Back to Banktivity page
Banktivity free download for Mac

Banktivity Reviews

16 September 2020

Intuitive personal finance manager; widget available (was iBank).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Aug 12 2021
7.5.3
2.0
Aug 12 2021
2.0
Version: 7.5.3
I would like to emphasize the ongoing problem I have with Banktivity not downloading all my transactions from Chase Bank. (See post a few positions below this one.) About 10% of transactions are not downloaded. I have communicated with IGG Software and on their invitation sent logs and screen shots from both Banktivity and Chase's web site. Crickets. No response. This is a real kick to the crotch from IGG customer support.
bubblegummi
bubblegummi
Aug 1 2021
7.5.3
0.0
Aug 1 2021
0.0
Version: 7.5.3
Ready made solution like Banktivity are great option, however, you need to pay for subscription. What is more, you can never know who has access to your internal financial management info. Thus, in case with such important matters as finance, it is always better to rely on GBKSOFT custom technology solutions. Benefits are security, contribution to your individual business goals, high productivity and continuous tech support, allowing rapid bug fixing.
JimL2283
JimL2283
Apr 24 2021
7.5.3
3.0
Apr 24 2021
3.0
Version: 7.5.3
Last year, Banktivity moved from a purchase to a subscription model, which negated one of its principal advantages over Quicken for Mac. The move from Brantivity 7 to 8 provided no meaningful improvements. In fact, my ability to interface with my bank--one of the ten largest in the US--deteriorated significantly. This was a problem in B7, and the support team kept promising that they were working with their third-party provider to improve it. Instead, they moved backward. When last I wrote them about this issue, a problem for over two years, they told me they were working on a new connection mechanism, but they could not give me a date. I regret that their inattention to this issue made me walk away.
mrj67
mrj67
Apr 8 2021
7.5.3
1.0
Apr 8 2021
1.0
Version: 7.5.3
Absolutely awful!!!! SOOO many glitches in 7. Lack of correct syncing with the mobile app, entering scheduled transactions for the furture before they are due, un-reconciling transactions from months ago so it is a days worth of work just to balance your accounts, autofill on some transactions and not on others, inability to alter accounts on scheduled transactions, clunky interface with different currency accounts, etc, etc. Shall I go on? Stuff MS Money used to do well way back in 2000 yet Banktivity can't do correctly in 2021! Check their website for fixes and it's "yeah, we know this happens, whatever. PS Why don't you buy our new version". Why would I pay for 8 when they can't even got 7 to work?
leetaylor02
leetaylor02
Feb 18 2021
7.5.3
2.0
Feb 18 2021
2.0
Version: 7.5.3
It used to be pretty good, but now the stock price download values UK stocks in £ instead of pennies. I wish had a few million in shares, but sadly I dont. Its a small problem and you would think it would be easy to fix, but its been like this for months. Their move to Software as a Service was the last straw. I wont be renting this junk.
george1776x
george1776x
Feb 18 2021
7.5.3
2.0
Feb 18 2021
2.0
Version: 7.5.3
It works fine for a while, and then it refuses to balance my monthly statements properly. Truly, I have gone over and over my January 2021 statement, and I come out with a $234.33 difference between what my bank says and what Banktivity says. This happened last year, too, but this year I resolved to DO MY BEST to reconcile my statements. There is a phone number I can call, but I really shouldn't have to do that. I'll try tomorrow, but I honestly don't know why it should be so difficult.
joanntim
joanntim
Feb 10 2021
7.5.3
1.0
Feb 10 2021
1.0
Version: 7.5.3
One of the most difficult programs I have ever used and can't even print out a 1099 at end of year just to see kind of where you are at. If you like graphics, I think it could be useful, but frankly, I want it simple and good customer service. I've used it for over 4 years and it's gotten slightly better, but hardly worth the agravation of staying with thus program. Too complex for a 101 accounting survivor!
