Back to LineIn page
LineIn free download for Mac

LineIn Reviews2.3.0

10 September 2014

Enables soft audio playthrough from input devices.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
erwincornil
erwincornil
Jun 6 2020
2.3.0
0.0
Jun 6 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.0
Usually I rate it with 5 stars. But now I am afraid that I had to say It is no good. The point is that it isn't working with OS Catalina, I even can't install it on my device. I think I need it to use Audacity (like I did in the past), or maybe do you have an other solution? Kind regards guys!
smtstepper
smtstepper
May 24 2020
2.3.0
0.0
May 24 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.0
Running catalina is there a 64 bit version to download?
joeylariviere94
joeylariviere94
Apr 17 2020
2.3.0
0.0
Apr 17 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.0
didn't work, can't download.
fred-laxton-macupdate
fred-laxton-macupdate
Apr 16 2019
2.3
5.0
Apr 16 2019
5.0
Version: 2.3
It looks like their Loopback app can do this - I just used it to route my Line-In to my surround-sound speakers ;-) https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/
fred-laxton-macupdate
fred-laxton-macupdate
Apr 16 2019
2.3
5.0
Apr 16 2019
5.0
Version: 2.3
FYI, I use SoundSource from Rogue Amoeba for sound selection and also it has a Line In function. On SoundSource 3 (free to any owners of Rogue Amoeba software) it is called "Open Play-Thru Window" and then you click "Start" to route Line-In to your selected output. I just started a trial of SoundSource 4 (just released) and haven't seen (yet) how to redirect Line-In to Output. But I will find it ;-) Anyway, to get your free SoundSource 3 that includes "Play-Thru", find a Rogue Amoeba license that you bought and go here: https://weblog.rogueamoeba.com/2017/02/14/soundsource-the-sound-control-that-should-be-built-into-macos/
attilahun
attilahun
Dec 4 2018
2.3
0.0
Dec 4 2018
0.0
Version: 2.3
I'm using LineIn it to route audio from my tv (toslink) to my Mac mini to my dac. Is there any way to use my apple remote control to control volume via my Mac mini? Many thanks
Dualist
Dualist
Mar 3 2016
2.3
0.0
Mar 3 2016
0.0
Version: 2.3
I have used this for a very long time now, but unfortunately, with the new iMacs sans audio in port, it doesn't work as well as it used to. I was forced to purchased a USB audio input device and with some fiddling I managed to get it working, but the creeping latency has returned and periodically I need to reset "Play Thru" in order to eliminate increasingly garbled sound. It's not a huge deal, and LineIn mostly works still, but it would be really nice if it was updated again sometime soon.
brookepeters
brookepeters
Jan 6 2016
2.3
0.0
Jan 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.3
Help. I have a Mac (Yosemite, 10.10), a Yeti USB mic and the latest version of LineIn. It sounds terrible in my headphones...echo-y, boomy, delayed maybe...perhaps this is the latency issue that was supposedly corrected in this version? Is there anything I can do to fix it? Such a bummer. I was so excited to finally find a way to hear myself through my headphones and apparently I'm not supposed to be having this problem anymore.
Wunderhorn
Wunderhorn
Jul 2 2014
2.2.0
5.0
Jul 2 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
Works well, easy to use.
Sam"Bytemunch"E4561
Sam"Bytemunch"E4561
Apr 21 2014
2.1.1
5.0
Apr 21 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
I needed some tunes for a party and didn't have a charge cable for my speakers. Two minutes on Google and I find this, plug a phone in through a 3.5mm to a random port on my iMac, mess with the settings on the app and boom, party is back! Cheers guys :D
wimadrid
wimadrid
Sep 9 2013
2.1.1
5.0
Sep 9 2013
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Excellent, I can finally hear the music from my USB turntable directly on my mac! Until I found LineIn, I used one of these workarounds: - Recording with Audacity with Audio Playthrough (Preferences/Recording/Software Playthrough) - Recording with QuickTime Player. As soon as you hit record (File/New Audio Recording) the sound goes to your default output, just remember to turn up the volume which QT always seems to set to mute.
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Oct 25 2012
2.1.0
4.5
Oct 25 2012
4.5
Version: 2.1.0
It's nie app. However I stil didnt figure it out how to set up microphone on usb properly. When I put pas-throough button i hear some noise something like feedback bettwen microphone and external speakers.
Atterboy
Atterboy
Oct 22 2012
2.1.0
5.0
Oct 22 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.0
Was looking for a way to play music through my mac from my record player via a USB cable input - this was perfect! love the simplicity and the fact that it worked straight away (no tweaking required)
