Back to Yahoo! Widget Engine page
Yahoo! Widget Engine free download for Mac

Yahoo! Widget Engine Reviews

4.5.2x10A50
13 August 2008

Create desktop widgets (was Konfabulator).

Jazzyguy
14 August 2008

Most helpful

WATCH OUT!!! Some irresponsible individual on the developer's staff made the default preference to start Yahoo Widgets on restart or log in. Turn it off in Yahoo Widget preferences.
Like (3)
Version 4.5.2

Read 189 Yahoo! Widget Engine User Reviews

Rate this app:

cl-lagache
28 June 2018
I used YahooWidget for years with satisfaction on Yosemite. Unfortunately you did not deign to make her(it) compatible on High Sierra and I thus got rid of it. I have of to look for substitution applications for some widgets but there is nothing for Dashbord. What a pity!!!
Like
Version 4.5.2x10A50
Capejim
19 October 2015
I'll say that this is definitely one durable set of widgets! Amazingly, the Mac version (I started with this back when Arlo Rose developed it as Konfabulator, before Yahoo bought them up) is still working under Mac OS X Mavericks (10.9.5), and from a quick initial try under OS X El Capitan (10.11), it looked like it's still working there, as well(!). Now, maybe if I learn Javascript, I could develop some new widgets for this... ;-) Oh, I did turn off the check-for-update part (I forgot if that's in the Widget engine on the menubar, or within individual widgets), since IIRC, that was giving some error message a while back.
Like
Version 4.5.2x10A50
Libertyforall1776
17 March 2014
Confabulator/Yahoo Widget Engine lives on in "Connected TV", as of this post, Sony, Samsung, VIZIO, Toshiba, & Hisense HDTVs use it: http://developer.yahoo.com/connectedtv/
Like
Version 4.5.2
misterjspencer
29 June 2011
Yahoo widgets was infinitely better than OSx widgets, but many widgets for mac have gone by the wayside, perhaps the whole app things has destroyed the idea of widgets and many Geeklets give a better use. However it always wins out over mac osx widgets in that you can show them all on the desktop and they are often more controllable. Amnesty helps with displaying osx widgets but it is a bit creaky these days, and i started to use some of these yahoo widegets again and had forgotten how good they were.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.2
Jazzyguy
14 August 2008
WATCH OUT!!! Some irresponsible individual on the developer's staff made the default preference to start Yahoo Widgets on restart or log in. Turn it off in Yahoo Widget preferences.
Like (3)
Version 4.5.2
Peedeebee
11 July 2008
My favorite Yahoo Widget was the Daily Planner, which would show you what's in iCal for today and tomorrow. But it hasn't worked since Leopard. (The Dashboard widget iCal Events can be moved to the desktop, but dashboard widgets always float above everything and won't go into the background.) Yahoo support has been stalling for three months. Today they suggested updating the Widget Engine to version 4.5.2, which, unfortunately, doesn't exist.
Like
Version 4.5.1
Brentrn
30 November 2007
v4.5 only stays in one Spaces screen. Crashes with some older widgets. Only widget game in town for me as Dashboard is broken when used with parental controls. Limitation to one Spaces screen seriously defeats usefulness. Yahoo also seems to have killed their forum for discussion of issues.
Like
Version 4.5
2 answer(s)
Brentrn
Brentrn
30 November 2007
Correction: Widgets can remain on desktop. Just set each widget's Preferences the level as "always on desktop".
Like
Version 4.5
resuna
resuna
15 December 2007
Widgets are application windows, and unless windows can be allowed in multiple spaces, Konfabulator can't do anything about it.
Like
Version 4.5.1
hiltonb
02 November 2007
Is a version planned for OS X 10.5?
