Back to A Better Finder Attributes page
A Better Finder Attributes free download for Mac

A Better Finder Attributes Reviews

30 September 2021

Change file creation and modification dates.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
OhEssex
OhEssex
Jun 9 2021
7.12
0.0
Jun 9 2021
0.0
Version: 7.12
Functionality of the software aside, the name of the program is a total pain because of the ridiculous length it has. When using this program, it ends up displacing many of my menubar items because my screen width isn't wide enough to hold everything. I guess I should be thankful the program isn't called "The World's Greatest Attribute Editor Available For The Macintosh Computer"
ivryernest
ivryernest
Mar 29 2021
7.10
1.0
Mar 29 2021
1.0
Version: 7.10
I will never use software whose name includes "a better"... In fact, better than what ?
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 5 2021
7.08
5.0
Jan 5 2021
5.0
Version: 7.08
this is now a universal binary app supporting Intel and Apple Silicon chips natively
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 20 2020
7.03
5.0
Oct 20 2020
5.0
Version: 7.03
MACUPDATE, another app that is now Universal (Intel and Apple Silicon). Need to start updating the MU website to indicate Universal compatibility. Developers already have access to Apple Silicon developer machines and Apple says it will release a production Apple Silicon mac before the end of the year. Probably will be announced at next month's scheduled Apple Event.
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 1 2020
7.01
5.0
Oct 1 2020
5.0
Version: 7.01
It should be noted that the minimum OS requirement for version 7.00 was listed as Yosemite (10.10), but the minimum OS requirement for version 7.01 is El Capitan (10.11). Very unusual to change OS requirements as part of dot-oh, maintenance release. I"ve not confirmed this myself, just FYI to anyone who owns Yosemite, make sure 7.01 runs before you delete your copy of 7.00 (and keep your copy of 6.x too in case that was an error listing 7.0 as compatible with Yosemite).
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 26 2019
6.17
5.0
Jun 26 2019
5.0
Version: 6.17
This app along with the companion 'A Better Finder Rename' from the same company, are two of my 'must have' utilities on my Mac Flash drive 'toolbox' that I carry with me. I can't remember a time when I didn't use these two apps (or don't want to remember!) It's probably been many releases since I've given a rating, so I"m correcting that oversight now.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Apr 19 2018
6.09
0.0
Apr 19 2018
0.0
Version: 6.09
NO, A Better Finder Attributes has NOT been discontinued!
You can download v6.0.9 here:
http://www.publicspace.net/download/ABFAX.dmg

