Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to EasyFind page
EasyFind free download for Mac

EasyFind Reviews

16 December 2020

File, folder, and text contents search tool.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
476429
476429
Jun 15 2021
5.0.1
0.0
Jun 15 2021
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
I've been using it for years and it has never failed me. If a file exists, it will find it. The problem with Spotlight is that you never really know. I've looked for files with Spotlight and could not find them. I figured they were gone forever. Later I stumble across them. Who knows whether Spotlight had indexed and cached them properly. With EasyFind, you don't have to wonder if it really searched everything.
zevlexx
zevlexx
May 28 2021
5.0.1
0.0
May 28 2021
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
Brilliant. I accidentally deleted an important file and Easyfind allowed me to search my Time Machine hard drive and drag a copy out back onto my desktop.
Gog4
Gog4
Feb 9 2021
5.0.1
5.0
Feb 9 2021
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
Great app that really finds anything. You can also use quicklook with it, when selecting files from the list.
Johnny-K
Johnny-K
Dec 16 2020
5.0.1
5.0
Dec 16 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
Agreed, the best. Fast, easy, comprehensive and free, what's not to love.
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Dec 15 2020
5.0.1
5.0
Dec 15 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
The absolute best & most used application on my Mac, year after year! DEVONtechnologies has made (and updated) this gem for many years, and I'll never live long enough to tell them about all "The Thank You's" I own them!
Rabati
Rabati
Oct 13 2020
5.0
5.0
Oct 13 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
This is the "best" little finder programme, easy, and well done. Just to become perfect some more search options can be added.
Shodan
Shodan
Sep 21 2020
5.0
5.0
Sep 21 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
I love and use this all the time and prefer it to Finder. This really is a must have utility.
Tanone
Tanone
Aug 17 2020
5.0
5.0
Aug 17 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
A must have utility. I use it to clean system folders and to look for items in unindexed external drives.
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Jul 15 2020
5.0
5.0
Jul 15 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
MacUpdate's description is not updated when it currently says that version 5 dates from "18 July 2014". What downloads is version 5 dated 3 March 2020. This should be corrected so not to scare away people who (like me) will not download apps that haven't been updated for several years. Read more here: https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/freeware
gluhring
gluhring
May 26 2020
5.0
5.0
May 26 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
I've used easyfind for years... It's maybe a bit slow, but it's the easiest app that finds everything. No spot on your hard drive remains unsearched. System folders, libraries, invisibles, content... Finds it if it exists. No worries, no doubts. It's free, but if they charged for it, I'd pay whatever they asked.
claudiostrabio
claudiostrabio
May 15 2020
5.0
5.0
May 15 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
Downloaded after a few days trying to fix the "find" function in my finder, and giving up in despair. Seems to work perfectly.
barnack
barnack
Apr 2 2020
5.0
5.0
Apr 2 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
Absolutely brilliant search tool. Top marks to DEVONthink.
sinhaliteart
sinhaliteart
Mar 9 2020
5.0
5.0
Mar 9 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
Finally a perfect searching tool for MacOS. Works like a charm and saved me hours of manually searching through my external drives.
1stedition
1stedition
Mar 3 2020
5.0
5.0
Mar 3 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0
What Spotlight and the Finder can't find: EasyFind does. This is an indispensable program.
Nuttawut
Nuttawut
Jan 6 2020
4.9.3
5.0
Jan 6 2020
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Without doubt this is the "best" little finder programme. Never had any problem with it ever. Can't say more than that. And its free. 8 - )
marcoscraziman
marcoscraziman
Mar 7 2019
4.9.3
5.0
Mar 7 2019
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Good Program! Do what say do!
artie505
artie505
Jul 6 2018
4.9.3
2.0
Jul 6 2018
2.0
Version: 4.9.3
The same search of an APFS volume that takes EasyFind 135 seconds takes Find Any File about 5 (five) seconds, but don't hold your breath for an update any time soon, because "Full AFPS compatibility will come in an update but I can’t say when. We are in the middle of several very high-priority projects right now", and while that sounds promising, it's the same response I got when I emailed Devon about a bug around three years ago, and there's yet to be an update.

