Back to iChatStatus page
iChatStatus free download for Mac

iChatStatus Reviews

1.2.1
23 June 2003

Dynamically update iChat status.

If Then Software Staff
05 December 2002

Most helpful

This is easily one of the best little (useful) apps I have seen in awhile out there...everyone on my iChat list is now using it! Thanks for the GREAT idea and GREAT execution developer! (If Then Software)
Like
Version 1.0.1

Read 34 iChatStatus User Reviews

Rate this app:

'Wizard'
19 December 2006
After login yahoo's so called "new" beta ver of their messenger, I noted a neat thingy. It was showing me what I was listening to via iTunes, Much like an automatic feed. However I continue to suffer with yahoo's Issues and decided to leave their servers.. for good. I return to my old stand by ichat but I was missing the iTunes plug in. I was very lucky to have found iChatStatus. I'm home again.
Like
Version 1.2.1
11 November 2005
Please please please update this for Tiger. It is an excellent piece of software. I really find it useful to use the applescript function to show the current iCal event/s saving me from remembering to change it when I go to work and giving others an idea when I'll be back.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Mike
05 November 2005
It would be awesome if a developer could get ICS to work with iChat and AIM... Also if there could be a new release to get it to work so it works with iChat because the updates killed it... I would like to get it to work for being on away status... that way everyone can see whta im listening to even if they are on AIM.. Any developer out there up to the task? I hope so..
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Even though clearly iChat AV in Tiger has this feature, I encourage the developer to continue with the development of this App. The built in iTunes status in the Tiger version of iChat kinda sucks. It shows a song playing even though iTunes is stopped/paused. iChatStatus worked better than this.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 August 2005
i absolutely agree with the previous comment. please keep making efforts to update this great software.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
12 July 2005
i still want an ichatstatus update for tiger, because i'd use it as my away message. one of my favorite features was being able to chat while being away at the same time...but now with tiger i can't do that. i want the songs that i'm listening to be displayed while i'm available and away.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
13 June 2005
yes, but it is better than not having it at all as this software doesn't work with tiger.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
15 May 2005
I was struggeling with Tiger/ itunes 4.8 because could not see my current itunes music anymore in ichat. THAN I found a new message line which I have never seen before.....?! " Current iTunes track" and it is working again....
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
I don't know what you did but ICS does not work anymore under OSX.4.1/iTunes 4.8. There has not been an update in like two years.... I don't know if they plan to even make one but I must say... I bet there is a lot of bummed out ppl out there because this was the best iChat/iTunes song status application out there.... basically hands free... you didn't have to open another application.. even thing happened behind the scenes. That was awesome. Now it's gone.... BYE BYE ICS!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
13 May 2005
When I updated to Tiger and iLife, etc., my iChatStatus stopped working as well.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
10 May 2005
I don't think it's iTunes. I upgraded to Tiger and it stopped working. That was before the new iTunes release.
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Rita
Rita
10 May 2005
You must be right - I upgraded to Tiger very recently, too. It must be something to do with the new iChat?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 May 2005
possibly just ichat, possibly other differences in OS... Anyhow, I'm using only the itunes script from ichatstatus anymore, heavily modified to suit my vision:) At present, I'm running a shell command (osascript) to execute the script every 10 seconds with geektool:)
Like
Version 1.2.1
Rita
09 May 2005
I've been using this nifty little program for months now, but today I updated iTunes to 4.8, and iChatStatus no longer works for me. Is there something different about iTunes 4.8 that interferes with iChatStatus 1.2.1? Or, is there any way I can uninstall iTunes 4.8 and go back to an older version to continue using iChatStatus?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
28 March 2005
cool program. it would be nice if it could handle longer track names. seems like most titles are cut off.
Like
Version 1.2.1
It'd be cool if this could be updated to use the new features of iTunes 4.7... instead of having to poll iTunes every however-many-seconds to see if the track has changed, iTunes broadcasts that it's changed tracks.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
13 February 2005
awesome stuff my friends do it
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
27 January 2005
Awesome concept, several of my friends use this
Like
Version 1.2.1
Michael-Brisk
11 December 2004
Just what i was looking for!!! The OS "Tiger" ichat is sapose to have that feature.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
11 December 2004
Very very very nice. Been using this for a while now without any trouble at all. I agree that it would be nice if iChat had a preference panel for this instead of a system pref item, but it works. I'd also like to see a few new options, such as the ability to include song rating in the status msg (at the end perferabbly, or configurable like the rest of the choices) and the ability to configure the message that is set when itunes is paused or not open instead of it saying "paused" and "off"
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
13 November 2004
This is a really awsome idea. Thanks so much
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
06 September 2004
Nice app, real cool. Just if you could make it a preference in iChat itself, that would make it even better. I don't really like it sitting in the "Other" preference pane section. Keep up the good work! ~Balthamos
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Claire
