Back to EasyCrop page
EasyCrop free download for Mac

EasyCrop Reviews

2.6.1
06 June 2014

Crops, rotates, and resizes pictures.

Drdul
27 April 2009

Most helpful

I was looking for an app that would allow me to quickly straighten and crop scanned images without having to fire up Photoshop. EasyCrop and ResizeMe were the only two apps I could find that would allow me to rotate the image at any angle (rather than in 90-degree chunks). I purchased EasyCrop because all the controls are available and visible at once, it is easy and intuitive to use, and as an added bonus, screenshot capability is built in. My only (very minor) complaint is that the appearance is sorta Windows-ish, especially the cheesy toolbar icons. But I can easily overlook that given how good the app is.
Like (5)
Version 2.3

Read 64 EasyCrop User Reviews

Rate this app:

LeMerlot
03 February 2019
I'm using EasyCrop on a daily basis – really one of my must have apps. Fast and smart – with optional resharpening.
Like
Version 2.6.1
aglessi
24 May 2018
easy as its name implies!
Like
Version 2.6.1
Y-Guy
02 May 2017
This has been my go to app for cropping for years. Hopefully what I'm experiencing now isn't a sign of bad things to come. However after getting a new to me MacPro I've installed EasyCrop but it will not take the registration code, and when I try to check for updates it comes back with an error as well. Developers Faecbook page hasn't been updated since January 2016, so I have a bad feeling that dark days are here. Has anyone else had problems?
Like
Version 2.6.1
robfol
21 April 2017
Another of my most used apps from the same dev as EasyBatch. I am forever grabbing headshots from the web to add my CRM and Address book. I just drag to EC, crop, sharpen and drag to address book. Also anytime I need a simple crop I grab this instead of PhotoShop. Brilliant! and simple as pie. Perfectly good on Sierra 10.12.4.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1
Rene-H-Lepine
02 July 2016
Simply the simplest app for cropping!
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
Denflinkegrafiker
09 October 2014
Great little app for resizing images. If you got a bunch of images you need to crop for the web – EasyCrop is fast & efficient. Works with drag-drop, which is perfect with my workflow. Even allows you to sharpen images at same time as cropping images. Super simple, super easy. Fast.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1
Fluffyben
16 May 2014
Brilliantly simple to use - solves all kinds of website image problems - an essential tool - just buy it!
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Rcrutcher
04 May 2014
I've used this terrific app for years. It's the perfect app for resizing images.
Like (2)
Version 2.6
dperugini
28 April 2014
I've been using EasyCrop for years. Whenever I have to redo my Mac, it's one of the first applications I reinstall - I literally use it everyday, throughout the day.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Harry-Macbeth
11 April 2014
Bought this a hundred years ago and still use it regularly. Jay Teo is an outstandingly responsive developer whose clever apps have helped this fumble-fisted senior use his Mac very effectively indeed. Wishing you continued success, Jay!
Like (2)
Version 2.6
onamac
24 March 2014
I've used this app for a long time and have to say it still is the most intuitive, easiest app for making quick crops or resizes. Very stable, and can't be beat when you just want to resize and email an image to someone. I wish all of the utility apps kept it this simple.
Like (2)
Version 2.6
RobertS9523
16 March 2014
One of the easiest, most intuitive programs I have ever used. Comes in handy preparing photos for my web sites. The MacUpdate description does not mention the screen capture functions of this program. EasyCrop also captures: (1) a selected area of the screen, (2) a screen window, (3) the entire screen, or (4) a timed screen capture.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
robfol
12 February 2014
Perfect micr program. Does one think well. I use it all the time for photos for the web, head shots etc. Would love a quick 'enhance' button but that's about it Bravo to Jay Teo the responsive dev as well
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Christophv4354
19 November 2013
Not everything is possible, but it does what it promises in an easy, very quick and reliable way. It should exist for window. Not for me, but for all my windows using friends!
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Macinsetex
01 November 2013
Straight up photo handler that addresses the greatest percentage of photo modifications. The free-form rotation needs a pop-up horizontal and / or vertical bar to aid in straightening. I found a work-around by placing the cursor over the pic, which causes to long red crop lines / cross hairs to appear. I then use the key commands to rotate the few remaining degrees to finish.
