bit longer. -HI-
Like (2)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
charlestawn
charlestawn
22 November 2018
They expect you to beta test their software and make you pay to do it.
Like
Hal-Itosis
28 June 2018
version 6.3.2 out yesterday.
Like
Version 6.3
1 answer(s)
gary-22
gary-22
27 September 2018
Still no solution to the portfolio view not updating on Mac until midnight after adding transactions. iOS version on iPhone works fine, as in one can see the changes immediately upon entering transactions on any platform.
Like
Is this a multi-user program? We are looking for a program that will allow both my spouse, and I to update our data at the same time.
Like
Version 6.3
Macguruguy
01 April 2018
Can't even download and properly track my stock accounts anymore. So messed up. DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE!
Like
Version 6.3
Macinman
27 February 2018
Just thought I would ask, while, I haven't used any third party finance software in years, Is there a reason to, if you use a bank that provides their own mobile app, and nice web interface ? The bank I use, provides a mobile app, and I use their web interface.. I've quit using checks quite a while ago because the special checks for low vision individuals aren't worth the cost anymore when I can use a money order, or a debit card. I've also gone to keeping track of spending based on the transaction history online. With that said, is there still any benefit for someone in my situation to use a third party tool? Thanks
Like
Version 6.3
1 answer(s)
Supenguin
Supenguin
05 June 2018
Third party tools are very beneficial if you have accounts with multiple financial institutions. But if you've got all your accounts with one bank, tracking online is probably just fine.
Like
markholmes13589
13 February 2018
not quite clear why would I need to pay for one app on couple devices.
Like
Version 6.3
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
15 February 2018
There is no fee for using Banktivity on different computers. You simply have to use it on ONE computer at a time.
Like
Mattie_C
12 February 2018
Awful upgrade! Now when you export a report it doesn't have the title of the category or the total. I contacted support about this and was told they would consider adding it back to the program. I get it, I mean who would need the totals in a report? Silly me.
Like
Version 6.3
Bupkis
01 February 2018
BEWARE: UNETHICAL COMPANY In August 2017, I bought Banktivity 6 for Mac, and also paid $20 for Banktivity 3.5 for iPad and another $10 for Banktivity 3.5 for iPhone. In January 2018, IGG released Banktivity 4 for iPad and iPhone. Though the latter app is now free, they wanted another $20 for the new version for iPad. I enquired about the need to pay another $20 only 5 months after already paying $20 and was assured that version 3.5 for iPad would continue to work. So I chose not to upgrade: $20 for a couple of features is a ripoff. What they didn't tell me is that, once I installed Banktivity 4 on my iPhone, it would break the budgeting functionality on the iPad. Their "solution" to this is for me to pay them another $20 to upgrade the iPad software to version 4.0. Are you getting the picture? They broke their own software and are trying to blackmail the customer into paying a second time for the fix. That's completely unethical. I've written to them any number of times and all they keep saying to me is "we haven't charged for an upgrade in a really long time and we need MONEY…." Which is totally irrelevant. The fact is: they broke functioning software that I paid for in order to try to get me to pay them more. No mobsters could've done it better. Avoid IGG products and go with more reputable developers.
Like
Version 6.3
itsallaboutmyesha
24 November 2017
Banktivity had been great until its last update. Now i'm having all sort of problems and can't use it on my devices. Constantly having to refresh to get updates, and still it doesn't always work. Wish they could sort it because it's a great ap to have.
Like
Version 6.2.4
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
15 February 2018
I'm on Ver 6.3 and have zero issues.
Like
Joel-Wolfe
16 November 2017
I made the switch from the latest version of Quicken to Banktivity about a month ago, and I couldn't be happier. It has worked smoothly and well. I have no complaints, and I haven't had any of the many glitches that affected Quicken. Banktivity support has been great. Quicken kept me on hold for almost an hour, and couldn't fix my problem. So far, my experience has been great.
Like
Version 6.2.1
2 answer(s)
jonnaude
jonnaude
02 January 2018
So how do the costs compare?
Quicken is annual subscription now, Banktivity too?
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
15 February 2018
Cost? What's the value of your time, mental well being and emotional satisfaction from using a finance app that actually works and has great tech support. I was a marginal fan in the early years, IGG has continued to improve Banktivity and Ver 6 is a total winner. It is the most effective and reliable personal finance app I have ever used in 25 years.
Like (1)
jlanthony64
09 November 2017
I really liked this program until it stopped working. Cleared transactions stopped downloading unless I refreshed each account one at a time in the morning. In August of 2017, I placed a ticket and never heard a word from them until I contacted them again, in October. In short, they had no idea how to fix my problem and refused to give me any compensation. They also charge more than other companies for direct download. I went with Quicken 2018 for Mac and am extremely happy.
Like (1)
Version 6.2.1
lacwbo
07 November 2017
Banktivity 6.2.2 which was supposed to fix the download quotes problem hangs and, when finally completed, still does not update the quotes. This problem has been going on too long. Time to look for an alternative to Banktivity!
Like
Version 6.2.1
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
15 February 2018
No, it's time you contacted their tech support.
Like
Macguruguy
04 November 2017
Portfolio updates are often not in sync with real time values. Makes it hard to trade when your banking info is not up to date.
Like
Version 6.2.1
steelea11
03 October 2017
Just got off of a very, very frustrating chat with support at Banktivity. The program has a BUG/ a FLAW in the envelope budgeting component, which was laid on top of the main program and isn't integrated with it as well as it could be. The program allowed the instant deletion of all the entries I had made into the budget envelopes without even a warning. Lost 18 months work of entries! I called to let them know about this. Really just wanted to make sure there was no work around. Then asked for a free upgrade to Banktivity 6 and a free year of direct access, since rebuilding my budget and going back 18 months to put back into the envelopes the balances will cost me hours. Refused to give an upgrade. May get free direct access but "senior management" has to be consulted. They were very offhand about the response and refused to admit this is a flaw. It is definitely a flaw! Loved banktivity until now.
Like
Version 6.2
lacwbo
03 October 2017
Still unable to update security prices without updating all portfolios and other data! How difficult would it be to incorporate a security download such as in version 5?
Like (1)
Version 6.2
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
05 October 2017
I can update my brokerage account manually or automatically (along with my other accounts setup for OFX Direct Connect downloads).
Like (1)
Altech
23 June 2017
The Banktivity 6 requirement of OS 10.12 is a deal breaker for me. I cannot run Sierra 10.12 until I get a new computer. Why did they do that? I am using Banktivity 5 and like it very much . All bugs are gone for me after many iterations and would like to go to Banktivity 6 but cannot with the OS requirement of 10.12. Isn't that cutting out a lot of people that cannot upgrade yet?
Like
Version 6.0.4
2 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
11 August 2017
Banktivity 5 is great except that the quote download has become very very slow. They promised to fix it but we're still waiting.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
18 August 2017
I don't think it is cutting out that many people. My Mac Mini from 2012 will run High Sierra so if a five year old bottom end Mac can run it I am sure the over whelming majority of Macs can run it.
Like
Jerryb
15 June 2017
v6 is largely terrible compared to v5. Many aspects of the GUI are very bad. But worst of all are some key features in v5 that were eliminated in v6. These were very useful features that are now missing. For example, to create a report that is for a particular payee, you now much exactly spell that payee or else the report fails. In v5, you could say "contains" and make search payee reports so much more useful. I have written to these people to fix this and nothing yet. There are other significant omissions. Whoever came up with v6 should be fired. I'm now switching to Quicken. Good riddance to Banktivity!!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.4
2 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
19 June 2017
I agree with Jerryb's comments: Banktivity 5 is much better. Please see my comments made on May 13 for just a few of the problems I encountered with Version 6, none that have been addressed so far. Just to update security prices, you must do a total update. Can't just update the security prices only. The developers of Version 6 should be fired. Sure happy to see that Quicken has been updated and very useful. Good Bye Banktivity.
Like (1)
jonnaude
jonnaude
02 January 2018
I'd like to switch too but Quicken is now an annual subscription.. ! Banktivity too?
Like
dwp-1
20 May 2017
It is true Banktivity 6 has some small problems that need addressing as does all new software releases. Developer's aren't aware of every bugs & problems in-house until the application is actually released to the public and the users can give their feedback. No two users are running identical hardware/software combinations and this makes it difficult to squash every bug before release. If a developer waited until everything was perfect, we would never see new software.

