Back to TimeWorks page
TimeWorks free download for Mac

TimeWorks Reviews

1.2.18
08 November 2018

View iCal events in a window or as screensaver (was iCalViewer).

tsmallwood
01 January 2015

Most helpful

My TimeWorks stopped working as soon as the calendar changed to January 1, 2015. I tried going to support, but they just tried to sell me other apps.
Like (5)
Version 1.2.8

Read 55 TimeWorks User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sonnendeck
23 November 2017
Seems to be dead. Does not work with "High Sierra". The developer did not answer my mail.
Like
Version 1.2.16
Penguirl
18 November 2017
I loved iCal Viewer, but TimeWorks seems glitchy about submitting registration information during the "trial" period. Now, months later, it has stopped working completely. I tried deleting it entirely, reinstalling, and reregistering it but no joy. I contacted the developer, but the response was from a lackey telling me the developer would get back to me soon. That was months ago. Buyer beware.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.16
Anapat
02 January 2017
Timeworks Version 1.2.12 stopped working for registered users on January 1st, 2017. If you delete it and download again from the Appstore, you will still get the same version again and it will still not launch. You take your computer's date back to December 31, 2016, the program will work again. It's really annoying because it's such an essential piece of software. Please Karl, fix it ! Thanks to all the users that pointed out the date problems in the past. It's here again.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.15
2 answer(s)
Paolo-Cordone
Paolo-Cordone
02 January 2017
We had the same problem in the transition to 2014-2015. I don't know why the developer cannot fix such a seemingly easy bug. Only solution I found, like yourself, is to change the date to anything in 2016, launch TimeWorks and then update the clock again. If course, this must be done every time you re-launch TW.
Like
Anapat
Anapat
05 January 2017
1.2.16 came out. The problem is fixed. Thank you, Karl ! And happy new year, at least !
Like (1)
Feh-App-Store
31 August 2015
Anyone know if the Crapstore version gets us past the date bug? Crapstore version is listed as 1.2.10 and looking at the comments it *seems* like the bug is fixed there. I've bought the direct download version however, which is still the bugged version on Karl's site. The temporary bug fix is also up, but it expired Jul 15th. Karl's been unresponsive to emails. Wondering if the Crapstore version does indeed have the fix and debating whether or not to bite the bullet and get that so I can get my Timeworks working again. Lack of responsiveness (and the fact that I've already bought this twice (Timeworks and iCalViewer)) has me a bit wary. Not sure why the versions are out of sync. =(
Like
Version 1.2.8
Feh-App-Store
15 July 2015
Interim release expired today. No note about fix on Karl's site. =(
Like
Version 1.2.8
Bonobo
23 January 2015
oops … accidentally clicked twice
Like
Version 1.2.8
Bonobo
23 January 2015
FYI: Karl Goiser has put a working “beta” on his Web site, expires in July, doesn’t yet incorporate Reminders.
Like
Version 1.2.8
Sonnendeck
22 January 2015
This Beta fixes things. Free download for anyone. https://www.goiser.com/downloads/TimeWorks_Beta_1.0.0.zip
Like (3)
Version 1.2.8
2 answer(s)
Feh-App-Store
Feh-App-Store
22 January 2015
Confirmed. Thanks for the heads up. Thanks Karl for continuing to support one of my few "Must Have" apps!
Like (1)
Bonobo
Bonobo
23 January 2015
oh … didn’t notice that you had mentioned the beta before I did …thank you.
Like
xcnakl
20 January 2015
I've confirmed that the date is the problem, if you change the system time to somewhere in 2014 it will work again. Needless to say, it won't be any use if you have the wrong year setup. I really hope this will be fixed, this app is one of those little gems that I use daily. I will still give it 5 stars because I'm an optimist.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.8
1 answer(s)
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
20 January 2015
The developer should at least mention or explain the problem on his website. But there is no response from him. He does not answer my email. This is a very unprofessional behavior towards its customers.
Like (1)
Sonnendeck
14 January 2015
Karl has obviously still hungover from New Year's Eve. Maybe there were a few beers too much :) Good morning Karl, your app TimeWorks does not work anymore ....
Like (1)
Version 1.2.8
Pimm's
07 January 2015
Also version 1.2.9 does not work for me! Come on Karl, fix this please.
Like (5)
Version 1.2.8
7 answer(s)
Paolo-Cordone
Paolo-Cordone
08 January 2015
No joy here :( I am not sure it was a problem with Yosemite, more like something to do with 2015. It stopped working on all my Macs, on various OS versions. Fix please?
Like (3)
Bonobo
Bonobo
09 January 2015
Same here. First, when it showed the update, it wasn’t possible to d’load it, now it’s here, it won’t launch.
Like (3)
Jonsi
Jonsi
10 January 2015
won´t launch :(
Like (2)
Jonsi
Jonsi
10 January 2015
Version 1.2.9 from the App Store does not work. On the other hand, v. 1.2.9 downloaded from the website works, although it is in demo-mode...
Like (3)
Feh-App-Store
Feh-App-Store
12 January 2015
Can confirm non-AppStore version working fine w/ exception of not being able to validate.
Like (3)
Paolo-Cordone
Paolo-Cordone
12 January 2015
Is there a way to retrieve registration details from the developer? I'd like to try the non-AppStore version and register it with my serial number. But I cannot find the number anymore :(
Like (1)
Bonobo
Bonobo
12 January 2015
Same here as for “Feh-App-Store”:
• AppStore version 1.2.9 won’t launch
• Demo version 1.2.9 from Web site works … with exception of Reminders (which formerly were ToDos)
Like (3)
Bonobo
06 January 2015
Sadly, this once wonderful and indispensable utility doesn’t work any more on Yosemite — since January 2015! What’s that? Planned obsolescence? And this after I’ve paid the developer twice … once for the prequel of TimeWorks (forgot the name), then later for TimeWorks on the Mac AppStore :-/
Like (3)
Version 1.2.8
1 answer(s)
Feh-App-Store
Feh-App-Store
07 January 2015
iCalViewer. I had that too. Best calendar-at-a-glance software. Sad to see it broken like this. =(

