Back to iTaf page
iTaf free download for Mac

iTaf Reviews

2.2.3
16 December 2006

Wake up with iTunes.

Trebor
14 November 2006

Most helpful

Very buggy: - Buttons appear and disappear Drawer appears and disappears Display characters disappear. Confusing method to select which days the alarm works and interface is confusing overall. In fairness is still starts the computer and plays iTunes, but much work needed on the interface.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1

Read 30 iTaf User Reviews

Rate this app:

Reviewer-Judge
23 February 2013
This has great documentation. It is rather lengthy and you must have a little patience. I tried AlarmClock on my G5 running 10.4.11 which I use with my old version of Photoshop. It does not work. So I read the reviews on iTaf. It will wakeup and start my computer to alarm me. But when you test it you must leave about 5 minutes of time to test the alarm or else like I did you will never get the test. I have not restarted the computer since I have tried. It is less intuitive than the Apple OS, but not too bad. Get very familiar with the right side of the alarm box on the screen where there are five small icon buttons. Put the mouse over each selection and click, and most of them you can figure it out. Then go to the manual online which is good and large. Again, a little more time than I would have liked to commit. This is a free app. I give it 4.5 stars because it is not as intuitive as I would have liked. It is very customizable and you can use it to shut your computer off or turn it on. I do not know if it works with 10.7 plus. ONe thing to watch for is when you select the days they should be white when you select them. The buttons for the days when they are black are blacked out not selected. Hey, it's free. I wish it was upgraded. The developer did a fantastic job.
Like
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
07 October 2014
Your recommendations is what convinced me not to get this. Talk about pestering. iTunes Alarm works well enough for the purpose of waking me up, even as shuffle is broken because of Apple changing the API when removing that function in 11.4.
Like
L008com
08 July 2007
This app is very confusing. The controls are not at all intuitive. I keep setting an alarm for noon, and it tells me the next alarm is set for the next day at midnight. Or it tells me the next alarm is December 31st. ??? This app needs some work before its usable.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
2 answer(s)
Reviewer-Judge
Reviewer-Judge
23 February 2013
12 at noon is PM, not AM. There is nothing wrong with the way it sets. It tells you the next time that the alarm is set perfectly. User misinformation in this case.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
07 October 2014
"User misinformation"? Hahaha! That you even can go wrong is not a compliment to this app.
Like
L008com
08 July 2007
This app is very confusing. The controls are not at all intuitive. I keep setting an alarm for noon, and it tells me the next alarm is set for the next day at midnight. Or it tells me the next alarm is December 31st. ??? This app needs some work before its usable.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Trebor
14 November 2006
Very buggy: - Buttons appear and disappear Drawer appears and disappears Display characters disappear. Confusing method to select which days the alarm works and interface is confusing overall. In fairness is still starts the computer and plays iTunes, but much work needed on the interface.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Reviewer-Judge
Reviewer-Judge
23 February 2013
Somewhat true. But I am impatient as well. Needs about 20 minutes to go through as I have pointed out in review above.
Like
Bxlbjorn
22 August 2006
Okey, my first reaction when I found this update was "YES, IT'S BACK". For a very long time iTaf used to be my preferred alarm clock on my 10.3 system. But after a few OS updates it started to show some worrying failures, stoppin to work at all once I moved to 10.4 . After many unanswered emails I gave up on this little wonder, turning to competitors. And now it's back with a vengeance ? Not quite yet ! Here's a few of my thoughts: 1. The preferences: The first tab where you choose what has to be done with iTunes after the alarm stops seems a bit unnecessary. This could easaly be integrated in the place where you actually set the alarm, as there are other options there, e.g. turn off the computer etc. 2. Same thing goes for the maximum system volume setting. This should also be found within the options when setting an alarm, not in the the preferences, as I would like to be able to set it differantly for each alarm. 3. I'de rather see something in the preferences like a series of default settings, who are set whenever I make a new alarm, e.g. default playlist, default maximum volume, etc. 4. Main window GUI: I'm not sure about the buttons on the right side. They look sort of sloppy. I'de rather see some slick aqua buttons on top or at the bottom, like the ones you see in e.g. Mail.app . I do not see at all the use of setting transparency of the main window as we are generally in bed when iTaf is launched. 5. Setting the alarm: the first time i set the days to wake me i actually skipped the days I wanted and set the alarm on the days I want to sleep out. So there is some room for improvement. Personally I'm all for normal check boxes. 6. Stop alarm after: okey this is definately a good thing. It can stop the alarm whenever I'm accidently not at home so it won't drive the neighbours nuts. But I think it should be optional as I may want to wake up to work at home and leave the music playing. 7. Playlist: there seems to be a bug here. Whenever I have saved an alarm, quit iTaf, relaunch it and open my alarm settings, iTaf refreshes the playslist and is set on "Library". In other words, if I change somthing in my settings and do not choose again my playlist, it will play from my complete library, where hard techno is actually the majority. My neighbours will definately prefer this over my calm soothing classicalk music... 