Back to LineIn page
LineIn free download for Mac

LineIn Reviews

2.3.0
10 September 2014

Enables soft audio playthrough from input devices.

Anonymous
02 April 2004

Most helpful

I use "Audio MIDI Setup" to preform the same task on MacOS X 10.2.8 No need to download anything, it's already installed on your system. Click this link to find it on your computer... file:///Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app
Like (1)
Version 1.2

Read 25 LineIn User Reviews

Rate this app:

It looks like their Loopback app can do this - I just used it to route my Line-In to my surround-sound speakers ;-) https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/
Like
Version 2.3
FYI, I use SoundSource from Rogue Amoeba for sound selection and also it has a Line In function. On SoundSource 3 (free to any owners of Rogue Amoeba software) it is called "Open Play-Thru Window" and then you click "Start" to route Line-In to your selected output. I just started a trial of SoundSource 4 (just released) and haven't seen (yet) how to redirect Line-In to Output. But I will find it ;-) Anyway, to get your free SoundSource 3 that includes "Play-Thru", find a Rogue Amoeba license that you bought and go here: https://weblog.rogueamoeba.com/2017/02/14/soundsource-the-sound-control-that-should-be-built-into-macos/
Like
Version 2.3
attilahun
04 December 2018
I'm using LineIn it to route audio from my tv (toslink) to my Mac mini to my dac. Is there any way to use my apple remote control to control volume via my Mac mini? Many thanks
Like
Version 2.3
Dualist
03 March 2016
I have used this for a very long time now, but unfortunately, with the new iMacs sans audio in port, it doesn't work as well as it used to. I was forced to purchased a USB audio input device and with some fiddling I managed to get it working, but the creeping latency has returned and periodically I need to reset "Play Thru" in order to eliminate increasingly garbled sound. It's not a huge deal, and LineIn mostly works still, but it would be really nice if it was updated again sometime soon.
Like
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
Dualist
Dualist
25 April 2016
I finally broke down and purchased Loopback from Rogue Amoeba. It's really expensive ($75) and I found I still needed to install Soundflower. and have an aggregate output device setup through Audio Midi Setup, but at least I get play-thru without gradual latency. It doesn't need to be running either.

I'm using a Griffin iMic with a late 2015 iMac, if anybody cares.

