Back to DVD2oneX page
DVD2oneX free download for Mac

DVD2oneX Reviews

2.4.2
15 October 2011

Burn backup copies of DVDs.

Lvdoc
14 October 2019

Most helpful

Well, this is a gonner as of Catalina. The author answer my inquiry and said there are no plans to update this to 64 bit. Which sucks because I know of no other program that can do what this one does. Yes, other programs can compress all of a video_ts folder into a single, large video file, but that's not what I want. I want the menus, etc. This was literally the only 32 bit program I could not find a replacement for. Anyone know of anything else that does what DVD2One does?
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2

Read 200 DVD2oneX User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lvdoc
14 October 2019
Well, this is a gonner as of Catalina. The author answer my inquiry and said there are no plans to update this to 64 bit. Which sucks because I know of no other program that can do what this one does. Yes, other programs can compress all of a video_ts folder into a single, large video file, but that's not what I want. I want the menus, etc. This was literally the only 32 bit program I could not find a replacement for. Anyone know of anything else that does what DVD2One does?
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
Ray1
Ray1
14 November 2019
I also have been searching for an alternative but to no luck. For now has gone to Dual Layer DVD's.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Mikael-B
12 January 2014
I'm using Dvd2OneX not for slimming down DVDs — you can choose your own size  — but for repairing bad RIPs. I'm running Dvd2One 2.4.1 successfully now on Mavericks 10.9.1. It does take some time. No crashes! What I put in didn't play in VLC. The result works perfectly.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Purps
15 April 2013
So... any plans on updating this app ever again? Your forum has recent posts and the admin is responding to said recent posts... but the app hasn't been updated in 2 years. This app is showing its obvious age lately... more glaringly with new DVD titles. The only workaround I've found for DVD rips that simply won't work with DVD2oneX is to rip the "main movie" only using Mac DVDRipper Pro... and then opening the main movie folder with DVD2oneX. This allows the app to see the DVD structure of newer DVDs... whereas before it would show the data as 0 bytes or a few hundred kilobytes or some obscure incorrect number. There really isn't any other app like this on the Mac, so if you could at least inform your customers of an impending update, it would be much appreciated. Being vague on your forums isn't helpful for anyone.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
Macrob
04 May 2012
Should be the standard for compressing DVDs.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Gpatpandp
06 February 2012
I agree with many that are reporting a significantly lessor amount of functionality/reliability/stability as time goes on. It used to be a great app for condensing/compressing Video_TS Folders down to one 4.7 Disc while retaining exceptional quality. Now I cannot even get it to compress two 3.8 GB Video_TS Folders without the app continuously crashing less then midway through the process. It's to bad to because I ALWAYS relied on the app for such task and now it appears I can no longer :(
Like
Version 2.4.2
Lolita
07 January 2012
Has anyone NOT had problems with v. 2.4.2?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
D9
23 December 2011
So first try to have DVD2One convert a DVD and it fails because of "source protected". It was the Lord of the Rings 2 part DVDs which I wanted used this to combine into a single video file. Can't say I'll buy this as such, but I'd advise anyone else to first try it on your own to see if it's worth a steep $50. /
Like
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
jacks-apps-com
jacks-apps-com
11 January 2012
You need to rip(unprotect) the source first using e.g. ripit, mactheripper DVD2OneX is for remastering your (unprotected) DVD at the best quality available
Like (2)
Lvdoc
24 November 2011
All of the advice is nice, but I want to burn on a single-layer blank DVD that's approx. 4.3 GB in size. One used to be able to do that. Now one can't on many occasions. The fact is, there's no solution to what I want to do. C'est la vie.
Like
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
KCChrisD
KCChrisD
24 January 2012
See reply below. Roxio Popcorn or Toast should do the compression you're looking for.
Like (1)
Lvdoc
16 October 2011
I've used MDRP as of late because RipIt can't seem to handle newer protection schemes. However, MDRP isn't that good, either. It give me the option of ripping either a 64GB video_ts folder (literally, 64 GB) or a 6.8 GB iso file. I don't have any kind of dual-layer burner. I need a final video_ts folder that's roughly 4.3 GB in size. DVD2One no longer seems able to provide this for me. I wrote to the developer about this, and I was told to try the new version. But no luck. I wasn't halfway through shrinking, and I was already past 6 GB in size. (I usually get a final product that's about 16 GB in size. Even with the previous version.) So, are we at the end of an era here? Anyone know of any alternatives? Thanks
Like
Version 2.4.2
4 answer(s)
jacks-apps-com
jacks-apps-com
31 October 2011
It is not always possible to go from 64GB! to 4.3GB This is a huge and unlikely compression ratio Depending on the source it is not possible.