What I'm wondering is how Easyfind compares to Find Any File on a NON-APFS volume...faster, as fast, or similarly slower?

I've loved EasyFind for years and would love to give it 5 stars, but the lack of support for an app that is badly in need of support costs it big-time.
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
Mar 4 2018
4.9.3
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Outstanding search tool. It is excellent and super easy to use to search your entire hard drive. I use it often when deleting any application to find the often many support files that are NOT deleted by simply trashing the app. Many of these app support files are not even deleted when you use the developer's delete utility.
Igreg
Igreg
Jan 27 2018
4.9.3
4.0
Jan 27 2018
4.0
Version: 4.9.3
A favorite of mine. Although, the searches are pretty slow now in High Sierra. May be time for a little update.
Turquoise
Turquoise
Jan 11 2018
4.9.3
5.0
Jan 11 2018
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Great application, became veeeeery slow on High Sierra.
Raven-
Raven-
Dec 5 2017
4.9.3
5.0
Dec 5 2017
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Simple..... its 'easy' and super good!
xgman
xgman
Oct 16 2017
4.9.3
4.0
Oct 16 2017
4.0
Version: 4.9.3
Indispensable but, Broken on High Sierra. Please update. Thx..
Stann0
Stann0
Aug 21 2017
4.9.3
5.0
Aug 21 2017
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Helped me out of so many problems. Fantastic!
Dellu
Dellu
Apr 11 2017
4.9.3
5.0
Apr 11 2017
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Best finder. I cannot tell you the number of problems I solved with this app,
Gog4
Gog4
Jan 6 2017
4.9.3
5.0
Jan 6 2017
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Best of its kind!
zlazkow
zlazkow
Dec 19 2016
4.9.3
5.0
Dec 19 2016
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Use it for years, the best of its kind. And works great on Sierra.
battyattybasher
battyattybasher
Nov 27 2016
4.9.3
0.0
Nov 27 2016
0.0
Version: 4.9.3
Not finding contents of .docx files - which is 90% of what I need it to do.
MacDev
MacDev
Jul 2 2016
4.9.3
4.0
Jul 2 2016
4.0
Version: 4.9.3
I really like this program, but unlike FileLocator Pro for Windows, it doesn't do RegEx searches within files that I can find. Wildcards, sure, but not real REgEx.

FileLocator Pro on Windows is the only program that for the mac there simply isn't anything like it, functionally speaking.

I can't find a single search program that can search binary files, give me context of every found instance (in another pane) and not "rely" on the Spotlight index as so many of the mac search tools do.

EasyFind comes very close and it's free. I would gladly PAY MORE for just a bit more functionality here.

https://www.mythicsoft.com/filelocatorpro

(Note that FileLocator Pro also has a very capable free product called "Agent Ransack". Nothing like this on the Mac, either)

