Back to Tidy Up page
Tidy Up free download for Mac

Tidy Up Reviews

5.3.3
16 January 2020

Find duplicate files and tidy up your hard drive.

ShotBlocker
11 November 2019

Most helpful

Tidy Up can plow through hundreds of thousands of files in minutes, comparing their content, and finding duplicates. It works. Five stars. . Is it expensive? Kind of, yeah. On the other hand, if anyone can find something less expensive that works as well, by all means let the rest of us know. . Is there a learning curve? Yes. Then again, it is capable of some very complex comparisons. If anyone knows of a simpler drag and drop (or other more "intuitive") interface, that can handle the same complexity as Tidy Up, by all means let the rest of us know. . And I wish MacUpdate allowed two rating scales: one for how the software works and another for pricing/upgrade policy. . It is ridiculous that Tidy Up gets an overall half-star rating. It FREAKING WORKS and it WORKS WELL. I understand people can be unhappy with upgrade policies -- heck, I'm one of them. . But it would be nice to differentiate between how a piece of software functions as opposed to the pricing and upgrading policies. . Mercy. . -SB
Like (4)
Version 5.3.0

Read 90 Tidy Up User Reviews

Rate this app:

xcoxco
16 January 2020
Why such bad reviews? I have used TidyUp! for many years, and remain satisfied. No, it's not a 5-star app. But surely it deserves 4-stars ... Admittedly I am what some term a "power" rather than casual Mac user.
Like
Version 5.3.3
ShotBlocker
11 November 2019
Tidy Up can plow through hundreds of thousands of files in minutes, comparing their content, and finding duplicates. It works. Five stars. . Is it expensive? Kind of, yeah. On the other hand, if anyone can find something less expensive that works as well, by all means let the rest of us know. . Is there a learning curve? Yes. Then again, it is capable of some very complex comparisons. If anyone knows of a simpler drag and drop (or other more "intuitive") interface, that can handle the same complexity as Tidy Up, by all means let the rest of us know. . And I wish MacUpdate allowed two rating scales: one for how the software works and another for pricing/upgrade policy. . It is ridiculous that Tidy Up gets an overall half-star rating. It FREAKING WORKS and it WORKS WELL. I understand people can be unhappy with upgrade policies -- heck, I'm one of them. . But it would be nice to differentiate between how a piece of software functions as opposed to the pricing and upgrading policies. . Mercy. . -SB
Like (4)
Version 5.3.0
freddkj
15 August 2019
Their customer support is nonexistent. I completed two “Contact Us” requests which is the only way to contact them, and they have never responded. They also have no phone numbers and cannot find their address anywhere on the web. Don’t buy any of their products Incase you have any questions. Their tutorials are laughable.
Like
Version 5.2.1
1 answer(s)
Hyperbolic Software
Hyperbolic Software
16 August 2019
I'm sorry, we always answer to all received emails. It's possible that the email system engine has failed. Also, did you check your junk emails folder?

If you don't find any our email, please send again an email to "support [at] hyperbolicsoftware dot com".

You can find the complete user manual under the Help menu within Tidy Up and the video tutorials by going to https://www.hyperbolicsoftware.com/TidyUp.html, then click on the support link.
Like
Vagabundo
10 March 2018
This application is not bad. However, I hate the tactics used by this company to force you to upgrade. I’m using version 4.1.25, and every time I open it, the stupid promo asking me to upgrade to version 5 pops up. It’s spam! I haven’t found a way to prevent it from showing up. In it, you are presented with only two options: download and buy now. My e-mail to customer support has gone without a reply. Yes, I know there is a version 5. Yes, I know I don’t want to upgrade. The on-your-face tactic has achieved one thing only …I am deleting it.
Like (5)
Version 5.0.3
1 answer(s)
RasmusK1199
RasmusK1199
29 March 2018
I agree. I upgraded a while ago, but find myself reverting to the previous version in order to get things done. Lots of fancy bells and whistles in the new version, but that's only distracting for a power user. One simple example: In version 4 with list view, one could click View -> Switch Icon Size to remove the path below the file name. In this way one got a much more efficient use of the screen. What's the point of having the path below the file name when one can add the path as a column and actually sort on that column?
Like (3)
Jimw
01 February 2018
I got this product last June and barely 6 months later their best offer is to give me a $5 credit towards a new version. Thanks but no thanks. I have other Apps that are just as effective. This marketing paradigm reminds me of some subscription apps where the subscription is marketed as an paid upgrade on a frequent basis.
Like (3)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Hyperbolic Software
Hyperbolic Software
01 February 2018
Hello,

I don’t know where you have seen the $5 discount offer.
Please contact me from the company website if you need assistance.