Templogin
Templogin
Feb 11 2012
2.1.0
0.0
Feb 11 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.0
I have been wondering for some time the best way to get some audio from a tape memo recorder to my mac. I was looking around Rogue Amoeba's site contemplating Fission over Audacity, having been so pleased with Audio Hijack, when I came across LineIn. It looks like the perfect solution to me. Thanks a lot Rogue Amoeba for releasing this nifty little tool.
Schorschinjo
Schorschinjo
Oct 4 2011
2.1.0
0.0
Oct 4 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1.0
Just a notification: New version requires 10.6. The requirements info here needs to be updated. Developer's website states it correctly. I've gone the hard way and first overwrote my installation on a 10.5 PPC and then found out... ;-)
gcoghill
gcoghill
Oct 3 2011
2.1.0
5.0
Oct 3 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.0
Great little app used in conjunction with Soundflower to record Skype calls in GarageBand for podcasts.
Guest
Guest
Oct 25 2005
2.0.1
4.0
Oct 25 2005
4.0
Version: 2.0.1
After about 20 min with Linein in the background will drop its latency to about a second. Delay is not cool
Guest
Guest
Oct 25 2005
2.0.1
4.0
Oct 25 2005
4.0
Version: 2.0.1
/Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app Audio Devices tab, Audio Input section (lefthand side), check the box in the "Thru" column to get playthrough for that device. Simple as that, you don't need extra software to get play-through! Would be nice if Apple put this functionality right in the Sound prefs, but then tech support would probably have to put up with alot more newbies complaining of audio feedback after they "checked some box somewhere"
Fayyazb
Fayyazb
Apr 1 2005
2.0
0.0
Apr 1 2005
0.0
Version: 2.0
is it possible to use normal mic to connect to the G4 and use this software. because it used to accept only USB mics, with this software does that problem get solved?
Guest
Guest
Jan 18 2005
2.0
4.0
Jan 18 2005
4.0
Version: 2.0
this is a useful and good and working fine app. that said, note that you can achieve play thru by launching audio midi setup and toggle on "play thru" and place it in the dock - it will consume 0 cpu unlike this app. i hope future versions of audio hijack will not require v2 as v2 more cpu heavy than v1, esp when its not hidden. what would be really helpful is a simple toggle on/off script etc that does not require constant cpu usage.
Guest
Guest
Oct 27 2004
1.2
4.0
Oct 27 2004
4.0
Version: 1.2
Hey - it works for me... It seems silly that Apple didn't include this option on OS X like they always did in OS 9. It's a shame to have to open a separate program to get this functionality, but ... it works, and it's free. What more can I say?
Guest
Guest
Oct 12 2004
1.2
4.0
Oct 12 2004
4.0
Version: 1.2
An excellent simple small application that enables external sound sources to be fed through a Mac. Coupled with something like like Wire Tap your iTunes library can be filled up with your favourites.
Guest
Guest
Aug 4 2004
1.2
0.0
Aug 4 2004
0.0
Version: 1.2
But with "Audio MIDI Setup" you can't activate play-thru with Griffin's iMic! The checkboxes aren't markable. LineIn solves thes problem. Now I can hear my Mini-Discs (how oldfashioned ;-) over the Mac and the JBL Soundsystem. You made my day! Thanks. It would be great if I could aktivate it over the menubar. It's not very attractive to open the application and to activate it every time again.
Guest
Guest
Apr 2 2004
1.2
4.0
Apr 2 2004
4.0
Version: 1.2
I use "Audio MIDI Setup" to preform the same task on MacOS X 10.2.8 No need to download anything, it's already installed on your system. Click this link to find it on your computer... file:///Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app
Guest
Guest
Dec 10 2003
1.2
4.0
Dec 10 2003
4.0
Version: 1.2
To enable play-thru in OS 10.3, open Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup and check the Button under "Thru" in the "M"-row in the lower left field. From then on, sound will play thru, even when the app is closed. Renders LineIn obsolete, kinda.
Guest
Guest
Dec 3 2003
1.2
4.0
Dec 3 2003
4.0
Version: 1.2
Works perfectly for me under 10.3.1. I used Audiocorder previously and this app seems to need less cpu cycles and memory. It also appears to be a bit louder than Audiocorder's loudest setting. So I can really recommend it. I wonder why Apple hasn't built this into OS X ... this used to work under OS 9 without extra apps, right? PS: low feature rating as it doesn't have any features to speak of.
Guest
Guest
Oct 20 2003
1.2
4.0
Oct 20 2003
4.0
Version: 1.2
Thank you! I'm surprised there are not more utilities that do this.
Guest
Guest
Apr 4 2003
1.0
4.0
Apr 4 2003
4.0
Version: 1.0
Very nice