Back to Little Snitch page
Little Snitch free download for Mac

Little Snitch Reviews

27 May 2020

Alerts you about outgoing network connections.

3
Blamanche
30 March 2020
Version: 4.4.3

Most helpful

I have used this app for a while. Then my computer was stolen. Then I found out that I would have to pay $50+ to install it on my new computer. Sorry but as much as I like the app, it's just not worth that much money. Plus, I must confess that it seems that the level of time investment necessary to make it work the way I would like is continuously increasing. There's no convenient way to tell what some of the callouts mean without much research and T&E. I have other things to do; I'm an engineer for christsake...LOL. If LS actually helped solve that problem and I do believe it can then it would be worth more to me but the current look up info is not very useful because it frequently finds nothing...
(4)

How would you rate Little Snitch app?

Read 663 Little Snitch User Reviews

sherkoali870585
11 June 2020
Version: 4.5.2
Little Snitch 4.5.2 + Serial number
(0)
5
F451
28 May 2020
Version: 4.5.2
A top must-have. I've owned a license to Little Snitch for so long I cannot even remember when I first started using it (sometime around when it was first released). Through the years the support has always been excellent as well as the product.
(0)
5
piquadratpi2
26 May 2020
Version: 4.5.2
It's simply the best! Never have had big problems with it and it rescues me often in the past. A big thanks to the developers...
(0)
4
Derekcurrie
10 May 2020
Version: 4.5.1
Dated April 22, v4.5.1 may have already been updated on your Mac. - - I have to point out that the recent Little Snitch versions have become more difficult to use from the user's perspective. That dings it one star in my review. However, if we're using Little Snitch in the first place, we've already invited in an amount of user hostility for the sake of having fine grained control over what our computer software is doing out on the InterWebs. Despite the increase in complexity, I've realized that the recent updates/versions provide an even finer grain of control, once you get over the added learning curve. I appreciate that. Now, if only that control was made easier again for the user to access and use via fewer clicks and more obvious options. - - All in all, this is one of my Mac's greatest asset applications.
(1)
Aargl
09 April 2020
Version: 4.5
I give you a nice trick I use (with Little Snitch or other similar app): block http for Mail.app (or other mail client), it will avoid displaying many useless images! (and incidentally save some bandwidth) Usually, the long-standing images of many newsletters are served through http and not https (don't ask me why) , I've just noticed that, and it also applies to many spammers (when they don't use Base64 images). This doesn't apply to serious websites, so it might give you a hint of how a given website is considering privacy... You can also apply more advanced filters on mail clients — I must say that I've always allowed full connections to them and was amazed of the unwanted connections (tracking) they do when I started filtering them. I think we always consider filtering for apps and browsers, not mail clients as they don't have security extensions such as uBlock, uMatrix, etc. What do you think? :-)
(1)
Show comment (1)
1
Macguruguy
01 April 2020
Version: 4.5
Doesn't load system extension properly. Developer is not shown in Security & Privacy Pref Panel under Allow button. Had to disable SIP and re-enable to get extension to load. Until developer fixes this problem, I will continue to give 1 star review.
(0)
3
Blamanche
30 March 2020
Version: 4.4.3
I have used this app for a while. Then my computer was stolen. Then I found out that I would have to pay $50+ to install it on my new computer. Sorry but as much as I like the app, it's just not worth that much money. Plus, I must confess that it seems that the level of time investment necessary to make it work the way I would like is continuously increasing. There's no convenient way to tell what some of the callouts mean without much research and T&E. I have other things to do; I'm an engineer for christsake...LOL. If LS actually helped solve that problem and I do believe it can then it would be worth more to me but the current look up info is not very useful because it frequently finds nothing...
(4)
Show comment (1)
2
Macguruguy
24 March 2020
Version: 4.4.3
Current update to Mac OS 10.15.4 Catalina says that there is a legacy extension that will not work in future versions of Mac OS
(2)
5
rafabass05
18 January 2020
Version: 4.4.3
muy buena esta aplicacion, es la mejor para monitorear todo el trafico de red en las macbook pro...
(0)
5
ocean442
06 November 2019
Version: 4.4.3
The first app I install on any new Mac.
(1)
5
Dhess01
08 October 2019
Version: 4.4.3
