Back to XRG page
XRG free download for Mac

XRG Reviews

30 January 2021

CPU, RAM, network, disk, and weather monitor.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
kaitlynbaldree
kaitlynbaldree
Sep 5 2021
3.0
0.0
Sep 5 2021
0.0
Version: 3.0
I have a 2021 24" iMac and after downloading XRG, looking at temperature I don't see GPU listed? The only options are LCD/airprot/BLC proximity and fan speed 0/1. Trying to find out how to monitor my GPU temp if anyone could help I'd really appreciate it.
protagonistic
protagonistic
May 16 2020
2.8.1
5.0
May 16 2020
5.0
Version: 2.8.1
I have used this app for some time now and I have yet to find anything that beats it for my needs. If your needs are simple it may be overkill but if you like to know what is going with your system give it a try. I have had no problems at all with it. It is reliable and very informative.
horacioincanada11
horacioincanada11
Mar 29 2020
2.6
5.0
Mar 29 2020
5.0
Version: 2.6
This is the only App that accurately show me what my system is doing. Far better than the Intel app.
mark-a-aylward
mark-a-aylward
Mar 7 2018
2.5
0.0
Mar 7 2018
0.0
Version: 2.5
Hi, I am running XRG on my Late 2013 Mac Pro. I have dual AMD D700... I only see GPU 2 being tasked in the XRG monitor. Why is that? Should not both be working? GPU 1 is basically parked showing 2M, 0 ns and no activity...
thepvcpie
thepvcpie
Apr 20 2017
2.0
0.0
Apr 20 2017
0.0
Version: 2.0
What exactly do the GPU bars represent? The blue one (at standart colors) is linked to the Percentage on the top-right corner, but what is it off? Percent of GPU-Memory full? or Percent of Computing Capacity used?
kscmint
kscmint
Jun 20 2016
2.0
5.0
Jun 20 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0
Excellent monitoring tool with a lot of configuration options.
terrywang
terrywang
May 4 2016
2.0
5.0
May 4 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0
Awesome! Bring the conky fell to OS X.
Morpe
Morpe
May 2 2015
1.7.3
0.0
May 2 2015
0.0
Version: 1.7.3
someone can post a screenshot of XRG showing cpu of a Mac with i7 (quadcore)? tnx!
TYG
TYG
Jul 30 2014
1.7.3
0.0
Jul 30 2014
0.0
Version: 1.7.3
Anyway to make it appear on all my desktops?
iTonyD
iTonyD
Jan 18 2014
1.7.3
5.0
Jan 18 2014
5.0
Version: 1.7.3
Still the best and most efficient system monitor for OS X. It summarizes in one small window the stuff that takes about 20 windows in Apple's new Activity monitor and uses fewer system resources.
Nicolasd
Nicolasd
Sep 30 2013
1.7.3
5.0
Sep 30 2013
5.0
Version: 1.7.3
So happy this continues to get updates. It's been "Open at Login" on my Macs for *years!* I set it to show CPU, Net and Disk on my home server, stretched across the bottom, updating every 10 sec, providing an instant visual "log" of what's been going on the last hour or two.
PieterOpie
PieterOpie
Sep 26 2013
1.7.3
0.0
Sep 26 2013
0.0
Version: 1.7.3
All that stuff AND the weather!! WOW!! hehe...
iTonyD
iTonyD
Jan 27 2013
1.7
5.0
Jan 27 2013
5.0
Version: 1.7
It's still the most efficient, compact, and configurable system monitor for a Mac. It never crashes or sends weird messages to the Console on OS X 10.7.5 Lion.
JBX
JBX
Nov 14 2011
1.6.1
0.0
Nov 14 2011
0.0
Version: 1.6.1
Dose XRG monitor all my internal hard drives or just the start up drive? Thanks
Islandmacman
Islandmacman
Oct 15 2010
1.6
5.0
Oct 15 2010
5.0
Version: 1.6
Well done - low overhead too. Thanks!
Digiangel
Digiangel
Oct 6 2009
1.5
0.0
Oct 6 2009
0.0
Version: 1.5
Yea this app rocks....SOOO good to see it's still in development...well done dev :)
MikePJ
MikePJ
Oct 5 2009
1.5
0.0
Oct 5 2009
0.0
Version: 1.5
Glad to hear it! I don't get much time to work on XRG anymore (working instead on paying projects), but XRG's always been a fun app to work on. I have a few ideas for the next version already...
Nicolasd
Nicolasd
Oct 5 2009
1.5
5.0
Oct 5 2009
5.0
Version: 1.5
So glad this is still in active development. By far, my favorite tool for keeping an eye on what my mac is doing. And free! There's the iStat Pro widget which is excellent, but this is always visible. I prefer that.
hwgray
hwgray
Feb 22 2009
1.2b6
0.0
Feb 22 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2b6
Refuses to show the weather anywhere. Returns "invalid data" error. Too bad, since there seems to be no other Intel weather app.
Doc-Renaud
Doc-Renaud
Nov 8 2007
1.1
0.0
Nov 8 2007
0.0
Version: 1.1
Works perfectly here with Leopard.
Ale275
Ale275
Oct 29 2007
1.1
0.0
Oct 29 2007
0.0
Version: 1.1
It crashes with leopard
Morpe
Morpe
Oct 29 2007
1.1
0.0
Oct 29 2007
0.0
Version: 1.1
crash on leopard!! :(
Softbend
Softbend
Feb 9 2006
1.1
5.0
Feb 9 2006