8. Volume: didn't I set this in the preferences already ? Well, I presume this setting is for the iTnues volume, contrary to the one in the preferences wich is for the system volume. As said before, these should be put together. 9. Repeat, Visuals, Shuffle, Fade In: Again, I would prefer simple check boxes. On top of that, in the previous version of iTaf, I remember I was able to set the start volume and the length of time over wich the fading in should be accomplished. These options are gone, I believe, for the sake user friendlyness. However I would love to see to options back in. The best would be if we could choose between the default settings, as they appear now, and the fully customisable ones. 10. Stop options: again, the settings I found in the preferences should come here ! 11. Some things I would like to see in future releases: - a menu item: as I have been using Alarm Clock for quite some time before this iTaf update came out, I became quite accustomed to having a small logo in the menu bar wich showed if there was an alarm coming up for the newt day. It give me as a user the relaxed feeling that I'm gonna wake up tomorrow morning when I should. More than that, it could give easy acces to the iTaf application, and a shortcut to setting a new alarm, through a dropdown menu. - in the alarm settings, I would like to have a calendar option where i can select the days where iTaf should NOT wake me up. We all have national bank holidays and it's a horror to wake up at 6:30 becuz you forgot to turn iTaf off. And even if one doesn't forget to turn his alarm off, there is the ever impending risk of forgetting to turn it back on. I believe this option would make iTaf very unique. - In the same concept, I would like to have a "skipp the next alarm" in my menu item (mentioned higher above). That way, if I decided to take a day off tomorrow, a simple click on it will cancel my wake up call for the next day, but will wake me up again the day after. Okey, that's all for now. I will mail these comments to the developper himself and hope he will do something with it ! Cheers, Björn
Like
Version 2.1
Jb4
22 August 2006
While I loved this app. before I upgraded to 10.4, I've found a few others that accomplish the same as this new version. iTaf was my favorite because it let me choose individual albums with each alarm. Exp. Monday: Bob Dylan. Tue: Joannie Mitchel etc. Now we are limited to one choice for all the set alarms. That would be a great option for the next release, making iTaf unique again.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Reviewer-Judge
Reviewer-Judge
23 February 2013
Just set an an alarm for each day that repeats. Tuesday is Joannie Mitchell weekly repeat alarm, Wednesday, etc.
Like
Swordfish
20 August 2006
w00t! iTaf is back! Best "Alarm Clock" app for your Mac, and free!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
09 September 2005
I am having trouble with Tiger too... Real shame that there have been no updates recently...
Like
Version 1.1
Bxlbjorn
11 August 2005
STABILITY ISSUES FOR TIGER USERS !!! This is a very good program, it's been waiking me up since over a year now. But upgrading to Tiger I have stubled on some stability issues in the form of a failing daemon. It doesn't happen very often, maybe 5% or less, but that's enough to loose you job over this. So I would advise all users to have an extra regular alarm next to your bed, waiking you up 15 or 20 minutes later. (if you use an electrical alarm, please include a battery. If there's a power failure... well, I don't have to explain you what happened to me). Advise to the developpers: UPDATE THIS !!!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
18 May 2005
I`ve really enjoyed this application for some time now, but after upgrading to Tiger it`s gotten very unstable. The problem lies in the daemon: getting the message "The daemon refused the connection" almost evertime I restart the system. The only solution so far has been restarting (or login out and in) the OS till it is working again - often several times... (reinstalling it didn`t help) Please fix this problem, developer, cause this app is SO great when it`s working!
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 May 2005
I am having the same problem, except I get no "connection error". iTaf will start up iTunes now but it cant make it start playing music.... Major bummer, now I have to use my ugly alarm clock and wake up to a shrill "EEKKK..EEKKK..EEKKK" Please please please fix this.
Like
Version 1.1
Dilaroga
Dilaroga
19 May 2005
1) "The daemon refused the connection" After installation of iTaf on the Tiger OS and the reboot of the system, an alert panel was displaying, asking to user if he wants to repare the itaf startupitems or ignore it. Click on the "repare" button. And enjoy with iTaf on the Tiger system. 2) "iTaf will start up iTunes now but it cant make it start playing music...." If you configure a progressive level of volume, it seems to be working ?? A known bug : if the first track of the selected playlist is a missing value, iTaf start up iTunes but it can't make it start playing music... dilaroga@users.sourceforge.net
Like
Version 1.1
funnellpd
05 May 2005
Flexible and easy to set up. The ability to automatically launch iTunes and set system volume is a *huge* plus. My alarm clock is now in a drawer. :)
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
15 February 2005
I like it pretty well. I wish you could make it run an applescipt instead of just itunes
Like
Version 1.1
153957
22 January 2005
Its a great piece of software, but sometimes the daemon crashes for no apparent reason iTaf just says: "The daemon refused the connection" this is quite annoying when you think it will wake you up in time and instead doesn't do anything at all. And it requires a reinstallation of iTafd, (or restarting your computer might work)
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
