Back to SoundSource page
SoundSource free download for Mac

SoundSource Reviews

4.1.4
06 September 2019

Switch your audio input sources easily.

a4ex
06 February 2013

Most helpful

SoundSource or any other similar application is not required in ML. Just hold down the Option key while pressing the Speaker icon in the menu bar!!! It's built into ML!!!
Like (5)
Version 2.5.1

Read 67 SoundSource User Reviews

Rate this app:

fleur2metaline-1
08 September 2019
A major fonction is missing : the ability to appliing an effet on a specific output would be very useful !
Like
Version 4.1.4
Fariborz
21 May 2019
I’ve just upgraded to this software from its previous version and can’t therefore write a concrete review for it. It’s simply impossible to evaluate a program after a few hours of usage. However, computer applications are like shoes. They either fit instantly, and you feel comfortable wearing them from the very beginning or you might just break them in for months and end up with a pair of awkward shoes! Having said that, I’m very pleased with the performance of this new version of SoundSource. Compared to the previous version it now has everything I ever dreamt of to organize my audio sources. The interface is intuitive and very well structured. All commands are where they are supposed to be, and this means a lot to me when switching audio sources continuously. The sound is great and contrary to its competitors it’s rock-solid and doesn’t quit unexpectedly every now and then. As I mentioned before, it’s hard to evaluate all its functions in such a short time therefore, trying is believing! Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (1)
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
31 May 2019
After two weeks of intense use I confirm it's ROCK-SOLID. Never crashed on me like similar applications. Have never been so pleased with an audio application. Thanks Rogue Amoeba.
Like (1)
Lvdoc
15 May 2019
Finally! A menu bar app that lets me not only control and route individual application audio to various outputs, but an app that also lets me use Audio Unit plugins. I've used Audio Hijack for that purpose for years (same developer), but this is a lot handier. There's at least one competitor whom I've asked for years to allow AU plugins, but that never happened. Glad to see this come to fruition here.
Like
Version 3.0.3
paulsrandall
17 April 2019
Great interface update from previous versions and oh so usable.
Like
Version 3.0.3
didier-gaultier
02 March 2019
A very handy application, I use it all the time
Like
Version 3.0.3
RavenNevermore
15 February 2017
Or, select "Show volume in menu bar" in the Sound preference pane. Then Option-Click on that menubar item. You can see all your input and output sources and change them there. It's always compatible, and saves you $10.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.0
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
20 February 2017
True, but it's nice to do this without having to use the keyboard.