5.0
Version: 1.1
Great because takes almost no CPU and highly customizable (I use to only show tempreature in a small text format on the bottom right of my screen). However, seems to not handle the new sensors of the latest PowerBook. Too bad. I had to switch to Temperature Monitor, which is not so convenient because unlike XRG, you cannot access prefs with a CTRL-click on the window (I usually disable the Dock icon for these kind of application, therefore it has no menu bar anymore).
Guest
Guest
Sep 14 2005
1.1
5.0
Sep 14 2005
5.0
Version: 1.1
The XRG 1.1 CPU T-Dio temp reading is about 8 or 10 C degrees higher than the reading returned by the MBresink Temperature Monitor. The XRG 1.1 Hard Drive temp reading seems about the same as the MBresink Temperature monitor reading for generic HD. (Note that Temperature Monitor also provides a 'SMART Drive' HD temp reading, which reads about 2 or 3 degress C higher than the generic HD temp reading.) I don't yet know which readings are most accurate. Though the Bresink Temperature Monitor has a newer release date (September 2005) than XRG... does that imply more accurate? who knows...
Guest
Guest
Aug 24 2005
1.1
5.0
Aug 24 2005
5.0
Version: 1.1
Quite a few people have been finding significant discrepancies (of several degrees C) betwen the CPU temps reported by X Resource Graph and those reported by the very highly regarded "Temperature Monitor" and "Hardware Monitor" under OSX 10.4.2 on iMac G5s. X Resource Graph seems to read artificially high. Treat readings cautiously until this issue is sorted out.
Guest
Guest
Jan 11 2005
1.1
5.0
Jan 11 2005
5.0
Version: 1.1
i love it!
Guest
Guest
Jan 11 2005
1.1
5.0
Jan 11 2005
5.0
Version: 1.1
looks great, but too piggish. i switched to menu meters awhile back and it's much better.
Guest
Guest
Nov 26 2004
1.0
5.0
Nov 26 2004
5.0
Version: 1.0
On my new 15" G4 PowerBook 1.5Ghz, XRG after one to many days starts taking up too many system resources, the machine is sluggish, iTunes is choppy. I have to kill it to return my system to normal. This is XRG v1.0 on OS X 10.3.6 But otherwise this is an awesome app.
Anunnaki
Anunnaki
Oct 12 2004
1.0
4.5
Oct 12 2004
4.5
Version: 1.0
I love its configurability and they way it generally works. I have had a number of application freezes after wakeup (normally i always put my macs to sleep, no shutdowns), but not recently ... It uses quite a bit of CPU power, dont forget this ;-)
Guest
Guest
Jul 28 2004
1.0
5.0
Jul 28 2004
5.0
Version: 1.0
I've been using this 24/7 for a couple months now, and can't remember it ever crashing. It'd be nice if the window was expose-proof, though.
Abstraction
Abstraction
May 8 2004
1.0
3.5
May 8 2004
3.5
Version: 1.0
Very nice little system monitor. No fancy theme support, but lots of options for color/display/update. Stability seems to be an issue though. My first run lasted 15 minutes before an unexpected quit...
Guest
Guest
Feb 28 2004
0.5
5.0
Feb 28 2004
5.0
Version: 0.5
GREAT Application. If you are a linux user, and have gotten used to theat cool GKrellM monitor, this will fill the void. It is easy to use, and VERY modifiable. BEWARE.. It uses up about 7% of my Powerbook G4 processor.
Guest
Guest
Feb 5 2004
0.5
5.0
Feb 5 2004
5.0
Version: 0.5
Awesome product! It's being used 24/7!
Guest
Guest
Nov 28 2003
0.4.0
5.0
Nov 28 2003
5.0
Version: 0.4.0
I have this program set to autostart with my computer, Ive been running it for a few days now and not one crash. I have it heavily customized to show my stocks and weather among other things. All it is missing is uptime, record uptime, and um.. thats about it, great program! In my opinion, better than gkrellm2 (because of transparency and being able to show horizontal to name a couple). Highly recommended!
Guest
Guest
Nov 25 2003
0.4.0
5.0
Nov 25 2003
5.0
Version: 0.4.0
here's to freeware kicking the ass of lame developers that want $20 for putting a gui on every living thing. this program's great. more elegant and informative than even panther's activity viewer. the developer's very receptive to ideas and he's moving the app along nicely. keep it up!
Guest
Guest
Nov 25 2003
0.4.0
5.0
Nov 25 2003
5.0
Version: 0.4.0
THANK YOU! and THANK for being free!
Deray
Deray
Jun 7 2003
0.2.1
0.0
Jun 7 2003
0.0
Version: 0.2.1
The download can only get source code . Should we complie it ourself ? or you just forget put the app in it :)
Guest
Guest
May 7 2003
0.2.1
5.0
May 7 2003
5.0
Version: 0.2.1
Very nice system monitor. Great interface. The weather is a nice touch.
Guest
Guest
Feb 4 2003
0.1.5
5.0
Feb 4 2003
5.0
Version: 0.1.5
GREAT and simple utility! A must have. Keep the good job.