Back to XChat Azure page
XChat Azure free download for Mac

XChat Azure Reviews

1.18.11
24 August 2017

IRC chat client ported from UNIX (was XChat Aqua).

Cbx322
25 October 2006

Most helpful

Thanks a lot and thank you so much for implementing auto-away! I like that feature very much.
Like (1)
Version 0.16

Read 46 XChat Azure User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eddiemp
06 September 2017
The appstore tells me that this one needs OSX 10.12.x. Why not on 10.11 ???
Like
Version 1.18.11
Penguirl
26 February 2013
When I set the tabs to be at the top or bottom I cannot see the most recent msgs, when I set it to either side msgs display properly. Other than that still a good IRC client, just wish it wasn't MAS only.
Like
Version 1.12.7
2 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
26 February 2013
The version of Aqua posted below by Matthew Green seems to work properly on Snow Leopard with the tabs on top. Good riddance Azure and MAS.
Like
Penguirl
Penguirl
26 February 2013
Please excuse teh brain fart, rather than finding the url in the comments I'll post it here: http://xchataqua.github.com/
Like
Morpe
15 June 2010
the nick tab-completation on snow leopard not working properly :°°
Like
Version 0.17.0.1437
SawtoothRising
26 April 2009
there's a slightly updated build for xchat aqua available at: http://raim.codingfarm.de/blog/2009/01/21/x-chat-aqua-for-mac-os-x/ thankfully it implements a tabs column on the left of the window now too
Like (1)
Version 0.16
Cbx322
25 October 2006
Thanks a lot and thank you so much for implementing auto-away! I like that feature very much.
Like (1)
Version 0.16
Bedouin
24 October 2006
Thanks. I've been waiting for a UB version of this ever since I got a MacBook.
Like
Version 0.16
Maximillian
11 February 2006
Why can't I change the left / right tab shortcuts using the Keyboard preference pane of OSX 10.3.9? This means the tabbed browsing uses different shortcuts and I can't change them.. effectively rendering my tab buttons on the mouse useless for this one app. It sounds minor but it is the most obnoxious and irritating thing ever!
Like
Version 0.15.2
Prometheas
12 January 2006
I have loads of work to do, and no time to do it all, so I'm going to have to keep this rather short. X-Chat Aqua is *the best* IRC applicaton for OS X... one might even be tempted to argue that it's the best in the world. While I wouldn't call it your grandmother's IRC client -- haha... sorry, funny image -- however, if you actually know IRC, you'll need less than a day with this program to arrive at this conclusion for yourself. The bottom line is that, as of Jan 2006, there is simply no better IRC client available for OS X than this one.
Like
Version 0.15.1
Bedouin
12 January 2006
I don't like how they've made the tabs blue now, disregarding whether or not your color theme is set to aqua or silver. Is there some way to change this that I don't know about?
Like
Version 0.15.1
JetsGo
12 January 2006
The true "Whats new" list doesn't show what is new from 0.14, only 0.15.0. Lots of changes have been made, and a list is on the Sourceforge website.
Like
Version 0.15.1
Anonymous
26 November 2005
great app easy to use, stable and feature rich BEST IRC client for mac
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
23 October 2005
Its a great program and its easy to use, I can't compare it to other IRC programs because I haven't used them, however, I seem to get this weird problem. I have high-speed cable and I for some reason get chat lag. Now, I know this isn't unheard of, but it just seems really, really, weird. When I use programs like iChat or AdiumX I get no lag at all. Any tips or anyone with problems like this?
Like
Version 0.14.0
LewisButleradad
23 August 2005
X-Chat Aqua is a faithful reproducition of Xchat for X11. This means its UI is rather clunky, but the functionality is top-notch. the scripting interfaces allow endless customization, and the client itself is stable and fast. It has a few OS X specific extras, like dragging files into the nick list to do a dcc send and an optional 'metal' Interface. Version 0.14.0 adds working support for nickservs and a UTF-8 mode that has proved to be fully compatible. In short, this is the best mac IRC client, though if you are a casual user, the extended features may not be useful. However, it is free, while Snak and Ircle are not (albeit, they are cheap and I own both, but I USE X-Chat Aqua). NB: Older versions of X-Chat Aqua for OS X 10.2 no longer appear to be available, but in fact are; they are just hidden rather well. This link should take you to the full list of past releases. http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=62257
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
21 July 2005
I've tried 0.12.0, 0.13.0 and 0.14.0 of xchat aqua. Every version won't work properly. I can connect to any server but then nothing works. The lag-bar is at 100%. I do not see myself in the channel userlist. i can write but won't see what i write or what other write but the others can see what i write. i also cannot join other channels or something else. All i can do is Quit XChat Aqua. Does anyone know this problem and can help me? I mailed the project leader with no response (at a time when 0.13.0 was the actual version). I've tried other Chat Clients like Colloguy, Conversation, Snak, Ircle, Irssi etc... Every of them works fine but they are all really horrible clients. My Specs: eMac G4 1,25GHz 768MB RAM OSX 10.3.9 3MBit/384KBit DSL No Router or Firewall which could block something. Please help! :(