Claire
18 September 2004
I am having trouble with this program. I put it in my pref panel and I chose ITunes as the script, but for some reason the most that it will show is two music notes. I know many people who have used this with no trouble at all and no one seems to have an answer to my problem. Any suggestions?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
03 September 2004
This is great!! Thanks!!! =)
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
19 August 2004
I love this program! It would be neat sometime to incorporate the cover art for the CD as your icon or something. Sort of how Clutter works.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
27 July 2004
Hey.. Thanks so much for giving me peace of mind! Now I've got some options.. Great app btw!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
26 July 2004
The currently playing song info is displayed in an availible-status message. Whereas the official AIM client only supports away-status messages (an away message), ichat allows you to display a status message even if your status is availible. iChat is the only program to my knowledge that allows you to set an availible status message, but Adium displays other users availible-status messages (and i would assume gaim does for that matter but couldn't confirm that). So until (if?) the official AIM client supports availible-status messages, your buddies will only see your current message if you are away. You could always set your status to away and alter the script to read something like "I Am Availible: Curently Playing Song: Blah by Blah on Blah album" if you really wanted all your buddies to be able to see your currently playing track. Or, the other option would be to have a way to have some compatibility with iprofile so you could put the info in your profile. Is there currently a way to do this, and if not, does the developer have any interest in building in this functionality?
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 August 2004
Gaim indeed does this, btw. It displays the status message in italics under the name.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
21 July 2004
This is an update to the question posted earlier about the iChatStatus compatibility with AIM users and perhaps other clients. It seems iChatStatus will only appear to AIM buddies when I am away; not when I am available. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
17 July 2004
Great , innovative and plain COOL!
Like
Version 1.2.1
d.fortune
14 July 2004
I was so excited to use iChatStatus after download. To my dismay, iChatStatus is only viewable by other members of iChat... not AIM! If you are like me, most of my buddies are actually AIM members. Every single buddy I asked could not see my current song playing!! This is kind of frustrating because I can see it as my status... it appears to work! Errrrgh. can anyone help??? Developer - an update perhaps?? Thankx.. please reply
Like
Version 1.2.1
Ohericord
06 July 2004
please ad the possibility to set the ichat icon to the art cover of the playing song
Like
Version 1.2.1
Medicineuk
26 April 2004
I used to love this application when i used iChat... now i have clued up and I'm using Proteus i just wished it worked with Proteus v4 (-;
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
29 January 2004
great idea! as for it being a cheap hack that won't work on recent updates, i am running 10.3.2 and it works fine. bravo!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Petrielm
28 January 2004
Life was so nice when iChat came out, but life got so much nicer with iChatStatus 1.2.1. Now, you can have a real time "connection" with your friends on line. They will know what you are listening to and will figure out if you're in the mood to party (i.e if you are listening to Moby) or to cry (i.e if you are listening to Tori Amos). I've never had a problem with iChatStatus 1.2.1, and its configuration is as fast as a blink of an eye. The use of a prefic and sufix makes iChatStatus 1.2.1 even more personal, for you can put whatever you want before and after the song's name. iChatStatus 1.2.1 also features the use of scripts which can be found on the net very easily. You will then be able to rotate the song's title, the artist's name, and the album. A brilliant and un-boring little application that iChat (AV) users should have to bring away messages to another level... Thank you David Remhal for your creativity and following of the APPLE doctrine: "Think different!"
Like
Version 1.2.1
dori
28 January 2004
at least the developer is honest (says it's a cheap hack basically, that probably won't work in future upgrades of mac OSX). i got it to work the day i installed it with 10.2, and spent a nice, humorous afternoon with coworkers getting busted listening to stupid stuff... mac released a couple of updates (one update, to 10.2.3 and one security update) and after upgrading, no go with ichatstatus... haven't gotten it to work since. uninstalled, re-installed, no go... hope someone can figure out how to make it something other than a 'cheap hack'.
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
28 January 2004
I am using iChatStatus 1.2.1 right now, iBook @ 900 MHz, running Panther... 10.3.2. Works flawlessly. All the time. Your review is skewed due to what would appear to be issues on your Mac.
Like
Version 1.2.1
mike
mike
07 June 2004
I am also having the same issues. I cannot get the iChat Status to work with the iTunes script that came with the program. I am using a 2 month old iMac 20" 1.25Ghz with 768mb ram. and I don't have any other issues with the computer... so what could the problem be?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
05 December 2003
This is a neat application, but the site for it is often down. Perhaps someone could mirror on a .Mac account or something?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
23 August 2003
Have it, use it, like it. Cool little app thats free, what more do you want? I wonder what else we can stick up in that little iChat status?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Acrappa
24 April 2003
iChatStatus is very customizable and works great.
Like
Version 1.2
If Then Software Staff
05 December 2002
This is easily one of the best little (useful) apps I have seen in awhile out there...everyone on my iChat list is now using it! Thanks for the GREAT idea and GREAT execution developer! (If Then Software)
Like
Version 1.0.1