Now that Banktivity has been released, the developer is getting the necessary feedback to fix the serious problems and will address the non serious problems as time moves forward. I myself stated I was disappointed with Banktivity 6 but version 6.02 is a big step forward and I am quite sure the developers will continue to fix any problems. I don't know the developers personally but I have had much contact with them over the years I have been using Banktivity/iBank and they are a dedicated family run business.

I am **not** going out on a limb here stating that for me nothing beats Banktivity 6. I am sure some will disagree but this is my opinion. I suggest you give it try for a few weeks and you may agree that there isn't a finance application with the capabilities of Banktivity 6.

Non sarcastic comments are welcome :)

Like (4)
Version 6.0
7 answer(s)
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
06 June 2017
Nice comments. I totally agree with you.
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
06 June 2017
I really like this new version. But there are some bugs. I’ve had issues printing reports. Sometimes Command P (or using the menu to print) does nothing at all. Sometimes it makes a print. And that’s with the new dot released today (June 6).
Like
lacwbo
lacwbo
19 June 2017
Why couldn't they have built on Version 5, instead of starting from scratch, which appears that they did.
Like
Altech
Altech
23 June 2017
The Banktivity 6 requirement of OS 10.12 is a deal breaker for me. I cannot run Sierra 10.12 until I get a new computer. Why did they do that?
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
21 July 2017
Altech, I assume that some of the technologies used in Bankitivity 6 are only available in10.12.

Lacwbo, similar to my answer above in order to improve Banktivity they needed technologies only available in 10.12. I am sure if they could have developed Banktivity 6 to include earlier versions of macOS they would have as to not limit their customer base.
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
16 August 2017
I will go out on limb.. I'm a long time iBank / Banktivity user. I migrated from Quicken in 2009 when it became clear that Intuit couldn't give a hoot about the Mac market. I've actually tried many other personal finance programs. None of them, in my opinion, measure up to what Banktivity offers.

And, Banktivity Ver 6 is an amazing upgrade. So often developers pump out what they call an "upgrade" when it is really just another update to the current version. In this case, Ver. 6 is a true upgrade. There are huge improvements in data entry. Reports are vastly improved along with a very robust ability to quickly and easily dig way down into the dat? And, we finally we have a universal search tool. Downloads are are fast. Reconciliation is usually a breeze. And their online tech support is very effective.

Overall, I feel IGG did an outstanding job with this upgrade. It is well worth the price.
Like (2)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
05 October 2017
I also REALLY like ver 6. I've been using iBank / Banktivity for over 5 years. Ver 6 is a HUGE improvement over all prior versions. For example, the more I use the reports feature, the more I like it. I have no major issues with this app, only some minor annoyances with the download Rules feature.
Like
lacwbo
13 May 2017
I'm glad that I did not trash version 5. I have many problems with the new version 6: 1. Unable to shift focus to the side bar in order to use the up/down arrow keys. 2. Difficult to update security prices. No entry in the tool bar for that. 3. Each window (register) always has the start at the top. I always use ascending order for the registers; but the app can't remember the last position used on the register. Many other downgrades from version 5 as far as I'm concerned.
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
hudsonvalleynbgh
hudsonvalleynbgh
15 May 2017
Don't know about only one star, BUT version 6 is by no means a MUST have update.
Using program since ibank 4 and it never was very MAC UI friendly.
Too much clicking and selecting to get things done. Very quirky.
Working around the many quirks in 4 and 5 as Quicken cannot be trusted IMO.
Upgraded to 6 only because of the price $ 29.99 which may go away and to be prepared when 5 becomes legacy.
Powderpuff pastel colors, some of them very close to each other in hue makes one wonder if there are only a few colors in the world.
Preferences file to configure look and usability is limited and no customizing options to make this program simple for those who only want basics. Reconciling is now painful!
Over the years I had to contact them a few times, but they are not responsive to ideas which would improve the UI.
Upon converting the autofill info is not being migrated and it is very important to disable automatic file updating, if you keep using 5.
Without that set up it will not autosave.
I'll keep checking to see if 6 gets better with the various updates and bug fixes, but for now 5 is it and will be until they leave it in the legacy dust!
BTW: Somebody asked for a non shill review in the IGG forum.
Posted a more lengthy article with shortcomings in the forum, but all weekend complaints and replies have been removed. At least I could not find that entry.