Like
Version 2.6
Roryl
31 October 2013
Been using it for years. I'm not a photographer so I use it less than some others might. However, it always performs well and accomplishes my purposes.
Like
Version 2.6
onamac
07 March 2013
I've been a registered user of this software for many years now. You can't get better than this. Easy, flexible, and includes the options we need. A+
Like (1)
Version 2.5.8
708-N-84th-Street
24 August 2012
Jay, Version 2.5.6 seems to no longer work on my machine running OSX 10.6.8. I drag image into the left window, and only a small portion of the image appears in the right window. This has been my favorite image scaling app. Can we expect a fix soon?
Like (1)
Version 2.5.6
1 answer(s)
Yellow Mug Software
Yellow Mug Software
28 August 2012
Sorry for the inconvenience. The issue is now fixed in EasyCrop 2.5.7. Several Retina Display-specific issues are also fixed.
Like (1)
Dradrienyouell
16 August 2012
I take it all back, with the greatest apologies to Jay Teo, EasyCrop is the *Queen of 'Easy' image size and selection for many purposes, and my rating is 5*. * Is software female? Jay Teo eventually replied, probably after a well-earned break, and suggested I check the Constraints - i.e. I found I used Custom Size whereas what was needed was the Custom Ratio to fit my display, 8:5. All well and BEST Image Utility including v. 2.5.5 working in Lion. Sincerest apologies, Adrien UK [Mac Pro did its own brain transplant after a normal Restart & changed all settings, and I was NOT alert to EasyCrop's subtle settings.] *****
Like
Version 2.5.5
Dradrienyouell
13 August 2012
I cannot get EasyCrop 2.5.5 to accept manual entry of the code I usually use but my main point it that the wonderful, used every day app to easily crop photos and scans etc. does no longer work in Lion. EasyCrop accepts an image in left-hand frame but it will not show the right-hand size image to work with. Only a minuscule 'ghost shows which will not enlarge. My Mac Pro October 2006 is too old for Mountain Lion. Is EasyCrop 2.5.5 now only for 10.8? I not retained earlier versions, e.g. 2.5.4. SAD without Easy Crop, I feel bereaved. Adrien UK My scoring has to go from 5 to Useless.
Like
Version 2.5.5
Patrick-J-Jeffas
30 May 2012
Great, simple app. Very useful.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Scrubbrush
28 March 2012
There just is not another program available that has the power of Easy Crop w/i this pricing point and up until one gets into commercial image scaling software. * I would pay for an upgrade if an "EASY TO USE" method to "cut" (as with scissors or razor knife) around images to really customize the image and rid the image of unwanted pixels. I know wish in one hand then _ _ _ _ in the other one, see which one fills up fastest!
Like
Version 2.5.3
oraclelady
17 March 2012
Thanks to Jay at Yellow Mug software for recommending this solution--it's perfect. In order to produce a Cover for Kindle books, they have a pixel requirement of 800 x 500. This software handles screen shots perfectly to make this simple enhancement.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Y-Guy
12 January 2012
Been using EasyCrop for a couple of years not, it's my go to app for cropping an image when I need constraints. Loads fast, does just what I need and I'm out quick. Being able to add my own preset constraint settings is just what I needed a couple years ago, and still to this day.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Macs007
11 January 2012
I am not a big fan of the tool icons used - they are ugly as hell. In the end it works as promised and it is worth the asking fee.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.3
2 answer(s)
Drdul
Drdul
11 January 2012
I agree. The icons burn my eyeballs, but I use it anyway. I goes that can be considered a testament to how good EasyCrop is.
Like
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
12 January 2012
You are right, it might not have the best looking icons but sure beats a heck of a lot of other apps that are following the grey scale Lion icons.
Like
Rcrutcher
03 January 2012
What makes EasyCrop such a superb piece of software is that does what it does extremely well and yet is so easy to use. When I need to resize or crop an image, this is the application that I always use. Besides, it's a bargain.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
dperugini
19 August 2011
I have been using this application regularly for years. It provides all the options that you would need to crop, resize (physically and virtually), sharpen, rename, etc. - all within the confines of a single, well-laid-out window. The control and convenience could hardly be improved. A superb tool for your photo-weilding arsenal.
