Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to MacScan page
MacScan free download for Mac

MacScan Reviews3.3.2

01 December 2020

Security tool; detect trojan horses and spyware.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
lolakontance
lolakontance
May 28 2021
3.3.2
3.0
May 28 2021
3.0
Version: 3.3.2
I really wanted to protect against Malware. This app helps me with this issue.
srjaynes-1
srjaynes-1
Nov 25 2020
3.3.1
1.0
Nov 25 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.1
It used to be cost effective and has a nice, interface. It is ONLY proactive in that it reminds you when you haven't run it recently. MY complaint is they've crawled on the $50/yr fee structure. I'm being $50/yr to death. IF I used my computer for business, perhaps worth the expense. as a private individual, they've priced themselves out of reach. I'm now using a couple of much lower cost tools to do the same thing. Wish the pricing change hadn't come. I was happy with the product
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 17 2020
3.3.1
0.0
Jul 17 2020
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
A superior, cheaper and more complete alternative is Intego's VirusBarrier for $25, or Intego Mac Premium Bundle, which adds ContentBarrier, NetBarrier, Personal Backup and Washing Machine, all for $40. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/46395/mac-premium-bundle-x9
keithlemonteyoung
keithlemonteyoung
Jun 16 2020
3.3
1.0
Jun 16 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3
NOT impressed! It missed malware and viruses that both Bitdefender and ClamXav found with ease. Bitdefender and ClamXav are both free and far superior than this lame Macscan, which is a PAID antivirus! DON'T waste your money! NOT worth it!
Pepper131
Pepper131
Jun 19 2019
3.2
5.0
Jun 19 2019
5.0
Version: 3.2
I own this, but still do not understand it. Application is not pro active, one has run what want done. I want an application with ongoing protection. Update very easy.
Gregormc
Gregormc
May 26 2018
3.1
5.0
May 26 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1
Great support and service and an unobtrusive product that makes me feel secure while using my Mac
raddiey2815
raddiey2815
May 12 2018
3.1
5.0
May 12 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1
It regularly deletes tracking cookies. It is a valuable application that can completely delete tracking cookies.
Mandingo
Mandingo
Feb 27 2018
3.1
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1
Low processor overhead and so far no viruses/malware.
samostom
samostom
Dec 27 2017
3.1
4.0
Dec 27 2017
4.0
Version: 3.1
I have some malware on my mac and after using your soft it was clean. Thank's
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Sep 11 2017
3.1
3.0
Sep 11 2017
3.0
Version: 3.1
Most of the people here only have ONE post, which rates this application as 5 stars! Very suspicious about this approach and disappointed in MacUpdate not to pick up on it. My rating for MacScan is a solid 3. It's good, but overpriced... and rarely updated.
Allisonbartonrice
Allisonbartonrice
Sep 9 2017
3.1
1.0
Sep 9 2017
1.0
Version: 3.1
It might find the cookies, etc., but in the process everything became so slow it essentially made my MacBook Pro unusable. So, I uninstalled it and do not use it. BTW, IMO there are better ways with other applications to keep one's computer free of unwanted cookies, viruses, etc.
exceptional art
exceptional art
Aug 10 2017
3.1
5.0
Aug 10 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1
Hi, I've bought because I'm not 100% lucky with the super "bitdefender." MacScan I use more than 7 years. My super "bitdefender" was not able to delete 4 malware and 1 trojan! That's why I bought the "super MacScan 3" - super program. Perfect, simple, cheap, I am very happy. My burglar threats have been solved! I recommend buying unconditionally, and use. I have Mac. Thanks "super MacScan"!
exceptional art
exceptional art
Aug 10 2017
3.1
5.0
Aug 10 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1
Hi, I've bought because I'm not 100% lucky with the super "bitdefender." MacScan I use more than 7 years. My super "bitdefender" was not able to delete 4 malware and 1 trojan! That's why I bought the "super MacScan 3" - super program. Perfect, simple, cheap, I am very happy. My burglar threats have been solved! I recommend buying unconditionally, and use. I have Mac. Thanks "super MacScan"!
slothclothing
slothclothing
May 26 2017
3.1
5.0
May 26 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1
I had a problem (my fault - through google chrome) and the guys from mac scan gave me excellent customer service... They really went out of their way to help me and fix the problem. You just don't get that level of support anymore!! Would recommend this program to other mac nerdz
allan-rau
allan-rau
Feb 15 2017
3.0
5.0
Feb 15 2017
5.0
Version: 3.0
The experts say I should be anti-mailware software on my Mac. Well, ok since they know a lot more than I do about it. I've been running MacScan for a week now and have set up automatic malware and cookie scans. I've had zero problems with MacScan and have signed on for a 2-year subscription. I had one question about the program which I submitted on a Friday evening. I received a prompt reply the very next day which impressed me. As yet I've not noticed the program updating it's database of malware, but it appears that one must go thru the logs to pick this up. Prior to my use of MacScan I was using Avira which was free but I never knew if it was doing anything or not since there were no logs for the user to display. All-in-all I'm quite content using MacScan and am very impressed with their support team.