Like
I have been trying, and alternatively using, iBank / Banktivity for years. The software has some real bright spots and some nice features. However, as always, their support, and particularly their responsiveness to fixing bugs and usability problems is poor. Looking at the comments here, it would seem the IGG team is doing business as usual in that regard. I too beta tested V6, and in that time spent a lot of time documenting for them many bugs and inconsistencies. Although they ocassionally responded via email, none of the issues or bugs that I pointed out were addressed or mentioned in the release notes. Banktivity is shiny and new again with some nice new features, but IGG is still unresponsive to users, and this has been the case for many years. It doesn't look like that's going to change any time soon. I'll be holding on to my money until I see some evidence that this is changing. I'll keep reading comments here and elsewhere and I hope IGG can improve their responsiveness to user feedback. Over the Quicken camp, however, things are changing rapidly. Although the Quicken folks are sometimes difficult to communicate with, they are improving and refining the software at a lightning pace, and, most importantly, long after the major release has occurred. They are very keen on squashing bugs and improving usability. For this reason I will stick with Quicken until I notice a change in attitude over at IGG.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
3 answer(s)
D9
D9
11 May 2017
And another area that IGG has been slowly encroaching on compared to Quicken is the price. Now I usually don't scream about pricing as it's as much the developer's choice as it is mine to not purchase as such. However, when you have "apples to apples", it's worth noting.

Quicken 201x was (is) $75 and there was a lot of complaining about an entitled program that made Mac users pay for less features/stability. But when you look at their overall product offering, you start to see the justification.

But the head scratcher as far as Banktivity, is that it costs $65, costs another $40 for online banking retrieval (which Quicken so far is not charging me), and another $10 for iPhone and/or $20 for iPad. That's a total of $115-$125 for Banktivity (the challenger) vs. Quicken's $75 for Mac/iPhone/iPad/online banking (the leader).

Sure, you could use the iPad as your sole Banktivity finance app and it's definitely better than Quicken's mobile app, but it's greatly feature deprecated in comparison to the Mac desktop version.

I really find it hard to want to even try (with a 90 day money-back trial) much less dedicate to Banktivity with such charges...I can put up with what shortcomings Quicken has today for the universal banking acceptance, the improving development, and the extra $25+ in my pocket!
Like
Jude22
Jude22
12 May 2017
Dr-Streetmentioner,
Right now I am running the new Banktivity 6 Release along side Quicken 2017 for Mac! I am postponing a decision on which app I will use in the next year(s) because Banktivity 6 just came out of Public Beta and in all fairness I have to give IGG time to fix reported bugs which hopefully only for a short time plague this first release. Briefly, right now there are memory problems where the computer takes a strong hit to its ram when one prints out a report rendering the software useless until one restarts the app. I don't like the bold font which represents those line items which have not cleared the bank and during beta many times I argued for a checkbox in preferences to allow the user to turn the bold off. The export QIF created by Banktivity 6 has a bug that orphans some sub-categories, making them categories instead. And I listed below in Mac Update a number of other inveterate bugs. Now, I have no doubt that IGG has the ability to fix and perfect every last one of the bugs and to satisfy the user's suggestions for new or different features. I returned the software which I bought for $29.99 (the special upgrade price offered by IGG at present for those who own Banktivity 5 already) because quite frankly I found that I am too fussy to put up with newborn quirks and bugs in financial software any more than I can put up with the bugs in a new operating system that Apple puts out yearly now. However, I rapidly rebought Banktivity 6 for two good reasons. Number one is that I just viewed some video on how to use the new features such as Workspaces and Quick Reports and was amply impressed that no other software can do this sort of thing at this time. Number two, I believe that the price, two weeks after its release, has just gone up to $105.00! I rapidly input my old serial number from Banktivity 5 to rebuy before the $29.99 upgrade price disappears. Now, I am putting a lot of trust in IGG to make this new app the best it can be. My dislike of the bold font line items is not a show-stopper for me, I guess I need to trust IGG to make good on their promise that they are about to release a fine update that may satisfy me and frankly, though I am no geek or wiz with financial software, Banktivity 6 strikes me as altogether HOT despite the fact that it is not as cosmetically handsome as its former version, Banktivity 5. However, It has a simple, clear and clean interface and powerful multitasking capacities which may prove very useful in helping to capture a view of my financial situation. But $29.99 is cheap enough so that I can shelve Banktivity 6 and utilize Quicken 2017 for Mac if IGG doesn't come through. Like I said, I am running both apps side by side and the new company who has bought Quicken from Intuit has done an amazing job with Quicken with Reports, searches of all kinds, and intuitive ease of handling their app. In the end, its a question of what kind of a power user I am or rather am NOT. Banktivity 6, once debugged and it will be debugged I am sure, will either strike its new user as a novel and useful thrill-ride with its ability to drill down into the data while doing two things at once... or it will convince one that Quicken 2017 actually can do the same things one task at a time and that the user would rather do things that way! Both apps are expensive, but except for Checkbook Pro which is super-powerful and cheap at about $29.00 and which should not be underestimated, the rest of the financial apps for Mac do not impress me. If IGG fixes the new app to my liking, I owe IGG I fine in-depth review of the new version. Here, I have only focused on the problems which every new app faces upon its initial release...
Like
Jude22
Jude22
12 May 2017
Correction to my statement below. Maybe IGG's price went up to $105.00 this morning but when I went back to the site, the price was back to $65.00. I want to be accurate...
Like
Amcarter3
11 May 2017
POSITIVES: Very fast, new "Tags" capability has lots of potential uses, new multi-register search tool is fantastic, much easier to enter split transactions, impressive improvements in reporting capabilities, and very nice change to viewing statements & reconciliation process. NEGATIVES: lousy cosmetic modifications to register format, poor use of color (almost everything is bland GREY), deletion of the Expense Timeline / Cashflow report, NO search tool in reconciliation mode.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
2 answer(s)
The-Big-K
The-Big-K
23 June 2017
I am still using Quicken 2007 (which many people say is superior to Intuit's latest version) and had planned to buy iBank, mainly cuz it was the only other app that prints checks. (I don't want the app to do ANYTHING but keep track of my checking account.)

Now I find that iBank is a different company and IGG is apparently bobbling the ball....worse, their website won't load. (Are they out of business?)

The FINAL blow was reading Amcarter3's statement that "everything is grey." This obsession with driving color out of all apps is one of the most lunkheaded things Apple has ever done. (Jonathan Ive's obsession, I'm sure.)

I resent being forced to have so few valid choices.
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
23 June 2017
I need to clarify and update my comments. First, note that I gave Banktivity 4 stars. I stand by that rating. Ver 6 is a HUGE improvement over prior versions. Besides the positives I stated before, the new reporting tools are the best I have ever seen in a personal finance app. I have found there is a way to generate an Expense timeline... it just works differently. And the ability to quickly and easily drill down into the details is quite amazing.