Um, yeah. If you installed this after the Catalina upgrade, here is the terminal fix: When you install Little Snitch on macOS Catalina, you may get an error message “Little Snitch version mismatch detected” after restarting your Mac. This is due to a bug in macOS Catalina, sometimes failing to update the boot cache for the newly installed kernel extension. If you are experiencing this problem, please perform the following steps: Restart your system in macOS Recovery. Learn more If you have enabled FileVault to encrypt the contents of your system volume, you first have to mount that volume: Open “Disk Utility”, select your system volume in the sidebar and click the “Mount” button in the toolbar. Please be patient – mounting FileVault volumes may take quite a while. Once the volume is mounted, quit the “Disk Utility” application. Open Terminal from the Utilities menu in the menu bar. Enter the following command: touch "/Volumes//System/Library/Extensions" Note: Replace with the actual name of the volume on which macOS Catalina is installed (usually “Macintosh HD”) Wait about 10 seconds. Then choose “Restart” from the Apple menu in the menu bar to restart your computer. Shutting down can take up to a few minutes because the system is rebuilding the boot cache in the background. Note that during this time no progress indication is shown.
(2)
0.5
Macguruguy
20 July 2019
Version: 4.4.2
No longer installs properly in Mojave. Says extension is blocked by system, but when unlocking prefs to allow installation, developer is not shown as an option. Contacted developer, but they did not provide a resolution to the problem. Has existed in last 2 versions.
(0)
Show comments (2)
RogerKatz
16 July 2019
Version: 4.4
The current version is 4.4.2
(2)
Hal-Itosis
16 July 2019
Version: 4.4.1
Actually, this isn't version “4.4.1” —rather, it’s still version 4.4 (build 5405) from July 4th 2019.
(1)
5
Fariborz
02 July 2019
Version: 4.4
Rock-solid and bomb-proof!! Words cease to express its utility!
(3)
5
LeMerlot
09 May 2019
Version: 4.3.2
Yeah, finally they even fixed the boring CPU issue (LS's CPU usage went up to 15% CPU while just moving my USB mouse a bit). Now I'm in love with LS again… :D
(2)
frans-3
08 March 2019
Version: 4.3.1
Is it me? Is my Mac MUCH slower since installing version 4.3?
(3)
Show comment (1)
2.5
Panocha
08 March 2019
Version: 4.3.1
I would give it a 5 star if it was just for the app, but the company has a terrible price gouging forced upgrade policy. I don't care about the maps and other crap, I just want a good application firewall. I tried Hands Off to avoid these prices, but their crap kernel Panics constantly. LS need to make a lite version without all the maps and junk. They force you to upgrade because the older version no longer works after an OS update. So, the app gets 5 stars, but the company gets zero for price gouging. If there was another working solution out there, I would use it.
(9)
Dualist
12 February 2019
Version: 4.2.4
As reported by Ars Technica, be very wary of Little Snitch (And Adobe Flash) installers: some apparently legitimage installers are bundled with Windows executables that are enabled to run on MacOS and bypass Gatekeeper, infecting your Mac with malware. https://bit.ly/2GIb55E
(0)
Show comments (2)
4
Johnnyr
26 November 2018
Version: 4.2.3
Love Little Snitch and have been using it for years. After updating to Mojave the cold boot takes foever. Some users seems to think it has something to do with Little Snitch. I hope the LS developer will find a fix because it's really annoying!
(1)
Show comment (1)
higherterrain-com
17 October 2018
Version: 4.2.1
Little Snitch has an update today. Where was it on MacUpdate?
(0)
4
Wts
01 October 2018
Version: 4.2.1
I have owned/used Little Snitch ever since it first came on the scene. This latest version/update 4.2.1 has been a disaster for me as well as others . Check it out at the forum. When I first updated/installed version 4.2.1 it crashed my operating system high sierra 10.13.6. Had to use " Safe boot " to restore my operating system. The application now has a " " network " filter that does provide valuable information but causes some problems when trying to log into web sites. Even though these and other problems have been posted at the developers web site forum we have yet to hear from or get any help from the developer . My rating has to 4 stars somewhat of a disappointment to me since this app could be be a five start application especially if the developer would respond to his clients. .
(1)
Show comment (1)
DragonMaster
27 September 2018
Version: 4.2
Expensive! LuLu a free app is equally effective. The developer of LuLu is extremely responsive and is a dedicated and profound advocate of the Mac and the user.
(1)
Show comments (4)
Designg
23 September 2018
Version: 4.2
I have a 2008 IMac 10.11.6 (el Capitan) and have had LS for a number of years. Current version is 3.8.2 Is it worth paying to upgrade to the current 4.2 version or are the LS 4 versions mainly for later OSX types. I've enjoyed having the Snitch watching out for me. Cheers in advance
(0)
4
Paxlucis
22 September 2018
Version: 4.2