Like
Version 4.0.5
Spacecat85
30 July 2007
The last few updates seem to have fixed most of the major problems I mentioned in my review of version 4.0. YWE will periodically crash (widgets are still running, but the menu item + dock are gone), but I haven't experienced contextual menu or problems with Yahoo's own widgets crashing in awhile. The design quibbles with 4.x that I described previously are still there, though. I don't expect them to change in a minor point release, so hopefully version 5.x will address some of those.
Like
Version 4.0.5
Easer
21 July 2007
I find it telling that neither MacUpdate nor VersionTracker has a review that goes beyond version 4.0.3. It sounds like abandonware on the part of the users. It also sounds as if the Yahoo folks haven't listened to a word of feedback about their product; none of the updates appears to address any of the issues I've seen cited here. I for one will not use this program, although Version 3 was very nice.
Like
Version 4.0.5
Spacecat85
20 April 2007
Version 4 has some great new features but has been almost nothing but bugs for me. The idea of a dock with mini-states is great, as is the idea of browsing/installing widgets entirely within YWE. My biggest problem with YWE 4 is that most of the widgets I've tried, including Yahoo's official set, either won't launch or will crash when I actually try to use them. On a similar note, widget-specific items will randomly stop showing up in the context menu, making it impossible, for instance, to change my location in Yahoo's weather widget. Clearing out all of my preferences and support files, then re-launching YWE doesn't help. There's also a few small but strange design choices in YWE 4 as well. The developers changed the drop-down menu for widget display modes to something that's less intuitive when you're trying to just show a widget in the Heads Up display. There are also some options that for some reason weren't included, most notably the ability to only show the dock in the Heads Up Display. It can either be completely closed or open with some portion showing at all times along one edge of the screen (including when it's collapsed). And this is more of a suggestion than a complaint, but it would be great if there was a way to minimize a widget to the dock so that only the mini-state was visible. Yahoo's weather widget, for instance, would display the current weather in the dock, but the extended forecast wouldn't be visible. I'm switching back to 3.x (which I'd give 4 stars) until they work out the bugs. 4.x has the potential to be a 5-star app, but the bugs and a few smaller design quirks that I and many others (see the official forums) have experienced hold it back.
Like
Version 4.0
New-User
23 March 2007
Still no reason to use this over Dashboard. I thought the sidebar might be cool, but it has numerous implementation flaws like the rest of the app. I have to press fn-F7 for the global hotkey to work. Dashboard doesn't need the fn key. I can't drag widgets from the sidebar? Oh, I have to click them to load them. I set the sidebar to auto-hide, yet it still shows a sliver of it on-screen, wtf! How do I configure a widget? By right-clicking... and then messing with a clunky half-baked preferences window. No-where nearly as elegant as Dashboard. Still the same clunky interface, a long way to go in my book. And they're already at version 4?
Like
Version 4.0
TwisterMc
22 March 2007
Works ok on my iMac under 10.3.9 but the calendar widget now only pulls in my main iCal calendar and not all my subscribed to calendars too. So I feel lost. The previous calendar widget worked great. I've also had a few widgets crash. Sad.
Like
Version 4.0
Easer
22 March 2007
Hey, at least it showed in your activity monitor. I can't even get it to do that much. Nothing shows up; nothing happens.
Like
Version 4.0
seekbus
22 March 2007
Installed 4.0x169. App launches, but the menu extra never appears. There is no evidence of the application other than the app in my activity monitor. Tried forcing quit and relaunching with the same results. Tried physically removing the app and reinstalling with the same results. Whatever...
Like
Version 4.0
Mac-Ally
04 May 2006
With this update, IMPOSSIBLE to open all my non-official Yahoo widgets! The worst you can download the old ones in the widget section but you cannot open them. Yahoo probably think that mac users are chinese dissidentscmore control for less freedom. Time to boycott. :()
Like
Version 3.1.2
1 answer(s)
Cowpiebingo
Cowpiebingo
13 January 2007
Why bring race into it?
