Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Little Snitch page
Little Snitch free download for Mac

Little Snitch Reviews

02 July 2021

Alerts you about outgoing network connections.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
aforty
aforty
May 21 2021
5.1.2
0.0
May 21 2021
0.0
Version: 5.1.2
5.x has been horrible to use. I constantly run into cache corruption issues where certain sources just completely stop loading. There is a glaring where if you are a developer where Xcode compiled apps will constantly trigger dialogs even if previously allowed all. Just a complete mess. Avoid 5.x.
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
May 6 2021
5.1.2
0.0
May 6 2021
0.0
Version: 5.1.2
After upgrading to Big Sur 11.3 last week Little Snitch decided to stop working correctly and it started to block regular apps that I use like App Store, NetNewsWire, and MacUpdater. It didn't affect and browsers such as Brave or Chrome. What it did on a constant basis was block updating apps via the update procedure in the apps. I have tried to delete it via Trash and reboot but some components of the app with not delete and trying to find the uninstaller that is supposed to be someplace in a folder could never be found, rather they suggest you use the option key when opening the app, which still hasn't deleted the files and now have more junk on my SSD.
mailtje
mailtje
Apr 25 2021
5.1.2
3.0
Apr 25 2021
3.0
Version: 5.1.2
Getting expensive, using Lilu instead
Emile-b
Emile-b
Feb 25 2021
5.1
5.0
Feb 25 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1
5.1 corrupted image !
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 24 2021
5.1
5.0
Feb 24 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1
v4.6 is out, running ONLY on macOS 10.15 Catalina. It's the last of the v4.x series. v4.5.2 is the last version for macOS 10.14 Mojave and contains an important security patch.
j-gehrmann79
j-gehrmann79
Feb 8 2021
5.0.4
5.0
Feb 8 2021
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
killer
sherkoali870585
sherkoali870585
Jun 11 2020
4.5.2
0.0
Jun 11 2020
0.0
Version: 4.5.2
Little Snitch 4.5.2 + Serial number
F451
F451
May 28 2020
4.5.2
5.0
May 28 2020
5.0
Version: 4.5.2
A top must-have. I've owned a license to Little Snitch for so long I cannot even remember when I first started using it (sometime around when it was first released). Through the years the support has always been excellent as well as the product.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
May 26 2020
4.5.2
5.0
May 26 2020
5.0
Version: 4.5.2
It's simply the best! Never have had big problems with it and it rescues me often in the past. A big thanks to the developers...
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 10 2020
4.5.1
5.0
May 10 2020
5.0
Version: 4.5.1
Dated April 22, v4.5.1 may have already been updated on your Mac. - - I have to point out that the recent Little Snitch versions have become more difficult to use from the user's perspective. That dings it one star in my review. However, if we're using Little Snitch in the first place, we've already invited in an amount of user hostility for the sake of having fine grained control over what our computer software is doing out on the InterWebs. Despite the increase in complexity, I've realized that the recent updates/versions provide an even finer grain of control, once you get over the added learning curve. I appreciate that. Now, if only that control was made easier again for the user to access and use via fewer clicks and more obvious options. - - All in all, this is one of my Mac's greatest asset applications.
Aargl
Aargl
Apr 9 2020
4.5
0.0
Apr 9 2020
0.0
Version: 4.5
I give you a nice trick I use (with Little Snitch or other similar app): block http for Mail.app (or other mail client), it will avoid displaying many useless images! (and incidentally save some bandwidth) Usually, the long-standing images of many newsletters are served through http and not https (don't ask me why) , I've just noticed that, and it also applies to many spammers (when they don't use Base64 images). This doesn't apply to serious websites, so it might give you a hint of how a given website is considering privacy... You can also apply more advanced filters on mail clients — I must say that I've always allowed full connections to them and was amazed of the unwanted connections (tracking) they do when I started filtering them. I think we always consider filtering for apps and browsers, not mail clients as they don't have security extensions such as uBlock, uMatrix, etc. What do you think? :-)
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Apr 1 2020
4.5
1.0
Apr 1 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5
Doesn't load system extension properly. Developer is not shown in Security & Privacy Pref Panel under Allow button. Had to disable SIP and re-enable to get extension to load. Until developer fixes this problem, I will continue to give 1 star review.