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
21 July 2005
Its an unicode(utf8 charakter set) problem, nothing more.
Like
Version 0.14.0
Reverb
14 June 2005
Lots of features, more than any other free graphical IRC client on OS X. On the downside, the user interface is ugly and unintuitive. X-Chat Aqua is definitely the best choice for a power user. Otherwise, you might be happier with Conversation or Colloquy.
Like
Version 0.14.0
funnellpd
05 May 2005
Not a dumbed-down GUI client, but powerful and packed with features and stable as heck. Absolute bliss to use after years of half-assed Mac IRC clients. FREE.
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
25 April 2005
I think it is the best IRC Prog available for OSX. But there is a problem with the new version, the german special characters (ÜÖÄ, üöä, ß) are always wrong in this version, now I use 0.13.0 again. And I think the old version ist faster, too.
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
12 April 2005
Unfortunately, this release is a huge step backwards, for me at least. on my dual 2 Ghz G5 with OS 10.3.8, attempting to change multiple preferences causes the preferences window to lag severely in response time, several of the preferences come up garbled, and attempting to close the preferences window while it is lagging causes X-Chat Aqua to crash.
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
12 April 2005
This is by far the best IRC client around :) Works well in Tiger too I'm told :)
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
12 April 2005
One of the best IRC Client for MacOS X.
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
27 February 2005
This is my favorite chat app, but it crashes after a couple days of normal use (13 channels, 2 servers).
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
07 January 2005
Simply refuses to run on OS X 10.2.8
Like
Version 0.13.0
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 January 2005
"Support for 10.2.x has been dropped. This is because the perl plugin no longer works with the version of perl that comes with 10.2. Although X-Chat Aqua doesn't strictly rely on the perl plugin, it does use it to handle clickable URLs. I could have made a version for 10.2 that doesn't come with (or require) the perl plugin, but I didn't like the idea of releasing and xchat variant without the perl plugin. Another factor is that it's a pain to maintain multiple plugins, and backward compatability. The final straw in this decision was that I want to take advantage of new features in 10.3. Future releases will make supporting 10.2 impossible."
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 February 2005
Reading is fun.
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 April 2005
Perhaps for clarity, you should change the system requirements for XChat Aqua to 10.3 on MacUpdate.
Like
Version 0.14.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 April 2005
Looks like it has been changed... Reading is indeed fun!
Like
Version 0.14.0
Spider Mann
25 October 2004
Love this chat program. I started using IRC for TMO (The MacObserver) channel. I was using their own client, and I had a hand in developing (graphical stuff). After a while, I just needed something more advanced. So I was browsing through the listings and tried this one out. Perfect for newbies, average, and pro users. A bit confusing on the set-up at first, but after that point this program has worked flawlessly. If you want to get into IRC, this is the app to do it with.
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
08 October 2004
There are a few features which I haven't been able to figure out. 1-use of colours and reverse, 2-sending files, can you change the colour of he console from black to another?, 3-information on scripting and plug-ins. Better help guide. The program works well otherwise and has only crashed a couple of times. Also I can't find out the differences beween versions?
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
27 July 2004
Excellent as always, 0.13 offers a nice speed boost over 0.12, no more lagging while switching windows.
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
23 July 2004
After loving X-Chat to death on linux and never finding anything very satisfactory on OS X this has truly come as a pleasant suprise. Fast, tons of features, scriptable.... just great in other words.
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
14 July 2004
I would be bouncing off walls at the moment if my mac werent in for repairs right now. Still, I cant wait to try out the new version.
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
14 July 2004
WOW! The improvements in 0.13.0 are very much appreciated, especially the fixing of the perl stuff! So much faster and better overal now! THE perfect IRC client!
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
14 July 2004
This already was, IMO, the best IRC client available for OS X (Well, ircii if you're a shell-junkie) and now with the new improvements, it's even better. Support for system sounds in events was the last thing I needed to make the client perfect for me.
Like
Version 0.13.0
Anonymous
13 July 2004
