Back to QuickBooks page
QuickBooks free download for Mac

QuickBooks Reviews

18.0.6.3350
06 November 2019

Financial management and accounting for small businesses.

qb
25 October 2018

Most helpful

I just read a post at MacInTouch that pointed out the following info about QuickBooks 2019 Mac. The poster refers to it as "Quickbook Desktop" - but I cannot confirm this from the Intuit info here. You have to scroll 60% of the way down to see the Mac section. Has anyone got a clue if QB Mac Desktop has returned from it announced grave??? https://community.intuit.com/articles/1764996-system-requirements-for-quickbooks-2019-and-enterprise-solutions-19-0 thx
Like (1)
Version 17.2.27.682 R28

Read 56 QuickBooks User Reviews

Rate this app:

enockkofiosei
08 February 2020
can anyone help me find quicklook for my 2019 MacBook Pro 13 inches thank you
Like
Version 18.0.6.3350
qb
25 October 2018
I just read a post at MacInTouch that pointed out the following info about QuickBooks 2019 Mac. The poster refers to it as "Quickbook Desktop" - but I cannot confirm this from the Intuit info here. You have to scroll 60% of the way down to see the Mac section. Has anyone got a clue if QB Mac Desktop has returned from it announced grave??? https://community.intuit.com/articles/1764996-system-requirements-for-quickbooks-2019-and-enterprise-solutions-19-0 thx
Like (1)
Version 17.2.27.682 R28
1 answer(s)
tno
tno
16 November 2018
Quickbooks for Mac 2019 desktop is shipping. At Costco, Amazon, Frys, eBay, etc. Compatible with Mojave 12.14. I'll be looking for a Black Friday deal less than $189. Intuit has had BF sales in the past, but didn't out their Mac version on sale.

30 day trials available for US and Canadian customers.

https://community.intuit.com/articles/1207255-quickbooks-desktop-trial-links

PS: QB for Mac 2016 with updates will work with Mojave as well.
Like
neartheredrocks
14 April 2017
Just for the record: The latest version of QuickBooks for Mac is "QuickBooks 2016 v17.1.13 R14" from February 2017, and it works very well with macOS 10.12 Sierra. After converting a QuickBooks for Windows company file into a Mac file and playing around with it for a while I am quite impressed how much QuickBooks for Mac has improved. It costs $220. However, the fact that his MacUpdate page is not being updated correctly probably means that Intuit still has the same displeasing general attitude towards its customer base as it always had in the past.
Like
Version 16.1.12.1564 R13
1 answer(s)
tno
tno
16 November 2018
2019 is now available.. T30 day trial.

https://community.intuit.com/articles/1207255-quickbooks-desktop-trial-links
Like
monty-3
02 November 2016
Spent 30 minutes with Intuit simply trying to find out if there was an update to QB 2015 so it will work with Sierra (none listed on Macupdate). All they want to do is sell you the online version (monthly fee). Finally said I simply wanted the desktop version. The only option is to BUY the new version (2016--no QB 2017 for the Mac) at full price. They provide NO upgrade path, no updates to previous versions, no support at all. Tried this demo and it is real flaky with Sierra. Now I've got to find another accounting package for a small business (sole proprietor). Intuit has the worst Macintosh support of any company!
Like
Version 16.1.8.1528 R9
2 answer(s)
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
14 November 2016
Highly recommend Checkmark's MultiLedger.
Have used it for over 20 years and found nothing better.
Spoiler alert: it is not cute but is powerful and wicked reliable. Developers are very responsive with regular updates.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
22 January 2017
The no upgrade path is true on the Windows product as well. Also, if you use QB to handle payroll, you are forced to upgrade at a minimum every 2 years..you are forced because after 2 years, the old version will not receive tax table updates, so you can't calculate withholding, etc.