Like
Version 2.5.1
msvaughn
04 July 2011
I love EasyCrop and all the software from YellowMug. I've been using their software for years and have been very satisfied. It makes my workflow a lot faster and easier! Thank you!
Like
Version 2.5.1
Rot'Napple
16 April 2011
I've been using EasyCrop on my Mac for trimming images for blog postings for a while now. The app says what it means and means what it says. i've had no stability issues for this lightweight gem that does one thing and does it well... drag image in, crop, drag image out with no fuss, no muss. Would recommend anyone giving it a whirl.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Bigstick
13 April 2011
The easiest program I have seen for resizing lots of images in a specific format. Simple, intuitive and flexible, and works beautifully. One of the best OS X utilities I have bought and a bargain!
Like
Version 2.5.1
Gniman
27 March 2011
smart and snappy. doesn't try to do a whole lot of things and does perfectly well what it aims to. i escaped the horrors of iPhoto cropping, lived a long while in imageWell but finally found heaven in easyCrop
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
Junebug
03 February 2011
I really like it, easy to use.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Dhk
02 February 2011
@P.Maxwell: What this does that I couldn't get preview to do was EASILY resize an image. I didn't want to crop... wanted the whole image but with a different size to fit on my display... Photoshop which of course could do this, had a lot of overhead. Easycrop made it, well... easy!
Like (3)
Version 2.5
P-Maxwell
01 February 2011
What does this app do that Apple's Preview doesn't? Preview does cropping, rotating, color adjustment, size changes, compression, etc. and does save-as in many different formats. And it is very stable and, of course, is about as Apple-like in look, feel and use as it gets.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
dperugini
dperugini
01 September 2011
Preview (especially the latest version) is a valuable tool that I find myself gravitating to more and more, as Apple adds more and more functionality. However, to simply be able to reduce the size of a photo (virtually and/or physically) you can't beat the Drag 'n Drop convenience of EasyCrop. Preview and accomplish it, yes, but not with the speed and elegance of EasyCrop. In Preview, your photo reductions involving Quality and Physical Size are accomplish by accessing menu items and then making several setting changes, with no preview of the impact of your adjustment. In EasyCrop, an always present slider adjust physical size and and up and down arrow controls quality - all changes are immediately viewable. Cropping with Preview is a matter of choosing the 'Selection' tool, selecting the crop area, and Command-K to Kut away the unwanted part - not happy with the crop? Then perform 'Undo' and try again. EasyCrop's crop tool is alway available - just select and the change is immediately visible and adjustable. If you find that you need to reduce photos frequently, EasyCrop is the king. If you seldom find yourself needing that function, then Preview would serve you just fine. They're both powerful tools for straight-forward everyday use, and each has its strengths. EasyCrops strength is cropping and sizing, and at that, it's the best.
Like
burschikowski
01 February 2011
Great little app, easy to use..
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Chrisknight
04 December 2010
There are dozens of apps out there that will crop and resize images and I have tried many. This one fits the bill better than all of them in my view, although Imagewell comes close. I love the way this app makes it so easy to crop, resize and then to save the resulting image on my Mac - or as a feed to an application on the Mac. With something like an ftp droplet, one can send the images to ftp servers, to a WebDAV server etc. I just bought the companion FileChute app that integrates with EasyCrop and makes it very easy to send UL links to folk who need to see the picture. I think the developer has really hit the sweet spot with these apps.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
Analytica
19 August 2010
Good, easy, fast, cheap. Macgyver would love it because it is an exact solution.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.6
Dameian
22 January 2010
FANTASTIC. I love this little app. Easy. Quick. High Quality. Everything a Mac app should be. I use it daily for my sites and can say it has *never* given me any trouble and has worked flawlessly. Not to mention Yellow Mug is one of the premiere Mac developers who truly care about their customers. They deliver excellent customer service and excellent products. Cheers!
Like (4)
Version 2.4.4
Raindancing
06 November 2009