Like
Version 3.1.5
Megagram
02 May 2006
Still no Intel-based Mac support!?! Come on! This is ridiculous. Really makes you appreciate what a difference in quality you get when a single, independant developer works on your software compared to when a big corporation takes over. Booooo!
Like
Version 3.1.2
Lumpy
02 May 2006
As long as Yahoo simply refuses to offer Mac compatibility for the majority of it's services, and the very few that do have any sort of Mac support suffer from being crippled, outdated versions compared to Yahoo's constantly updated glorious versions for Microsoft Windows, as a Mac user I just don't see the reason to support Yahoo. The only reason the Yahoo widget engine has Mac support isn't due to Yahoo, it's due to the fact that Konfabulator was originally developed for the Mac. If that wasn't the case, we wouldn't even see this software on MacUpdate. Just take your Windows only/Internet Explorer only stuff and please go away.
Like
Version 3.1.2
2 answer(s)
Saggis
Saggis
02 May 2006
Well said!
Like
Version 3.1.2
Wanderer
Wanderer
24 May 2006
Here, here brother, Amen to that!
Like
Version 3.1.4
Complex-person
14 March 2006
Runs great on my old G4 goose neck iMac running OS 10.3.9 I use Dashboard on my G5 iMac, but I think I still like Konfabulator/Yahoo Widget Engine more. I spread the widgets out across my desktop and their always there doing their thing and ready to go. P.S. "Hula Girl" for YWE kicks a--!!!
Like
Version 3.0.2
Radd
21 December 2005
Not sure if I'm alone here... but more than half of my old widgets no longer work right with the "Yahoo" version of Konfabulator... plus, it pops a message to make me verify if I want to run 3rd party widgets... but won't let me approve or disapprove them... so i have to quit the app altogether. If I ever DO get a 3rd party widget running, they display incorrectly or not at all (though still suck up process). I've tried reinstalling, rebooting, etc. Having been a Konfabulator user & developer since day one, I must say I am quite disappointed since Yahoo took over. I hope this is not a sign of the kind of support for the Mac we can continue to expect since Yahoo's acquisition of this product.
Like
Version 3.0.1
New-User
19 December 2005
It's not as easy to use as Dashboard. The keyboard shortcuts are crippled, I had to hold down the Fn key to access F-key shortcuts, I don't have to hold down Fn to access Dashboard's F-keys. There's no list of installed widgets, and no way to open the widgets folder from the menu. The system for changing individual widget settings is convoluted. You have to hit OK to apply settings, which means a painful loop of; choose settings, hit ok, open prefs again, change settings, hit ok, until you find what you want. If they're going to use a separate prefs window it should apply preferences immediately. I'm sure it's glorious on windows, but on the mac, it feels like a really good beta. Just not quite there yet.
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
MarcinKrzyzanowski
MarcinKrzyzanowski
19 December 2005
AD1. Customizable. I have to press Fn to access dasboard on my laptop, and don't have to press fn to access konfabulator by default. AD2. Simply choose "Open Widget.." AD3. Don't know what are you talking about with apply, It's fine with OK AD4. Konfabulator was the first, and in fact is still better than Dasboard.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Saggis
19 December 2005
yay the Yahoo! Widget Engine....
Like
Version 3.0.1
one-1
14 December 2005
Excellent! Much improved!
Like
Version 3.0
Corpsecorps
14 December 2005
As great as ever. But Yahoo, what WERE you thinking? What an incredibly stupid name. What would have been so bad about Yahoo Konfabulator? I agree that the name alone makes it sound like something utterly uninteresting, if not something to be avoided. In fact, if i hadn't noticed where it said "was konfabulator" i wouldn't have downloaded it at all. Really should have left the name alone, ya bozos.
Like
Version 3.0
TwisterMc
13 December 2005
Works great, just has a new, worse, name. I like Konfabulator much better.
Like
Version 3.0
Iheijoushin
13 December 2005
I wish I could be excited about the new name. I guess it shows how much Yahoo!'s PR knows about making something sound about as lame, unexciting, and dorky as possible. Goodbye Konfabulator. Meet your new master.