Lastly, be warned, if you share your QB file with your accountant or anyone else who uses QB for Windows, there is NOT 100% feature compatibility between QB MAc and QB Windows, even of the same year. Backup and restoring QB files between Mac and Windows is not seamless...works fairly okay one direction from Mac to Windows, but Windows back to Mac can be challenging with respect to more advanced features.

In fact, I have a relative who is a CPA, for her Mac clients, she now pushes them to run QB Windows, either via BootCamp or Virtualized Windows, it simplifies life considerably.
Like
Filchescat
12 September 2016
AFTER ALL THESE YEARS . . . been using QuickBooks for Mac for a small sole proprietor business for many many years and I am now learning that Intuit will not be supporting Mac OS 10.12 Sierra. They force you to upgrade to 'version 16', which, like Adobe, forces you to store your docs in a cloud and PAY A MONTLY FEE. I confirmed with Intuit sales who of course kept pressuring me to sign up. Bad form Intuit - frankly speaking THIS SUCKS and you've lost a long time customer.
Like (1)
Version 16.0.6.1508 R7
1 answer(s)
Filchescat
Filchescat
12 September 2016
Going to respond to my own comment . . . A RAT! A RAT I say! Spent many hours trying to confirm with Intuit that in fact the Mac version of QuickBooks is being replaced by a cloud, monthly subscription debacle, a lå Adobe. Even spoke to a couple of alternate app publishers anxious to capitalize on Intuits faux pax. Then embedded deep in the hype within one of Intuit's pages is mention that Version 16 of the Mac desktop Quickbooks product WILL WORK ON SIERRA. I've built a Sierra testbed on a 2013 MacPro, booted, purchased and downloaded Quickbooks for Mac Desktop versions 16, installed it on Sierra and after updating itself during the install (one of the things it updated was Sierra compatibility). I can confirm it launches and utilizes at least it's built in test business. Next is to see if will work in the real world.
WHAT PISSES ME OFF is the waste of time and attempt to hype me into their monthly cloud version WITHOUT TELLING ME THAT Version 16 Mac Desktop version WILL WORK JUST FINE ON SIERRA - a really unprofessional, underhanded attempt to draw me into something that costs more and works less - all for Intuit's coffers. REALLY BAD FORM INTUIT - I hope others are able to see through your bullshit.
Like (2)
Turquoise
29 September 2015
Canadians gets no mac desktop version, only online.
That shows how disdainful Intuit can be.
Like
Version 16.0.3.1460 R4
DougYork
03 June 2015
Just installed the Quick books 2015 on a Client's brand new virgin, Macbook Pro laptop.
The first thing we noticed was it crashed whenever we tried to run the programs backup feature or even configure the Backup. We even got this result when opening the sample company file that comes installed with the product. This is a BRAND NEW MAC PRO LAPTOP with all the update installed and no other software added. When my Client called Intuit for help, they immediately sold her a tech support subscription. The problem was not only left unresolved, but she is now encountering random crashes unrelated to the backup. tool.
Like
Version 16.0.3.1460 R4
Scrags
17 December 2014
Good to see they're refining this with fairly frequent updates. I check every one to see if they've implemented Bill Pay and when I see that they have, I'll buy it.
Like
Version 16.0.2.1422 R3
Mvasilakis
26 November 2014
THIS SOFTWARE LOSES DATA!!! Many people have tried to alert Intuit about this issue but it is falling of def ears. Intuit seems to believe that transactions cannot be lost and blames the user. I have lost countless hours this year re-entering transactions and re-reconciling! If you must use Quickbooks then get the Windows version. (It pains me to recommend this) The Mac version has a serious bug and Intuit is unwilling to admit the bug exists so don't expect a fix!
Like
Version 16.0.1.1384
rojour
04 October 2013
Not much of a review, but I have been playing with this for some time this morning and other than the menu bar to have some new icons and being on the left side of the screen, every thing else looks and feels exactly as the 2013 version (not that it's good…). So we are supposed to pay $200 (discounted) for what? Am I missing something?
Like (2)
Version 15.0.0 R01
1 answer(s)
Sell.com
Sell.com
04 April 2014