Like
Robotank
Robotank
24 November 2011
If you're being offered a 64GB VIDEO_TS then something is clearly wrong, given that a retail dual-layer DVD is ~9GB. Just try ripping to ISO--sometimes ripping to ISO will succeed where straight to VIDEO_TS fails. You can simply mount the ISO (double-click it in the Finder), then open the VIDEO_TS from the mounted volume.
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
20 December 2011
MDRP3 gives you several options for the RIP. Usually I just use "Full disc image" and select what I want in Handbrake. Only a BluRay should be creating 64Gb and they are not really supported on Mac.
Like
KCChrisD
KCChrisD
24 January 2012
The disc shows 64 GB because of the protection scheme that is used on it. It will typical show 99 titles on the disc as well, only one of which is the "correct" one. Best option on those is to either rip the disc to an ISO or extract only the main feature. As for a way to compress down to a single-sided DVD, I think Roxio Popcorn and Toast both have those features.
Like
xXAkumuXx
14 October 2011
It's been years since the last update and this is all they've worked on? This some kind of a joke? Also, why is the GUI still so ugly? It makes babies cry.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
6 answer(s)
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
14 October 2011
Okay I've tried 3 different brands of DVDs, and they all keep giving me this error: http://i.imgur.com/9kW1A.png Tested these discs with the previous version and I get no such errors. They all burn perfectly. Hold off on this version until they fix the bugs, guys. Here's the previous version of the app in case you guys forgot to back it up: http://min.us/mJ6md5CXs
Like (3)
Colossus9
Colossus9
14 October 2011
This stinks. This is my go-to app for burning discs. This app is still outstanding. I'll upgrade when the bugs have been resolved.
Like
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
15 October 2011
Yeah, I know. It's been working great for me for years. This is a little disappointing. But with an update cycle of... one update every year it seems... this time a little longer... I home the issue is addressed sooner than later. =\
Like (1)
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
15 October 2011
hope* even See?! I'm so upset I can't type correctly. :P
Like (1)
Colossus9
Colossus9
15 October 2011
Its been a reliable application and stable; with the exception of this upgrade. There shouldn't be update several times a year. I hope Erwin van den Berg rolls out an update soon. Hang in there.
Like
jacks-apps-com
jacks-apps-com
31 October 2011
Redownload http://www.dvd2one.com/files/dvd2onex242.zip The 0 bytes free problem is solved
Like
ArtDir
14 October 2011
Something appears to be amiss with this new version (2.4.2). Each time I've tried to burn a disc, I'm greeted with an error that says "There is not enough free space on the inserted media. Available:0 MB Needed:4.14 GB". DVD-R's I'm using burn fine in other programs. (If you upgrade to this new version, hang on to the old one just in case you get the same error!)
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
14 October 2011
Yes, I get the same exact error... despite the fact that the previous version works perfect with the SAME EXACT DISC. Good job, devs. Great update. *sarcasm*
Like
Priosantos-Jan
14 October 2011
It served me well on my iMac but it doesn't seem to work on my Macbook pro. Correction, it works but you need a second optical drive. Therefore DVD2onex is no use to me.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Omardottcom
16 July 2011
This app has been my go to app for compressing for a while now. It works well, but it's fairly expensive isn't it?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Aviateur
01 January 2011
I agree with Beamy, it would be nice to have just a few more selections. I like to have main features, extras but I don't necessarily need all the languages or previews. I will give an extra star to DVD2oneX for the rapidity and excellent work it does with compression. I have been using Toast Titanium until I encounter a problem with the movie "Inception" Toast could not compressed it, it kept crashing and someone recommended me DVD2oneX and it works like a charm. A bit on a high price with the lack of option but very effective. It did what it what supposed to do. Not enough time to really make a full review, so I don't know about stability issue or other problem it may encounter. Looking to see a newer version with more option selection. Happy New Year, this was my discovery of late 2010.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Beamy
24 November 2010
I like this program a lot ! But I would like to have more options for the "Full Disc Copy" mode: - ability to choose which subtitles to keep - ability to choose which DVD extras and special features to keep (for example: delete previews for other movies) .