Candidly, I would probably use your approach if it weren't for the fact that I already had a license for a Rogue Amoeba product, so it was free to me. If you don't, well, then the built in Apple approach is, as you suggest, quite reliable and also free.
Like (1)
Jimw
29 October 2014
This product does not work in OS X 10.10 (Yosemite)
Like
Version 2.5.1
Kill-gore
08 December 2013
2.5 was working fine with mavericks.. stupid me decided to upgrade and now it doesn't work.. wtf?
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
Maxxfoxx
24 August 2013
It´s incompatible to MacOS X 10.8.4
Like
Version 2.5.1
Aargl
29 July 2013
Working great on 10.6.8! ;-) I've tried Soundflower before this and had strange behaviour (digital buzz, larsen stutter type — you know, when a digital interface crashes), until now, no problem! And the "Auto-Switch To Headphones" features is great for computers that have not the line output device paired with the headphone output. Actually, that's just what I needed it for, so now I just miss a pref to cancel it from my menubar, to have it running in the background... ;-)
Like
Version 2.5.1
SMcCandlish
08 April 2013
PTHvolume (also free) does all of this and considerably more than option-click on the built-in Volume menu bar icon in Lion and Mountain Lion. There's no need for this app at all any longer (or its various clones). PTHvolume gives you some extras, however, including keyboard shortcuts that work on non-Apple keyboards, different shortcuts for controlling volume of different devices, and ability to exclude devices from the menu if you don't use them.
Like
Version 2.5.1
a4ex
06 February 2013
SoundSource or any other similar application is not required in ML. Just hold down the Option key while pressing the Speaker icon in the menu bar!!! It's built into ML!!!
Like (5)
Version 2.5.1
6 answer(s)
Nemesys
Nemesys
01 March 2013
Great! I didn't know that! I just spent $5 on a properVolume that doesn't even show the different AirPlay devices I have access to!
Like
Dalahast
Dalahast
03 March 2013
That's in (plain old) Lion, too, just so you know.
Like
northernmunky1981
northernmunky1981
19 March 2013
Oh bollocks, I've been waiting for this to get updated since bloody Mountain Lion was released and now I find that out! :P
Like
SMcCandlish
SMcCandlish
08 April 2013
And SoundSource is no longer even compatible with Mountain Lion after 10.8.3, anyway.
Like
Dfyoung
Dfyoung
05 October 2013
Works perfectly! Thanks for the tip.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
21 January 2014
SoundSource (and some other apps) do more than the Sound menu bar item, including enabling volume adjustment for individual devices/sources. It you don't need the additional features, then the Sound menu bar item will suffice. But other apps are not obsolete, despite the improvement in OS X functionality. In fact, it's SOP for Apple's solutions to offer less than third-party apps. SoundSource has lagged a bit in its development - it's still 32 bit, for instance. On the other hand, it still works with Snow Leopard, whereas some alternatives are compatible only with Mountain Lion and above. It's good to have choices - OS X is not the be-all and end-all solution for much of anything. It's just the starting point, which, in my opinion, is as it should be. That's why there has always been a vigorous market for third party software and system enhancements.
Like (1)
freevito
30 December 2012
I sure wish SoundSource supported volume control in the Focusrite Pro 24DSP FW audio interface, but I guess I can understand why it would be unmanageable to support the dozens (hundreds?) of interfaces by different manufacturers...especially for a free app. Nevertheless, kudos to Rogue Amoeba for still supporting Snow Leopard, and thanks for this handy little app.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Drdul
08 November 2012
FYI: The current version (2.5.1) won't launch in OS X 10.8.2.
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
21 December 2012
As discussed below, v2.5 apparently works. Their site says it does not work on ML: "Note: SoundSource is not currently compatible with Mac OS X 10.8 (Mountain Lion)." @MU - please update the requirements on this listing to reflect the lack of 10.8 support, at least with the latest versions...
Like (3)
Sgginc
31 July 2012
You can get older versions here: http://www.rogueamoeba.com/legacy/ What version is working with ML?
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
4 answer(s)
Ryde
Ryde
31 July 2012
Version 2.5 is from 2009 and apparently works with Mountain Lion. The app just isn't signed, i.e. the first time you launch it you need to CTRL-click on it and choose "Open" from the context menu.
