Back to Adobe Dreamweaver CC 2020 page
Adobe Dreamweaver CC 2020 free download for Mac

Adobe Dreamweaver CC 2020 Reviews20.2

08 July 2020

Build world-class websites and applications.

ethan34woods
11 April 2020
Version: 20.1

Most helpful

Adobe Dreamweaver at newserialkeys is a program for designing web pages, or rather a more fully customized HTML web and programming editor. The program provides a WYSIWYG (where you get the job you do) interface for creating and editing web pages. Dreamweaver supports many sign languages, including HTML, XML, CSS, and JavaScript.
(1)

How would you rate Adobe Dreamweaver CC 2020 app?

Read 73 Adobe Dreamweaver CC 2020 User Reviews

1
CharlesG3969
16 July 2020
Version: 20.2
Its great, but I will not pay any amount monthly. Give me one price to buy it and be done. Otherwise you can keep it and ill still to my old faithful version.
(0)
ethan34woods
11 April 2020
Version: 20.1
Adobe Dreamweaver at newserialkeys is a program for designing web pages, or rather a more fully customized HTML web and programming editor. The program provides a WYSIWYG (where you get the job you do) interface for creating and editing web pages. Dreamweaver supports many sign languages, including HTML, XML, CSS, and JavaScript.
(1)
0.5
Scott-C-H-
08 February 2017
Version: 17.0.1.9346
Dreamweaver CC 2017 is essentially Brackets.app (Open Source, free and cross-platform) with a lot of unnecessary features, bundled with terrible reputations. It is an ok tool if you turn off its visual editor and Live Preview and use it strictly as a code editor. But in that case, you are practically using Brackets.app inside Dreamweaver. Anyone who is serious about web development and wants to get a decent job should skip it and go straight to a more robust code editor such as Atom, Sublime Text, Brackets, BBEdit, and so on. The majority of potential employers will cringe at your tool choice if you use Dreamweaver. Real coders use a serious text editor. Dreamweaver’s latest set of features are geared toward coders, but they don’t realize that web developers nowadays already use those features through an array of command line tools and a decent code editor, so they will likely yawn. Adobe is probably bringing this version of Dreamweaver to existing users who are forced to use it in a big corporation or a design studio. For them, it’s an ok tool as long as they use it correctly. For others, Dreamweaver isn’t even under their radar at this point, and using it does more harm than good. Steer clear of it.
(5)
Dana-Sutton
18 March 2016
Version: 16.1.2.7884
I'm still using DW5 and plan on sticking with it until hell freezes over.
(0)
LuxLogica
18 March 2016
Version: 16.1.2.7884
There are, indeed, a variety of alternatives to Dreamweaver - ranging from 100% visual to code-only tools: VISUAL - Responsive Site Designer - Freeway Pro - Blocs App - Sparkle COMBO VISUAL+CODE - Flux - Pinegrow GUIDED CODING - Coda - BBEdit Not included here are the many online-only tools, which allow you to design web pages on your browser. There really is no reason to support a software subscription model.
(1)
Show comment (1)
Drdoog
16 February 2015
Version: 15.1.0.6982
I just checked with Adobe Sales. There is no discount for existing DW owners. The price is $19.99/month for a one year contract and $29.99 for a single month. The $9.99/month is for photoshop/lightroom. There business model is gone downhill since this CC thing started. Why would someone want to rent software unless you are a high-end professional? Since I am a hobbyist and do all my work for non-profits on a volunteer basis, it leaves me out in the cold. I will continue to use the old one I own.
(0)
Egami
01 August 2013
Version: 13.0.0
Frankly, there really is no reason for a Mac user to bother with this app. So many better and cheaper alternatives available. From Coda to Espresso to BBEdit to Sublime Text, Mac users have plenty of options to choose from.
(5)
Show comments (3)
Marcossi
19 July 2013
Version: 13.0.0
Hey, wait a minute. So we developers that have the CS 6 Premiere bundle that cost a fortune, can't enjoy this update? I think this a huge rip-off not worthy any and respectable company. Please correct me if I'm wrong, and this new extension also can be enjoyed on CS 6.