Here are the current available offers.
The full price of the three devices license is $34.99, single device $28.99.
Currently the offer for the three devices to the registered users is $16.99, valid until 7th February.
The upgrade price for three devices is $23.99.
Last paid upgrade was released on 2014.
Like (3)
zlazkow
10 December 2017
anybody knows what's the difference from DupeZap(same developer) ?
Like (1)
Version 4.1.24
1 answer(s)
Hyperbolic Software
Hyperbolic Software
10 December 2017
Tidy Up is the "big brother" of DupeZap. If you need more control on how to search the duplicates and on how to handle the found items, then Tidy Up is for you.
For further details on the differences, I suggest you to download for free a trail copy of each app and take a look to them.

Feel free to contact me from the support page of the company web site if you need assistance or questions.
Like (3)
wrongdemographic
24 November 2017
These people are amazing, as is the s/w. Unlock some companies there's ALWAYS a response and help on hand - for I don't know how many years now.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.23
RogerKatz
07 October 2017
The current version is 4.1.23
Like
Version 4.1.22
geno
13 May 2017
always was good
Like
Version 4.1.21
JSH56
23 September 2016
Kudos to Hyperbolic Software for working directly with me to resolve the issue. Changing my rating to Five Stars.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.17
JSH56
22 September 2016
Just dl'ed 4.1.16, running Sierra, and this version keeps launching with a Photos database error. I restarted both the app and the OS, but the problem persists. Going back to 4.1.15 which works fine.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.16
5 answer(s)
Giuseppegiu
Giuseppegiu
22 September 2016
Please contact me from the company website (or using the support email address) and let me know which error you are receiving.

Thank you!
Like (1)
macus
macus
22 September 2016
Same error here.
Like (2)
JSH56
JSH56
23 September 2016
Kudos to Hyperbolic Software for working directly with me to resolve the issue. Changing my rating to Five Stars (repost).
Like (1)
Claro
Claro
24 September 2016
How can you not feel shame to sink an app who earned not by chance excellent reputation?!
Like
JSH56
JSH56
24 September 2016
Yes, Claro, I am so ashamed.
Like
Forn
10 March 2016
30$ Holy Gwacamoly… one can do that for FREE. Use Terminal.
Like
Version 4.1.10
1 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
07 June 2016
Terminal is terrible for managing duplicates.
Like (2)
Thomas1977
10 January 2016
After the update the app keeps crashing. Anyone else seeing this?
Like
Version 4.1.9
1 answer(s)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
10 January 2016
They must have pulled that version back as my 4.1.8 version can't find any updates.
Like
Dellsuxx
28 December 2015
Great Application that works really well and finds many dupes that others miss. I just purchased version 4 through MacUpdate so I haven't used all the features yet but will update my experience In coming months.
Like
Version 4.1.8
Thomas1977
04 October 2015
Good utility to check for dupes and works as expected. The only thing I would like to see is a modern GUI. Compared to 10.10 and 10.11 apps it looks extremely outdated.
Like
Version 4.1.5
Wolpertinger
02 October 2015
They seem to have a mixup in their versions. Latest version claims to be 4.1.4, but according to the version info of the app, it still is 4.1.3.
Like
Version 4.1.4
2 answer(s)
Giuseppegiu
Giuseppegiu
02 October 2015
This is weird. I just downloaded a copy from the server and it shows correctly the version 4.1.4.
Please write me by going to the company website and let me know more information.