Hgm1225
Hgm1225
Jan 1 2017
3.0
5.0
Jan 1 2017
5.0
Version: 3.0
Wonderful, personal responses that directly addressed and offered desirable and viable options to meet my requests. Could not be more satisfied.
ski542002
ski542002
Dec 19 2016
3.0
5.0
Dec 19 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Easy to setup. The first scan takes a bit if you have never run any kind of malware app. My first scan found just over 1000 issues. After the first scan, successive runs take much less time.
Ok14me21
Ok14me21
Nov 22 2016
3.0
5.0
Nov 22 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Grat Scan for Mac :-)
pjgray-1
pjgray-1
Nov 6 2016
3.0
4.0
Nov 6 2016
4.0
Version: 3.0
MacScan 3 is certainly an improvement on its predecessor however, as a long-time user of MacScan's previous versions I was very annoyed at the cost of upgrading to this latest version - so much for loyalty! I like the way most of the functions can be automated but sometimes like to check myself that all is well. Good product, worth a try for those that haven't already.
amietgill
amietgill
Oct 25 2016
3.0
5.0
Oct 25 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
MacScan 3 is the most comprehensive and efficient for what it does. Plus I trust the brand that has been around longer than any other Mac Anti-virus software.
NancyDrew64
NancyDrew64
Jul 25 2016
3.0
4.0
Jul 25 2016
4.0
Version: 3.0
Overall, I like the new app. It found tons of tracking cookies that MS2 didn't find, so I feel like my machine is protected. However, I'm not pleased that the only option after a scan is to "quit" and close the app. If I wanted to do anything else, I have to re-open the app. Why this "all-or-nothing" approach, I have no idea. Also, I notice the app tends to hang after I press "quit", and I get the beachball before it finally, finally quits.
Bill822
Bill822
Jul 12 2016
3.0
5.0
Jul 12 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
I love MacScan 3!! it's is a great product that's fast, reliable and efficient.
Relayer10
Relayer10
Jul 5 2016
3.0
5.0
Jul 5 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
So far seems to be working as advertised...cleaning out tracking cookies! Have not had it long enough yet to have tried everything. I happen to be traveling right now.easy to install and operate. I have recommended this to others. The Apple support folks I talked to recently about the MacKeepers Trojan Virus scam said they have not heard of any issues with it yet!
paulguy6
paulguy6
Jul 4 2016
3.0
5.0
Jul 4 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
I've been using MacScan for years, I'm very impressed with the improvements. Thank you for all your hard work to keep my Mac Pro safe.
Saxagogo
Saxagogo
Jun 21 2016
3.0
5.0
Jun 21 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Easy to use. Does its thing. Great upgrade!
Deadant
Deadant
Jun 8 2016
3.0
5.0
Jun 8 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
so much cyber snooping going on by Face Book ... this app has become essential.
anonymous-squirrel-4040
anonymous-squirrel-4040
Mar 7 2016
3.0
5.0
Mar 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
I've used MacScan for years. Version 3.0 is a big improvement, consolidating for me features of two other apps I now no longer need. The Black/White cookie listing is a seriously good feature (seeing unwanted cookies disappear at browsers' quit are always happy gotchas), and a simple elegant interface is a plus on any app, and appreciated here. My only caveat is what happens to the menu bar icon in dark mode - maybe the design's integrity can be retained in a future update. A stellar 5.
Donsk
Donsk
Mar 1 2016
3.0
0.0
Mar 1 2016
0.0
Version: 3.0
Too expensive for this version.
mcmillan
mcmillan
Feb 5 2016
3.0
0.0
Feb 5 2016
0.0
Version: 3.0
count me out of upgrading at $39.95 for the first year and $49.95 thereafter.
jreffner
jreffner
Jan 13 2016
3.0
0.0
Jan 13 2016
0.0
Version: 3.0
Upgrade has a nice overhaul. Looks like much work was put into it. However, upgrade is only a measly $5 off, and you now have to pay a yearly fee for current definitions. It has been a long time since they have asked for upgrade money, but the $50 a year fee should be carefully considered.
31512b60
31512b60
Sep 12 2015
2.9.5
2.5
Sep 12 2015
2.5
Version: 2.9.5
I don't understand why I have to go trough a purchase screen with zero cost to update to a newer version. All other software updates for applications like this one are simple and easy.
Henri1255
Henri1255
Jun 26 2015
2.9.4
5.0
Jun 26 2015
5.0
Version: 2.9.4
Macscan does perfectly what it is made for, detect and eliminate spyware. The support is fast en efficient, thanks a lot Macscan team
Samadams
Samadams
Nov 28 2014
2.9.4
1.0
Nov 28 2014
1.0
Version: 2.9.4
I've tried this and discovered that it doesn't catch a lot of things that other free apps do. A recent review at http://www.thesafemac.com/mac-anti-virus-testing-2014/ considered it to be scamware because it only caught 4% of the viruses/trojans/malware they threw at it. Save your money.