(5)
Dana-Sutton
18 June 2013
Version: 13.0.0
Let's see, we've had The New Coke. We've had J. C. Penney with its no-sales policy. Now we have Adobe's CC. If I'm not mistaken, the first two of these three flopped so badly that a change in CEO's was in order. Let's see if Adobe can pull off the hat trick.
(6)
Show comments (4)
1
Cowicide
18 June 2013
Version: 13.0.0
So they buy out Macromedia, kill competition and then screw over consumers. Bye, bye Adobe and your greed with your Creative Cloud subscription model. Petition against it is over 30,000 signatures so far... https://www.change.org/petitions/adobe-systems-incorporated-eliminate-the-mandatory-creative-cloud-subscription-model
(9)
0.5
Iturtle
18 June 2013
Version: 13.0.0
golive killed. bugs never fixed. support below zero. updates always far to expensive. and now forced updates. I feel like a factory farming animal. like a cow to be milked for what it's worth. I had enough. bye bye greedobe!
(4)
Show comments (2)
Cowicide
05 December 2012
Version: 12.0.1
MacUpdate head's up: As of 12-05-2012 it's up to 12.0.2
(0)
Show comments (2)
Mikael-B
30 July 2012
Version: 12.0.1
Flux is a very nice alternative to Dreamweaver if you're starting from scratch and unlike me don't know all the intricacies of Dreamweaver already and can avoid the pitfalls. It suits people that want to work more graphically building HTML5/CSS3 oriented web sites. Getting actual acceptable results from Dreamweaver means you have to know your HTML and CSS. I don't think there are actually any applications that lets ju forego the ned for that knowledge completely. If you don't know HTML5 and at least basic CSS you don't know what you're doing, period. The code that Flux produces is more modern than the default code Dreamweaver weaves in my opinion. Coda, an app others have suggested, is actually much more of a coders app than Flux. I can imagine designers wanting to learn to code web pages and that also need real world tests of their designs can make use of Flux. You'll find Flux in the "Similar Software" section above. I'd check it out as well as Dreamweaver.
(0)
4
Shraddha
29 June 2012
Version: 12.0
Develop complex e-commerce sites without writing any server-side code by integrating with the Adobe Business Catalyst® platform (available separately). Set up and host free trial sites. Design, develop, and deliver websites and mobile apps efficiently with faster FTP transfers and improved image editing. Build mobile apps with updated support for jQuery Mobile and Adobe PhoneGap™ frameworks. http://cs6-adobe.blogspot.in/2012/06/what-is-dreamweaver.html
(0)
Dana-Sutton
08 May 2012
Version: 12.0
I have to disagree with you folks. I operate a Web site which is very heavily text-oriented, and most of the time I use Dreamweaver as a kind of specialized word processor (I wouldn't have to do this if there were any actual word-processor which exported halfway decent text in html format, but I've tried them all and I can guarantee you that there isn't). My philosophy is to go in and write, or at least manipulate, actual code as little as possible. As I say, I use Dreamweaver, because it's the only Apple program on the market since the demise of such rivals as Claris Home Page. Well, okay, Dreamweaver is semi-lousy. It' got bugs that Adobe must know all about but has never bothered to fix, it's clumsy and over-complex, and its cost is outrageous. I'd replace it in a heartbeat if I had an alternative, but since there isn't it will remain the basic tool of my trade. And here's my point: I wouldn't bother you folks talking about myself if I imagined I were the only person in the world with needs like mine. But I bet there are plenty of us. I very much resent you guys trying to write the obituary of the WYSIWYG page creation program. As far as I'm concerned, it's as necessary a tool as it ever was.
(2)
Show comments (5)
5
Wedderhoff
07 May 2012
Version: 12.0
Nice CSS3 features. Great new version.