Thank you,
Giuseppe
Like
Wolpertinger
Wolpertinger
04 October 2015
Sorry, my mistake. I had two different versions installed side-by-side and looked at the wrong one.
Like
Sgginc
11 June 2015
This is a great and very complete dupe finder. I keep a clean machine and didn't expect to find many duplicates. This utility found hundreds of duplicates. 95% of these dupes where images inside saved HTML web pages. Many instruction manuals I have are HTML documents. Images used within these documents are duplicates with different names. To delete any of them would result in HTML pages rendered with missing pictures. This utility did alert me to some very old HTML documents I no longer needed but I had to manually locate them to see the dates. Thanks ... Ken
Like
Version 4.1.0
Darius9
09 March 2015
Crash on OS X 10.10 3
Like
Version 4.0.5
Darius9
09 March 2015
Crash on OS X 10.10.3
Like
Version 4.0.5
Eric•Woehler
17 December 2014
Can recommend Fusio from the MAS - great utility for finding dupes in multiple folders and generating a single unified/'clean' folder or folders of files. Can generate hierarchical or flat folder structure and works perfectly to identify duplicates. Have been using for my image collection, highly recommended and worth a try.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.2
2 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
15 January 2015
I like it when good alternatives are mentioned in a review.

Problem is, your post isn't a review of Tidy Up. In fact it's not a review at all. It's SPAM.
Like (4)
Albabe
Albabe
01 April 2015
Eric-Woehler: Thanx for the option!
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
20 August 2014
Unfathomable in this day and age that to be able to use this on my desktop iMac, and also install on my laptop, that it won't let me unless I pay another $30 for an additional license. DELETED from both computers now.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.15.0
Andreagm
27 February 2014
Great tool. It worked well cleaning my hard disk. I accidentally deleted 2500 files, but thanks to its restore option, everything went back to its place. Excellent app!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.11
LuukLuuk
24 February 2014
I've trusted this program with my Aperture library, to clean up some mess because I've gathered a lot of duplicates from bad backup regimes. Well I don't understand why they dare to ask $30 for this. The program is unclear: after a clean up, asking you if you really want to close a window, because 'a search wouldn't give the same result after closing'. Isn't that the whole point of a cleanup, getting a different result after cleaning up?! Than, I've started my Aperture and immediately saw some duplicates, and even encountered Aperture thinking some shitty jpg's are better than the original Tiffs. Horrible, keep away from this App.
Like
Version 3.0.11
aglessi
07 February 2014
Among the many programs aimed to recover space into your hard drive, TidyUp stands out for its customization options which are often the only way to avoid the tedious manual work of choosing one by one all the files to be deleted or maintained.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.11
I purchased Tidy Up and have yet to be able to delete one duplicate. When I try, I get an error message that I don't have the required permission. Could someone give me some insight, please.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.7
1 answer(s)
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
25 August 2013
It sounds like you aren't logged in on an administrator account.
Like
radnessofitall
29 May 2013
I am faced with a horrible situation as a result of using this program. I would like to know why - under miscellaneous - Email attachments - why my entire Creative Adobe Suite was deleted and cannot as of my knowledge by recovered. If there are any suggestions to help recover these vital programs, I would very much appreciate it. Thank you :)
Like
Version 3.0.6
1 answer(s)
Bosskev
Bosskev
26 June 2013
Did you attempt to contact the developer for support? If so, what was his/her response? For a major concern like this, looking for "suggestions to help recover these vital programs", no one knows this app like the developer, and thus direct contact is always advisable.
Like (1)
Toskie23
09 February 2013
I have been unable to activate this program with my valid license number. I have contacted the developer numerous times, both directly and thru his website, with screenshots of the error window that I receive when I input my license number - He does not bother to respond. I have generally had good responses from developers when I have issues like this (except for Macware), but this developer has been less than helpful. Buyer beware!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.5
3 answer(s)
Low-Flyer
Low-Flyer
29 March 2013
As a buyer I like to know what others think about how a particular app performs, and which is in general expressed in a rating. Downrating an app for administrative matters does not really help me as a buyer.
Like (2)
f-rol-orange-fr1926
f-rol-orange-fr1926
03 April 2013
Hi, my experience with the developer, for the same problem, is great. I wrote him on saturday 30 mars, after midnight. The next morning, at Easter, i found a reply with solution from this developer in my Mailbox! Great, many thanks to Giuseppe. Toskie23, did you have a look in your Spambox? Regards, F Rol (living in France with poorly English)
Like (3)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
14 October 2015
I would ignore this "review." Chances are that this newbie confused his "valid license number" with what was a proof of purchase code. The developer uses a two-step in which you must submit the proof of purchase code in order to get a valid license, which is also matched up with your name and your email account.

Users like "Toskie23" need to learn how to discriminate between writing a REVIEW, which can be damaging to a software developer's reputation versus a COMMENT, in which any uninformed user like him can vent and rant about anything they want while they make fool of themselves telling us what they don't know and are too lazy to find out.

