Back to Banktivity page
Banktivity free download for Mac

Banktivity Reviews

16 September 2020

Intuitive personal finance manager; widget available (was iBank).

Odysseus
14 August 2019
Version: 7.3

Most helpful

Do yourselves a favor and get SEE Finance 2. It's very well-supported, works well, and upgrade fees are quite rare (only when they went from version 1 to version 2, which is a complete rewrite). I'm curious to see how US-centric non-US customers find it. It's definitely extremely customizable.
(1)

How would you rate Banktivity app?

Read 267 Banktivity User Reviews

gary-22
11 September 2020
Version: 7.5.2
I’ve been using Banktivity since version 6. It only became bug-free for me with one of the most recent updates, whereas previously the portfolio view would not update until the clock was set forward to the next day. Now there’s a subscription-only version 8 coming out, in which even OFX direct connect (which does not *require* IGG’s ‘online services’) is only included with and for the duration of a subscription. I now somewhat regret switching from Moneydance, although for investments Banktivity’s interface is vastly superior. Guess I’m sticking with Banktivity 7 like I have for business stuck with QuickBooks Pro 2003 (Windows, using Fusion) for similar reasons.
(0)
4
pthompsonjr22
04 September 2020
Version: 7.5.2
I have used Bankitivity for the past 2 years and find it to be the best financial management software for the Mac. Prior to switching over to Banktivity, I was a Quicken user. I even used Parallels to emulate a PC to use Quicken. However, Quicken lost its competitive edge and no longer was providing updates to improve it. I no longer do stock management, so I cannot comment on how Banktivity compares to Quicken. But the money management and report features are strong and provide me with everything I need. The only reason I did not give a 5-star rating is the transaction matching is a little weak. The primary reason is that my bank does not allow check writing in Banktivity.
(0)
5
jmanherr
01 September 2020
Version: 7.5.2
This program has worked very well for managing all my family personal finances. I pay the extra fee for the direct connect and have found this to be a real time saver and worth the annual fee. The reporting capability is robust. It is nice to be able to see all of my credit card accounts, bank accounts, and investment accounts in one place. Direct Connect has worked fo the majority of my accounts. For the accounts that direct connect is not supported for, downloading the transactions has been straight forward and not to time consuming.
(1)
4
cherjo20
30 August 2020
Version: 7.5.2
After much research, I chose Banktivity to keep track of all my finances, replacing Quicken. I'm quite happy with it. At a glance I can see how everything is doing at the moment, I can track things over time, and also can look at specific accounts, make a chart for tax-related items or other purposes, etc. Some accounts are downloaded automatically, some I enter changes manually. Usually it works great. Every now and then there's a problem with one account and I have to spend time to chat with a technician. But overall it's an incredibly useful program that runs along great. In response to Test0001's comment: I did write this review because of an email from the founder, but he did not ask for "good" reviews. He simply suggested we review it, and to let him know about issues we're having. I rely on this program.
(0)
2
nmeyrick
18 August 2020
Version: 7.5.2
I love Banktivity and used to rely on it heavily. Its great in many ways, to the point that I still check in on it every few months to see whether I can use it again. However I haven't been able to use it for almost a year, when it suddenly dropped support for all EU bank feeds. I understand that this was due to regulatory changes outside of the Developer's control, but other systems like MoneyWiz have been able to adapt to the new environment. I guess there are enough US only customers to rely on them instead, but it is a shame to lose what was previously a fully international solution and really valuable to the small number of customers with accounts across multiple countries. I would love to be able to come back to using Banktivity if only they could resolve this one problem
(0)
4
gary-22
11 August 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I’ve been using Banktivity since version 6. It only became bug-free for me with one of the most recent updates, whereas previously the portfolio view would not update until the clock was set forward to the next day. Now there’s a subscription-only version 8 coming out, and which would likely require Big Sur. Since I am neither upgrading to Big Sur (due to bloated code for dual architectures, Catalyst, Rosetta 2 and Universal App 2) nor a fan of subscriptions for essential use (my essential uses include features only included with and likely only for the duration of a subscription) I now somewhat regret switching from Moneydance, although for investments the interface is vastly superior. Guess I’m sticking with Banktivity 7 like I have for business stuck with QuickBooks Pro 2003 for similar reasons.
(0)
5
charlek248
10 August 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Easy to learn! Easy to maneuver ! Love the automatic downloads. It is like true Mac software, because it is intuitive and has a nice layout.
(0)
4
pietdion