(0)
2
Egami
30 October 2011
Version: 11.5.1
With apps like Espresso and Coda available, there is hardly any reason to use this bloated and overpriced app. It is sluggish, it's FTP functionality is average at best, the text editor is poor when compared to others (i.e. horrible snippets functionality), it's "live preview" is tedious to use and the app is also rather cumbersome to use with a dual screen setup, which can be done wonderfully with, say, Espresso or even CSSEdit or Textmate. With the $400 that DW costs, you can buy yourself Expresso 2, Transmit 4, MAMP Pro, VMWare Fusion and a Home Edition of Windows 7 (to test your sites in IE) and you would still have some money to buy a couple of books on HTML/CSS/JS. That's far more value than DW will ever give.
(4)
Show comment (1)
0.5
bayz
04 July 2011
Version: 11.5.1
Can't update. "Update is not applicable" Oh well Coda's much better anyways.
(1)
prLab
16 June 2011
Version: 11.5.1
And I remember PageMill. SO if Dreamweaver is so lousy, what's the best alternative? I use Freeway and it seems okay for what I do: simple sites.
(2)
1.5
Pwareham
16 June 2011
Version: 11.5.1
Ah Dreamweaver, I always install it when I get a new version of Creative Suite. It's always uninstalled shortly after. There are so many superior alternatives to this outdated app, I'm surprised anyone is still using it. WYSIWYG building of websites was always a pipe dream that one that basically fell apart at least 8 years ago - now more than ever you really need to hand code to be a web designer. And DW is rubbish as a text editor - the FTP is also lousy and unstable. Just use Panic Coda.
(3)
Shock-J
04 May 2011
Version: 11.0.4
Once again, Adobe shows how they continue to drop the ball when it comes to their updaters. I updated to DW 11.0.4 (build 4493) yesterday via the Adobe Updater application. Today, the Adobe Updater application tells me there is another update for Dreamweaver, version 11.0.3! Yes, it's telling me the previous version is available to me for updating. And of course, when you try to run it, it fails. Adobe's CS updaters have been junk from day one and they still can't get it right.
(4)
Show comment (1)
Trashie
03 May 2011
Version: 11.0.4
Designed for the late 90's and never has changed. I can think of so many better workflows than using this. $400 :)
(5)
Show comments (6)
2
Beige
27 February 2011
Version: 11.0.3
bugs and just wonky overall.
(0)
3
Cowicide
14 February 2011
Version: 11.0.3
This is at least less buggy than DW CS4 which was a stubborn nightmare and had issues with the GUI getting stuck. But this still is crap. I was able to crash the !@#$% app by simply starting it up and then daring to right-click on the on the site folder too soon I guess. Completely froze up DW and had to force quit the thing. Seriously, Adobe? I couldn't even right-click my site folder? Sigh....
(1)
4.5
Philipwheelock
11 February 2011
Version: 11.0.3
All I can say is that DW has saved me countless hours and aggravation over the years. Sure, I use a BBEdit and a couple of ftp clients to quickly revise, fine-tune and upload files, but it's easier and faster for me to just use DW than to learn the more complicated aspects of html.
(1)
Killer-Klown-Kar
13 July 2010
Version: 11.0.2
I still miss Claris Home Page...
(2)
Dana-Sutton
12 July 2010
Version: 11.0.2
I have to say this: kudos to Adobe. Except for a local language version, they never updated D3 (although they must have been aware of its many bugs) and I don't recall any updates to D4 (which contained some of the same bugs). The appearance of this update suggests that they may be taking a bit more responsibility for D5. When they screw up or mistreat their customers, we should holler. But when they do something right, it's only reasonable that we speak up and say thank you.
(3)
2
Hafdis
31 May 2010
Version: 11.0.0
There are literally buttons everywhere. Coding in DW is not an elegant or enjoyable experience. You'd think they'd at least have tab-triggered code snippets like nearly every other editor but you'd be wrong. I wish I could like this program. I paid for it with my CS5 upgrade and just like when I upgraded to CS4, I'd thought I'd fire it up and see what was new. This program should be taken behind the barn and shot. It's a an old bloated pig. Apple needs to step up to the plate and create a development environment for today's web. I'm all for the death of Flash and all that, but Steve should stop talking and start walking.
