Back to SubEthaEdit page
SubEthaEdit free download for Mac

SubEthaEdit Reviews

5.1.1
06 October 2019

Collaborative text editing using Bonjour.

piquadratpi2
22 September 2019

Most helpful

This new version5.1 is wonderful. Fully adapted to Mojave and very stable and fast. I will use it from now on as my favorite text editor. But here it isn't version 5.1 to download, it's version 5.0.2.
Like (1)
Version 5.1

Read 69 SubEthaEdit User Reviews

Rate this app:

piquadratpi2
22 September 2019
This new version5.1 is wonderful. Fully adapted to Mojave and very stable and fast. I will use it from now on as my favorite text editor. But here it isn't version 5.1 to download, it's version 5.0.2.
Like (1)
Version 5.1
RogerKatz
22 September 2019
MacUpdate's download URL incorrectly downloads v 5.0.2, not 5.1
Like (1)
Version 5.1
melissavwes
24 April 2018
Great app. Very convenient and easy to use. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 3.5.4
valgrey
25 February 2018
Love it
Like
Version 3.5.4
Enk3
19 June 2014
Version 4 was just released exclusively to the Apple Store. Does anyone have a download link for version 3.5.4 handy?
Like
Version 3.5.4
Mlbkxbx
04 October 2010
Doesn't remember (or have any way of setting) the default window position. I know it remembers window position and such for saved documents, but if i open up a new (untitled) document (in a completely new session), it spawns a window in the upper left part of the screen, where i would prefer it in a position of my choosing, or alternatively, as an option, absolutely centered. The point is, this stuff should (IMHO) be configurable.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
1 answer(s)
Porcustal
Porcustal
17 November 2010
as should be turning off the auto links which are created from web links in text, gets really bothersome when trying to edit them.
Like
Version 3.5.3
Highway-Of-Life
16 April 2009
This is the _best_ collaboration tool for either PC or Mac market. The collaboration aspect alone make it well worth the price, when working with groups of people, for me it is large groups of programmers, SEE makes it easy for me to collaborate with the Mac programmers and increases our overall efficiency. SEE is also a fantastic basic text and code editor, we especially enjoy the live-preview of HTML, and the ability to quickly run PHP scripts, making "quick tests" or "quick scripts" very easy and painless. Version 3 contains much better compatibility with networks, which make connecting to the outside world far easier.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Richard-Taytor
26 November 2007
Something is wrong with version three. To be more precise: it's footprint on system resources has increased tremendously; while editing it also frequently freezes for short intervals (a second or two). Version two works well for me.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Robackja
30 January 2007
The tabs are an awesome new addition. The only remaining issue I have with SubEthaEdit is no HEREDOC string syntax support. The funny thing was, when I opened a bug on their site about it, they closed it stating, "HEREDOC not supported", like it wasn't part of the language, e.g. PHP, perl, etc. HEREDOC strings look like this (example in php): $var =
Like
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Martin-Pittenauer
Martin-Pittenauer
30 January 2007
Hi. Be assured that HEREDOC support is on our agenda and that the bug was probably only closed as a duplicate. (If not I'm really sorry about the misunderstanding.)
Like
Version 2.6
hced
11 December 2006
I completely adore this program! I have but a few a feature requests: - Transparent windows!! - Ability to adopt collaborator's .see-styles for the specific document type you are working in. - Snapping to screen/window borders for the 'mini windows' (Bonjour, Internet).
Like
Version 2.5.1
Ncianca
19 August 2006
I needed to do some collaborative editing with some other users and am very surprised that SubEthaEdit has no support for working with either an sftp or webdav server. Seems that SubEthaEdit is "collaborative" only when you are working on a local document and the other user can actually reach your machine (which won't happen behind most corporate firewalls). This potentially useful tool has boxed itself into a small environment. Please add support for working with documents stored on a server using sftp or webdav.
Like
Version 2.5
3 answer(s)
Dominik-Wagner
Dominik-Wagner
20 September 2006
Hi There! If you need to work via SFTP or Webdav then you can easily do this by using Cyberduck, Fugu, Transmit, etc. We work very well with these Applications.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Ncianca
Ncianca
20 September 2006
SubEthaEdit's unique feature is it's ability to work in a collaborative way with other users editing the same document. Sure one can upload/download the file and work with it using any number of ftp/sftp clients, but the ability to have 2 or more people working on the same document that is stored on the server would be lost. Ideally, SubEthaEdit would have a built in client that allows editing of a file stored on the server and establish a connection with other users so that the unique functionality could then be used.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Dominik-Wagner