Should also mention I had 0 issues w/ it running on Yosemite. It's tied to Jan 1, 2015 for some reason.
Like (3)
Feh-App-Store
06 January 2015
I know you're not actively developing this anymore, but pleeeeaaaaase update this incredibly awesome app to remove this "2015: stop working" bug (?). It's only been 5 months since I bought it and it's like I'm blind w/o my upcomings walking across my desktop. =(
Like (2)
Version 1.2.8
1 answer(s)
Paolo-Cordone
Paolo-Cordone
06 January 2015
Yes, I assume that fixing this bug cannot be too difficult. I am also lost without the software, I found it so invaluable!
Like (2)
tsmallwood
01 January 2015
My TimeWorks stopped working as soon as the calendar changed to January 1, 2015. I tried going to support, but they just tried to sell me other apps.
Like (5)
Version 1.2.8
3 answer(s)
Mathias-h
Mathias-h
01 January 2015
Same here. Don't start since new year.
Like (4)
Paolo-Cordone
Paolo-Cordone
02 January 2015
Same happened to me. I thought something had become corrupted, so deleted all related files and re-installed, to no avail :( Fix please...
Like (3)
waynerrr
waynerrr
03 January 2015
Used to a brilliant app!

But since i updated to Yosamite it just doesnt launch

It was starting to play up on mountain lion - and i have wasted tons of hours on 10.8 wondering why it wasnt launching.