This is almost always the case, from year to year. The Mac product (and perhaps all Intuit products) get superficial facelifts, and no REAL usability or functionality improvements. We always run with a QB copy for 3+ years, until they force an upgrade.
Like (1)
Turquoise
04 October 2013
I am also one of the many people who is using parallels basically to do my accounting on the Windows version of QB, since the Mac version s*cks and in Canada is online only.
Like
Version 15.0.0 R01
gaiamie
27 February 2013
I could not believe how Intuit, like Microsoft, keeps making an inferior version for Mac users. So many of my most basic features are gone, I try to open my check register and it freezes, over and over, there are many notes I took in checking out this software, which I REALLY wanted to like - so I can get rid of Parallels, but it is essentially worthless. I'm very frustrated, will be writing a letter to intuit.
Like (2)
Version 14.0.4 R5
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
06 March 2013
Out of curiosity, what features are missing in QB 2013 for Mac vs Windows? (I ask because I'm not familiar with the Windows version.)
Like
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
24 April 2013
@Misha: Here are two links to answers for the 2012 version (and I doubt much has changed over the past few months). Seems as though Steve Jobs was quite powerless, where Intuit was concerned. http://blog.betterbottomline.com/scott_gregory_quickbooks/2012/04/quickbooks-pc-vs-mac-why-the-pc-version-is-better.html http://www.qblittlesquare.com/2010/08/openwininmac/ ^ Note: last link says "2010" but has been updated for 2012. -HI-
Like
Macmikey
02 December 2012
When, oh when, will Quickbooks Mac be able to join a Windows Quickbooks multi-user system. I am sick of using sub-standard PC's to access a multiuser Windows version. Called Intuit the other day asking this very question. Person on other end could not figure out what I was even asking for. This company is clueless from top down.
Like (1)
Version 14.0.3 R4
Theguy
09 November 2012
Just posting this here for later... the direct download link! http://bitly.com/UrWcqY
Like
Version 14.0.2 R3
Sleav
24 July 2012
Wow. Once again Intuit rides to the rescue - with a flaming pitchfork. Here's a question: how many paid Apps on your Mac have announced that they won't run on Mountain Lion without a paid upgrade? Answer: 1. Intuit has just announced that Quickbooks 2011 will not run on Mountain Lion. No problem, as long as you don't mind that the upgrade price for Quickbooks 2012 is the same cost as buying the software new: $183.96. It amazes me, just after you think Intuit can't be any more venal and disrespectful of its loyal Mac customers, it ups the ante yet another time. Moneywell, here I come. Quickbooks, I hope you follow Quark's example of extreme corporate arrogance, and find yourselves with a market share slowly dwindling toward zero.
Like (9)
Version 13.0.8 R9
1 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
02 December 2012
I have despised QuickBooks for Mac for many years. I would say good riddance, but Windows users are dopes and are willing to put up with it so it's still a standard app for many of them. Then again, maybe if we Mac users support a better alternative, we'll show the Windows users the way (like we've done many times before).
Like
Filchescat
10 April 2012
Mountain Lion (OS 10.8) developers head's up: problems again with the new OS and this mainstay of Mac accounting - same as before with OS 10.7 a year ago; printing problems for at least invoices (app hangs); Intuit's response - wait until the public release of the OS like last time go away and leave us alone. OK.
Like (1)
Version 13.0.8 R9
Moxiesozo
10 December 2011
Someone please post a URL for the direct download. I certainly don't wish to have a company like Intuit gather my personal information any more than necessary.
Like
Version 13.0.2 R4
1 answer(s)
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
10 December 2011
Answered my own question: http://tinyurl.com/7gvzfxp
Like (3)
johnnywalker1211
10 December 2011
I have used other similar products, but none as well maintained and works well with my small business.
Like (1)
Version 13.0.2 R4
gary-22
14 October 2010
As far as I know, and I would love to be corrected, there is no “solution” for Canadian Mac users who also file taxes using the GIFI import feature to transfer profit & loss and balance sheet information automatically from QuickBooks to QuickTax Incorporated, other than running Windows versions of both QuickBooks 2003 (the last version known to me that does not require activation and cannot be remotely deactivated by Intuit) and QuickTax Incorporated for the specific tax year in a Parallels VM.