Dominik-Wagner
21 September 2006
I see your point. However let me point out that the direction of the connection that has to be made is irrelevant. So if one of the two people wanting to collaborate has a possibility of being reachable then you can collaborate. So if you are behind a local firewall, and your partner is behind some nat at home, all he has to do is to do a local port forward. Most modern routers can do this dynamically, so I'd suggest the use of this tool http://michael.milvich.com/portmapper/GUITester.zip for that. Maybe that helps in your case.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Amake
07 February 2006
I'm very disappointed that they removed the non-profit licensing option. I understand why they are doing this, but I just can't bring myself to buy a license when there are other good, free alternatives like TextWrangler. If you don't need SubEthaEdit's collaborative features, I suggest you give TextWrangler a try.
Like
Version 2.3
3 answer(s)
Dominik-Wagner
Dominik-Wagner
07 February 2006
And because we like competition make sure to check out Textmate - we'd rather loose you to macromates then to Bare Bones ;-)
Like
Version 2.3
anonymous-dingo-961
anonymous-dingo-961
07 February 2006
Yes, Textmate is much better than TextWrangler, but I still prefer SubEthaEdit overall. Keep up the good work guys.
Like
Version 2.3
Amake
Amake
23 May 2006
Incidentally, I broke down and bought an SEE license shortly after attempting to switch. Cheers.
Like
Version 2.5
L0ne
06 February 2006
PAY ATTENTION, EVERYONE: from 2.3 on, the noncommercial licensing option is gone. Buying is now compulsory to use it past the evaluation stage.
Like
Version 2.3
Paul-Dunlop
06 February 2006
Funny how they missed the mention that there is no longer a free, personal use license available as off version 2.3. Sneaky
Like
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
Dominik-Wagner
Dominik-Wagner
07 February 2006
Actually we are quite open about it being not available free for personal use - i don't know where you get the "sneaky" impression. And we provide 2.2 as free download with the old licence.
Like
Version 2.3
anonymous-dingo-961
anonymous-dingo-961
07 February 2006
Seriously, goto their website and they explain why the new license scheme. Well worth the $35.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
16 October 2005
How bout adding syntax coloring to the command line tool?
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Well, this is a great editor, but it seems like the developers aren't very interested in adding necessary features, so it's definitely falling behind. I was willing to "wait" for some of the glaring omissions to be addressed, but here we are at 2.2 and TextMate is looking more and more attractive as the years go on and SubEthaEdit never gets basic features.
Like
Version 2.2
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 July 2005
Psssst! What damn features are you referring to? Text editing is a "basic feature"... is that what you're referring to...? hmmmm Text wrangler's fine for me, tho. Wait- maybe you're just advertising for a competitor? Hmmmmmmmm...!?
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 July 2005
minimal features = everything that's in TextMate and you have to run TextExtras to get with SEE
Like
Version 2.2
Sam Rae
Sam Rae
10 August 2005
Perhaps it would be more useful for discussion and for others intersted in this product to mention which features are missing.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 September 2005
Call me stupid but isn't the whole POINT to SubEthaEdit the colaboration? This post is sort of like saying "I'm tired of waiting for Photoshop to get beyond this preocupation with 'image editing' & start adding new features, like an email client or an MP3 player." Get over it. There are enough apps out there with excessive feature bloat. Its nice to see someone figure out what they're doing & do it the best they can without trying to be a swiss army knife.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
23 May 2005
very slow, and minimal features. was the best, now it's a distant third behind TextMate and XCode's editor.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
26 April 2005
SubEthaEdit looks nice but it has some ugly drawbacks. First it cannot handle large files: SEE got ugly slow on my Dual G5 with 2GB RAM when trying to edit a 4.5MB (!) file with about 160.000 lines. Second: it shows a watermarks in the free edition (which also has wrong spelling in the German localization).
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
20 April 2005
I've mostly switched to TextMate by now. It seems SEEs developers are more interested in the 'collaborative' part than in the 'editor' part, which is fine, but not what I'm looking for.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
