Back to SymbolicLinker page
SymbolicLinker free download for Mac

SymbolicLinker Reviews

2.1.1
28 January 2017

Contextual menu creates symbolic links in Finder.

Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
26 September 2012

Most helpful

Perfect example of doing one thing and doing it well. Why the Finder does not include this as part of an alias is anyone's guess. The unfortunate part is that an Alias is so much more robust yet the OS is so tied to symbolic links ti cannot use Aliases most of the time. Apple should fix this and make Symbolic Links work as transparently and robustly as aliases. Until then, we have SymbolicLinker (thanks!!)
Like (3)
Version 2.0v3

Read 47 SymbolicLinker User Reviews

Rate this app:

apostolos-s
30 September 2018
Doesn’t work in High Sierra. I cannot get it to work manually either, with Terminal... Really need it to work, please tell me what you did if somebody managed to get it working! I have it in a Services folder in Library, no prompts. It just acts like it’s opening, like rythmkpr stated.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
rmwarwick
rmwarwick
05 October 2018
Yes. Me too!!
Like
rhythmkpr
17 June 2018
this is not working in High sierra. I put app in a new folder named services in main library and when I double click it it acts like it opens but nothing happens. I can't seem to find it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
klorenflemingii
klorenflemingii
20 August 2018
I am having the same issue. were you ever able to find a solution?
Like
srhyland
srhyland
04 September 2018
Create your own folder named Services, as it no longer exists (it needs your system password to modify Application Support). Then, drag and drop Symlink. RIGHT CLICK IT AND GIVE YOUR MAC PERMISSION TO USE IT BY FOLLOWING THE PROMPT. Should work after that.
Like
rfabianni
14 October 2017
I'm using Sierra 10.12.6 and after following the install instructions the symbolic links don't work. Any ideas?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Bndco
Bndco
06 November 2017
After installing it per the instructions - into the Services folder - Right Click on the SymbolicLInker file and select Open. Then select "Sure go ahead and open it" (however it's worded). Now it should work from the Services menu in the Finder.
Like (2)
HandyMac
26 March 2017
I've been using SymbolicLinker for years, maybe since it first appeared (before 10.6, anyway). I'm not a Unix geek, but prefer symbolic links for their spatial economy – they're only a few K in size (actually only a few bytes, but take up the minimum 4K file size in the file system), while standard MacOS aliases always include a copy of the original's icon (even with folders), making them over a megabyte in size. Aliases are more robust, usually remembering the link even if the original is moved, but I find symbolic links work fine in most cases. So, thanks for the Service, and for the update – I spent a couple hours last night struggling with some 8,400 symbolic links on the Desktop, and was nervous about using SymbolicLinker again, so came here and found there was an update to address just that problem. Don't know why it happened then, as I've been using v.2.1 just fine for several months. Anyway, works fine again now, in El Capitan 10.11.6.
Like
Version 2.1.1
David-Losada-Soler
30 January 2017
Doesn't show in the services submenu. El Capitán 10.11.6.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
HandyMac
HandyMac
26 March 2017
See Installation Instructions that came with the app, under How to Install, ¶4.
Like (1)
davidinracine
29 January 2017
I've been using SymbolicLinker since the early days of OS X and I consider it to be one of the most critical additions to the Mac OS. I use SymbolicLinker for the reasons stated in the first paragraph of Installation Instructions.

SymbolicLinker 2.1.1 works perfectly for me in OS 10.12.2. I was previously using version 2.0v3 but the Sierra update caused it to stop working. (It might have been as simple as opening the service from the Finder to authenticate, but I updated to 2.1.1 instead of doing that.) Following the installation instructions document was very simple. I also learned to go into the Keyboard system preferences pane Shortcuts menu > Services to deselect all the services I never use. Cudos for that tip!