Like
Version 3.0
Frankp
13 December 2005
It sounds like Jamie Genet has some severe system problems that have nothing to do with Konfabulator. I've been using multiple widgets almost since Konfabulator came out and have never experienced any of these problems. Currently on 10.4.3 and still works fine. For me Konfabulator is a better solution than Apple's knock-off, Dashboard. With the wide variety of widgets available I can select the ones that are most useful to me and keep them on the desktop. It'll be interesting to see what the changes are in the current version.
Like
Version 3.0
Wizardling
11 October 2005
This is one severly buggy piece of software… Well, I thought I'd give Konfabulator another try now it's owned by Yahoo. Last time I tried it I was unimpressed with it's slow speed on my G3 iMacs, and the CPU meter, rather ironically, had a memory leak This time around bad things began happening from the word go. The Digital Clock widget refused to display, and if I tried accessing it's prefs from the Konfab menu I got a dialogue box saying no prefs were available. Worse - that dialogue refused to accept input - it would not close till I quit the Konfabulator app from it's menu. Then I tried seeing what the simple background pref looked like when I pressed F8. After setting that Konfabulator no longer responded to F8. Not until I quit and restarted it, and set it back to the default background would F8 show the Konfabulator screen. Then I tried accessing the PIM widget (which I _thought_ I'd seen pop up briefly the first time I ran Konfabulator after installing it). Nada - nothing. No preference access either. Not even a dialogue that wouldn't close. Nothing. Still, just in case I thought things couldn't get any worse I tried accessing iChat Bezel widget's prefs. Once again - nada, nothing, no response. I next tried setting the Weather widget to my closest town - Tauranga Harbour, New Zealand. Miracle of miracles it worked… until I later quit and restarted Konfabulator. Now it refuses to show my weather, yet Palo Alto and another city(that's NOT close to me) in NZ - Auckland - displays fine, weather wise. Lastly the CPU meter's LED style red numbers show nothing. But as there's ZERO useful documentation or info I have no clue what might usually display there, anyway. In short, Konfabulator used to work a year ago on this G3 iMac. Now it's so broken I'm put off trying any third party widgets. I can't believe there was so little testing done Oh, and maybe some user out there can help me with a query of mine (cause there's ZERO help provided with Konfabulator): with utterly useless broken widgets like PIM - how can I quit them? I know I can quit the non-functional Digital Clock with a control click of it's name in the gear menu, but that doesn't work with the useless PIM. As it doesn't display, and won't respond, how the heck can I quit the damn thing? Do I need to delete my prefs EVERY time I run into a poorly written and poorly tested widget? I suppose I could just delete it from my HD, but given how poorly Konfabulator is doing so far, I'm not sure I want to add to it's troubles. BTW - this absurd trial took place on a 500MHz G3 with 512MB RAM.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
08 October 2005
Works well in Tiger.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
17 September 2005
I don't know if this can compete with Dashboard. I just added a couple of widgets that I would use: (Thesaurus-Dictionary and a Wikipedia widget) that do not even work. I guess I will wait until I get Tiger to start using widgets
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
11 September 2005
Very nice ap, but a few questions: how do you 'turn' some of them on and not others (if they all start up there's no room for anything else on the screen, once you've chosen a few more). And the preferences file for the entire program is nothing but a control key choice, hardly adequate for such a multi-faceted program. There needs to be a simple way to switch them on and off, other than removed the widgets from the folder permanently. Yahoo may not be used to the Mac standard where users can take control of a program completely, most of these things are intuitive for Mac programs.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
16 August 2005
This is what Dashboard has tried to emulate, with only moderate success. The beauty of Konfabulator is that, without any third-party assistance, it runs _on my desktop_! As nice as Dashboard is, having to leave my desktop and run a widget, or simply view one, means leaving my work space. Konfabulator is right there, while I work. No separate overlay. Terrific app!