Like (1)
Version 12.0
3 answer(s)
Geneonmac
Geneonmac
06 June 2011
Have you evaluated MoneyWorks Gold? I switched after QB 2007 and NEVER LOOKED BACK. MoneyWorks Tech Support is in Canada, they speak ENGLISH and respond promptly! A welcome change from Intuit who only wants your money. Also, MW is cross platform (MAC AND Windows, and will provide your accountant with a FREE copy. Check it out.
Like (2)
gary-22
gary-22
03 October 2011
@Geneonmac What about taxes? Does TurboTax Business Incorporated import GIFI data from MoneyWorks Gold?
Like
Geneonmac
Geneonmac
03 October 2011
Gary: Don't know the answer to your question. Suggest you contact either Grant Cowie (Cognito Systems - grant@cognito.co.nz or Al Hayward at Moneyworks Canada 800 818 6955 with your question. They're more qualified than I am. Good Luck!
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
13 October 2010
Just got off the phone with Intuit Customer Service, and the upgrade from version 2010 to 2011 is $199.95, a whopping $30 savings! Even if you bought Quickbooks 2010 for Mac yesterday. Thanks again Intuit for screwing your customers.
Like (7)
Version 12.0
3 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
13 October 2010
Of course, thanks for the heads up... ahh some things never change... like this company. Sad. Thank you for posting your experience though, you wasted your time for all of us, if that helps at all, doubtful. Anyhow we appreciate you giving us your upgrade/raped process.
Like (2)
Version 12.0
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
14 October 2010
Yeah, but that's still no bargain when I bought it less than 6 months ago, and I've hardly used it.
Like (3)
Version 12.0
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
14 October 2010
Which is what I'm going to do. I have no problems with the current version and like it. I'm more upset about their upgrade policies, especially since they have such a rocky reputation on the Mac platform. Imagine paying almost full price for an Adobe CS upgrade every time.
Like (5)
Version 12.0
Lepraik
19 July 2010
I love Intuit's reporting functionality and as of yet have not found anything comparable on the Mac yet. The ability to group transactions by class for reporting purposes is fantastic. However intuit for the Mac does not support multicurrency, import of bank statements (countries outside the US) and the software is expensive. I would like 1st class reporting where import bank account import rules can be specified for each bank account. I am trying out iBank. The support is very good, I can import transactions with ease and the smart import rules are excellent. The reporting functionality is not great however my understanding is that this is functionality will be available soon. Upgrades are free, the software is not expensive and I can view transactions on my iPhone using a mobile app. So Intuit it is unlikely I will be forking out 200 bucks for an upgrade in the future.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.7 R8
1 answer(s)
Stassi
Stassi
14 October 2010
The last time I checked out iBank (in my anger at Quickbooks continuously quitting on me), I found the reporting SEVERELY lacking. Does anyone know if this "future" addition ever did get added?
Like
Version 12.0
Geneonmac
02 March 2010
I said goodbye to Intuit after they left us hanging with QB 2007 - MAC and forced upgrade for Snow Leopard. Look at MoneyWorks (Cognito, Inc.), especially if you're Canadian. They have an office in Canada, speak English, answer the phones promptly and get back to you with solutions, if they can't solve your problem on the spot. MoneyWOrks is a little more "hardcore" than QB, but it's NOT buggy and runs on EITHER MAC OSX or Windows. They'll send your accountant a FREE copy, too. Good Luck with Intuit.
Like (4)
Version 11.0.6 R7
Maczillllla
03 February 2010
I've been using Quickbooks for several years. I've had lots of problems and poor service. What I have, QB2009, works, but buggy and frustrating. Supposedly 2009 was going to fix my problems, but didn't. I'm afraid to upgrade to 2010. $200 for a poor program and poor service - come on Intuit! At least what I have works.
Like (1)
Version 11.0f2731
Exegetejr
17 December 2009