20 April 2005
It's called Bonjour technology you insensitive clods! But seriously, this application is brilliant. I use it to run a collaborative meeting even though we're in the same room. It's the kind of thing where when you use it you think, oh this is just the way it should be, what's the big deal, and then when you find you can't do it with other programs you appreciate it way more. My main wish is some way to collaborate on rich text, especially tables. I tried collaborating on HTML tables with preview, but my colleagues can't really contribute to that... 2.1.2 seems to work okay for me.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
27 November 2004
Latest version refuses to open new windows, and the preferences window is empty except for the title . Console shows the following output from the app: 2004-11-26 22:14:58.963 SubEthaEdit[282] *** Assertion failure in -[ABMultiValue indexForIdentifier:], Framework/AddressBook/ABMultiValue.m:112 2004-11-26 22:14:58.963 SubEthaEdit[282] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: Invalid parameter not satisfying: identifier != nil 2004-11-26 22:15:00.558 SubEthaEdit[282] *** -[NSCFDictionary setObject:forKey:]: attempt to insert nil value 2004-11-26 22:15:02.404 SubEthaEdit[282] *** -[NSCFSet addObject:]: attempt to insert nil 2004-11-26 22:15:15.916 SubEthaEdit[358] *** Assertion failure in -[ABMultiValue indexForIdentifier:], Framework/AddressBook/ABMultiValue.m:112 2004-11-26 22:15:15.917 SubEthaEdit[358] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: Invalid parameter not satisfying: identifier != nil 2004-11-26 22:15:17.377 SubEthaEdit[358] *** -[NSCFDictionary setObject:forKey:]: attempt to insert nil value 2004-11-26 22:15:37.374 SubEthaEdit[358] 5ter punkt 2.2.1.1 2004-11-26 22:16:32.851 SubEthaEdit[374] *** Assertion failure in -[ABMultiValue indexForIdentifier:], Framework/AddressBook/ABMultiValue.m:112 2004-11-26 22:16:32.851 SubEthaEdit[374] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: Invalid parameter not satisfying: identifier != nil 2004-11-26 22:16:34.295 SubEthaEdit[374] *** -[NSCFDictionary setObject:forKey:]: attempt to insert nil value 2004-11-26 22:16:54.297 SubEthaEdit[374] 5ter punkt 2.2.1.1
Like
Version 2.1.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2004
From within SEE: Help > Report A Bug
Like
Version 2.1.1
Dominik-Wagner
Dominik-Wagner
06 December 2004
If you're still experiencing this problem, please contact monkeys@codingmonkeys.com - we're trying to track this down, and need the current state of the addressbook while this happens.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Dominik-Wagner
Dominik-Wagner
01 January 2005
The problem is identified and will be fixed in the next minor update. There seems to be a possibility to add an aim or email to your me card without setting the primary identifier. To fix it, simply add another email to your me card in address book, then delete it again. Do the same with an AIM name and SubEthaEdit will start without any trouble. This little trick sets the primary identifier for email and aim.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Pedro Gomes da Silva
20 November 2004
Getting better and better. I'm starting to like it so much that maybe it will became my main editor. I just would like to make a suggestion: Is it possible to, eventually, add the ability of multi-search? being able to search for a certain string on a folder of files is a really useful option for me. Thank you for making this great software. Keep up the good work.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
19 November 2004
Miss "tabs" or a attached panel showing all open windows, like in Kate. Also while we are talking about Kate, something like fish maybe ? I know that's KDE and not Kate, but still :P For you who don't know KDE and Kate, Fish is a script for automaticly upload a modified file to a server. Transmite is good, but Fish is better :) Well, atleast a tabs :)
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 November 2004
Proper document-based OSX apps do not have an MDI. OSX isn't KDE.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Anyone else having problem with the command-line tool? It fails to paste piped output into a new document and, instead, opens a separate copy of SubEthaEdit then hangs. :/
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
It's working fine here. Do you have an older version of SEE on your system?
Like
Version 2.1.1
Denis-Defreyne
18 November 2004
I've been using SubEthaEdit ever since version 1.0 (when it was called Hydra). It is an incredibly useful tool. There is simply no better way to collaborate on a text document than this. It almost is a reason to Switch-this is the perfect way to pester Windows users. Even if you don't collabore SubEthaEdit is great. Syntax colouring for dozens of languages, live web preview, and a symbol browser. Want more? :)