01 August 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I've used this program heavily for about 20 years. My account needs are reasonably complicated including different currencies etc. Without Banktivity I'd be lost. Easy to post, reorganise and reconcile transactions, create new categories or reorganise old ones on the fly. Reporting is good for both cash flow and investments. There is continual incremental improvement. Never used customer service (no need -- everything is straightforward). Never used budgeting. Good interface with between Mac and iPhone (can post/see stuff on both platforms and sync is good.) In short HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you need to keep track of your finances and you have a Mac. Not a price gougers like Quicken. So why only 4*? Well I need Australian stock quotes. Sorely miss the latter since the latest upgrade. I know it's not just Banktivity's problem, but please bring Oz securities back.
(0)
5
kosciels1
01 August 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I've been using this software for 5+years. Has always worked well, the upgrades are worth it and are reasonably priced. The support offered was always friendly. The direct connect option is nice. It does what it's supposed to do. Yes, the company has asked for help in posting good reviews lately. Cancel culture struck and they asked for help. I write very few reviews, but feel when a good company that writes great software, has great customer service, and reaches out in a human way I should respond. Should you sign up for a subscription and cancel later they won't hold your data hostage and the app still works. Give Banktivity a try and decide for yourself.
(0)
Show comment (1)
test0001
01 August 2020
Version: 7.5.1
If anyone is wondering about the sudden rash of good reviews, IGG software sent an email out to people asking them to submit good reviews on MacUpdate. Looks like it worked
(0)
5
hammer3321
31 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Works well when you need Canadian market support and a solution that works on a Mac. Has helped me manage my finances.
(0)
bsfawcett
31 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Great concept, poor implementation. Very "buggy". Why on the iPad version is it not possible to manually update investment daily prices? Most reports on the iMac are very, very limited and not useful is everyday use. Shame I (UK user) don't have many other options. Oh, for an updated Microsoft Money or Apple equivalent
(0)
Show comment (1)
4
happykarter
29 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
It works well.
(0)
5
vlvteacher45
29 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I love using Banktivity on my MAC. It is easy to use and keeps all my accounts organized and up to date. I download a lot of my transactions straight from my credit union. It is easy to reconcile my statements at the end of the month and quick to post my recurring bills each month. I have been using Banktivity for years and I would recommend it to any MAC user.
(1)
JBob2047
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Need I say more. The reviews are a total waste of time. It's sort of like fake news now. Thanks Macupdate.
(0)
5
roxkent
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Been a long time user of Banktivity. For friends and family using a MAC this is the financial software I recommend to them. Take a trial run with this software to see if it meets your bookkeeping/financial needs like it has met mine.
(0)
5
mbkrok
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
This is a great software beats by far Quicken which monopolized the market. Very good customer service and prompt replies on a chat board. What is really impressing is the international outreach to different banks and currencies. I would highly recommend this software.
(1)
5
kevo51-1
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Banktivity is great. It allowed me to escape the evil Quicken, which treated Mac users like dirt. I now feel free. I can enter or search data on my phone and it syncs with the laptop or destop data. I am totally happy with it.
(1)
JBob2047
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Wow! A tremendous rash of really high ratings. I think Macupdate made a mistake removing the number of posts a person has. I have ZERO confidence in Macupdate reviews now.
(0)
4
Mcmmac
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have fairly complex finances and Banktivity does the best job of all PF programs on a Mac. I have tried Moneydance, Quicken and others. If you need more than a checkbook balancer, Banktivity is for you.
(0)
5
dhorsfall
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Excellent program. Upgraded from Quicken. Great support.
(1)
5
steven-69
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Switched from Quickbooks several years ago -- never looked back.
(1)
bobgorelick
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I switched to Banktivity about 4 years ago and love it. It is just as good as Quicken, yet without the bloatware. Customer support has been excellent too. I've tried Quicken, Moneydance and stopped searching once I discovered Banktivy. I really like that Banktivity offers iOS support as well. Very stable and reliable products!
(0)
5
cb-1
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I used Quicken literally for 20+ years and just got tired of the errors, and the nickel and dime fees, and their crappy support. I ran a Windows VM on Mac just to run Quicken. Finally I said enough is enough, I went to a native Mac app, Banktivity, and I have been on it 2 years now and could not be happier. Is it perfect? No. But it is great and it works very well, and I can rely on it. Buy this, you will be pleased,.
(1)
5
rshah
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have used financial software for decades. Quicken>MS Money>Quicken>Banktivity. I recently dabbled with switching from my Mac to a PC which meant back to Quicken. Yuck - Banktivity and Messages kept me in my Mac. Very helpful for me to manage all of my account and generate reports. Highly recommended!