(9)
2
Gregr
02 May 2010
Version: 11.0.0
For developing in Wordpress I switched to Coda, CSSEdit and Firebug. I was excited to learn about DW's ability to integrate with CMS systems I was curious as to whether I could switch back. No way. Feels like a giant step backwards. Clumsy. Confusing. Everything I want to do seems so much farther away. This is probably the last shot I give this program.
(3)
Show comments (5)
2
Dana-Sutton
01 May 2010
Version: 11.0.0
It would be silly to write a full review of a program as complex as Dreamweaver after only one day's use, but here are some first impressions. First, the best feature of Dreamweaver, that comes close to making up for its many many shortcomings is that it writes nicely clean code. Let's never forget this. Having said that, my first impressions of the CS5 version are largely negative. 1.) The installation process is very unpleasant. To be sure, the annoying activation process is now automated (but since the Deactivate command has been removed from its former menu, how do you deactivate it to switch to another computer). But the installer does not automatically transfer Preference settings and user-created Commands from an earlier version, you have to spend a frustrating amount of time setting it up manually. That's how I spent a good deal of my afternoon today. 2.) The interface cries out for improvement. Why, for example, can't the user assign keyboard equivalents to self-created Commands? And, although Dreamweaver has been Unicode-friendly since CS3, can't it do somethingas simple as automatically inserting curly quotes and em-dashes. So far, I haven't come across any interface improvements whatsoever. 3.) At least one of the bugs that has been in Dreamweaver since CS3, if not even earlier, the one where your type font will inexplicably be replaced on the screen by another one, is still alive and well. I'm waiting to see others resurface (for example the one where highlighting text doesn't make any visible difference in the way the screen draws the text in question). As you may guess from my remarks, my site is very text-oriented so these are the kinds of things I notice. If you use Dreamweaver for other purposes you'll probably have your own list of pet peeves. Now, all the kinds of things I have listed combine to suggest a kind of contempt for the end user on part of the developer. That's way too easy an attitude to develop when you have no serious competition. It's good that Adobe doesn't have a similar monopoly over making cars, or our highways would be littered with corpses. That why, like many others who have written reviews in this series, I'd drop Dreamweaver like a live grenade if a good rival product ever comes on the market. There's another consideration, too. Steve Jobs may rail against Flash all he wants, but as long as Adobe enjoys its monopoly on page-design software it's going to run the table when it comes to dictating web standards. It can use its software to push Flash all it wants, and it can drag its heels forever in putting out software that can handle HTML-5. I. m. h. o, Apple, Microsoft, and any other corporation which wants to see Flash discarded as a web standard needs to put out page design software that breaks this monopoly. That might have the effect of making Adobe wake up and start putting out much better products than this one.
(4)
Show comment (1)
rjsef6
01 November 2009
Version: 10.0.0.4117
Adobe has never been a Mac friendly company. They remain belligerently loyal to the Windows of the world. They're continually making the statement "Yes, we can make money off Mac users, but certainly not at our taint." As powerful as Photoshop Elements is, can you get any further from the Mac interface in the Mac version of Elements 6? Dark charcoal grey menus are awful to interact with as a GUI in a graphics app, but it does say "We don't need no stinkin' Macs". So why do I patronize Adobe? I'm bonded to Dreamweaver since the days of "Studio 3" and Macromedia (which didn't understand Apple much better than Adobe), and I'm too old for a new learning curve and site migration tom-foolery. Fortunately for me, Adobe hasn't vested the time/energy into dramatically changing Dreamweaver interface ("we are not worthy") so that I, intellectually vested in the 1980's interface, am still comfortable with Dreamweaver of 2009, CS4 from my "Dreamweaver 3" days. Comfortable with it's awkwardness, which is a very weird staement, and certainly counterproductive to creativity. Adobe knows it has acquired some powerful, necessary applications. Their resistance to the Mac platform's GUI is almost comical in it's PC fundamentalism. It is certainly a left-handed compliment of the Mac's encroachment into The World. Yes, Adobe "support" helped me with the upgrade issues I had with my purchase of CS4. The only reason I did the upgrade was because Snow Leopard made DW MX 2004 unusable. I was forced to upgrade. Of course I was sent the wrong upgrade product and the wrong serial number. Of course my first attempt at online correction wouldn't let me upgrade from DW MX 2004. After numerous emails, the second attempt at correction also failed. I eventually succeeded with a 30 minute phone call. It took a total of 6 weeks for me to be able to edit/access my sites. Since I had done this after my migration to Mac OSX 10.6, I did not have the easy file migration option. I had not done an "export" option in the "Mange Sites" menu. I didn't know it would be important when I upgraded to Mac OSX 10.6. So now I finally had a valid copy of DW, but I couldn't access my sites. Now what? Reinstall Mac OS X 10.5 so I can access my older DW files and "Save as..."