Hecaspari
Hecaspari
Aug 5 2014
2.9.4
5.0
Aug 5 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.4
I use this app for some years now. I'll keep using it, as long as they keep developing and updating it as they do today.
Glidagida
Glidagida
Aug 5 2014
2.9.4
5.0
Aug 5 2014
5.0
Version: 2.9.4
I have been using it for years and Macscan is one of those precious little apps that you just need in your toolbox. I set mine to scan daily and regularly remove 25-30 tracking cookies. Every now and then I set it to do a full scan [takes a long time] just to make sure there are no Trojans etc. that have got past ClamXav and I never find any. Works seamlessly, updates banned cookie list regularly and with very little intrusion for what it does. Great little app.
Mingdube01
Mingdube01
Mar 31 2014
2.9.4
4.5
Mar 31 2014
4.5
Version: 2.9.4
MacScan support response. I had an issue when my MacScan V2.9.4 reported that it was not registered. i have had a registered activated copy for several years. One email to SecureMac got me a solution is 24 hours. Way to go!
Perk-Bob
Perk-Bob
Jan 8 2014
2.9.4
4.5
Jan 8 2014
4.5
Version: 2.9.4
Support was very helpful when I got a new machine and had to migrate my software.
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
Nov 17 2013
2.9.4
0.0
Nov 17 2013
0.0
Version: 2.9.4
What happened to development of MacScan. I remember they started with version 3 somewhere in 2012
Bdudek120
Bdudek120
Oct 31 2013
2.9.4
4.0
Oct 31 2013
4.0
Version: 2.9.4
I had lost my key and support helped immediately. Much appreciated. I do wish it ran in the background , but its still a nice app to have. Ill be keeping it.
JonC5363
JonC5363
Oct 15 2013
2.9.4
5.0
Oct 15 2013
5.0
Version: 2.9.4
Does exactly what it says it will do. Like having that specialized tool in your kit for when you really need to fix something. Had small issue with license mode vs demo mode that popped up unexpectedly. Kelly Raba, tech support at SecureMac, got on it straight away with an effective (and free) update fix.
Mickeymac
Mickeymac
Jul 26 2013
2.9.4
3.5
Jul 26 2013
3.5
Version: 2.9.4
Great app to keep your Mac clean of spyware, tracking cookies.
Securemac
Securemac
Jun 11 2013
2.9.4
0.0
Jun 11 2013
0.0
Version: 2.9.4
MacScan User Tip! Make sure you're protected with the latest Mac malware and blacklisted cookie definitions by clicking on the MacScan Preferences and ensuring 'Updates' is checked appropriately. You can also check manually by clicking on the MacScan menu > Check for Updates!
richardtoo
richardtoo
Mar 7 2013
2.9.4
4.0
Mar 7 2013
4.0
Version: 2.9.4
An old Mac friend.
Me2
Me2
Nov 20 2012
2.9.4
4.5
Nov 20 2012
4.5
Version: 2.9.4
Been working with Kelly @ SecureMac due to activation issues. The attention and help was personally oriented and successful. A nice thing to have these days. Highly recommended. Patrick
makinger
makinger
Nov 1 2012
2.9.4
0.0
Nov 1 2012
0.0
Version: 2.9.4
hoot4wvu is right, it really nerves "always" to make an click-parcour to get finaly a "receipt" for downloading the update!!! Because there was an internal server error. So i was not able to get an update directly. Sorry, i do not like this ad-tracking marathon by e-sellerate through your procedure again. Not recommended.
Lls
Lls
Oct 3 2012
2.9.4
4.0
Oct 3 2012
4.0
Version: 2.9.4
Among the best. Maybe the best.
Roberto-Cravallo
Roberto-Cravallo
Oct 1 2012
2.9.4
0.0
Oct 1 2012
0.0
Version: 2.9.4
As far as I know, it is a on demand scanner. So what good is that? ZERO!!! Why not just use one of the free on demand scanners that are available on the net?
Hoot4wvu
Hoot4wvu
Aug 11 2012
2.9.4
2.5
Aug 11 2012
2.5
Version: 2.9.4
tired of the e-sellerate guarantee fee every upgrade; have had it for years but just zapped it from my Applications
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jun 24 2012
2.9.3
0.0
Jun 24 2012
0.0
Version: 2.9.3
I’ve owned this for years and used it regularly, but it has NEVER found a single thing. A waste of money.
Penguirl
Penguirl
May 24 2012
2.9.3
4.5
May 24 2012
4.5
Version: 2.9.3
MacScan has always just worked for me. I like that it includes the ability to clear/delete web browser files, a feature that more A/Vs should include. I used to use Sophos primarily and MacScan occasionally to clean my browser files but a recent Sophos (kext?) update led to kernel panics so now I rely solely on MacScan.