Am sure it's a brilliant program in its way - and it appears to be relatively easy to operate even for a relative novice, but it's simply too expensive for my budget. Of course one can always argue the cost of not having it, but having survived with routine precautions for many many years, it is not a pressing expense I feel I can make. I hope I am right!
(0)
5
Hankster
31 July 2018
Version: 4.1.2
not compatible with Norton internet security
(0)
4
ben-marko
27 June 2018
Version: 4.1.1
Still works great under macOS Mojave beta 1. But you will need to install the latest nightly build, otherwise, the current version will only work under macOS High Sierra. https://obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/download-nightly.html
(1)
1
mfallen
21 June 2018
Version: 4.1
I installed Little Snitch a couple of years ago, and I thought it was a neat tool. However, after upgrading from 3.6 to 3.8, my computer was completely messed up. It wouldn't boot (it would chime, but not boot), and most regular boot commands (like shift, c, cmd-r and so on) didn't seem to take effect. I started it in Firewire Target mode, and I couldn't see the system drive. In the end, I had to remove the system drive from the Mac, put it in an enclosure, mount it on another Mac, remove /Library/Extensions/LittleSnitch.kext, and then put the drive back. At this point it booted, and I proceeded to remove all other traces of Little Snitch. So, four stars for the basic functionality becomes a single star, given the tendency to brick computers. (For what it's worth, I think the problem was that Little Snitch was trying to run at an earlier stage than before, during the actual boot step. I'm not sure if the upgrade itself did this, or if I changed a preference in association with the upgrade, but either way, this is just too risky for me. I'm going to use Hands Off! for these purposes going forward.)
(0)
Show comments (2)
4
LeMerlot
16 June 2018
Version: 4.1
One of the Must-have apps for Mac Pros in my opinion. I bought it years ago and always upgraded it. Only issue with the recent version: "Little Snitch Netzwerkmonitor" uses too much CPU in the background (2,5-3,5%) continuously! How can we lower that back to under 1% ?
(0)
5
droscar
13 June 2018
Version: 4.1
Simply the best there is. Absolutely invaluable.
(0)
2
garochristian
30 March 2018
Version: 4.0.6
Very detail oriented, but also very intrusive.
(2)
5
Rikyman
04 March 2018
Version: 4.0.5
The latest version is an amazing update, the now interface is very informative and a welcome addition.
(5)
5
Mandingo
01 March 2018
Version: 4.0.5
It's a great tool to see what's trying to sneak in and out on your computer, especially with all the leaks your hear about from software programs these days.
(1)
4
Cjbolland
30 November 2017
Version: 4.0.4
LS is still a great tool to have. Sadly v4 crashes a lot on my new MBPr 2017. As things go, those quirks will be fixed but for now I keep using v3.
(0)
5
Hal-Itosis
30 November 2017
Version: 4.0.4
Essential.
(0)
3
Jeff-H-
25 October 2017
Version: 4.0.3
Newest version is sucking up WAY to much CPU. Network monitor is using 99% of my CPU CONSTANTLY! Great just bought the upgrade too. I'm giving it 3 stars but will definitely edit if the problem gets solved.
(2)
2.5
Frodo-life
11 September 2017
Version: 4.0.2
upgrade price too steep, my 5 machine licence for home is US$85 update nearly AU$110 too expensive as new version does not work differently than old version really
(9)
0.5
karelin79
06 September 2017
Version: 4.0.2
Greedy [upgrade] pricing policy: asking same EUR25 upgrade price as for full version back in 2013.
(5)
5
SunWolf
20 August 2017
Version: 4.0.2
Very useful app, keeps you informed about every attempt of an app to phone home. I use it for many years now, and recently switched to the silent mode which is less annoying.
(1)
4.5
DrPfaff
19 August 2017
Version: 4.0.2
Very nice utility. Worth it in my mind (I think I've been using it since v2). I like the new map GUI in v4. Would make a nice desktop background. It might be a bit confusing for the non-tech crowd.
(0)
Shk747
19 August 2017
Version: 4.0.2
and where is the online-update for paying users ? 2 days since 4.0.2, still on 4.0.1 ..
(0)
Show comments (2)
4.5
Masterminter
26 July 2017
Version: 4.0.1
I love LS. But this new version is a bit confusing. By default it passes everything, so it seems. When switching to the other mode, it holds on every in coming signal. There does not seems to be a middle settings like with the previous version. Still the best in its class !!
(1)
5
hondacbrlover
16 July 2017
Version: 4.0
Great tool and I like the new GUI at lot ! Although expensive and can be used for free, I do recommend paying for this tool. The devs keeps this at all high. Kudos for that !!
(2)
5
macup-2
14 July 2017
Version: 4.0
Wonderful app. 5 stars. My only comment is, version 4 lost the menubar roll-over feature for the monitor. Any chance of bringing back that option?
(2)
Designg
11 July 2017
Version: 4.0
I have an early 2008 Mac so Upgrades ended at el Capitan.

