Back to Audio Hijack page
Audio Hijack free download for Mac

Audio Hijack Reviews

22 October 2021

Record and enhance audio from any application (was Audio Hijack Pro).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
heyplink
heyplink
Mar 28 2021
3.8.4
1.0
Mar 28 2021
1.0
Version: 3.8.4
When Nicecast ended, Audio Hijack was recommended and so I bought it. I just assumed it would work like Nicecast but it doesn't and you'll need a separate streaming app to share your broadcasts. I'm frankly disappointed and feel a bit misled. I'm now using Audiomovers because it's simple like Nicecast was and works right out of the box.
scott2breal
scott2breal
Nov 26 2020
3.7.7
1.0
Nov 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.7.7
An audio capture app that doesn't capture audio. For whatever reason it just doesn't work on my mac. Well, it worked once. Now it won't record anything after setting up a new session and pressing the record button. I updated it, rebooted, followed their quite simple tutorial. Nothing.
rmiddag
rmiddag
Jan 22 2020
3.6.3
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 3.6.3
Does Audio Hijack no longer allow Quick Time Player 10.5 to play DRM files?
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
3.6.2
4.0
Nov 6 2019
4.0
Version: 3.6.2
I would give 5 stars if the UI was less flashy and full of unnecessary animations.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 24 2019
3.5.7
5.0
Jul 24 2019
5.0
Version: 3.5.7
Very good! I use it a lot.
Spike Jones
Spike Jones
Dec 23 2018
3.5.6
3.0
Dec 23 2018
3.0
Version: 3.5.6
Audio Hikack is a very useful tool to record audio from almost any source. The interface is strange and you need a while to learn to use it. The big minus point is the price. This is really far too high for what it does. Therefore I can't really recommend this. Unfortunately there are no good alternatives. Someone?
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
Oct 31 2018
3.5.5
2.0
Oct 31 2018
2.0
Version: 3.5.5
3.5.5 Keeps asking for helper permission to change how it works. It is so annoying, I had to delete it. I still use the older version in High Sierra. It is so much more intuitive. I am so sorry, I just don't need a new learning curve to add to my stress level.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Sep 14 2018
3.5.4
5.0
Sep 14 2018
5.0
Version: 3.5.4
They were nice enough to send me a beta copy of AH for Mojave awhile back when I wrote to find out about its progress. It's worked just fine on all the Mojave public betas I've used.
AlexisDhooge
AlexisDhooge
Jul 8 2018
3.5.0
4.0
Jul 8 2018
4.0
Version: 3.5.0
Works as advertised. A bit too expensive though.
jjw1
jjw1
Jul 4 2018
3.5.0
5.0
Jul 4 2018
5.0
Version: 3.5.0
I love this app.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Jun 15 2018
3.3.8
0.0
Jun 15 2018
0.0
Version: 3.3.8
Will it record streaming audio as individual .mp3 files? Or will it save the entire stream as a single file?
Moogan
Moogan
May 5 2018
3.3.7
5.0
May 5 2018
5.0
Version: 3.3.7
Audio Hijack 3.3.8 Released on 4/23/18 Major Enhancement: Audio Capture Engine (ACE) has been updated to 9.0.2, to fix several small issues related to installation. Enhancement: Audio Hijack now works around device visibility issues caused by incorrect behavior seen in apps such Boom. Enhancement: Audio Hijack's MP3 encoder (LAME) has been updated to version 3.100. Bug Fix: The Preferences window has been updated for improved VoiceOver compatibility. Other: Another update to License window has been made.
Moogan
Moogan
Mar 31 2018
3.3.6
5.0
Mar 31 2018
5.0
Version: 3.3.6
Audio Hijack 3.3.7 Released on 3/27/18 Major Enhancement: Audio Capture Engine (ACE) is the new name for Rogue Amoeba's audio capture backend (formerly called “Instant On”). ACE has been updated to version 9.0, with several small fixes and improvements. Enhancement: VoIP support for GoToMeeting has been updated to support all versions, including new versions from LogMeIn. Enhancement: Improvements have been made to Audio Hijack's FLAC recording. Other: The License window has been updated and improved.
CloudB
CloudB
Jan 27 2018
3.3.6
2.5
