Back to Grammarian Pro page
Grammarian Pro free download for Mac

Grammarian Pro Reviews

23 March 2021

Spelling, grammar, dictionary, and more.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ausklang
ausklang
May 2 2020
3.1.0
3.0
May 2 2020
3.0
Version: 3.1.0
It is great when it is working. Alas, it keeps crashing. Uninstalled the program, reinstalled it and it still keeps crashing. Additionally, it shreds words into unreadable gibberish or deletes parts of sentences. I am using a 2019 Macbook Pro with the latest Mac OS update, MS Word and Grammarian 3.1.
steph-2
steph-2
Nov 14 2019
3.0
5.0
Nov 14 2019
5.0
Version: 3.0
Grammarian PRO3 is the best yet and is still the epitome of proofreading tools. I'm ecstatic about this upgrade.
Macott
Macott
Nov 2 2019
3.0
1.0
Nov 2 2019
1.0
Version: 3.0
Someone recommended this as an alternative to Grammarly. So I tried it out. This is awful. Typing slows down to a crawl (on an 2018 MacBook Pro). It finds far less issues than Grammarly (or Pro Writing Aid), and the way the GUI displays information makes it hard to work with (also GUI looks very dated).
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Oct 10 2019
3.0
5.0
Oct 10 2019
5.0
Version: 3.0
Version 3 looks amazing and finally a replacement for Spell Catcher which I had been using since it since it was called Thunder 7. This version of Grammarian is 64-bit so maybe I’ll finally be able to upgrade to Catalina as losing Spell Catcher was a major worry. This pup is fast too. While no upgrade discount from version 2, it is on sale for awhile so I’m happy to support the developer.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Oct 10 2019
3.0
5.0
Oct 10 2019
5.0
Version: 3.0
Very nice! Been using Grammarian Pro for forever now.
scott.salbo
scott.salbo
Jul 18 2019
2.1.1
5.0
Jul 18 2019
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
I love the total system wide integration. And it works as well as advertised. The only feature I'd like to see added would be a plagiarism checker.
poetcsw-1
poetcsw-1
Sep 8 2018
2.0.16
5.0
Sep 8 2018
5.0
Version: 2.0.16
As a college instructor, I must review more than 100 papers every two weeks. Grammarian is my go-to choice for catching errors I might miss after hours of reading content. Yes, the university subscribes to two automated systems, but those SaaS apps and Grammarly are less accurate. When I had a problem after upgrading to a new MacBook Pro, I had random crashed. The problem turned out to be easy to fix thanks to good tech support. Because only one or two papers were crashing during "AutoMark" I failed to realize only spelling errors were crashing the app - there was a corrupt dictionary file. I am going to buy another license for an iMac. I look forward to future updates that are 64-bit so they avoid any warnings from Apple.
GianMarco.Tavazzani
GianMarco.Tavazzani
Dec 12 2017
2.0.16
0.0
Dec 12 2017
0.0
Version: 2.0.16
I wonder who would spend 50 $ (well, they ask '49,95', which is already A SHAME, a way to insulte the intelligence of the audience!) for something we can't even try (and that most probably would be not less presumptuous than Grammarly!)
jeff-38
jeff-38
Sep 27 2016
2.0.12
5.0
Sep 27 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.12
My favorite app. Another great update.
jeff-38
jeff-38
Sep 2 2015
2.0.10
5.0
Sep 2 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.10
Rocks! Great. Very helpful for class writing.
steph-2
steph-2
Aug 11 2015
2.0.10
5.0
Aug 11 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.10
Great app. I've been using this for years and am glad it is actively supported.
djebarin-1
djebarin-1
May 22 2015
2.0.10
1.0
May 22 2015
1.0
Version: 2.0.10
Almost useless. It monetary worth shouldn't exceed $5 for what it does:
1. I tried it on article and most of the suggestions were either wrong or useless.
2. The graphical interface belongs to the seventies.
3. The font size and type are not good for the eyes.
Sgginc
Sgginc
Apr 25 2015
2.0.10
2.0
Apr 25 2015
2.0
Version: 2.0.10
Checked the following:

Bill's go to store four cheese.

Were gone to the store.

Bill go too store.

Where going to there store.
-------
Grammarian Pro2 only caught "Bill go too store"
and then only corrected go to goes.

Pretty lame.