I am also getting used to the bland "grey" look - it could be better, but it is just a cosmetic issue. I'll also add that account reconciliation works very well. Overall, I am impressed. IGG, the developer, has clearly invested significant funds in creating a first class, full featured personal finance management app. And, their tech support (only available via online chat sessions, is effective.

However, for those looking only for a check register tool that prints checks, this app is designed to do MUCH more.

Like
Amcarter3
03 May 2017
I migrated from the horrible Quicken 2007 to iBank / Banktivity in 2010. Since then, I've been relatively happy with its performance. Tech support is challenging since they only do it via CHAT service, but it has worked for me. I have a lot of accounts, download all bank and credit card transactions, reconcile everything every month and use the reports function extensively. I also relied heavily on the "Expense Timeline" report to keep my ACTUAL data accurate in a separate Numbers annual budget spreadsheet. Initial impressions of VER 6 --

THE GOOD: Very fast, new "Tags" capability, new multi-register search tool, much easier to enter split transactions,

THE BAD: lousy cosmetic modifications to register format, still poor use of color (almost everything is bland GREY), deletion of a KEY report (Expense Timeline - #1 killer issue for me), NO search tool in reconciliation mode (2nd killer issue).

NET... I am disappointed in the cosmetic changes, the lack of a search tool when reconciling and the loss of the Expense Timeline report. I will continue the 30-day trial to test all of its capabilities, BUT I am seriously considering leaving Banktivity either SEE Finance and (ugh) the 2017 Quicken for Mac (I can't believe I'm saying that).

UPDATE 5/3/17 -- I'm gaining more respect for this upgrade. I did find that because the Sync feature was turned ON when I imported my Ver 5 data, it caused intermittent duplicates in sync'd registers. Tech Support told me to sync Ver 6 to a NEW iPad file. That worked.

I also am finding that the new "Income & Expense Report" is quite sophisticated. You can drill down into months and quarters quite easily. However, the categories in this report are listed in RANDOM order. It would be better if they were listed in ALPHA order.

And I like the new universal FIND tool. And I like having a SEARCH tool for searching inside specific accounts. However, I still do not like the Budgeting tool at all.
Like
Version 5.6.9
18 answer(s)
Jude22
Jude22
03 May 2017
At first I thought that the new register of Banktivity 6 was clear, clean and simple. This seemed "refined" to me, not gaudy like iBank 4. As I entered new line items into the register because I did all my bills on May 1st, I realized that the developers want every line item to be BOLD since it has not cleared the bank yet. It isn't enough that there is a bold zero symbol to the left informing you of the uncleared status. What this means is that easily a whole page of line items can easily display the bold font instead of the regular one. There went all the refinement I mentioned above. That font is so imposing. I have put in a feature request to have a checkbox in the preferences of the app in order to turn it off if you so desire... we will see. The sidebar is set by default a bit wide and the intention of the developers is that the interface, whether displaying a lone register, or a register and a quick report at the same time, will be quite wide on your screen. There went the Golden Sector Ratio of Euclid! They have some good functionality in store in this new Banktivity 6... I found around 8 bugs which the developers will probably take their time to fix. They are not show-stoppers but I am waiting for another 2 months before deciding whether to buy.
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
03 May 2017
Jude22... I encourage you to send all of your feedback about Ver 6 to IGG. You can easily do so by clicking on "Provide Banktivity Feedback" under Banktivity in the menubar. They are reading feedback sent this way.
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
11 May 2017
My respect for Ver 6 is continuing to grow,. After 3 weeks of testing and running in parallel with Ver 5, I am sold -- I paid for the update. It may not be "perfect", but it is FAST, EASIER TO USE and QUITE AN IMPROVEMENT over Ver 5. There is nothing remotely better out there as far as I can tell.
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
11 May 2017
I have been using Banktivity (iBank) for a number of years and loved it. I have been using Banktivity 6 Beta since its release. I had numerous problems with the beta which is understandable, it is a beta. In an attempt to help IggSoftware resolve a crash I was experiencing I sent my actual banking data (crazy?Maybe!) to Igg Software because they couldn't reproduce the crash. Igg fixed the problem within several days and I was finally able to use the app without crashing. However, Banktivity 6 RELEASE is so slow it is unusable. After attempting to use it several times, I figured out that the problem was Banktivity 6 was saving my data around every minute and when activating or deactivating. I have accumulated many transactions over the years and my data file is rather large (300mb) but not unreasonably large as to create a problem for an application of this caliber but it still consumes at a minimum of 20 to 30 seconds per save and brings Banktivity to a halt (beach ball). Unfortunately, the development team removed the ability for the user to set his own auto save time and they hardcoded the autosave time into the app, I would work in Banktivity 6 for about a minute and then have to wait for the beach ball to disappear 20-30 seconds later, over and over again. Just this morning it saved my data over 40 times when attempting to do my daily banking, increasing my normal daily task time from an average of 15 minutes to over an hour. I have been politely asking for help and don't even get a response. They contacted me when they needed my help to resolve the crashing but no longer respond to my emails. I understand I am a nobody but this is a huge problem for anyone with a few years of data in Banktivity 6.

**The app is unusable in its state!** I am very disappointed, I wish I stuck with version 5. I have to admit they have done a terrific job adding tags, new reporting and workspaces but what good is that if you can't use the application? I am also disappointed with the removal of the paperclip that would show if you had an attachment to the transaction. Banktivity will display the attachment if you turn on the ugly Images in transaction in the preferences.
Like (1)
Odysseus
Odysseus
11 May 2017
@amcarter3 Have you tried Quicken 2017. It really has been a whole new world since Quicken separated from Intuit …
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
11 May 2017
Odysessus... No, I have not tried the latest Quicken for Mac. I continue to see very mixed comments about it, but sense that it is improving. Have you tried it ? If so, what's your view?
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
11 May 2017
It really is improving. I think it's great. Investment analysis is still a work in progress in Quicken, but you don't have to pay extra for "Direct Connect."
Like
PeteCW
PeteCW
12 May 2017
Have to agree with dwp-1. Banktivity 6 is unusable if you put any significant amount of data into it, especially attachments. Once your file gets any bulk to it the app freezes during saving. Same went for previous versions, except you could modify the auto save frequency. Reading IGG's developer blog posts indicates this is a fundamental structural problem with the program which they even admit to! Their "solution" is that they will bring back the auto save frequency preference so you don't have to sit through waiting through as many saves or you can start a new file. They also openly admit it's not going to be addressed until at least version 7 (probably years away). That's ridiculous! Unfortunately, the same seems to be true with ever other Mac finance program I've tried so far, slow saving and loading with larger files especially ones with attachments. Quicken Mac 2017 hangs forever when saving my large file with attachments and loading time is poor as well. Both Banktivity and Quicken Mac appear to be built using Apple's "Core Data”, which although is considered to be a good backend foundation 99% of the time for general database apps, is not really suited for large scale apps such as these. Core Data is hard, if not impossible, to optimize and it was not built to sync data with other devices.