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
Aviateur
Aviateur
01 January 2011
Agree with you, it needs some more options selection to make it a top of the line software, good at what it does. A bit pricy for the lack options built in the software.
Like (1)
Xandra
20 November 2010
QUESTION: I'd heard good things about this with regards to the QUALITY of its compression. (specifically in comparison to Toast). Can anyone comment here about the quality (when compression is required) as compared to other programs...
Like
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
Knoodles
Knoodles
20 November 2010
The quality with this app or DVDRemaster is better and faster than with Toast or Popcorn. I have them all plus others but only use this or DVD Remaster depending on what I want to do for video work.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Jan13
01 October 2010
BEST !!!
Like
Version 2.4.1
PorkPieHat
14 July 2010
I have happily used DVD2OneX for years. But suddenly it's become a bit stupid. For instance, I tried to make a full copy of an unprotected DVD of my son's birth, but DVD2OneX simply could not figure out that first it had to copy the original DVD before burning it to a blank DVD+R because my MacBook has only one optical drive. In the past, DVD2OneX understood that when using any kind of computer with only one optical drive, the first order of business is to COPY the source DVD to a scratch folder on the computer's hard drive, and only then could it be processed for burning onto a DVD. Anyway, since DVD2OneX can't seem to handle a simple DVD copy with only 1 optical drive, I had to quit using that and instead use DVDRemaster, which handled the exact same job quickly and without complaint. I hope DVD2OneX's developers will bring back the ability to make an exact copy of a DVD with only 1 optical drive.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Robk
13 July 2010
Great liberal licensing. From website: "* If you are the only user, you are allowed to use it on all computers you own (both PC and Mac"
Like (7)
Version 2.4.1
sysfu
20 November 2009
This program is indeed fast and the defaults do exactly what I want to do, making the program dead simple to use. Making a DVD backup consists of selecting the second of three options from the main menu, browsing to my Ripit DVD rip file, and then pressing the green button to select the burn to disk option. Click a button and away you go. The aesthetics of the interface leave something to be desired as others have commented. I have not experimented with the advanced features. It would be cool to find a way to chain this program with Ripit so that I could automate the entire backup process down to two steps; inserting the source DVD, and then inserting the blank 4.7GB DVD for burning.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
Garyi
31 May 2009
Seems very fast but I am having two issues. I have a folder of video TS films, and I want the programme to convert them all into their own Vobs, however it seems to want to combine them all. Secondly there does not appear to be a way to remove of source, you can add all the time but the minus button is greyed out. So I have to quit the programme between rips.
Like
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
13 July 2010
???????
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Stan154
23 September 2008
Please tell me where to find FairMount and DVD2OneX programs for burning DVD's??? Thanks
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Springheelmac
Springheelmac
14 November 2008
Did you try... here?
Like (3)
Version 2.3
St00pid-M0nk3y
24 August 2008
Great program. FairMount and DVD2OneX have left off where CloneDVD and AnyDVD did on Windows. I was a little iffy switching completely to Mac for my DVD burning purposes, but the combination of these two programs has been a wonderful switch. This program works perfectly and has never crashed on me and has never produced a bad disc. I always burn on a slower speed. However, this program has a grotesque and displeasing interface that makes me want to vomit all over the screen. I think the developers should make this wonderful piece of software a bit easier on the eyes. However, it's still a great program regardless. =P
Like (5)
Version 2.2.2
Bluestar
05 August 2008
"World's fastest video compression engine..." with the world's ugliest and most un-user-friendly interface :-)
Like (4)
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
24 August 2008
It has the most basic interface I've ever seen. How is it not user-friendly? It's ugly yes, but it's easy as pie to use.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Macrob
04 August 2008
First off, this is not a ripping program. It will NOT copy commercial dvds to your hard drive. This app compresses files that you have already ripped to the hard drive so they fit on a single sided DVD (4.4GB). And can burn them to a DVD if you wish. I do have this, and recommend it to anyone backing up their DVD library. It is fast, the quality is great, and it even fixes some of the problems that copyprotection creates.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Rubaiyat
08 July 2008
Oddly enough the people at Handbrake virtually insist that you should: 1. RIP with DVD2oneX 2. Use Handbrake in the command line interface If you don't, you end up wiping a lot of geek spit off your face if you have the effrontery to go to their forums with questions. Personally I never got DVDoneX to work for me and have stuck with my tried and true MacTheRipper/Handbrake workflow.