Thanks ... Ken
Archiethearchiver
Archiethearchiver
Nov 30 2013
2.0.8
0.0
Nov 30 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.8
This is truly funny! Read the "WHAT'S NEW" for version 2.0.8. How many grammatical and spelling errors can you find? I can't stop laughing!
Tomeg
Tomeg
Nov 11 2013
2.0.7
0.0
Nov 11 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.7
Is this update compatible with OS 10.9 Mavericks? I sincerely hope so, because having happily used Grammarian PRO and PRO2 for many years, I want to continue. I love Grammarian PRO2X and I love Mavericks. They deserve each other!
Holypoly
Holypoly
Nov 23 2011
2.0.2
0.0
Nov 23 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
"Fixed: Keyboard menu shortcuts of Pencicil Menu in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion." Can't find the pencicil menu...
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Apr 8 2011
2.0.1
0.0
Apr 8 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
Pardon me, but I do not think I want to use a program that is supposed to check grammar and spelling when, on their support page, they refer to "Frequently Asked Questions" as FAQ's. "Questions" is plural. There is no need for an apostrophe-s as this denotes possession! See it for yourself at http://www.linguisoft.com/support.html Even if this has become common usage, it is still grammatically incorrect. Gimme a break!
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
Mar 4 2011
2.0
4.8
Mar 4 2011
4.8
Version: 2.0
I'm sorry but I refuse to pay for an upgrade when in the 4 years I've owned this app you've release maybe 1 subpar update. What a bunch of nonsense.
Gantzerc
Gantzerc
Feb 3 2011
2.0
5.0
Feb 3 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0
The program is an essential computer secretary for proofreading. It works well, and catches mistakes, stopping me from submitting papers with careless errors.
Goodwill-:)
Goodwill-:)
Jan 13 2011
2.0
0.0
Jan 13 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
Damn, purchased this program for about one year with very few update. Now the 2.0 version came out and ask for $25 update fee. And you can not find the link for purchasing an update license on the developer's website (the only link is to pay $49 for a new license)!
*simple-mac-user*
*simple-mac-user*
Nov 25 2010
1.8.6
0.0
Nov 25 2010
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
Hi, Im a simple mac user and also a student. I require some sort of grammar checker as my english; spelling and grammar, is terrible. I have tried to download many programs AND NONE WORK! I'm so tired of this. I downloaded this program in the hopes of success, but yet again, dis-heartned by it failing. Apparently it is installed but when i tried to "check all" it wont allow me to. I followed the detailed instructions and yet it still wont work. Can someone please help me before i remove this program and continue my search? thanks :S
Madison-mac
Madison-mac
Oct 24 2010
1.8.6
0.0
Oct 24 2010
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
I wish updates to the program were more frequent. Seems like it has been more than one year since a new version.
Alroe
Alroe
Jun 6 2010
1.8.6
0.0
Jun 6 2010
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
This app does not look and feel anything like a proper Apple application. It messes up styles when corrections are pasted in Pages, it is difficult to install, it is overly complex to use, and the fact that you have to install Rosetta to uninstall it tells how old and outdated it is. The grammer quality itself is sort of good; it misses some errors but not more than what I have seen elsewhere. It has no option for learning a custom grammer construction, however, which is annoying. Also, I am now waiting for support to get back to me - the entire app stopped working after a few weeks and after wasting about an hour, I had to give up and write to support. This app doesn't cost much and doesn't offer much value in return. It does get you irritated, though.
Prestonmays
Prestonmays
Mar 20 2010
1.8.6
5.0
Mar 20 2010
5.0
Version: 1.8.6
I'm now using this program for my my MacBook (2.4 Intel core 2 duo; 2 GB RAM) and my girlfriends Mac mini (2.26 Intel Core 2 duo; 2 GB RAM) and it has worked flawlessly. The program is easily customizable so if you need it to ignore certain stylistic errors it will do so. There are few errors that it will not detect, but if it were perfect, it would be the holy grail for anyone from scriptwriters to academic essayist - worth far more than a measly $40. Many users have expressed their concerns regarding the interface and stability of this application. As far as i've discovered, the interface runs effortlessly in the menu bar and has yet to crash on neither my machine or my girlfriends with the latest version. As i've seen in these reviews, the developer cares about the reputation of this product, and what consumer doesn't like that type of care and attention. This is an excellent program! Keep up the good work.
stupidass
stupidass
Oct 4 2009
1.8.5
5.0
Oct 4 2009
5.0
Version: 1.8.5
This software is great. I'm a bilingual, grammar is not my thing, this software combine with mellel, scrivener, and bookend allow me to finish my thesis with minimal effort. Thanks you for making such a great software.