@Odysseus, I have to disagree with you on the overall improvement and direction of Quicken Mac. The new boss really is the old boss in this case as its the same people running Quicken as before (Eric Dunn), there’s just a new owner. The new owners are most likely in it to give it a boost and then sell it off as quickly as they can. Based on the Canadian version, Quicken appears to be going to route of being “software as a service” and a yearly subscription is going to be required.

What kills me with Quicken Mac 2017 is that they’ve just been polishing the turd that was Quicken Essentials for Mac. They’ve been building on that foundation for 7 years now and it still has years to go before it will compare to the functionality of Quicken Mac 2007. They really need to build a new foundation as there’s only so much lipstick you can put on a pig. There’s really no reason they shouldn’t have unified Windows, Mac, iOS and Android versions. I’d hate to know the mess that their syncing system must be, but all apps seem to have their own syncing issues. I haven’t found one yet that syncs data reliably and consistently.

Also, no app I’ve found charges for “Direct Connect” downloads although you’re bank might charge you. Banktivity charges for “Direct Access” which is a name they made up for pulling your data from Yodlee, a financial data aggregation service. Quicken built their own in-house data aggregation service so they don’t have to pay Yodlee. You might not view yourself as paying for it, but you are in the sense you are giving them your data in return. Quicken also intentionally “sunsets” older versions forcing you to upgrade in order to be able to download transactions (typically 2 years).
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
12 May 2017
While we are at it, why isn't anyone upset that Banktivity doesn't optionally encrypt the user data. Talking about putting lipstick on a pig. Their solution is to use a password to protect prying eyes from opening up your data using Banktivity. However, any curious person can look at your data by just opening up the package that is your data. I was extremely disappointed in that they seem to care to little about their users banking information. I trust them with my data because I know they are good people but that isn't the case with everyone. I sure wish they would address this serious problem.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
12 May 2017
@PeteCW Some of your points are valid, others are not. There are Quicken 2017 users with upwards of 40,000 transactions who aren't experiencing the problems you are, so if you'd like to improve the product, I advise you to get in touch with Quicken tech support.

As for the Quicken Team, Eric Dunn has only been the General Manager of the product since 2015 (he "retired" from Intuit in 2000), but frankly, the person who has made the most difference is the Product Manager who started with Quicken 2015, then left for Evernote (presumably because Intuit wasn't committing the resources that were needed to Quicken); once Intuit sold Quicken, he returned. I've been a beta tester since 2015, and I've found him absolutely committed to improving Quicken. They are most certainly not going to sell the program in a few years -- they've hired quite a few developers, have a new locale, etc.

While there are certainly users who continue to claim that "it still has years to go before it will compare to the functionality of Quicken Mac 2007," the fact of the matter is that Quicken 201x *is* a complete rewrite that is far superior to Quicken Mac 2007 in the most common functionality (try search, for example). There is certainly some code from Quicken Essentials, but that is also being quickly revised. Investment analysis *does* need more development in order to put it on a par with Quicken 2007, but that is just about the only feature that I miss -- and it will be added.

As far as the observation " There’s really no reason they shouldn’t have unified Windows, Mac, iOS and Android versions," it should be easy from our perspective, but Quicken for Windows is a 30-year-old product. Some unification is indeed occurring, but they also are trying to leverage the unique features of each platform while playing catch-up with the Mac version.

I think it's misleading, if not irresponsible, to imply that if Quicken offers a data aggregation service for free, we're offering our data in return. Do you have any evidence to back that up? They're not Google.

It's also misleading to state that Quicken forces upgrades so that you can continue downloading transactions; there have been various changes in encryption technology, and then there was the transition away from Intuit's servers. It's unrealistic to expect that old software should continue to work (or that the developer should update it for free) in the very volatile environment that is cloud services.

It may be that Quicken will move to a subscription model. Much software, both major and "indie," is going in that direction. I'm not thrilled, but I can understand it.
Like
PeteCW
PeteCW
12 May 2017
@Odysseus you seem like a big fan of Quicken Mac, but I think perhaps blindly so.

First, Quicken is now owned by a private equity firm. Their whole purpose is to build value in their acquisitions and sell them for a profit. Plain and simple.

Second, Quicken Mac 201X is not a complete re-write. Quicken Essentials for Mac was the re-write and they’ve just been adding on to it and sprucing it up a bit ever since. It’s not just “some code” either, its the same foundation. The version numbers support this: Quicken Essentials = version 1.X, Quicken Mac 2015 = version 2.X, Quicken Mac 2016 = version 3.X, and Quicken Mac 2017 is version 4.X.

Your comment about there being “users with upwards of 40,000 transactions who aren't experiencing the problems” is nice and all, but try any significant number of transactions with attachments. I’ve tried contacting Quicken support and an outsourced tech support person offered me a $200/year support package. No thanks. Plus I’ve been through every beta program they’ve had for years now, since 2009. I don’t think it is good enough and won’t be with this foundation not to mention issues with syncing data between devices.

There can never realistically be a unified Windows and Mac version with the Mac version being based on Core Data. Core Data is an Apple specific framework. It would be next to impossible to share the same file structure unless the Windows version was re-structured to mirror Core Data storage which won’t happen. If there was to be a unified version it would be similar to what the old owners, Intuit, is doing with Quickbooks and switching to a cloud based platform.

It’s not misleading to imply that we give them our data in return for their free data aggregation service. Go read their privacy statement. Essentially it says that, although they strip the data so it shouldn’t be (easily) tied back to you, they can/will do anything they want with it. You’re naive to think they don’t make every penny of your data as they can. Personally, I don’t like to give away my data if at all possible.

It’s also not misleading to state that Quicken regularly “sunsets” versions to force upgrading. It’s clear on their discontinuation policy, about 3.5 years from release date (I was wrong stating it was 2 years earlier). There is no reason they should ever deactivate “Direct Connect” downloads in older versions as that is an institution provided service. Their data aggregation service probably costs them quite bit to maintain and therefore that should be up to them when to discontinue that in older versions. Granted, everybody should upgrade programs that they use pretty much daily at least every 3 years.

I also hope you never plan on switching from Quicken Mac 2017 because it doesn't export investment accounts. It is probably just a residual from being built on top of Quicken Essentials for Mac since you couldn't even record investment transactions in that program. They later added investment transaction tracking to Quicken Mac 2015, but still haven’t added the option to export investment accounts in the QMTF files.

