Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Data Rescue page
Data Rescue free download for Mac

Data Rescue Reviews

11 March 2021

Powerful hard drive data recovery software.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
cade1
cade1
Jun 5 2021
6.0.4
1.0
Jun 5 2021
1.0
Version: 6.0.4
The Worst sold me a version not suitable for my osx then wouldn't replace when it was their mistake. tried on a friend w/ lower system found a bunch of individual unidentifiable unnamed pieces of files by type. useless p.o.s. worst customer service. AVOID.
SomeoneElse
SomeoneElse
May 12 2021
6.0.4
1.0
May 12 2021
1.0
Version: 6.0.4
When I first bought DR4 years ago it worked great. I was able to recover data with it, no problem. It worked up through 10.14 Mojave and I was happy with it. Then it suddenly stopped working. It couldn't contact the licensing servers. I emailed Prosoft support and they gave me a link for an updated version. Okay, fine. This updated version would not work on anything later than Mac OS 10.10. Even though they were selling it up until the release of 10.13 and were advertising it as compatible with the latest version of Mac OS, so it should at least be functional in 10.12. They had switched off the licensing servers, then gave paying customers a kneecapped version and told me to just pay to upgrade to DR5 instead. I can't help but think that was a deliberate move to try and milk more money out of people. Fat chance. This is an unbelievably awful move and probably grounds for a class-action lawsuit, but I'm not a lawyer. In any case, I didn't take their lousy upgrade offer and I will never purchase another product from this horrible scum company for as long as I live.
kaitsun6
kaitsun6
Dec 27 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Dec 27 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
Very disappointing to find out your old reg.numbers do not work, and a pirate price for new version without any upgrade discount. F...k them! I do hope they go bankrupt!
cade1
cade1
Nov 22 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Nov 22 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
worthless
cade1
cade1
Oct 27 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Oct 27 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
If I could give it zero stars, I would. Useless, worthless, confusing, overpriced, over complex, not user friendly, useless customer support, upgrade pricing is ridiculous. NOT worth $0.99 based on my experience. Bought/paid a riduclous $99 for my mom's Mac and the documentation did not clearly indicate what it would work on. DOES NOT WORK/ they greedily want to charge for upgrade instead of doing great customer service and offering to replace for my $99 to a version that does. P.O.* pure....Crapware
mzulgis
mzulgis
Sep 15 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Sep 15 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
Data Rescue used to be about helping the customer - it now seems more about helping the developer make money. They have lost their way and in the process come up with a product inferior to Data Rescue 3. Thumbs down
Ashy
Ashy
Sep 14 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Sep 14 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
it seems that prosoft have become venal, and have started to stop formerly working apps being able to login .... saying the password no longer works, and expecting users to pay for a new password, even tho i am actually still using OSX10.13.6 which i know the app used to work in ... so the reports that the company have become money-obsessed over their former interest in helping mac users seems to be verified ..... just another bunch of software jerks, sad but true
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
Aug 7 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Aug 7 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
Pathetic and greedy service from a company I once trusted to get the job done and always recommended to others. ALL my licences for earlier versions before DR 5.0.11 have now either been REVOKED [I have licences for versions 3 and 4] *or* you are forced to upgrade whatever point upgrade of v5 you are running to version 5.0.11 which introduced the 5-drive limit. Version 6 was released in June and - to be blunt - ProSoft Engineering can go hiking with their ridiculous new drive limits. I will NOT be uograding to Version 6 and will be spending my money elsewhere. NO LONGER RECOMMENDED
abersabeel111
abersabeel111
Jun 7 2020
5.0.11
0.0
Jun 7 2020
0.0
Version: 5.0.11
Bought this very expensive Data Rescue app for a a couple of years ago, and only used it very few times since then. Now I need to use it, I get to know that I have to pay yet another hefty amount to upgrade and use in Catalina OS Definitely do not recommend it. Its a waste of money
audioarcheology
audioarcheology
Apr 27 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Apr 27 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
I had no idea about the 5 drive limit. I will call them on Monday since this was very costly and I have more drives I will need to use this on. If that can be altered to my personal drives and more than five I will amend this and ad my findings. I can see where they might want to protect their product being overused, but I'm looking at having to use this on probably more than five... but not much more. I also have had problems finding the files I had just deleted. I didn't even use the computer, but restarted it in HD read only mode. So they have to be there.