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Jan 30 2021
7.5.3
2.0
Jan 30 2021
2.0
Version: 7.5.3
Banktivity is a beautiful app with problems. Like many people I have been forced to check out alternatives to Quicken 2007 for Mac since its demise. I use this type of software to pay bills, flagging tax-related items as I pay them, and generating a simple report at tax time each year. In theory Banktivity does all this. However, IT DOES NOT RELIABLY DOWNLOAD BANKING TRANSACTIONS from Chase. I have had numerous interactions by e-mail and chat, sending log files and screen shots, with their vaunted customer support staff and this problem continues. So I have to painstakingly check the Banktivity record against that of Chase and manually enter the missing transactions. They have said it's not their problem and to call Chase, I call Chase and they say it's not their problem. So who are you going to vote for—Chase with millions of people using other banking software without problems or this little software company with limited resources and a history of buggy software? (Does anybody remember iWork from the same company?) There are other problems such as the impossibility of paying two credit cards that are issued by the same company—both payments get sent to one account and then you get a late fee and a ding to your credit score. I have contacted customer support who told me to send screen shots and log files which I did, but got no response. They are now switching to a subscription model so I might as well try the new improved Quicken and try not to think of the $70 and many many hours wasted on this turd. This level of customer support from any company is disgusting. Just fix the program instead of letting this problem fester.
anonymous-impala-6250
anonymous-impala-6250
Dec 2 2020
7.5.3
1.0
Dec 2 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.3
This company has the basics of a good product. Too bad they ruin it with poor sup-port and some bad design. I have had five times when the accounts didn't total correctly and it was easily proven by totalling manually from the last reconciliation. The temporary fixes they gave me didn't work and they have never provided a fix. So I always had to be on the lookout for errors and create adjustment tranasctions that cause downstream reconciliation problems. Budgeting is a whole other case. Budgeting is REALLY important for me and being able to review accurate results guide my spending. So here is the great rub. You are not allowed to have a monthly budget of $0. For example if you budget $200 every other month but then spend $100 in a month that was originally budgeted for 0, the product does not include the $100 in the monthly expenses total. Bad design that could cause someone to easily overspend. Further, budgeting relies on scheduled transactions and if the amount of a scheduled transaction changes, you have to create a new transaction (and keep the old one), otherwise your historical budgets will change. Very cumbersome. I bought Banktivity to have Mac based accounting and avoid Quickens subscription pricing. Now that Quicken has more Mac functionality than Banktivity, budgeting that works, and Banktivity has gone to the subscription model I will go back to Quicken.
gary-22
gary-22
Nov 2 2020
7.5.3
1.0
Nov 2 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.3
This review is for Banktivity 8. The data file opens in read-only mode unless you sign in with your Banktivity ID which is mandatory. It’s absurd to require an external sign-on to access my data, so I almost aborted my review. Then I noticed there was no way to port my in-app Direct Access subscription and the category icons looked like Pong on a CRT from the 70s; that’s when I deleted it.
gary-22
gary-22
Sep 11 2020
7.5.2
1.0
Sep 11 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.2
I’ve been using Banktivity since version 6. It only became bug-free for me with one of the most recent updates, whereas previously the portfolio view would not update until the clock was set forward to the next day. Now there’s a subscription-only version 8 coming out, in which even OFX direct connect (which does not *require* IGG’s ‘online services’) is only included with and for the duration of a subscription. I now somewhat regret switching from Moneydance, although for investments Banktivity’s interface is vastly superior. Guess I’m sticking with Banktivity 7 like I have for business stuck with QuickBooks Pro 2003 (Windows, using Fusion) for similar reasons.
pthompsonjr22
pthompsonjr22
Sep 4 2020
7.5.2
4.0
Sep 4 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.2
I have used Bankitivity for the past 2 years and find it to be the best financial management software for the Mac. Prior to switching over to Banktivity, I was a Quicken user. I even used Parallels to emulate a PC to use Quicken. However, Quicken lost its competitive edge and no longer was providing updates to improve it. I no longer do stock management, so I cannot comment on how Banktivity compares to Quicken. But the money management and report features are strong and provide me with everything I need. The only reason I did not give a 5-star rating is the transaction matching is a little weak. The primary reason is that my bank does not allow check writing in Banktivity.
jmanherr
jmanherr
Sep 1 2020
7.5.2
5.0
Sep 1 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.2
This program has worked very well for managing all my family personal finances. I pay the extra fee for the direct connect and have found this to be a real time saver and worth the annual fee. The reporting capability is robust. It is nice to be able to see all of my credit card accounts, bank accounts, and investment accounts in one place. Direct Connect has worked fo the majority of my accounts. For the accounts that direct connect is not supported for, downloading the transactions has been straight forward and not to time consuming.
