Back to iScrobbler page
iScrobbler free download for Mac

iScrobbler Reviews

2.2.1
25 February 2010

Alternative to the official last.fm client.

Threedee912
25 July 2008

Most helpful

iScrobbler used to be good, but the developer has been extremely arrogant when it comes to dealing with all the memory leaks this app has, saying "All apps should allocate as much memory to themselves as possible, as OS X will manage it better.", which is false. The app eats up resources and is slow at times, but seems to do it's job OK.
Like (5)
Version 2.2b5

Read 34 iScrobbler User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jynto
11 December 2013
This app made iTunes behave like a jack-in-the-box. More often than not when I quit iTunes, it would just bounce on my dock and start back up again. It was REALLY annoying. Force-quitting it made it come back faster. After searching for half an hour and removing plugins and changing settings in iTunes, I found that the problem went away entirely when I closed iScrobbler. This alone makes iScrobbler unusable. I would sooner use last.fm's bloated official client than this buggy piece of crap. Uninstalled.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Jcraig
14 January 2010
Interesting that I installed version 2.3 of this thing back in Sept. 2009. Are we moving backward?
Like
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
B4tm4n
B4tm4n
25 February 2010
Same here, on v2.3
Like
Version 2.2.1
Charliehodge
Charliehodge
26 February 2010
Confused as well. Who is the developer now? It says Richard Jones here. On last FM the developer is someone different. Also, the link is to a beta which is not mentioned in the description...
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Stormchild
06 December 2008
I can't deal with iScrobbler anymore. Every time a new song starts playing, iTunes beachballs for 5 seconds while iScrobbler polls it in some inefficient manner that holds everything up. As soon as I quit iScrobbler, the problem goes away. Need a new Last.fm client.
Like (4)
Version 2.2.1b1
Darukaru
09 August 2008
The amount of virtual memory a process takes up (as displayed in Activity Monitor) is largely irrelevant. What does bother me is that iScrobbler randomly jumps to 300+ MB of real RAM use (even on a 3GB system this is nontrivial) and never goes down again until I quit the app and restart it.
Like (5)
Version 2.2b5
1 answer(s)
Sebasti-an-G
Sebasti-an-G
24 August 2008
Hi, I also had the same problem, where iScrobbler hogged around 300mb of real memory, and 2–3gb of virtual mem. I found that if you view info on the application and choose to launch it in "32bit mode" its footprint goes down to between 8–20mb of real mem and around 800 of vim.
Like (1)
Version 2.2b5
Threedee912
25 July 2008
iScrobbler used to be good, but the developer has been extremely arrogant when it comes to dealing with all the memory leaks this app has, saying "All apps should allocate as much memory to themselves as possible, as OS X will manage it better.", which is false. The app eats up resources and is slow at times, but seems to do it's job OK.
Like (5)
Version 2.2b5
Grid-Splicer
05 July 2008
I have a PowerBook G4 with Leopard and it takes iScrobbler and incredible amount of time and processor crunching to appear in the menu bar.
Like (1)
Version 2.2b2
2 answer(s)
resuna
resuna
14 July 2008
Try dropping back to iScrobbler 1.5. It's much smaller and tighter.
Like (2)
Version 2.2b4
Angelastic
Angelastic
27 June 2009
I was also using a PowerBook G4, and found that iScrobbler was often using quite a lot of processor (though I was used to my computer being slowish, and liked being able to scrobble tracks I'd played on my iPod, so I kept using it.) Now I've just upgraded to a MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 3GHz, and iScrobbler still quite often uses more than 70% of a processor, and does so for several minutes at a time. Luckily I have plenty of processor to spare now, but still, that's pretty excessive given that I have the fastest Mac laptop currently available, and it uses about the same percentage of processing power as it did on a four-year-old Mac. Is it polling or something?
Like
Version 2.2.1b1
Joshewah
02 June 2008
This uses more virtual memory than Safari, and all I want it to do is sit in the background and upload the tracks I am listening to.
Like (2)
Version 2.2b2
resuna
01 May 2008
I'm still using iScrobbler 1.5 because all the extra features added since have made it less stable and more cpu-hungry.
Like (3)
Version 2.2b2
mswfujowdffyc
27 March 2008
oh, iScrobbler 2.1.2 beta 1 fixed it already. thank god.
Like
Version 2.1.1
mswfujowdffyc
27 March 2008
w0rd. the black notification box has to go.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Ponkass
13 March 2008
PLEASE, make it possible to diable the black pop-up box. It has to go.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Joshewah
12 March 2008
Can't tell if its sending my tracks or not. Don't see an option to manually send them. Don't see an option to turn off the notifications. They added more features but theres less options. Why do I have to have this app running all the time, can't I just run an app and it sends the info to the server? Plus, its not a "plugin" for itunes because it doesn't integrate with itunes at all. I would rather have it add an extra menu or menu item to itunes and start when itunes starts.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
globetrotterdk