One of the reasons i updated to 10.10

But now itdoes nothing

Tried a lot of the other apps to try to find a replacement but nothing does the timeline idea that this app was so unique at doing

In the end found deskcal http://hashbangind.com/iDeskCal

FREE trial version on there website and then if you like it after 14 days you can buy it for £8.99 in the apple app store

Unhappy i cant use this much loved appp anymore

but im just wasting an incredible amount of time trying to get it working correctly
Like (1)
Penguirl
01 November 2013
Well this is strange. In 10.8 iCalViewer ran, but did not ‘see’ my calendars so nothing showed up on the desktop. Now I’ve installed 10.9 and it works just like it used to in 10.6. I hope a future update doesn’t break it, it sure is nice to have it back. Good thing I didn’t uninstall it!
Like
Version 1.2.6
Penguirl
23 October 2013
I loved, and lived by, iCalViewer. It still 'runs' in 10.8.5, but it doesn't see any of my Apple calendars, it only sees my Google calendar which is blank anyway. Sadly that is still better than what TimeWorks does, which is nothing. Unless crashing counts as something. TW doesn't stay running long enough to even see the UI, that's assuming it has a UI because I wouldn't know. As is I wouldn't keep it on my Mac if it were free, which it isn't. DateLine seems to be the next best thing but I miss iCalViewer's "finish line" approach to showing appointments, meetings, etc…
Like
Version 1.2.6
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
23 October 2013
PS: The above download link yields v1.2.7, not v1.2.6. Perhaps v1.2.6 works great but I will never know.
Like
Rob-h
19 October 2013
Interesting app and I've been after something that will put upcoming iCal appointments on the desktop for a while now. For me there are a couple of issues though. - It insists on showing events from 'yesterday', wish there was a way to turn this off in preferences. - Events go off the edge of the screen and are clipped (even when you turn on the border). Would be nice if the app used your screen dimensions to avoid this. - Seems to be a bug where a new event is displayed twice when you're adding it to iCal. The fix is to quite/restart TimeWorks. Despite this, I like the display and the fact that it works with my 3 monitor setup (notwithstanding the odd issue). Looking forward to some updates.
Like
Version 1.2.6
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
12 August 2012
What, no discount for those of us who payed for iCal Viewer?? Unforgiveable!
Like
Version 1.2.5
2 answer(s)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
12 August 2012
OK, sorry. I see on the website that there's a promised upgrade for some people, although nothing so far. Also, hopefully by the time we can get the discount, TimeWorks will be working.
Like
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
12 August 2012
The developer mentions "one unresolved issue" about TimeWorks on his website. LOL, has he noticed that the app DOESN'T EVEN OPEN under Mountain Lion? On both my new laptop and my new iMac, when I double-click on TimeWorks, Mac OS tells me this app should be moved to Trash.
Like
Sonnendeck
30 July 2012
TimeWorks 1.2.3 seems not to work with Mountain Lion!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Sonnendeck
16 April 2012
Good work, much better then the old version.
Like
Version 1.2.3
cmayberry
08 January 2012
Just downloaded the app and it won't even open. What a waste.
Like
Version 1.2.2
2 answer(s)
Drumshanbo
Drumshanbo
09 January 2012
the dev is aware and is working on it.
Like
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
12 August 2012
If the developer is aware of the problem, why doesn't he mention it under FAQ on his website? Oh, that would interfere with sales. :-(
Like
Cowicide
06 December 2011
Such a shame, I was really excited to try this, but it doesn't seem to work with other people's google calendars that have been shared with me and are in my iCal. Without this ability, TimeWorks is hobbled and fairly useless to me. I'm using 10.6.8, so YMMV, of course...
Like
Version 1.2.2
Joop-Vos
29 July 2011
Mmm ... it looks promising, but this (new) app has some serious bugs in Lion. I presume the dev is working like hell to fix them. We'll have to wait and see ...
Like
Version 1.1.5
Rotuared
17 March 2011
I have purcachsed the application on 20 April 2010 and is now to pay again for an update. A nerve! I hope it is not a model for future software developers.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anon-Bud
09 January 2011
So now this is only available through the App Store? I cannot even get my earlier version to update. Not a good move, developer. Is this the wave of the future? Now the only way to get new apps is through the App Store? Not a good move, Apple. Please tell me this isn't so!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Karl-Goiser