I am thrilled to death with EasyCrop. I've been creating backdrops for my old movies in Plex, and before I was importing into iPhoto, cropping there and exporting out. I thought to myself there has to be a better way-- and there is! Now I just keep the constraints set at 16:9, drag in, adjust, drag off. It's perfect for what I need. The only things I want to do are crop, sometimes flip, and occasionally desaturate, all of which EasyCrop does.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.4
Reaverx
16 September 2009
>> Version 2.4.3: Now works correctly on Snow Leopard. Actually, it doesn't. At least not for me; since SL i'm not able to enter any values into the size parameter of the cropped result. still works via the slider though, but.... Otherwise it's a great time saver for anyone who has to crop and resize pics frequently.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
Y-Guy
06 July 2009
I kept searching for a simple, easy to use cropping program. I wanted to be able to constrain crop and freehand crop. Other apps made this a multi-step complicated process (ImageWell) however EasyCrop does exactly what it says, makes it easy and fast. Some may say the interface isn't pretty, well its simple and easy to use - I don't sit for hours on end in this app, I get my photo cropped and move on.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Pengman
27 May 2009
This is a great little program.
TapDex from Yellow Mug is one of my indispensables and this could very well become that. Very impressed with how I could crop a person from a group shot. Uploading to my sites very good.
Nice.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
Pengman
27 May 2009
This is a great little program.
TapDex from Yellow Mug is one of my indispensables and this could very well become that. Very impressed with how I could crop a person from a group shot. Uploading to my sites very good.
Nice.
Like
Version 2.4
Drdul
27 April 2009
I was looking for an app that would allow me to quickly straighten and crop scanned images without having to fire up Photoshop. EasyCrop and ResizeMe were the only two apps I could find that would allow me to rotate the image at any angle (rather than in 90-degree chunks). I purchased EasyCrop because all the controls are available and visible at once, it is easy and intuitive to use, and as an added bonus, screenshot capability is built in. My only (very minor) complaint is that the appearance is sorta Windows-ish, especially the cheesy toolbar icons. But I can easily overlook that given how good the app is.
Like (5)
Version 2.3
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
23 July 2008
No experience with this application whatsoever, but the interface is keeping me from trying it. It just doesn't feel right to me. It's what I was used to back in my Windows days. It seems unnecessarily cluttered, like every feature needed a control and all of these controls had to be in the main window. Then there's the toolbar which has a Windows feel to it, right down to the Open (folder) and Save (Disk) icons which were copied verbatim from Windows. And there's at least 3 different styles of icons; they just don't match together. Then there's the gratuitous use of borders which reminds me of a Windows app I used to have (Qimage). There's a border around the left pane, another border around the image portion of that pane and yet another (blue) border around that border. I'm sure there's a purpose to it, but it detracts from the clean UI that I've come to appreciate from Mac applications.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.7
Joi
19 April 2008
I bought the "bundle" from this company which included all their software. EasyCrop and all the other programs included in the bundle have worked flawlessly and are extremely stable. The price is reasonable and is a safe purchase.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.6
Fredducker
04 December 2007
It works great! From what I understand you don't have a "save" option that overwrites the existing file you were cropping, so you might have to click "replace" a lot, but besides from that I liked it! Oh and i thought it would be nice to be able to open a lot of image files at once and go through them faster.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Josse
28 July 2006
EasyCrop works great! It is the big brother of SnapNDrag (from the same Developer) Drag & drop snaps of windows, screen or selection. works fast and very stable. No problems found! I payed the 12 $ (nice price) Highly recommended. iMac 500Mhz Mac OSX 10.4.4
Like
Version 2.0.1
Marsviolet
28 July 2006
Fantastic. Clever and very Mac-like. Love it.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Khanh
25 April 2006
The app stills hold its promise to be "easy and crop". Drag-n-drop support is another cool feature. One of the few true Apple-like utility software.
Like
Version 2.0