@dwp-1, I personally don't worry about my file locally being encrypted by a program as I utilize FileVault to encrypt my hard drive and require a password to login after 5 minutes of inactivity. It's what's being done with my data when it is not in my control that I worry about.
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
13 May 2017
Well said, PeteCW. This has been an interesting exchange.

Having had private equity clients before (as a leadership coach), I will vouch in general for your statement of their sole purpose in life. They are in the business of buying, leveraging and selling companies. They only keep companies as long as necessary to make them ready to sell at some multiple of what they and their investors paid. They don't really care if the product works in the real world.... they really only care if it sells.

And that's how I feel about Quicken -- since 2007... lots of hype, some improvements, but not enough to change my level of trust in the company or the product. Leopards like this don't seem to change their spots. I

I'm staying with Banktivity. I have a lot of account, 6 years of data in the file and it works fine. The new Ver 6 is a vast improvement over Ver 5. And, I can see they are investing in better marketing, better communication with their customers as well as making a better product. I like it. and I trust that IGG will continue to improve it. I can't say that for any other personal finance app out there.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
15 May 2017
@amcarter3 @PeteCW

Good luck with Banktivity! (not sure why a company with a few programmers scattered across the globe would have better prospects of longevity than a company owned by a private equity firm). I hope version 6 is *a lot* better than previous versions, all of which were unacceptable IMHO.

It's interesting that there's no clearly superior solution when it comes to financial management programs: Banktivity 6, Quicken 2017, Moneydance, SEE Finance.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
16 May 2017
@amcarter3 @PeteCW

I checked with my contacts at Quicken about a number of things.

1. Regarding the export of financial transactions, Quicken Mac does export brokerage accounts today when using QXF format mostly for re-importing back into Quicken Mac. They didn't write the part for Quicken Windows to be able to read that data simply because there aren’t many people moving in that direction to make it a priority.

2. Regarding data security, they definitely do not sell it or use in any way. Mobile alerts do go through the data to look for triggers for things like fees or going over budget but that’s the extent of it. In no way are they making money from selling our data.
Like
PeteCW
PeteCW
16 May 2017
@Odysseus, I’m curious of who your contacts at Quicken actually are and what their position is in Quicken’s corporate structure. With a corporation such as Quicken it is hard to believe that your contacts have much real info about the coding of Quicken or the inner dealings of Quicken as a company. As I mentioned before, I’ve gone through their betas since 2009 and although some people who seem to have some say chime in, it is rare an actual code writing developer does let alone anyone higher up in their corporate structure.

If you read my initial post, I view both Banktivity and Quicken Mac 2017 as completely unusable. I don’t find either of these programs capable of handling large amounts of data, including attachments, in a reliable and efficient way. Based from my own programming experience, I don’t think Core Data is the proper foundation for these kinds of programs (hard to optimize, can’t be reliably synced directly, etc).

As for you’re two recent points:

1. Please tell me you are joking, right? They’re admitting to being able to export investment accounts into their own proprietary file transfer format, QXF, but that can’t be imported by other versions of Quicken? The sole purpose of QXF files is for transferring data between different versions of Quicken. That’s a huge middle finger to their own customers who are just trying to remain their customers. How can your own customers and your own proprietary file format’s effectiveness not be a priority?

What I was previously talking about is that Quicken Mac 2017 doesn’t export investment accounts in their QMTF file exports. QMTF files is the primary file exporting option in Quicken Mac 2017 to switch to any other program. I suspected that exclusion was due to Quicken Mac 2017’s foundation being Quicken Essentials which didn’t even allow for recording investment transactions. I thought that they simply haven’t added that functionality back when they added recording investment transactions back. However, based on the info from your Quicken contact, if their own customers are not a priority then no one should ever expect that being able to get their data out for use in another program will ever be a priority. That was my point, hope you never plan on switching because they intentionally make it impossibly hard to do so. The info you passed along just proves how much faith we should have in this company. New boss, same as the old boss...


2. No offense, but it would be incredibly naive for anyone to think they don’t sell the data they’re aggregating. Their privacy statement clearly indicates they can do it. In this day and age of data mining you shouldn’t expect otherwise unless it is expressly written they will never sell your data. The saying “if you’re not paying for a product then you are the product” didn’t come out of thin air. There’s no way Quicken is giving away data aggregation services for free even to Quicken’s users. I can’t find info on who exactly Quicken’s data aggregation service is now since the sale from Intuit. Intuit stopped providing data aggregation services to other companies around the same time as the Quicken sale, but I’d find it hard to believe they also sold their data aggregation service since Quickbooks also relies on it. The data aggregation service is probably Quicken’s biggest expense. Since the price of Quicken never went up when they added their data aggregation service, where is the money coming from to pay for it? Are you even aware that they store the information they aggregate on their own servers along with your login credentials? They log into your accounts on your institution’s websites nightly and store your data on their servers indefinitely. That’s a whole lot of trust you have to put into a company.

I don’t mean to be rude, but you seem way too trusting of these contacts at Quicken and of Quicken in general. If you can’t name names who they are and point to them providing public statements about this then there’s no way anyway should just blindly trust they’re not doing something that they’ve clearly set themselves up to be doing legally.


Also, you should clarify what your purpose is in promoting Quicken on Banktivity’s page. Do you work for Quicken or a family member or a friend? Are you receiving free copies? At least IGG is trying to compete and offering an alternative to Quicken which seems to not think their own customers are priority. I would sure trust a few developers scattered across the globe over the lack of priority Quicken has shown Mac users both currently and in the past. Do you not recall at all Quicken’s track record in the Mac market? Something really doesn’t seem right with you posting praise for Quicken here and nothing directly about Banktivity.

My overall point is that neither program is a fit for me as they don’t appear to have the proper foundation to handle large amounts of data and attachments. My search for a program with a rock solid foundation that was also designed to be synced across devices continues.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
16 May 2017
@PeteCW

Lots of FUD! I'm just a fairly satisfied user of Quicken. I do get a free copy as a beta tester.

Quicken is no longer a part of Intuit, but just a small company. It's easy to have contact with people in charge.

Not sure what you mean exactly when you state, "I’ve gone through their betas since 2009." How many Quicken betas have you actually participated in? Quicken 2015? Quicken 2016? Quicken 2017? If you were a recent beta tester, you would presumably have reported your problems to Quicken, and they might have been solved or at least improved by now.