As to the developer's responsiveness, no developer should be expected to be tied to their computer screen, yet when I reported a bug regarding version 4's hanging-up during the processing of selected items, I got a reply back within two hours telling me that the bug is in El Capitan, he fixed the bug, and he will issue an update tomorrow. Ignore people like Toskie23 until they can show that they know what they are talking about. With 1 star to his credit as of Feb 2013, no one here thinks he does.
Like
smtips
22 December 2012
Not sure how this is getting such good reviews. Damn thing hangs for like 3 to 30 seconds every time I select the icon of a dupe in the window. Preview mode is off. Should not beach-ball me for that long. Does it on selecting a single file, not command-clicking multiples. 16 gigs of ram and a fast, well maintained Mac should never see things like this in any app. Especially running a SSD drive.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
smtips
smtips
29 December 2012
Kinda wondering what you missed about "well maintained Mac." There is no issue with my drives, I run regular maintenance. My drives don't need repair they are flawless, and permissions repair is just a stupid suggestion. Would you mind telling the Mac Community in detail how repairing permissions would do anything whatsoEVER for a THIRD PARTY application hanging up as described above?
Like (7)
Vinkri
04 November 2012
My mac is more than 4 years old. And it was cluttered with files. I knew there were duplicates, but I couldn't find the time to look into it. A bundle later, I got the opportunity to try TidyUp. It"s easy to use (no need of a manual) It's powerful (criterias to find duplicates are numerous and relevant) It works well. On my scale, that makes it a very good app, though $30 is a bit steep for a tool you'll use once a year.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
OsloX
27 September 2012
Very nice tool to find duplicates. Clean, uncluttered GUI. It really is helpful getting your files in order. Though the price is a bit steep I still can recommend this for everyone.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Fingersmcginty
20 September 2012
Just purchased this today. 3.1GB of duplicates dumped in about 20 minutes consisting of three separate searches (images, pdf files, text files). My wife's side has even more, but I dare not dump her stuff until I convince her that she can have aliases, if she wants, to the files that are being deleted. A great application and one I"m sure I will use regularly. I can't report on the stability because I've only used it today, but I've given it five stars...of course I'd change my rating if it crashed or did something I wasn't happy with. I'd definitely recommend it and it gives me confidence that I am not dumping files I won't be able to locate--what I mean is, by choosing the option to have an alias replace a deleted file, I know that I'll always be able to find the original file. Good stuff.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Simbasounds
28 July 2012
Great App.. I regularly use it to service client's machines.
Like
Version 3.0.2
zx
14 May 2012
Good update but will you PLEASE remove this warnning: "The item at path "/Volumes/..." was not found! Remove it from the list using the "Remove from List" menu item from the "Result" menu" Thanks.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Patrick-Sheehan
13 May 2012
I have used Tidy Up since its creation and its predecessor Doublet Scan before that and I can honestly say that there is no Shareware Mac program that I have been more satisfied with. Across a variety of Macs and more operating systems than I care to remember, Tidy Up has always helped me to keep my files in order with it's easy-to-use interface and outstanding developer support. The latest upgrade is well worth the cost and I'm looking forward to the continued development of this outstanding program for years to come.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Espiridion
13 May 2012
For my needs it's not worth the $12 (soon to be $20) upgrade. I think I only used version 2 once, and went back to Araxis Find Duplicate Files. Araxis decreased its price, has very reasonable upgrade fees, and is the one that has outperformed every other duplicate finder I've tried. It needs bigger font sizes, but in terms of functionality it is superb. I won't rate version 3 since I have not tried it and don't intend to.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
GeogProf
01 May 2012
The new version (3.0) is nice, but it’s way too expensive. I’ve bought more than 30 shareware apps, and I don’t pirate anything. But I won’t buy shareware that’s overpriced if comparable but far cheaper and/or free apps are available — even apps that are considered far superior to their rivals. That is the case with Tidy Up, so I won’t be giving my Visa card number to Hyperbolic Software until they adjust its price in line with its very capable competition.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.0
2 answer(s)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
01 May 2012
Actually the upgrade is $12. I heard back from the developer within minutes of asking how to do this and was able to upgrade at this price. WELL worth the $12 for the new features. Great support.
