Back to Keynote page
Keynote free download for Mac

Keynote Reviews11.2

30 September 2021

Apple's presentation designer from the iWork suite.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mdorian3395
mdorian3395
Jun 2 2021
11.1
4.0
Jun 2 2021
4.0
Version: 11.1
I prefer Keynote over other programs like PowerPoint. Its simplicity saves me a lot of time while making presentations. Super app!!!!
nicolewilson
nicolewilson
Jun 2 2021
11.1
3.0
Jun 2 2021
3.0
Version: 11.1
I have a really good experience with this app! Totally recommended!
didifri
didifri
Mar 26 2021
11.0
5.0
Mar 26 2021
5.0
Version: 11.0
simply the best!
MacParc
MacParc
Sep 23 2020
10.2
0.0
Sep 23 2020
0.0
Version: 10.2
Keynote v10.2 is only compatible with macOS 10.15.0 or later-
cristofergonzalezpa
cristofergonzalezpa
May 30 2020
10.0
5.0
May 30 2020
5.0
Version: 10.0
excelente aplicación, me ayuda bastante.
gbdoc
gbdoc
Apr 3 2019
9.0.1
4.0
Apr 3 2019
4.0
Version: 9.0.1
I use KN a lot, better than PP. Newer versions have new features, but why are some older features no longer available ("Carousel" animation). Also, why is there no meaningful integration with Pages or Numbers? Clearly should be.
ianrid
ianrid
Oct 1 2018
8.2
0.0
Oct 1 2018
0.0
Version: 8.2
Discovered an alarming bug (or is it a 'feature'?) in the latest version of Keynote. Presentations created in V8.2 on High Sierra will still open in Keynote 6.6 on El Cap, but when resaved in 6.6 on El Cap they cannot then be opened again. Same happens to Pages files. Is this a bug or a deliberate move from Apple because El Cap is no longer supported? Beware or you will lose files and data this way.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
May 4 2018
8.0.1
1.0
May 4 2018
1.0
Version: 8.0.1
Dumbed-down, stripped down version of earlier Keynote version. Still using Keynote 5.3 from iWork 09 bundle. "Streamlined" app means loss of features, and a more challenging GUI and UX when using the latest versions of Pages/Keynote/Numbers. I am assuming loss of features etc is to ensure compatability with iPad versions of the same apps. A pity - Apple dumbed down the OSX versions rather than beefing up the iOS versions. Sticking with iWork 09 apps for as long as OSX allows! 5 stars for '09 apps, 1 star for current.
bernhard-meier
bernhard-meier
Mar 29 2018
8.0
3.5
Mar 29 2018
3.5
Version: 8.0
Apple Keynote 8.0 update at last fixes the stability problem that some users had to revert back from version 7.3 to 7.2 because of continuous crashes with large Keynote files with version 7.3.
kproductionsl
kproductionsl
Oct 24 2017
7.3
0.0
Oct 24 2017
0.0
Version: 7.3
I am operating on Yosemite and I cannot upgrade for many reasons and I have done a Keynote presentation in version 6.2.2 and wonder if that will work open on a computer that has 7.2 without any glitches.
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
Mar 28 2017
7.1
5.0
Mar 28 2017
5.0
Version: 7.1
this one is enought for me, regular presenter, not advanced function, but it's presenting keynote
Piper555
Piper555
Sep 21 2016
7.0
0.5
Sep 21 2016
0.5
Version: 7.0
Post version 4.x iterations appear to be geared to consumers needing only basic presentation functionality. The interface and tools are scaled back to match the paltry iOS versions. The removal of master slide support was a deal killer for me. I'm still happily using v4 though since it still supports master slides.