We're in Canada and use QB Pro Windows version... Windows - yuk :( Does anyone know if this QB Pro 10 Mac version can be configured for Canadian use??? As far as I can find, Intuit REFUSES to support Canadian Mac users with anything beyond 2004 version :(
Like (2)
Version 11.0f2389
2 answer(s)
Morfund
Morfund
06 January 2010
I have not personally tried version 10 but have heard it is prettier but just as thickheaded. FYI, the Canadian "franchisee/division" of AccountEdge and the variations thereof were acquired by Intuit about 6 years ago and then shelved. The non-compete agreement expired recently so a Canadian version of AccountEdge is available. Try Liquid Ledger for Mac. It is made in Canada and is a little more business-like compared to my personal favorite, iBank. MoneyWorks is a New Zealand line of products with reasonable QB-like horsepower and is reasonably adaptable but nothing appears to be able to do an import from QB without a translator program. Good Luck.
Like (2)
Version 11.0f2539
Dl036
Dl036
29 January 2010
Actually, that's no longer accurate. MYOB was purchased by a new US company and now puts out AccountEdge for Mac with a full Canadian version. I've used it for a while, and it's brilliant. Their support is excellent too.
Like (2)
Version 11.0f2539
Binarypackrat
09 December 2009
Am I the only one out there that is not having any problems with QB? I love it. I just purchased it after using the demo for the full time. I sell iPhone parts and have a lot inventory and have not had any issues (Yet). I also provide Mac help and use the service side of QB. I have never used QB on a PC so I would not be able to compare the user experience between the two. I am very happy. One of my wishes for upcoming releases would be for auto syncing of contacts without having to tell QB to do it. Also WHERE IS THE iPhone app? Sorry but the online app through Safari will not cut it. Sorry had to get the iPhone bit in there ;-)
Like (2)
Version 10.0f2440
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
16 December 2009
Yes, I tend to agree that this is the most satisfying version of QuickBooks for Mac yet. It really seems to be stable and the ability to changes settings, layouts and schedules is quite robust. I'm not one to know how inferior this version is to its Windows counterpart, but I do feel that it handles just about every need I have and even provides features that I don't need but seem nice. I, too, would love to see an iPhone supplement app...perhaps later or even from Mint.com which Intuit recently acquired. /
Like (1)
Version 11.0f2389
Exegetejr
30 September 2009
We use QB pro 2007 (pc version) via Parallels and Vista (a terrible solution) but we're in Canada and Intuit continues to COMPLETELY ignore Canadian Mac users, leaving us with the 2004 Mac Canadian version as the last compatible version ... so we're stuck with Vista and the pc version. As such though swapping QB files with out accountant is easy enough - except for having to fire up a second OS just to do so! Wishing there was an alternative that could export a QB compatible file... I've emailed and received dozens "customer care" calls from Intuit and their standard response is to tell me they "recommend using the pc version with Boot Camp and Vista"! Wow, that's great Intuit. It is mind-boggling how such a known and supposedly reputable company can operate this way...
Like (2)
Version R8
Macericg
19 April 2009
The ONLY reason we run Windows on out Intel Mac is to run the PC version of QuickBooks for our accountant. The Mac version just plain stinks! Less features than the PC version and buggy. Add to that you cannot simply exchange QuickBooks files between Mac and PC without running file converters. Is this day and age this is ridiculous! All the major software manufacturers took care of cross platform compatibility long before Macs were even running on Intel. This is a joke Intuit. Why can't you bee more like Microsoft or Adobe? Oh, and support stinks no matter which platform you use.
Like (4)
Version 10.0.3 R6
Kenneth-Lister
18 April 2009
Check out iBiz and iBank. Goodbye Intuit.
Like (4)
Version 10.0.3 R6
Accguy
17 January 2009
Quickbooks 2009 for MAC has bugs. I can get it to crash on Report filters every time. Even trying with the canned-QB company and from safe boot, it will crash. It's really disappointing - my move to the MAC has been great except for this program. Does Intuit test their products before release?
Like (2)