Like
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
13 July 2010
First of all, MTR works with literally nothing new. I'm not sure how you can't get this program to work... I've burned hundreds of DVDs with it. And secondly, maybe your problem lies in that DVD2oneX is not a ripping program, it is a compression program that fits data onto a single layer disc for burning that you can then play in any DVD player. If you are trying to rip a DVD with it, I can see where the fail is coming from. I personally use Mac DVDRipper Pro, followed by DVD2oneX. It's never given me issues.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Cougarblue
24 April 2008
I haven't any experience with this software, but I have to toss in a comment about Mac the Ripper. I can't think of any reason to jump ship from "the ripper" which does a fabulous job in copying DVD's. For a free piece of definitely MAC s/w, it does a great job. Kudos out to the HandBrake, Senuti, and MactheRipper people for making the iPod and DVD work easy and giving away their fine skill. Speed is a relative term, yet my daughter using an old iMac/G3 gets a ton of work done using MTR. I'm always happy to see a developer come up with an improvement, however when a said developer comes up with a very windows piece of shareware that pales in comparison to Mac-style freeware, I'm not too sure they deserve my money, nor my respect.
Like
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Danco
Danco
24 April 2008
Mac the Ripper is excellent, but it does not compress. Also it does not remove zero cells. MtR experts often recommend using DVD2OneX after ripping with MtR.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
13 July 2010
"I haven't used it, but I'm going to make negative comments about with no basis whatsoever and experience testing it out for myself." Good job.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Xypher
16 November 2007
Didn't believe the claims about the speed until I used it. It compressed an 8gig movie down to about 4.3gig in roughly half an hour on my eMac G4. That's a lot faster than DVD Shrink on Windows aswell as certain other well known Mac DVD encoders.
Like
Version 2.1.3
69number69
06 November 2007
Excellent program, works on Leopard!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Corpsecorps
14 March 2007
_ Mostly does a good job but it really is an awful interface. .
Like (5)
Version 2.1.2
Mbhockey
27 February 2007
Been using this program from version 1.x. Has worked almost flawlessly. But i'm a bit disappointed in the direction it is going. Firstly, the newer 2.x UI is completely hideous. It is the epitome of an ugly Windows program ported to Mac OS X. The "wizard" look is a complete step backward compared to the 1.x interface. The second thing is that this program costs a pretty penny and is becoming obsolete as newer copy protection schemes are being churned out each day by the movie companies. It simply crashes on newer DVDs with no explanation of why, and it has to do with the team not developing the program further to handle these new schemes. I know it is not a DVD ripper, but that is no excuse for DVD2OneX's inability to handle newer titles that have quirky IFO files in them (even after they have been SUCCESSFULLY extracted by other means.) With the developer making good money off each license of this app, it is not too much to ask for to have this functionality added.
Like
Version 2.1.2
dwp-1
27 February 2007
May not be the best user interface but it beats Toast hands down in speed and compatability. Try burning a Video_ts folder that contains empty cells with Toast, the said DVD will stall in your DVD player and be unplayable. With DVD2One you can deactivate the empty cells and burn a DVD that will work with your DVD player. I'd rather burn DVD backups that work and with DVD2One you get backup DVD's that work.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Jan13
03 February 2007
THIS SOFTWARE IS ONE OF THE WORST (!) UPGRADES IN HISTORY OF MY MAC LIFE SINCE 1982 !!! I JUST TROUGH AWAY MY $$$ FOR IS IDIOTIC UPGRADE WISH IS NOTHING THEN A JOKE !!! GOING BACK TO PREVIOUS VERSION WITH SADNESS IN MY HEARD THAT I SHOULD PEND THOSE MONEY RATHER FOR COLD GLASS OF BEER ... VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS SOFTWARE !!!