Deepest thanks to Nick for keeping this project alive through the years, and for keeping SymbolicLinker free! This is an example of the Mac community at its finest.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Cowicide
03 December 2016
Was wary after reading previous reviews to use with Sierra, but version 2.1 is working perfect for me in macOS Sierra 10.12.1 just as it used to do in older OS versions for me (10.9.x, etc.). I didn't use this running 10.11.x or 10.10.x, so YMMV with that particular older OS, I dunno. Anyway.... Nice, quick way to create symbolic links with a simple right-click and/or keyboard shortcut on a file instead of pulling up Terminal, etc. -- Works with LaunchBar, etc. as well since it can pull up Services within the macOS as well and apply them to selected files, folders, etc. I often use symlinks to enable various custom hacks I've made to macOS, etc. and this is much quicker than using Terminal directly each and every time. If you need symlinks, you know who you are. Otherwise, stick with aliases.
Like
Version 2.1
Dowsmith
26 October 2016
I've used this often in the past; and just downloaded v2.1. Unfortunately, I just had the same problem as artie505 - on running SymbolicLinker, I got 3000+ links created on my desktop.. I'm also running 10.11.6. I had to relaunch Finder to get it to stop; and I'm now having trouble moving all the multiple duplicated links to the trash.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
waipepe
waipepe
27 November 2016
How does this differ from "make alias" Harry
Like
artie505
12 October 2016
I'm not gonna pan SL yet, because I'm not sure that what happened isn't my fault, although I can't see how it is. I installed it in /Library/Services and launched it as per instructions, but the two times I clicked on "Make Symbolic Link" in my services menu (El Cap 10.11.6) it covered my desktop with upwards of 5,000 links. I had to boot into a clone to get rid of them. Huh?
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Blouedysd
04 October 2016
Doesn't work in Sierra. Finder freezes for a moment, then unfreezes, no link made.
Like
Version 2.1
Pinchies
26 August 2016
Much appreciated tidbit for the GUI-land-lubbers like me.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Kennett
10 July 2016
Is anyone seeing SymbolicLinker in their Finder Services menu? I can't get SymbolicLinker to show up in the Finder Services menu, but the keyboard shortcut I enabled works just fine.
Like
Version 2.1
I have not yet used this enough to leave a proper review. However it does seem to work. The functionality is basic. There are two variations or enhancements which are obvious. Relative Links There are time when it is desireable to create relative links. A tool to do that would be welcome. Hard Links There are times when it is desirable to crate hard links. A tool to do that would also be welcome.
Like
Version 2.1
cubanpete
24 June 2016
Thank you! Thanky you also for providing really detailled instructions. Very much appreciated.
Like
Version 2.1
grawlcore
08 March 2016
Not working on El Capitan.
Like
Version 2.0v3
3 answer(s)
Thibo1138
Thibo1138
09 April 2016
The 2.0v2 work fine on El Capitan
Like
SkilletAudio
SkilletAudio
22 August 2016
Not working for me in El Capitan, i had this installed before and even reinstalled but no luck with 2.1 or 2.0v2 from http://ge.tt/1nLqxdT2/v/0?c
Like
wesleybaeyens
wesleybaeyens
05 September 2016
Same here, doesn't work or respond
Like
Tactus
24 January 2016
Absolutely great
Like
Version 2.0v3
1 answer(s)
Msemans
Msemans
08 March 2016
Where did you download this from? None of the links are working. Thank you.
Like
grawlcore
14 December 2015
If you want to get it but stuck on 404 error on author's website (like me), here it is: http://ge.tt/1nLqxdT2/v/0?c
Like (1)
Version 2.0v3
2 answer(s)
Msemans
Msemans
08 March 2016
grawcore - your link won't let me download the file. is it working? Thank you.
Like
grawlcore
grawlcore
08 March 2016
just checked out my link and it's still working. there is 550 downloads of this archive on ge.tt, what's your problem?
Like
Mpjstuff
05 May 2015
If anyone has trouble making this work -- you can just create an automator action to run the command-line to produce a Symbolic Link and put in in the ~/Library/Services folder. Instructions are here; http://tewha.net/2012/07/make-a-symbolic-link-from-finder/
Like (1)
Version 2.0v3
Andrewrodney
04 February 2015
Can anyone get this to run under 10.10?
Like
Version 2.0v3
2 answer(s)
Pacmanen
Pacmanen
13 April 2015
yep, works fine for me :-)
Like (1)
Kobalt
Kobalt
21 September 2015
And works for me also under 10.10.5.
Like (1)
Dowsmith
05 June 2014
Working fine for me with Mavericks (10.9.3).
Like
Version 2.0v3
Bokko
16 February 2014