I'm sorry you're so suspicious of my posting here. I came over here to see how the competition was doing. I will be sure to bring up the question of export with them again.

So what alternatives are you considering? Moneydance? Have you tried SEE Finance?
Like
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
16 May 2017
Odesseus... Like PeteCW, I too find it a bit odd for you to be going on and on in your promotion of Quicken on this Banktivity page. All of this discussion about Quicken and questions about the motives of the firm that owns it now is interesting to me. But I really think we should focus on Banktivity here. I do not trust Quicken nor do I trust the firm that owns it. Banktivity has made huge progress and I have chosen to use and support it.... at least until there is clear evidence that there is a better option.

For what's worth, I have tried SEE Finance... actually several times over the last 5 years. While I have huge respect for the developer, I cannot get my mind to accept the double entry system of accounting they use. The reconciliation process seems complicated and error prone. While some people rave about the unencumbered report capability, I am consistently baffled by it. Net. I gave up on it.
Like
PeteCW
PeteCW
16 May 2017
@Odysseus glad you’re a satisfied user of Quicken, but there sure is a lot of well deserved fear, uncertainty and doubt about Quicken for Mac. I’ve been a beta tester of Quicken Mac products since Quicken Financial Life for Mac. I’ve brought up the issues with handling large amounts of data and attachments numerous times, never deemed a “priority”. The lack of specifics about your contacts at Quicken and their comments speaks for itself to me as does their privacy statement. Quicken Mac will always be way far behind the Windows version until they rebuild it from scratch, but I think it will be more likely they will go purely web based or out of business before that will happen.

Back to Banktivity, the new version is a welcomed improvement. It’s just not for me as I want a program that can handle my large data set that goes back to the 1990’s and allow for attachments without freezing up each time it needs to save. Banktivity/iBank has always struck me as striving for being pretty and utilizing (irrelevant) new technologies first (never understood Cover Flow view for transactions in older versions) while basic functionality and ease of use seems almost like an afterthought.

I need to try the other ones that have been mentioned here as the ones I’ve tried so far have fallen into the pretty, but not heavy duty category. Thanks to you guys for the back and forth on this.
Like
Jimw
27 April 2017
Banktivity 6 is now out. I am a former Moneydance user who switched to Banktivity 5 as Moneydance had major issues for me which in my opinion made my datafile susceptible to corruption and the developers refused to even acknowledge the issue. with their only email and user support paradigm.

I downloaded and migrated over to Banktivity 6 yesterday and I must say it the new GUI frankly blew me away. Initial impressions lead me to believe it is miles ahead of anything I have seen or tested in recent memory. However I will my full analysis and not do an actual review until I have time to really work with it and push it a bit. This is the initial release of version 6 and as expected it does have a few bugs but none that I have found so far are showstoppers or seriously invite data loss - only cosmetic or of minor annoyance. The migration from version 5 was smooth and easy and it does preserve your version 5 file automatically. FYI: In regards to other comments, it now has its own built-in sync capability that is included in the app at no additional charge. My contacts with support have generally been helpful and free of any significant customer service issues. Currently I feel that migrating from Moneydance was an extremely good decision.
Like (1)
Version 5.6.9
1 answer(s)
Jude22
Jude22
03 May 2017
I did Public Beta testing on Banktivity 6 just before its release as a product. Almost immediately as I began testing the app, I found approximately 4 bugs that should have been squashed yesterday! The most problematic for me is that the export QIF file and perhaps one other one in a different format seem to orphan sub-categories from their parent category when you want to send your data to another app. Is there incentive on the part of developers to fix this problem? Well, Banktivity 5's export file works great. I'll give IGG the benefit of the doubt, but I don't think they will fix the problem anything real soon. I hate the bold font which represents line items which have not cleared your bank. The look doesn't match the interface IMHO. Will they allow the user to turn it off in preferences? When you print a report, there is such a hit to your computer's memory that you have to quit the app and come back in to do anything else after printing. Too, whenever the user places a Note in a line item, the Transaction Type appears with a hyphen following it to separate the Type from the Note. However, upon migrating from Banktivity 5 or from a QIF, right now the hyphen appears after the transaction type even when it is not supposed to... where there is no Note. For now, you have to delete a hidden space planted in the empty Note field, line item by line item, in order to remove the errant hyphens. Lastly, if you migrate from Banktivity 5, you get about 8 Transaction Types. If you setup your Bank Account from a QIF, you get only 4 transaction types in all. Something to do with compatibility with the iOS app which only has 4 types. This Banktivity 6 should not be underestimated. iGG has obviously tried to think outside the box. I am mentioning the 4 bugs here in this review because they weren't squashed during the 3 months the app was in beta nor when it went into public beta. Now, the developers probably will start fixing bugs based on votes from users! If you don't like Quicken for Mac 2017, this is your best bet. Of course, Banktivity 6 only runs on Sierra so Banktivity 5 is still around. Now that is a very pretty interface and it works great!
Like
bumice2000
10 April 2017
Can someone tell me how to create a report on Banktivity 5/Mac just for specific entries that have different dates. I don't want just specific months but rather specific entry dates which would not include other entries that fall into the same months. Is this possible? Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 5.6.9
Frankp
18 March 2017
I have to concur with several of the comments already expressed. I like the product itself and have used it for years. But I recently ran into an issue where every time it starts up it wants to log on to the Banktivity Users Forum and to Apple. No matter whether I allow it to or not, the box opens every time. Reported it to tech support, and it took almost a week before I got a response, and the response was that it was Apple's fault, or maybe my router, or maybe my ISP. But it couldn't be their fault. Pretty useless response.
Like (1)
Version 5.6.9
inn
21 February 2017
For a variety of reasons, I moved to Banktivity after using Quicken for Mac for 20 years. On the whole I am pleased. HOWEVER, their support is beyond poor. For one thing they WILL NOT use the phone, under any circumstances. Chat and email is all there is. Sometimes that may be fine, but often the process would be so far easier, quicker and more efficient using the phone. Too much otherwise gets lost in the translation. Three times also, I 've needed to send them some data, with their promise to review and get back to me. Never happened. Finally, while attempting to "help" with another issue and taking hold of my computer, they somehow corrupted my BillPay which now no longer works At least I can still do it with my bank, but that creates duplicate work. SIX MONTHS have passed and their support has not done a single thing other than stoop to respond to chat requests. Won't use the phone, won't answer emails - not even snail mail. So know going in that support does not support.
Like (2)
Version 5.6.9
Sleav
21 February 2017
I wanted to like Banktivity. I'm no fan of Quicken or Intuit and had tried EVERYthing. I even went "all in" and purchased all three apps (Mac desktop, iPad and iPhone, each sold separately and none are cheap). Running it since 2012 - Four+ years of bad UI, corrupted data during syncs, lost transactions during syncs, iPad and iPhone apps have no resemblance to each other or the desktop UI. Wierd. Worst of all is terrible customer service, weeks of "No kidding, I'm getting ready to switch to Quicken" being ignored and then finally a robo-email telling me stuff that had nothing to do with the original problems. I finally gave up and have migrated back to the new Quicken for Mac 2017. Which is bad in its own way, but hopefully I can actually have data sync across devices without having transactions disappear. IGG software - if youre reading this, I tried to get you to handle these issues and you ignored it for too long. The market for a truly wonderful Mac personal finance manager still goes unanswered, and this has been going on since 1986. Amazing. It must be a stone loser money-wise or someone would have figured it out by now.
Like (2)
Version 5.6.9
Goodwill-:)
09 February 2017
The after-sell service of this software is terrible. The guy working at the company (Joe) impatiently and crudely dropped off the connection in the middle of a live chat to solve a problem of the software, cannot believe it!!
Like (1)
Version 5.6.9
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
17 February 2017
Did you get a refund?