Jan 27 2018
2.5
Version: 3.3.6
With macOS10.13.3 this introduces gaps and audio glitches in the audio. Also, this app is overly too complicated to set up.
Ali-Egypt
Ali-Egypt
May 18 2017
3.3.3
5.0
May 18 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
A bit overpriced imo
Fishboy
Fishboy
May 17 2017
3.3.3
5.0
May 17 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
The new version requires a small learning curve for those used to working with the original UI, but this remains the best App. of it's kind. Solid customer support from one of the highest-rated developers out there.
Bottacco
Bottacco
Feb 28 2017
3.3.2
5.0
Feb 28 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
It records anything and everything that I through at it. Great. Just a pity that it doesn't incorporate Loopback all together in just one app (and a more reasonable price) because it is the logical route.
Liselotte
Liselotte
Jul 8 2016
3.3.1
4.0
Jul 8 2016
4.0
Version: 3.3.1
Aweful GUI but it does work as advertised. I really do not understand why this needs a 'complex' GUI. A simple OSX-like GUI would do the job too and much easier to use. Still a solid 4 stars though.
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
Jun 11 2016
3.3.0
3.5
Jun 11 2016
3.5
Version: 3.3.0
Handy tool for recording anything that is playing in realtime. One bug that is present from v3.0 is that it sometimes creates high frequency peaks. More or less sounds like crackles. I tried everything to get rid of this: doing nothing else then recording, preventing OSX goes to sleep, close applications that could interfere, .. helas, it keeps creeping in. Maybe it is a 10.11 only problem, not sure. If the devs could resolve this, it would make this an essential tool for me.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Apr 23 2016
3.2.3
5.0
Apr 23 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.3
I've gotten used to the interface - indeed, it has many advantages - and really, AH is simply the best game in town. It's notable that any programs that used to be competitive have simply ceased development or haven't been able to keep up. Moreover, though, the customer service is superb. Although I know that MU fans often admonish reviewers for using customer service as part of the review and rating, I think it's an important part of the overall experience. If there's a problem with a program or its interaction with other programs, then that is part of how well the program works; and if the customer service is lacking, then that will also end up being a part of how well the program works. Yesterday, the developer took a reasonable amount of time to help me solve a long-standing problem I've had with trying to capture audio from a particularly troubling program. He stayed with me, and whereas the solution turned out to be as simple as turning off a checkbox on the troubling program, I didn't feel belittled for not knowing better. He was supportive, and I got the sense that he really takes time to help his customers. So, good program + good service = 5 star rating for me.
Shooters
Shooters
Jan 26 2016
3.2.2
5.0
Jan 26 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.2
Best app for capturing audio. Tried several other comparable apps but this is the only that always work. A bit expensive though.
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
Jan 8 2016
2.0
Version: 3.2.1
I've been using it for years, but opening up to a blank back screen doesn't appeal to me. Do the developers really think we want to go back and relearn everything. GIVE US A BREAK! Don't follow Apple down the hide everything route. Stand up for yourself, FUNCTION OVER FORM. At least provide backwards compatibility so that we can see our settings from the previous version! So poor...
Balanchine
Balanchine
Dec 17 2015
3.2.1
5.0
Dec 17 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
Although I like the new interface, I'm finding it very difficult to make long (9 hour or more) recordings with the current version. The recording splits into a new file around the 9 hour mark, with loss of audio at the split, and damaged files which won't edit properly.