? It took a lot of online searching to finally be directed to which 16kb file held the "keys to the kingdom". When I finally did this, I was good to go. But 6 weeks, many hours, and a huge PITA! When EVER have you done ANY Mac app upgrade that was not intuitive, that didn't handle all of the file conversions invisibly and properly. And succeeded? They all do. Except Adobe. Yes, they have powerful and useful apps. If ANYTHING comes along that does all the same stuff in a "Mac way" (you all know what I mean: clear/clean/concise), I'll quickly jump ship. I really don't understand Adobe's refusal to become "Mac-friendly". We're out there, waiting. For Adobe or any respectable Plan B. At this point, I'm rooting for "Plan B"
(3)
Show comments (2)
2
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
02 October 2009
Version: 10.0.0.4117
Funny thing is, that screenshot which represents DRW review on this review page is one from many things which are missing in DRW CS4 ... Today world is about a visuals and I can hardly comprehend, that someone see a beauty of design trough number and scripts ... Like ADOBE PROGRAMERS DO ... Designing www pages should be a designer delight not math exam ... Layout style from GoLive should not be forgotten by Adobe since it was a pleasure to work with GoLive from creative point of view ... The CS4 is unpleasant to work with. Period.
(1)
2
Jan13
05 July 2009
Version: 10.0.0.4117
Here I am again after heavy-duty use of DRW CS4. My experience is, that if ADOBE will do nothing about this square windows like web creator and editor I have too personally find some other options. DRW CS4 is absolutely unfriendly web page creator. There are some companies like WEBASSIST etc., which like to easy and bridge these DRW CS4 deficiencies however in many instances, you will dig your self in to deeper problems. DRW CS4 is a WORST upgrade ever for DRW. DRW CS4 is NO, NO, NO for true Mac web-graphic designer. I am dreaming back about GoLive which was fantastic web design creator. It was truly a tool where one can focus only on one thing. Design and functionality of web page.
(3)
2
Geopick
14 January 2009
Version: 1.0
Without a doubt, Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 is the worst upgrade I have ever seen from a major software publisher. Make that any publisher. I have been using CS3 since it was released to fairly good measure. CS4 is so slow that it is completely unusable on my machine (iMac 2.4 GHz dual running OSX 10.5.6). In split view, it takes 10-15 seconds for selected text to highlight. I am running no extensions, and my local site is on my local computer. I have searched all over the Web for a solution, and found much discussion of this problem in Dreamweaver and other CS4 applications. There is hardly a mention anywhere in Adobe's support site. The program runs like a non-optimized beta. I'm thinking it could be caused by Flex or weird Java. Does anyone have any suggestions at all? I've now reinstalled CS3 on the same computer, and it runs fine.
(4)
Show comment (1)
3
Jan13
15 December 2008
Version: 1.0
Dreamweaver CS4 is with out any question web page layout machine. Loaded with features unfortunately hidden like pirates treasures from fifteen century. To layout page is another issue. Frames are totally NO (!) since search engines do not like it and so you are left over, with tables. CSS is of course way to go how ever you have to be discovery expert like Robinson Crusoe to find operating futures with ease ... ADOBE is trumpeting new interface witch is in compare to obsolete GoLive like a joke. Dramweaver is unfriendly application. Period! If I would not know Dreamweaver form inside out and out site in that well I will definitely look for other options in web page design world, where these options are virtually non. Freeway Pro 5.x is a very nice program but lack of programing is unfortunate. Anyhow. Dreamweaver CS4 is in one way a huge disappointment. It was suppose to be a mature product in this stage of development but it is not. I think, that if ADOBE will not listen those who use and buy their product, they ADOBE will end up very much same like Quark some years ago. Very much like today auto makers who are asking for billions in aids to safe the auto industry !!!