Version 10.0.3 R4
MacUpdate-Lon
17 December 2007
December 17, 2007: A critical bug with Intuit's QuickBooks automatic updater can destroy your desktop files, as documented in Apple and Intuit online support forums.
Like
Version 9.0.4 R6
Gaia
22 January 2007
Will not buy another upgrade of QB for Mac. The previous versions were full of bugs and did not deliver as promised by Intuit. When the one of the upgrades started making multiple archived versions of our records which we could not open, I could not get help from Intuit no matter how many ways we tried to contact them: email, phone, and snail mail - absolutely no response. Bookkeeper hates it. We were using Aatrix software and now with the 2007 version Intuit is no longer working with Aatrix but still does not do payroll from within the program like it does on the PC. Now you have to use PayCycle, which starts at $25 A MONTH for one employee and goes up from there. For my small business with one employee and about 5 contractors the price would be $45 a month for PayCycle service. Does it work? I'll never know. Another very unhappy Intuit QB for Mac customer.
Like
Version R3
1 answer(s)
Bruce-y
Bruce-y
31 October 2007
what alternative small business accounting software did you decide on, as a QB replacement? (I am starting to look for options also, and am interested in the experience of others with alternatives)
Like
Version 9.0.4 R5
Jory
26 October 2006
Previously, I have been totally satisfied with QuickBooks, but I must admit the 2007 version is a bit less impressive than the previous versions. There are some ridiculous bugs, such as filtering in reports returns the information on the wrong filter term. There are some good new features, though. The new Layout Designer is great, since ugly invoices that don't allow for much customization was a real problem in previous versions. Unfortunately, there's now a problem with wrapping text that extends past a column's line in an invoice. The Universal Binary was a welcome update, as I've gotten quite tired of constantly rebooting my MBP in order to run QuickBooks and Quicken. (Too bad I still have to do that for Quicken.) There are still some major usability issues, though, such as contextual menus that don't contain useful options.
Like
Version 2007
akmedia
19 October 2006
Just started using Quickbooks Pro 2007 and this barely-bug-fixed version is not that much improved from the 2005 version I was using. And, the Intuit's marketing department has jumped WAY ahead of the coders and basically lies about the program's (in)ability to do online banking as advertised. There is NO Web Connect (as in Quicken and the Windows version of Quickbooks) and most banks do not let you download the required *.qob files needed to import into Quickbooks Pro for Mac. The overseas tech support person I spoke to suggested this feature may be included in a future version. So why did I upgrade. Oh yeah, because Intuit said this version had features it does not have... Also, iCal integration is a joke. The program just puts events in your Quickbooks calendar on the date and at the time you entered it. That means that putting a bill into your iCal calendar does not show up on the billing date, the due date or any other date or time that is at all useful. Intuit should be ashamed to have charged for this 'update.' If you want a feature-rich version, it buy the Windows version and run it in Parallels!
Like
Version 2007
Sean-Drake
11 October 2006
I bought my software a little over a month ago. just installed to find out there is a new version. they want me to pay 199.00 for the universal 2007. which i asked when they were releasing on original purchase date they said they didn't know. Their excuse was they released it early and no one knew. what a load of SHITE
Like
Version 2007
Maruko-Drinking-Team
06 October 2006
A lot of people rightfully blast Intuit, and QuickBooks, but it has really gotten better. I just switched from QuickBooks on XP (running under Parallels) to QB2007 Mac. There is no longer much disparity between the Mac and PC versions. Even though it sucks in little ways (cannot keyboard-navigate to checkboxes and buttons in many dialogs, very poor double-click behavior which sometimes works normally when editing text, but sometimes double clicking a word in transaction opens the transaction in an editor), it is SO SO MUCH BETTER than it once was. The legacy Carbon interface has been largely replaced by a modern Cocoa-based one. And the features have mostly caught up with the PC side. Intuit is still a pretty bogus company, but most big ones are. You might have to hold your nose a little bit, but QB2007 really is the best small business accounting package for Mac users.