globetrotterdk
27 March 2008
Yes, please. It would be nicer if iScrobbler were integrated into iTunes.
Like
Version 2.1.2b1
Mdamli
09 March 2008
The popup notification window when a track has begun playing, or when you hover the menubar icon is extremely annoying. I don't want a huge black box suddenly popping up, disturbing my work, and there's no way to shut it off in Preferences. Most annoying feature ever.
Like
Version 2.1.1
resuna
28 February 2008
I'm still using the 1.5 series even on my Macbook. 2.x has not been reliable for me.
Like
Version 2.1
Tobiasg
14 February 2008
I just downloaded 2.1.0b5 and it tells me that my login is incorrect yet the icon will take me to my profile page. The little note icon is red - that mean anything?
Like
Version 2.1b5
Stormchild
13 January 2008
I've been using this for about a year and a half now. It's much better than running the whole bloated Last.fm software (which I have to say is really awful), but lately iScrobbler is going downhill too. I've been having a problem where it keeps queueing tracks for submission, but it won't actually send them until I quit iScrobbler and relaunch it. That's been happening since the last 1.x version; now we have "2.0" with a useless new "local lists" feature that seems like it will take a week of CPU time to finish computing its stats, and meanwhile that submission bug is still not fixed. Now in the last couple of betas, we have lost the "Statistics" menu item, so now I can't even tell how many tracks have not been submitted anymore. Meanwhile, the "loved/banned" feature has never really worked properly. After you add 10 songs to either of those lists, it stops letting you add any more. The UI has some major problems in that area too. iScrobbler seems to be getting worse with every release. I hope they turn it around soon. It used to at least be a good, lightweight tool for submitting tracks in the background, until that stopped working reliably too.
Like
Version 2.1b3
2 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
16 January 2008
Whoops, I forgot to add: I agree local lists are useless, but instead of whining about them, why don't you disable them? IIRC, iScrobbler ask you twice about using local lists. If you decline twice, they will be disabled. If you already enbaled thm, delete iScrobbler's prefs (~/Library/Preferences) and decline to use lists at next launch.
Like
Version 2.1b3
Anadart
Anadart
08 February 2008
I had the situation of it just queueing tracks for submission and then found out it will do that if a iPod is plugged in. Undock the iPod and it will submit tracks as usual through iTunes.
Like
Version 2.1b4
Joshewah
08 January 2008
This isn't a plugin. I wish they would stop calling it a plugin. I want a real plugin that loads when itunes loads and does all this crap in the background. I don't want a menu item or program running in the background all the time. Silly.
Like
Version 2.0
Ubuntuking
20 September 2007
Program works ok. The setup is simple enough. I works excellent when it comes to scrobbling itunes songs, however when it comes to scrobbling tracks played on an ipod, the program only works half of the time. I have been used it for a long time, and it is a pattern I noticed. It prolly needs more work to make sure that it scrobbles ipods as well as it does itunes plays.
Like
Version 1.51b1
3 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
29 September 2007
Scrobbling on iPod works 100% of the time if you do it right, just read about it in the instructions.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ubuntuking
Ubuntuking
29 September 2007
I have read the instructions several times.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Swordfish
Swordfish
09 November 2007
Ok, well if you want it explained for you, here's how it works: You need to scrobble tracks on you iPod BEFORE you play any tracks on your Mac. Why? Because Last.fm doesn't accept track submission that are older than the latest submission. Example: you play a track on your iPod at 12:05. You play a track on your Mac at 12:15 (which is immediatly scrobbled). You connect your iPod to your Mac at 12:30. iScobbler will send the track you played at 12:05, but it will be rejected by Last.fm because the latest track was scrobbled at 12:15. Solution: you need to connect the iPod to the Mac before playing the track on your Mac.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Danio
17 September 2007
In truth I only installed this application yesterday, having previously used 'Scrobblepod', that said I am very pleased with 1Scrobbler. Installation went through smoothly as did set-up. I'm finding that iScrobblers interaction with iTunes is far better than Scrobblepod. I've always found 3 main disappointments with Scrobblepod, it locks up iTunes frequently for 5-second bursts immediately following completion of a song playing, it takes ages to submit data to Last.FM and it has a habit of switching on scrobbling when you have specifically turned it off, meaning that iPod tracks cannot be scrobbled correctly. iScrobbler happily submits track play data in a heartbeat, so fast you hardly see the indicator flash, it doesn't lock up or interfere with iTunes operations and so far (although only 24-hours experience) it's working smoothly.
Like
Version 1.51b1
Maury-McCown
17 September 2007
Glad to see it's still alive, but it keeps opening the iTunes main window. =/ Time to downgrade...
Like
Version 1.51b1
1 answer(s)
resuna
resuna
17 September 2007