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
anonymous-tyrannosaurus-5294
May 11 2016
6.6.2
2.0
May 11 2016
2.0
Version: 6.6.2
Keynote is okay for beginners who only need to have a few basic slides for a visual presentation. The effects are good and can make you look good. However, if you want to add audio or make a video with audio, don't waste your time learning how to use it. I thought I would be able to play a slide show while recording in GarageBand and then add the audio to the presentation. I was wrong. If you try to play Keynote presentations it has to be in full screen. So, you can't watch and record in GarageBand. All you can see is full screen Keynote. You can't play a Keynote presentation in the window. Trying to record in GarageBand at the same time is impossible. So, I thought, buy another monitor and have GarageBand on one monitor and Keynote on the other. No, Keynote wants to use both monitors. The only way I can work is to export to Powerpoint to view in the window. But, all the effects change and the timeing. Or, export a movie and edit in FinalCut, which is another project to do. This is all because Keynote will only play at full screen. It is a brick wall in productivity terms. I researched and found that people have been complaining about this for years, but there has been no attempt to make this small feature available. Now, I wish I had not wasted my time learning this half done Keyword, and had spent my time learning Powerpoint. Keynote may be more glitzy in effects but Powerpoint FAR more flexible and compatible with available facilities in most places . I have been using Macs for more than 20 years and I am saddened to see the demise in usability and function of Apple products. I guess Apple just think that all the people who remember the Steve Jobs's ethic of function and form will be dead soon. Then, they will be free to make tons of money from all the new kids on the block, who never really knew how Steve really cared about what Apple really was. My respect for Microsoft products is growing ... Never thought I would hear myself say that but...
CDavid
CDavid
Aug 6 2015
6.5.3
5.0
Aug 6 2015
5.0
Version: 6.5.3
Keynote is absolutely fantastic. Using this app, I can create literally any presentation I want. The whole iWork suite is awesome as well. The app crashed several times on my Mac, but a restart fixed this issue. Now everything works fine that's why I'd like to thank everyone who is somehow engaged in the creation of Keynote. Can't wait for the next update.
ysgad
ysgad
Apr 27 2015
6.5.3
0.5
Apr 27 2015
0.5
Version: 6.5.3
What a disappointment! This new interface is horrible and the new way of creating table is awkward at best. I miss the floating palettes, and the interface that required half the clicks we need to produce now to get anywhere. This iteration has helped me to jump to Deckset and a true innovative way of creating presentations.
madelynedwards
madelynedwards
Nov 17 2014
6.5
1.0
Nov 17 2014
1.0
Version: 6.5
I want to upgrade Keynote 4.0 to 6.5 but have been told I won't be able to transfer my 4.0 presentations into the new version. Also, a friend has the latest version, 6.5, and can't open my keynote files in 4.0 when I send them. The prompt says the file is, "too old." I don't mind buying the new version for $19.99 but I'm afraid it will mess up all of my old keynote files. Does anyone know about this problem and how to resolve it?
Frankeed
Frankeed
Aug 23 2014
6.2.2
1.0
Aug 23 2014
1.0
Version: 6.2.2
Still won't open Keynote 2008 files. Ironically the work-around is to export them as PowerPoint files and then import them with the latest version of Keynote. Lame, Apple.
Ronnb
Ronnb
Jul 21 2014
6.2
0.5
Jul 21 2014
0.5
Version: 6.2
This latest version has completely ruined my older presentations. They will not even open on the iPad! This is a serious problem if one can not open presentations on an iPad!
Powercc
Powercc
Apr 3 2014
6.2
4.0
Apr 3 2014
4.0
Version: 6.2
I like Keynote it has amazing templates and good feature for home office user. With 6.2 it come closer and closer to Keynote 5.3 - against Powerpoint it is not so buggy
Reaverx
Reaverx
Jan 24 2014
6.1
0.5
Jan 24 2014
0.5
Version: 6.1
It's so sad they messed this up completely - a once nearly perfect and presentation tool for professional use (i did for many years) was degraded to accompany daddy's wedding anniversary speech. Hope the old version stays usable for a while..