07 December 2004
iTaf totally rocks my world. The author obviously knows what he's doing. I've seen a couple other wakeup/sleep timers for iTunes, but the majority only control iTunes volume, not system volume. iTaf gives the option to control system or iTunes volume (or both), which is very useful for my situation. Rock on. Great piece of freeware.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
01 November 2004
Works fine on my computer but can't get it to wake my friends computer from sleep. He is using a Japanese OSX !0.3.5. Re-installed iTaf and the Daemon, deleted preferences etc. but still no go... It would be great if the Sleep function could be chosen to not only sleep iTunes but also sleep the computer...
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
25 October 2004
blood marvellous ☆☆☆☆☆
Like
Version 1.1
Mblatchford2008
27 August 2004
Great piece of software. Better than most alarm clocks out there and free! So far it has been stable on my powerbook g4 and extremely useful. Definitly a must have.
Like
Version 1.1
s_kalb
20 August 2004
okay it plays your music, but just the boot of the computer doesn't it wake you up already? I have an iMac G4 in my own room and I can tell you that as long as it is on, I won't be able to go to sleep. (I don't live in New York so I'm not accustomed to constant ambiant noise...)
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Dilaroga
Dilaroga
20 August 2004
lol ... What a constructive comment !! I take note about... Maybe next relaeses of iTaf will include a new warning : "Be careful this program can cause damage to people who have sensitive hearing"... Or, a better solution, is to implement a mute function ??? More seriously, i don't care that you live in a quiet country and that you don't have the utility of any alarm clock. At the contrary i'm interested by frequent users of iTaf and their comments which help me to develop an open-sourced alarm clock with more functionalities. So throw this app to trash and forgot it, you have already lost so much time with it.
Like
Version 1.1
Brildenlanch
Brildenlanch
13 September 2004
hehe, I can see how that's a problem. I can't fall alseep w/o ambient noise. I always need a fan or white noise or I can't sleep.
Like
Version 1.1
Bxlbjorn
27 July 2004
This is a GREAT piece of software. Since I've had this program I've been waken up quitly by an iTunes radio station of my choice. No opening and running applications every day, the daemon does everything in the background for me. Just a few tips from a frequent user to the develloper: try to implement a 'date function' (dd/mm/yyyy). In two weeks from now, saturday, I have to help move my friend to his new appartment. I can't program iTaf right away cuz THIS saturday I can sleep out. And if I should forget to delete the agenda action afterwards I will find myself woken up once again at 8 in the morning after only 1 or 2 hours of sleep... So the date function would be cool, and it would be even cooler if it would delete itself when the action is past. Another tip: the sleep function is abit abrupt. it would be cool if it were to fade out my iTunes, just as it fades in the next morning. In any case I will keep using this !!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 July 2004
The problem I experienced below appears to be due to the fact that I had logged out and then logged into my user account, which for some reason stops the daemon from functioning... If I reboot the problem is gone!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 July 2004
This is a really comprehensive piece of software... I have been testing it and one time it did not manage to get iTunes to actually play when waking my powerbook from sleep in the morning... (Don’t know why but will try to find out if it was because of a software conflict or somenthing...) So I can’t say it can be totally relied upon at the moment but if it can become reliable it would beat most of the other iTunes alarms by far...
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 July 2004
I don´t know why but sometimes It does not wake my computer up and sometimes it does
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
16 April 2004
It does what it claims. It does it well. It doesn't use up too much memory. It's easy to use. It wakes me up at the right time with the right music. I give it thumbs up!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 April 2004
can't download the file. always getting a Dreamweaver file !!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
12 April 2004
Yea! I've been looking for a freeware app like this for a while. I live above a LOUD Mexican bar, and I like to listen to my own music as I fall asleep. Cooool...
Like
Version 1.0
dilaroga
07 February 2003
iTaf 0.1.4 is into english translate and include a US package.
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
18 January 2003
It looked like a good program........but it was in a different language.
Like
Version 0.1.3
Dilaroga
17 January 2003
Here is iTaf's forums, usefull if you need help or in order to begs reports or if you want offer suggestions : https://sourceforge.net/forum/?group_id=71261
Like
Version 0.1.3
Anonymous
16 January 2003
the only freeware in this category very cool
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
16 January 2003
Giving my admin password to install only a timer app? And a 0.1.2 version at that? I don't think so. Never heard of drag and drop? That is what disk-images are ideal for. Even Apple sometimes makes a tiny UNIX command mistake and trashes the whole home folder. Get with the Mac program and give easy drag and drop or I won't even try it.
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
16 January 2003
This application was the apparent cause of all my applications quitting and corrupting system caches to the point where I had to use a utility to remove them because drag and drop operations were disabled. I would advise waiting until the next version.
Like
Version 0.1.2