Like
Version 2007
Jory
29 August 2006
I hear a lot of people bitch about QuickBooks Pro on the Mac. Personally, I find it to be awesome. For the purposes of running my business, the app works beautifully and provides about 85% of the functionality I require. In fact, it tends to offer more functionality than I require, but I grow into the rest as I get better at running my business and understanding the ledger that keeps it going. QB 2006 is a great improvement over the previous two versions, as it behaves more like a Mac application with each major revision. That said, there are still some things that aren't terribly useful (such as useless contextual menus that _could_ contain useful functionality). I'm happy to be using QuickBooks and highly recommend it to business owners. Incidentally, one feature I'd like to see added is the ability to backup to a personal server, rather than just to .Mac, which requires I spend $100/yr for a service I don't want or need.
Like
Version R4
Angryartist
04 April 2006
Purchased Quickbooks Pro for the Mac OS-X only to find that it is not compatible with my OS 10.2.8 G5 that was state of the art 2-3 years ago. Now I find that my QB Nue 2005 files are not compatible with my accountant's QB 2006 pro for Windows. What are these people thinking? I find from scanning various sites that I am not alone. I wish I had done my research before sinking hours and hours of time building my companies books on this software. I hope a few programmers lose their jobs over this! I will Never buy another Intuit Product.
Like
Version R4
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
04 April 2006
And, to add insult to injury, the Chairman of Intuit (formerly CEO of Intuit) sits on the Apple Board of Directors. What a world.
Like
Version R4
Ncianca
Ncianca
05 October 2006
You accountant should be able to use the "backup" files that Quickbook creates. File->Backup->To Quickbooks for Windows... Never had a problem sending my accountant files this way and I'm currently using NUE 2006.
Like
Version 2007
Tc140
31 January 2006
Major problems with Aatrix Payroll 15. Download corrupted the entire previous program. Tech help (over 11 hours in 3 days on hold before getting a person on 3 occasions)unable to sort this out. Among problems fixed by Aatrix tech help: several corrupt folders removed, 3 folder names misspelled by Aatrix, hence program unable to locate them for successful installation. After the 3rd session was asked to archive our entire company and forward to Aatrix for troubleshooting..... 2006 tax tables downloaded, but show up in calculations only for SOME employees????? Same with tax computations and SS limits (some employees have $84k, some $90 and 1 94.2K upper limits. Beware of this Program. It is not wort the money or the time spent making it work. We are switching to a different Accounting software for the entire company
Like
Version R3
Anonymous
27 October 2005
All I can tell you is do not buy. It is terrible on the mac. There must be something better for the mac. Don't Buy
Like
Version R2
Anonymous
05 May 2005
One star, for failing to proofread your "What's New" text. Well, OK, so that's not the worst I've ever seen (I've seen worse ones dealing with FWB's Hard Disk Toolkit), but it's pretty bad.
Like
Version R2
Benjamin Moogk
23 February 2005
This product is of NO USE if you live in a Canadian Province or Territory that has a dual tax scheme (eg PST and GST). Your only option, if you wish to buy an Intuit product, is the more expensive and complex Accounts. The sales reps in both the US and Canada informed me that there are no plans to release a QuickBooks for OSX that can handle the dual tax scheme. If there is a work-around I would like to know. I would like to know if I can make the Windows Version work on Virtual PC.
Like
Version 2005
Anonymous
12 January 2005
Can't export to older versions of Windows files. I tried backing up to QuickBooks for Windows and my accountant couldn't open it. Turns out that you must have the latest Windows version installed to restore a Mac QB Pro 2005 file. Previously, my QB5 file was perfectly with my accountant's QB 2000. Not any more. Called QB and there is nothing I can do.
