Back to Focus page
Focus free download for Mac

Focus Reviews

2.8
19 July 2012

Shows frontmost application icon.

Anonymous
15 April 2003

Most helpful

OK, this may sound weird...but this little gem may actually be the thing I like best about living and working in OS X. Don't get me wrong: there's plenty to admire in OS X: stability, power, reliability (you know all that). But for me, it's a pretty humorless place...without a lot of the half-useful/half-whimsical touches that always distinguished the "classic" Mac OS. So I respect OS X, but I don't have a lot of deep-down affection for it. Focus, on the other hand, is the kind of little Mac app that inspires just that kind of affection. It's elegantly implemented and it's fully customizable (as too many OS X apps are not). It's small, and it doesn't hog up the CPU. And it helps make the somewhat austere OS X environment seem a little more friendly. Is it useful? Sure. It's great to have that instant feedback on the frontmost application. And the clock (what a brilliant idea!) only enhances its usefulness. Is it whimsical? You bet. Watching those floating icons cross-fade and vanish under the mouse is just plain fun. I keep my icon in the lower-right-hand corner, looking for all the world like a TV-station icon. Cool! Sometimes OS X makes me growl at its obtuseness; sometimes OS X makes me gape in amazement at its capabilities. But thanks to Focus, OS X now does something else: it makes me smile. Hello...Apple? Please hire this gentleman. OS X badly needs him.
Like
Version 2.0

Read 18 Focus User Reviews

Rate this app:

Djefis
09 February 2014
Very nice.
Like
Version 2.7
Stranger
12 August 2012
WIll this app change the TEXT of the current app/finder to the right of the apple menu to an icon? I had something that used to do that, but since upgrading to 10.8 I can't find it. I think it was part of an app I used to have, but I don't recall what it was
Like
Version 2.7
2 answer(s)
Eerko
Eerko
07 September 2012
Hi Stranger, This is something Focus can't do, unfortunately.
Like (1)
Stranger
Stranger
08 September 2012
I actually found an app that did what I was looking for...AppMenu Magic. It works great for me, other than the thanks for registering message I keep getting!
Like
gcoghill
13 October 2007
Focus is a great little app for those that want something like this - visual users who like to see the icon instead of plain text showing the user which application is in front. Glad to see this updated to Intel, thanks!
Like
Version 2.6
Igabe
10 February 2007
Superb. I make the 'Focused icon' ~100px large and put it on top of the menubar (partially hidden gives it a nice look) in the top right of my screen. Set it to hide when the mouse approaches the area for Spotlight.
Like
Version 2.6
hced
01 February 2007
Follow-up on EL-CRAVITO's comments below: It would be nice if I could exclude the Finder icon, but keep the clock dials. :)
Like
Version 2.6
hced
23 January 2007
Hi, you asked for my CPU usage. I have a Mac G5 dual 2.5 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, ATI Radeon 9800 XT Pro (256 MB), PPC, OS X 10.4.8. I tried to use some of the memory analyzing programs in the Developer suite, but I'm not too sure how they works, so I used the old 'top' method in Terminal. In normal operation, without moving the mouse or doing anything that affects Focus, it's between 0.6% - 1.1% CPU (never less, never more than this). If I switch from the current program to another program, Focus goes up to about 4.5% CPU, and stays there for about 1.0 seconds. Maximum CPU usage value that I've seen so far: 10.3% CPU. At the time of this test, I only had Safari, Mail and Terminal open. Although, I'm using a lot of window-less apps such as iCalViewer, Zooom, Relaunch, MacMinder, etc. I don't mean to say that Focus is a complette memory hog, not by any chance. :) But if it could help in any way, these are my statistics. Good luck with further improvement and thanks a bundle, for a very nice application! (I definitely intend to keep using it!). Henrik
Like
Version 2.6
hced
23 January 2007
I love it. Works great! Looks geourgeous. One note: it seems like it's a little hard on your CPU resources, but I guess that is the price you'll have to pay for eye candy such as this. :) Thanks!
Like
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Eerko
Eerko
23 January 2007
Thanks for your positive feedback. CPU usage is around 0.3% on my 1.5GHz G4 (10.4.8). Can you tell me how much Focus uses on your system, and what kind of system you're running?
Like
Version 2.6
New-User
18 February 2006
Well it does what it says, it displays the current app icon. Personally I like to put it next to the App menu in the menubar at 16x16 size. I wish Apple gave us the option of doing that. It's a nice app. But it's not actually useful in any sense. Just more eye-candy on the screen.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
24 June 2005
Basically what previews reviewers have said. Really great little app!
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
02 May 2005
http://homepage.mac.com/eerko/sit/Focus.sit
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
22 March 2005
Focus is the perfect way to make your PC friends salivate over OS X's display capabilities. I use mine to display the current app's icon towards the middle right of my screen. It makes using my machine much friendler. It's a wonderful cue for non-mac folks to see when they've "switched" applications (ie, "Am I *in* the Finder??") You can exclude screen hogging apps, like Photoshop and iMovie, so Focus doesn't display an icon. It would be nice if Focus automatically hid itself when a window (or pallete) of the front-most app were under it. Focus DOES crash under one scenario: when an app you've listed as an exclusion has been moved/deleted since you lasted launched Focus. You can either delete the entire plist file (akin to clearing the exclusion list), or edit the plist file - since it's just an XML list. To edit the plist, use Property List Editor (comes with Mac Dev Tools CD) or Plist Editor Pro (here on MacUpdate). [Standard disclaimer applies for non-techies who wish to fiddle without consequences!] Another gripe is the performance of this vertiable eye-candy software. Regarding "exclusioned" apps, Focus still shows the icon for a split second before hiding it. So, in my setup, you get a glimpse of the QuickTime Player icon when switching to QuickTime Player. It makes the app feel jerky and I'm sure this could be revised in a future version. A final gripe is that this app is psuedo-backgroundless. In other words, it should have been made as a preference pane extension(?) instead of an application. The only way to view Focus's preferences is on your first start-up (I think) and when you launch it when it's already launched. Plus the preference window is really a modal window (or is that pallete). The sad news is that this app seems to be discontinued. The good news is that it's a nice accessory to a mac system that's fairly set and doesn't change much - else you'll get the exclusions-crash problem. I use it and hope it gets revised some day. I wouldn't mind Apple somehow including this in their system either. Focus really goes well with a friendly mac and assists people who have difficulty using computers with visual cues. I recommend you download the app and chuck it if you don't like it.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
22 March 2005
The software is no longer available, the developer and his website have disappeared. Please contact me if you have an archived copy of this software... Thanks!
Like
Version 2.5
Stephen Moye
08 March 2005
The web site offering this software (Dutch, I think) does not seem to be 'live' any more. Does anyone know of an alternate site for this?
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
24 December 2003
Don't know why one reviewer said this was buggy... I use it and like it. Works on Panther. Love the analog clock on the icon.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
14 August 2003
It's getting better and better for each version release. For those of us who look at things "visually", this utility is a no-brainer. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
23 June 2003
A good alternative to this is X-Assist, that's my two cents.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Anonymous
30 April 2003
Neat little app to spice up your desktop. Think of it as a remote control ID for your apps. It does this one thing, and does it well.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
27 April 2003
quite buggy.....not impressed
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
15 April 2003
OK, this may sound weird...but this little gem may actually be the thing I like best about living and working in OS X. Don't get me wrong: there's plenty to admire in OS X: stability, power, reliability (you know all that). But for me, it's a pretty humorless place...without a lot of the half-useful/half-whimsical touches that always distinguished the "classic" Mac OS. So I respect OS X, but I don't have a lot of deep-down affection for it. Focus, on the other hand, is the kind of little Mac app that inspires just that kind of affection. It's elegantly implemented and it's fully customizable (as too many OS X apps are not). It's small, and it doesn't hog up the CPU. And it helps make the somewhat austere OS X environment seem a little more friendly. Is it useful? Sure. It's great to have that instant feedback on the frontmost application. And the clock (what a brilliant idea!) only enhances its usefulness. Is it whimsical? You bet. Watching those floating icons cross-fade and vanish under the mouse is just plain fun. I keep my icon in the lower-right-hand corner, looking for all the world like a TV-station icon. Cool! Sometimes OS X makes me growl at its obtuseness; sometimes OS X makes me gape in amazement at its capabilities. But thanks to Focus, OS X now does something else: it makes me smile. Hello...Apple? Please hire this gentleman. OS X badly needs him.
Like
Version 2.0