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Yes, but not much. Piping is essential to any developer's editor, and a plugin API would be nice. I'd also like a keystroke to select a line of code... ummm... that's really about it, other than to make it faster
Like
Version 2.1.1
schmelding
18 November 2004
It rules. It totally rules. But, -1 star for the name. It's embarrassing to say, "SubEthaEdit." You might as well name it, "Wankel Rotary Engine."
Like
Version 2.1.1
3 answer(s)
Denis-Defreyne
Denis-Defreyne
18 November 2004
> You might as well name it, "Wankel Rotary Engine." Heck, that's not a bad name. :)
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Yeah... the name does suck. I'm secretly hoping that every Mac user pays for this app so the developers can just buy the Hydra name back.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Denis-Defreyne
Denis-Defreyne
17 May 2005
I did that. Muahaha.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Fixed a security issue where a user could receive permanent authorization for privileged SubEthaEdit operations after successfully aquiring authorization as an administrator in SubEthaEdit. I was wondering wtf was up with that... thanks for the quick fix.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
17 November 2004
Finally, authenticated saves. You guys rock, thank you!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
17 November 2004
I love this product! I really wish the developers would consider adding ftp support. This is the only thing that sepperates it from BBEdit in my opinion. Maybe offer a plugin architecture, so developers like myslef that find this to be important, can have it.
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
It has ODB integration with FTP clients. That's enough. If you want bloat with your editor use BBEdit or Emacs.
Like
Version 2.1
Denis-Defreyne
Denis-Defreyne
18 November 2004
It does. Take a look here: http://www.codingmonkeys.de/subethaedit/edit.html and start trembling.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Just use a decent FTP client that allows integration with your text editor of choice. Interarchy, NetFinder, Fetch come to mind. Maybe even Fugu, for crying out loud. Why force a text editor to have to implement an FTP client? Or maybe you'd like your text editor to also organize your photos and play tunes too.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
17 November 2004
This is a tremendous editor for my needs. Does anyone else have the problem with Internet Prefs popping up and disturbing you when not online? Is there a way to stop this? Half my work is ofline and this is getting frustrating. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
wish i could help but i haven't been 'offline' in over 5 years.
Like
Version 2.1
Sam Rae
17 November 2004
If you're like me and came here and was about to kick an almighty stink about how these rats are now charging for SubEthaEdit, hold your hat. It is still free for non-commercial use, which means that companies with oodles of money can pay for it, and we still get it free! I think that's a great idea. It keeps SEE afloat, and still lets individuals use a great program. Absolutely champion text editor. The only thing missing is some way of quickly changing between documents (ala Smultron).
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 November 2004
Command-tilde. I hope SEE never implements MDI.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2004
and control-1 for a window menu in the upper left
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
17 November 2004
Impressive update with some sorely-needed features! (command-line tool, authenticated saves) Just needs a plugin API, scripting/piping and a few UI refinements (current line highlighting among them) then it will be 'the perfect editor'.
Like
Version 2.1
Ancientyger
17 November 2004
Doggonnit!!! I'm Smurfin' Impressed! how does this compare with say.. iChalk or iStorm? interms of being a groupware type of solution? anyone anyone at all?
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 November 2004
iStorm is geared towards non coding collaborations. It's more for document editing rather than working on websites together.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
26 October 2004
SubEthaEdit is my 'editor of choice.' The only other editor in the running is TextMate, since I need an editor that integrates well with the rest of the system (and BBEdit doesn't). SEE just feels better to me at this point - it's slimmer and less topheavy. I don't even mind so much that it doesn't support piping, since I use TextExtras, which disables SEE's built-in autocompletion, but I prefer TextExtras' completion anyway.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
09 August 2004
This is great for when you're working on a site with other people who are on different networks, allowing you to color-code what changes are made to the code by whom and get stuff done quicker.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
23 June 2004