Like (1)
Fingersmcginty
Fingersmcginty
20 September 2012
If you qualify as a student ask for academic pricing, its fair. I mean, you have to provide photo proof you actually ARE a student, but for those of you who are, I always always suggest writing a developer to see if they offer help. Hyperbolic did. Thank you.
Like
jondam0083
14 March 2012
Just had to write and say what an awesome program Tidy Up! is. I've been dreading for months tackling the issue of deleting duplicates in my iPhoto collection. I had a little over 51,800 photos which I knew I could could not be possible I've tried many other duplicate annihilator programs and was to too afraid to delete the photos once the dupes were collected. In fact, I was afraid to delete them and would save them and re-merge over and over again. Well, your program is so easy to use and helped me eliminate, safely, over 15.000 dupes within 2 days so far. However, I still have more checking to do. I thought it would take forever. Thank you so much!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.8
THEE:LEE
05 January 2012
Great when you are starting to run out of space, it works great and has a very nice user interface. I will say however that it has crashed a few tmies for me in Lion.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
Priosantos-Jan
05 October 2011
Why isn't this by default a OS X tool? Highly useable and great UI. It just beats all other comparable apps. A bit steep price though.
Like
Version 2.3.6
Eyeless
12 August 2011
Have only tried the Mail duplicate function a little in the latest version so not sure I should rate it. Apple Mail in Lion is keen on duplicating messages (and can itself find a few random (?) ones, but offers no (clear) method of deleting them). Anyway, TidyUp finds the duplicates (all of them, it seems like, - at least over 20000 in my message folders). Then I deleted 10 duplicates and was told to wait for this to be synced with Mail (which opened automatically). Then I tried to open the one single message that should be left in Mail, but even though Mail list the message in the mailbox, it cannot open it now. Alright, I guess one have to rebuild the mail folder and that helped. But next time TidyUp searched for duplicates it found more duplicates (which may be due to the rebuilding, but that did not happen when I tried the same procedure again, so maybe the duplicates that Mail creates upon rebuilding in Mail only happen the first time (in Lion)). Quick Look and preview stopped working in TidyUp, but it did not happen again. I had a look at TidyUp before, but found it too complicated (like SuperSync for iTunes) even for me who works with computers, but the language and options seems to have become less confusing now.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.5
462dave
20 April 2011
This program has serious flaws. It will identify duplicate files on my external drive. However, it does not allow me to delete any of the files. I can copy and move them to a different folder. That only makes the problem worse. The program says that I do not have the necessary permissions to delete the duplicate files. I have made sure to adjust the permission settings on my Macbook Pro and my external drive to allow such permissions. I even used another third-party program to make such adjustments. I have done everything that the support rep has suggested and the program doesn't work after hours of frustration. I don't recommend this program unless they can fix the bugs.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.3
2 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
03 May 2011
This app works great for me. Perhaps there's a software conflict on your machine? I don't have ANY of the bugs you mention.
Like (2)
NativeofSF
NativeofSF
21 May 2012
Whenever a piece of software acts different, difficult or crazy, I suspect something else is causing this calamity on my system. That's when I reboot to another partition and run DiskWarrior or some other yet similar program. Then after rebooting, everything's, usually, back to normal.
Like
Gary-box
26 March 2011
Great looking GUI. Makes it very pleasant to work with. A bit expensive though. A price tag of $10 would be fair.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.3
Pfrankl
13 November 2010
I downloaded this after weighing the choices of a few others. What I really like about this program is that the user-interface is so helpful. There are numerous ways of viewing the data, of comparing and contrasting folders to see exactly where the duplicates are. You then have quite a decision about what to delete and what to keep but at least you know what the parameters are. And there is a very useful option of deleting files but never deleting the last file in a group of duplicates. I have had no stability issues at all. I have a lot of duplicate files and I'm just beginning to learn the hang of this program but it promises to be very good. i'll post an update in a few days.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.0
Antollamh
20 October 2010
Further to my earlier comment, I got very speedy replies and help from the Tidy Up help line, and now find it works OK and helps find and delete repeated files very well.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Antollamh
