Back to DV Backup page
DV Backup free download for Mac

DV Backup Reviews

1.4.6
19 November 2014

Use your digital camcorder to backup data.

Ramcito
10 July 2008

Most helpful

Upon startup, this program downloads a file called "monitor.txt" from http://web.onetel.com/~tghewett1/monitor.txt. That file is now gone, but at the time of the original review being written the file contained the following entries: wendell@moultrie.com 0 - diamondjr1@aol.com 1 - roshi@aol.com 0 - bigdee762002@yahoo.com 0 - fcpeditor2@mac.com 0 - marigov@gmail.com 1 - minervini@charter.net 0 - orders@militariacourses.com 0 - carmen@amana-key.com.br 2 http://web.onetel.com/~tghewett1/find.sh antonio.miccoli1@tin.it 1 - kagi-reg@henninger.com 0 - gmunger@triad.rr.com 0 - burke@silly.com 0 - scott@third-row.com 0 - What is interesting is that for certain users, the vendor can execute arbitrary scripts on their machines. For example, if we check the contents of find.sh as shown above, we see the following: #! /bin/tcsh find "/Volumes/MacOS 9.2.2" -name \*DVBackup\* -print > /dev/console This script searches a users machine for the vendor's product. He could conceivably execute or install any type of software. To verify any of the information I have provided please contact me, or just run this software and monitor (without making any changes to the software) your internet connection.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2