infodron
infodron
Mar 9 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Mar 9 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
very poor service ........ I bought data rescue 4 for 107 dollars a few years ago and now serial number no longer works !!!!. They say my mac is too old and no longer support ..... f ... ng money makers. Terrible!
yoshzim
yoshzim
Jan 23 2020
5.0.11
2.0
Jan 23 2020
2.0
Version: 5.0.11
I was very disappointed that having purchased it for about 80$, two years down the line it no longer works because - they tell me - it "is not supported with macOS Catalina". Only option: buy license for Data Rescue 5 :-(.
grid
grid
Jan 7 2020
5.0.11
1.0
Jan 7 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.11
This software saved my behind several times - however all of the sudden my license of version 4 stopped working without any change in OS. Support told me the version 4 was limited to maxMacOS 10.9 although I bought it in 2017 when 10.13. was up-to-date - they must be joking. As they introduced a 5-drive-limit in version 5 anyone still being their software must be an idiot or very desperate...
jackoholland
jackoholland
Jan 5 2020
5.0.11
0.0
Jan 5 2020
0.0
Version: 5.0.11
Data Rescue 5 asks me Activate and when I try it says I need to connect to the internet, I AM!
carawallis
carawallis
Sep 16 2019
5.0.10
1.0
Sep 16 2019
1.0
Version: 5.0.10
The software is expensive and does not do what it promises to do. I ran a deep scan, which took a long time, and the software recovered four out of thousands of accidentally deleted files.
Mickael Boblan
Mickael Boblan
Sep 5 2019
5.0.10
1.0
Sep 5 2019
1.0
Version: 5.0.10
The software did not work I ask for a refund and the service was catastrophic, they are dishonest
jaebersold
jaebersold
Sep 2 2019
5.0.10
0.0
Sep 2 2019
0.0
Version: 5.0.10
Can i repair a ExFat disc on a Mac with this SW ?
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 24 2019
5.0.10
5.0
Jul 24 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.10
Fantastic! A lifesaver.
mzulgis
mzulgis
Jan 16 2019
5.0.7
1.0
Jan 16 2019
1.0
Version: 5.0.7
Disappointed to read about the 5 disk limit. Their advertising says 5 devices, which I took to mean that the software can be installed on up to 5 computers but that this limit excludes external hard disks. I think this limit is mean and greedy. My half-star's worth.
annalee851014
annalee851014
Apr 18 2018
5.0.5
5.0
Apr 18 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
Data recovery is a process in which a software is used to retrieve inaccessible data from a storage device such as a hard drive, memory card, pen drive, etc. Retrieval of data may have to be done if the hard drive crashes suddenly, the data is automatically deleted due to a virus, unknowingly deleted by yourself, or the files are corrupted. The primary task of data recovery software is to scan the storage medium to find lost files. Data recovery software has several different recovery algorithms, including Undelete Protected Data, Quick Scan and Deep Scan. It will run through them one at a time until your lost data is found. Here is a list of best data recovery softwares that I have found: Here is a list of best data recovery softwares that I have found: 1. uFlysoft uflysoft.com 2. Recuva 3. Disk Drill disk-drill.en.softonic.com/mac 4. Glary Undelete 5. Panda Recovery 6. SoftPerfect File Recovery 7. EaseUs Data Recovery Software easeus.com
wboweng10
wboweng10
Feb 27 2018
5.0.4
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
I have had this one for years. Thankfully, I've only occasionally actually needed to use it, but when I did, it performed as expected. Developers keep it pretty current and I've no issues to report. I consider apps like this to a hedge against the occasional nightmare scenario when all else fails, including backups, and there's nothing left to try. Enter Data Rescue!