Like (2)
Sgginc
Sgginc
31 July 2012
Thanks! I’ll install 2.5 and see how it goes.
Like
rohn-1
rohn-1
03 October 2012
2.5 works like a charm in ML! Thanks!
Like (3)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 November 2012
Thank You Ryde For the tip. It worked great in ML and I really appreciate it as I missed SoundSource in ML.
Like (2)
hwgray
06 July 2012
When I tried use the version with OS X 10.8DP Mountain Lion, I got an Incompatible error. So, I got the '09 edition out of the Trash and it worked exactly as it always has! The three-year-old version still works, but the three-day-old update doesn't?!!! WTF?!!!
Like
Version 2.5.1
4 answer(s)
Xirtam
Xirtam
11 July 2012
Thanks for the heads up! I am so glad I kept my 2009 installer! Running ML using 2009 SS, all good now, cheers!
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
10 September 2012
Sigh! I've been living in a dream! The older version only *looked* like it was working. I have a lot of audio-related software. When I shut it all down *except* SS, it became clear that SS was *not* working. When I adjusted my settings in SS, it turned out that nothing had actually changed. Everything remained at its default setting. You may want to double-check, Xirtam. My apologies for the misinformation.
Like
Xirtam
Xirtam
17 September 2012
Thats strange. I use SS every day. I switch sound out through headphones, USB speakers, and internal speakers through out the day with no problem using the 2009 version of SS on a 2.7 i7 Retina Macbook Pro.
Like
hwgray
hwgray
17 September 2012
Sadly for me, the source of the contradiction seems to be my Mac. I'm having to use TechTool Pro's eDisk - which sees only one partition where there should be four and reports that my external backup HD is unreadable (PRAY for me!) - in order to be able to post this.
Like
piquadratpi2
05 July 2012
I use this little great app since it was published years ago. It is very import for me because I had to change often between different outputs and some inputs too. Especially the switching between digital and analog signals is solved so great that I never will miss this utility. A big thanks to the developers...
Like
Version 2.5.1
Michael-Rachal
17 April 2012
Does exactly what I needed. Lets me quickly choose input and output audio sources.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
G-I-
G-I-
12 July 2012
No shit...
Like
Misha-Video
09 January 2012
Awesome. Great. Elegant. Thank You!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
LA-mitchell
18 December 2011
Thank you Rogue Ameoba, I was driving myself crazy switching back/forth before I found this little gem! (Apple should take note).
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Quantumlight
22 September 2011
Love it. I often switching between speakers and headphones. and this is just great! Only feature I would like is to be able to choose how many or what devices to show. I have many speakers and headphones inputs and so on so my list is getting over the whole screen. But this saves me tun of time anyway
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Silvarbullet1
12 November 2009
Great App, really simple and fast to use, very reliable, missed it almost as soon as I formatted my machine and just had to re-install it straight away!
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Njronbo
26 October 2009
Thanks for the tip below but the fact of the matter is that under Snow Leopard SoundSource does not save your settings. This means every time you boot it defaults back to internal inputs and the user needs to reset everything. What is worse is that the authors of the program refuse to answer email complaints about this problem. I suppose since it's a freebie you get what you pay for.
Like
Version 2.5
Njronbo
24 October 2009
Soundsource does not work with Snow Leopard and the developers refuse to answer any email asking for support. Guess you get what you pay for.
Like
Version 2.5
Uncle-zed
27 August 2009
Hello, SoundSurce not working on new (currently cruppy) Snow Cat. Any chance of update ?
Like (1)
Version 2.0
New-User
01 April 2009
Just a note. On 10.5.6 PPC I was able to simply copy SoundSource.menu from inside the installer package, double-click it, and it installed in my menubar without the need for the Menu Extra Enabled hack that the installer also places in the system. I noticed no functional difference vs. when the input manager hack was installed. SoundSource won't let me switch between line in and mic. I have Soundflower installed, and it lets me select the two Soundflower sources as inputs. That's my only real problem with SoundSource.
Like
Version 2.0
Orbiterapps
15 November 2008
Simply fantastic!