Like
Version 2.1.1
Mr.Ash
16 December 2006
Great app but very ugly user interface. Unfortunatly a bit too expensive and when you have Toast 7 this app is usless cause Toast 7 does the same job.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Bluestar
15 December 2006
Great app with what must be the worst user interface design in history.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Dp-G4-450guy
07 December 2006
On Panther 10.3.9 with all updates including SU 2006-007, crashes upon launch. Sending a bug report to the developer. Maybe the universal binary compiled wrong? Date/Time: 2006-12-07 08:04:03 -0500 OS Version: 10.3.9 (Build 7W98) Report Version: 2 Command: DVD2oneX2 Path: /Applications/DVD2oneX2.app/Contents/MacOS/DVD2oneX2 Version: ??? (2.1.0) PID: 515 Thread: 0 Exception: EXC_BREAKPOINT (0x0006) Code[0]: 0x00000001 Code[1]: 0x90a8d2c0 etc., etc. Ratings based on older version for features but others on this latest.
Like
Version 2.1
Itbjorn
06 December 2006
I want to downgrade, but the files are not there anymore. This new on crashes. where is 2.07?
Like
Version 2.1
Macmed
04 October 2006
When I tried to make a movie copy, it didn't allow me because "DVD2one2 can not decrypt protected data". How can I decrypt it? Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Robackja
28 September 2006
I have been using since 2.0.3, about 10min on dual-core 2.3 G5 to encode a movie after using MacTheRipper to extract it. As for 2.0.6, being able to set the process priority in the preferences was a request I made on the forums and the developers implemented it!!! hooray!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Aclore
23 May 2006
Well, I d/l'ed the app and tried to buy the update (as a registered owner of 1.x) The app would not take my serial number! I contacted the author, only to be told that the number I had paid for was done on their older billing/password system and could not be used. Huh? No offer to help me out. So, I'll stick with the very stable v1.4.0.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Shotgunweddings
19 May 2006
I agree with both sides on this one. ¥ When DVD2oneX works properly it does the job easily and exactly as you wished. BUT not since version 2 was released ¥ I stopped wasting my time with any version of it. MTR and Toast 7 do the job just fine now for me. I use MTR for a full backup then use Toast to make it fit a 4.3 DVD or to a DL. It's a cruder option but at least my DVD's play on all DVD's including desktop players! ¥ Since the introduction of DVD2oneX 2.0, I have had the same issue as some of the others here. DVD's that came out bad or completely useless on desktop DVD players! They all worked fine in my Mac or my GF's Compaq but not in any desktop player I tried. I'm assuming it's got something to do with the compression method/engine since it's been drastically changed from the one that worked flawlessly in the older 1.x flavours. I will not rate this normally good application or slam the developer(s), but something needs to be fixed with it's compression engine! DVD's shouldn't keep choking or dying 3/4's of the way or limited to being watched on a computer only. I've had both Panther & Tiger OSX and I've had 2 different DVD drives (SL now DL) since DVDxDV 2.0 was released, all with varying bad results. Finally, this isn't the only application that doesn't allow the user to cancel a burn when an error is encountered and it would be nice if it became a standardized option for all burn software!
Like
Version 2.0.5
Wiseweasel
09 March 2006
Well, the app functions nicely, but unfortunately, they still haven't fixed the interface introduced in DVD2OneX 2.0, and it's still a huge pain in the ass to work with (this coming from a long-time user of DVD2OneX 1.x - so I'm no noob). They aren't listening to any of the feedback, and seem to be content to leave us with this lame interface, all for the sake of having a single code base for Mac and Windows. That's fine with me as long as they make the Windows version behave like the Mac one, and not vice-versa. If they hope to be successful on the Mac, they need to fix the interface ASAP!
Like
Version 2.0.4
4 answer(s)
Markoh
Markoh
10 March 2006
wiseweasel, when will you just give it a rest ;) hehe... Worry about getting MTR to 3.0 final and let developers of DTOX worry about their own GUI :)
Like
Version 2.0.4
Wiseweasel
Wiseweasel
10 March 2006
Because I use this great frickin' app all the time, and the new interface is not efficient and wastes my time. I rated version 1.4.2 all 5's. The problem is that I'm on my Macbook Pro now, and I can't really use the old version anymore...
Like
Version 2.0.4
Micky1
Micky1
10 March 2006
wouldn't it make more sense to post a complaint in the developers forum?
Like
Version 2.0.4
S-P-L-A-T-!
S-P-L-A-T-!
18 May 2006
im really agree with the fiirst comment! is faaarrrrrrrrrrrrrr away better the old interface!