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
5.0.4
5.0
Feb 24 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
Have not had the need to use yet. Does work on High Sierra. Ran a quick scan and it seemed to be a fine app.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Jan 31 2018
5.0.4
5.0
Jan 31 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
If anyone is interested in buying this application for a very low price then this is the time. Since yesterday (Jan 30, 2018)’ it’s on sale for $5.00 for a full license. For obvious reasons I can’t publish the link but search for it on Google and you you’ll get a real deal. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Anynymoose
Anynymoose
Dec 17 2017
5.0.3
3.5
Dec 17 2017
3.5
Version: 5.0.3
Their customer service stinks, and their upgrade pricing also stinks. However, Data Rescue 5 was the ONLY software I tried (and I tried many, both for Windows and macOS) that would recover the files on my drive. I knew the data was there, that it was intact, and there were no hardware issues, but other software couldn't do a thing for me. Zero, zip, nada!

Data Rescue 5 took many, many hours to scan my 4TB drive thoroughly (So many hours I lost count. Maybe around 24 hours, give or take.) But in the end, it found all my missing video files. And totally intact, too. Playable as is. I did have to rename them myself, but that wasn't a big deal.

My case was pretty unique. My drive had been part of a home-made DVR I disassembled. My old DVR software was out of date and no longer supported, so I finally just gave up. But I did want those video files I'd spent over a year recording. The whole last year of David Letterman and CSI and a bit more. But however I had my drives configured with Windows, once I tried to read my main drive by itself, it just wouldn't work.

Data Rescue came through for me, but I still think their support and pricing sucks. In my case, I happened upon a Black-Friday sale after Thanksgiving, ($35 from MacSales.com) so it wasn't nearly so expensive as it usually is.

Considering their lousy support and usually very high price, three and a half stars was the best I could rate it.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Oct 26 2017
5.0.2
2.0
Oct 26 2017
2.0
Version: 5.0.2
So I just bought DR 4.3.1 on 27 June 2017 and now have to pay $50 for an upgrade to DR 5? I think not. I can't see anywhere on their web page about recent purchases and upgrades. Not impressed! 4 stars for software, 0 stars for upgrade options.
Foulger
Foulger
Oct 26 2017
5.0.2
0.0
Oct 26 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0.2
I too have used Data rescue through version 3 and 4. The 5 drive limit is a killer. I'll use DR4 until it no longer works then go look for a more friendly recovery app - there are plenty around.
Zunga
Zunga
Oct 18 2017
5.0
0.0
Oct 18 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
I was going to buy it, since I used DR3 with overall good results. But the "5 drives limit" quickly made me change my mind. I'll give Disk Drill a chance.
Noraa
Noraa
Oct 14 2017
5.0
0.0
Oct 14 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
Wow, 5 drive recovery limit is brutal. I've used Data Rescue 4 on countless number of drives - guess I will be sticking with it for the time being!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 13 2017
5.0
0.0
Oct 13 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
Q: Does Data Rescue support macOS 10.13 High Sierra? A: Yes, if you boot off a specially made bootable recovery drive (USB flash, etc.) or you're attempting to rescue data from a non-startup drive. Otherwise, no. The information about this evolving situation regarding ProSoft software and APFS is here: https://www.prosofteng.com/blog/whats-new-with-apple-macos-high-sierra-update/ "With the release of macOS 10.13 High Sierra, our recovery software, Data Rescue, can no longer access the startup drive when running in a normal Mac desktop environment due to Apple’s System Integrity Protection (SIP) feature. SIP is a security mechanism built into the operating system that prevents normal programs from reading the startup drive. In addition, it secures other components such as preventing system files from being deleted or overwritten. "As a workaround, Data Rescue provides the ability to create a bootable recovery drive to run Data Rescue in an environment that can safely access the startup drive. To utilize this feature, you will need a thumb drive (USB is preferred) that is 8GB or greater. Creating a Recovery Drive on a device will erase all contents of the device. It is recommended that you backup the files of the drive or use an empty device."