cherjo20
cherjo20
Aug 30 2020
7.5.2
4.0
Aug 30 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.2
After much research, I chose Banktivity to keep track of all my finances, replacing Quicken. I'm quite happy with it. At a glance I can see how everything is doing at the moment, I can track things over time, and also can look at specific accounts, make a chart for tax-related items or other purposes, etc. Some accounts are downloaded automatically, some I enter changes manually. Usually it works great. Every now and then there's a problem with one account and I have to spend time to chat with a technician. But overall it's an incredibly useful program that runs along great. In response to Test0001's comment: I did write this review because of an email from the founder, but he did not ask for "good" reviews. He simply suggested we review it, and to let him know about issues we're having. I rely on this program.
nmeyrick
nmeyrick
Aug 18 2020
7.5.2
2.0
Aug 18 2020
2.0
Version: 7.5.2
I love Banktivity and used to rely on it heavily. Its great in many ways, to the point that I still check in on it every few months to see whether I can use it again. However I haven't been able to use it for almost a year, when it suddenly dropped support for all EU bank feeds. I understand that this was due to regulatory changes outside of the Developer's control, but other systems like MoneyWiz have been able to adapt to the new environment. I guess there are enough US only customers to rely on them instead, but it is a shame to lose what was previously a fully international solution and really valuable to the small number of customers with accounts across multiple countries. I would love to be able to come back to using Banktivity if only they could resolve this one problem
gary-22
gary-22
Aug 11 2020
7.5.1
1.0
Aug 11 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.1
I’ve been using Banktivity since version 6. It only became bug-free for me with one of the most recent updates, whereas previously the portfolio view would not update until the clock was set forward to the next day. Now there’s a subscription-only version 8 coming out, and which would likely require Big Sur. Since I am neither upgrading to Big Sur (due to bloated code for dual architectures, Catalyst, Rosetta 2 and Universal App 2) nor a fan of subscriptions for essential use (my essential uses include features only included with and likely only for the duration of a subscription) I now somewhat regret switching from Moneydance, although for investments the interface is vastly superior. Guess I’m sticking with Banktivity 7 like I have for business stuck with QuickBooks Pro 2003 for similar reasons.
charlek248
charlek248
Aug 10 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Aug 10 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Easy to learn! Easy to maneuver ! Love the automatic downloads. It is like true Mac software, because it is intuitive and has a nice layout.
pietdion
pietdion
Aug 1 2020
7.5.1
4.0
Aug 1 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.1
I've used this program heavily for about 20 years. My account needs are reasonably complicated including different currencies etc. Without Banktivity I'd be lost. Easy to post, reorganise and reconcile transactions, create new categories or reorganise old ones on the fly. Reporting is good for both cash flow and investments. There is continual incremental improvement. Never used customer service (no need -- everything is straightforward). Never used budgeting. Good interface with between Mac and iPhone (can post/see stuff on both platforms and sync is good.) In short HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you need to keep track of your finances and you have a Mac. Not a price gougers like Quicken. So why only 4*? Well I need Australian stock quotes. Sorely miss the latter since the latest upgrade. I know it's not just Banktivity's problem, but please bring Oz securities back.
kosciels1
kosciels1
Aug 1 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Aug 1 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I've been using this software for 5+years. Has always worked well, the upgrades are worth it and are reasonably priced. The support offered was always friendly. The direct connect option is nice. It does what it's supposed to do. Yes, the company has asked for help in posting good reviews lately. Cancel culture struck and they asked for help. I write very few reviews, but feel when a good company that writes great software, has great customer service, and reaches out in a human way I should respond. Should you sign up for a subscription and cancel later they won't hold your data hostage and the app still works. Give Banktivity a try and decide for yourself.
test0001
test0001
Aug 1 2020
7.5.1
1.0
Aug 1 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.1
If anyone is wondering about the sudden rash of good reviews, IGG software sent an email out to people asking them to submit good reviews on MacUpdate. Looks like it worked
hammer3321
hammer3321
Jul 31 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 31 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Works well when you need Canadian market support and a solution that works on a Mac. Has helped me manage my finances.