Blamanche
Blamanche
Mar 30 2020
4.4.3
3.0
Mar 30 2020
3.0
Version: 4.4.3
I have used this app for a while. Then my computer was stolen. Then I found out that I would have to pay $50+ to install it on my new computer. Sorry but as much as I like the app, it's just not worth that much money. Plus, I must confess that it seems that the level of time investment necessary to make it work the way I would like is continuously increasing. There's no convenient way to tell what some of the callouts mean without much research and T&E. I have other things to do; I'm an engineer for christsake...LOL. If LS actually helped solve that problem and I do believe it can then it would be worth more to me but the current look up info is not very useful because it frequently finds nothing...
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Mar 24 2020
4.4.3
1.0
Mar 24 2020
1.0
Version: 4.4.3
Current update to Mac OS 10.15.4 Catalina says that there is a legacy extension that will not work in future versions of Mac OS
rafabass05
rafabass05
Jan 18 2020
4.4.3
5.0
Jan 18 2020
5.0
Version: 4.4.3
muy buena esta aplicacion, es la mejor para monitorear todo el trafico de red en las macbook pro...
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
4.4.3
5.0
Nov 6 2019
5.0
Version: 4.4.3
The first app I install on any new Mac.
Dhess01
Dhess01
Oct 8 2019
4.4.3
5.0
Oct 8 2019
5.0
Version: 4.4.3
Um, yeah. If you installed this after the Catalina upgrade, here is the terminal fix: When you install Little Snitch on macOS Catalina, you may get an error message “Little Snitch version mismatch detected” after restarting your Mac. This is due to a bug in macOS Catalina, sometimes failing to update the boot cache for the newly installed kernel extension. If you are experiencing this problem, please perform the following steps: Restart your system in macOS Recovery. Learn more If you have enabled FileVault to encrypt the contents of your system volume, you first have to mount that volume: Open “Disk Utility”, select your system volume in the sidebar and click the “Mount” button in the toolbar. Please be patient – mounting FileVault volumes may take quite a while. Once the volume is mounted, quit the “Disk Utility” application. Open Terminal from the Utilities menu in the menu bar. Enter the following command: touch "/Volumes//System/Library/Extensions" Note: Replace with the actual name of the volume on which macOS Catalina is installed (usually “Macintosh HD”) Wait about 10 seconds. Then choose “Restart” from the Apple menu in the menu bar to restart your computer. Shutting down can take up to a few minutes because the system is rebuilding the boot cache in the background. Note that during this time no progress indication is shown.
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Jul 20 2019
4.4.2
1.0
Jul 20 2019
1.0
Version: 4.4.2
No longer installs properly in Mojave. Says extension is blocked by system, but when unlocking prefs to allow installation, developer is not shown as an option. Contacted developer, but they did not provide a resolution to the problem. Has existed in last 2 versions.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jul 16 2019
4.4
0.0
Jul 16 2019
0.0
Version: 4.4
The current version is 4.4.2
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Jul 16 2019
4.4.1
5.0
Jul 16 2019
5.0
Version: 4.4.1
Actually, this isn't version “4.4.1” —rather, it’s still version 4.4 (build 5405) from July 4th 2019.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Jul 2 2019
4.4
5.0
Jul 2 2019
5.0
Version: 4.4
Rock-solid and bomb-proof!! Words cease to express its utility!
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
May 9 2019
4.3.2
5.0
May 9 2019
5.0
Version: 4.3.2
Yeah, finally they even fixed the boring CPU issue (LS's CPU usage went up to 15% CPU while just moving my USB mouse a bit). Now I'm in love with LS again… :D
frans-3
frans-3
Mar 8 2019
4.3.1
0.0
Mar 8 2019
0.0
Version: 4.3.1
Is it me? Is my Mac MUCH slower since installing version 4.3?