What was discontinued, way back in 2006, was 'A Better Finder Creators & Types', which was replaced by A Better Finder Attributes, which is currently available for sale and will be updated on into the future. Ahem MU!
Weasel
Weasel
Sep 25 2017
6.05
4.0
Sep 25 2017
4.0
Version: 6.05
Does exactly what the description says it will do. Also a Better Finder rename works fine for me.
jeanms@span.ch
jeanms@span.ch
Sep 21 2017
6.05
3.0
Sep 21 2017
3.0
Version: 6.05
Essentially a companion for my old friend FileBuddy.
june8
june8
Jun 8 2017
6.05
1.0
Jun 8 2017
1.0
Version: 6.05
Application continuously throws offer to join mailing list, although I checked not show again box. I contacted the developer, but he only suggests deleting the preferences file which didn't solved. Problem continues and no reply from developer since. I regret upgrading from File Multi Tool 5 and requested refund and still waiting a reply from he developer.
Fishboy
Fishboy
Jan 25 2017
6.03
5.0
Jan 25 2017
5.0
Version: 6.03
This, along with A Better Finder Rename from the same developer, are among the best and most useful apps you will find for photographers and/or those with many audio files.. Download from developer website and checkout the package deals he offers. Highly recommended.
Gary30
Gary30
Nov 16 2016
6.01
0.0
Nov 16 2016
0.0
Version: 6.01
Don't be hatin' on Frank. He's one of the good guys.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jun 15 2016
5.36
0.0
Jun 15 2016
0.0
Version: 5.36
This app has not yet been updated to protect against the Sparkle updater framework vulnerability that was discovered in Jan. 2016. Apps that use a vulnerable version of Sparkle and an unencrypted HTTP channel for server updates are at risk of being hijacked to transmit malicious code to end users.
Littletree76
Littletree76
Dec 5 2013
5.24
1.0
Dec 5 2013
1.0
Version: 5.24
Version 5.23 and latest 5.24 can't even start up properly in Mavericks Mac OS 10.9. So what's the point of keep releasing such crappy software ? Don't you test your software with proper quality control before software release ? Developers wake up your stupid idea !
Pedromator
Pedromator
Jul 13 2013
5.22
5.0
Jul 13 2013
5.0
Version: 5.22
Works very good. Furthermore you can use the renamer from the same company.
freevito
freevito
Jun 24 2013
5.21
0.0
Jun 24 2013
0.0
Version: 5.21
I downloaded A Better Finder Attributes and got to inspect the interface. It's pretty spiffy. If the app had let me change the dates on more than 5 files in trial mode, I would have instantly spent the cash to buy it. Alas, 5 files was the limit, so I went looking elsewhere. I did find another shareware utility that would let me do more than 5 files, but I kept searching and found this neat and simple AppleScript that works fine: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20060703160750583 The instructions for turning it into an app are included. Just drop your files on the app after you create it, enter the date and time in YYYYDDMMDDhhmm format, click "Continue" , and you're done. A Better Finder Attribute has a nice interface, and can do more than change creation dates. If I ever need all the functions it provides, I won't hesitate to buy it. But for just changing the creation dates on a dozen or so files, the script linked above works fine.
Drdul
Drdul
Sep 9 2009
4.37
5.0
Sep 9 2009
5.0
Version: 4.37
This is an indispensable app for me. One of my primary uses is changing the date and time on downloaded email attachments to match the time the email was sent (for easier cross-referencing), but I use it for adjusting all sorts of attributes. The developer has been responsive, adding a couple of features I requested that make it easier to use. The only thing I can fault is the name, which is unnecessarily long and complicated. Every time I update this app, I end up dragging the new version out of the DMG onto my desktop and changing the name to "ABFA" before dragging it into my Applications folder.
Gsteiner
Gsteiner
Feb 13 2008
4.7
5.0
Feb 13 2008
5.0
Version: 4.7
I don't know of any other program that can "set the creation date to the time that a digital camera picture was taken." I use it all the time, because simply copying jpegs from a flash card often doesn't get the creating date right. With this application it's a breeze. I drag folders with thousands of pictures and it corrects the date in seconds. If anyone knows of a freeware that does just that, go ahead and post its name.
nononononononononononononononononon
Jan 19 2008
4.0
Version: 4.6.7
I've been using this for years. So long I can't even remember when I bought it. Never been charged to upgrade. It does exactly what is advertised. No problems ever.
Boysbytes
Boysbytes
Nov 6 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 6 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Great offer. Setting the creation date would be useful especially when the photographers forget to synchronise the time on their cameras and sorting through them on the Mac can be a little confusing.
Skritter
Skritter
Nov 6 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 6 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
The reviews are great and I'm sure I'll have the money to buy a copy one of these days!
Greerjb
Greerjb
Nov 6 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 6 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Have used this in the past; very useful tool at a great price.
Buzzyman
Buzzyman
Nov 6 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 6 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
This is a very cool looking app that I have tried in the past and really liked. The rfeviews are great and I'm sure I'll have the money to buy a copy one of these days!
Vvarp
Vvarp
Nov 6 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 6 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Is it any good? Let's check...
Umijin
Umijin
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Dohh! Just bought the suite. This is a very good app that you can use to reset or fix info from various kinds of files. My camera was on Japan time when I came to the US a couple weeks ago. With ABFA, I was able to reset all the photos to local easter standard time.
Wreleven
Wreleven
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Wow, what a cool handy app with a horrible icon.
Ajcowell
Ajcowell
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
I've used their other apps (renamer is awesome, saved me a few times). I think I'll probably get this when I get home tonight.
agyga-2
agyga-2
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Really interesting... I think I 'll try it
Geopick
Geopick
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
The whole suite of tools is a good addition to your Mac toolbox.
Kwkistler
Kwkistler
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Not sure if this would be much benifit if you already own Adobe CS3
Castle-Rose
Castle-Rose
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Sound's nice but with Classic now gone in Leopard is this really needed? This was mostly used by people coordinating files between Classic creator/type resources and OS X extensions.
Granddan
Granddan
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
I've used A Better Finder Rename and had good results.
Pjane
Pjane
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
How often does one really need this?
Britonius
Britonius
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
This could come in handy on occasion.
Dee-Dee-Warren
Dee-Dee-Warren
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
I wonder if this will solve the new iphoto issue of hiding the photos from the user which is not cool. I would love to know if this would do this.
Arobulack
Arobulack
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
This is an awesome product, and this deal makes the license a total steal.
Taylornj
Taylornj
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Not heard of tis before but may have to download and give it a spin.... or if I win a copy then I will have to gove it a whirl!
Macmaria
Macmaria
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
There is a very positive review of this app on the last issue of Maccompanion: ABFA is definitely worth a serious look.
Jack-Sparrow
Jack-Sparrow
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
A good one. I've been using it for some time now. Not the app you'll use everyday but a right one when you need it.
Glenbo
Glenbo
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Hey this could be just what a few people I know need - nice!
Victorj
Victorj
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
I can do all this from the command line (and then some). If at least it had pattern based renaming (like Total Commander has in Windows land)
anonymous-moose-4942
anonymous-moose-4942
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Looks great for removing DS_Store files from removable drives and fixing pesky picture files with the wrong creation dates!
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Why would I need a separate app to do this? I can change most settings through PathFinder.
Michele3
Michele3
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
I have to see if I can achieve the same with PathFinder, otherwise, it would be a nice addition to my set of tools.
Laurentr
Laurentr
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
It certainly can be a useful tool for imported pictures
Madcran
Madcran
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
I am already using "A Better Finder Rename" so this might complement it very nicely.
Weshsu
Weshsu
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
This looks like something I could use.
Parkerbennett
Parkerbennett
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Yes! Now if only it were a deal on the bundle... This is a very mature product, and the developer is very diligent and responsive.
Mpb
Mpb
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
this app is much better than the built-in engine of os x! i can recommend it to everyone.
Dc1860
Dc1860
Nov 5 2007
4.6.6
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Really useful for when the original date is inexplicably totally off.