Back to Screen Movie Recorder page
Screen Movie Recorder free download for Mac

Screen Movie Recorder Reviews

7.1
30 May 2018

Record your screen to a QuickTime movie.

Anonymous
15 October 2005

Most helpful

good idea...with fatal flaw.... does not record the audio portion! i guess their interpretation of the term "movies" harkens back to the day of silent films. the program may be worthless, but at least it cost money....
Like (1)
Version 1.15

Read 16 Screen Movie Recorder User Reviews

Rate this app:

artie505
31 May 2018
Old thieves never die; they just come back to rob you again. EVERY AplhaOmega product is poorly written, overpriced, and available elsewhere with more and better functionality and for free...often within the OS, itself. Buyer beware!
Like
Version 7.1
Easer
30 June 2007
I won't speak against AlphaOmega software, as I have used some of their products, and they do work. However, I would recommend checking out iShowU if you want inexpensive screen recording software. Their customer service has been superb, and the product offers a lot of nice features. At least do a comparison of that product with this one to make your decision.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
15 October 2005
good idea...with fatal flaw.... does not record the audio portion! i guess their interpretation of the term "movies" harkens back to the day of silent films. the program may be worthless, but at least it cost money....
Like (1)
Version 1.15
Anonymous
02 December 2004
I forgot to mention: The application's About, Preferences and other menu items are in the wrong place. And to the person who posted about the documentation being included: yes, there is documentation, but I would hardly call it that.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Nifty, but it will not allow me to select within the menu bar at all. In fact, when I try to, it just starts recording. The problem appears in which the way a selection is made - a large window overlays the screen in which you draw your selection. Unfortuantely, the selection drawing window has a title-bar, which overlaps the menu bar and the selection must be in the content area of this window. The interface is a little clunky: it'd be nice to be able to play with the recording area BEFORE hitting the record button in case I don't get the area just right. It'd also be nice to have quick-keys to start/stop recording. And lastly, the app should automatically hide itself when you start recording, so it doesn't appear in the final video. Good for a version 1.10, but needs some work.
Like
Version 1.10
doomtube
23 September 2004
i don't know what all these other reviews are talking about this app works fine. All the instructions are there and i've had no problems at all...... if only it were freeware!!! totally brilliant.
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
03 September 2004
Wow this seemed half way decent till i could not select the right area. There is no cursor to select the area......how do you do it?
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
16 August 2004
as soon as i open it and hit "OK" to start recording.. all traces of the app dissapear, and when i try to trash it, it says "cannot trash because it is in use" yet no app is running in the finder
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
18 May 2004
"Unhandled exception error" is all I got. This is clearly alpha standart. I suggest the developers to delete this app until it becomes functional.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
17 May 2004
Version 1.7 produces a non-functional .mov file. Wasted my time trying this.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
17 May 2004
The version 1.7, released (but not listed on MacUpdate) corrects the "Unhandled exception errors" raised in version 1.6.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
16 May 2004
If you still have a "Unhandled exception error" with version 1.6 you can send us an email to tell us in which circumstances, so that we can release a version 1.7 correcting the problem.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
16 May 2004
Developer's claim is false, I am still getting a "Unhandled exception error" message. ALL reviews on another site about this app's last version (1.6) complain about that.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
15 May 2004
This new release correct the "Unhandled excepion error" raised by version 1.5.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
09 February 2004
On my iBook G3 with OS X 10.3.2 I only get errors: it isn't working at all...
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 May 2004
Your problem should be solved with version 1.6. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
19 September 2003
Not really usable for anything, since the movies it records are all in double-speed and the cursor gets recorded as a cross-hair instead (+).
Like
Version 1.2