Karl-Goiser
09 February 2011
Updates and availability via the web will be fixed.
Like
Drumshanbo
06 January 2011
It appears this is called TimeWorks now?? http://www.explodingorange.com/
Like
Version 2.1.8
Robertcoogan
20 July 2010
A nice app, but needs some tweaking to make it more appealing. The events and To-do's that appear on the desktop don't fit the entire screen (tried this on my iMac and MBP). You can't edit the events without opening iCal. You can't customize the colors to make them less noticeable. You are essentially just putting iCal on the desktop - so why not just open iCal (or BusyCal, which is better), and then hide it until you need it? Overall a nice effort, but needs some additional features and bug fixes to make it worth 11 bucks.
Like
Version 2.1.8
Diseyefur
12 May 2010
This WAS my favorite calendar tool for my desktop, but then all of a sudden it stopped appearing on my desktop in Snow Leopard. I don't know why, but since it wouldn't show up anymore then I decided to remove it. When it did work then it did a great job, but it isn't the most prettiest calendar and not much customization to it. I mainly like having the events listed and I'd usually make the horizontal calendar transparent (invisible). The one thing I hated is if I made the horizontal calendar 7 days and my events list 21 days then if there wasn't anything listed in those 7 days then the events calendar would disappear. I always like being able to see what is coming up and I didn't really care for the horizontal calendar. So I had to add a bunch of days to the horizontal and make it transparent, so I could have my events list up. The other complaint is that once that day came up then the event would disappear off the list and that can be a bad thing, because wouldn't you like to know what is due that day? Of course I could see it in the horizontal calendar, but I just didn't like the look to it and taking up my entire desktop. Also it looked strange with so many days in it. I used busysync in conjunction of this program. I did this mainly to get google calendar updates into ical and then have icalviewer display my google calendar on my desktop. It worked great for awhile, but like I said it suddenly stopped working and I couldn't get it to appear on my desktop or even through its own window. So I found a replacement for this program and it is called Rainlendar, which for whatever reason is not listed in macupdate. It is a cross platform based program and they have a free or pro edition. I got the pro version since it can get google calendar and ical in the same time. It pretty much seems to have everything this does and custom skins, so you can make it look as nice or as ugly as you want. The only problem with rainlendar is if you lock it to desktop and decide to hide the tray icon and dock icon then adding events or todos is a pain. For whatever reason it will get hidden into the desktop and you can't click on the calendar. Only way you can click on it is by starting the program again OR waiting for an event alarm to pop-up. This isn't really an issue since I don't mind adding events through google directly and I have no reason to mess with the calendar on my desktop. I just need to be able to see it. The other nice thing is you can add a weather widget to it as well. Right now it is only eating about 18 mb of memory and that isn't bad at all. Compared to icalviewer and busysync eating about twice or even three times more than that of resources. Also if you compare rainlendar is $13.00 while icalviewer is $11.00 and plus busysync is $39.00 which makes it $50.00 for the same thing that rainlendar can do already built in. Also the nice thing is that it isn't tied to one OS that means your license works in Linux, Windows, and Mac. That might not matter to some, but if you change your mind and want it on your windows machine instead or linux then you have the option to move it without having to buy another license for that os.
Like
Version 2.1.8
Sonnendeck
23 February 2010
Nice App! Just one problem: It's not possible to use the photo from the addressbook. Any idea?!
Like
Version 2.1.8
Feh-App-Store
31 August 2009
I've already given this great app 5 starts, so I won't review it again. Just wanted to say it's working 100% under Snow Leopard.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
Jacquesass
31 October 2007
This is truly an excellent piece of software. It presents your calendar data in a very unobtrusive manner - on your desktop - with at-a-glance access to upcoming events and countdowns to important events. The first question most people ask when they see my desktop is: "What is that?" If they are using a Mac, they almost always buy it; if they are on a PC, they usually then get a Mac. It is one of the few shareware products that I would pay for again with no hesitation (the low price helps).
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