Beto-Boton
Beto-Boton
Jan 24 2014
6.1
2.0
Jan 24 2014
2.0
Version: 6.1
Are these people out of their minds? Well if I wanted an iPad presentation toy I wouldn't have bought a MacBook Pro. Maybe they are so much in the future that they forget what we need today. Apple lost the plot after Jobs, sad but true.
gbdoc
gbdoc
Jan 23 2014
6.1
4.0
Jan 23 2014
4.0
Version: 6.1
Sorry I upgraded, KN 5 was pretty much fine, KN 6 is simply worse all around. I can't imagine what Apple has in mind, but IMO a whole bunch of people deserve to be fired. I won't, YET, go back to PP, but one more step in this direction and KN's history for me.
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Jan 23 2014
6.1
0.0
Jan 23 2014
0.0
Version: 6.1
I have been paying far more attention to Pages 5, but have Keynote and Numbers got the same King Midas in Reverse (everything Apple touches lately becomes shyte) treatment?
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Dec 27 2013
6.0.1
0.0
Dec 27 2013
0.0
Version: 6.0.1
The App Store updates show a discrepancy: App Version File info ------- ------- --------- Keynote 6.0.1 5.0.3 Numbers 3.0.1 2.0.3 Pages 5.0.1 4.3 Couldn't send a simple message. Phone support asked many silly questions then told me I have to pay 49 Euros to get an answer. Ridiculous.
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Dec 27 2013
6.0.1
0.0
Dec 27 2013
0.0
Version: 6.0.1
The App Store updates show a discrepancy: App Version File info ------- ------- --------- Keynote 6.0.1 5.0.3 Numbers 3.0.1 2.0.3 Pages 5.0.1 4.3 Couldn't send a simple message. Phone support asked many silly questions then told me I have to pay 49 Euros to get an answer. Ridiculous.
Macedward
Macedward
Oct 31 2013
6.0
1.5
Oct 31 2013
1.5
Version: 6.0
The new path of iWorks that Apple has taken, are simple put a very wrong turn. Hope they will be back on track with a new update, an update without the sacrifice of the old principles of Apple. The way of iOS is not the way Apple should go regarding the software of MacOSX. I do not want to play with toys, I want to and need to work with real tools.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Oct 30 2013
6.0
2.0
Oct 30 2013
2.0
Version: 6.0
Dear Apple, The latest Pages, Keynote and Numbers applications violate a core principle of good computer-human interface design. The new interface design increases the time, motion, and hassle associated with getting work done. It now takes more thought, hand motions, mouse clicks, and eye movements to accomplish the same task than with the prior versions. That adds up to a whole lot of lost productivity day in and day out. As business users, while the new versions may be free, the total "cost of ownership" is far too high for us. Consider the loss of the floating tool pallet. The floating pallet or "inspector" was an innovation. The new fixed "inspector" at the right-hand of the screen is not. A well designed pallet not only reduces the time, motion, and hassle associated with getting work done. It also allows one to see the relationship in *real-time* between cause & effect in a single clear line of sight; between acting upon an object (text, table, chart, etc) and the results of such action. With the new fixed inspector, on a 27" Mac screen, one's eyes must move about 12" to the right to select the tool, and then move 12" or more to the left, to see the results of any such action. One must constantly take one's sight off the "ball." The floating pallet obviates this problem. That is why, as an invention, it was so useful. That is partly why we started to migrate our work from Powerpoint to Keynote, about 10 years ago, and later from Excel and Word to Numbers and Pages. Apple's novel implementation of dynamic floating pallets increased our productivity over the sort of semi-static floating pallets that characterized Microsoft Office (and still do). Needless to say, we are now migrating back to the prior iWork version to stem the productivity loss. Whether we give up on Apple and return to the Microsoft fold remains to be seen. While the new applications may be free, the total "cost of ownership" is far too high for us. Yours sincerely, A Long-Time Loyal Business User
Tonylawrence
Tonylawrence
Oct 23 2013
6.0
3.5
Oct 23 2013
3.5
Version: 6.0
Keynote 7 does not use the Services menu like Keynote 09 did. Eye candy is not always as beneficial as functionality. At least this is the first iteration but thus far the features are not that impressive, nor are the locations of the Inspector layout. Hopefully it will get better. I am just glad it did not replace Keynote 09.