Sampler
Sampler
Nov 24 2008
1.8.3
3.0
Nov 24 2008
3.0
Version: 1.8.3
It's the only real game for the Mac, but it misses many simple mistakes (just the kind I make): This is to for me. The my table is there. It my will.
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
Jan 9 2008
1.8.1
5.0
Jan 9 2008
5.0
Version: 1.8.1
This latest version of Grammarian Pro has been rock-solid for me (Leopard and my G5 iMac), as was the version before this. Although I did not have some of the stability problems some reviewers in 2007 had with earlier versions, I agree that the program was in need of some bug fixes and updates, and the advent of Leopard seems to have spurred some much needed development and improvements. As a professional writer and editor, I really love this program and highly recommend it. I've used it for years now and consider it part of my professional "toolbox." It's easy to use and easy to set up, and I especially like how much I can customize Grammarian. You can customize system-wide or program specific hot keys for virtually every function and you can customize the level and type of the grammar and spelling checking (Academic, business, casual, grade level, etc.) to an amazing degree. The grammar checker, spell checker, thesaurus and dictionary are *far* superior to those in MS Word. Best of all, Grammarian Pro is available system-wide, and the level and kind of grammar checking and spell checking can be customized for each program you use, if you want to -- one kind of checking in MS Word or Scrivener, for example, and another when using a text editor to write code or HTML and another when using it in a web browser, or PIM, or spreadsheet. The level, kind, and amount of checking are up to you. Of course, there's no substitute for the writer knowing and learning the basic rules of grammar, and getting an "ear" for what good writing sounds like. And GP doesn't catch every mistake, and sometimes it flags non-problems or even makes dubious grammar suggestions. But on the whole I find I'm far less likely to make bonehead grammar mistakes (not to mention spelling errors) when GP has my back, so to speak. GP can be a good learning tool, too. For example, if you're prone to using too much passive voice in your writing, you can set up GP to have it nag you every time it comes across it, and this can be a great way to improve one's writing. I hope this doesn't sound like an advertisement. I have no relationship with this software or company other than as an end-user. But I do speak as someone who has used this program for years. Grammarian Pro can be a great help to anyone who writes. Version 1.8.1 is a solid update, and I'm happy to give it a 5-star rating based on my daily use of the program.
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
May 5 2007
1.7
3.0
May 5 2007
3.0
Version: 1.7
I bought Grammarian Pro a couple of years ago, but I have stopped using it some time ago. While it works, it offers great features, I like the ability to spell check in MacSOUP for example. However, the background app just crashes all the time, and I have to keep restarting it. This is noted on the developers web site, and I have tried the solutions posted there many times. I have also posted off the crash reports a few times too, but with no response. This has left me looking for an alternative now, and the fact that I wasted money on this.
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
Jul 21 2006
1.7
4.8
Jul 21 2006
4.8
Version: 1.7
I just purchased the lastest version 1.7. By far the best grammar/spelling check program I have ever used. Version 1.7 has an insane amount of grammar checking options. I couldn't have asked for a better program. Thanks.
Fredb7
Fredb7
Feb 28 2006
1.6.2
1.0
Feb 28 2006
1.0
Version: 1.6.2
STAY AWAY FROM THIS. After installation and once Grammarian input Menu was enabled, my mac just went frenzy: the menu bar crashed and restarted, then the Finder crashed and restarted, the menu bar crashed and again... Nothing to do in this endless loop. Restarting didn't fix it. I had to restart on another drive to remove the fscking grammarian.component (in ~/Library/Components/). I am an experienced user and this was not too hard to fix, but as my girlfriend said: "If it happened to me, I won't know what to do except sit and cry" ;). Contact the support when your computer is out is harder... Bugs can happens, I know that. But why using the Input Menu at first? This is not its purpose. The system needs it, so if you apps screws something the all system is down. I'm sure Apple doesn't recommend this at all. I'm sure too that there is a lot of other ways to achieve the same (Contextual Menu, Services, Input Managers, whatever). The strength of OS X is to separate things so what happened to me can't happend. So my only advice is: STAY AWAY FROM THIS. At least until they find a better way the integrate their software with the system. BTW, I never gave the worst rating to any software before. Can someone points me to a decent grammar/spell checker on OS X? I'm used to Antidote Prisme in french and I can't find something as good in english. There sure is more english users so this must exist. There's Grammatica but it's far from Antidote's quality.