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Oct 13 2017
5.0
0.0
Oct 13 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
Nothing in Data Rescue 5 compels me to upgrade for additional $49. Disk Drill Pro has been awesome for me and I will keep using it. And with the 5 drive limit, I consider it crippleware.
Karter
Karter
Oct 11 2017
4.3.1
4.5
Oct 11 2017
4.5
Version: 4.3.1
Surprised nobody here has talked about Data Rescue 5 (the newest version released). I'm very impressed by all the updates that they dropped on this one, although it does not fully support the new AFPS file system (it stinks, I know), it has easily become my go to "professional" data recovery client.
Jminnihan
Jminnihan
Aug 23 2017
4.3.1
1.0
Aug 23 2017
1.0
Version: 4.3.1
Don't bother buying this Piece of S**t software. You can't move it from one Mac to another without re-buying it. They only allow one activation on one Mac forever!
mzulgis
mzulgis
Aug 7 2017
4.3.1
1.0
Aug 7 2017
1.0
Version: 4.3.1
Surprised by the 5-drive limit - stingy to say the least. It's like buying MS Word then finding out you can only write to the same 5 people unless you pay more. Why should they limit you like this - money? I'll avoid this like the plague. Byeeeeee.
Annadyne
Annadyne
Jul 5 2017
4.3.1
1.0
Jul 5 2017
1.0
Version: 4.3.1
Requires an internet connection and authorization EVERY DAMN TIME you want to use it. Version 3 did not. No option to even have authorization reside with on-computer eletronic dongle like iLok or similar. Plenty of other software out there that offers reasonable authorization for paying, legit users. Not buying again or using.
gheimdal-1
gheimdal-1
May 25 2017
4.3.1
0.5
May 25 2017
0.5
Version: 4.3.1
Bummer. Impossible to download and activate a demo. Too bad. Do I have to give it half a star?
squareeyes
squareeyes
Jul 31 2016
4.2.1
5.0
Jul 31 2016
5.0
Version: 4.2.1
I have the following (all latest versions, not cheap): Drive Genius Disk Warrior TechTool Pro None fixed my Fusion drive either booting from their own bootable medium or from another working machine. 'Data Rescue' DID however live up to the name and rescued all my data and copied it to another low cost USB 3.0 drive. It's up to you , do you want to fix disks or do you want your data back? It's a shame the last option is always the one that damn well works but it did. Thanks and I will come back to you one day I expect!
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jun 15 2016
4.2.1
0.0
Jun 15 2016
0.0
Version: 4.2.1
This app has not yet been updated to protect against the Sparkle updater framework vulnerability that was discovered in Jan. 2016. Apps that use a vulnerable version of Sparkle and an unencrypted HTTP channel for server updates are at risk of being hijacked to transmit malicious code to end users.
Jacobsjunction
Jacobsjunction
Dec 16 2015
4.2.1
0.5
Dec 16 2015
0.5
Version: 4.2.1
WHAT?? $99 to recover only 5 hard drives or pay a $299 annual fee! That's ridiculous. The previous version didn't have that limitation, and it wasn't $299. Shame on you Prosoft
Sir1963
Sir1963
Nov 26 2015
4.2.1
0.5
Nov 26 2015
0.5
Version: 4.2.1
$99 to recover 5 hard drives or get gouged by a $299 annual fee ??? Bought Disk Warrior instead. Prosoft has been removed as a preferred software source.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Oct 28 2015
4.2
0.0
Oct 28 2015
0.0
Version: 4.2
4.2.1 is out: • Add compatibility with 10.11 • Fix bug where available bytes can be reduced if the recovery immediately fails • Fix some recovery errors from preventing a final completion dialog from showing • Use a built-in web browser for opening URLs when in BootWell
georgesasi77
georgesasi77
Oct 27 2015
4.2
3.0
Oct 27 2015
3.0
Version: 4.2
hi, i checked out this app demo on my reformatted hard drive, scan results showed all my files. i chose 3 files under 2GB n recovered them. I checked out the files - mpeg n mp3 recovered fine but mov file recovered cud not be played. can't mov files be recovered by this app as indicated. how do i proceed to buy this from the present scan.