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
14 August 2005
Wow - A dashboard for panther users
Like
Version 2.1.1
Phillip-2
07 August 2005
Konfabulator 2.2.2 is great! The only problem I have is: how can inactivate an active a widget? Example: I activated the analog clock and then the digital clock. How can I get rid of the analog clock and keep just the digital clock working? And I have not beein able to create a widget because there is no manual and I don't understand what to do to create one. Can someone please help me? Felipe
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
06 August 2005
Dashboard is dead, konfabulator is perfect: free, fast, stable, little memory consume, and more configurable than dashboard. Outstanding.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
06 August 2005
If you find the gears on the Konspose backdrop distracting, you can get rid of them by replacing Contents/Resources/BackdropGears.png with a fully transparent PNG.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
06 August 2005
Pretty freakin' neat. Looks and feels better than the Dashboard, and supported by top-notch developers to boot.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Rb3
05 August 2005
Version 2.1.1 as of 8/5: http://www.widgetgallery.com/dl_item.php?item=Konfabulator_2.1.1.dmg
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
01 August 2005
Where this trounces Dashboard is in the straightforward fact that you do not have stop what you are doing, go to another screen, and check your Widget. This saves an immense amount time.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
28 July 2005
I put Konfabulator back on my desktop and I'm glad I did. Since, most of the time, I'm only using my computer for surfing and reading my mail, I'm not worried about using too much CPU. A lot of Konfabulator's widgets are greats and it would be a shame not to enjoy them.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 August 2005
Not to mention that Konfabulator widgets don't seem to use NEARLY as much CPU as Dashboard widgets under Amnesty. It's really weird, even in cases where there's equivalent functionality in a straight DHTML web page and a widget, the widget version is more CPU intensive than the DHTML version under Safari.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Great toy on Mac!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
27 July 2005
As a new Konfab user: Konfab widgets seem less garish than Dash. Greater selection and a much easier to browse widget page (where does Apple get their web design team, Yahoo?!?) Also easier management (menu bar vs. dock+custom, Apple-Interface-Standards-breaking scheme) Haven't tracked CPU yet, but if it doesn't eat every extra cycle, dashboard could get the boot.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
it's funny that you'd make fun of yahoo when yahoo now owns konfabulator.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
27 July 2005
The blind loyalty on both sides of the widget thing are a bit silly.. Doesn't seem to hog resources or have any impact on performance on Dual G5.. It's a bit funny running two widget layers simultaneously, but it's nice to have access to so many widgets! Can't be bad. Oh, and everyone's complaining about Konfab widgets using up too much screenspace, and dashboard's seperate screen being good (or bad, for that matter) You can use dashboard widgets on the desktop (enable with tinkertool or similar) and you can put konfab widgets on their own screen out of the way too.. There's really little difference between the two systems from an end-user perspective, just with Konfab you get windows compatibility, which is going to lure a lot of developers, I'd think! More choices isn't a bad thing.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Well, it can be anything if we tend to modify it. But sometimes I feel that we should compare thing on their default features. If you talking about appear and disappear features of Dashboard; Konfabulator no way near. If you talking about widget always appear on desktop or float on top of all program, Dashboard no way near either. So depends individual need. One thing for sure, it's 2 different experience. After Yahoo acquired Konfabulator, Konfabulator will serve the purpose.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
26 July 2005
've tried it again and I hate it. Uses too much CPU, RAM. Apple's version is brighter and stable.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
26 July 2005
It's a very smart move for both Konfabulator and Yahoo. Win-Win solution. I wonder who bring up this proposal. 1) Konfabulator earn big amount by selling it to Yahoo. 2) Yahoo will earn a big market share with Konfabulator widget in PC and Mac platform. 3) It's free to consumer now. 4) It's available for most of major platform. (Windows and OSX 10.2-10.3)
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Not Bring, but brought. And will this mean a Yahoo Toolbar for the Mac? Or annoying spyware? Hmmm...