bsfawcett
bsfawcett
Jul 31 2020
7.5.1
0.0
Jul 31 2020
0.0
Version: 7.5.1
Great concept, poor implementation. Very "buggy". Why on the iPad version is it not possible to manually update investment daily prices? Most reports on the iMac are very, very limited and not useful is everyday use. Shame I (UK user) don't have many other options. Oh, for an updated Microsoft Money or Apple equivalent
happykarter
happykarter
Jul 29 2020
7.5.1
4.0
Jul 29 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.1
It works well.
vlvteacher45
vlvteacher45
Jul 29 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 29 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I love using Banktivity on my MAC. It is easy to use and keeps all my accounts organized and up to date. I download a lot of my transactions straight from my credit union. It is easy to reconcile my statements at the end of the month and quick to post my recurring bills each month. I have been using Banktivity for years and I would recommend it to any MAC user.
JBob2047
JBob2047
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
0.0
Jul 28 2020
0.0
Version: 7.5.1
Need I say more. The reviews are a total waste of time. It's sort of like fake news now. Thanks Macupdate.
roxkent
roxkent
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Been a long time user of Banktivity. For friends and family using a MAC this is the financial software I recommend to them. Take a trial run with this software to see if it meets your bookkeeping/financial needs like it has met mine.
mbkrok
mbkrok
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
This is a great software beats by far Quicken which monopolized the market. Very good customer service and prompt replies on a chat board. What is really impressing is the international outreach to different banks and currencies. I would highly recommend this software.
kevo51-1
kevo51-1
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Banktivity is great. It allowed me to escape the evil Quicken, which treated Mac users like dirt. I now feel free. I can enter or search data on my phone and it syncs with the laptop or destop data. I am totally happy with it.
JBob2047
JBob2047
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
0.0
Jul 28 2020
0.0
Version: 7.5.1
Wow! A tremendous rash of really high ratings. I think Macupdate made a mistake removing the number of posts a person has. I have ZERO confidence in Macupdate reviews now.
Mcmmac
Mcmmac
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
4.0
Jul 28 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have fairly complex finances and Banktivity does the best job of all PF programs on a Mac. I have tried Moneydance, Quicken and others. If you need more than a checkbook balancer, Banktivity is for you.
dhorsfall
dhorsfall
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Excellent program. Upgraded from Quicken. Great support.
steven-69
steven-69
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Switched from Quickbooks several years ago -- never looked back.
bobgorelick
bobgorelick
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I switched to Banktivity about 4 years ago and love it. It is just as good as Quicken, yet without the bloatware. Customer support has been excellent too. I've tried Quicken, Moneydance and stopped searching once I discovered Banktivy. I really like that Banktivity offers iOS support as well. Very stable and reliable products!
cb-1
cb-1
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I used Quicken literally for 20+ years and just got tired of the errors, and the nickel and dime fees, and their crappy support. I ran a Windows VM on Mac just to run Quicken. Finally I said enough is enough, I went to a native Mac app, Banktivity, and I have been on it 2 years now and could not be happier. Is it perfect? No. But it is great and it works very well, and I can rely on it. Buy this, you will be pleased,.
rshah
rshah
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have used financial software for decades. Quicken>MS Money>Quicken>Banktivity. I recently dabbled with switching from my Mac to a PC which meant back to Quicken. Yuck - Banktivity and Messages kept me in my Mac. Very helpful for me to manage all of my account and generate reports. Highly recommended!
gregoryleesnow
gregoryleesnow
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have used Banktivity since 2018 for tracking all of our family finances. It is both easy to use and effective. The one time over the years support was needed, they quickly helped me to the solution.
tomwason
tomwason
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
1.0
Jul 28 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5.1
This was fairly feature rich but with a poor user experience. I used to make do with that as it was strong at handling accounts across multiple currencies. However, after removal of the direct access feature in the UK with little notice the product became essentially useless. Whatsmore they offered only a partial refund only after repeated attempts. Avoid.
mantzeiser
mantzeiser
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
4.0
Jul 28 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using Banktivity monthly since 2017. It is a powerful and intuitive app that I couldn’t do without. I selected Banktivity after testing 8 other apps - it was by far the best! There are some little things that I would like to see improved: easier checking of categorization during reconciliation for example, but the basic ease of use and flexibility of the software merits 4 stars.