I want a review from a Tech Geek out there to explain in layman's terms what's in it for those of us that have LS 3.... and are the benefits of the new LS 4 aimed at Sierra?

I know it is good value regardless - only wouldn't it be nice if loyal Little Snitch followers since LS 2 like me were rewarded with a $15 upgrade price ... and from LS 3 the $25 (or $10/$15)
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
ChristopherAnderton
07 July 2017
Version: 4.0
The one tool i miss on other plattforms. Sure, i use command line tools on *-nixes, but LS is making something quite advanced easy for experienced users and ”regular” users as well. There is lot of work put into this security wise. There has been some potential security issues discovered by researchers, but they have been fixed almost right away (long before the public disclosure by the researchers). I'm gonna upgrade from LS3 to LS4 in a couple of minutes (after trying the demo of LS4, i find it more mature UI wise, and there is some new features that makes it easier to deal with alerts and rules. And as i understand, there is also a lot more new stuff under the hood from LS3->LS4. Always worth the money.
(2)
ben-marko
06 July 2017
Version: 4.0
.
(0)
5
Liam-
06 July 2017
Version: 4.0
5 star must have app!
(1)
Derekcurrie
06 July 2017
Version: 4.0
A few URLs with details about the Little Snitch 4.0 upgrade. Note that 4.0 isn't entirely ready for macOS 10.13 beta: Pricing for the upgrade from 3 to 4 [$25 for single license]: https://www.obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/order.html Detailed "What’s New in Little Snitch 4": https://www.obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/whatsnew.html macOS High Sierra [10.13] Compatibility: https://www.obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/high-sierra-notes.html
(5)
Show comment (1)
neartheredrocks
05 July 2017
Version: 4.0
Can anybody explain to me why I should pay for an upgrade from Little Snitch 3 to Little Snitch 4? Not that I don't think that Objective Development deserves to get paid for their excellent software. However, it seems to me that the only truly new feature is the Touch Bar support (which I don't need). Or am I missing something here?
(3)
Show comments (10)