14 October 2010
I have just purchased Tidy Up 2, and struggling with the Quick Start instructions. While searching was easy, how to deal with the search results seems obscure, since when I tried to delete duplicates, I was informed that I am deleting all copies. I think that at least the Quick Start needs to be rewritten to make it intelligible. I have fired off some questions to support, hoping that his may help.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Daniel-P-Gregory
11 September 2010
Tidy-up Trial very limited, it worked so I bot it; Now, it is not simple and I cannot get it to work. I have spent 4+ hours and it doesn't work. I am going to return the product and get a refund. Perhaps it's great, but i can't deal with paying for something that doesn't work quick, fast and simple as advertised, Note: If things do change and in the course of return a human points out to me what I am doing wrong and shows me how to make it work easy i will repost and retract the 4 thumbs down on this product..... Daniel G,
Like (2)
Version 2.2.5
1 answer(s)
Daniel-P-Gregory
Daniel-P-Gregory
30 September 2010
RETRACTION - OK, I said I would retract in my post if I discovered I was wrong, so here it is. This company is awesome. They followed up with me, held my hand and genuinely reached out to me allowing me to send them photos, analyzing my problems and steering me towards resolution. I wish all companies were this committed to their product and customer satisfaction. Disclosure , I am organizing a library of over 60,000 pictures. We all know all things worth while take a some effort, I didn't read the manual and posted rather irrationally out of frustration. Now cool and calm, I am very please with my purchase and fully endorse both this product and their customer service. A very professional operation. Daniel Gregory Oceanlodge@gmail.com
Like (9)
Version 2.2.6
Espiridion
09 July 2010
I'm often interested in trying this type of applications. There are quite a few things I did not like: 1. Demo is limited and nagging pop-ups are too frequent. 2. Price is expensive at $39, or $30 if I act now to save 25%. Reminded me of one of those cheesy TV infomercials. 3. Size seems a bit excessive at 25.2 MB. 4. It is a bit slow. My favorite application for finding duplicates is Find Duplicate Files. I always go back to it. Here's a brief comparison with Tidy Up! I created a Folder with 91 items, 190 MB total. I included a wide variety of files (e.g., URLs, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, MP3, Images, Text, PDF, etc.). I duplicated 15 items. I changed their names and/or extension. I tried the Basic Mode originally, but I could not select multiple criteria so I switched to Advanced Mode. Results: Time: TU! 9 seconds, no items found. FDF About 2 seconds, 15 items found. The "best" result I got with Advanced Mode was when I only selected "Total item's size is same": TU! 10 seconds, 16 items found. TU! mistakenly identified one file as being a duplicate. The files are indeed different, so this is bad. As mentioned, I had only 15 duplicates. Although the list showed 16 duplicates, the top of the window displayed "Duplicate items 9" Including "Contents of Files Options" for this search: TU! 8 seconds, 6 items found. Although the list showed 6 duplicates, the top of the window displayed "Duplicate items 11" This was just a quick test, and when I use Find Duplicate Files I typically check multiple folders and hundreds of GBs of data. Speed and accuracy are VERY important. A second quick test using a 6.7 GB mostly with MP3 files. TU! 0 found using "All kinds" in Basic Mode TU! 0 found using "MP3 files" in Basic Mode TU! 1 found using "Item Size" in Advanced Mode. This was a text file. FDF found the text file AND a duplicate MP3 file TU1 checked 129 items in that folder, while FDF scanned 764 files. In spite of this, once again FDF was much faster than TU! If I had no other frame of reference I would think that TU! worked great. After all, it did find many duplicates. Unfortunately it also left out many other duplicates or identified files that were different as being identical. One thing I did like about TU! is the nice Preview that allows for a quick comparison in case of doubt. Particularly for audio and MIDI files the preview is better than that of FDF. For other files FDF does a great job, in some cases better than TU!
Like (8)
Version 2.2.4
4 answer(s)
Kraulft
Kraulft
14 July 2010
I think you have missed something. I have been using Tidy Up for years and I'm happy of it. The first times I compared the result with the files on the disk and I saw that Tidy Uphad reported all the dupes quickly. I took a look to Find Duplicate Files and I saw it doesn't allow you to change the filters; this makes impossible to compare it to an app like Tidy Up which allows you to customize the filters because you have to use exactly the same filters tha Find Duplicate Files uses. Just my two cents
Like
Version 2.2.4
Espiridion
Espiridion
15 July 2010