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Ltomko
04 March 2008
The sliders are only available on Leopard. From http://www.rogueamoeba.com/freebies/ "New in 2.0 - Volume sliders for all devices, right in SoundSource! (Mac OS X 10.5 only)"
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Neaniskos
Neaniskos
04 March 2008
Sorry, must have been blind, it's even on the Macupdate description above. A bit disappointing though: surely adding the sliders for Tiger shouldn't be the most complicated thing in the world. Or is it?
Like
Version 2.0
Neaniskos
Neaniskos
04 March 2008
Found the answer on my own question: "The new volume sliders depend on a new Cocoa feature for embedding arbitrary controls is menus and so they only show up on Leopard." (developer's website)
Like
Version 2.0
Roberts2424
04 March 2008
yes, the sliders aren't there because it's installing the old version. same thing happens when you download this from their website, too.
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Iscreen
Iscreen
04 March 2008
It has been revised. 2.0 OK for d/l now.
Like
Version 2.0
Neaniskos
Neaniskos
04 March 2008
Nothing has changed for me: the downloads, both the one from Macupdate as the one from the developer's website, install the previous version, erroneously tagged 2.0. Anyway, no sliders whatsoever.
Like
Version 2.0
iwans
iwans
04 March 2008
I can confirm that, Mac pro, Mac OS X 10.4.11, version 2.0 - no sliders
Like
Version 2.0
Neaniskos
04 March 2008
I've just installed SoundSource 2.0 on my iBook G4 with 10.4.11, but those new volume sliders are nowhere to be seen. Things look just the same as on the previous version. (Of course I have uninstalled the previous version first before installing v2.0, so there cannot have been some sort of interference).
Like
Version 2.0
Veryvito
03 March 2008
This is one of my favorite utilities, and this looks like a great update. If you use USB or Bluetooth audio output devices (in addition to the built-in audio), you'll wonder why this isn't part of OS X to begin with.
Like
Version 2.0
Rosau
18 January 2008
I had no problem installing SoundSource on my iBook G4 10.4.11. At first, the icon did not appear, so I went to Library/Bundles/SoundSource.menu and clicked on it, the icon appeared immédiately. I often switch between USB headset and internal speakers, mainly with Skype. I am very pleased with the result. Thank you, rosau
Like
Version 1.4
Dnoel
17 January 2008
SoundSource is a small application but works great on my Mac Pro. The Auto-switch option is better. Thank you very much DNoel Montreal, Qc
Like
Version 1.4
MichaelFrankel
04 November 2007
NOTE: I love this utility, I just think the developer should note that this version is ONLY for Leopard. I think this one may be Leopard only, since on my system (10.4.10), it crashed the WindowServer process, then caused the WindowServer process and mds process to utilize 70-80% of the processor. It also prevented me from opening OS X Archive (.zip) files. Removing the software eliminated these problems. Thanks, -- Michael Frankel Certified FileMaker Developer & Apple Help Desk Specialist Wizard Consulting Group Office (818) 706-8877 / Cell (310) 291-3419
Like
Version 1.4
Aeon
02 November 2007
What happened to the install for current user only option? In this latest version of the installer it defaults to install for all users.
Like
Version 1.4
Mrhooks
21 October 2007
Menu item appears as a black square. G5 Power Mac 1.8, 10.4.9.
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Mrhooks
Mrhooks
13 November 2007
Menubar icon appeared correctly with the update, until I updated QuickTime. Now it's back to being a black square again.
Like
Version 1.4
Nitewing98
Nitewing98
30 August 2008
I have the same problem (black square for the icon). This happens in 2.0 and in the previous version as well. I'm on a PM G4 with 10.4.11.
Like
Version 2.0
sjk
01 March 2007
Two problems with v1.2: 1) Wouldn't install properly unless installer was on the boot volume. 2) Can't select alternate i/o devices on eMac; input is stuck on Internal Microphone, Output and System on Headphones. Output still plays from internal speakers.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
06 September 2007
Both problems still exists in v1.3.
Like
Version 1.3
hced
22 February 2007
Still going strong, this app still have a permanent seat up among my menu bar items. With this update, I'm finally being able to open the Audio/MIDI prefs! Thanks a lot!!
Like
Version 1.2
Madmacmad
21 February 2007
amazing simple and effectiv thank you ! must have for everyone with dif. input sources
Like
Version 1.2
Aname
24 March 2006
Neat. Been using for 1.5 years. Works pretty much flawless.
Like