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Aug 20 2013
5.3
0.0
Aug 20 2013
0.0
Version: 5.3
The correct link for the updater is: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1563
xcoxco
xcoxco
Aug 9 2013
5.3
2.0
Aug 9 2013
2.0
Version: 5.3
Dear Apple, iWork is a terrific package: Keynote, Pages and Numbers. Yes these have almost fully replaced MS-Office in my work. But, as so often occurs with Apple, the package progresses little. I am a power-user. So I am less concerned about iWork apps on iOS or the web. I am also an older user. So I recall when MacWrite, MacDraw and MacProject led the field in software innovation. I also recall how Apple let these great products in their time languish and die. Apple was in its heart, after all, a hardware company. The software had done its job. Finito. And what about Filemaker Pro, which languishes even more? Will the same fate best the iWorks apps? If so, who will take up the slack? The problem is, no investor with $$$ will take up the slack. Only small under-resourced developers are left. The web-based SAS model, still in so many ways flawed (not to mention inherently insecure), has driven investors out of the desktop application space. And who wants to compete against the likes of Google, Yahoo, SalesForce, Apple, etc in that space? We live in a world where software development is all too often driven by a mass market, lowest common denominator mentality. Those of us who are power users find our needs are met less and less. There is just not enough net revenue after the less power-needy users are taken care of. So it seems. I do hope I am proved wrong, and a significant iWorks apps feature upgrade appears this fall. But I am skeptical. Yours sincerely ...
gameboyalpha
gameboyalpha
Dec 8 2012
5.3
0.0
Dec 8 2012
0.0
Version: 5.3
Note: this is not a review or comment, this is a direct editorial of why they took a PPC program and made updates Intel only: I am very disappointed with Apple with this upgrade. iWork 09 was a PPC and Intel release and now they are making it totally Intel only. Come on, everything since OS 10.5.8 and below were the border that the next version would be Intel and was the final PPC version. So I have to ask why? Why are you updating a program and leaving out the PPC users. Those of us that have G5 and below lose the updates for it. Why did you have to mess with a PPC compatible program when the later releases were Intel only. So for the last time, what developer had his head where the sun don't shine when he/she made decision to alter this last PPC program. End of Line... For those who will post negative points on me for kicks as I said before they are cowards and bottom feeders
Ronnb
Ronnb
Apr 25 2012
5.1.1
0.5
Apr 25 2012
0.5
Version: 5.1.1
I've used Powerpoint and LibreOffice for presentations and find Keynote to be comparable but not exceptional. There are many little inconsistencies and bugs that keep cropping up, especially with the assignment of fonts inside of master pages. I spend more time setting and resetting font assignments than anything else in Keynote. I also get bombs when importing Powerpoint or LibreOffice presentations into Keynote as well. Apple does not provide adequate attention to dealing with the bugs and problems in their own software, IMHO and, because of that, LibreOffice is a better deal since it is free and updated more often. For those people that also use an iPad for presentations; until LibreOffice comes out in an iOS version, Keynote is more useful for those that use an iPad for presentations.
drewmart
drewmart
Jan 3 2012
5.1.1
4.5
Jan 3 2012
4.5
Version: 5.1.1
Highly recommended for all presentation needs; this application is powerful, user-friendly tool that is simple.