Thanks for the many years of pass-thru audio, LineIn.
Like (2)
ylluminate
ylluminate
24 November 2016
Hey that's a great tip there. Thanks Dualist! If you have a blog, that would be a great walkthrough to show.
Like
brookepeters
06 January 2016
Help. I have a Mac (Yosemite, 10.10), a Yeti USB mic and the latest version of LineIn. It sounds terrible in my headphones...echo-y, boomy, delayed maybe...perhaps this is the latency issue that was supposedly corrected in this version? Is there anything I can do to fix it? Such a bummer. I was so excited to finally find a way to hear myself through my headphones and apparently I'm not supposed to be having this problem anymore.
Like
Version 2.3
Wunderhorn
02 July 2014
Works well, easy to use.
Like
Version 2.2.0
Sam"Bytemunch"E4561
21 April 2014
I needed some tunes for a party and didn't have a charge cable for my speakers. Two minutes on Google and I find this, plug a phone in through a 3.5mm to a random port on my iMac, mess with the settings on the app and boom, party is back! Cheers guys :D
Like
Version 2.1.1
wimadrid
09 September 2013
Excellent, I can finally hear the music from my USB turntable directly on my mac! Until I found LineIn, I used one of these workarounds: - Recording with Audacity with Audio Playthrough (Preferences/Recording/Software Playthrough) - Recording with QuickTime Player. As soon as you hit record (File/New Audio Recording) the sound goes to your default output, just remember to turn up the volume which QT always seems to set to mute.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
seba-szwarc
25 October 2012
It's nie app. However I stil didnt figure it out how to set up microphone on usb properly. When I put pas-throough button i hear some noise something like feedback bettwen microphone and external speakers.
Like
Version 2.1.0
2 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
24 April 2013
The answer is in the name of the product: LineIn. It's not intended for USB audio in, but for your Mac's audio-in jack.
Like
wimadrid
wimadrid
09 September 2013
First, LineIn *does* work with USB audio. I have read and seen that when you plug in something that uses USB Audio, the system will initially set that USB both for Sound Input and Output, so you might check that.
Like
Atterboy
22 October 2012
Was looking for a way to play music through my mac from my record player via a USB cable input - this was perfect! love the simplicity and the fact that it worked straight away (no tweaking required)
Like
Version 2.1.0
Templogin
11 February 2012
I have been wondering for some time the best way to get some audio from a tape memo recorder to my mac. I was looking around Rogue Amoeba's site contemplating Fission over Audacity, having been so pleased with Audio Hijack, when I came across LineIn. It looks like the perfect solution to me. Thanks a lot Rogue Amoeba for releasing this nifty little tool.
Like
Version 2.1.0
Schorschinjo
04 October 2011
Just a notification: New version requires 10.6. The requirements info here needs to be updated. Developer's website states it correctly. I've gone the hard way and first overwrote my installation on a 10.5 PPC and then found out... ;-)
Like
Version 2.1.0
1 answer(s)
Doug-Riemer
Doug-Riemer
09 December 2011
I contacted Rogue Amoeba about this issue and they very kindly send me this link to their "legacy" page, which includes the old version. http://www.rogueamoeba.com/legacy/ I have a G4 10.44.11 PPC. It downloaded very quickly and works great!
Like (1)
gcoghill
03 October 2011
Great little app used in conjunction with Soundflower to record Skype calls in GarageBand for podcasts.
Like
Version 2.1.0
Anonymous
25 October 2005
After about 20 min with Linein in the background will drop its latency to about a second. Delay is not cool
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
25 October 2005
/Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app Audio Devices tab, Audio Input section (lefthand side), check the box in the "Thru" column to get playthrough for that device. Simple as that, you don't need extra software to get play-through! Would be nice if Apple put this functionality right in the Sound prefs, but then tech support would probably have to put up with alot more newbies complaining of audio feedback after they "checked some box somewhere"
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Not on Panther!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 October 2005
It is there on Panther and Tiger. I just checked.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 November 2005
I think it depends on your machine, not the OS. I don't have the option on my G5, but I used to on my G4. LineIn picks up where Apple left of for my G5 -- and for free, so what's the problem?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Kzo1
Kzo1
01 August 2006
The sound quality from LineIn is great, but the latency/delay is annoying. I mix and record from LP's with a standard stereo reciever with the line input to my iMac OS X Tiger system. The option (Tiger) to check the "Thru" box in the Audio-Midi input setup is not selectable, niether is the volume slider or speaker configuration. It doesn't make sense that a simple feature like sound card plug and play would be omitted from a new/updated OS, especially for a Mac. Does anyone know of a Mac hardware upgrade or another way to immulate a PC sound card setup?
Like
Version 2.0.2
mswfujowdffyc
mswfujowdffyc
29 December 2008
The "Thru" option in Audio MIDI Setup only exists for sound devices that support direct passthrough in hardware. It's not as simple as you think.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
Fayyazb
01 April 2005
is it possible to use normal mic to connect to the G4 and use this software. because it used to accept only USB mics, with this software does that problem get solved?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
rhithyn
rhithyn
20 January 2006
Unfortunately, it doesn't remove the need for a pre-amp to use a mic. That's a hardware limitation, not a software flag.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
18 January 2005
this is a useful and good and working fine app. that said, note that you can achieve play thru by launching audio midi setup and toggle on "play thru" and place it in the dock - it will consume 0 cpu unlike this app. i hope future versions of audio hijack will not require v2 as v2 more cpu heavy than v1, esp when its not hidden. what would be really helpful is a simple toggle on/off script etc that does not require constant cpu usage.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anthony82
Anthony82
30 December 2007
"by launching audio midi setup and toggle on "play thru" Where do you find this, I went to Audio Midi Setup and I see no PLAY THRU ?????
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
27 October 2004
Hey - it works for me... It seems silly that Apple didn't include this option on OS X like they always did in OS 9. It's a shame to have to open a separate program to get this functionality, but ... it works, and it's free. What more can I say?
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Anonymous
12 October 2004
An excellent simple small application that enables external sound sources to be fed through a Mac. Coupled with something like like Wire Tap your iTunes library can be filled up with your favourites.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Acatenango
04 August 2004
But with "Audio MIDI Setup" you can't activate play-thru with Griffin's iMic! The checkboxes aren't markable. LineIn solves thes problem. Now I can hear my Mini-Discs (how oldfashioned ;-) over the Mac and the JBL Soundsystem. You made my day! Thanks. It would be great if I could aktivate it over the menubar. It's not very attractive to open the application and to activate it every time again.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 March 2005
nor with the standard apple mic that comes with the mac.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 April 2004
I use "Audio MIDI Setup" to preform the same task on MacOS X 10.2.8 No need to download anything, it's already installed on your system. Click this link to find it on your computer... file:///Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Anonymous
10 December 2003
To enable play-thru in OS 10.3, open Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup and check the Button under "Thru" in the "M"-row in the lower left field. From then on, sound will play thru, even when the app is closed. Renders LineIn obsolete, kinda.
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 December 2003
actually those don't light up if you have a g5... so it looks like LineIn does still have a purpose(for g5 panther types), until apple sort things out proper.
Like
Version 1.2
mswfujowdffyc
mswfujowdffyc
29 December 2008
The "Thru" option is better if you have it; it enables direct passthrough in the sound device's hardware. But if your sound device doesn't support direct passthrough, you're out of luck and you should use LineIn. It will have latency, but it's better than nothing.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
03 December 2003
Works perfectly for me under 10.3.1. I used Audiocorder previously and this app seems to need less cpu cycles and memory. It also appears to be a bit louder than Audiocorder's loudest setting. So I can really recommend it. I wonder why Apple hasn't built this into OS X ... this used to work under OS 9 without extra apps, right? PS: low feature rating as it doesn't have any features to speak of.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
20 October 2003
Thank you! I'm surprised there are not more utilities that do this.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
04 April 2003
Very nice
Like
Version 1.0