Pirx
Pirx
Nov 5 2005
1.6.2
2.8
Nov 5 2005
2.8
Version: 1.6.2
Beautiful, useful, well conceived app, but I wish I had not bought it. Upon entering the registration details Grammarian stops responding and the system locks up. This wasted a lot of my time, including having to write to support and hoping for a workable fix sometime soon. I find it totally unacceptable, that paying customers are being exposed to such an experience. Anything beyond a fast and totally pain-free registration process is unacceptable. Probably there is a line somewhere in the small print of the license agreement, that you can only register this software with a live VPN connection to the Pentagon on Tuesdays after full moon.
Guest
Guest
Jun 10 2005
1.6.2
5.0
Jun 10 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6.2
Top-shelf and a must-have on my Mac. This version further fine-tunes what is already an excellent application. I am still wishing for contextual menu support--this would make GP phenomenal.
Guest
Guest
Apr 25 2005
1.6
5.0
Apr 25 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6
I've used this application for a long, long time and when it was held by another company; glad to see it return to its author. I "strongly" do wish that it was contextual menu based versus the menu bar. It would be sooooo much better that way.
Guest
Guest
Apr 22 2005
1.6
5.0
Apr 22 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6
I am assuming you did *not* use Grammarian on the product description, as it uses commas instead of semi-colons, and describes *a* universal.... Ironic, no?
Jack-Foster-Mancilla
Jack-Foster-Mancilla
Apr 21 2005
1.6
5.0
Apr 21 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6
This software has run on my Mac OS X machine since its first release, without any problems. I have updated to version 1.6 on Mac OS X 10.3.9 with no problems. Grammarian works transparantly, flawlessly, across all my applications. This is one of the few pieces of software that I would not want to do without.
Guest
Guest
Jan 30 2005
1.5.2b1
5.0
Jan 30 2005
5.0
Version: 1.5.2b1
Well, that was fun. I tried to try this (the 1.5.1 version, not the beta that is listed as current as I post this); installed it, rebooted, and -- activating its input method instantly kills every running application, including the Finder, which (due to being auto-relaunched) goes into a loop of launching and being killed endlessly. The Finder can't even stay running long enough to deactivate the input method, so even a forced reboot doesn't break the cycle. Logging in remotely and doing an "rm -rf" on its input method component finally put an end to the chaos.
Guest
Guest
Sep 24 2004
1.5.2b1
5.0
Sep 24 2004
5.0
Version: 1.5.2b1
After some hours of testing, I decided not to purchase because it can't find some simple grammar errors. For example, it checked "What's time is it?" and reported no errors. For the who, when, what, how... etc, the checking is useless.
Guest
Guest
Apr 23 2004
1.5.2b1
5.0
Apr 23 2004
5.0
Version: 1.5.2b1
Laugh if you want, I've been faithful to Corel Word Perfect 2.0's simple, direct grammatical critique for years now, with enough success to warrant my tenacity. Nevertheless, I do get tired of waiting for Mac Classic to load, so I took Grammarian Pro for a test drive. Challenge #1: a rough draft with which I've been struggling. Grammarian tore it to shreds, much to its benefit. Challenge #2: an essay for which I won a huge, national, first place award. Grammarian wasn't happy with it either--in fact, had I used it before submitting, the essay might have read much differently. Thus, the question: would it have won? Hmm. Challenge #3: critique of this review. Grammarian found five "errors," one of which I chose to correct. Bottom line: Grammarian is a tough critic. Features are as described, it's extremely easy to use, customizable, and stable. I shall continue my test drive for a while longer but, with a heavy heart, fear I will probably purchase it--having finally found the software to replace my much-beloved Mac Classic Word Perfect 2.0
Guest
Guest
Feb 12 2004
1.5.1
5.0
Feb 12 2004
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
I've grown quite dependent on this utility for my work and was happy to see a free upgrade. Exceptional and nothing like it ever. Keep it up!
Guest
Guest
Jan 30 2004
1.5.1
5.0
Jan 30 2004
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
I bought Grammarian 2 about 12 months ago. Excellent software - but sold to me by a now bust firm- I have now purchased Grammarian Pro 1.5.1 - It is an improvement on excellence and well worth having to re-purchase - don't gripe about the extra cost - it's worth every penny.
Guest
Guest
Aug 29 2003
1.0.2
5.0
Aug 29 2003
5.0
Version: 1.0.2
You can not use your 1.0.1 key to upgrade to 1.0.2 because linquisoft has not been given the old regristry from C&G so I guess we will have to purchase the program twice in order to keep using it
Guest
Guest
Jan 28 2003
1.0.2
5.0
Jan 28 2003
5.0
Version: 1.0.2
Great utility. Check as you type grammar and spelling checking. I highly recommend this. I t 'd be even better if they would add a thesaurus along with Grammarian's great dictionary.