(4)
1
Dana-Sutton
13 December 2008
Version: 1.0
I do not need the improved features of Dreamweaver CS4. I do need fixes for the many serious and annoying bugs in CS3. Adobe has never released a single bugfix upgrade for CS3 (with the exception of one upgrade for localized language versions). Instead, they have delayed fixing the bugs pending the release of CS4. From my point of view, therefore, I am being asked to pay a huge price for fixing the problems inherent in CS3. The normal assumption in the software industry is that the cost of fixing bugs and issuing corrected versions is rolled into the purchase price of the software, and that a software developer has a responsibility to exercise due diligence in issuing such upgrades promptly so that the product functions as advertised. Despite the very high price of the various items in the CS suite and the high price of upgrades, Adobe does not adhere to this industry-standard way of fair dealing with its customers, and I can confidently predict that any bugs that come to light in CS4 will not be fixed until CS5. I. m. h. o., therefore, Adobe is an unethical company that mistreats its customer base. This is an intolerable situation and I, refuse to fork over any more money to these people.
(8)
4.5
Hendo
08 July 2006
Version: 8.0.2
Contrary to what most of you think I think Dreamweaver 8.0.2 is still a fantastic program. I built my current website with it extremely fast. I really don't care about the minor bugs cuz they are not ones that affect my web design.
(1)
3
Jeff-H-
03 July 2006
Version: 8.0.2
FTP is gone on my G5... I upgraded some time ago from MX2004 to DW8. The FTP capabilties on my G5 are gone...I get all kinds of FTP error notices. I finally gave up and just upload with Transmit. Yes, it is an extra step, but I'm so used to it now that I just automatically open both. (trust me, I've tried it all, I've been at this awhile, but if there're suggestions, or if others have had this same experience and know the fix, I welcome suggestions) As far as DW8, other than the FTP thing (which I don't know if I can pin on DW8 anyway, as I can't seem to upload in MX2004 from my G5 anymore either, but my G4 will work with both!), it seems to be ok...again, I'm not connecting to my remote folders, so there's not a sync-slowdown going on. I like the extra features and it's never crashed, so I guess you can say I'm ok with it
(1)
2
Ares
22 May 2006
Version: 8.0.2
After a couple of months and a previous good review, I must admit there are too many little bugs to enjoy v8. 8.0.2 is still buggy and slow. Back to MX :-(
(3)
Ehecu
11 May 2006
Version: 8.0.2
As much as I've enjoyed Dreamweaver in the past, somewhere along the line Macromedia went wrong. The new versions are slow, clunky, and buggy. Not just major bugs, but weird stuff that comes up and, though it may only delay you a few seconds to fix it, creates a constant stream of interruptions when you really need to get things done. I totally agree with the poster below... There's a gap here that needs to be filled, and I wouldn't mind paying for it so long as it runs at a decent speed and works like it's supposed to.
(0)
Dana-Sutton
11 May 2006
Version: 8.0.2
Let me add a bit to what I just said. Given what a number of these reviews write about clunkiness, bugginess, slowness, as well as some things they don't mention (high cost, steep learning curve), it is amazing that no software developer has realized that domination of the WYSIWYG page development is ripe for the picking. I keep waiting for somebody to move into the gap left by the disappearance of such apps. as Claris Home Page, in approx. the $100 price range, it's an "ecological niche" just begging to be filled. We ought to have something that would be to Dreamweaver and GoLive as Pages and Nisus Writer Express are to MS Word.