Ozean
Ozean
Dec 2 2011
5.1.1
5.0
Dec 2 2011
5.0
Version: 5.1.1
Wonderful application. Very stable, very slick, very powerful. I also really appreciate the recording function. However, since I am often using video in my presentation I frequently do encouter a problem with the recording function: if you record a presentation it is not possible to "play" with the video clips you show, i.e. you cannot scrub forwards or backwards etc. This seriously impacts my use of Keynote. Of course, I see that this is probably a very difficult feature to implement. But at the level of sophistication that Keynote has reached, why not ask for it? ;) I also find it wonderful that Apple keeps updating this app for over three years now without asking money from us. BUT, I would really, really, really love to get a real upgrade to iWork _for the Mac and not for iOS_ somewhat soonish. This is not as urgent for Keynote as it is for Pages and Numbers, but still I find myself wishing for a real upgrade several times per week…
Vkubalkova
Vkubalkova
Dec 2 2011
5.1.1
4.5
Dec 2 2011
4.5
Version: 5.1.1
It is a marvelous program. I use it to do movies since if you know one or two tricks (and there are several) it can be very easily and successfuly converted to a movie format Thus one can do what would take a lot of effort on any of the complicated and expensive programs I wanted to give it 5 for also overall rating but it has not allowed me to do that! So regard it as straight 5 :)
Drdul
Drdul
May 30 2011
5.0.5
5.0
May 30 2011
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
My clients all use PowerPoint, so until now I used PowerPoint. I finally couldn't stand it any longer, and shelled out for Keynote for Mac and iPad (plus the necessary iPad connectors). After spending a few hours with both versions of Keynote, I am kicking myself for having waited this long to ditch PowerPoint. Keynote is easier to use and has more to offer. On top of that, the price is a steal!
Hippeman
Hippeman
Aug 27 2010
5.0.4
0.0
Aug 27 2010
0.0
Version: 5.0.4
Finally fixed the rule lines for hand-outs! Better late than sorry, but I'm glad the fix is there. Love this app!
An-onymous
An-onymous
Jul 1 2010
5.0.3
5.0
Jul 1 2010
5.0
Version: 5.0.3
Wonderful app. Far ahead of PowerPoint. It fulfill's all my needs, except two things : - the transprencies (.gif files) are not managed - there is no easily accessible information on each object (like its actual location)
Thatstheway
Thatstheway
Nov 9 2009
4.0.4
1.0
Nov 9 2009
1.0
Version: 4.0.4
Yes, Keynote does have some really great features and impressive effects. Name another application that has the wonderful new transitions introduced in iWork 09. The application is also fairly easy to use. Having said that, the program doesn't have an ounce of stability. I've been using Keynote to produce presentations for my employer since iWork 08. There were quite a few bugs in '08 that have yet to be addressed in '09. For a while, I was working on one of the older white MacBooks (2,1). Upon pressing the 'Play' button to view my project, my computer would often restart. This would cause me to lose any unsaved changes, and quite frankly, that is just a huge pain to deal with. Luckily, I'm not on a powerful, new MacBook Pro and don't have that problem anymore, as that bug is only MacBook specific. The other problem with the program is the timing. With Keynote, ten seconds is not ten seconds. But that is fairly easy to get around with a little trial and error. I can deal with that, right? What I cannot deal with is the fact that the same project played several times produces results of different links. As an experiment, I recently took one project and played it three times. I captured each one with ScreenFlow to compare. The project was three minutes long. Up to the 30-second mark, everything was in-sync. From there it was just downhill, as nothing lined up. One ended at 2:57, another at 2:58, and the last at a whopping 3:00. This can create real problems if you creating your soundtrack after gathering the project, as nothing lines up. Using a weak computer could explain this, but Apple, I'm using one of your new MacBook Pros. Ok, so maybe that isn't so bad, right? I mean, a few seconds can be made up for with some third-party editing tools. But what about when your project is in the final stages and you realize that you need to change the timing of the transition between slides one and two? Well, changing the transition time between one and two may make slide six stay onscreen for more of less time. I've often changed the timing of a transition only to find that another slide stays onscreen for up to ten seconds less! And then, when you fix the timing on slide six, you have to fix the timing between slides two and three again. Sorry, Apple, but you guys are losing my trust. I can't believe you released a new version of this buggy program without fixing these major bugs. We understand that you have a lot on your hands, but don't forget that for many of your users, iWork is a part of their work. And believe me, we also have a lot on our hands. Keynote just does not cut it.
