Back to BetterSound page
BetterSound free download for Mac

BetterSound Reviews

1.2
10 December 2008

Offers extra features in sound control.

Anonymous
18 March 2003

Most helpful

Alright, well, i have everyone beat here. I was running 10.2.4 for about a week. No problems. Did disk repairs, back ups, the whole nine yards, yeah? Well, then comes along this app promising good things. what it gave me was THE BLUE FRIKKIN SCREEN OF DEATH! After restarting, it wouldn't quite get to the login screen, it jsut stopped at a blue screen. Hell, the Apple Techs couldn't figure it out after running me through EVERYTHING they new of to restart the system. fsck, pram, EVERYTHING. I had to do a total reinstall of OSX on my drive, then manually copy everything back into it. I hate this program til I die.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2

Read 15 BetterSound User Reviews

Rate this app:

Meandering
08 January 2007
doesn't work with Intel mac [10.4.8]. Any plans to update it?
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
24 August 2005
Well it was great with Jaguar, but doesn't work in Panther so I don't think it does either on tiger. It's a shame though. Hope the developper will wake up !!!
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
Tokyoedison
07 February 2004
How ca I search for ways to circumvent to use Bettersound on OS10.3.2 correctly? It crashes on 10.3.
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
Anonymous
16 April 2003
I was just about to install this application on my Mac, but after reading Jim, William & X9's posts I don't think I'll risk it.
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
Anonymous
16 April 2003
IF YOU VALUE YOUR SYSTEM STAY AWAY FROM THIS PILE OF STEAMING @#$%!
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
Anonymous
16 April 2003
I've found better stuff in the toilet.
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
lance
16 April 2003
I got somewhat similar results to the users below. Better sound seems to leave you worse off. It's a shame because I think the features are ok and it's free. Needs work.
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
Anonymous
16 April 2003
Don't bother downloading. Screws your system up.
Like
Version 1.0.3b1
Anonymous
18 March 2003
Alright, well, i have everyone beat here. I was running 10.2.4 for about a week. No problems. Did disk repairs, back ups, the whole nine yards, yeah? Well, then comes along this app promising good things. what it gave me was THE BLUE FRIKKIN SCREEN OF DEATH! After restarting, it wouldn't quite get to the login screen, it jsut stopped at a blue screen. Hell, the Apple Techs couldn't figure it out after running me through EVERYTHING they new of to restart the system. fsck, pram, EVERYTHING. I had to do a total reinstall of OSX on my drive, then manually copy everything back into it. I hate this program til I die.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
Jimw
17 March 2003
Tried to use with the same results as before and what others have experienced - Freezes and failure to work. I researched the developers web site and found no mention of the problems and the history document has no mention of fixing the problems or that they still exist - just cosmetic changes. He certainly can provide a legal disclaimer, ask for donations and display his resume, but can't provide a support page. Guess he is another victum of the CS virus - a virus that silenty invades its victums and leaves with no trace orther than leaving its victums with a total loss of common sense. Seems to me this is one program to either ignore or to provide you with an opportunity to mess up your system. The reason I am giving such a low rating is that by his own history log, he did nothing to address previous complaints about "showstopper" bugs. I have also learned that it is better not to have a tool, than to have one that does not work. If this is "BetterSound" then the developer must believe that silence is golden - i.e. a product that does not work should earn you massive amount of donations. Oops, I forgot - he is a CS Virus casualty. Lets all send him "get well soon" cards. If you have a .Mac account it is real easy. His email address is: acretet@free.fr I hope the developer doesn't accuse me of "sour grapes", given that he is French and I'm from California. :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
17 March 2003
This thing just does'nt work. Don't bother downloading, use the system sound prefs intead.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
17 March 2003
Just like JWEIL I also finished a system reinstall of Jaguar 10.2.4 and Installed BetterSound then restarted. Was also Confronted with blank screen that said "Loading" with nothing happening. Tried it again and got a blank screen forcing me to force quit System Preferences. Everything else works on my Mac apart from that - so it's definately not my system at fault. Also chucked it since no app ever has been able to freeze System Prefs before. This is not a good sign. Waste of time!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
Jimw
13 February 2003
4 not my true rating. See end review note: Update: Based on previous review I tried again. Isolated the problem to the fact that I am using a Plantronics USB Headset, which it does not seem to like at all. Works fine on standard system input/output. However does not add any useful noticable features from "Sound" other than levels in db. Mainly this is just a different GUI for "Sound." Also installs itself into the System Folder Library Preference Pane - not a great idea and is the reason that a reboot is required.The installer should have the option of either installing into the User Library or the Global Library only. Tip: Force quit the installer instead of restarting and move the BetterSound Preference Pane from the System Library to your User Library. No restart needed and does not effect other users. Given what I have found out, I am rating this to a 4 only to balance out my 1 to give it my revised rating of 2., since I was unable to change my old rating of 1.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
13 February 2003
It works for me, and the price is right. Could use better documentation. I like having the levels in dBs. Might benefit from a level history like the CPU gauge's history. You should never have to reboot to activate a preference pane. You do have to close and re-run System Preferences. I'll try it with the Griffen iMic this afternoon and report back if there are any problems.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Jimw
13 February 2003
Just finished a system reinstall of 10.2.3 - clean system, then added some tools. Installed BetterSound "sucessfully" and restarted. Found its preference pane and launched it. Confronted with blank screen that said "Loading" but nothing happened. Displayed all my Prefs again and then reselected BS (pun intended). got completely blank screen and had to force quit Preferences. Removed it with "Deinstall" since it did not come with removal tool. :-( Never did get it to work, so I have tossed it.
Like
Version 1.0.1