(0)
1
Dana-Sutton
10 May 2006
Version: 8.0.2
I am appalled that this update doesn't fix one of the worst and most conspicuous bugs in Dreamweaver 8 (one that Macromedia/Adobe ought to be very aware of), its inability to handle long text files. Since I work with such files professionally, this limits me to Dreamweaver 2004 (and has very unpleasant potential implications for my ability to upgrade to an Intel Mac computer if this bug isn't fixed in a future Universal version).
(2)
4.25
Ares
15 April 2006
Version: 8.0.1
Pretty good interface. WYSIWYG is the way to go :) Works fine on a fast G4 but it is more and more bloated.
(0)
2.75
Anonymous
11 September 2005
Version: 7.0.1
I have been using DW for years but it is getting to the point where I it is too slow and clunky to use. The program needs to be completely revised and updated or I'm going to have to move on..
(0)
Kenaroni
10 September 2005
Version: 7.0.1
Serious crash problems 50 percent of the time when opening a file from a server. It happens to me everyday with two computers in two different locations, for many months now. DW hasn't been updated in a LONG time. I didn't want to switch GoLive after all these years, but I'm starting to change my mind. At least Adobe updates their Creative Suite. Maybe they have something up their sleeve since they bought Macromedia. Who knows...
(0)
2.75
Tor
04 March 2005
Version: 7.0.1
I've been using DW since it was first released in the spring of '97, buying and upgrading all the way, and I must say I'm disappointed at one of my long time favourites. Unfortunately it has gradually degraded into a sluggish monster bloatware as it has grown. Macromedia: Get a grip, this is not the way. Only reason I still use it is because I'm used to it and because of Contribute.
(0)
2.5
ptn
12 December 2004
Version: 7.0.1
Not a review: a comment, which the MacUpdate system kindly offers. I've bought each version of Dreamweaver and GoLive since version 4 (inclusive) and both apps have gotten slower (and therefore) more tedious to use - and I'm on a dual 2GHz G5 with 1GB ram!!!! I laughed at the anonymous post below which claimed Dreamweaver made his Mac whistle, but guess what!? My Mac whistles when Dreamweaver 7.01 (ie, MX 2004) is running. It seems like the hard disk, perhaps; I never noticed it before, presumably because I was using a 1 GHx G4 until recently; it runs so noisily compared to the relative silence of the G5 that now the Dreamweaver whistle drives me mental! Can anyone make any sense of why this happens? Why it hasn't been fixed? Both GoLive CS and Dreamweaver MX 2004 are very sluggish and feel top heavy. Its got to the point that I'm fed up with the varied quirks wth both these apps. Desperate experience often leads to desperate acts, but in this case I have to say that my desperation led me to greener pastures. I recommend to first time buyers perusing these reviews for advice before parting with hard earned money, look into RapidWeaver and Freeway - both listed on this site. RapidWeaver is ideal, in my estimation, for beginners but also for experienced web developers who simply need to put together a non-database driven website. Freeway offers a very Mac-oriented solution which provides database and serverside scripting support. With RapidWeaver and Freeway available to consumers, I see absolutely no need for GoLive or Dreamweaver. Check the prices (and feature sets) and you'll be pleased. I'm not affiliated with ANY of these companies. Save yourself the time, money and effort - benefit from my long and tedious experience.
(0)
1.75
Anonymous
10 October 2004
Version: 7.0.1
CRASHES, crashes, crashes and worse installs the SafeCast DRM software which writes data to your hard drive outside the filesystem in a reserved area. This could creates the potential for data corruption. Do you feel VIOLATED?
(0)
3.5
2r
06 October 2004
Version: 7.0.1
Great app in general, although I wish there was a "DW light" or something - there are way too many features for creating quick, static sites. Question: In the Win version there's a 'document tabs' feature that places all open documents nicely in tabs at the bottom of the workspace window instead of needing to have multible open windows. I've checked around and aparently this is a PC-only fetature. Does anyone know if there's a plug-in or some other way to have this in the Mac version?
(0)
2
Anonymous
07 August 2004
Version: 7.0.1
Geez this is the worst crap I've ever used. The old OS 9 version was stable, even MX 6 is better.
(0)