Read 17 DV Backup User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ramcito
10 July 2008
Upon startup, this program downloads a file called "monitor.txt" from http://web.onetel.com/~tghewett1/monitor.txt. That file is now gone, but at the time of the original review being written the file contained the following entries: wendell@moultrie.com 0 - diamondjr1@aol.com 1 - roshi@aol.com 0 - bigdee762002@yahoo.com 0 - fcpeditor2@mac.com 0 - marigov@gmail.com 1 - minervini@charter.net 0 - orders@militariacourses.com 0 - carmen@amana-key.com.br 2 http://web.onetel.com/~tghewett1/find.sh antonio.miccoli1@tin.it 1 - kagi-reg@henninger.com 0 - gmunger@triad.rr.com 0 - burke@silly.com 0 - scott@third-row.com 0 - What is interesting is that for certain users, the vendor can execute arbitrary scripts on their machines. For example, if we check the contents of find.sh as shown above, we see the following: #! /bin/tcsh find "/Volumes/MacOS 9.2.2" -name \*DVBackup\* -print > /dev/console This script searches a users machine for the vendor's product. He could conceivably execute or install any type of software. To verify any of the information I have provided please contact me, or just run this software and monitor (without making any changes to the software) your internet connection.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
03 August 2004
I do professional video production and this software is a perfect backup solution. The ability to use the same professional DVCAM tape stock which I shoot on and to store large video files and their associated project files on one tape makes DV Backup a win/win for anyone shooting and editing video or dealing with other hard drive consuming media files. I'm getting rid of my old expensive tape backup system since DV Backup is quicker, more reliable, easier to use and my tapes cost 1/3 of the cost of backup tapes. Because I'm using professional hardware which the software hadn't been used with before, there were some initial interface control issues but the developer's tech support was extremely responsive and working with me he actually rewrote the software and gave me a working beta in less than two days! Try getting that kind of response from Dantz or any other software developer.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Seems to work fine for me. I have a Cannon ZR65 MC
Like
Version 1.3
Timplaster
05 June 2004
Works fine for me Stefano. Sounds like the "error" isn't in the software to me if you know what I mean...
Like
Version 1.2.5
Tim Hewett
04 April 2004
New: DV Backup LE (Lite Edition) A new "lite" edition of DV Backup has been released. DV Backup LE provides all the table of contents and automatic tape control features of the standard edition of DV Backup, but with more basic backup facilities. It is intended for home users who cannot justfy the more extensive (and still growing) feature set of the standard edition and really only need to backup a few folders relatively occasionally and in an uncomplex manner. Differences compared to the standard edition: - backups limited to one file or folder - restores cannot be performed selectively, the whole backup must be restored - multitape backups are not possible - scheduled and incremental backups are not available This new edition is based on the same well-proven core technology as the standard edition, and both forms will benefit from future improvements in their shared facilities. An upgrade path is available should you find that having purchased the lite edition you would prefer the broader facilities of the standard edition. Backups made by the lite edition are compatible with the standard edition. DV Backup LE can be downloaded for free evaluation from http://www.coolatoola.com/DVBackupLE1.2.4.dmg For further information please contact support2@coolatoola.com. Regards, Tim Hewett, Coolatoola.com
Like
Version 1.2.4
Stefano D Minervini
20 February 2004
DOES NOT WORK! Don't waste your time. Sent days trying to get it to work properly and it never did anything other then fail test after test after test. Save your money and time and buy a back up FW drive. Trust me I had to!
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Tim Hewett
Tim Hewett
26 February 2004
From the developer of DV Backup: Unfortunately if a device does not work then apart from considering any internal configuration settings there is probably little that can be done to help. The camera test is available at all times, no purchase is necessary to use it or any of the "evaluation mode" facilities. All of these together provide a very accurate indication of compatibility to allow purchase to be made with confidence. Minervini states his device unfortunately passes none of these pre-purchase tests. About 80% of DV devices are compatibile with DV Backup and work is continuing to increase that figure. For the forseeable future though all users should check device compatibilty as described. Tim Hewett, Coolatoola.com
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 February 2004
Works great for me, but I understand YMMV. When a piece of software depends on certain hardware in order to work, there's always a chance that what you have simply won't work. There are a lot of DV cameras out there, chances are some of them aren't going to work. Why not say "DOES NOT WORK WITH (your DV camera)"?
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
14 December 2003
Paid my money because I like to support good ideas and was trading in my PB FW 400MHz which needed a multi gigabyte backup. Struggled with any folder over 400MB even with the cache set to max. Claimed to have saved everything (save TOC) on several tapes but lost about half when I came to restore on my new PB 1GHz FW800. Nice idea but a bit clunky on my old powerbook. My fault? Possibly, since I installed Panther quite a few "smaller" shareware apps have gone smelly.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 February 2004
he took me as well. this shareware sucks
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
13 November 2003
Ingenious idea! I am not sure about doing excessive runs on a $2000 camera head. Will definitely keep it in mind for when there is a need for backup while on holiday with nothing else but a video camera. Questions: Can you backup on PAL and read it off an NTSC camera? Does it format the tape to a specific format?
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
26 October 2003
What a cool idea! I can get a camera and a bunch of MiniDV tapes for notverymuchmoney -- certainly less than a "real" tape backup device!
Like
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 March 2004
Uhhh.... for the price of a camera you can get several 100+GB firewire hard drives, and they will actually work (if the reviews are any indication, this doesn't.)
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
07 October 2003
Great Implementation of a great idea.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
05 October 2003
Fine piece of software. Does exactly what is says on the can. Works fast and flawlessly with my Sony TRV-240. Neat and tidy interface too. If you need large capacity backup, this is definitely worth trying. Wish all software was written like this one. I paid up. $30 too much? Try Exabyte.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
05 October 2003
to anonymous: last I looked you got US$ 1.66 for your Pound, that makes the price GBP 18.07. And you don't have to purchase it to "find out the extra features". It is fully useable in Demo mode, you're just limited on the amount of data you can backup. Fair enough?
Like
Version 1.1.1
Encro
22 August 2003
Wow! What an innovative idea.
Like
Version 1.1
Tim Brown
25 June 2003
Wow...just like the old TAR days...This is very very very cool stuff! Many thanks! -Tim
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 June 2003
30 pounds just to find out what the 'extra' features are? no thanks! (I'll refrain from actually putting any ratings)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
22 March 2003
This app works great for me, I've succesfully backed up and restored 5GB of data so far. My camera, a Sharp VL-NZ8 MiniDV Camera is fully supported by this app.
Like
Version 0.2
Jerome
07 February 2003
The concept is a great idea. I look foward to future release but unfortunate this release is terribly buggy. Running system 10.2.2 and after unpacking the app The documentation appeared to be an alias to some unknown place. I searched on the disk image and only found the compents neccessary to run the app. I say take another try, its a great idea. I and others anxiousy await this solution so DONT GIVE UP! xtc3d@hotmail.com
Like
Version 0.2