Panocha
Panocha
Mar 8 2019
4.3.1
2.5
Mar 8 2019
2.5
Version: 4.3.1
I would give it a 5 star if it was just for the app, but the company has a terrible price gouging forced upgrade policy. I don't care about the maps and other crap, I just want a good application firewall. I tried Hands Off to avoid these prices, but their crap kernel Panics constantly. LS need to make a lite version without all the maps and junk. They force you to upgrade because the older version no longer works after an OS update. So, the app gets 5 stars, but the company gets zero for price gouging. If there was another working solution out there, I would use it.
Dualist
Dualist
Feb 12 2019
4.2.4
0.0
Feb 12 2019
0.0
Version: 4.2.4
As reported by Ars Technica, be very wary of Little Snitch (And Adobe Flash) installers: some apparently legitimage installers are bundled with Windows executables that are enabled to run on MacOS and bypass Gatekeeper, infecting your Mac with malware. https://bit.ly/2GIb55E
Johnnyr
Johnnyr
Nov 26 2018
4.2.3
4.0
Nov 26 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2.3
Love Little Snitch and have been using it for years. After updating to Mojave the cold boot takes foever. Some users seems to think it has something to do with Little Snitch. I hope the LS developer will find a fix because it's really annoying!
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
Oct 17 2018
4.2.1
0.0
Oct 17 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2.1
Little Snitch has an update today. Where was it on MacUpdate?
Wts
Wts
Oct 1 2018
4.2.1
4.0
Oct 1 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2.1
I have owned/used Little Snitch ever since it first came on the scene. This latest version/update 4.2.1 has been a disaster for me as well as others . Check it out at the forum. When I first updated/installed version 4.2.1 it crashed my operating system high sierra 10.13.6. Had to use " Safe boot " to restore my operating system. The application now has a " " network " filter that does provide valuable information but causes some problems when trying to log into web sites. Even though these and other problems have been posted at the developers web site forum we have yet to hear from or get any help from the developer . My rating has to 4 stars somewhat of a disappointment to me since this app could be be a five start application especially if the developer would respond to his clients. .
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Sep 27 2018
4.2
0.0
Sep 27 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2
Expensive! LuLu a free app is equally effective. The developer of LuLu is extremely responsive and is a dedicated and profound advocate of the Mac and the user.
Designg
Designg
Sep 23 2018
4.2
0.0
Sep 23 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2
I have a 2008 IMac 10.11.6 (el Capitan) and have had LS for a number of years. Current version is 3.8.2 Is it worth paying to upgrade to the current 4.2 version or are the LS 4 versions mainly for later OSX types. I've enjoyed having the Snitch watching out for me. Cheers in advance
Paxlucis
Paxlucis
Sep 22 2018
4.2
4.0
Sep 22 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2
Am sure it's a brilliant program in its way - and it appears to be relatively easy to operate even for a relative novice, but it's simply too expensive for my budget. Of course one can always argue the cost of not having it, but having survived with routine precautions for many many years, it is not a pressing expense I feel I can make. I hope I am right!
Hankster
Hankster
Jul 31 2018
4.1.2
5.0
Jul 31 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.2
not compatible with Norton internet security
ben-marko
ben-marko
Jun 27 2018
4.1.1
4.0
Jun 27 2018
4.0
Version: 4.1.1
Still works great under macOS Mojave beta 1. But you will need to install the latest nightly build, otherwise, the current version will only work under macOS High Sierra. https://obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/download-nightly.html
mfallen
mfallen
Jun 21 2018
4.1
1.0
Jun 21 2018
1.0
Version: 4.1
I installed Little Snitch a couple of years ago, and I thought it was a neat tool. However, after upgrading from 3.6 to 3.8, my computer was completely messed up. It wouldn't boot (it would chime, but not boot), and most regular boot commands (like shift, c, cmd-r and so on) didn't seem to take effect. I started it in Firewire Target mode, and I couldn't see the system drive. In the end, I had to remove the system drive from the Mac, put it in an enclosure, mount it on another Mac, remove /Library/Extensions/LittleSnitch.kext, and then put the drive back. At this point it booted, and I proceeded to remove all other traces of Little Snitch. So, four stars for the basic functionality becomes a single star, given the tendency to brick computers. (For what it's worth, I think the problem was that Little Snitch was trying to run at an earlier stage than before, during the actual boot step. I'm not sure if the upgrade itself did this, or if I changed a preference in association with the upgrade, but either way, this is just too risky for me. I'm going to use Hands Off! for these purposes going forward.)