Kyle-Barrow
31 October 2007
I haven't found any other software that's even close to bringing my iCal events and tasks into focus like iCalViewer. Support is great with the developer responding and fixing a bug I found with Leopard in just a few hours.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
09 October 2007
Four-and-a-half stars for the software, which is extremely useful and clever, and which now works flawlessly. FIVE STARS for the developer, who took plenty of time with me by email to troubleshoot some minor problems, as well as to chat a bit about his country and life. Really nice guy. *****
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Feh-App-Store
11 September 2007
Totally worth the money. Saved my butt in college, use it constantly at work. Great for keeping on top of what's coming up.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Rpphoto
09 February 2007
If you like to keep your agenda in front of you, this is a great app. The glowing comments below are true, too. And, the developer is extremely personable and on top of keeping in touch with you regarding support issues.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.8
hced
06 January 2007
I've been using iCalViewer for years now, and it still has a permanent seat among my favorite applications. I can't imagine how anyone, with even the slightest predilection for knowing what's scheduled ahead, could possibly live without iCalViewer.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
Aname
09 February 2006
One of the most groundbreaking shareware app that I've even bought. I've used iCalViewer for one and a half years now and it still is one of the greatest little pearls of all applications. Buy it. You won't regret it, ever. Some may say, they would get stressed seeing their todo timeline on the desktop every day. But on the contrary, I would say, isn't it more stressing looking in your calendar, only to find out that you have missed an appointment by 3 days? iCalViewer lets you plan ahead. Not only do I like how you can have it on your desktop, underneath all your icons, but also I worship the feature that makes it run as a scree saver, and that, along with other screen savers too! Awesome.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
Jump420
26 January 2006
I just tried the software. I agree with other reviewers, the idea is strong, but the execution is a bit clunky, and in the way. It also needs an option to pick which monitor you would like it to appear in.
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Karl-Goiser
Karl-Goiser
27 January 2006
"... the execution is a bit clunky, and in the way." Well, I both agree and don't. For example, if the events are underneath everything, they can't be in the way. However, I would like to hear more detail on what you find clunky in the execution so I can make it better. "It also needs an option to pick which monitor you would like it to appear in." Next version... Thank you for looking at iCalViewer.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
14 October 2005
This application if genious. I love it and it's one of those programs that you'll never regret purchasing. I really like the concept of having a moving timeline on the desktop. It's like really being in control of what you're supposed to do. It's awesome to be able to see something approach that vertical yellow line, knowing since a long time in beforehand what will happen and be able to prepare for whatever the event demands of you. This is a 5 star program and many kudos goes to the brilliant developer for doing it. Keep up the good work. PS. I almost forgot to say also, that I really love the Screensaver addition to this program. Kewl...!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
To the developer: PLEASE fix the 2 bugs with the iCalViewer. (I'm requesting this because I too paid for this app.) 1. The app version I downloaded says it 2.0.4. Yet when it asks if I want to check for the latest version that's available, it downloads a version 1.1.4 version. This is very confusing. 2.The version I'm using chops off the first two lines of each notification that is posted on the desktop. This makes me crazy. I believe what's happening is that the Mac OS X 10.4.1 Finder menu bar covers up those first two lines. Please make the app draw these notifications BELOW the MENU BAR, not BEHIND it. Thank you.
Like
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
Hello Ricky, With regards to your problems, item (1) was fixed a while ago. With item (2), I have never seen the problem you mention. Could you please email me via support (at)iCalViewer.com and we'll try to work out what caused the situation. Regards, Karl
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
11 July 2005