Version 1.1
Garyi
24 March 2006
Well I got it to show up after repairing permissions but it does not do anything, if I set both outputs to soundsticks it continues to play out the digital out. A bit more work to do me thinks.
Like
Version 1.1
Garyi
23 March 2006
Does not work which is a real shame as I dearly want it to work. On the first attempted install it said in console that access was denied. I then tried installing for all user, to which I was offered to put my password. I did and still nothing. 2006-03-23 20:42:47.181 SecurityFixer[224] No insecure startup items found! DeviceAddedCallback(): iterator=2303, retain count=2 device 463b (IOAppleBluetoothHIDDriver) found. cp: /Users/garethirwin/Library/Bundles/SoundSource.menu: Permission denied 2006-03-23 20:44:00.127 SystemUIServer[262] lang is:en 2006-03-23 20:44:07.982 Unsanity Installer[257] LSOpenFromURLSpec() returned -43 for application (null) path /Users/garethirwin/Library/Bundles/SoundSource.menu. Mar 23 20:44:32 themac authexec: executing /bin/mkdir Mar 23 20:44:32 themac authexec: executing /usr/sbin/chown Mar 23 20:44:32 themac authexec: executing /bin/cp Mar 23 20:44:32 themac authexec: executing /usr/sbin/chown Mar 23 20:44:32 themac authexec: executing /bin/cp Mar 23 20:44:33 themac authexec: executing /usr/sbin/chown 2006-03-23 20:44:33.514 SystemUIServer[276] lang is:en Some stuff from the log
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
01 June 2005
Useful tool. Only complaint (and it may not be with this ap) is that it sometimes does not load now that I've upgraded to Tiger. Very useful. Helpful when switching quickly between headphones for Skype call, for example, for other combinations of inputs and outputs. I can't speak to the bugs reported below, but so far it is a useful tool.
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 July 2005
do you also have the Bluetooth menu turned on?
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
17 May 2005
Many many bugs in this menu: - use obsolete function in Tiger: CGSGetElementForCStringKey CGSDictionaryObjectForKey CGSSetGStateAttribute CGSCreateDictionary CGSReadObjectFromCString .... - doesn't desactivate invalid sound output and input (4/5 input on a powermac are invalid...) headphone are in the menu and I don't have it on the mini jack... the same for Extern Speaker, Line-out...)
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
rudy
rudy
25 June 2005
those symbols are no longer linking in 1.0.5 which should be released on 6/27.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
16 May 2005
Doesn't recognize my Digidesign mBox so it doesn't help me out at all...
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
rudy
rudy
25 June 2005
nor will it likely ever unless rewritten as a NSStatusItem, the Digidesign driver doesn't publish it's device entry in a way that SystemUIServer(the app soundsource runs in) can see.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
20 April 2005
ahh how do i uninstall this! i can't stand software that doesn't let you uninstall easily...
Like
Version 1.0.4
3 answer(s)
rudy
rudy
25 June 2005
you run the installer and click "uninstall" button on the first screen.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 June 2005
To uninstall - run Installer again, find "Uninstall" button (bottom, left) and... well, I won't tell you what, coz why should I tell you everything? So, the buttom line is - why you did not read all thing while installing? This reply to "I hate apps I can't uninstall easy".
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2005
It's not astrophysics. How about going to /Library/Bundles/ and dragging the file "SoundSource.menu" to the trash?
Like
Version 1.0.5
asmeurer-1
21 January 2005
If this could edit the mic input level it would be perfect.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
23 November 2004
BUG REPORT - I noticed a strange bug with SoudSource 1.0.4 - for some reason with SoundSource install Entourage 2004 will not quit - I have to force quit to be able to shut down. Deinstalling SoudSource settle the problem, reinstalling it bring it back. I am on a G5 running Mac OS 10.3.6 Otherwise SoundSource is very usefull especialy for IP telephony.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
12 October 2004
it should have: Input listed as "internal microphone" and "line in", output and system should both have "built-in audio" listed. which is exactly the same as how it appears in system preferences.
Like
Version 1.0.4
JDKarr01
12 October 2004
I have a new 15" Powerbook G4. Under output and input it only has Built-In Audio. Not sure if there is a way to fix this. could be a potentially great program.
Like
Version 1.0.4