Back to Vine Server & Viewer page
Vine Server & Viewer free download for Mac

Vine Server & Viewer Reviews

3.1
13 October 2009

VNC server/viewer for remote GUI access

Markusfh
20 August 2008

Most helpful

IS NOT FREE (anymore?!) is as good as JollysFastVNC and even better than ChickenOfTheVNC (special chars)
Like (2)
Version 3.0

Read 29 Vine Server & Viewer User Reviews

Rate this app:

bell-juliet
06 January 2017
You can try alternative remote support tools like logmein, R-HUB remote support servers, teamviewer etc. for remotely accessing computers from anywhere anytime. It works on Windows, MAC, Android, iOS etc.
Like
Version 3.1
Grandlepton
24 July 2011
Vine Server 3.12(1104) does not seem to work on Lion. It causes "Unable to obtain base address" error.
Like (2)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
droscar
droscar
10 April 2012
There is a beat of 4.0 on the developer's website that is LIon compatible. I have it working in 10.7.3.
Like
New-User
19 November 2008
The viewer insists I enter a "license key" or "request a trial", when I go to request the trial (entering email address and name) it then tells me that a trial license has already been issued for my machine. Completely useless. There are free viewers available, including Apple's own in Leopard. Making it hard for people to try your software seams a very silly thing indeed.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Markusfh
20 August 2008
IS NOT FREE (anymore?!) is as good as JollysFastVNC and even better than ChickenOfTheVNC (special chars)
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Guile
18 February 2008
interesting but too much expensive compared to JollysFastVNC which is free...
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Vilaamalka
10 February 2008
I was quite surprised when I did lsof -i. I wonder why this server opens an http connection to http://greatestpurpose.com/ whois greatestpurpose.com reveals also some interesting info. I wonder. NAT traversal? Hmm. Now, I am paranoid, no doubt but, at least, I would appreciate if this sneaky "feature" was documented. Remember, this is a server running as root.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Sdutton
20 December 2007
Redstone Software has since reversed their upgrade policy and is offering a free upgrade to all users who have purchased Vine Viewer in the past 30 days (providing a refund for those who already paid for the 3.0 upgrade, which includes me). In light of their sincere apology emailed to current Vine users, I would like to retract my previous review and give them five stars.
Like
Version 3.0
Philipz
19 December 2007
Finally, International keyboard support... The problem I'm facing is that I can't type the "i" anymore, no lower- no uppercase. Very weird; all other keys get mapped correctly, but the 'i' keypress just doesn't do anything. I tried to contact support, but the registration process is broken ("SMTP authentication failed" or something; I guess their mailsystem needs authentication but their PHP script on the website is not up to date)
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Jonathanosx
Jonathanosx
21 December 2007
Sorry about the web-form snafu on the Redstone Software website. That should be corrected now. We are looking into the fact that some keys map incorrectly on some keyboard selections. Feel free to submit specifics to support@redstonesoftware.com.
Like
Version 3.0
Sdutton
19 December 2007
I just purchased version 2.2 a little over a week ago, and emailed their customer support about a free upgrade to version 3.0. They told me I had to pay the upgrade fee of $15 just like any previous owner. Eerrgh. It's not the $15 that grinds me . . . it's the blatant disregard for customer relations. Most companies have some small window, a month or so, for those who just purchased a product to receive the upgrade for free. It's a clear indication of how they really view their customers.
Like
Version 3.0
Southportlanes
27 December 2006
Honestly; pair this with a Dr. Bott gHEAD and Chicken of the VNC, and runnning a home file server is a dream.
Like
Version 2.0
Jteam
20 December 2006
In addition to the Vine Server 2.1, which I am really enjoying, they also offer Vine Viewer 1.1 ($24.95). Why pay for a VNC client when Chicken of the VNC is free? Four big reasons for me. 1) It scales the server's desktop so much easier to view a big desktop on a little MacBook. 2) It has built in SSH capability so that saves the hassle of creating ending tunnels 3) Clipboard support! 4) Really responsive support on their forums.
Like
Version 2.0
James-Churchman
08 January 2006
yes you a correct Arglborps - mac os x tiger does have its owne vnc server - but OSXvnc has many advantages to it: 1) it will alow all the users of the computer to log in and control the system at the same time - not just the one user that is currently logged in. These other users can connect and use the computer with out affecting the currently logged in user. I am not sure that i have clearly explained this but i find it great. I use it by logging in remotly to my user but leaving the login window aprarant on the screen as i don not want to leave my computer loged in and exposed - but still want to remote control it 2) Mac os x tiger's vnc client did not seem to allow me to use the java applet vnc client that i wanted to use. It would show me garbage then give some error. The advantage of the java aplet client is that you can configure web sharing for your computer - then from any computer in the world go to the web address of your computer and be able to log in and control your computer - you do not need to bring a windows or alike client with you and if the computer you are using is a public one where running your own apps is disabled then its the only way to get to your comp this page