Holypoly
Holypoly
Sep 21 2015
4.1
0.0
Sep 21 2015
0.0
Version: 4.1
Version 4.2.2 is out:

• Improved performance of SQLite module
• Add serials to drives in "Add RAID Set" when available
• Fix Clone not filtering out system drives.
randall-hedges
randall-hedges
Jun 17 2015
4.1
5.0
Jun 17 2015
5.0
Version: 4.1
Worked brilliantly. Used it to recover an SD card and was easy to do.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Feb 6 2015
4.1
4.5
Feb 6 2015
4.5
Version: 4.1
Don’t know why v. 4.1 gets a much lower rating that the last version, I think it rocks.
sak1364
sak1364
Jan 5 2015
4.1
1.5
Jan 5 2015
1.5
Version: 4.1
I've purchased several versions over the years. Now at the time I most needed it, it didn't work. I accidentally deleted a folder on my SSD drive and immediately stopped using it. When I ran DR3, sure it found thousands of files, but not the critical files I needed. It did find the TurboTax files I wanted, but TTax couldn't open them. I thought maybe DR4 would have better luck so I bought the upgrade. Same problem. I even tried testing it by creating and deleting a simple text file. DR didn't find it. Talked to a couple people in tech support who basically gave up after several emails back & forth. Now they have the convenient excuse that I bought it at my own risk and won't refund my money. I'm no longer happy with Prosoft Engineering.
Prosoft
Prosoft
Dec 15 2014
4.1
0.0
Dec 15 2014
0.0
Version: 4.1
In response to: RobertcooganDec 14, 2014 What if you don't want to upgrade? DataRescue auto-upgraded and now won't work unless I fork over the $50. How about allowing people do re-download 3.x? You do not have to install Data Rescue 4. You can go back and reinstall Data Rescue 3 if you have already installed version 4. If you are running 10.7.5 or Newer, then Data Rescue 3 is not supported. You can download and install the latest version of Data Rescue 3 from the following link: http://s3.amazonaws.com/prosoft-engineering/drmac/Data_Rescue_3.2.4_US.dmg If you have further questions please contact our US-based support team at: 877-477-6763 option: 2 or support@prosofteng.com.
jhersco
jhersco
Nov 25 2014
4.0.1
0.0
Nov 25 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0.1
Current version is 4.1, dated October 10. I'm not sure why MacUpdate is still offering v4.0.1.
Prosoft
Prosoft
Sep 8 2014
4.0
0.0
Sep 8 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0
Hello, Thank you for all your support! We wanted to clear some things up, Data Rescue 4 is $99 for downloads, this allows you to create your own BootWell™ drive (you will need to use a 3.0 USB drive that is 4GB or larger), for an additional $15, plus applicable shipping you can have Prosoft send you Data Rescue 4 installed on a custom built 16GB, flash drive. This is an ideal solution for those who are not as technical or who would simply prefer to have a tested easy to use option. As you may know our support team is based in California and we would love to hear from you if you have any questions or feedback for us. 877-477-6763 (option 2) or support@prosofteng.com Thank you, Jennifer Bell jbell@prosofteng.com Marketing Manager for Prosoft Engineering
DarwinM7533
DarwinM7533
Sep 7 2014
4.0
0.0
Sep 7 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0
Same UI for the past decade. Tired, corny theatrical animation. Makes me think that Prosoft are more amused with their tired visual cleverness than with providing a proper update from v3 to v4. Likewise with Drive Genius. Why are Drive Genius and Data Rescue two separate products costing $200 for the pair?
robfol
robfol
Sep 5 2014
4.0
0.0
Sep 5 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0
It may be good but $49 for an upgrade is off-putting