In my opinion the best irc client available on OS X, if you're an ex unix user you know it already, currently this is virtually identicle to the X-Chat 2.x series you'll find in xwindows except with an aqua ui instead of gtk. Quite a powerful client, it doesn't waste a lot of screen realestate and is excellent if you like to be on a number of servers at once. The learning curve is probably a little steeper than many irc clients, but it's worth getting to know this one, I've used X-Chat in on other OS's since the late 90's and now everything else feels strange to me. If you're a relative newcomer to irc and not too tech savvy, maybe start with another client and then move to this one, but if you have the know how, I personally feel this is the only way to go for the time being. If you enjoy this software please let the developer of the MacOS X version know, it seems he doesn't get much feedback.
Like
Version 0.12.0
Christoph Egger
21 March 2004
0.12.0 is no longer usable! I upgraded from 0.11.0 to 0.12.0 and voila I can't connect: --- Looking up irc.eu.freenode.net.. --- Looking up osiris.rh2.swh.mhn.de.. --- Connecting to osiris.rh2.swh.mhn.de (192.168.97.3) port 1080.. --- Connection failed. Error: Connection refused osiris is the machine, where danted (socks v4 and v5) runs on. The only way for me to connect through...
Like
Version 0.12.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 March 2004
damn. It was danted itself not running correctly. It was a zombie process. That's why danted refused any connections...
Like
Version 0.12.0
Anonymous
05 February 2004
I like that it includes an identd client, since apple decided that it was of no use, letting me off of some servers I visited that need to authenticate using this :/ But it will be really nice some documentation or that the help was implemented on it, since I cannot figure how some functions works like preferences lists :P I don't know too much about coding, I only decided to use this IRC client, first, because it's free and because it is really stable and it has tabbed windows.
Like
Version 0.12.0
Curlynose
27 January 2004
I have found this to be the best IRC client for OS X. It caters to "n00bs" who don't know how to use IRC commands, such as banning, opping, and changing channel topics. A very nice feature that I have noticed of this client is that if you click the "Window" button on the menu bar, you will be able to select whatever component of IRC that you want to use, with its exact name so that you don't have to hunt around for it (e.g. Banlist, Direct Chat, and File Send). It even accepts mIRC color codes. But the number one reason that I like this client, is that it is free. Case closed.
Like
Version 0.12.0
Freezer
16 November 2003
needs the ctcp command "music" to be added....so that others can get info on what you are listening to...
Like
Version 0.11.0
2 answer(s)
Butch_Arrington
Butch_Arrington
10 May 2004
I did see music info posted, but I thought if it works it's supposed to stream the music to other clients in the room? I can't DCC send. Any ideas on how to fix my settings?
Like
Version 0.12.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 May 2004
It needs to look for an unused port to open for DCC file transfers. I forgot what port it normally uses, but leaving First DCC Port (in Prefs>Network>File Transfers) at 0 and setting Last DCC Port to 9999 works for me.
Like
Version 0.12.0
Anonymous
10 November 2003
works on a clean install panther, but not an upgraded panther install. Thats what I found......
Like
Version 0.11.0
Anonymous
09 November 2003
Woha. Doesn't seem to work at all with Panther. All the text is displayed in a singe column at the right of the window. Not too practical... ;-)
Like
Version 0.11.0
Ncc876
09 August 2003
It works fantastically well for me and I have no problems with it at all so far. I like not having to run an X window manager just to run a chat app. One default that should be changed: 'browser %s' doesn't work when URLs are clicked. The proper setting is '!open %s'. After figuring this out I set both the onclick action and the context menuitem to use this command and it works fantastically.
Like
Version 0.10.1
Amonre
08 August 2003
X-Chat Aqua is a failed attempt to port X-Chat to Mac OS X. It's ugly, it's unstable, it's slow, it doesn't have the features I need. I prefer X-Chat in X11. MUCH better.
Like
Version 0.10.1
Anonymous
06 August 2003
Even for somebody like me - who is not an expert in IRC - X-Chat Aqua is very easy to use and I had no problems with it. Great!
Like
Version 0.10.1
Anonymous
06 August 2003
This version has been out for three weeks. Did MacUpdate fall asleep at the switch? Works fine for me and is my IRC client of choice. And the price is certainly right (free).
Like
Version 0.10.1
amon-re
21 June 2003
Good, stable, although the GUI is far from good. X-Chat is something for Linux, not really for Mac OS X--at least for the GUI part. Just like Asterax, I do use X-Chat on my YDL box as well.
Like
Version 0.9
Anonymous
20 May 2003
still lacks highlights
Like
Version 0.9
Asterax
27 March 2003
Yeah, I was getting tired of Ircle and it's sudden crashing as I selected text in the chat. And I really didn't feel like using my somewhat slow XDarwin server just to run XChat, so this is great news. I also use XChat for my YDL box.
Like
Version 0.9
Anonymous
21 March 2003
As a Linux user, I've been using Xchat for quite sometime. I tried Snak, Jedi, and some of the other popular clients, but none have matched xchats simplicity and power. Glad to see it's finally been ported to Aqua!
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
05 March 2003
This rocks, finally a proper OSX version of this AmIRC clone, finally the Mac has a truly good quality product for IRC'ing. Snak is good, but this is way better.
Like
Version 0.8