sbchavel
sbchavel
Feb 10 2009
4.0.4
5.0
Feb 10 2009
5.0
Version: 4.0.4
Keynote is absolutely wonderful. With a job-talk coming up, I decided to do a slideshow presentation - my first ever. I downloaded Keynote's 30-day trial version, which gives you complete use of the application, including saving and exporting. The application is so dummy proof, even a professor at an ivy league university like myself could use it. It opens with an option to watch a very short introductory video clip. This was enough to get me up and running. After that, everything about the application is intuitive, inviting, and beautiful. Running it in the background of my lecture could not have been more elegant with the barely noticeable remote control in the palm of my hand. When I finished the presentation, a good percentage of the questions were about what program I used. Professors like myself who'd never before used presentation software expressed how essential they now realize it could be to teaching. So kudos to Keynote. Thank you for a job-talk well done.
Oilconsumer
Oilconsumer
Dec 11 2008
4.0.3
0.0
Dec 11 2008
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
Can anyone tell me where to download Keynote 4.0.2 As i need it to download this! Thank you.
Easer
Easer
Nov 21 2008
4.0.3
0.0
Nov 21 2008
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
Does anyone know why I'm able to save a Pages or Numbers document as a template, but I cannot seem to do this with a Keynote document? I may be missing something obvious, but I haven't been able to find any information on this. Thanks.
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
Jan 30 2008
4.0.2
4.0
Jan 30 2008
4.0
Version: 4.0.2
Installed and runs fine in Tiger. Keynote remains the sexiest presentation software around and offers decent export features if you need to present in a non-mac setting.
Mac-New-User
Mac-New-User
Jan 30 2008
4.0.2
0.0
Jan 30 2008
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
Apple Keynote is not only a slide show like PowerPoint, but's it's far more beautiful than PowerPoint.
Macericg
Macericg
Jan 29 2008
4.0.2
0.0
Jan 29 2008
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
I love this application. If presentations were meant to just be words and clip art (a la PowerPoint), you should suffice with just Word. Keynote takes presentations to the next level by embracing Apple's strong support for graphics and a touch of class. Animation and transitions are very cool, and help keep an audience's attention. the templates are first rate. My only "but" is that there needs to be a Keynote player for Windows. You can't always export all this wonderful stuff to PowerPoint because, well, it stinks. If Apple is keeping this a Mac-only app, fine, but at least be able to display the results on a PC.
Thirstyrobot
Thirstyrobot
Dec 2 2007
4.0.1
5.0
Dec 2 2007
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
In addition to being miles ahead of Powerpoint in terms of ease of use, Keynote has what I consider to be an absolutely killer feature: exporting presentations to Quicktime H.264 files. What used to be a major headache for me is now solved with a click. That alone sold me on this app.
Grahamn
Grahamn
Sep 28 2007
4.0.1
5.0
Sep 28 2007
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
I use this to present almost every day. This new release is a step forward with the interface. The results are superb and in a world dominated by M$ PowerPoint it stands out a mile. As for exported I've exported Quicktime interactive to a PC with no problems and regularly export ppt, they seem to work OK. The file sizes get a little large but its good quality and great to have a PowerPoint challenger.
Amergin
Amergin
Dec 7 2006
3.0.2
1.0
Dec 7 2006
1.0
Version: 3.0.2
Why is it that people are still applauding this application? It is now on Version 3 and still cannot export to anything useful! PDF and HTML export are pathetically lame - no hot links for example. PowerPoint export is unuseable. Flash export has been reduced in features since Version 2... and on and on! Please don't blindly applaud Apple and KeyNote unless you actually use this product seriously - which from where I stand is a virtual impossibility.
Jazzaddict
Jazzaddict
Aug 3 2006
3.0.1v2
5.0
Aug 3 2006
5.0
Version: 3.0.1v2
I love this .app. To me, Keynote represents what good software is all about. It is rare that you see such a combination of power, elegance, and inutuitivness. I don't mean to sound like another fanboy, but this one is just that good. To me, it is worth the full price of iwork.
Macsterdam
Macsterdam
Apr 26 2006
3.0.1
0.0
Apr 26 2006
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
How about fixing Quicktime export files that Windows computers can play? A fix that's way overdue.