If I set the app to auto split into a new file before 9 hours, I still get loss of audio around the split.
Noivad
Noivad
Nov 2 2015
3.2.1
5.0
Nov 2 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
At first the new UI threw me, & I didn’t like it until I got used to it. After the first few weeks, I got used to it, and noticed enhancements, and an overall more flexible app. I just wish I could run/switch audio control sets from the menubar. But there are too many menu bar apps anyway. Overall, this is the best audio routing tool in terms of ease of use, feedback and — most importantly — stability I have tried.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Aug 24 2015
3.2.0
0.0
Aug 24 2015
0.0
Version: 3.2.0
I'd be more interested in Audio Hijack hadn't Rogue Amoeba agreed to take over development of Soundflower just to apparently abandon it soon thereafter. Some people say they've managed to keep SF working in 10.9 and beyond, but no-one I know can make it work in practice. Hopefully RA will get us another release at some point.

I'm somewhat interested in AH to get sound from movies and what not, but I'm afraid of bad sound quality. How does AH respect sound quality and let you work with that? Wavetap for instance gives me a lot of distortion. You can actually hear it the moment you activate recording. Can AH actually lock to one source in practice, any source, without a massive delay in system audio?
KatRoss
KatRoss
Aug 8 2015
3.2.0
5.0
Aug 8 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.0
Great app! I love it : so simple to use it.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Jul 31 2015
3.2.0
5.0
Jul 31 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.0
Awesome program, but I would really, really like it if I could just friggin’ adjust the size of the icons in the windows. If you have a small monitor, the constant scrolling back and forth is really annoying. Couldn’t the developer perhaps offer an option of “new view” and “old view?”
Krocasta
Krocasta
Jul 31 2015
3.1.1
0.5
Jul 31 2015
0.5
Version: 3.1.1
ver.3 very difficult to use. using ver.2 even now.
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
Jul 26 2015
3.1.1
2.0
Jul 26 2015
2.0
Version: 3.1.1
I bought and installed 3.0 but I still use 2. I think it is a bit more flexible.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jun 25 2015
3.1.1
5.0
Jun 25 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Well made and really very useful!
SteveO1823
SteveO1823
Jun 17 2015
3.1.1
4.0
Jun 17 2015
4.0
Version: 3.1.1
Terrific program which I have used effectively for work & personal recordings since inception. Always works smoothly & easily for me with competent, timely responses.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Jun 1 2015
3.1
4.0
Jun 1 2015
4.0
Version: 3.1
Long time user, the interface isn't bad but WHAT HUGE ICONS.

PLEASE give us the option to reduce the HUGE ICONS.

You guys don't own my monitor space - I do - please stop hijacking screen real-estate. :)

Good stuff, hopefully the HUGE ICONS aren't indicative to bad oversight and/or lack of usability testing on the dev side. ;)

Don
Thaiwest
Thaiwest
May 29 2015
3.1
4.0
May 29 2015
4.0
Version: 3.1
The 'leader of the pack'! Audio Hijack is leading the way for others to follow! If you don't have it, well, that is your loss!
MichelH8564
MichelH8564
May 29 2015
3.1
5.0
May 29 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1
The new version (3) is a giant leap forward in terms of user-friendliness and simplicity. It is now my favorite app when I have to record various apps and sources. I can even (using Soundflower) use Skype combining a mike and a line input. Kudos to the developers, who are reactive and listening to the suggestions and remarks.
Neil-M
Neil-M
Mar 21 2015
3.0.3
0.0
Mar 21 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0.3
I've been using Audio Hijack from the beginning - I automatically purchased the upgrade.

The engine behind it is still as solid as ever and the functionality good - but I have to admit....I've gone back to version 2 - for my everyday use.

The main reason is the 'main view' in the app - it's missing the option to switch to "list view" - maybe I have 'too many' options set up, but in the default (and only) icon view, it just takes over too much screen space.

- Am I missing the option? Where is it? There is no view choice in the menu or preferences.

- It's fine on a large screen iMac, but I'm generally on the road with a MacBook Pro -

So;

• No list view
• No choice of icon grid spacing (to squeeze more in)

---
• I'll add, that I have shared my opinion with the developer via email
Sibelius
Sibelius
Mar 19 2015
3.0.3
1.0
Mar 19 2015
1.0
Version: 3.0.3
this is one of those apps that looks like it was designed by someone who wants to take over your screen with their Lovely Design Interface. The app works, and seems to be the only one that does the job but, wow, it is so big, and ugly. And so convoluted. I really wish the designer could think about the end user, instead of himself. I downloaded the trial version, and couldn't live with it for any time at all...
ric0ric
ric0ric
Mar 16 2015
3.0.2
1.0
Mar 16 2015
1.0
Version: 3.0.2
Works to record one item okay - then crashes after the record button is clicked to end the recording. This happens time after time. Have reverted to the old faithful Audio hijack 2 which seems far easier to use and doesn't let me down repeatedly.
Wts
Wts
Feb 17 2015
3.0.2
4.0
Feb 17 2015
4.0
Version: 3.0.2
For me it's the same old audio recorder wearing a brand new suite. However, i do wish these developers get rid of the obsession to skin their apps in black. At the moment i have three apps running and my desktop is solid black. Audio Hijack, how about some skin other than black. Perhaps it's Henry Ford thinking.
Mcr
Mcr
Feb 16 2015
3.0.2
0.0
Feb 16 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
I'm a long time user of 1.x and 2.x. Perhaps I'm just an 'old dog who can't learn a new trick', but I can't get past the UI in 3.x after several weeks of use. It's not just a case of good lucks, but IMO, the new UI is less productive.
Hendricx
Hendricx
Feb 16 2015
3.0.2
3.5
Feb 16 2015
3.5
Version: 3.0.2
Works as advertised and records whatever is playing. I sometimes do have audio artifacts and lost audio fragments but it most cases it works fine. That said, it would be great if the devs reconsider the GUI. A nice looking, functional GUI can justify the high asking price.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Feb 16 2015
3.0.2
0.0
Feb 16 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
Various reviews praise this new version of Audio Hijack Pro, and apparently it is streamlined and easier to use. But could the interface possibly be more ugly? They took the flat design gestalt that has overtaken Windows 8 and OS X 10.10 and exceeded even Microsoft and Apple in ugly design. Which might be OK if aesthetics were of no real importance. But bad aesthetics also hinder usability and utility. Some of us actually use visual cues in our work, and the bland, monochromatic sameness of the AH interface practically eliminates visual cues entirely. Nobody else seems to care; all that means is that Apple and Microsoft have successfully dumbed down expectations. Yuck!
ccjj
ccjj
Feb 12 2015
3.0.1
5.0
Feb 12 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
As an internet broadcaster I need tools that work, for that reason I use every Rogue Amoeba app. In the past I used Audio Hijack Pro everyday for capturing audio from the internet and other sources but now, with Audio Hijack 3, I have a top notch production tool for getting interview and producing quality audio projects.