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jun 16 2018
4.1
5.0
Jun 16 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1
One of the Must-have apps for Mac Pros in my opinion. I bought it years ago and always upgraded it. Only issue with the recent version: "Little Snitch Netzwerkmonitor" uses too much CPU in the background (2,5-3,5%) continuously! How can we lower that back to under 1% ?
droscar
droscar
Jun 13 2018
4.1
5.0
Jun 13 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1
Simply the best there is. Absolutely invaluable.
garochristian
garochristian
Mar 30 2018
4.0.6
2.0
Mar 30 2018
2.0
Version: 4.0.6
Very detail oriented, but also very intrusive.
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
4.0.5
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.5
The latest version is an amazing update, the now interface is very informative and a welcome addition.
Mandingo
Mandingo
Mar 1 2018
4.0.5
5.0
Mar 1 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.5
It's a great tool to see what's trying to sneak in and out on your computer, especially with all the leaks your hear about from software programs these days.
Cjbolland
Cjbolland
Nov 30 2017
4.0.4
4.0
Nov 30 2017
4.0
Version: 4.0.4
LS is still a great tool to have. Sadly v4 crashes a lot on my new MBPr 2017. As things go, those quirks will be fixed but for now I keep using v3.
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Nov 30 2017
4.0.4
5.0
Nov 30 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.4
Essential.
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
Oct 25 2017
4.0.3
3.0
Oct 25 2017
3.0
Version: 4.0.3
Newest version is sucking up WAY to much CPU. Network monitor is using 99% of my CPU CONSTANTLY! Great just bought the upgrade too. I'm giving it 3 stars but will definitely edit if the problem gets solved.
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Sep 11 2017
4.0.2
2.5
Sep 11 2017
2.5
Version: 4.0.2
upgrade price too steep, my 5 machine licence for home is US$85 update nearly AU$110 too expensive as new version does not work differently than old version really
karelin79
karelin79
Sep 6 2017
4.0.2
0.5
Sep 6 2017
0.5
Version: 4.0.2
Greedy [upgrade] pricing policy: asking same EUR25 upgrade price as for full version back in 2013.
SunWolf
SunWolf
Aug 20 2017
4.0.2
5.0
Aug 20 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
Very useful app, keeps you informed about every attempt of an app to phone home. I use it for many years now, and recently switched to the silent mode which is less annoying.
DrPfaff
DrPfaff
Aug 19 2017
4.0.2
4.5
Aug 19 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.2
Very nice utility. Worth it in my mind (I think I've been using it since v2). I like the new map GUI in v4. Would make a nice desktop background. It might be a bit confusing for the non-tech crowd.
Shk747
Shk747
Aug 19 2017
4.0.2
5.0
Aug 19 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
and where is the online-update for paying users ? 2 days since 4.0.2, still on 4.0.1 ..
Masterminter
Masterminter
Jul 26 2017
4.0.1
4.5
Jul 26 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.1
I love LS. But this new version is a bit confusing. By default it passes everything, so it seems. When switching to the other mode, it holds on every in coming signal. There does not seems to be a middle settings like with the previous version. Still the best in its class !!
hondacbrlover
hondacbrlover
Jul 16 2017
4.0
5.0
Jul 16 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0
Great tool and I like the new GUI at lot ! Although expensive and can be used for free, I do recommend paying for this tool. The devs keeps this at all high. Kudos for that !!
macup-2
macup-2
Jul 14 2017
4.0
5.0
Jul 14 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0
Wonderful app. 5 stars. My only comment is, version 4 lost the menubar roll-over feature for the monitor. Any chance of bringing back that option?