Find Duplicate Files allows you to change its filters very easily. Just go to Preferences and you'll find 15 different filters (e.g., Archives, Documents, Images, Movies, Music, PDF, Presentations, Source Code, Microsoft Office, etc.), in addition to the "All Files" filter. You can also create your own filters and remove filters that you don't use. I don't have Tidy Up! installed anymore, but for my tests I tried to include All Files as well as MP3 files. Tidy Up! was fast, but slower than FDF. More importantly, the results were not as accurate as those of FDF. I'm sure that many people are happy with Tidy Up! It's certainly better than other applications I've used. IMO it just does not perform as well as FDF (even though it costs twice as much.)
Like (2)
Version 2.2.4
Kraulft
Kraulft
18 July 2010
Oh yes, I saw those filters, but the filters I'm referring to, are those that are used to compare the files (such as: duplicate by date, by name, by size, by content etc.), not those that allow you to decide which file type you want to search for. This is the reason why you can't do a realistic test. If you don't know the criteria used to compare the files, you may have a different result and also the speed may be affected. Obviously, the advantage of this is that you can decide which kind of duplicates to have. I agree with you that the less you spend, the better it is; however, TU has so many features to do the search and to manage the result, that make the $30 bucks a reasonable price.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Espiridion
Espiridion
20 July 2010
I see your point regarding those options. Still, the bottom line is that Tidy Up! did not find the duplicates I had, regardless of my choices under "Common Attributes," "Files and Packages," and "Content of Files Options." Are those the filters you're referring to? I also have FileBuddy and for years it has had an option to find duplicates, with selectable options such as name and/or extension, creation/modification dates, type, contents, etc. I actually prefer FDF's approach, since it will find true duplicates regardless of creation date, extension, or other attributes that may indicate that the file is NOT a duplicate. For me this is faster. I don't need to enter any options, and the software finds any true duplicate file(s). I just did another small test using 1 GB of data with 300 items, and can't figure out how to make Tidy Up! dig as deep as FDF, regardless of my settings. For example, FDF found duplicate items inside documents created by specific applications, such as Ulysses and Curio. I can look at the results and disregard these duplicates if I choose, but FDF gives me that information. Tidy Up! and File Buddy don't go as deep. Both Tidy Up! and File Buddy found the 5 files I had duplicated on purpose, but FDF found more files as mentioned above. I chose my MP3 partition (120 GB of data) and tried to find duplicate Music using Tidy Up!'s Basic Mode, resulting in ZERO duplicate files found. I then searched using item's size and Content of Files as options, and this time Tidy Up! managed to find music duplicates; One WMA file correctly identified and three MP3s incorrectly identified as duplicates. In contrast, FDF found the WMA files, as well as twelve duplicate MP3 files. I can understand that a straight comparison is difficult given each program's options, but no matter what I try with Tidy Up! I keep on getting better results with FDF, and I don't even have to deal with any additional settings.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.4
Martinb
13 June 2010
All in all TidyUp is extremely helpful for me sorting out the "mess" of Duplicates, drag&drop--backups etc. on my hard drives. I recently installed the new version 2.2.3 and used it for scanning some large hard drives 100-300 GB (about 180.000 files were scanned). It happened several times to me that TidyUp suddenly crashed. (I'm sorry, I can't see a certain action when that happens - I'm searching for big folders containing duplicates, creating a new basket and move or trash the content). Does anyone else encounter this behaviour? :-(
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
2 answer(s)
Martinb
Martinb
13 June 2010
p.s. TidyUp crashed again... it seems to happen when I mouse click on a smart basket ...
Like
Version 2.2.3
Martinb
Martinb
04 July 2010
I'm still having stability problems with Tidy Up 2.2.3. :-( anyone else?
Like
Version 2.2.3
Beff
05 June 2010
Seems to me these actions could be obtained via Automator. Add functionality as you wish, just spend a few minutes to combine actions, and its free, home-brewed in a couple of minutes or so. Thats close to instant.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
06 June 2010
Then go do it and stop posting about it here. Nobody cares.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.3
Willyusas
24 November 2009
I previously posted a review that I wish I could change. There was an issue with my Aperture database that I thought was actually the application not working, but it turns out it was my database that had some issues. I have been able to run this app on a pristine database and it worked like a charm. Best part of all: Giuseppe, the developer, has been absolutely incredibble; emailing and helping me troubleshoot. I highly recommend taking this app for a spin, and contacting the developer if something doesn't seem clear...he will definitely help!
Like (7)
Version 2.1.2