The newest version works OK on Tiger except for a minor bug when one displays the iCal notifications on the Tiger (10.4.1) desktop and the top half of each notification is partially obscured by the menubar (when the notification has "all day" checked, making it display at the top of the screen). Also, I noticed that the newest version worked for a couple of days, then stopped displaying the notifications. It only began to work again when I re-installed iCalView a second time. Overall, I'm happy I paid for this.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
06 July 2005
My problem is that I bought this iCalViewer and then, shortly thereafter, I bought Mac OSX 10.4.1 Tiger. Eventually I figured out that iCalViewer doesn't work under Tiger. As long as the months pass by and a Tiger-compatible version doesn't emerge, I'm going to have this depressing suspicion that I've bait-and-switched, that I bought snake oil that doesn't cure my dropsy.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Karl Goiser
20 May 2004
If anybody has any problem with iCalViewer, please contact me about it. I am readily contactable via iCalViewer.com and promise not to bite! I am one person writing, testing and supporting iCalViewer and don't have the resources to test against all possible environments, so if there's a bug, how am I to know about it and fix it? I am not saying you shouldn't tell people about bad experiences, I am suggesting that you should tell me about it so I can fix it. If you don't tell me about it, and nobody else does, I can't consider it a problem and at all and have to wonder if it isn't something else causing the problem, or something else entirely. Please, please, please contact me. Karl
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
17 May 2004
iCalViewer was the only app under osx 10.2.8 which crashed, and but hard, my computer. I had to reinstall the os and apps. sad :(
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 May 2004
Hello, Can you please contact me via email at support at icalviewer.com so I can do something about your crash? (I have run it on 10.2.8 and don't get any problems.) It is important to me that iCalViewer works well and, while bugs will inevitably slip through, I will try to fix them as fast as I can. Thanks, Karl
Like
Version 1.1.1
Hemantha
16 April 2004
Hi, I think iCalViewer is an awesome application. But I have some issues with it. The todo list doesn't show up. Also, it uses alot of memory. It uses 27MB of real memory which is kind of more for such an application.
Like
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 April 2004
G'Day, Thanks for the comment and kind words. As you can see, 1.1 was only days away from your note and includes to do viewing. With regards to memory use, my main motivation has been to use as few cpu cycles as possible - at the expense of memory. But I accept your point and will try to slim it down a bit... Karl
Like
Version 1.1
Greg
12 January 2004
The calendar appointments, as they move across the screen, have a strong tendency to collapse into thin slivers. This did not happen in the previous version.
Like
Version 1.0.7b
Anonymous
03 January 2004
This is excellent. I'd love a side bar on the desktop that showed my to-do list too.
Like
Version 1.0.7b
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
It's coming!
Like
Version 1.0.7b
Karl-Goiser
02 January 2004
I accidentally left some code from version 1.0.1 which now proves to be more annoying than helpful. My apologies. A fixed version can be obtained via my .Mac account (http://homepage.mac.com/kgg/icv.html) or: http://homepage.mac.com/kgg/.cv/kgg/Public/iCalViewer%201.0.7a.zip-link.zip Karl
Like
Version 1.0.7
Anonymous
25 November 2003
The Calendar-On-Desktop feature is one of the best ideas I've seen since Expose. The one only problem is it doesn't work with Expose. :( If you Show Desktop, it hides the Calendar as well as the applications. It's a pity, because F11 is the fastest way to get to your desktop when you've got tons of windows open, and it would be great if it were a shortcut key for the calendar. Anyway, thanks for the great app!
Like
Version 1.0.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2003
At the moment, there is no way to tell Exposé to leave your application alone. The problem for Apple is that if they allow everybody to bypass Exposé, you may as well not have it. I am sure Apple is working hard at addressing this issue.
Like
Version 1.0.7
Anonymous
03 November 2003
What a great utility... one of those simple ideas that people 'get' instantly (at least those I've shown!) It's an excellent way to keep an eye on your schedule, and makes iCal even better (no more forgetting about events until the reminder that you set far too close to the fact!) With more polish (that the developer has been displaying with his updates), this will become an indispensable tool to a lot of people. I'm particularly looking forward to the release of Snerdware's GroupCal, to see my events locked in MS Exchange! ; )
Like
Version 1.0.5