Works as intended. easier than using the terminal or another expensive application such as Path Finder. Glad it still work sfor mavericks 10.9.1.
Like (1)
Version 2.0v3
pprofpopp
15 January 2014
does this version work with OSX Maverick?? Thanks
Like
Version 2.0v3
2 answer(s)
Bad-Dog
Bad-Dog
24 January 2014
No longer working for me under Mavericks and developer's site appears to show no recent attention. Maybe dead, and that's too bad as it worked great and was a huge timesaver.
Like
Svandru
Svandru
05 February 2014
Works fine for me in Mavericks. I put the file "SymbolicLinker.service" in ~Library/Services, not /Library/Services (which doesn't exist on my install). Then I right-clicked/opened the file once to get around gatekeeper. Otherwise followed the directions that came with 2.0v3.
Like (3)
Hervé-5
19 October 2013
does exactly what it says; allows me to add symlinks from important docs to a dropbox folder without 'obeying dropbox architecture', for instance… (OTOH OwnCloud does not resolves symlinks, alas) Works perfectly on OSX 10.8 and also can be installed 'just for this user' inside the user's Library's Services folder.
Like (1)
Version 2.0v3
nimix
17 July 2013
Kudos to the developer: works in ML 10.8.4. So much easier than going to terminal. Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 2.0v3
piccobello
09 February 2013
I would love to use/review that plugin, but the download seems dead !
Like
Version 2.0v3
1 answer(s)
anonymous-buzzard-3462
anonymous-buzzard-3462
19 April 2013
The links work again as I downloaded the app some seconds ago.
Like (1)
outer
18 January 2013
Still works like a charm under ML 10.8.2! Even more useful given the egregious Alias bloat resulting from Retina Icons! Three things to remember: 1) Use the Service module for Lion and Mountain Lion. 2) Get Info reports 2.0v2, but it is 2.0v3. You have to edit the .lproj file of your choice to fix this, if you want to bother. 3) Never move the original!
Like (2)
Version 2.0v3
antoniong
17 November 2012
Works fine with 10.8. Developer however forgot 1 instruction: First install the service in the Lib an then rightclick on 'SymbolicLinker.Service' and tell OSX it is allowed to open this.
Like
Version 2.0v3
1 answer(s)
outer
outer
18 January 2013
True, but the Sandbox didn't exist when this was published! :)
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
13 November 2012
Still no joy using symlinks to an external drive, so without that, doesn't do much for me. Symlinking to a hard location on the main drive still means that same amount of storage is used on that drive. Not a fault of this script/program, but something others should be aware of before they think this will (always) save space on the main internal drive. And I've had the same problem on three 10.6 machines through out the household network.
Like
Version 2.0v3
2 answer(s)
matrixbud
matrixbud
23 November 2012
I'm using Lion 10.7.5 and don't have this problem. I just made a symlink to an external drive.I also made a symlink to a folder on an external drive.
Like (1)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
23 November 2012
Well, then I'm jealous, Bud. But I don't care for Lion at all after testing it. It gets in my way too much, and I've heard MtnLion is even worse. Guess I'm out of luck.
Like
RogerKatz
04 October 2012
The download link gives the Service & Plug-in versions 2 (from June 2011) - but NOT the v3 it offers.
Like
Version 2.0v3
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
26 September 2012
Perfect example of doing one thing and doing it well. Why the Finder does not include this as part of an alias is anyone's guess. The unfortunate part is that an Alias is so much more robust yet the OS is so tied to symbolic links ti cannot use Aliases most of the time. Apple should fix this and make Symbolic Links work as transparently and robustly as aliases. Until then, we have SymbolicLinker (thanks!!)
Like (3)
Version 2.0v3
Barnettart
05 September 2012
I don't bother with aliases ever now that I use symbolic linker...it's a smart way to fool an app as to where it is looking for its support data, thus keeping the boot drive from getting filled up!
Like (1)
Version 2.0v3
So far, I have not gotten this to work with DropBox in creating symlinks to put in the DB folder and avoid loading up my main drive with files to sync. (I prefer such stuff be stored on my portable.) No matter what I do, no symblink from this app with dropped into the DropBox folder causes the linked folder and its files to sync with my DropBox account. Any suggestions or hints, anyone?
Like (1)
Version 2.0v3
3 answer(s)
Rubberchicken
Rubberchicken
06 September 2012
Been working OK for me, SL and Lion. Sorry not any help I know.