The reviews indicate the software itself is substandard.
Add to that godawful support, and I see no reason to continue using it - not worth the irritation IMO.
Like (1)
mac-34
26 October 2016
Been using iBank (now Banktivity) for many years until today.

Today I finally decided to switch to Apple Numbers for tracking my expenses. Exported my 7-year-old data to tab-delimited TXT file and seamlessly imported it to Numbers. Redesigned the template to my liking and off I was. Entering data on both Mac and iPhone is easy. The interface on iPhone is very user-friendly thanks to the Form feature.

What do I get in exchange? Apple's reliability, seamless iCloud syncing, handoff feature, beautiful interface on both Mac and iPhone, one less app on homescreen, less files on Mac, multitude of math functions, filters, and extensive search capabilities.

Why did I switch? I just had enough of iBank's horrendous UI on iPhone, years later and the app is still unpolished. Don't even get me started on the Mac app. Plus I prefer iCloud syncing to some company's proprietary syncing.
Like (3)
Version 5.6.9
jpylant
03 June 2016
I despise this software. I've used it for about 5 years. It's almost impossible to use. Not quite. Just close to impossible. The #1 incomprehensible thing about it is: do a search for, say: "Joe's Lawn Service". OK, there are all the results. Don't you THINK it would show the TOTAL of all those amounts? This is "math" software. Don't you think it would show the TOTAL of the search result??? Noooooooo! You THEN have to create a report! Madness! Don't buy this — unless you're mad.
Like (1)
Version 5.6.8
Evatar
12 May 2016
As close to a scam as you're going to get. While the dev likes to advertise you can sync to Dropbox (among other services) you'll find buried inside the program the simple truth: You gotta pay for it. Right now that's $39.99 a year. Yup. You pop $59.99 for the app and then ANOTHER $40 a year to actually use it across your devices. Ugh. I hate this sh*t. Nobody wants to make an app anymore, they just want to lock you into a fee service. Which, judging by their slow update cycles, doesn't seem worth it.

The dev may have an argument for direct bank syncing (I'd argue that those charges are heaped onto the customer anyway) but there is NO legitimate reason why I should pay $40 a year so I can access a Bankability file on my own, paid-for-already Dropbox account. That is just a straight up SCAM. In used car lots that used to be called the Bait & Switch. It's illegal. But apparently not in the wild west of app development.
Like (3)
Version 5.6.8
randyharris
10 May 2016
Unsure why so many others here are so dissatisfied with Banktivity. I used many forms of Quicken for over 20 years, and moved over to Banktivity (iBank at the time). Is it perfect? No. But it's a heck of a lot better than Quicken was at the time. There are some quirks about it that I hope are changed, but all in all it is a pretty full featured personal financial management app, I download from over 15 companies all free with the basic abilities. Great looking reports that can be drilled into. All in all I would say there is far more to praise here than there is to complain about.
Like
Version 5.6.8
I'm afraid I have to echo the sentiments of others here. Banktivity is full of bugs and IGG seem to be in no hurry at all to fix them. I have filed many bug reports that are simply never addressed. Here's a good one: Banktivity can't sort alphabetically. Go ahead, try it. If you try to sort transactions alphabetically, you get this: "Auto, Clothing, bank", rather than "Auto, bank, Clothing". I filed this bug nearly a year ago. No response. They simply don't care. Maybe the fact that Quicken is on the rise again will light a fire under them, but don't count on it. IGG has been sluggish and unresponsive for years and years.
Like (1)
Version 5.6.8
lacwbo
19 April 2016
I'm about to abandon Banktivity. Their web site is down again and therefore no updates for accounts. This is the second time in recent history their site has been down and I cannot update my accounts.
Like (1)
Version 5.6.7
kocean
24 March 2016
Very very ugly. Poor updates, not fully functional across platforms.
Like (2)
Version 5.6.6
tbbrightman
12 February 2016
Very promising but only partially functional. Completely nonfunctional when displaying investment account value or holdings. Banking functionality works well. Tech support is staffed by fools who claim that dysfunction (display of incorrect information) is what it is designed to do.
Like (1)
Version 5.6.5
pl-svn
21 September 2015
Am I the only one who wants an accounting app to show *FIRST OF ALL* my Total Balance? Looks I am, as the mobile version (iBank for iPhone v2.x) doesn't show it! (and the iPad version is nothing more than a visualizer: you can't even add transactions from it :-0 ) All you get is a lot of graphics, reports, forecasts, trends and all that kind of *extra* stuff. But... extra to what, when the basics are completely missing? Hope things have changed since a few months ago when I tried both mobile companion apps and... immediately asked Apple a refund: both were, to me, completely useless :rolleyes: (if things have changed, please post a comment: iBank support doesn't care to answer pre-sale enquiries nor they do offer trial versions) So... as iBank Mobile v1.x will soon stop working, these looks to be my last days with iBank It's a real shame, IGG Software!!!
Like (1)
Version 5.6.1
1 answer(s)
pl-svn
pl-svn
24 September 2015
ok: iBank for iPhone v3.0 was released a couple of days ago and:
- Wi-Fi synch has been dropped
- still no "Total Balance" =:-0

can't believe IGG Software, 5 years later, still can't (or doesn't care to) release a fully functional mobile companion app :-/

so... bye-bye iBank: migrated (flawlessly) to MoneyWiz which has an excellent iPhone *and* iPad companion app with *full functionalities* :-)
Like (1)