http://www.redstonesoftware.com/osxvnc/OSXvnc.html has a small section on it & a link to download things you will need to bar in mind 1)the index page in the download must be edited (or copied and edited) so that the port is the one for the screen you want to access - often 5901 - the default 5900 wont work and will give errors 2) if you are behind a router then it will need port forwarding to be enabled to your local ip address((usualy 192.168.1.xx) for ports : 80 for the web-server and 5900, 5901 and more if you assignee other ports to the other users 3) if you are running a firewall then these ports will have to be opened up 4) if you have a dynamic ip address (and can't easily get a static one) they you should obtain a web address from a service like dyndns.com - then get a mac dns update client like DynDNS Updater http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/19006 so that you can easily connect to your computer hope this helps people - step 2,3 and 4 above are generic to all vnc users - not just ones using osxvnc or using the javavnc client - although having a nice web address does make getting to your java applet client on your computer easier James
Like
Version 1.7
Arglborps
08 January 2006
Actually if you're running 10.4 you don't need any VNC server, just start the Remote Access Sharing, it functions as a full-blown VNC server.
Like
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
Bucho
Bucho
01 February 2006
The only trouble with the built-in server is that when trying to connect from a Windows XP box using 8-bit colour, it doesn't work. So, for slow connections (ie: internet), I prefer to use OSXvnc.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Kevin Nelson
03 September 2005
Q: The OSXvnc application launches fine the first time but after that it just bounces in the Dock and never launches? A: This is most likely because you are running APE from unsanity.org. In some situations APE can corrupt the OSXvnc bundle to the point where it can no longer function. Try adding the OSXvnc application to the "exclude" list in the Ape Manager preference pane and re-installing OSXvnc. If that does not solve your problem please contact support at urgent@unsanity.org.
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
28 August 2005
-) I use VNC a lot in order to control a 2nd Mac without the need for a 2nd screen, keybord and mouse. I hope VNC gets updated to work properly with Tiger. :-) .
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
10 August 2005
There is no need for this app if you use Tiger. Remote Desktop supports VNC in Tiger, so just turn it on and set the VNC prefs and you are rolling :)
Like
Version 1.61
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2005
Remote desktop is a paying application, isn't it ? I know there is a server on my machine, but how do i access it ? Don't we need to buy Remote Desktop to setup the server ?. :/ confused, i am !
Like
Version 1.61
Strongmantim
Strongmantim
10 August 2005
Open System Preferences, go to Sharing, and there is an entry for Apple Remote Desktop. Turn it on and you can connect with any VNC client (or Apple's Remote Desktop... which _is_ a pay-for application). I've used OSXvnc since ever since it has been around, but stopped using it once ARD server became integrated with the system. In my opinion, OSXvnc will have to show some major benefit over ARD if it is going to survive.
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2005
I tried the vnc support in ARD under Panther and found it a poor substitute for OSXvnc over slow Internet connections. It worked best in a LAN environment. I have yet to try it again under Tiger, however...
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 August 2005
thanks to all for your insight, i am going to try ARD today. Thanks again
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 August 2005
There was a note on the download page which said Unfortunately, the original file of OSXvnc 1.61 uploaded to Sourceforge on 8/9/05 was corrupt in that it will consume spare CPU cycles while it is running. We greatly regret this error and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. You may use this link to be sure to get a clean build that does not cause this problem: http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/osxvnc/OSXvnc1.6.1.dmg?download I have found that despite this, the vnc-server is consuming 100% of one of the CPUs on my dual G5 running 10.4.2 Yesterday it wasn't today it is (following a reboot after the latest security update) There is something very wrong. I'm going to try Apple's vnc server and see what the performance is like.
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
05 August 2005
I've had a lot of trouble with OSXvnc 1.5 since upgrading to Tiger. The solution, strange as it sounds, is to delete the old app and drop a new one in its place. It stops the freezing on launch, but after running the server once, the app probably won't launch a second time (even after a reboot). Hope this gets fixed soon.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 August 2005
Same issue with v1.6.1. According to the developper FAQ it seems to be linked to the presence of unsanity.org APE On the OSXvnc support page I found this: Q: The OSXvnc application launches fine the first time but after that it just bounces in the Dock and never launches? A: This is most likely because you are running APE from unsanity.org. In some situations APE can corrupt the OSXvnc bundle to the point where it can no longer function. Try adding the OSXvnc application to the "exclude" list in the Ape Manager preference pane and re-installing OSXvnc. If that does not solve your problem please contact support at urgent@unsanity.org.
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
03 June 2005
I have seen the same freeze under tiger, something I thought impossible now. Weird...