(1)
5
gregoryleesnow
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have used Banktivity since 2018 for tracking all of our family finances. It is both easy to use and effective. The one time over the years support was needed, they quickly helped me to the solution.
(1)
1
tomwason
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
This was fairly feature rich but with a poor user experience. I used to make do with that as it was strong at handling accounts across multiple currencies. However, after removal of the direct access feature in the UK with little notice the product became essentially useless. Whatsmore they offered only a partial refund only after repeated attempts. Avoid.
(0)
4
mantzeiser
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using Banktivity monthly since 2017. It is a powerful and intuitive app that I couldn’t do without. I selected Banktivity after testing 8 other apps - it was by far the best! There are some little things that I would like to see improved: easier checking of categorization during reconciliation for example, but the basic ease of use and flexibility of the software merits 4 stars.
(0)
5
martinjdenham
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Great apps for iPhone, iPad & Mac. Easy to use and some nice features.
(0)
5
colson80
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using this app since 2017. It is the best money management app I have found that works with Mac. I have tried a bunch and nothing compares to this. Do yourself a favor and get this app. You won’t regret it.
(0)
5
spj530
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I’ve used Banktivity for years and couldn’t do decent budgeting and reporting without it. I switched from that “other” app and would never go back. From the intuitive features to the infrequently used customer support it can’t be beat. Try it once and you’ll be comfortable immediately with this program.
(0)
4
Supenguin
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I've tried nearly every Mac app available for personal finances. Banktivity is the best all-around one out there. It allows managing checking, savings, credit cards, investments and even real estate values. The calendar feature is also great. The budgets allow traditional budgets where each month you have a set amount and you either come in above or below that amount OR envelope budgeting which works like a simplified version of YNAB within Banktivity itself. The options available for reporting are great. With any application that does this much, there is a bit of a learning curve and it will take some time to get it set up to your liking. One big thing about Banktivity: unlike other personal finance apps which are trending to be 100% subscription based, Banktivity only requires a subscription if you want to have it sync with your bank accounts online via their Direct Access feature.
(0)
5
ronnie-marais
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
It's a great software. I have been using it for a few years and there really is nothing more I need. Easy to use, super accurate and the direct download from my banks works well. My life is complex and over time it has managed up to 4 currencies with banks in 4 countries. Really cool software.
(0)
4
mrclary
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I've used Banktivity for about 3 years now and find it to be the best finance software available for use with the "envelope method". For well over a decade I had used Quicken, which required acrobatic feats in reporting to use the envelope method. I had then discovered MoneyWell, which brought envelope budgeting to the fore and I found that it worked very well and I liked a lot. Unfortunately, its support for direct connection and downloading transactions was dropped and overall development seemed to halt. That's when I discovered Banktivity. Banktivity provides full envelope budgeting and full support for direct connections and downloading transactions. I also have retirement and brokerage accounts that I can fully track. I especially like one of the ways in which budgets can be made: scheduled transactions. This allows me to simply schedule all my expenses on various cycles (e.g. 2-week paychecks, weekly groceries, monthly bills, quarterly subscriptions, etc.) and see exactly what expenses are required for each month and fill my categories accordingly. The only reasons I withheld the final star on my rating is that there are a few minor idiosyncratic issues. They haven't really affected my use of the software or caused any problems so I never considered them critical. 1) I'd really like to be able to edit category transfers with the same control that I edit transactions, such as the date and the amount. 2) I'd like to be able to duplicate scheduled transactions.
(0)
5
rcacrook
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
After using a number of finance software, Banktivity is by the far the best that I have used. Very intuitive, accurate and a pleasure to use.
(0)
5
jamellegarcia
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Was so glad to find the program. Quicken and QuickBooks was driving me crazy and was not a value for the money where Banktivity is. Would like to see Banktivity export to accountant programs for tax returns. But I make it work for now
(0)
5
djfutoma1
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using this app for a little over 2 years. I find it easy to use and update my data. My husband finds it easier to create specialized reports with Banktivity than another app I had previously used. When I had a question initially, I found the staff extremely helpful. I highly recommend this app.