If you're having problems making the leap, you are most likely over-thinking. Sit back, take a deep breath and let it sink in.

Exceptional update Rogue Amoeba. +++
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Feb 1 2015
3.0.1
5.0
Feb 1 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Does any one know how to place the files on the desktop instead of the Recording center??
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Jan 30 2015
3.0.1
2.0
Jan 30 2015
2.0
Version: 3.0.1
I don't like the new version of Audio Hijack. The old interface might not have been the fanciest but it was clear and simple and worked. The new interface is confusing, at least to me who wants mainly to record Skype phone calls. Can it be the purpose of a new interface that I have to study the manual again for such a simple task?

With Audio Hijack 2 I can record Skype phone calls and listen to the other side simultaneously through my computer speakers in best audio quality and without any echo. With Audio Hijack 3 I have a terrible echo of everything that the other side says in my computer speakers. I might be able to find out how to prevent this but I think I should not have to - it should simply work.

Therefore for now only 2 stars for Audio Hijack 3 from me.
Babalooz
Babalooz
Jan 29 2015
3.0.1
0.5
Jan 29 2015
0.5
Version: 3.0.1
In spite of all the new bells and whistles, version 3 is basically useless for me. That's because I only did use the Quick Record function in Audio Hijack Pro 2.x, especially via hotkeys with AHP running in the background. That feature is gone in Audio Hijack 3 and with AHP 2.x being discontinued I am off to search for a new recording app.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Jan 21 2015
3.0
0.0
Jan 21 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0
I've been using this fabulous utility for years on end and am extremely satisfied with it. Unfortunately I can't upgrade because I'm still on OSX 10.7.5. Unless I change my iMac I must stick to my good old version. What I don't like about the new version is the icon. What's this - a urine sample container? At least they could have chosen a different color less embarrassing. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Balanchine
Balanchine
Jan 21 2015
3.0
5.0
Jan 21 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0
I'm very impressed by the v3 update. It's a complete overhaul of the interface and adds some powerful features, notably the visual workspace where you can add functional "blocks", move them around and connect them up to create a huge variety of workflows. It only took me a short while to get the hang of it, and it feels more intuitive than the v2 UI.

There are a few things I dislike such as the more primitive meters with no options for switching between Peak and RMS, but this is minor and will hopefully be addressed in an update.

One feature I'd like to see added is the ability to drag audio files into the workspace and have them act as a direct source for further processing or conversion. At the moment the only way to do this seems to be to add the files to iTunes or another audio app, play them from there and capture the player's output in Audio Hijack.
vin-4
vin-4
Jan 21 2015
3.0
5.0
Jan 21 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0
Great app. I will use no other. Great support.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Jan 21 2015
3.0
0.0
Jan 21 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0
I've only spent a few minutes with Audio Hijack but in those few minutes I was able to do some really cool things with the audio. I can't understand why they removed the Pro from the name Audio Hijack, this clearly is a Professional grade program. I upgraded immediately.
Meister-Fritz
Meister-Fritz
Jan 21 2015
3.0
5.0
Jan 21 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0
Great replacement for Audio Hijack Pro. Has all the tools needed to capture almost any audio. Really like the URL feature and my experience was with a YouTube audio clip. Nice job keeping the upgrade price reasonable!