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
14 March 2005
Maybe it's me that's ignorant but it doesn't seem to handle i18n characters. Also, my mac has begun freezing up since I upgraded from 1.4 to 1.5. I haven't looked into this in any great detail though, so it might be some other proces that messes with the kernel. Sometimes the vnc process will disappear during a log out. I've looked briefly at the startup item files and it shouldn't occur but it does. I'm thinking of going back to 1.4 until I see a newer version.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
03 February 2005
Review by Anonymous Love it. There's nothing like seeing a PC with OS X running full screen on it. I love being able to control any machine from any other machine. (2/2/2005, Version: 1.5) --------- yeah.. me too. control freak*
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 February 2005
Love it. There's nothing like seeing a PC with OS X running full screen on it. I love being able to control any machine from any other machine.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
25 January 2005
No matter what client I use, I get an error message saying "Incompatible version" when I try to connect. This message is apparently not documented anywhere. I can't find it on OSXvnc website or and vnc client websites, nor anywhere on the internet or in the newsgroups. Quite a useless waste of time. Why does this always happen to me?
Like
Version 1.4
3 answer(s)
Jonathan Gillaspie
Jonathan Gillaspie
02 February 2005
"Incompatible version" -- There haven't been any changes to the protocol version that should cause this error. The most likely cause would be if you computer is running ARD 2.0 which conflicts on port 5900, try running OSXvnc on port 5901 and connecting to it with Chicken of the VNC.
Like
Version 1.5
Juan Alberto Martín Díaz
Juan Alberto Martín Díaz
07 May 2005
I have also had this problem with my PowerMac G5, and OSXVnc 1.5, whereas in my Mac Mini it works OK. It also used to work ok in my G5 but suddenly it began to report the same error over and over.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 August 2005
Do I really need to install OSXvnc when VNC-supprt now is integrated in Tiger. I get the same message when i try to connect to my PB! From work (RealVNC running on WinXP) i get "no matching security.." From my friends PB (running COTvnc) I get "incompatible version" I'm now not running any other VNC-servers than ARD, witch has integrated VNC-support. What 2 do?!
Like
Version 1.61
Anonymous
21 August 2004
Awesome! This thing works great. I access it from a PC and it is so useful! My Mac has been a bit weird lately (mouse freezing up frequently) and if I did not have OSXvnc installed as a startup item, I would be forced to crash reboot several times a day (pain in the butt but Apple can't figure out what is wrong with it and it is out of warranty). Now I can just hop over to the PC and either keep using my Mac with a VNC client or do a proper restart. One not-to-be-taken-too-seriously point... in the log, I see the following: OSXvnc-server[742] Unloading Jaguar Extensions I use Panther! Gimme "Panther Extensions". ;)
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
10 April 2004
Wow, version 1.33 is rock solid! I never lose a connection anymore once it is made (I am using Chicken of the VNC for the client and OS X 10.3.3 at both ends). The only quirk I have encountered is that when you connect through an ssh tunnel, you cannot refer to the remote server as localhost (it works fine if you use 127.0.0.1 instead). This might not be OSXvnc's fault, however. I have noticed problems similar this with other programs since upgrading to Panther.
Like
Version 1.33
09 December 2003
Version 1.3 worked very well for me with no noticable problems. However version 1.31 has a serious disonnection issue. After sitting idle for several seconds any VNC client will be disonnected from the server. The client can then reconnect but don't leave it idle, or else, wham, it's cut off. Hopefully version 1.32 will fix this and quickly!
Like
Version 1.3.1
truthhurts
02 December 2003
While I normally love OSXvnc, version 1.3.1 appears to disconnect me after about 10-15 seconds idle. However, it does not appear that the server is crashing as its PID is constant. Annoying! My only other complaint is that the StartupItem is designed to use hard-coded paths to the OSXvnc.app, rather than placing copies of the server in the StartupItem and referencing these locally. Using local copies would mean that the StartupItem has NO external dependencies. That and the StartupItem plist is of the older format...
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Jonathan Gillaspie
Jonathan Gillaspie
02 February 2005
"the StartupItem is designed to use hard-coded paths to the OSXvnc.app, rather than placing copies of the server in the StartupItem and referencing these locally" This was such a good suggestion that we choose to do just that in version 1.5.
Like
Version 1.5
We did install this update on several Apple computers. After a few minutes the computer slows down dramaticly. You even can't burn cd's or dvd's anymore because of 'Buffer Underun' errors. We did have the same problem on several types of G4 Powermacs and G4 iMacs. After closing the program we have had no problems anymore, so use the old version of OSXvnc, this wil give no problems and works great.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
28 June 2003
Might want to clarify docs on main page. Says some bug is fixed for OS 10.1, then later says requires 10.2 or later.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
09 May 2003
Awesome. Combined with the Java VNC applet I can view my desktop from any computer with an internet browser. OSXvnc is awesome. :)
Like
Version 1.2