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Thanks for the correction. If you use Konfabulator before, you should know how it look like. You can download all sort of widget that provide information from internet, rather than search using web browser. For sure Yahoo will release all sort of widget that using their search engine so that their market share will increase. Once again, thanks for the correction.
Like
Version 2.1
Mikec3k
26 July 2005
I still hate it even though it's free. Konfabulator wastes too much screen space and the widgets are always there to get in the way. I prefer how Dashboard stays out of my way until I want it.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Mike: Konspose does exactly the same thing as Expose, you have to set it from inside each widget though.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
26 July 2005
>> Wow more ways to sell me things. No thanks. >> The guy that mad[e] konf complained apple had >> ripped him off. He has allowed Yahoo to rip >> him an new arse. lol That's your opinion. Mine is you're an idiot. It's FREE, so you're worried about selling you something? Apple decided to do their own widgets for whatever reason. Flowing it to Yahoo! is just dessert and poetic justice for loser-Apple-loyalists to blind to see these guys likely made some nice cash with Yahoo! stock. Go someplace else loser and complain. IU hate %$#-ers like you who do nothing but complain. Go pcomplain about your sorry life.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Are you 12?
Like
Version 2.1
TwisterMc
26 July 2005
Now that it's free it's awesome. Love to have widgets on the desktop not in a separate window. Also works in 10.3 and 10.2!!!!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Glad I never paid for this, lol.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Agreed... Not only did I never pay for this, I never pirated it nor used it. Never even tried it. But I like Dashboard as a free toy. What's that you say? Dashboard is not free because you have to buy 10.4 to have it? Well, 10.4 came with my new PowerBook. What's that you say? It wasn't free because I bought a PowerBook and therefore I have 10.4 and Dashboard? Nope. The PowerBook was a gift. "Free as in beer."
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
25 July 2005
I am all for it. Why? Watson was vastly superior to Sherlock and look at Apple's Sherlock now--pure useless rubbish, that is never added to or developed, and a complete waste of hard disk space. Konfabulator is also vastly superior to Widgets. Also, Yahoo will reach more people that Apple ever will.
Like
Version 2.1
6 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Dream on you clown!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Konfabulator consider a very good widget management application for OSX 10.3 and below or Windows platform. But I feel that it's not a necessary for Tiger. I said that because Dashboard capable to fulfill my requirement. That doesn't mean that Konfabulator not that good, but simply not a necessary anymore if already had Dashboard by default in Tiger. Talking about superior, Apple started with "Widget" idea long before Konfabulator..... and if you comparing the capability of web search power, well, you are doing a wrong comparison... 1) Apple is not a web search engine, it's a computer. It still able to search info using Yahoo or Google. 2) That is not the main purpose of "widget". Widget are referring to small application that normally we want to access to it fast and simple. Both Konfabulator and Dashboard serve the purpose but in different way. I can't conclude the actual reasons why Yahoo look for Konfabulator but I do feel that Yahoo make a very good move. Imagine if PC user like the idea of Konfabulator widget provide fast and simple way to get the info from internet and Yahoo develop all kind of widgets filter info from internet using their search engine, Yahoo will conquer a huge percentage of web search market share.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
This is my favorite part "Also, Yahoo will reach more people that Apple ever will." Who in their right mind is gonig to use a Yahoo widget? Ever chatted on Yahoo? Enough said!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
Can we just shut up about the Konfabulator vs. Dashboard thing now? Yahoo bought Konfab, just like Arlo Rose or whatever his name is wanted Apple to do. Everyone's happy. There doesn't need to be any more mudslinging from anyone on this topic anymore, ever.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 July 2005
They still have people bringing it up on the Konfab forums from time to time, though.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Funny, I've been with Apple since 1984, and I've never met more Mac zealots for all the wrong reasons than now.
Like
Version 2.1