Like (1)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
06 September 2012
Thanks R.C., and it must be something to do with my specific system. It did note that if I pause and restart syncing, must of the files do update, but that's as good as it gets. OSX 10.6.8
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
06 September 2012
ADDITIONAL: I'm wondering if part of the problem could be that I'm symlinking to a folder/directory on an external drive (USB). I know DB does have issues in this area. Can anyone else report on SymLinks to a USB drive?
Like
Cowicide
13 January 2012
Does this still work in Lion?
Like
Version 2.0v3
1 answer(s)
Nick Zitzmann
Nick Zitzmann
13 January 2012
Yes.
Like (4)
red5dsd
28 October 2011
Be sure to read the installation document and you'll flawlessly be creating symbolic links in a jiffy.
Like
Version 2.0v3
Tony-Aguila
30 May 2011
Great plug-in for creating symbolic links. I used to use Terminal to create symbolic links... this makes it so much easier. The only other feature I would wish for is for it to be able to create the link where I intend to place it. Right now, the link is created in the same location as the original, making it necessary to move it afterwards. In addition to the contextual menu command, it can also show up under Finder Services.
Like
Version 2.0v2
Sgginc
24 January 2011
Outstanding way to make symbolic links to individual files. Will not show as an option for a folder.
Like
Version 2.0v2
1 answer(s)
Sgginc
Sgginc
24 January 2011
Control clicking has a Services Menu with the option available. Services Menu under the Finder menu does not.
Like
patrickwelker
03 October 2010
SymbolicLinker is the easiest and best way to make SymLinks in OS X. The best thing is that it is free. I discovered it some years ago and I'm glad to see that it is now on MacUpdate were many people can find it. Symbolic Links are the key to power up your Dropbox or other Cloud based services.
Like
Version 2.0v2
Organik
14 August 2009
Doesn't work with Snow Leopard. Apparently no contextual menu item support for 64 bit apps in SL (including Finder), even if the CM item is 64 bit. Yikes!
Like (1)
Version 1.3v2
1 answer(s)
Drdul
Drdul
06 September 2009
The installation instructions in the DMG indicate that for Snow Leopard, users should install the ".service" version. The contextual menu ".plugin" version is only good for Leopard or earlier versions of OS X.
Like (10)
Version 2.0
Drdul
10 October 2008
Great app! Despite being almost three years old, it works perfectly on my Mac Pro with OS X 10.5.5.
Like (1)
Version 1.2v2
Peanut-Butter
14 May 2007
Works fine with MacBook Pro (C2D) and 10.4.9
Like (1)
Version 1.2v2
Threedee912
25 January 2007
Needed this badly for a project I was doing. Works great, and easy to use!
Like (1)
Version 1.2v2
Anonymous
18 February 2005
for some reason, every time i use symboliclinker to create a symlink and then try to move the symlink to a new location i get a "you do not have sufficient priveleges error..." however if i 'get info' on the symlink first [which always shows i *do* have sufficient priveleges] then close the get info window and move the symlink, it works fine. most peculiar!
Like
Version 1.1v3
Anonymous
26 August 2004
VERY GOOD and FREE. And yes, this (like so many other things) should be part of Mac OS X (aliases in OS X are not 4K files and end up eating megas if you make a heavy use of them. Symbolic Links take up 4Ks like the old aliases in 9.x and prior). Thanks to the developer. Good job!
Like (1)
Version 1.1v3
1 answer(s)
micmac-1
micmac-1
13 May 2009
«And yes, this (like so many other things) should be part of Mac OS X (aliases in OS X are not 4K files and end up eating megas if you make a heavy use of them. Symbolic Links take up 4Ks like the old aliases in 9.x and prior).» You should read the documentation to understand that what you say ha no sense. That's Finder aliases that don't work (i.e. the old aliases that you seem to price so much!) Unix aliases (that we will see in Snow Leopard and that we can create with the Terminal and now with this app do WORK!
Like
Version 1.3v2
Anonymous
21 January 2004
THANK YOU!!! Does what it promises. This REALLY should be included in the OS.
Like (1)
Version 1.1v3
Anonymous
04 November 2003
Great tool - simple and effective. I can't understand why Apple does not include this functionality in the finder themselves
Like (1)
Version 1.1v3
Stephen17
29 September 2003
Ths CMM does exactly what it says it will do, quickly and elegantly, is extremely easy to use, is free and has worked correctly on several of my Macs on OS 10.1.5 to 10.2.8. Thus five stars all categories.
Like (1)
Version 1.1v2
Anonymous
28 August 2003
lol, i was just bugging a friend to make me this plug in. great job thanks
Like
Version 1.1v2