(0)
5
djbluemtn
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I like how it works! It took me a while to find a program to replace Quicken. And this fits the bill.
(0)
5
oswaldb
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using Banktivity for several years & have found it to be very reliable. I gladly pay the extra fee for it to sync so well w/my local bank. I know there are plenty of features (eg budgeting, etc.) that I do not take advantage. It has been rock solid & allows me allows me to keep on top of my persoanl banking.
(0)
5
normdallura
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
When Quicken abandoned the Mac, I moved to another money management app and was disappointed. I moved to Banktivity and have been delighted since 2011. Meets all my needs, Love the reports. Support has been very responsive.
(0)
5
dsloves
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I'm pretty shocked at some of these reviews. I've used Banktivity for quite a few years now. It was the first Mac app I found that allowed me to move off of a virtual Windows machine and migrate my 20+ years of MS Money history cleanly. So I have all of my portfolio history intact from 1989 - allowing me to both see trends and set some pretty cool markers. The actual day-to-day usage of the product has been very straightforward. I pay the extra fee to optimize account downloads and plus or minus the joys of two-phase authentication, it's been smooth sailing. The actual interface is simple; the reports clear; and the reliability/stability excellent. I use Intuit products for work and the Banktivity look-and-feel compares VERY favorably. I don't use the budgeting process, so can't speak to its capabilities. What I can say is that it's allowed me to manage a very complex household's finances and retained transaction history that's older than most of the folks probably using the product :) As a software person by trade, I appreciate the solid feel and consistent work in addressing problems that arise as the various financial standards for data interchange have shifted for cyber protection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
(0)
5
vwiniger
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I’ve been using Banktivity for several years and many updates! I’ve come to depend on and enjoy using this software on my Mac. I was able to easily Transfer over to a new Mac with no issues.
(0)
5
cynthiatilmans
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I’ve been happily using the app for over 10 years. Great tool for Mac users.
(0)
5
jszental
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Great app. I used to use Quicken for Mac but this is so much better.
(0)
5
amorevja999
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I previously used Quicken for Mac and it was extremely disappointing. I found Banktivity as a replacement, which had a little learning curve and now I think it is fantastic. The financial institutions connections work flawlessly something that I didn't have with Quicken and all the reports with drill down capabilities leave nothing unexplained. I have other portfolio managers that do a great job but my goto app is now Banktivity followed by my premium subscription to MorningStar, which of course has wonderful portfolio and security research at $372 for two years. Banktivity is $70. My customer service experience involves only one question and my email was responded to within 24 hours and that cleared up the matter. I read the budget concerns and it is partially correct, but I am not worried about being super precise. If I want precision, then I will get an accounting application, which will probably cost $15 to $75 a month. Banktivity is a bargain for what it does.
(0)
5
hmrincon
28 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I have been using Banktivity for 5 plus years after transitioning from Quicken. I have found it to be much better than Quicken and they have been responsive when encountering Direct Access issues.
(0)
1
jagbr1
12 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Pretty much I agree with the majority, this product sucks always something every couple of months, customer service is useless. Piece of shit product stay away, now I need to try and find a new product.
(0)
Show comment (1)
2
barbnstu
09 July 2020
Version: 7.5.1
Was a Fan of the product but no longer updates and Australian Equities. If you in Australia find another product
(0)
1
johndoe11766
30 June 2020
Version: 7.5.1
The extremely bad customer service, especially of the arrogant Tim M., should prevent everybody from using this software.
(0)
1
brandwood
28 May 2020
Version: 7.5.1
I had many problems with Quicken 2017, and I definitely didn't want to sign up for a subscription service with Quicken, so I searched for an alternative. This is NOT it. The program itself works well, and the Direct Access, though cumbersome to set up, is seamless. The budget process, however, is a complete clownshow. Because the budget set-up is tied to scheduled transactions, you cannot create a budget for the year and then compare actual income and spending to the budgeted numbers. E.g., the budget plans for your "income" by using your scheduled paychecks. If you change (or lose) your job, and then change the scheduled transactions going forward, the "budget" changes, too--indicating that you had planned the change in income all along. You also cannot budget for one-time expenses (like a trip, a car purchase or a home remodeling project). I have spent countless hours setting up my Banktivity account, but now I am afraid I will have to try to find an alternative. Any suggestions?
(0)