- m
loicbellet
loicbellet
May 11 2016
4.9.3
5.0
May 11 2016
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
After scouring the internet and running dozens of searches for software that can check contents of elm files on a mac. This is IT. All others I've downloaded and paid good money for are no better than the native spotlight. This is better than Spotlight.
Zx81
Zx81
Jan 23 2016
4.9.3
5.0
Jan 23 2016
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Perfect complement for Appcleaner (or the likes) ; if you know what you're doing -I hope I do- you can totally delete bits and pieces that remain after an app has been removed. Great software!
Solo68
Solo68
Nov 12 2015
4.9.3
0.0
Nov 12 2015
0.0
Version: 4.9.3
Just wanted to note that EasyFind 4.9.3 works as expected on El Capitan. Woohoo!
saratogahandyman
saratogahandyman
May 30 2015
4.9.3
0.0
May 30 2015
0.0
Version: 4.9.3
Does not search text in Pages or PDF documents
Welandr
Welandr
Mar 1 2015
4.9.3
4.5
Mar 1 2015
4.5
Version: 4.9.3
poor icon
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Jan 19 2015
4.9.3
5.0
Jan 19 2015
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
This morning, I had to do some serious backup and discovered that I had a ton of duplicate files, scattered across numerous external drives, that I need to find and weed out. While Spotlight is busy indexing all of these drives (and giving me nothing until it's done), EasyFind is busy finding.
bekurgato
bekurgato
Dec 4 2014
4.9.3
0.0
Dec 4 2014
0.0
Version: 4.9.3
Is it posible to search multiple files on EasyFind? I have excell table with the products of over 100 codes. Can I also ask for 10 images in same moment, for example? Thakns in advice
yanez1971
yanez1971
Oct 12 2014
4.9.3
5.0
Oct 12 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
Simply perfect.
jack2001
jack2001
Oct 7 2014
4.9.3
5.0
Oct 7 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
non ne esiste una migliore, complimenti
Albert-it
Albert-it
Aug 13 2014
4.9.3
4.5
Aug 13 2014
4.5
Version: 4.9.3
Great utility!
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Aug 3 2014
4.9.3
0.0
Aug 3 2014
0.0
Version: 4.9.3
Pretty nice. Generous of the devs to make it free. Only thing missing is highlighting in search results. I would happily pay if they added that feature.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Jul 18 2014
4.9.3
5.0
Jul 18 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
I use this since the first version and always find this small program extremely helpful. As already written here it is a fast small, stable and exact finder application. And it is running with nearly every MacOS ever developed. Big thanks to the developer and big thanks too that it is stiull a free application.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Jul 18 2014
4.9.3
5.0
Jul 18 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
I use this program often...after I use AppCleaner to delete a program I then use EasyFInd to locate any residual files associated with the deleted application.
Hachepunto
Hachepunto
Jul 18 2014
4.9.3
4.5
Jul 18 2014
4.5
Version: 4.9.3
Excellent application that does what does not do spotlight.
Vilennon
Vilennon
Jul 17 2014
4.9.3
4.5
Jul 17 2014
4.5
Version: 4.9.3
One of my favorite OSX utilities. "Find" in the classic Mac sense. Accept no substitute!
drbroom
drbroom
Jul 17 2014
4.9.3
5.0
Jul 17 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.3
The best file find tool for the Mac! Wish the "Find"-er still worked the way EasyFind still does. If I had one request for this little gem; is there anyway to make cmd-F start FasyFind rather then the very lame Finder's built in "Find" dialog. Anyone know how to other then using an app like Apptivate (boy do I miss ResEdit)?
dalesorel
dalesorel
May 18 2014
4.9.2
5.0
May 18 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.2
This is a great app! I just wish it remembered its full screen status across restarts.
Junueno
Junueno
Apr 7 2014
4.9.2
5.0
Apr 7 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.2
Interface could use some cleaning but it works like a charm, even on remote servers.
Glenbo
Glenbo
Mar 27 2014
4.9.2
5.0
Mar 27 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.2
Does what the finder and Spotlight can't do, it finds anything, simple easy to use, I take this every where with me on my portable HD, Love it, I'd happily pay to buy this, spotlight sucks, EasyFind finds stuff!
jwjb
jwjb
Mar 19 2014
4.9.2
5.0
Mar 19 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.2
EasyFind is just an awesome app that finds everything on my Late 2013 iMac and external drives including the things that Finder cannot find and it has saved me a lot of time not only in file management, but in deleting those allusive files left behind when uninstalling other apps that AppCleaner misses.
Dmitry-Novikov
Dmitry-Novikov
Jan 22 2014
4.9.2
4.0
Jan 22 2014
4.0
Version: 4.9.2
Very functional but ugly. looks like PC application
x0x0
x0x0
Jan 16 2014
4.9.2
5.0
Jan 16 2014
5.0
Version: 4.9.2
This app is amazing. I use it at work over a network on huges disks with tons of files (where Spotlight fails to index those drives properly) and it finds my queries in no time. I also tried Find Any File but it has less options. It could use a better icon though.