Like
Version 2005
Anonymous
17 December 2004
This product is a dog. Took my perfectly good QB Pro v.5 file and corrupted it. Didn't add many features. Cost me $200. Customer support charged me $50 to help fix their bugs, but still not fixes. I'm asking for my money back.
Like
Version 2005
Chris J
17 December 2004
Beware of converting from the PC version. The Mac 2004 version happily imports your data, but then silently chops fields that it decides are now too long. (Intuit developers apparently have no communication, data structure planning, etc... I think they like it that way.) It gets worse... when I tried to export to a PC version to send to my accountant, the export goes smoothly, but my accountant cannot open the file. No useful feedback, just no go. So I call Intuit, and after almost an hour talking to a tech guy, they reveal that there is another field length related issue, that can only be solved by shortening text wherever it is too long. I am a very light user (one credit card, two bank accounts, a dozen invoices a year) and there are way too many places to fix, and no way to find them. The best Intuit could do is grace me with the offer to let me pay them for "data services" which is some mystery group that fixes data filles. Unfortunately, they never contacted me to pick up the data file like they promise... and after waiting 10 minutes while the tech filled out some mystery form to send to the mystery group. I am going to try 2005 to see if the export is fixed, but I doubt there's any way to salvage all the missing data in my chopped field. Note: don't try to order version 2005 from Intuit's web site... I filled out all the forms, looked at the "cart" field which said 1 item, pressed "Continue", and then the next screen says I have 0 items! Argggghhh!
Like
Version 2005
Anonymous
09 December 2004
The difference between 2004 and 2005 was a complete waste of money. I returned mine immediately. If you don't have 2004 its a great program, but not worth the upgrade. They still haven't added support for their online features such as billing solutions.
Like
Version 2005
Anonymous
09 April 2004
Intuit has done nothing but rob the Mac community with their "half-featured" QuickBooks 6.0 and incessant paid upgrades. The lack of features as compared to the Windows version is nothing but a pathetic excuse to try and get Mac users to pay more money. Virtual PC is nothing short of "sickening" with the Microsoft takeover of the product, but thanks to Intuit that is still our only option if we want to use a productive finance program.
Like
Version 6.0 R2
Mary
10 February 2004
REVISING MY RATINGS. I did not mean to give that high of a ranking to QB 6.0. I forgot about the featureless payroll that comes with it. You have to subscribe to another payroll service. Do you think Intuit will refund the 9 months I have left under my PC payroll subscription? Doubtful. Let me revise my ratings.
Like
Version 6.0
Mary
10 February 2004
As with most Mac users, I was using QuickBooks (2002) via Virtual PC because of my accountant is using a PC. When the Mac 6.0 version came out with the transfer capability, I was extatic and bought it. My biggest complaint so far, after only messing with it for one day, is that you do not have the layout designer feature as you do in the PC version, a huge dissapointment. I have been able to create job jackets, info for our employees to see about what they will be doing for the job they are working on, nice looking invoices and estimates. If they can't implement this into the Mac version, then unfortunately I will have to resort back the miserable world of Virtual PC.
Like
Version 6.0
Anonymous
19 December 2003
Bought QB Pro 5 - unusable with no integrated payroll (forget Aatrix). 6.0 is the same. They will pay me $199 before I will waste time trying to use this cludge again. We use MYOB, no cigar but then look who they have to compete with. Hg
Like
Version 6.0
To charge 199.00 for an upgrade for version 5 is not wrong it is CRIMINAL. Hey Intuit check out other softwarw e companies policies (Adobe, Quark etc etc) if you own a recent version you pay less. I dropped the full price on Version 5 only 6 months ago. Great way to win over the OSX user base by charging for an update with a year of a new release. Go back to business school and learn about customers, pricing and staying viable in a market. I wish you a swift trip to Chapter 7 ! A very unhappy customer
Like
Version 6.0