Like
Version 2.0.5
freelunch
05 March 2006
I had to post this review after reading the last few no star or 1 star reviews. After downloading DVD2oneX 2.0.3, paying €47 for the app and receiving my serial within seconds, I successfully burned three DVD movies without making a single coaster. It didn't crash and the movies play perfectly. I didn't even read any instructions, so it's all pretty intuitive. There are plenty of options to choose from, but the default settings worked for me. There may be better or cheaper alternatives, I don't know - haven't tried any. But, this one works quite well. MacTheRipper/DVD2oneX/Toast 7 DP G5/10.4.5/3.5Gb RAM
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Nikodemus
Nikodemus
06 March 2006
I agree. I don't know what these guys are talking about, maybe they're not using the same program as us and they're reviewing the wrong product... I mean how hard can this be?
Like
Version 2.0.3
Iblink
27 January 2006
I have been using DVD2oneX for some time now and never had a problem until I upgraded to the latest version. Seems that when the compression takes place something is going wrong, causing the DVD to stop playing in my DVD player. It works fine when playing the movie on my computer, but when using a regular DVD player, the video stops and then shuts down. I am then left looking at the DVD Player default screen. I have since reverted to a previous version and all is well. Wasted a few DVD-Rs though. :-(
Like
Version 2.0.2
Lnr1
24 January 2006
Crashes straight after i open a Video_TS Folder. What is up?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Mbhockey
09 January 2006
100 dollars? I bought the first version of this software, it was $50 (and there seems to be no price break for previous owners of this guy's software). Even then it was pricey, and before Popcorn was released. I would save your money, and get Popcorn. Yes this program was good, but Popcorn and Toast will do MORE than this program for a fraction of the price. Maybe this guy made a mistake when he did the Frank to USD conversion?
Like
Version 2.0.2
5 answer(s)
Mbhockey
Mbhockey
09 January 2006
I'd like to retract my previous comments. It does not seem to be the case, that it's 100 dollars. On their site, it's 39.99 and 25 to upgrade (Euros).
Like
Version 2.0.2
Robingo88
Robingo88
09 January 2006
Not sure where this $100 figure is coming from... just went over to the developer's site and the program is about $60US for new users and about $30US for an upgrade from version 1.x... i'm no defender of this developer (there does seem to be a -if i can't reproduce the problem, the problem doesn't exist- attitude, and the program has become distincly less mac-like in the user interface... but with a Quad G5, this thing swings, and lets you choose every combination of title and cell (and audio track) without making you pay more (like DVDRemaster does)... but at the end of the day, its just a tool... if you don't think it's worth the price, use a different tool
Like
Version 2.0.2
Mbhockey
Mbhockey
09 January 2006
I'm curious if you just completely disregarded my immediate correction?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Robingo88
Robingo88
09 January 2006
truth be told, i missed it completely... sorry... the new structure of MU comments still baffles me... you -did- correct yourself... many apologies! r.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Nikodemus
Nikodemus
10 January 2006
Yeah, I bet it swings on a Quad...but it'll swing even faster and faster with newer hardware on the way all the time. I'm just really glad that this developer has taken the time to make use of Dual CPU's and Dual Core and Quads, so far there's very few out there that even care.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Mapache
09 January 2006
Nice and fast DVD Shrinker. Really nice application. I don't understand the comment about the price beeing higher then the price of Toast 7: From the Website: "Price is only 39.99 Euro for the Windows version and Mac OS-X version."
Like
Version 2.0.2
Macbeth
19 December 2005
It does what it says on the tin, and does it fast and well. The only problem is the astronomically high price. It's hard to believe, but this program costs $20 more than Toast Titanium 7, a complete CD/DVD authoring suite that can also compress and burn decrypted or un-encrypted DVDs. Now that Roxio has integrated Popcorn into Toast, Toast 7 does everything DVD2One does plus so much more that you would be out of your mind if you bought this one-trick pony for a higher price. Toast's compression algorithm produces excellent results; the quality of DVDs compressed with DVD2One is in no way superior. If the developer lowered the price to $25 or less, DVD2One might still have a future as an efficient, low-budget DVD backup tool, but at $100, it simply has no right to exist. I'm really sorry to say that, I'd rather support an independent programmer than a company like Roxio. But the price is too far beyond reality.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Wjb3wvu
Wjb3wvu
01 January 2006
Agree!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
28 November 2005
Download link doesn't work at present.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
19 November 2005
Works great! My compression times now down to just a few minutes thanks to the support for dual CPU's. FINALLY...
Like
Version 2.0