martinjdenham
martinjdenham
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Great apps for iPhone, iPad & Mac. Easy to use and some nice features.
colson80
colson80
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using this app since 2017. It is the best money management app I have found that works with Mac. I have tried a bunch and nothing compares to this. Do yourself a favor and get this app. You won’t regret it.
spj530
spj530
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I’ve used Banktivity for years and couldn’t do decent budgeting and reporting without it. I switched from that “other” app and would never go back. From the intuitive features to the infrequently used customer support it can’t be beat. Try it once and you’ll be comfortable immediately with this program.
Supenguin
Supenguin
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
4.0
Jul 28 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.1
I've tried nearly every Mac app available for personal finances. Banktivity is the best all-around one out there. It allows managing checking, savings, credit cards, investments and even real estate values. The calendar feature is also great. The budgets allow traditional budgets where each month you have a set amount and you either come in above or below that amount OR envelope budgeting which works like a simplified version of YNAB within Banktivity itself. The options available for reporting are great. With any application that does this much, there is a bit of a learning curve and it will take some time to get it set up to your liking. One big thing about Banktivity: unlike other personal finance apps which are trending to be 100% subscription based, Banktivity only requires a subscription if you want to have it sync with your bank accounts online via their Direct Access feature.
ronnie-marais
ronnie-marais
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
It's a great software. I have been using it for a few years and there really is nothing more I need. Easy to use, super accurate and the direct download from my banks works well. My life is complex and over time it has managed up to 4 currencies with banks in 4 countries. Really cool software.
mrclary
mrclary
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
4.0
Jul 28 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5.1
I've used Banktivity for about 3 years now and find it to be the best finance software available for use with the "envelope method". For well over a decade I had used Quicken, which required acrobatic feats in reporting to use the envelope method. I had then discovered MoneyWell, which brought envelope budgeting to the fore and I found that it worked very well and I liked a lot. Unfortunately, its support for direct connection and downloading transactions was dropped and overall development seemed to halt. That's when I discovered Banktivity. Banktivity provides full envelope budgeting and full support for direct connections and downloading transactions. I also have retirement and brokerage accounts that I can fully track. I especially like one of the ways in which budgets can be made: scheduled transactions. This allows me to simply schedule all my expenses on various cycles (e.g. 2-week paychecks, weekly groceries, monthly bills, quarterly subscriptions, etc.) and see exactly what expenses are required for each month and fill my categories accordingly. The only reasons I withheld the final star on my rating is that there are a few minor idiosyncratic issues. They haven't really affected my use of the software or caused any problems so I never considered them critical. 1) I'd really like to be able to edit category transfers with the same control that I edit transactions, such as the date and the amount. 2) I'd like to be able to duplicate scheduled transactions.
rcacrook
rcacrook
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
After using a number of finance software, Banktivity is by the far the best that I have used. Very intuitive, accurate and a pleasure to use.
jamellegarcia
jamellegarcia
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
Was so glad to find the program. Quicken and QuickBooks was driving me crazy and was not a value for the money where Banktivity is. Would like to see Banktivity export to accountant programs for tax returns. But I make it work for now
djfutoma1
djfutoma1
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using this app for a little over 2 years. I find it easy to use and update my data. My husband finds it easier to create specialized reports with Banktivity than another app I had previously used. When I had a question initially, I found the staff extremely helpful. I highly recommend this app.
djbluemtn
djbluemtn
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I like how it works! It took me a while to find a program to replace Quicken. And this fits the bill.
oswaldb
oswaldb
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using Banktivity for several years & have found it to be very reliable. I gladly pay the extra fee for it to sync so well w/my local bank. I know there are plenty of features (eg budgeting, etc.) that I do not take advantage. It has been rock solid & allows me allows me to keep on top of my persoanl banking.
normdallura
normdallura
Jul 28 2020
7.5.1
5.0
Jul 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5.1
When Quicken abandoned the Mac, I moved to another money management app and was disappointed. I moved to Banktivity and have been delighted since 2011. Meets all my needs, Love the reports. Support has been very responsive.