I don't have that problem on my Macbook, but it's not starting at all on my Mini (10.3.9), so I think the listed requirements might be off.
Like
Version 1.51b1
Threedee912
16 September 2007
iScrobbler was the main AudioScrobbler plugin for Mac before the AS changed into Last.fm. I personally think the new client uses up more resources, which is why I am sticking with this one.
Like
Version 1.51b1
resuna
16 September 2007
OMG! I was so depressed when Last.FM said they were replacing iScrobbler with that pig-dog new application, and I've been sitting on the old version just because I didn't know it was still alive. Viva iScrobbler!
Like
Version 1.51b1
Loomers
12 August 2006
Ever since it was installed it has not worked, and by that I mean does-not-work. However It refuses to come off of my mac as well. I would truly appreciate it if anyone happens to have a solution?
Like
Version 1.2.1t1
1 answer(s)
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
28 February 2007
Same thing happens with me every time. v1.5 test 2 and test 3, too. The menu item appears, it drops a single menu, but nothing on it works at all, including Quit. Launch Activity Manager, select iScrobbler and quit it there. Use Spotlight to trash iScrobbler and its support files.
Like
Version 1.2.1t1
Anadart
30 July 2006
Great site and app. I've been using it for a few years now. Like it was said before you can disable the Menu if you want, but then lose some of the benefits.
Like
Version 1.2.1t1
1 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
13 September 2006
Since you look so well informed maybe you could share the uber-hack to disable the menu bar item... or is it so simple that I overlooked it? The read me doesn't explain anything.
Like
Version 1.2.1t1
Comradecruz
29 July 2006
All of the people who say that it should not be in the menubar clearly have not looked into this issue. It is possible to disable the menubar item, you will however lose the ability to interact with the plugin (ie. You won't be able to tell when it's not connecting.)
Like
Version 1.2.1t1
Taskman
21 May 2006
A nice application, but I really don't like it taking room in my menubar too. Would it be possible to make a real iTunes plugin?
Like
Version 1.2
Swordfish
24 April 2006
If iScrobble is not updating your songs after upgrading from version 1.1.2, quit iScrobbler, delete the prefs in ~/Library/Preferences/org.flexistentialist.iscrobbler.plist , restart iScobbler. Problem gone!
Like
Version 1.2
Swordfish
21 April 2006
I agree with the 2 previous posters. iScrobbler should not use up menubar space, and ideally it would be a real iTunes plugin. And when will there be a version of iScrobbler that correctly updates the songs played on an iPod? The current behavior is very buggy.
Like
Version 1.2
Avetenebrae
20 April 2006
i completly agree with the previous comment. iScobbler is NOT an iTunes plugin. Make it a real iTunes plugins and i'll be so happy since audioscrobbler/last.fm is a great service !
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
SWGS
SWGS
22 June 2006
Please don't make it into an iTunes plugin, what you have now works fine. An option to purely run in the background and not take up space in the menubar would be nice for those without widescreens.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
07 August 2005
This latest version has made the program a bit better, but it still is not an iTunes plugin. Just call it what it is or create a real plugin which will start along with itunes automatically and doesn't need to be run at start up and take up menubar space.
Like
Version 1.0.1
bcwinters
10 May 2005
The last version I reviewed here was 0.6.3 and iScrobbler has certainly improved in leaps and bounds since then. It now chugs away silently without complaint, reporting my playlists to Audioscrobbler perfectly. During the (sadly frequent) server outages, iScrobbler holds songs in its local database and then uploads them when the server comes back up. My only real complaint would be that this one-trick-pony uses around 26MB of RAM, about twice what Meteorologist or Synergy (the other menu bar add-ons I run regularly) use. Seems a little extreme for what should be a simple program.
Like
Version 1.0.1
splorp
22 March 2005
Use it. Love it. Note: Although the Audioscrobbler plug-ins page list the current version as 0.7.5, the current version of iScrobbler is 1.0.1
Like
Version 0.7.5
Anonymous
06 February 2005
I din't have any problems with the plug in itself, it works just fine for me. the only problem is in last.fm/audioscrobbler.com itself the survers just can't handle so many users. other than that, the plug in works fine for me. no problems what so ever.
Like
Version 0.6.3
bcwinters
10 August 2004
Audioscrobbler & last.fm are undeniably cool services. So it's a pity that this utility works so poorly. It's listed as an iTunes plugin on the Audioscrobbler website, but it's actually a stand-alone application that you are meant to launch as a startup item. On first and second launch it did nothing; on the third try it did create its menu item as I expected. But the preferences wouldn't work until I restarted and tried it again. Finally! Success! But five minutes later, it forgot my account password. I gave up. iChatStatus has been feeding my iTunes information reliably and continuously for months; it's a pity iScrobbler can't get the same data uploaded where it needs to go to make Audioscrobbler's services useful for iTunes users.
Like
Version 0.6.3