SubEthaEdit is definitely in the running for Best Program of All Time. It's small, fast, and full-featured, and plus it's free for non-commercial use (for poor college students like myself this is a huge bonus!) Great for taking notes in class.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
18 June 2004
This app was a godsend when I was looking for a decent editor for PHP and HTML. Even with 1.0 it was great, but version 2 is absolutely stellar. If you use PHP/HTML/other web-languages, and have not already shelled out for BBEdit or taken the time to learn VI or Emacs, this is the editor for you!
Like
Version 2.0a
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 October 2004
this is the editor even if you have done any of those, but prefer a well-integrated (unlike any of those), slim (unlike Emacs or BBEdit), non-70s-UI (unlike vim)
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
04 June 2004
A great little app for making/modifying scripts. I also use it in conjunction with FUGU to edit my web pages on my brother's server. very nice.
Like
Version 2.0a
Excellent application for helping kids with their homework while doing your own work.
Like
Version 2.0a
Ohericord
18 May 2004
Perfect app. add a tabbed browsing like omniweb...in a drawer and it will be more than perfect
Like
Version 2.0a
Anonymous
18 May 2004
This is a great editor -- even if you don't need the network features, it's a great editor in its own right. The networking is even handy if you don't need to share with anyone, if you have two machines; you can have a file open at your desk, and go work on it at your laptop by just connecting from there. It still needs a couple of things to really replace BBEdit, though. First and foremost is a command-line tool just like BBEdit has, one that will block until the document is closed, let you specify things like the text encoding to use and the syntax highlighting mode, and then return focus back to the original app when it exits. I also really wish that it would save window settings with its documents. One thing that is really tiresome is when SubEthaEdit can't recognize the file's type, and thus proper syntax highlighting mode, by the extension on a particular file, and then every single time you load it up you have to go in and manually change the mode. It should save that, along with other things like window size and position and state of the interactive spell-check setting, with the document, like most other editors. 2.0 is a great upgrade. With just a couple more features, I'd be more than willing to buy a commercial license even though I don't need one.
Like
Version 2.0a
Anonymous
18 May 2004
Wow. Fantastic update! BBEdit just took another step closer to the trash.
Like
Version 2.0a
Bb79
18 May 2004
Simply fantastic. My preferred editor by a long shot. Tabs would be great but understandably don't fit into Apple's MDI model - not the authors' fault.
Like
Version 2.0a
Submersiblespork
05 February 2004
What a great app. I have no idea why people keep complaining about the name though... any Hitchhiker's Guide reference is fine by me. Seriously though, this app is fantastic. Enough to make me want to ditch BBEdit (even after paying for it!) The only thing I'd like to see is a way to save things in RTF format (maybe it's there, but I can't find it...) and a way to upload files within the app itself (like BBEdit) to my FTP server, instead of having to go through something like Fetch. :)
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
21 November 2003
why must i "save a copy as..." of a shared file instead of just saving it? I can understand the reason for not wanting to use "save" but there should be a way to connect a shared document to a local file. when you're working on code with a partner and every compile requires a "save a copy as...", the app gets very tedious
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
19 November 2003
Can't wait for the promised regexs and scripts. So long, vi, emacs & stuff...
Like
Version 1.1.5
Syndicman
15 November 2003
I love this app, but as someone said before, I need a way to have root permission for some files and also the ability to see the hidden files. The syntax highlighting is a little slow.
Like
Version 1.1.5
Tterp
13 November 2003
This is by far my favorite freeware app for the mac :) /tterp
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
23 October 2003
[quote] ...The only thing I'm missing from BBEDIT is the ability to unlock root (or other users) files. And that's a regular thing for me, since almost all my php files belong to the "web server user" not to me.... [/quote] and multiple syntax-colouring for mixed documents [ie. containing both HTML and PHP] would be nice too!
Like
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 October 2003
You can have colored tags for php + HTML mixed files. Go to their website and clickon the Developers link, and you'll see info on it.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Schmelding
23 October 2003
The app. rawks. The name sucks.
Like
Version 1.1.4